wayne-cadogan
Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

It appears as if the new West Indies Cricket Board is going to continue in the same downward trend as the past Board did if they select Floyd Reifer as Head Coach of the West Indies senior team.

I am in full agreement with Michael Holding on the issue of Reifer being selected as acting coach because of a cricket bully who bullied the Board in 2009 and screwed up West Indies cricket by making a cricket failure at the test level captain of the West Indies team and seven players from the UWI team that came through the back door in local cricket.

West Indies cricket will not go forward if this cricket bully is allowed to have things go his way because he now wants to bully people into thinking that Reifer is capable of coaching the West Indies team ahead of experience cricketers that have made their mark and name in cricket in the likes of Richards, Lloyd, Greenidge, Haynes and Simmons.

The problem is that none of the names that I mentioned are yes men and cannot be bullied. I know that the current President of the West Indies Cricket Board cannot be bullied by anyone and he is definitely not a yes man like the past president.

Cricket is a business and should be operated in a like manner and not like a big boy friendship club. What West Indies cricket needs is a strong manager who is not a yes man to lead West Indies cricket back to its glory days.  One that will select its best eleven players to represent the West Indies and give 200% for the team.

West Indies cricket is not a fashion club, it is serious business. Given the current behaviour and attitude of our young people, I cannot see Reifer getting any respect from many of the current players especially since they all are friends, party and hang out together. I might be wrong in my thinking but I am sure that I might not be too far off.

When the West Indies had a chance to turn our cricket around by selecting Tony King as its Manager, they turned their back on him because he was a disciplinarian who did not tolerate foolishness and was all business. As a result of that decision West Indies cricket was the one to lose out and is one of the reasons it is in the current state.

Reifer has not proved himself to be capable of leading the West Indies team at this juncture.  If he is selected as the Head Coach it would be a case of one foot forward and two backward for West Indies cricket, maybe down the road but not at this time.

I hope common sense will prevail here. I expect there will be feedback I do not like my own and all of that, but I am a realist who has a mind of my own and not one to jump on a bandwagon. I sincerely hope that West Indies cricket can get back to where it was but the West Indies Cricket Board has to go about it in the right manner.

28 responses to “West Cricket Takes One Step Forward and Two Backward”

1. Who is the bully? I was wondering how Reifer got the position in the first place. The University under the aegis of Beckles emphasized sports over academics. The master’s in cricket studies (I wrote about the silliness of that little enterprise in the press at the time) indicated that the University had lost its direction. Similarly with the West Indian under nineteen competition; the sponsors pulled their backing after Beckles invited big names from the cricket world to play in a tournament. The funds were meant for scholarships for the young players that never materialized. I agree with Cadogan. that this doesn’t augur well for West Indian cricket. I can see a waste of money over the cost of law suits,

2. “I know that the current President of the West Indies Cricket Board cannot be bullied by anyone and he is definitely not a yes man like the past president.”

Mr. Cadogan

A very interesting article and I agree with your headline, as well as your assessment of Floyd Reifer. However, could you please explain your above comment?

Dave Cameron was probably a bit too arrogant and at times his management style was autocratic and unprofessional. But to be fair to him, if you took certain things into consideration, I can’t understand how you could conclude he was a “yes man.”

During a discussion held on March 11, 2019 at the Errol Barrow Centre For Creative Imagination, UWI, Cave Hill Campus, Ricky Skerritt made the following comments about Cameron:

“Sadly, it has been my experience that CWI is rapidly becoming more of a Cameron-centric organization and less of a cricket-centric organization. Now, what do we mean when we say that CWI is becoming Cameron-centric? This is not disrespect for Cameron. I am simply speaking the truth. In short, it means the needs and fancy of Cameron have become bigger and more important than our cricketers and various indicators have shown me that the politics of survival in the office of the president matters more to him at this time than our cricket.”

“Those who doubt and question Cameron’s decisions quickly become enemies of CWI. In the Cameron-centric culture governance only matters when it can be sidestepped and power is only useful when it can be sidestepped beyond that mandate of articles of association.”

Surely this is not a description of a “yes man.”

Despite Ralph Gonsalves’ and Keith Mitchell’s best (or personal) intensions for West Indies cricket, or how they felt about Cameron, they disrespected his authority by “going over his head” to demand a meeting with the ICC, when the rules states that politics should not be involved in cricket.

We had (have) a situation where Gonsalves and Mitchell believe certain individuals should play for WI, despite their unprofessional behaviour and non-commitment to WI cricket.

Gonsalves, who is also chairman of CARICOM’s cricket sub-committee, said CARICOM was moving ahead with plans to ensure the restructuring of the governance of West Indies cricket, despite the ICC’s request to have then CWI president Cameron at any meeting between the two organisations.

