While watching an episode of Caribbean Life on HGTV (Home and Garden Television) hosted by our very own Cherita O’Dell recently, highlighting available property opportunities on Barbados, it struck me as one of the areas that really needs much greater attention to attract increased foreign exchange.

According to available data, over 96 million households in the USA have access to HGTV and in 2016 the network overtook CNN to become the third most-watched cable channel in the United States.

While our larger real estate agents appear to have found their place in the marketplace, both locally and internationally, there are dozens if not scores of smaller agencies, that appear to operate in isolation and seeming lack of collective direction.

Whether this is down to individual egos or the sheer inability or fear of working co-operatively as a group to maximize reach, awareness and share costs?

Recalling the very many promotional trips I personally took overseas, the primary concentration was never about our small hotel, but showcasing the destination. At the end of the day, it is the customer who makes the informed decision, based on preferred likes and budget.

What is to stop around ten of the more creative smaller real estate agents producing a weekly video, showcasing our vast range of possible second or retirement homes?

This could be aired via YouTube and any number of social media channels.

Of course the same video could display all the contact details of each partner agent, with websites to secure more information.

Despite current foreign exchange rates in some key markets, there still are comparative ‘bargains’ when you take into account certain locations within the United Kingdom and the added warm weather benefits that a tropical location could help to reduce a long British winter.

Add the possibility of reducing investment costs by offering home rental letting and it’s already beginning to make justifiable economic sense.

The British equivalent to HGTV in the United Kingdom could well be the very popular series produced by Channel 4 TV, A place in the Sun.

They go that extra mile by including a simple click on link to available properties for sale on Barbados and at last website viewing, listed over 800 possibilities.

Is there a way that our national marketing agency could build on these linkages?

Naturally every second home owner becomes a potential long stay visitor and almost certainly introduces family members who could conceivably return, year after year.

Not for a second, am I ignoring the vast choice of online real estate find portals like RightMove, On the Market, Prime Location and Zoopla, but if there is another dimension, could we be missing out on a lost opportunity?

Surely we have a duty to explore?

Also, is there any way our local banks can become more proactive in offering overseas clients, mortgage facilities? After all, surely any perceived risk by the lender is based on the value of the property and the ability to service debt payments?

94 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Creating Opportunity in Real Estate”

1. @ Jack

The interest payment is that contracted for at the time of the loan. With an interest-free mortgage, house price inflation will increase the value of the home. After 25/39 years the home will be worth many times more than it was when the mortgage was taken out. Home ownership is always better.
    In any case, faced with an emergency, the home can be used as collateral for a loan or equity can be released. As a renter you have no such option.

2. I am doing a report regarding this matter. Your article is loaded with extremely helpful data. I will make a point to return to look at your posts for my next report.Allgreen Properties

3. This looks like an interesting work (especially for those who want to take up challenges)
    Like the layout of that house (the first picture)orchard road

4. My wife and I have been looking for apartments for rent, and I think that having some tips on what to look for would be helpful for us. I’m glad that you talked about looking into closet space when you’re looking at apartments for rent! My wife needs her closet space, and I think that being able to check into that while we’re shopping around for downtown apartments for rent would be a good thing for us! Thanks for the tips!malta property

5. Hello, I really appreciate your article, I thought that investing in real estate is more profitable as compared to investing in gold. And also there are less risk factors in real estate investment. So that’s why I personally prefer to invest in real estate.markham homes for sale

6. I am interested in, but I think I would rather start small first. I’m hoping (way down the road) to buy a house with a basement that we can rent out. Just to get a feel for it and see if it’s something I would really like to do. It requires a lot of effort and money, and I would hate to invest so much only to find out it’s too much to deal with. You should write a post about the tenant taking you to court! Some people.best realtor near me

7. Very nice tips which anyone can apply when selling their property. A word of mouth through friends and family is also fantastic since you can get a buyer just there!Forett Bukit Timah

8. you said that an entrepreneur should value his freedom. We lose our focus amidst all the worries and the hunger to earn more money. The sole priority as to why we chose to be entrepreneurs is lost somewhere in the darkness. Thanks for reminding us through this blog post.charlotte mabry team

