A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves.”
Edward R. Murrow

The blogmaster continues to listen to the fury in the feedback by Barbadians triggered by government’s decision to increase bus fare to $3.50.  After more than four decades has the national discussion changed about the state of public transport and the burgeoning sub culture which accompanies it changed?

On the 10 April 2019 Chairman of the Transport Authority Ian Estwick reminded the country a ‘bariffle’ of permits were issued in the last days of the last government. Minister Michael Lashley was the former minister responsible. The political partisans will need reminding that a similar event occurred when the last BLP government demitted office with Ministers Johnny Tudor and Gline Clarke wantonly approving PSV permits.

In summary, Eswick shared numbers to advise that about 53% of 735 valid permits as at 08 April 2019 issued to PSVs are concentrated on SEVEN routes (Bank Hall -38, Speightown -32, Silver Sands -99, Silver Hill -65, Redman  Village -59, Jackson -45, Fairy Valley -49).

In a nutshell the foregoing vividly supports what Barbadians should know. The mismanagement and politicization of the Transport Board by successive administrations has catapulted the country to where we are mired today.

In a nutshell the foregoing vividly supports what the Barbadians know. The mismanagement and politicization of the Transport Board by successive administrations has catapulted to where we are today. This repeat was no error.

There is more to tell about the current state of the transportation sector.

Barbadians have been complicit in the demise of the transportation system. Whether it is found in the passive response to former minister Rommell Marshall going against accepted tendering policy by approving a sweet deal with CGI insurance company. David Thompson approving a political gimmick to allow free bus ride for school children. And common to both parties, employing the most incompetent actors to manage the Transport Board. The last General Manger Sandra Forde rushes to the mind. Several other examples can be listed to support the view that the mismanagement of the Transport Board is a continuum.

It is disgusting – to put it mildly – to have to listen to the political talking heads from all sides pretending to be so concerned about the effect the fare hike will have on the travelling public. To watch the tours of the bus stands to benefit from the anti hike bus fare sentiment is most disingenuous.

The morass we have created in the transportation sector is a symptom of the bigger predicament we find ourselves, so spare us the ‘esoteric’ analysis. The poor must be protected, a non point. Continuing to conflate many issues triggered by the fare hike is an embarrassment to a 90% plus literate country fighting above its weight class country.

We are in dark place and to fix it will require the country to suffer some pain. How long the suffering will continue will be up to us. We agree that commonsense should tell us it cannot be business as usual.

Time to pick our poison!

97 responses to “Pay the $3.50 or Alternatively Drink the Poison”

1. More proof for me that you are a runaway train. You may have started off on the right track but something happened along the way and you became an egomaniac. Happens all the time. (Quote)

This is what I was trying to say about PUDRYR.

His intentions in the beginning were honourable, but he became too full of himself…… his ego became inflated and he is becoming more and more obnoxious.

Disagree with him, you are in for a busing and being called a pooch licker.

I scroll pass his contributions nowadays.

2. “THE FIRST STEP TO DESTROYING OUR TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM WAS WHEN IN 1969 THE DLP UNDER BARROW ELIMINATED THE EXISTING BUS COMPANIES TO THREE– THE ELITE ROCKLYN AND THE TRANSPORT BOARD…..”

Ironically, it was also reported in that May 2, 1976 news extract, Barrow “also disclosed plans to nationalise the two remaining private bus companies……. Rocklyn and Elite bus companies……. in June next year (1977) when their present concessions expire.”

However, this occurred under the Tom Adams led BLP administration, which won the 1976 general elections.

3. DUMPSTER DIVING.

““In spite of all we have done, there is still a lot more to be done, and therefore we requested a permanent consultant and the Canadian Government agreed, through the IMF, to assist us with the provision of three long-term consultants,” she explained.

She noted that the consultants would work with the Customs and Excise Department, the Barbados Revenue Authority and the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs.”

https://www.cbc.bb/index.php/news/barbados-news/item/8975-prime-minister-public-service-to-be-rebuilt

4. The Canadians are coming. The Canadians are coming. They also bringing Electric buses to solve Transport Board problems.

