Screenshot 2019-04-13 at 06.46.58.png
Economic Advisor to DLP Government

ECONOMIST SIR FRANK ALLEYNE says one of the reasons why Barbados was in the current economic mess was the country’s failure to pay workers based on productivity. Sir Frank, one of the Freundel Stuart administration’s trusted advisers, said yesterday that had the various governments followed through on the productivity focus after the 1991 economic crisis, many of the problems the country faced might have been alleviated. […] Sir Frank said the centrepiece of the structural adjustment programme was productivity enhancement.

Prior to May 24, 2018 the constant national refrain was that the economic and social state of the country had deteriorated to an unacceptable level. This position was punished by the electorate in unprecedented manner with the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) being inflicted with a 30-0 defeat. The simple tranlation of the result, the people are not happy.

It should be of concern to sensible Barbadians everywhere the vitriolic and uninformed political debate which has emerged in recent years. It is a predictable debate and often sees a predictable response by incumbent governments. The politically aware have stated the primary job of a political party is to find a way to stoke popularity.

In a well meaning democracy the needs of the people should be the prime objective. There are listed as being able to promote unity and tranquillity in the domestic space,  ensure justice for all, defense and safeguard the welfare and liberty of all the people – What is the purpose of government?. The opposite view is that no government is perfect in the vision or execution. How we govern is a man made construct and susceptible to the fallibility of man.

A couple weeks ago the blogmaster was motivated to write about the predictability to what has translated to a worrying crime situation. The same can be transposed to how we have and continue to govern ourselves. This blogmaster has been at the dashboard from 2007 and have been positioned to view the workings of political operatives having reason to interact with prime ministers, senators, ministers in government, surrogates, political talking heads et al. They operate with the same intent. They are driven by greed and an a destructive value system.

Barbados is a tiny island and if well managed with realistic objectives should satisfy the purpose of government. Instead we have allowed behaviours to be greatly influenced by popular culture. This has created the recurring dysfunction of government we have become mired. This week we learned about the many many PSV permits the outgoing government issued before demitting office -on the most profitable routes. A portfolio led by Michael Lashley.  Prior, this blogmaster is aware of  many PSV permits issued by Gline Clarke. We are aware there was financial benefit accrued to decision makers. This is one example of how greed and corruption as eventually led to an insolvent Transport Board taxpayers are left holdoing the bag.

Look in the mirror people!

Sensible Barbadians should have the capacity to view how systems of government are in decline across the globe. If we fail to show the courage to disrupt the current trajectory there is a predictable inevitability to how it will end for us.

In an situation where austerity measures have to be taken, one expects constituents being impacted to voice concern. One also expects the government charged with managaing the process to admoister it as humanely as practicable. As important is for civil society to be resonsible in voicing feedback.

It seems to this blogmaster we are in danger of being subsumed by a destructive rhetoric motivated by egocentric thinking.

Beware the rhetoric of austerity.

351 responses to “The Rhetoric of Austerity”

1. The clueless masses probably do not understand that the failure of the IMF programme is equivalent to a currency devaluation. We can all easily imagine what will happen if we look at Jamaica or Guyana. Schoolchildren do not even arrive at school because they are kidnapped and killed beforehand. The problem there is not poverty, but survival.

The reduction of the monstrous deficit in state-owned enterprises is a basic prerequisite for the restructuring of the budget and the success of the IMF programme. If the program fails, Barbados will be cut off from the capital market for decades and a devaluation of the Barrow dollar will be a natural law. It is obvious that education in local schools does not include finance or the economy. Otherwise, people wouldn’t be crying over $1.50.

We need less Bible speaking, Barrow memorial and singing lessons at school, but education of the inhabitants of the Royal Plantation of Barbados about the basic requirements for sound economic activity.

2. Why is Mottley calling an Urgent Meeting

Home News Mottley calls…
    Mottley calls urgent meeting on transport

Added 16 April 2019

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has summoned an urgent meeting of all major players in the public transport sector to look at the current state of the system.