9. you said that an entrepreneur should value his freedom. We lose our focus amidst all the worries and the hunger to earn more money. The sole priority as to why we chose to be entrepreneurs is lost somewhere in the darkness. Thanks for reminding us through this blog post.heating companies toronto

10. Very informative and detailed topic. Thank you for that. And maybe I’m going ahead of time, but I would like to emphasize on importance of renters insurance. Some of tenants manage to find the right apartment, but they don’t even realize the necessity of renters insurance. It provides liability coverage if someone is injured while in the property. Thus, if renters want to protect assets, they need to buy this insurance.Penrose

11. I am interested in, but I think I would rather start small first. I’m hoping (way down the road) to buy a house with a basement that we can rent out. Just to get a feel for it and see if it’s something I would really like to do. It requires a lot of effort and money, and I would hate to invest so much only to find out it’s too much to deal with. You should write a post about the tenant taking you to court!
    Sell land online

12. My wife and I have been looking for apartments for rent, and I think that having some tips on what to look for would be helpful for us. I’m glad that you talked about looking into closet space when you’re looking at apartments for rent! My wife needs her closet space, and I think that being able to check into that while we’re shopping around for downtown apartments for rent would be a good thing for us! Thanks for the tips.

13. I really enjoy reading each and every comment from this site as all are unique and highly informative and that’s why I also love working with my broker OctaFX, it is one of the Forex trading company and has some of the best facilities for all like 50% bonus on deposit and also instant payout system with all payment processor and that too without even charging any fees so with so many benefit it is always fantastic to be working with such a wonderful company.real estate istanbul

14. Very nice tips which anyone can apply when selling their property. A word of mouth through friends and family is also fantastic since you can get a buyer just there! Belize Real Estate

15. your website about the property which police seize and investigate the woman behind. The department must take serious action against such corruption cases. I would like to look forward to more best writing services online updates related to this caseproperty

16. Hello, I really appreciate your article, I thought that investing in real estate is more profitable as compared to investing in gold. And also there are less risk factors in real estate investment. So that’s why I personally prefer to invest in real estate.panama real estate

17. your website about the property which police seize and investigate the woman behind. The department must take serious action against such corruption cases. I would like to look forward to more best writing services online updates related to this case.Immobilienpreise Leipzig

18. You might not be aware that until 2011, the railway station at Schofields was a basic single platform located across the road from where the Chinese takeaway, until it was relocated to it’s current location closer to the (then only planned!) new developments, much to the vocal distaste of the locals residing in the “old” Schofields village.bat dong san ping land

19. I like that the house kinda looks lived in–there’s stuff on the nightstands, things in the kitchen. Doesn’t look as sterile as I expected.real estate autoresponder

20. Investing online sounds so interesting! I would like to know some more details about investing in real estate online. It’s just hard to trust agents because sometimes they all seem to say the same things, it’s hard for us to know who’s telling you genuine information.For more information about real estate click this link

21. Financial advisors are a great option, though one should probably accumulate a bit of assets before finding one to make it worth while. At the beginning, focusing on living below your means is still much more effective then trying to increase your investment gains.Real Estate

22. I like how you mention it is important to have good credit when trying to buy a new home. I’ve been thinking of moving, so I will need a real estate agent to help me with buying a new home. I will make sure to build up my credit before starting the buying process.best kratom vendors

23. Hello, I really appreciate your article, I thought that investing in real estate is more profitable as compared to investing in gold. And also there are less risk factors in real estate investment. So that’s why I personally prefer to invest in real estate.toronto new condos

24. Well done! My husband and I just sold ou home a couple of months ago and we did the exact same things as you mentioned here. Another thing that we did was we hired a reliable real estate agent to help us out and process all the necessary documents to sell our house conveniently. It’s great to know that more people are sharing insights and relevant tips like this post to help others. Many thanks!we buy Houses Tampa

25. This is a blog to watch for sure. I think you have a really awesome writing style by the way. Very easy to read. Your blog design is so clean too! Thank you all the hard work!best florida online real estate school

26. @ Hal Austin November 19, 2019 3:17 PM

Why are you responding to a bunch of anonymous jokers hiding behind intellectually empty contributions?

Are you that journalistically dumb as to not to be able to notice that this blog has been hijacked by a cadre of trolls aka anonymous keyboard warriors out to destabilize the blogmaster David’s pet project called ‘Freedom of Speech’ but within democratically determined boundaries of abuse?