CWI resisted any overhaul of its governance ever since the 2015 CARICOM-commissioned Governance report that was prepared by UWI Cave Hill’s principal, Professor Eudine Barriteau, in which it recommended the “immediate dissolution of the then West Indies Cricket Board and the appointment of an interim board.” Cameron argued CWI leadership must be “free of interference from governments.”

It seems as though CARICOM wants to create an entire bureaucracy for the region.

Under these circumstances, surely you must admit Cameron did not demonstrate he was a “yes man” nor did he allow the politicians to “bully” him or West Indies cricket.

Let’s be reasonable……. last month at a CARICOM meeting held in St. Kitts, it was announced that LIAT was in a dire financial situation. As Chairman of LIAT’s shareholder governments, Gonsalves was unable solicit support for the airline from leaders of the other CARICOM member states.

Additionally, Gonsalves and the other regional prime ministers cannot “see eye to eye” on UWI, CARICOM or the CCJ…….. how would their involvement in cricket improve the situation?

Skerritt said he intends to involve UWI in West Indies cricket. Professor Sir Hilary Beckles, believes a head coach of Caribbean origin should preside over West Indies’ campaign at the upcoming ICC World Cup. Then we heard Skerritt announced Floyd Reifer as the new WI cricket coach.

Do you believe this is coincidental?

I believe we should wait to see how things unfold under Skerritt’s tenure before assuming “what he IS and what he is NOT.”

3. I await to see what influence Ralph Gonsalves will have on the new CWI president and his vice president, Dr. Kishore Shallow (who, by the way, is a Vincentian).

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

VERY INTUITIVE ARTAX—–AS USUAL
    SKERRITT IS NO BETTER
    BECAUSE OF HIS UPBRINGING IN ST KITTS, HE IS ONE THAT FEELS ENTITLED.

5. @GP

Where is the dysfunction, with the President or the Board.

6. The insertion of a West Indian as head coach at this juncture of our socio-political history is an important development.
    That the person given interim responsibility is Floyd Reifer; and evokes speculation and conjecture is secondary to the big picture at this stage.
    The re-emergence of the West Indies as a cricketing tour-de -force is critical. We have heard the plans to create two tiers of the test playing countries, and to have our team relegated to such a level would be tragic.
    I will not be ambivalent to the political theater that will continue to surround this game we love, but any decision to put players, rather than personalities back as the center of focus, will get my support.
    I am excited at the prospect of The Gayles, The Bravos and Pollards and The Russell’s, possibly donning the maroons for the spectacle in “the mother country ‘ in June.
    To be able to field our best players, gives us the best chance at winning this tournament, and though the ultimate revival and restoration of the West Indian cricket brand,goes beyond winning the World Cup, but hinges on being a partner in continuing to build a civilization here in the region, that allows us to announce ourselves as global equals just like the cricketing legends of the past have.
    I therefore fully endorse the stated policy of home-grown coaching and local leadership as we rebuild this empire which will forever hold its place as an esteemed shareholder in the game of cricket. Cricket will not survive without the re-emergence of a strong West Indian team.
    “Rally round The West Indies”.

7. If Gonsalves & company run WI Cricket like LIAT… we in big trouble …… we will probably see ticket prices skyrocket up! Here a price breakdown of a ticket on LIAT to T’dad return:

Departing Flight:BGI – POS
    Basic
    1 Adult$ 50.00 USD
    Taxes and Fees: $ 100.70 USD

Returning Flight:POS – BGI
    Web Saver
    1 Adult$ 35.00 USD
    Taxes and Fees: $ 73.29 USD

Total = 258.99 USD

Note the Fare = 85 USD but Taxes = 173.99 USD!!! LOL!!!

8. Mr. Bentham’s contribution, although eloquently written and therein he made some valid points, with which I agree, I have a few concerns with the reasoning behind some of his comments.

I agree wholeheartedly with his comment re: “I will not be ambivalent to the political theater that will continue to surround this game we love, but any decision to put players, rather than personalities back as the center of focus, will get my support.”

However, with the exception of Gayle, to a lesser extent, I’m not one who believes the “hot and (mostly) cold” performances of Pollard, Russell and Dwayne Bravo makes them WI’s “best players” and I’m not at all “excited at the prospects of seeing them donning the maroons for the spectacle in ‘the mother country’ in June.” Some people have been caught up by the false narrative that these guys are the “best players,” (or are they “best” of the “worst?)

Their statistics prove otherwise.