Related articles

This meeting will take place at 11 a.m. tomorrow, at Government Headquarters on Bay Street, and will be attended by officials of the Transport Authority, the Transport Board, the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance, and representatives of the various organizations representing public sector vehicle operators.

According to Press Secretary, Roy Morris, “there is no doubt that the gap between the expectations of commuters and what is being delivered by both public and private sector operations is too great for business as usual to prevail, and it would not be a misrepresentation to describe what now obtains as being in crisis or near crisis.

“However, the Prime Minister has made it clear that she is determined to ensure there are short term solutions put in place while the country awaits the arrival of new buses”.

He added: “And while the Prime Minister has been out of the island over the past week, she has so continued to keep a very close watch on the situation, and tomorrow’s meeting is to ensure that all players understand that the best interest of commuters must always be at the forefront of decision making and actions taken.” (BGIS)

3. The Prime Minister must now stand firm and not give in to the whining. The reforms so far are a joke anyway and not massive enough. We do not need a slight correction, but a massive clear-cutting of civil servants and pensioners. These are both groups that massively supported the DLP in 2008 and 2013. They do not deserve mercy, but punishment.

If the reform of public transport falls, the IMF programme falls and the dollar falls.

The people have the choice of accepting the fair and moderate increase in ticket prices and of paying homage to our leader for her continuous service or of dying.

4. Homage cannot pay Mortgage or buy food
    Whst3 hommage yuh can tek that hommage and used it as a bumper sticker fuh yuh car
    What hommage
    People feeling pain and suffering and u talking crap that you regurgitate out of your big belly

5. Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs Cynthia Forde says they have compiled a list of issues to present to Prime Minister Mia Mottley at an urgent meeting of stakeholders in the transport sector tomorrow.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239334/list-concerns-pm-transportation-meeting

ALL ROADS LEAD TO PM MIA.

6. You can go to You Tube and listen. Sir Don ~ Ask Cynthia

and ….

7. Would be of interest to hear how the PM would give her input on a charge that asking people to give a whopping increase in bus fare is reasonable when their is inadequate transportation service provided by govt.
    Yesterday first phase of a 3.50 increase was a colossal failure pointing towards govt insensitivity to the social needs of the people while in haste quickly resposnding to the harsh austerity measures given by the IMF to pay barbados debt
    Yesterday was also a reminder to govt that barbados is more than an economy it is a society
    Many of govt actions has played a reversed role in throwing the social fabric of barbados under a bus and in so doing has started the inhumane and heartless process of tearing the social fabric to threads

8. @ Mariposa,

……Barbados is more than an economy it is a society
    Many of govt actions has played a reversed role in throwing the social fabric of Barbados under a bus….(Quote)

Absolutely. This one-dimensional obsession with the economy conveniently ignores other aspects of Barbadian society. That is why some bone-headed MP, a medical doctor, could call for a return of the death penalty without being called out by fellow MPs or the rest of society. I hope voters in St Philip will remember this. Stupid woman.

9. Hal i am trying to understand the logic within govt measures whereby the absent of a social connection and its impact on barbadian society is missing not to mention the health and the pschological wellness which can negatively impact individuals resulting from these harsh unrealitic policies
    Take for example the hike in water rates
    By all means individuals would choose to cut back as finding as a way to save money
    However it can be stressful by having to choose how many bathes one must take which include shortened periods
    Also households with many occupants at some point and time would be caught up in arguments as to how certain daily duties that call for the use of water should be managed
    This govt does not have a clue as to how and where these harsh austerity measure would impact many households
    But remains steadfast and strong that these austerity measures would bring back barbados economy to a state of progress while absent of the concerns that a country well being is dependable on a well balanced social society as well as an economical connection