Even though you are permitted to fertilize the politically addled eggs of your pet butterfly called ‘Mariposa’, please stop feeding the termites operating as the viruses “lisa and jack” of ‘intellectually useless’ propaganda.

27. These are very intriguing numbers but the majority of Canadians would not be saving the difference from renting. Those numbers assume that there’s actually something left after renting as well which for many does not exist. The average savings rate is less than 1% in Canada.

I agree that needing money is tricky, but Canadians have embraced HELOCs and the interest rates are extremely low right now and not expected to increase. This solves the need to be liquid.

In all fairness owning is still better unless you’re in the 1% of earners or already have family wealth.
    companies who buy houses aurora

28. If you are small business owners and want to advertise your business in the UAE, Go to my link and publish your ad.surgical mask production line

29. Financial advisors are a great option, though one should probably accumulate a bit of assets before finding one to make it worth while. At the beginning, focusing on living below your means is still much more effective then trying to increase your investment gains.buying real estate in cambodia foreigners

30. After my 4 years in the Navy as a cook, I went to the Culinary Institute of America to learn the proper way to cook. Eventually, after 5 years working in the finest restaurants and Clubs in Palm Beach and New York City, I bought 2 bankrupt restaurants and eventually had 5 within 15 years.Manchester Market

31. An interesting dialogue is price comment. I feel that it is best to write more on this matter, it may not be a taboo topic however usually individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers.body contouring miami

32. Very nice tips which anyone can apply when selling their property. A word of mouth through friends and family is also fantastic since you can get a buyer just there!!owner finance specialist

33. Hi, Your dream home sounds a lot like mine, minus the chickens. (Though I wouldn’t mind having neighbors who have chickens that I could buy eggs from.) Our next family adventure is taking us up to Boise and I’m hoping to find a dream home in the next few years to make our own. I hope everything works out for you (and selfishly because I want to see all the deets on how you renovate!) Sending prayers and hopeful energy that your home sells in time for you to snatch up the home you want.student accommodation in london

34. https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/29/the-adrian-loveridge-column-creating-opportunity-in-real-estate/comment-page-1/#comment-1188977

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/royal-barbados-police-force-denial-protest-not-stopping-denny

Denny unmoved by Police denying permission for protest
    Daveny Ellis Created : 7 August 2020
    Community
    David Denny protesting

Leader of the Caribbean Movement for Peace and Integration (CMPI) is defiantly going forward with his latest protest action.

David Denny, President of the CMPI says that they have been denied permission by the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) and have been asked to foot the bill for officers to be at their next protest set for August 8 next to Sandals Beach Hotel, Maxwell.

Denny believes that what the RBPF has done in this instance is a breach of the Public Order Act.

This has never been done before. Because under the Public Order Act it is very clear that you can apply for the permit and the RBPF does not have any power…to charge you any form of finances for that permit. So we see this as a clear cut case where the police are trying to create the conditions to deny us that fundamental right for us to participate in a peaceful picket next to the Sandals Beach Hotel,” Denny said.

He also claims that what the RBPF has done is illegal.

“We also see this as an illegal act by the Royal Barbados Police Force… We are not holding any fundraising activity where we would need policemen. If the police come, that is their right,” the CMPI Head stated.

Denny is insisting to go forward with the protest action despite all this and has encouraged Barbadians to join the march tomorrow.

…We are asking Barbadian people to turn up for our picket and walk the beach of Maxwell on the 8 of August 2020 from 2 to 4 pm. We are not accepting this decision by the Royal Barbados Police Force because it is denying us our fundamental rights and it is in breach of the Public order act. And therefore the CMPI as the 13 of June 1980 Movement will continue with its protest action,” Denny said.

Those interested in contacting David Denny for more information on the protest may do so at 1(246)546-5697, 1(246)-286-4052, or email him at ahsaki66@hotmail.com for further information.

35. Denny going forward with protest despite police refusal
    Daveny Ellis
    3 minutes

Leader of the Caribbean Movement for Peace and Integration (CMPI) is defiantly going forward with his latest protest action.