If CWI’s main focus is to winning the ICC World Cup, then by all means select those players. Then what after the tournament? Do we rebuild the team with the likes of Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Ramdin, Pollard, Russell and Gayle who are “on their way out” of cricket and given the fact team has been continually losing in 3 or 4 days with these same so called “best players” included in the squad?

The discussion seems to be emotive rather than rational and analytical.

9. According to Skerritt, CWI is moving in a different direction. In MY opinion, his press conference address in Antigua yesterday, which contained a fair amount of snide remarks at the former CWI administration, sounded more like rhetorical political diatribe, rather than a cricket administrator outlining a clear vision for the game. But then again, he is a politician.

He is reported as having said: “I am confident that the changed agenda for cricket we have begun so earnestly this week will ultimately bring results that we can all be proud of.”

Skerritt also made it clear that wherever there are foreign coaches in the system, CWI will be undertaking a succession plan for a local replacement. He also announced Floyd Reifer as the new interim coach and Robert Haynes as new interim chairman of selectors.

“The new Cricket West Indies interim selection panel has chosen a squad with a mixture of experience and newcomers for the One Day International (ODI) Tri-Series involving Ireland and Bangladesh to be played in Dublin from May 5-17.” [CWI]

The team is as follows: Jason Holder (Captain), John Campbell, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Sunil Ambris, Raymond Reifer, Fabian Allen, Johnathan Carter, Ashley Nurse, Roston Chase and Shane Dowrich.

Looking at the team, one would have the impression it was selected by the former Courtney Browne led selection panel.

And the unprofessionalism continues. Director of cricket Jimmy Adams and CEO Johnny Grave, made a conference call to CWI women’s team coach, Vasbert Drakes, informing him that his services were no longer required and he is to be replaced by Corey Collymore. Drakes is now preparing to sue CWI.

(Perhaps Vassy now feels how Sherwin Campbell probably felt when he was unceremoniously removed as a successful women’s team coach and replaced by Drakes).

The more things change, the more they remain the same?

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Arrax and all, when has there ever been discussion on WI cricket that is not “emotive rather than rational and analytical”.

@Bentham goes all the way back to Tony King … and any reckoning of our cricket history is littered with names of that type which whet the emotive narratives.

Isnt’s it also highly emotive to offer that WI must have a local coach considering that non-local coaches have done some good things for our cricket!

(I have no issue with the concept but local birth should be a key determining factor NOT an absolute one)

It’s always emotive to get into the weeds of team selection…didn’t the Holder led group reach the recent high points despite all the administration fracas and howls of selectorial bad decisions …

And on it goes, particularly with the political noise.

So I agree with you let’s see where this new dispensation goes on the merits and leave the emotive stuff outside… they certainly have emphatically set their course – one assumes after careful deliberations – and strong leaders need to be thusly emphatic always

As they say in other spheres: the King is dead; long live the (new) King or as a blogger noted recently: the more things change, the more they remain very much the same!

11. World cricket has lost one of the most artistic batsmen the game has ever seen with the sad death of Seymour Nurse. A genius for Empire, his country and region, Nurse’s batting was a work of wonder. I remember Empire versus Spartan in the Park with Wes Hall, at his very best, bowling from the hospital end to Nurse who turned him inside out.
    With Francs Scott at the other end, it was a display of why cricket is not just a game, but a work of magic. When I was told by one of Scott’s former captains that he disliked fast bowling, I just could not believe it.
    From the college end was big Mayers, who pounded in and was sent wheeling all over the ground. Nurse was also an outstanding footballer, for club and country, and was just as stylish, until he had to make a choice. He was the great who never got the full recognition he deserved.
    To his family many fans and those who love cricket, condolences. May he rest in peace.

12. Is his death going unrecognised?

13. Legendary Barbados and West Indies cricketer, Seymour Nurse, will be accorded an Official Funeral on Friday, May 17, at ter double
    Members of the public are invited to pay their respects at the service, which will begin at 9:30 a.m.
    The body will repose for viewing at Empire Club, Pavilion Road, St Michael, on Wednesday, May 15, from 4 to 6 p.m. and at Cricket Legends of Barbados, Fontabelle, St Michael, on Thursday, May 16, from 4 to 6 p.m.
    The public is invited to sign the condolence books which will be opened at the viewings.
    Nurse played 29 Tests for the West Indies between 1960 and 1969. The middle-order batsman made his debut against England in 1960 and in 1966, during the West Indies tour of England. In that series, he scored 501 runs in five Tests, including four fifties and a hundred. Following this performance, he was named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1967.
    In addition to cricket, Nurse was a coach with the National Sports Council, a member of the Barbados Cricket Association’s Board of Management, a national selector and a manager of the Barbados senior and youth teams.
    Nurse passed away on Monday, May 6, at the age of 85, after a long illness. (Quote)

Great recognition for the outstanding batsman of his generation. No mention that he was also a Barbados and Empire footballer. The beauty, grace, poetic majesty and quiet magnificence of his batting is what makes cricket more than a game to me. He made it an expression of Schiller’s grace and dignity. He gave artistic meaning to my early youth.
    May he rest in peace.