10. @ Mariposa,

Keep on going. You are right; there is no coherent thinking across the breadth of social and economic policy. The Mottley-led BLP government has abandoned the idea of social vision – apart from the explosion in crime; they have no economic understanding, apart from a vague idea of reducing debt. Anarchy reigns.
    They pay lots of taxpayers’ money to so-called consultants, yet still cannot tell a coherent economic story. Ask the ministers, advisers or the huge fan club to explain the government’s economic policies and they start to be abusive, talk about being party biased, and to turn the table by accusing the questioner of not knowing what s/he is talking about. Those are defensive tactics, masking an appalling ignorance.
    They can run, but thy cannot hide. Time will catch up with them.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re That is why some bone-headed MP, a medical doctor, could call for a return of the death penalty without being called out by fellow MPs or the rest of society. I hope voters in St Philip will remember this. Stupid woman.

MAYBE, JUST MAYBE THIS STUPID WOMAN WAS RAISED UP IN A HOME WHERE THE BIBLE AND ITS TRUTHS AND TENETS WERE BELIEVED AND HONORED

MAYBE, JUST MAYBE THIS STUPID WOMAN STILL BELIEVES WHAT SHE LEARNED ABOUT WHAT THE BIBLE TEACHES ABOUT HOW MURDERERS SHOULD BE TREATED.

HERE ARE A FEW EXAMPLES OF WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS ON THIS MATTER

Genesis 9:6
    “Whoever sheds the blood of man, by man shall his blood be shed, for God made man in his own image.

Leviticus 24:17
    “Whoever takes a human life shall surely be put to death.

Exodus 21:12
    “Whoever strikes a man so that he dies shall be put to death.

Numbers 35:30-31
    “If anyone kills a person, the murderer shall be put to death on the evidence of witnesses. But no person shall be put to death on the testimony of one witness. Moreover, you shall accept no ransom for the life of a murderer, who is guilty of death, but he shall be put to death.just

MAYBE, JUST MAYBE THIS bone-headed MP, a medical doctor, HAS NEURAL TISSUE IN HER BRAIN RATHER THAN BONE OR MUSCLE

MAYBE, JUST MAYBE THIS bone-headed MP, a medical doctor, BELIEVES AND SEEKS TO PRACTICE THE TENETS OF Acts 5:29 WHICH STATES CLEARLY…….We ought to obey God rather than men.

I WONDER WHO IS REALLY THE BONE HEAD

12. The gaslighting is rampant up in here.

13. @ Mariposa April 16, 2019 9:25 PM

Opus Dei says pain ennobles. Why don’t you try it with a rod …

The announcement about our dear Prime Minister shows once again impressively that she is always in charge and solves problems immediately and directly, instead of hiding in the villa like lush DLP functionaries or hiding from reality in an expensive Audi Q7.

The difference between the DLP regime and the democratically elected Mottley administration is that the latter government tackles the problems and tries to solve them. It may not all be perfect (for example the fact that we still have far too many superfluous bureaucrats with DLP party membership in the civil service), but problems like the sewage or the poor condition of the roads or the debts have already been tackled. It seems to me that the new government has done more in about half a year than the DLP regime in 10 years.

The low ticket prices are a legacy of Sinckler’s economic reign of terror. They and the other spending on state enterprises have plunged the country into the abyss.

If you want low ticket prices, you have to accept the consequences: The end of the IMF programme, currency devaluation and criminal chaos as in Jamaica and Guyana. Maybe Mariposa wants chaos in order to make more money like other DLP grandees while the people are starving.

14. SINISTER ONE

This dear leader language you use is what I am watching. You seem to be of the dictatorship persuasion. Ms. Mottley is my prime minister. I voted for her. But she is NOT my dear leader. I will pay her NO HOMMAGE. I will watch her as she instructed. I will criticize her fairly. I will hold her accountable. I will vote against her if she does not succeed. I will vote for her and acknowledge her success if she does.

