Liesel Weekes

On many occasions in which clients have brought disciplinary proceedings against their attorneys for misappropriating or unduly withholding their funds, once the funds have been repaid the client is no longer interested in pursuing the matter at the disciplinary committee – .Liesel Weekes, President of the BAR

The President of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) Liesel Weekes delivered from legalese text last week an insensitive rebuttal to the public. It is no secret lawyers have withheld client funds, misappropriated client funds, ‘misplaced’ important documents, been unresponsive and unprofessional. Weekes found the time to steadfastly defend her Association as any lawyer is trained to do.

She stated that unless members of the public presented evidence the ‘talk’ about lawyers being crooked is not sufficient to discipline the lawyer being accused. What Weekes and her predecessors have failed to do is update the public on the following just to name a few items:

• The date complaint was received and responded to by the Barbados Bar Association/Disciplinary Committee
  • The number of complaints received and the number actioned by the BBA/Disciplinary Association
  • Give a listing of the nature of the charges contained in the complaints received by the BBA/Disciplinary Committee
  • How many complaints were not followed by the BBA/Disciplinary Committee because accused lawyers frustrated the process
  • Provide an Ageing Report’ of complaints outstanding with the BBA/Disciplinary Committee

No we do not accept that as President of the BBA Ms. Weekes has no idea the status of complaints lodged with the Disciplinary Committee. A commonsense approach would have been to have the Chairperson of the Disciplinary Committee append to the statement issued by Weekes.

Barbados Underground over the years has posted many blogs to highlight a dysfunctional court system including the ancillary services. The blogmaster is aware the BBA and Disciplinary Committee have not been given the resources to provide a quality service to the public. In fact one would deem it a nobrainer given the volume of complaints about the legal system from the public at home and abroad that successive governments would have addressed the matter. One is therefore left to assume tthe obvious.

At the town hall meetings in Canada recently Prime Minister Mia Mottley – a lawyer- admitted that the justice system is failing those who are forced to seek justice. A Barbadian in the diaspora also shared an experience with David Ellis last week where he travelled from overseas to attend a hearing in Barbados and he was not notified that the lawyer defending the matter would have been unavailable.

Over the years the blogmaster has observed some of our ‘best’ lawyers elected to the role of President of the BBA or appointed  to Chair the Disciplinary Committee. However,  service to the general public has not improved. Despite many of our ‘best’ lawyers having been elevated to become members of parliament and ministers of government where they have the opportunity to influence policymaking.

In the same way the BBA is always quick to comment on legislation harmful to the power brokers, why not recommend a change to the law that would permit the Crown to prosecute lawyers accused of stealing clients funds when there is evidence monies were repaid? The practice of lawyers repaying monies to clients on condition they do not prosecute is immoral and continues to compromise the justice system. Michael Carrington the former Speaker of the House is a good example.

To the lawyers that are members of the government- enough is enough!

Relevant links:

Tales from the Courts

177 responses to “Barbadians Cry Out as Barbados Bar Association Continues to Protect Crooked Lawyers and Dysfunctional System”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MARK FENTY PRODUCED THIS NON SEQUITUR

If GP was a Barbados Scholar then Gearbox had to be one as well …

MY QUESTION IS WHICH “IF” WAS HE USING

WAS HE USING “IF” MEANING SINCE OR THAT THE STATEMENT IS TRUE?
    WAS HE USING “IF” MEANING THAT THE STATEMENT IS NOT TRUE?
    OR
    WAS HE USING “IF” MEANING THAT THE STATEMENT MAY OR MAY NOT BE TRUE?

WHICH “IF” WAS HE USING? THE FIRST CLASS IF? THE SECOND CLASS IF? OR THE THIRD CLASS IF? WHICH?

2. No more comments outside the topic.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE TOPIC IS BARBADIANS CRY OUT AS BARBADOS BAR ASSOCIATION CONTINUES TO PROTECT CROOKED LAWYERS AND DYSFUNCTIONAL SYSTEM, RIGHT?