14. The English Cricket Board s about to offer Jofra Archer a £1m a year contract for red ball cricket, along with his £800000 a year for white ball cricket.

15. Sometime ago, I poured scorn on what I called the Tony Cozier theory of why black boys in particular have not taken to cricket in the UK. He explained, wrongly, that young black Britons preferred US sport s such as basketball.
    It was absolute rubbish. But, typically of the BU warriors, someone shouted that I knew nothing about cricket. He was right.What I do know about is racism in the UK. I see in Barbados Today |Monte Lynch, one of the black cricketing pioneers, has spoken out about the difficulties faced by black Brits playing cricket. He is but the lat est.
    This does not feature in the Cozier bogus theory. So, according to this BU wizards, all the black cricketers are wrong and Cozier is right. Sometimes BU warriors should ask: Why?

16. A few days ago Umpiring legend John Holder announced that he was staking legal action against the England and Wales Cricket Board, a story copied in Barbados Today from the Guardian newspaper.
    Since then they appear to have lost interest in the story, or are waiting for the Guardian to make a further report. Can someone plse tell Barbados Today that it is their job to dig, there is a lot more in this story to be told.
    Who trains our journalists?

17. The Windies are being hammered by the English in the T20. What’s new?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/scorecard/ECKO51677

18. Windies now 8 wickets down with only Gayle registering a double score figure.

19. WINDIES ALL OUT FOR 55 IN 14.2 OVERS
    A MOST STELLAR TEAM LED BY AN UNDERACHIEVING COACH FROM TRINIDAD AND A BASICALLY TRINIDAD TEAM WITH 7 TRINIS IN IT AND NO BAJAN IN THE TEAM
    ONLY GAYLE WITH 13 GOT IN TO DOUBLE FIGURES

20. @ Dr. GP

While the WI are in the habit of recycling players, the other cricketing countries groom new players for the future.

21. I agree with you Artax.

22. I agree with you Artax

23. Here’s an example of what went wrong with our cricket.

Apparently Curtley Ambrose, while doing his thing as commenter on cricket, COMMENTED that Chris Gayle was not an automatic choice.

Chris Gayle responds that he has no respect for Curtley Ambrose.

Well… the opposition still does. Probably still watching Curtley videos during training.

All the foolish self-named World Boss has done is put more pressure on himself to deliver.

24. This has been a problem since Malcolm Marshall was coaching. Andy Roberts said the same.

The young guys do not listen because they have no concept of these fellows’ greatness and no respect for their cricketing knowledge.

I hear they say that they only know old time cricket.

But these young guys don’t even display basic knowledge, which really has not changed.

25. Dr. GP

Today’s T20 match –

West Indies = 143 – 8 (20)
    ….. Lewis – 56
    ….. Pollard – 26
    ….. Simmons – 16

Gayle moved down the order to 4.

South Africa = 144 – 2 (18.2)

26. WATCHED THE GAME SIR ARTAX

AND VERY HAPPY TO SEE THE TRINIDAD TEAM DEFEATED AGAIN

THE SOUTH AFRICANS MADE A SIMPLE STEADY AND SOLID RUN CHASE TO OUR INOCUOUS UP AND DOWN BOWLING ATTACK
    10$ PER MONTH FOR THE WILLOW CHANNEL IS WORTH MORE THAN THE MONEY

27. Check the Forbes list for highest paid cricketers.

Russel and Pollard in top 20.

Chris Gayle net worth estimated at US $25 Million.

Doan have to read and spell fuh wunna.

IPL and other T20 tournaments rewarding mediocrity.

28. HANTS
    MEDIOCRITY SEEMS TO BE THE MOST DESIRED CHARACTERISTIC TODAY IN OUR WORLD
    AND BAD CRICKET IS SAID TO BE EXCITING
    WE HAVE SEEN BOTH BRATHWAITHE AND JASON HOLDER SUBTILY REPLACED AND DISPLACED FOR BULLSHIT PLAYERS
    WHEN HAS ANY WINDIES TEAM EVER INCLUDED NO BAJAN IN IT?
    WHEN HAS ANY SUCESSFUL WINDIES TEAM INCLUDED 7 TRINIS?