We all know how dire the situation is in Barbados. Personally, I am of the opinion that we do need to reassess our priorities and budget better, work harder and smarter and have an overall paradigm shift away from total dependence on government. Having said that there are certain fundamental services that I believe should be kept in government hands at least partially and transportation is one of them. Public education and health care are also areas that I believe government must still make available to all. The only people who use the public health care are those who cannot afford private health care or insurance and also the pensioners. Those who can afford to pay do just that. Private education is not affordable for most and must be provided to level the playing field for the poor.

The transportation situation is dire. I am quite sure that those who speak like you don’t use public transport. You will not find ONE BARBADIAN that does not accept that bus fare had to be increased. Some question the amount and the timing,. That is all.

The impact on school children is the problem . This is exam term. Children who do not have the money for the PSVs will have to wait for TB buses. There is NO GUARANTEE that they will come. I predict that some children will miss CXC examinations because of this.

The sensible thing would have been to wait until July after examinations and raise the fare. Children would be on vacation until September. Buses are due in August. The new buses should allow for school bus service to be restored somewhat. That would ease the situation. The children could also be charged two dollars or special cards could be sold at reduced rates.

That would have been an effective roll out. What they have done is create CHAOS! And probably heartbreak for some child who misses a crucial examination.

I hope that Ms. Mottley is able to fix this in quick time. I hope the PSVs will co-operate.

15. Some people like to talk down to the people from “on high”. Most Barbadians are not so stupid that a reasoned conversation is impossible. We Bajans have a saying –

“It is not always what you say but how you say.”

The nasty attitude of some BLP-ites or more accurately, judging by their adoring language, Mottley -ites is highly offensive and in some cases abusive. I do not see how this is constructive.

16. That’s not true! Tron also uses the public buses from time to time to get really shaken by the loud music. A yellow bus or a ZR is much cheaper than a dance club 😉

By the way, the increase of ticket prices was foreseeable since 2013. Why didn’t the parents take precautions long ago instead of living through the day?

It will certainly be possible to find another excuse after the exam to sabotage the long overdue austerity measures. Since 2008 the population has had to know that austerity measures are unavoidable. Almost nothing has been done in the past ten years.

You also have to take the perspective of the international creditors without actually making them yours. They wonder why they haven’t gotten any money for almost a year now, where there’s still partying on the island with increases in civil servants’ salaries, pensions and so on. I can assure you that the bosses of the financiers don’t care about the exact ticket price for school children. That may sound brutal, but it’s true.

So you have to look at the whole dramaturgy: Only if the Prime Minister provokes an uprising here, she can credibly assure the international creditors that she is actually doing everything she can to reorganise the budget. This is part of a large-scale choreography that little minds don’t understand.

17. You have just proved all my points –

“little minds”. Well isn’t that nice!

Gotta go out and about. I will be sure to engage the people whom you wish to persuade to “stay the course”. Your attitude surely is not persuasive. Methinks you do more harm than good with your “superior” self.

PS. You come across as thoroughly enjoying the pain of the masses.

18. So i rent a house as is i bring the ongoing problems tonthe land Lord.
    The land lord tells me that he going to raise the rent and not to worry the increase is all for the better
    This govt really got some nerve in 2019 to be pulling wool over the peoples eyes

19. Donna,

Read the newspaper, no need to get upset. Many Barbadians have to be careful not to expect too much from the current situation. Too many pastors as well as bureaucrats and QCs from DLP still want to convince people that everything can go on as before. Please take a look at Greece. Then you will learn what austerity really means. There’s no room for complaining in Barbados because of the microscopically small cuts.

As predicted: “… tackles the problems and tries to solve them.” The Prime Minister, with her great energy, has quickly solved the problem of tickets for school children. With the DLP it would have taken months or years, with our dynamic Prime Minister only days.

I think the discount for schoolchildren is also okay for the creditors because it is moderate.

p.s. I am neither paid for my positive attitude nor am I a member of a party. I am just an observer who is fed up with 10 years of Sinckler’s reign of economic terror and doesn’t want to denigrate the attempts of the new government if it makes an honest effort. Where I disagree (e.g. dismantling the encrusted bureaucracy and the prospect of economic growth), I make this clear. I think my attitude is “fair and balanced”.