5. The Barbados government says it is encouraged by the discussions held with Canadian firms interested in establishing a presence on the island as Bridgetown seeks to take advantage of a growing global medical marijuana industry.

https://www.cbc.bb/index.php/news/barbados-news/item/8973-pm-says-canadian-firms-attracted-to-barbados

6. If I see it right, we only need 42 drivers for 42 operational buses. All others should be dismissed immediately.

So…….. one driver is going to work from five o’ clock in the morning to one o’ clock the next morning. Nobody to drive when a worker is ill, takes vacation etc. Your underwear is showing!.

“It would also be time to privatize the school system ….”
    So only the rich can go to school just as it was before? Minimum wage cannot pay for children to go to school.

7. Robert Goren,

Obnoxious, toxic AND nasty. The tone of the blog has deteriorated to all out below the belt fighting all of the time. No more witty repartee, just nasty sledging. You can feel the animosity bouncing off the screen as though everybody is just looking for a punching bag to release his anger.

That kind of atmosphere tires me instead of energizing me. Time for another break, I think.

8. We are agreeing a lot these days. First thing in the morning and the spoutings from the regular brigade betrays that we are human beings.

9. David,

What a great team for the rescuing of Barbados we would all be if we ever tried to form a physical group. We would probably decapitate each other before we even went out to our first battle!

10. There is the challenge right there, all mean well but there is no willingness demonstrated to appreciate the difference people bring to the table and as a consequence level of compromise required. It is his or her way, leading to the polarization we are seeing everywhere. We never learn.

11. No we were not discussing the oil terminal until you turned the focus of privitization in that direction
    Under previous govts the transport board was catergorize as part of a social network for many reasons one which in part barbadians financial support was limited to accessing their own means of transportation
    What might have changed is management in its entirety
    However the knee jerk solution of privatization cannot answer the question of a trigger mechanism of high unemployment which would effect the barbadian household

12. PDYR
    now there u have ( it) not only myself belive you have become an egotistical bombastic a..ss hole full of yuh self

13. The conversation includes you.

14. @ Donna who wrote, Obnoxious, toxic AND nasty.

Just scroll past.

Works for me.

15. @ Mariposa,

Believe it or not, when the Transport Board was formed by the BLP in the 1950s, it was one of the most efficient organisations, not only in the Caribbean, but the English-speaking world. I had enormous bragging rights with my English friends and colleagues about the TB’s competence..
    Remarkably, although throughout the 1950s and 60s Barbados exported people to work on London Transport, to my knowledge not a single government, DLP or BLP, has ever drawn on this wealth of experience – including the many who have retired back to the island. This is typical.
    I have mentioned her previously about the Acme making buses for BT in the 1960s, a development that died a natural death. The decline in the BT is post-Barrow. Here s a challenge for our social historians to explore.
    To go off topic a bit: The Transport Board was stationed at its present site after the collapse of the walls of Combermere. It is now over 60 years since that piece of invaluable real estate has been misused by governments.

16. NO!!!!!

I did NOT “turn the focus of privatization in that direction.”

All I did was to QUESTION your SUPPORT of privatizing a SOE under your administration, but giving the initiative a “thumbs down” if it comes into consideration under this BLP administration.

Privatization is privatization. You sought to differentiate between the privatization of TB and the oil terminal with a weak, unsubstantiated argument about “how many employees does the oil terminal have in comparison to the many ranges and dept where there are employees working in the transport board system,” and “entire depts at TB would be given a red slip,”………….

………… which you have REFUSED to identify and FAILED to explain.

Once again, PLEASE ANSWER the following questions:

(1). How would privatizing TB “trigger (a) mechanism of high unemployment which would affect the Barbadian household?”

(2). Identify the “ranges and departments” at TB you referred to, that would be affected in the event TB was privatized?

These are SIMPLE questions……….. if you’re NOT prepared to answer them…….. then, let’s move on.

17. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Georgie Porgie April 22, 2019 10:21 AM

The stage or zonal system can work, We made it work before . The starting points and ending points for each zone can be reconfigured as times goes by. However, this time we have technology on our side if we use it wisely. THE GPS locator on each bus will and can determine the fare when any person embarks on the bus.