I HAVE DECIDED TO RETURN TO BARBADOS TO SORT OUT THIS PROBLEM ALL BY MY LONESOME SELF, JUST LIKE THE LONE RANGER!

4. Thanks Bush Tea. Continue to do your work as well.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DOES HE NEED LEARNED QUALIFIED AND COMPETENT HELPERS DAVID.?

6. You should ask him. From what can be seen he and team appear to be competent.

7. Since there can be no comments outside this topic ……..

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE You should ask him. From what can be seen he and team appear to be competent.

SO HE IS SAVING BARBADOS LIKE THE LONE RANGER IN THE WILD WEST AND I DONT NEED TO COME HOME THEN? OK

9. @BT

Glad to hear that the rumours of your demise (spread here by you know who) have been greatly exaggerated.

Stay well

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

sargeant is happy! his saviour liveth!

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dr. GP my fellow myope.

I am happy too and he is not My Saviour nor yours.

Could someone just point me to this Triune Discourse that caused this?

Dont worry dont worry, some things just are, I guess.

As Mugabe says ” Say the Curse” sorry de computer acting up “Stay the Course”

She must only be a 5 term government so there is much to be done!

Remember that “Pressure Bursts Pipes”

Let me encourage you GENTLEMEN here about this race.

Look at Barbados Underground

Observe how it has changed from all the bravado and 30 to 0 to quiet.

The radical change to Mugabe was necessary AND SO WERE THE TEN YEARS UNDER FUMBLES!!!

WE, THE FEW, NOTWITHSTANDING OUR RELIGIOUS BELIEFS, WITH OUR EYES FOCUSED ON OUR GOD AND OUR PERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS WITH HIM, STILL LIVE IN THIS TEMPORAL WORLD

THOSE OF YOU WHO SUSPECT WHO MY ALTER EGO IS, CAUSE NONE OF YOU KNOW DEFINITIVELY need to ask yourselves this question

He could have sold out after May 24th and beg like a dog, like David Come Sing a Song and still get a lil piece sorry pick.

So why not?

He certainly is not foolish, nor is he Caligula in Syphilitic throes, so why is he doing this?

What does the ole man gain?

Each day my list of fans, euphemism for enemies increases. Right now there are 15 active people who cuss me daily.

And any time any one of you just support one thing I say, wunna gets assaulted.

Why dat?

Examine that for a moment, what is it that is being said that is soooooo vexing to the Mugabe-ites?

Is it that we call her PrimeWicker?

Not really, she did not create herself, but if she mutilated a other person, then I got a problem with it.

What frightens me is the pattern. Notwithstanding my personal stuff it is the Forgiveness of taxes, knighting my daddy, changing the constitution, forcing MyMoney scam on the nation, hiring 30 ministers, firing 5,000 bajans, tekking $115 million for your friends and giving people $15 million

Leh me BREK dat down

15,000,000 ÷ 280,000 = $53.57 cents for five years which when divided by 365 days and again by 5 CANNOT PAY FOR YOUR DAILY $3.50 BUSFARES.

Are you understanding where I am coming from yet.

This Crime Minister is living jn luxury while all of the people who elected here are being asked to

SAY THE CURSE SORRY “STAY THE COURSE” (my computer does act up bad).

Our task is simple.

Every single day we need to get people to rethink the way they elect people AND DEMAND DELIVERABLES so that no one can ever come again to the HoA and say STAY DE RH COURSE while giving herself, and 30 other moFos, a RH increase

We have one enemy and it wears the face of Mugabe!!

12. Four days from now it would be ressurection Sunday and Bush Tea actually made History four days earlier
    Ok Faker

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE David April 17, 2019 8:23 AM

You should ask him.

WHY? IT IS WRITTEN ……………..And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel? (2 CORINTHIANS 6:15)

WHY WOULD HE THAT BELIEVETH COMMUNICATE UNECCESERILLY WITH BELIAL THE SON OF SATAN? WHY?

IT IS WRITTEN …………….For many deceivers are entered into the world, who confess not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist. 2 JOHN 7

14. Would be nice if all of the egotistical submissions and ‘downgrading’ of those expressing their opinion on this otherwise most needed and informative site cease.
    Let those who want to cuss out each other do that directly.