20. @Tron

It is unbelievable the economic hole and we have the many who refuse to remove the political scabs from their eyes.

21. All roads to the PM.

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

Is that a good model for the 21st century?

23. Thompson’s legacy is free rides for school children on the TB buses, does this mean that when the schoolchildren travel on the newly “branded” TB vehicles that they would also be exempt from paying the fee?

Details,details……

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    …@1.13 the PM said FREE if they ride on TB ‘branded’ buses and NO MORE than $2.50 if they ride a PSV.
    What is still TBA is the cost of a new bus, and hence the investment required, and the return expected. Who will ‘manage the brand’ and at what stage is the 45% ownership of new buses by employees(??) to be effective.
    This “sounds’ like a horseracing syndicate, where the syndicate buys 120 horses and 45% of each is up for grabs, and the syndicate owners then participate in the costs and winnings of all horses owned, but the syndicate manager decides what horses are bought, who the trainer is to be and when/where the animal shall compete.

25. Why did people have to throw a stink in order for govt to
    come to an undetstanding that the 3.50 increase was unconscionable
    What is the purpose for govt having a large cabinet and cart load of might advisors if they decisions are loaded with horse dung to make people sick.
    Govt decisions should not only be determined to suffice the IMF but should be made with a clear thought in mind that a small population predominately made of senior citizens and low income earners decisions made should meet the threshold of household affordability
    Govt seems to belive that getting a “dat a girl/ boy on the back from the IMF translates to good goverence while the society on which the people depends for proper guidance interaction and security diminishes
    This govt needs to be reminded every so often of its gladitor approach in its ten years of opposition in tearing down and opposing past govt measures as being unfair and ungodly when taxes were raised
    The hypocrisy of this govt shines bright
    Word on the ground is being to swell asking for this govt to Go

26. @ Mariposa,

Plse consider incompetence when considering this Mottley-led government. Three days after introducing a new transport policy the decision is reversed. You just could not make it up.
    More than that, it shows that BERT and the other supporting micro-policies have not been thought through. The entire policy is a disaster and, for this reason among many, will fail.
    After nine months in power, with a prime minister travelling more than an airline stewardess, the nation is seriously in need of good leadership and a roadmap. Barbados is a failed state.

27. A govt that gloated and boasted for ten years of having the answers looking like stumbling keystone cops in a 11mth period in office practicing goverence
    Watch out for more of the same incompetence.
    God help us all

28. @ Sargeant April 17, 2019 10:55 PM

The refugee from London was our Nicolas Maduro.

Thompson had no idea of economics and always lived at the taxpayer’s expense. A typical Barbadian bureaucrat.

His legacy is a bankrupt country. No, Thompson is not a national hero, he is a total failure that history will one day throw into the dustbin – just like all the other DLP politicians of the past twenty years. They all come from the lower class, behave accordingly, have no idea of finances. But what else can we expect from such figures? If the family had no role model function, we cannot expect the children to become better. The “sick building syndrome” and the cesspool on the south coast clearly show that these figures may be suitable for pig keeping, but certainly not for the management of a state.That is the reason why I propose restricting the right to vote. The broad masses are totally incapable of ruling.

29. @NO
    Thanks, my listening skills are not what they used to be, however, I learned something as I didn’t have a clue about horse racing syndicates, either you are a fan of the Sport of Kings or you approach it from the finance side.

BTW there used to be a Barbados Day at Woodbine (no doubt due to the large numbers of Bajans employed there) which was combined with Barbados on the Water, the former is no more and the latter is to be held from Aug.16 to Aug 18 at Harbourfront Centre.

30. David April 17, 2019 5:37 PM

@Tron

It is unbelievable the economic hole and we have the many who refuse to remove the political scabs from their eyes.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I would hope you are not referring to me. If you are I would suggest you reread my posts above. if you aren’t referring to me, please forgive me but I am sure you will understand that since Tron’s comments were directed at me it was an easy mistake to make.