Also, as many persons now have hand-held GPS devices they can check on their location in relation to the bus they intend to catch and confirm what the correct fare will be. Our Transport Authority should mandated to develop/facilitate a MOBILE APP (apple and android) for this. The idea of cashless or preloaded transit cards will complete the trick. Another part of this musty be the issuing of ticket to all commuters. A ticket will be essential for all PSV operators as this will be “proof” of the correct fare being charged.

This zonal/stage system will allow some commuters to reduce their spend on public transport. As long as you dont travel the entire route from starting zone to ending zone; you will can get away with paying $5.50 to $6.00 for two trips in my scenario of the Silver Sands to Bridgetown route.. This will be surely less than the mandatory $7.00(3.5 x 2 ) for 2 trips of the same distance.

Also, as there is a push towards “mobile wallets” the buses should be equipped to accepts these mobile payments. accept Mobile wallet payments from both local and international providers. Another way to capture some much needed foreign exchange if/when visitors choose to use public transport.

We know what we can do; we just need to execute a plan and stop executing something else

18. Ian Estwick confirmed that alternative payment systems will be integrated into the management of the transit.

19. To be honest, from my point of view the public transport system in Barbados resembles a little the conditions at HG Wells and his time machine. In the beginning it worked quite well, but after more than fifty years of independence the natives don’t even know how to repair buses anymore. In terms of developmental biology, this is referred to as “regressive evolution”. The parallels to the “Morlocks” are obvious to every Wells-reader.

At least now we have a Prime Minister who brings down the cave ceiling so that the poor Morlocks can finally see light again.

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

For a moment there I wondered what to write.

An apology for not accepting the script Donna and Goering have written for me?

A letter of acquiescence to ManyPussy, she who in her multiple personalities shifts the blame for fvcking up the country to the other half of the BDLP duopoly?

And then, my egotistical attitude and delusional self asserted itself once more and it said

“The psyches of the BAJAN PEOPLE AND SHEEPLE to be reached IS NOT GOING TO BE IMPACTED BY people like Grenville Phillips or Lynette or the leaders of these Third Parties who are proffering themselves for service at today.

They are going to need a breed of doers who, BECAUSE OF THE ENTRENCHED CORRUPTION AND WICKEDNESS THAT HAS EXISTED IN BARBADOS SINCE INDEPENDENCE, must understand my toxic calls.

Wunna people like Donna and Goering are too placid for this fight.

Wunna feel dat Mugabe Mottley going lay down and let her corruption league of forgiving the tax indebtedness of her fadder, changing de constitution as she pleases, swapping out evidence in importations, subverting all the Auditor General’s reviews by inserting electronic platforms that he and his team cannot see?

Wunna so effing blinded that these things are happening and not a feller is looking.

Barring Piece and Hants and WARU and Theophillus and some of the DLP biased tribe.

Let me show you the subtlety of this attack.

Go to the Barbados Government Website and look for the 2017 Auditor General’s report

Go to page 10 of the report and read it.

See how he details the ways his Department is being undermined.

TRY TO COPY THE DAMNING TEXT!

It is now an image!!!

Now wunna people and sheeple have not got a clue about what this means in the IT domain.

So my egotistical and delusional character is going to tell you happy go lucky campers.

The text that sould be interrogatable is now sealed from the prying eyes of the public WHILE THERE FOR ALL OF YOU TO “SEE”

HEHEHEHEH

SLOWLY BUT INEXORABLY, YOUR LITTLE UNSUSPECTING WORLDS ARE SHRINKING AROUND YOU, and not a fellow is seeing it.

Why convert searchable pdf to more resource intensive Images?

And the sheeple respond in unison “WE ENT KNOW AND FRANKLY CHARLOTTE, I DONT GIVE A FVCK…!!!

I will continue to be the self appointed John thd Baptist who will behave as toxic as reasonably possible UNTIL THE THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT IS ESTABLISHED.

And then, I swear to all of you, upon all that I hold Holy, de ole man will leave Barbados Underground AND WILL COME HER, NO MORE.