David Denny, President of the CMPI says that they have been denied permission by the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) and have been asked to foot the bill for officers to be at their next protest set for August 8 next to Sandals Beach Hotel, Maxwell.

Denny believes that what the RBPF has done in this instance is a breach of the Public Order Act.

"This has never been done before. Because under the Public Order Act it is very clear that you can apply for the permit and the RBPF does not have any power...to charge you any form of finances for that permit. So we see this as a clear cut case where the police are trying to create the conditions to deny us that fundamental right for us to participate in a peaceful picket next to the Sandals Beach Hotel," Denny said.

He also claims that what the RBPF has done is illegal.

“We also see this as an illegal act by the Royal Barbados Police Force… We are not holding any fundraising activity where we would need policemen. If the police come, that is their right,” the CMPI Head stated.

Denny is insisting to go forward with the protest action despite all this and has encouraged Barbadians to join the march tomorrow.

"...We are asking Barbadian people to turn up for our picket and walk the beach of Maxwell on the 8 of August 2020 from 2 to 4 pm. We are not accepting this decision by the Royal Barbados Police Force because it is denying us our fundamental rights and it is in breach of the Public order act. And therefore the CMPI as the 13 of June 1980 Movement will continue with its protest action," Denny said.

Those interested in contacting David Denny for more information on the protest may do so at 1(246)546-5697, 1(246)-286-4052, or email him at ahsaki66@hotmail.com for further information.

36. The above is from Loop News. Tried posting the link but post gone to spam.
    Here we go:
    http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/royal-barbados-police-force-denial-protest-not-stopping-denny

37. All this has the backing of the president. Private owners of coastal lands are not claiming land right up to the breaking waves, so-called real estate accretion. It is a bogus legal concept, imported from the US, that only serves to deny Barbadians access to beaches. This is who we are.

38. Showers put damper on Black Lives Matter beach protest – by Anesta Henry August 8, 2020

Heavy showers washed out today’s Black Lives Matter beach protest, but organizers say they will be returning to the Maxwell Beach, Dover, Christ Church, adjacent to Sandals Hotel, to protest against what they claim to be the hotel’s efforts to block locals from accessing part of the beach.

The event was organized by General Secretary of the Caribbean Movement for Peace and Integration (CMPI) David Denny, and the 13th of June 1980 Movement headed by noted attorney Lalu Hanuman.

Denny told Barbados TODAY that despite the showers, he and Hanuman spent some time at the location where they waited to see if they would be joined by other protesters who did not show up.

“Because of the rain people did not come out, because the track to get to the beach was too full of mud. But we turned up at the beach next to the hotel and while we were there we were able to look at the situation relating to the beach access and there is no real beach access. And then we saw a number of signs that have been placed on the beach to deny Barbadian people access to the beach next to Sandals,” Denny said.

“We are going to continue to protest against this kind of behaviour because it is not accessible. Therefore, we as Barbadian people must be able to have access to our beaches.

Denny said the two organizations intend to host another protest action at that location, for the same cause, possibly before the end of the month. (AH)

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/08/08/showers-put-damper-on-black-lives-matter-beach-protest/

39. Does every application for permission to picket subject to charges for police services, or are the charges discretionary? This is not the first beach protest of this nature, but it is the first time I have heard organizers complaining about having to pay for law enforcement.

If the charges are discretionary and not mandatory, then we are indeed living in stranger times.

https://loopnewslive.blob.core.windows.net/liveimage/sites/default/files/MhTfnRi0OX.jpg

40. Well dog bite yuh, it works. 🙂

41. Great post ! The post is very interesting and informative. Thanks for sharing this information! I will wait for your another article.Niaga Readymix

42. The science behind the power of words explains how each and every word we speak creates sound waves and transmits messages into the atmosphere. Words contain inherent positive or negative connotations that can result in energy shifts.personalized paint by number

43. zacksmith7876 Avatar

They were focused on chasing every poor Black vendor off the beach and squeezing out every small entrepreneur out of the industry. Seek out some local manufactures who never got a real chance of supplying what is essentially basic furniture.building and pest inspection port stephens

44. The atmosphere was full with anticipation as the Royal Barbados Police Band steel pan drums cut the balmy air and local dignitaries wished all a fond farewell.Ready Mix Jakarta