When the youths read the negatives and disrespectful comments, what are they to think or how later behave? Comeon people if you are adult act it. NOW.

On Lawyers
    They are like most people except more priviledged. They will try anything. They know they are untouchable in Barbados.

Some years ago a visitor I had met on the job was hurrying out of the Hotel with a Newspaper wrapped package under his arm and an angry look on his face. I stopped him and asked what was going on. (On his previous visits here I had never seen him upset). He gave me a long story, the gist being that he notifies his Attorney each time they are coming to Barbados, gets an appointment, but when they get to the office the Secretary tell him that the Attorney is in Court or out of the island, that it had been going on for some years and he was going to stop it.

He said, they had spent loads of money on travel and accommodation and wasted time they could have spent relaxing, it was a land matter and he was going to the city to dismember the Attorney. (He patted the wrapped item).I asked for his wife and he said she was packing as they were leaving shortly.

Fortunately, after an exhausting while, I persuaded him that this was not the way, he needed to think of his wife and two children. I further suggested that he walk into the Attorney’s office withour prior notice and take a seat -the Attorney had to surface sometime!

After much venting, he calmed down and agreed, but said he would do so next tip because he was not 100% sure that he could control himself then. I applauded this decision and persuaded him to leave the wrapped item with me. He did. That afternoon, before they left the island he came back and thanked me.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHAT A LOVELY PIECE OF BULL SHIT
    YOU SHOULD PUBLISH IT
    I AM A PO-IT
    THOUGH I DO NOT KNOW IT

16. @Peggyagreen,

Thank you

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HERE COMES ASSTIN THE JOKER
    THE ONE WITH FACIES LIKE A POKER

18. Man, you killing muh —————–
    Mugabe at the Gathering and Diaspora convention
    Decide to hold a poetry competition
    She had a long list of invitees
    Anm one was a famous poet called GP
    And that was the last we heard of he

It is abundantly clear,
    You does really enjoy yourself here

Yuh got muh laughing

19. Let me finsh off that poem? Mrs Greene.

Some 14 years ago a woman who shall rename nameless became embroiled in a matter where she was in a business financed by a bank, fully collateralized but the Bank messed up with the collateral much like it did with the McCintoshes and thousands others here.

The bank chose one of its friendly lawyers who arranged with another teifing judge and by pure teifery the woman found herself without her properties, WHICH WERE NOT PART OF THE COLLATERAL!

Incredible but true.

THe woman then proceeded, over the course of 3 years, to engage the services of 3 different lawyers paying them no less than $3,000 between them, for them to have the matters heard and the judgement set aside

None of the lawyers AFTER TAKING HER MONEY, did what they were paid to do

The woman, 9 years ago went to the BBA and started the matter with that instutition and nothing happened at the BBA.

The bank, by the way, falsified several documents when they went before that paid judge and said judge, proceeded to tek way everything from dat woman.

Now I would ask the question Mrs Greene, in those circumstances, where that lawbiding woman, has been unfaired by the bank, the lawyers, the courts and judges, the BBA, and everyone including the dog,

I want you to honestly tell me if that woman would not be better served with renting one of those Uzis that are on the GUN FOR HIRE schemes that the young “entrepreneurs” have in Bim today, and go to all three offices where the respective culprits work and mowing down all of them?

Would she be right?

About your story, I saw a Bank Manager do that the same thing to a client of hers one evening when a specific MP was at Parliament a Tuesday evening years ago and a man, who had been bilked by that politician, was going to kill her.

The Bank Manager, who ironically was foreclosing on him, for the same bad deal, told him to put his gun away and go home to his children, which he did.

but I humbly put it to you that sometimes “there is a time to sow and a time to reap…”

One incident like that against these theiving lawyers, with a collins or a gun, is not so bad in the grand scheme of things you know…because then they will learn real quick, that they too can bleed and feel pain like us lesser humans

One Incident and then fear sets in and they treat people like humans BUT UNTIL THEN WE THE PEOPLE ARE TREATED LIKE DOGS.