31. Now let me direct my little mind to those who believe they have a bigger one.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/18/bteditorial-lessons-to-be-gleaned-while-at-the-bus-stop/

Now let me borrow from GP here as I think it will be more effective.

That’s not true! Tron also uses the public buses from time to time to get really shaken by the loud music. A yellow bus or a ZR is much cheaper than a dance club 😉

THE OPERATIVE WORDS HERE ARE FROM TIME TO TIME. YOU OBVIOUSLY HAVE A CHOICE. THAT MAKES IT A WHOLE LOT EASIER FOR YOU TO ENDURE. YOU HAVE ALREADY DEMONSTRATED A LACK OF CAPACITY FOR EMPATHY AND SO YOU SHALL REMAIN CLUELESS.

By the way, the increase of ticket prices was foreseeable since 2013. Why didn’t the parents take precautions long ago instead of living through the day?

WHEN ONE WORKS FOR MINIMUM PAY ONE HAS LITTLE WRIGGLE ROOM. HAVE YOU EVER TRIED TO SUPPORT THREE CHILDREN ON MINIMUM PAY? YOUR OBVIOUS LEVEL OF EDUCATION WOULD SUGGEST THAT YOU HAVEN’T. NEITHER HAVE I BUT I DO NOT LACK THE CAPACITY FOR EMPATHY. YOU DO AND SO YOU SHALL REMAIN CLUELESS.

It will certainly be possible to find another excuse after the exam to sabotage the long overdue austerity measures. Since 2008 the population has had to know that austerity measures are unavoidable. Almost nothing has been done in the past ten years.

WRONG! AUSTERITY WAS DONE FOR THE LAST TEN YEARS. MS. MOTTLEY DID NOT AGREE WITH THE AUSTERITY. NEITHER DID SHE AGREE WITH LARGE CABINETS AND EXORBITANT CONSULTANCY FEES. I AGREED WITH THE THEN MS. MOTTLEY. I STILL AGREE WITH THAT VERSION OF MS. MOTTLEY.

You also have to take the perspective of the international creditors without actually making them yours. They wonder why they haven’t gotten any money for almost a year now, where there’s still partying on the island with increases in civil servants’ salaries, pensions and so on. I can assure you that the bosses of the financiers don’t care about the exact ticket price for school children. That may sound brutal, but it’s true.

LITTLE SHENANIGANS WILL NOT FOOL INTERNATIONAL CREDITORS WHO I AM SURE ARE QUITE AWARE OF OUR DIRE STRAITS. INTERNATIONAL CREDITORS ARE INTERESTED IN RECOVERING THEIR MONEY. THEY ARE ALSO AWARE THAT AN UNSTABLE COUNTRY WITH POOR PRODUCTIVITY DUE TO POOR TRANSPORTATION AND A DEAD GOLDEN GOOSE OF TOURISM DUE TO RISING CRIME WILL BECOME A STONE FROM WHICH THEY WILL BE UNABLE TO DRAW BLOOD. WE HAVE HAD GOOD RELATIONSHIPS WITH THEM FOR MANY YEARS. THEY ARE AWARE THAT WE SHALL BE DOING EVERYTHING IN OUR POWER TO REDEEM OURSELVES. THOUGH THEY WILL KEEP NIPPING AT OUR HEELS THEY WILL NOT BITE OFF OUR LEGS LIKE LOAN SHARKS AS THIS WILL MAKE IT IMPOSSIBLE TO RECOVER THEIR MONEYS.

So you have to look at the whole dramaturgy: Only if the Prime Minister provokes an uprising here, she can credibly assure the international creditors that she is actually doing everything she can to reorganise the budget. This is part of a large-scale choreography that little minds don’t understand.