But until then, let loose the dogs of war…

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

the knowledge which was admitted into the public realm in the Charbonneau inquiry was mind boggling. The “fix” was on from day one, because one commissioner had stage 4 cancer, and the only job of the other, a political party hack, was to sanitize the final report, which was later proved in the leak of exchanges between himself and Mme Charbonneau.
    The entire current SNC “issue” is about politically related donations. And Charbonneau birthed it. You do not throw your #1 party donor under a bus?

Watch the sequence.
    It was May 2018 we learned about the DPA legislation
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/federal-budget-corporate-wrongdoing-1.4664490
    At the same time we learned of charges against a former SNC employee
    https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/article-former-snc-lavalin-executive-normand-morin-faces-elections-charges/
    Appreciate Del Mastro was convicted of a similar scam, and the CFO of the company who paid employees to contribute to his campaign was also charged and pleaded guilty. In this case, NO CHARGES were laid against the receivers, only the person (Morin) fingered with election contribution violations.
    In Jan 2019 Morin pleads guilty
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/election-financing-snclavalin-charbonneau-1.4984823
    see where Charbonneau led? Note the tagline…”Normand Morin’s plea means Canadians may never know which Liberals, Conservatives received SNC Lavalin money”
    The political sanitization continues..two more go down in Jan/Feb 2019
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/snc-lavalin-ceo-guilty-fraud-pierre-duhaime-1.5001839
    Realize these were ONGOING when the Raybould-Wilson affair broke out. Yah think the plea of guilty to 1 of 14 charges was a coincidence??

What was the spin line? SNC is a different company, it was the people not the company, and the company has been cleaned of all the offenders…..from the political side?….the persons involved have been charged and convicted to the full extent of the law.

Yet, unlike Del Mastro, not a single politician, not a single leadership candidate has been charged related to SNC contributions?

And imagine, while Charbonneau flushed out a wide range of municipal employees, not a single federal employee (save Elbaz and he was indirect) has been fingered. Yet we had the country’s TOP civil servant, who immediately took early retirement, pleading SNC’s case at the highest levels? Yah think SNC was playing the pubic employees too?

22. Artax
    I don’t know why you bother with Mariposa. All of a sudden she’s a former government employee awaiting severance. 🤔

23. Enuff thanks for reminding me
    Still awaiting my severence pay

24. John the Baptist! The vulgar voice cussing all day in the wilderness!

No apologies necessary.

First time I’ve been called placid in all my days! lol Life would have been much easier for me if only I had been placid. I just believe that ranting and raving all day will cause people to write you off as a lunatic. That’s how it usually goes. They may read your posts and not believe any of it

You may have the last word

25. Temind you, that you’re a stranger to the truth? #nocomment

26. ” ” Provide between 120 to 180 electric buses within 12 to 18 months ”

If these electric buses are built in Canada will they be specially built for Barbados ? RIGHT HAND DRIVE.

Just trying to be helpful in case they forgot to put that in the specifications. lol.

27. Would like to see them electric buses going up horse Hill or even driving through the areas that get flooded in bad weather
    This govt cant even make an equitable decision on bus fare but bumping themselves all over the place talking about buying electric buses

28. Look what big cities having experts in technology think about electric buses

A lot of transit agencies are also concerned that EV performance isn’t predictable enough in bad weather or in extreme circumstances. San Francisco held off on electrified buses specifically because city officials worry about the area’s exceptionally steep hills. “The technology isn’t quite there yet,” said Erica Kato, a spokeswoman for the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency.

29. Before this govt can fix one problem they go running around like chicken with cut off heads trying to impress the masses
    As if liat is not enough .finding money to solve liat problems should be a cause of concern
    This mad rush to buy one electric bus without having done the necessary homework coincides with all the other mad rush policies that govt have implemented causing people backside to moan and groan

30. Mariposa, I thought of Horse Hill and those electric buses myself. I think they will have a problem even going up Beachmount Hill far more Horse Hill. I would like to see one try the Bowling Alley. Joy Road closed and they are using the Doctor Road, otherwise they probably would have a problem there too.