Watch now how when i said 28 more deaths and how everybody say dat I heartless and want bad pun BIM, watch now how many gine run to defend de lawyers heheheheheheheh

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THEO
    AH SORRY
    I WANT YA TO LAFF
    BUT I AINT WANT YUH TO DEAD
    BUT IT IS TRUE ASSTIN IS A JOKER
    WITH FACIES LIKE A PORKER
    HE WENT TO THE UK AND GOT A JIG
    AND THEN HE START TO LOOK LIKE A PIG

21. GP…Remember this… Luke 6:31 King James Version (KJV)

31 And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.

Yes Freedom has been told that Hal insulted your Dear mother…However you have Insulted him on numerous occasions and continue and repeatedly insult him…BTW you also insult the Prime minister, how do you think a mother would feel to see her daughter denigrated in the most Vile Rhetoric that you profane and encourage others to do the same by your example..

Georgie Porgie April 12, 2019 2:23 PM

“ACTUALLY I WAS FIRST IN CLASS IN ENGLISH ALL THROUGH HC”…Freedom suspects you are also Top of the Class teaching Sunday School!

Georgie Porgie April 14, 2019 8:49 AM
    “I HATE BAD CRICKET, BAD MEDICINE AND BAD BIBLE EXPOSITION”…

In your experience in learning and teaching the Sacred Word Have you not learned…”But if ye do not forgive, neither will your Father which is in heaven forgive your trespasses.”

If you want to Continue being the BU Clown must you Stoop in the Poop to do so at the expense of others by destroying their reputation?

Leave out the Gutter talk it does not match what you project!

Now go ahead and justify your wrong doings…hahaha

https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Inspirational-Images/large/Mark_11-26.jpg

22. @ Freedom Crier,

Yes Freedom has been told that Hal insulted your Dear mother…(Quote)

May I again point out I have NEVER insulted GP’s mother. I was brought up better than that. I rarely used foul language and certainly do not insult people’s families.
    I can repeat what I have said, not a single word was, or was intended as, an insult. GP first made this assertion, but he has never said what was the insult. Others picked up on it. But thanks for your observation.
    BTW, he does not ‘insult’ me, if that is the intention he fails. I pity his bitterness and anger.

23. Oh No! Not again!
    I thought this was over.
    I thought the last word was had…..
    Let’s ban the words mother, father. sister(s), brother(s). relative(s) and cousin(s)
    I vote that we keep the four-letter words .

24. one time I ask a lawyer one question, the conversation lasted 4 minutes, after the conversation he told me go pay the secretary 75 dollars, never again. Why lawyers in barbados have so much power over the ordinary citizen, and where is the board that overseas lawyers behavior and professional conduct.

25. I will forgive when I get my funds from a lawyer that swear to conduct my case in a professional manner. Too long people are asked to forgive unscrupulous people they do business with. The dishonest person must fix the problem first and then be forgiven. Let honestly be the motto and then forgiveness. If folks can transact simple business matters, you dont need a lawyer, because first the lawyer will want lots of money from you, and then you have to wait a long time. If its land, if family member could agree with the property, you dont need a lawyer either. You dont want to leave your property in the hands of a lawyer, what if you get sick or die.

26. people need to stop trusting lawyers with their property documents, why would you give a lawyer the original documents of land and house docs, always give them a copy and you keep the originals, and keep all receipts. Never trust a lawyer in the first place, the same documents they have, you should also have. I think barbados laws have lawyers wrapped up too tight in people”s property. They are some good lawyers, but the bad ones outweigh the good ones. Keep your titles and deeds far away from these lawyers, the titles and deeds in a lawyer”s hand is like a winning lottery ticket with their names on it. Some of them have no shame because the courts have their backs. People be aware always, trust no one, and forgive no one that try to steal your hardworking assets.

27. Onita

You are right. But that is not all. Barbados is a small place and a visit to the lawyer’s home to discuss the matter may pay dividends. I am not advocating violence, but harsh words. Let their friends, relatives and neighbours know what they get up to. Don’t play by their rules.