THE ONLY CHOREOGRAPHY I SEE HERE IS A VERSION OF THE JIVE. OR PERHAPS WE COULD CALL IT THE BIG FOOT. WE HAVE SEEN MANY BLUNDERS SO FAR THAT HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH ANY CHOREOGRAPHY SUCH AS YOU DESCRIBED. ONE CAN ONLY JUDGE ON PAST PERFORMANCE.

PS. IF YOU CLAIM THAT YOU ARE NOT REPRESENTING THE ADMINISTRATION AND ARE NOT PRIVY TO INSIDER INFORMATION I SUGGEST THAT YOUR INTERPRETATION OF THE EVENTS IS NO MORE VALID THAN MINE. THAT IS, UNLESS YOU ARE INDEED A HIGHER BEING WHO CAN READ MINDS.

ALSO, THIS SMALL MIND PREDICTED ON ANOTHER BLOG THAT THINGS WOULD UNFOLD EXACTLY AS THEY HAVE DONE. IT WAS INEVITABLE.

32. Hants April 17, 2019 6:39 PM

All roads to the PM.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Very perceptive! In case you missed it …

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/18/bteditorial-lessons-to-be-gleaned-while-at-the-bus-stop/

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    I was going to use a real estate trust, but there were different units, a horse is consistent like a bus, where one horse or route maybe better than others. An old bud is senior at WO so I am aware of the large Bajan contingent, come the summer I find my butt at my shack by the lake, so TO events take a back seat. I haven’t been to WO in years. I see the Bdos-Cda Ball folks now have a fund raising golf tourney at summers end, at the old Board of Trade Club in Woodbridge.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

nuff posts by you since, but you continue to duck a simple question…..when and how should we expect to see a return on the $6 Billion investment in the social economy?

35. @ Northern Observer,
    @ Mariposa

We cannot borrow short and lend long, that is the economics of the mad house. Infrastructural debt must be (is best) repaid over generations. Afterall, the benefits are spread over generations. That is good economic planning.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    you refer to ‘infrastructural debt’….I am aware of the debt….where is the infrastructure?

37. Dr. Worrell states that the external debt agreement is still in negotiations
    Could it be that the creditors have taken a hard lined position in not accepting govt proposals because of Mia decision to default

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yep, they are still negotiating. Be assured, once an agreement is reached, maybe not the full contents within, but the fact an agreement has been reached, will be a major news story.
    And don’t be confused….default means not abiding by the terms and conditions under which a financial instrument is issued, so they are negotiating because of the decision to default. The hard line position or any other, is because their job is to secure the best deal they can. This is where your favourite White Oaks gets to show how good they are.

39. Dear Donna,

Why are you referring to the word “small mind”? There is no reason for that. If you misunderstood, I regret that, of course. It’s very important to me that we don’t mob each other.

But if you think that the people of Barbados have experienced real austerity over the past ten years, you are wrong. Look at Greece: Were the ATMs in Barbados already out of order like in Greece? Were foreign bank transfers blocked in Barbados like in Greece? Have 20 % of Barbadian civil service jobs already been cut, as in Greece? I could continue the list as long as I want.

Barbadians like you complain, although they have not even begun to suffer what other countries with comparable debt levels have to suffer.

And why is that? Because the honourable Prime Minister has very vigorously countered the decline at the last second. Without Mia Mottley and her energetic nature, the credit cards would be blocked for the locals today, the shelves in the supermarket would be empty for the locals and petrol would cost 10 dollars a litre. I think that the slight increase in ticket prices really cannot be compared to such drastic measures.

In any case, I am already looking forward to the fact that the negotiations on foreign currency loans and bonds will soon be brought to a successful conclusion. If the honourable Prime Minister can maintain this course for ten years, she can justifiably call herself “mother of the nation”.

40. @ Northern Observer,

That is the point. If government borrows to pay civil servants or to give zombie hoteliers tax waivers, then that is bad debt. Debt, however, for infrastructural development is good debt which can be stretched over generations.
    At the risk of repeating myself over and over again, governments (both DLP and BLP) should have launched a massive urban development programme as our version of quantitative easing. They did not; they should have printed money, our sovereign currency, to resolve local debt obligations, they opted to default. Job creation is the key, not austerity.