31. This govt would be rememberd as a govt of headless bumblers
    With all these big shot advisors one would think that at least amongst the merry bunch that advice pertinent on the mechanics of driving a EV bus in steep hilly terraine would be of great concern before govt talk about purchase

32. Don’t expect to see one electric bus if govt did their homework and paid attention to these land mines including potholes associated to low level performance with electric buses

Additionally, cities considering electric buses based on their purported environmental virtues should account for the toxic pollution generated by the mining and refining of materials used in their batteries, the pollution produced during manufacture of the batteries, and the cost and/or waste produced when storing and/or treating or recycling used batteries.

The economic costs of batteries used in electric vehicles are high and should be taken into account by cities considering shifting from reliable fossil-fuel-powered buses to electric-powered buses, especially since the batteries aren’t cheap and battery life is proving to be frequently less than promised. This point is especially relevant in regions that experience lengthy periods of extreme cold or hot weather (like Chicago during winter or Albuquerque during summer). Extreme temperatures drain battery life, necessitating more frequent charging, equaling hours of downtime or even replacement.

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax April 22, 2019 3:21 AM “General elections in Barbados were held on September 2, 1976. On May 2, 1976, it was reported in the press that PM Errol Barrow announced “a 25¢ standardized bus fare would be introduced in Barbados towards the end of” May. I believe this was also a political gimmick from which the Transport Board never recovered.”

I think that people have forgotten why standardized bus fares exist. They are not necessarily an election gimmick. Standardized bus fares exist in many parts of the world.

Store clerk or fast food restaurant server A lives at Eagle Hall. Store clerk or fast food restaurant server B lives at River Bay or at East Point, or Bathsheba. They both work in Bridgetown. Both have a take home pay of $380 per week.

Under a stage system A may pay 75 cents for the short journey from Eagle Hall to town. B may have to pay $3.50 to come to town from deep in the country. At the end of the week A has paid $7.50 out of his or her $380. to travel to and from work. B with the same pay has paid $35.

At the end of a 49 work week year A has spent $367.50 to travel to/from work

At the end of a 49 work week year B has paid $1,715.

Soon enough B is going to start looking for accommodations closer to town.

Do we have enough housing in town? Can the infrastructure support many more people moving to town? Do we want to destabilize rural villages by having more working age people move to town?

What happens to elders and little children in rural villages when the working age people move from country to town?

Do we want more poor people moving to town?

Are our urban villages functioning well enough to accommodate more people? To provide for people’s social, economic and other needs?

A flat rate bus fare is about more than money. It is also about equity and stability.

34. Northern Observer Avatar
    Northern Observer

Fuzzy
    What if by living in rural areas, B annual housing costs are $3000 less than A?
    What if B’s relatives live nearby and provide child care?
    What if B has some land and can grow some produce which A cannot?

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

11.50pm sorry, that was SS not fuzzy.

36. “I think that people have forgotten why standardized bus fares exist. They are not necessarily an election gimmick. Standardized bus fares exist in many parts of the world.”

SSSPFL

Come off it, my friend.

Barrow reducing bus fare to 25¢ did not have anything to do with “why standardized bus fares exist.”

It was an election gimmick!!!!

A man “abolished” bus fare by stages, whereby commuters paid according to distance travelled, and introduced an island wide fare of 25¢, conveniently around the time of a general election……..and you writing shiite about a “store clerk” or “restaurant server”………… and using the present bus fare of $3.50 as an example???

You did not even merit a response.

37. Enuff

Tell me this is not the same Mariposa/ac/Angela Skeete/Angela Cox/Coxable who cussed Lisa Marshall because she and other retrenched Transport Board employees told the press that on several occasions they were told by the TB’s management they would be paid severance on a particular day………only to turn up at TB’s office on those days to be told such payments were not forthcoming?

Tell me this is not the same “group of women” that did not have any sympathy for the retrenched former Beautify Barbados employees who had to wait THREE (3) YEARS before receiving severance payments?

Tell me this is not the same “consortium of DLP yardfowls” that did not say one word in defense of those former NCC employees who, after having their case heard by the Employee Rights Tribunal, were awarded less severance pay than they were due, by the former PM’s buddy Hal Gollop?

No, Enuff……….. DEM gots tuh be different people.

38. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Artax April 23, 2019 3:10 AM

SSS does have a point. As u must accept there are always a group of persons in any society that get handed a more shitty end of a stick.

If Barbados were a larger country and a “pay-by-distance” transit fare were introduced you would see some migration of persons closer to where employment is concentrated. It is just common sense for a person to want to save or spend less on a service if they can make it happen; all other things being equal.

A standardised bus fare make a social statement. It also creates a situation whereby PSV owners are concentrated on the more lucrative and shorter routes, where employment centres and housing are in close proximity to each other. After all “when money talks BS goes for a walk”.

in theory If it were left unchecked the migration will mostly likely lead to over crowding in those areas and/or very high rents and/or substandard housing being provided(slums) etc. But Barbados is a small place so it may not be that evident.

This is Barbados and we have a flat rate bus fare. The flat-rate in essence works like a subsidy across the entire system. Short route profits should cover longer less profitable routes in theory. However our system will fail or is failing when operators are allowed to “cherry pick” routes and the level of service provided on these routes.

The Transport Authority need to show its teeth and make the “flatrate” system work as it was designed or move over to a “pay-by-distance” model with the “transit fare” and respective revenue attached to distance travelled.

in 1976 flat rate was an election gimmick maybe so maybe not. However the duopoly has failed to execute as usual. The flat rate system can work but over the years “the politicos” have undermined the foundations it was designed on. So we now have what we have and ALL are wondering why it cannot or doesn’t work. The answer lies in the politico’s mirrors.

Just saying.

39. DA BEACH BELONG TO WE…… FUH NOW.

FUN, FOOD AND FROLIC much summed up the scene yesterday at many of the island’s beaches for the Easter bank holiday.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239420/breezing-bank-holiday

40. Can blame the people for not venturing in wide open spaces like beaches where their eould be large crowds
    Peoples minds are still focusing on the persistent drug related shootings and must well have placed safety first.
    Another murder recorded today

41. Two news articles about what PM is planning
    Not one about her having a growth strategy

Needles to say one of the articles highlited PM intention on borrwing to save Liat lol

42. The hypocrisy of Mia shines brighter than a Diamond
    Her in one of the news article headline
    Mia responds to Sri Lanka bombings
    For a while i did a double take
    Reason being that with all the death and violence going on in Venezuela nay word had been said from Mottley on behalf of the suffering people
    Yet she finds some kind of sympathy to draw from on behalf of those killed in the bombings
    Mia why havent you extended the same sympathy for the people of Venezuela in the fight and struggle against a regime that is causing the smallest the oldest to suffer intolerable daily

43. Igrunt wrassewhole Canucks.

Two Canadians have been arrested and charged in connection with importing cannabis into the country.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/23/two-canadians-on-drug-charges/

44. Any update on the Canucks?

Did they get the same justice and penalties as the locals?

45. Still a work in progress, but is voicing opposition sabotage? ….…..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/26/shunned/

46. DISAPPOINTED VOTER Avatar
    DISAPPOINTED VOTER

When the NSRL was introduced by the last administration there was a big march. This tax affected the have not the have nots. The havenots had a choice to leave the people things on the shelves. The union aggitated the workers to come out and march and fooled the have nots. Now this administration increase the bus fare to an unbearable amount of $3.50 with out a justifiable reason. No increase in fleet of the State owned transport board buses which means that the pofits going to the Private owners that both administrations at some point issued all the PSV they could when exiting government. People are being brained wash with a lot of Sh@#$e about stay the course. Corporation tax decrease while the poor is being taxed and they income being depleted by higer cost of living. “stay the course people” don’t say a word until you have to open your front door and eat the grass off your lawn because you cannot go in the supermarket and shoplift.

47. […] So far the Barbados austerity program has been following the script. The blogmaster has added our dissenting voice to those criticizing the prime minister for allowing her father to be conferred a knighthood. Against the background of the imbroglio of waiver of tax penalties to Elliot Mottley. And of recent the significant hike in the bus fare, a measure that will impact the most vulnerable in the society. Government’s remit will never change, the vulnerable MUST be protected – Pay the $3.50 or Alternatively Drink the Poison. […]