41. Agree Hal

42. @blogmaster
    A suggestion that would help old geezers like me
    When we reach the end of the blog and it has ‘older comments” or ‘newer comments’ should be replace by “older comments – name of post”

Sometimes I forget where I am…
    ….What was I doing? Am I online?

43. Of course I should cool down and look at the top where the webpage address is…..

44. Comment at 8:02 is very useful for users of cell phones

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I said the same thing 3 months ago.

When you are on a cell phone with 3 tabs open, typing and moving from one item to another, that simple addition at the bottom of the mobile phone only makes a difference.

These guys only use desktops Theophillus

They are not cosmopolitan users and the practices of wunna outsiders are of little importance

Things like having a dark pencil outline around the header font of Barbados Underground actually permits one to understand its name quicker than at present but you and I is only readers

So we are encouraged to shut up and read…or mek you own blog.

46. Opposition leader Joe Atherley is correct in his comments as he refers to govt as uncaring
    The word uncaring should affixed to determined uncaring govt whose policies have a determination to catspraddle every barbadian household into the belly of poverty
    The fast rate of tax increases in the 12months of there goverance is spellbinding and begs to ask the question what is this govt thinking
    Now we have a govt looking like bumbling jac.a.sses after a last minute rush by govt to quell the loud noises of the people voices which was sending a message of enough is enough
    It would be interesting to see how govt present other austerity measures that would affect peoples pocket book after govt last debacle of raising bus fares at an astronomical cost to the people
    The voices of the people are beginning to ring loud and clear for release from the pain and suffering
    This is the first govt in the history of Barbados that have released so much economic pain on the people in 12mths of goverence

47. Cheer leader and loyal follower,

1) You have failed to address the fact that Ms. Mottley did not agree with the minor austerity measures, large cabinet and exorbitant consultancy fees of the last government.

2) You seem preoccupied mainly with painting a portrait of Ms. Mottley as larger than life, saviour of all. This is precisely what we would want to avoid if we want a real participatory democracy. We do not need a mother. We need to grow up as citizens and take responsibility for oversight of our government and holding it accountable. This cult building you are attempting would do the exact opposite. We trusted our “Father” Errol Barrow and relinquished our role as citizens. We shall not allow you to nip our growing movement in the bud and return us to helpless babes.

We must grow up and take responsibility for ourselves as you have opined, it is true. And we must also grow up and take responsibility for insisting that our leaders serve the people. On this you seem to have a different opinion.

But we on BU know that……

We must marry the two. And we will not allow you to divorce them and let the politicians make off with the bulk of the divorce settlement.

48. Pea Brain Donna what nasty attitudes of BLPites you speaking of?You Dems are amazing people on here you have your tag team partners referring to a democratically elected PM as Mugabe and rogue works not a word of condemnation from you to pull them up but have the audacity to talk about BLPites nasty attitudes,give a break j/a.Tell me how often you catch bus?.You seem to be rejoicing in the plight of persons struggle with bus fare increases.Well Ms Mottley heard the cries and took action unlike the last PM whom you supported talking down to people explaining what temporary meant.Two things for you to be clear on this government came to office to find the Transport Board like many entities in a poor state and are now trying their best to turn it around which will take time,there is no magic wand and secondly you are one person with one vote if you want to return to the Dems next time no big deal.Get over your pompous self you are not that important,nobody elected you to run nothing,take a rest.

49. Well looka mah crosses this Good Friday morn, Ms. Mottley started the fire and is now attempting to douse the flames and Lorenzo H is portraying her as a hero who “heard the cries”.

Isn’t there a better person who can articulate the Gov’ts position?

50. “Politicians say the darnedest things ”

” Actually, it really represents a horror story.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239374/tour-horror

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply