Readers will recall that a raging topic in the public domain before and during the campaign for the May 2018 general election was the legal entitlement of the then Honourable Leader of the Opposition, now the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, to practise law in Barbados, since she did not possess the Legal Education Certificate (sic) awarded by the regional Council of Legal Education. It took the explanatory intervention of her father, Mr Elliott D Mottley [as he then was] and, I suppose, the result of the election itself, to quell further discussion of this matter. I recall that I wrote then that the decision to admit Ms Mottley to the local Bar was a decision of the High Court of Barbados and could be overturned only if there were a timeous appeal of the matter on a point of law.

Indeed, a recent decision of the Judicial Committee of Her Majesty’s Privy Council [JCPC], on appeal from the Eastern Caribbean Court of Appeal[Grenada], confirms that admission to the Bar is not merely a ceremonial occasion but, rather, in substance a legal decision that may result in a decision that is adverse to the applicant. This decision is Layne v Attorney General of Grenada, delivered by the Board on March 18, 2019.

Despite serving a sentence of imprisonment for murder, Mr Joseph Ewart Layne dreamt of becoming a lawyer. His first step was to secure an LL.B, which he duly completed with honours by correspondence from London University, Clearly bitten by the studying bug, he next proceeded to read for his Master’s in Laws from the same university. At some time, he also secured a Bachelor of Science (Accounting) from Oxford Brookes University in the UK with First Class Honours. Having served 26 years of the 40-year term imposed on him, Mr Layne then enrolled at the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad & Tobago to pursue his professional training, leading to the Legal Education Certificate, now a sine qua non of admission to most of the regional Bars. It is worthy of note that being an LL.B graduate of a university other than the University of the West Indies, Mr Layne would first have had to pass an entrance examination comprising a number of subjects in order to be admitted to Hugh Wooding. He was duly awarded the Certificate of Legal Education in September 2013.

Thereafter, Mr Layne applied to be admitted to the Grenada Bar. The central issue was whether Mr Layne possessed the good character required by section 17 (1) of the Legal Profession Act 2011 of Grenada. This provides, where relevant-

17(1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, a person who makes an application to the Supreme Court, and satisfies the Supreme Court that he-

(a) Is of good character; and either

(i) holds the qualifications prescribed by law;………………………………………………………………………shall be eligible to be admitted by the Court to practise as an attorney-at-law in Grenada.

So far as the judge before whom the application was made, Price Findlay J., was concerned, good character was “The aggregate of moral qualities which belong to and distinguish an individual person, the general result of one’s distinguishing attributes. That moral pre-disposition or habit, or aggregate of ethical qualities which is believed to attach to a person on the strength of common opinion and report concerning him.”

With regard to lawyers, the “guardians of our fundamental freedoms”, they had to command the personal confidence of not only lay and professional clients but [that of] other members of the Bar and of judges”; and while there was no rule automatically barring someone who had been convicted of an offence from practising the law,” an applicant with the background of the appellant had to make an extraordinary showing of rehabilitation…” In her view, the test was whether there was “a potential risk to the public, or, more importantly, whether there will be damage to the reputation of the profession” The court, she stated, was “concerned with the maintenance of public confidence in the members of the profession.”

After re-emphasizing that while rehabilitation was important, it may not be possible to make a “show of rehabilitation in the face of past serious misconduct”, the judge had regard to Mr Layne’s youth at the time of the murders (he was only 25 years of age) but held that his leadership responsibilities demonstrated his maturity at that age.

Ultimately, she concluded that although the applicant was a man who had accomplished much, nevertheless, having reviewed the evidence and taking into account all the relevant considerations, and the authorities in other jurisdictions, she was constrained to refuse this application for admission.”

Mr Layne’s appeal to the Eastern Caribbean Court of appeal was given short shrift, the judges there applying the principle that an appellate court should be reluctant to interfere with the judge’s exercise of discretion (sic), and therefore limiting its decision to the question whether the exercise by the judge of her discretion was susceptible to review in an appellate court. The Court of Appeal concluded that there was no basis on which it could properly set aside the judge’s exercise of discretion in this case, and dismissed the appeal.

On further appeal to the Judicial Committee, their Lordships dismissed the appeal by a four to one majority. For those interested in reading the details of the Board’s respective reasoning, the judgment may be found at http://www.bailii.org/uk/cases/UKPC/2019/11.html

For the younger readers, the murder to whose commission Mr Layne was found to be a party was no ordinary murder in the history of Grenada. It was the summary execution of the then leader of the country, Mr Maurice Bishop, and nine others in the aftermath of the schism in the New Jewel Movement that had seized power in Grenada in 1979. Indeed, if memory serves me correctly, Mr Layne, then deputy Minister of Defence was alleged to have played a significant role in the deaths.

The question begs asking, given that the events happened nearly forty years ago, that the killings were of a political nature under the belief that they were necessary for the preservation of the state, and Mr Layne’s subsequent impeccable behaviour and academic achievement, is this a man who is liable to be deservedly denied the respect of the populace, the judiciary, and his fellow members of the Bar? Or is the dismissal of his application merely a reflection of the horror still felt by Grenadians at the entire sorry episode so may years ago?

While I view the judgment of Price Findlay J to be unimpeachable, (she must have been well trained!), I incline more to the reasoning of Lord Kerr, the lone dissentient in the JCPC, who argued cogently that  “Reprehensible conduct in the past by a candidate for admission may provide an indicator as to her or his present character but it must not be allowed to operate as an automatic bar. In other words, simply because an individual has behaved badly in the past does not constitute an inevitable block on their admission to practice. Previous past conduct is material only to the extent that it bears on the evaluation of character made at the time of consideration of the application. And, however bad or shameful the past behaviour, the decision-maker must not approach his or her assessment on the basis that its effect can never be outweighed by the subsequent redemptive conduct of the applicant. Egregious behaviour in the past may present an applicant with a formidable hurdle; it should never be regarded as an automatically insuperable one”.

I am almost certain that some wag will contend that most lawyers are crooked or eventually become so anyway and, at least, Mr Layne’s misconduct is behind him.

169 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – An Ineradicable Blot”

1. Jeff

Why didn’t Mr. Layne move first to have the criminal activity in his youth expunged, and then endeavour to apply for admission to the bar?

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

piece
    you know dat I speak plainly and correctly about most of the lawyers and judges and other so called professionals in our land

they are hypocrites in the true sense of this greek word

the people you list know of all their covert sins and crimes

3. All human beings sin. In the case of government and governance, we implement systems to counter this reality. It will never be perfect but we have to do the best we can with these man-made systems.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

all these lawyer scum at what ever level like all men have the sin nature and they sin/commit crimes like all men and they all need to confess their sins to GOD

THEY ARE ALL NUMBERED LIKE ALL MEN IN THE CLASSIFICATION OF THE FOUR TYPES OF SINNERS IN I JOHN 1:6-10

If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth:

7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.

8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

THIS INCLUDES HIGH COURT SCUM
    GOVERNER GENERALS LIKE THE ONE THAT TOLD HIS FELLOW DLP CRIMINAL AND LODGE BROTHER THUS

AS A BROTHER I,E LAWYER
    AS A BROTHER I,E DLP MEMBER
    AS A BROTHER I,E LODGE MEMBER, YOU NEED TO………………………………….

IT IS THEM SO WHO MAKE IMPORTANT DECISIONS ON THE COVERT SINS OF OTHERS WHEN THEY THEMSELVES CONSPIRE AND SSCHEME AND CHEAT

THE SAME SORT OF SCAM AND SCANDAL THAT PLAYED OUT IN THE LAST US ELECTION AND SINCE WAS EFFECTED BY LAWYERS UH LIE?

YA THING THAT SCUM JUDGE IN GRENADA WAS PURE AND HOLY?

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

All human beings sin. In the case of government and governance, we implement systems to counter this reality. BUT THE CORRUPT LEGAL OFFICIALS HIDE THEIR COVERT CRIMES BEHIND THEIR BLACK ROBES AND CRUSH OR SEEK TO CRUSH THOSE WHOM THEY HATE OVERTLY

THE SAME SORT OF SCAM AND SCANDAL THAT PLAYED OUT IN THE LAST US ELECTION AND SINCE IS A GREAT AND CURRENT EXAMPLE OF THIS

IT IS HILARIOUS!

6. William Skinner Avatar

The question here is whether a citizen having paid for his crime should be denied the right to earn a living with his skills. It is interesting that he was allowed to obtain the necessary qualifications and then told it was useless.

7. William Skinner Avatar

An erudite columnist commits murder; he spends twenty five years in prison; on his release from prison we ban him from BU because he is no longer fit and has lost the moral right to engage us with his writings.All his qualifications and contributions are now useless and he is no longer accepted to teach primary school children their alphabet far less go near the grounds at Cave Hill.
    Having paid the price for his crime , he must now be rejected by those who once held him in great esteem. The old question comes back: Who will guard the guards ?

8. Jefferson Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jefferson Cumberbatch

Jeff

Why didn’t Mr. Layne move first to have the criminal activity in his youth expunged, and then endeavour to apply for admission to the bar?

@ Lexicon, I do not know whether Grenada has such an act as does Jamaica, The Bahamas and Barbados, but the offense of murder is not generally expungeable….

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

mr skinner sir
    some of us would exalt ourselves to be judge and jury over others for their overt sins or crimes while our covert sins and crimes remain hidden

some of us would exalt some to high honour whereas others are counted as trash

we need to be reminded of the Lords story of the rich man and the poor beggar Lazarus

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Are there any similar provisions locally under which acceptance or disbarment (if that is word) obtains?

@Piece,

By section 5 of the LPA:
    (1) A person who after March 31, 1973, applies to the High Court to be admitted to practise law, and who satisfies the court that
    (a) he is (i) a citizen of Barbados, or (ii) a citizen of a country specified in the First Schedule in which there is a law in force conferring the status of citizenship of that country, or (iii) regarded as belonging to a country specified in the First Schedule under any law in force in that country;
    (b) he has attained the age of 21 years; (c) he has obtained the prescribed qualifications; and (d) is of good character, shall, upon compliance with the requirements of this act and, unless that person is exempt therefrom, on payment to the Registrar of the first registration fee for registration, be entitled to be admitted by order of the court to practise law.

11. Thanks Jeff

12. William Skinner

In America if you are convicted of a felony you lose the right to vote or carry a firearm, so there are sanctions if you commit certain crimes even though you have paid your debt to society …

13. @Jeff
    Yours @8.38 am

Couldn’t help but notice the law as written is not gender neutral, does “he” cover everyone? is it an anomaly or are all the laws entrenched with the presumption that the applicant will be masculine?

BTW what does your female students say about this aspect f the law(s)?

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sargeant at 9: 30 AM

You are being mischievous. I know that you know that in law he implies she.

We are still confusing the judge’s responsibility to use her discretion of what constitute “character ” with “sin” and ‘forgiveness of sin’. The judge does not claim the ability to determine sin nor to dispense ” forgiveness of sin’. Her role was to determine if Mr. Layne satisfied the criteria for membership of the Bar.

15. @ David owner of BU,

Are you or any member of your family a lawyer ?

16. @VC
    Yuh know I live in a country where the national anthem was changed to reflect a gender-neutral perspective as “in all thy sons command” became “in all of us command”

https://canada.justice.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr/csj-sjc/legis-redact/legistics/p1p15.html

17. @ Sargeant,

We live in a country where no one has to ” stay in the closet ” or fear retribution for saying a person is happy and “gay”.

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

AMURICA AMURICA AMURICA MY EYE
    MOST CONFUSED CORRUPT COUNTRY IN DE WORLD

HERE IS A GREAT EXAMPLE

Senator Lindsey Graham revealed recently that he plans to expose the bias in which Hillary Clinton was treated. The Senator went further when he stated that Attorney General Barr is not happy about the handling of the investigation and could appoint a special counsel to look into it.

According to The Daily Wire:
    Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Lindsey Graham (R-SC) revealed during an interview on Sunday that Attorney General William Barr is “pretty upset” over the way the criminal investigation into Hillary Clinton was handled and that he hopes “there’s a
    special counsel appointed to look at DOJ corruption and political bias.”

Appearing on Fox News’ “Sunday Morning Futures,” Graham told Maria Bartiromo that there needs to be an investigation into the other side regarding the 2016 election, including the “Clinton campaign, the FISA warrant abuse [and] the counterintelligence investigation.”

“Nobody in the Clinton e-mail investigation went to jail for lying about the process, because there was no process,” Graham said. “And I know Bill Barr pretty well, and he’s pretty upset about the way all this was handled. I don’t know if he’s going to have a special prosecutor to look at the probability of criminal misbehavior. I’m going to look at what happened from an oversight role, but I hope there’s a special counsel appointed to look at DOJ corruption and political bias, because Mueller did his job against Trump. Nobody’s really looked at the Clinton campaign, the FISA warrant abuse or the counterintelligence investigation, criminality yet — and somebody should.”

“I’m not so much worried about retrying her, but I want to make sure that the public understands that she got away with something they wouldn’t get away with. I think it’s important to understand that political bias probably drove the Clinton outcome, not the facts,” Graham continued. “I really don’t believe that Comey just took over the investigation from Lynch based on a tarmac meeting. I just want the American public to know that the standard used against Clinton is an outlier. It’s not the way business is done. And why did they choose that path? I think they had a political bias. They wanted Clinton to win, Trump to lose. And here’s the point. How could she win if the Department of Justice indicted her? I think that’s what drove the decision not to indict. They wanted her to win.”

Graham also said that he wants to know how the Obama administration handled itself during the Clinton investigation. He did point out that from an oversight role he will only identify how the system is broken and try to prevent it from happening again.

Read more at http://trumptrainnews.com/articles/senator-lindsey-graham-promises-to-expose-hillary-s-special-treatment#8hm7ZkpLyDSyXPMY.99

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE We are still confusing the judge’s responsibility to use her discretion of what constitute “character ” with “sin” and ‘forgiveness of sin’. The judge does not claim the ability to determine sin nor to dispense ” forgiveness of sin’. Her role was to determine if Mr. Layne satisfied the criteria for membership of the Bar.

SIR
    I AM NOT CONFUSING A THING
    I DONT CARE ABOUT THE JUDGE OR HER CLAIMS

The judge does not claim the ability to determine sin nor to dispense ” forgiveness of sin’.BECAUSE SHE CANT–SHE IS NOT GOD SHE IS AN IMPERFECT PERSON WHO MAKES IMPERFECT DETERMINATIONS BASED ON HER BIASES AND HER PROFESSION’S TENDENCY TO BE COVERTLY AMORAL WHILE OVERTLY PRETENDING TO BE PURE

I DONT EXPECT YOU TO SEE ANY MERIT IN WHAT I AM SAYING BECAUSE MOST PEOPLE ARE CAPTIVATED WITH THEIR LOVE FOR THE WORLD SYSTEM ABLY DIRECTED BY THE DEVIL HIMSELF

I UNDERSTAND EXACTLY FROM WHENCE YOU ARE COMING EVEN THOUGH I DO NOT EXPECT YOU TO APPRECIATE FROM WHENCE I AM COMING

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 11 :13 AM.

Thanks for appreciating from whence I am coming. I appreciate from whence you came. Just ensuring the issues are clear. I like to render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and unto God the things that are God”s.

21. There are some people who have a special kind of “magic” about them that allows them to accomplish great feats. It is commonly called charisma. One does not have to be Jesus the Christ to change the course of history.

This is not emotional claptrap but truth that cannot be refuted.

Fortunes rise and fall. Nations rise and fall. Empires rise and fall. Peace interrupts war in divers places. Temporary world-shaping and reorganizing accomplishments are regularly achieved through the actions of certain men and women.

Permanent peace and all its prerequisites will never be accomplished by man but temporary improvements can be accomplished. Those alive at the time greatly appreciate the reprieve.

PS. The comment about coming clean was in relation to a book the Layne person is said to have written in which he seemed not to accept responsibility for his part in the murders. It was said here that he did not even disclose the whereabouts of the bodies. This would afford some measure of comfort to the victims relatives. These are usually the indicators required of a person who claims to have undergone a character change.

This is my opinion and of course you are now free to be as contrary as you wish.

You may translate this into your favourite Latin saying –

“What I have written, I have written.”

You are not the only one who can write.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Permanent peace and all its prerequisites will never be accomplished by man but temporary improvements can be accomplished.

THERE WILL BE NO PERMANENT PEACE ON EARTH UNTIL THE PRINCE OF PEACE SETS UP PEACE IN HIS MILLENNIAL REIGN

RE One does not have to be Jesus the Christ to change the course of history.

WHO ELSE WILL CHANGE THE COURSE OF HISTORY FOR THE BETTER?

23. And getting more corrupt with the orange pile in the White House.;

24. Steupse.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JUST IMAGINE HOW MUCH WORSE IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IF THE EVANGELICALS DID NOT COME OUT IN THEIR NUMBERS AND VOTED AGAINST THE DIABOLICAL JEZEBEL

THE orange pile in the White House.IS DOING FAR BETTER THAN OUR PRIMEWICKER AND DICTATOR MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY WHOSE BRAIN IS NOW FROZEN

HAS SHE FORGOTTEN HOW TO MARCH UP AND DOWN BRIDGETOWN LIKE THE GRAND OLD DUKE OF YORK
    WHY IS IT THAT WITH ALL HER CONSULTANTS AND MINISTERS SHE CANNOT CREATE ANY JOBS, OR EXECUTE TAX CUTS, OR LOWER THE UNEMPLOYMENT RATE?

WHY IS IT THAT OUR PRIMEWICKER AND DICTATOR MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY CAN NOT EVEN GET HUMPTY DUMPTY’S SHELLS SCRAPED UP FROM THE GROUND, FAR LESS GET HUMPTY DUMPTY TOGETHER AGAIN?

26. Patience, patience, Donna.

There will never be world justice and peace as long as mankind rules himself.

But the conditions in individual countries do improve temporarily due to the leadership of some individuals who can mobilize the people to stand behind them. Even these improvements are temporary as mankind never seems to learn his lesson. But if I’m living in a country even temporary improvements are highly desirable. I am yet to meet an individual who does not enjoy a reprieve.

And there have been many whose influence has changed the course of history of PARTICULAR COUNTRIES OR AREAS for the better. TEMPORARILY.

I shall not bother to name them. You and I have already agreed on one of them right here on BU.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Patience, patience, Donna.

INDEED. LOTS OF PATIENCE NEEDED BEFORE MIA MAO MUGABE OUR PRIMEWICKER AND DICTATOR GETS ANYTHING DONE IN BARBADOS OF CONSEQUENCE

There will never be world justice and peace as long as mankind rules himself.

VERY TRUE There will never be world justice and peace UNTIL THE PRINCE OF PEACE COMES TO ENFORCE PEACE WITH HIS ROD OF IRON IN THE MILLENNIAL KINGDOM

But the conditions in individual countries do improve temporarily due to the leadership of some individuals who can mobilize the people to stand behind them.

IN SOME COUNTRIES THERE IS TEMPORARY IMPROVEMENT EVEN DESPITE SEVERE OBSTRUCTION RESISTANCE AND PERSISTENT OPPOSITION

Even these improvements are temporary as mankind never seems to learn his lesson.

TRUE TRUE

And there have been many whose influence has changed the course of history of PARTICULAR COUNTRIES OR AREAS for the better. TEMPORARILY.

TRUE TRUE THIS IS HAPPENING IN THE USA RIGHT NOW EVEN DESPITE SEVERE OBSTRUCTION RESISTANCE AND PERSISTENT OPPOSITION

I shall not bother to name them. BUT I WILL —- THE USA You and I have already agreed on one of them right here on BU.
    YES THE USA UNDER DONALD J TRUMP

28. On that we will never agree. That idiot is influencing the whole world. Brutal dictators are adopting his slogans white supremacists have adopted him as their symbol and feel emboldened and fascism and the far right are riding on his tailwinds.

Our point of agreement in this matter is Errol Barrow whom your friend John believes destroyed Barbados.

29. Brutal dictators are adopting his slogans white supremacists have adopted him as their symbol and feel emboldened and fascism and the far right are riding on his tailwinds.

… like Maduro in Venezuela

30. Most dictators reside in Africa!!

I was unaware these were promoting white supremacy!!!

Fascism is a product of the left… remember, Hitler was a socialist … a National Socialist

Mussolini, likewise.

The far right can’t be fascist … by definition!!!

31. You can’t be so ignorant of world history and claim QC as your alma mater!!

32. Using wikipedia — far right (not your average church-goer)

“Far-right politics are politics further on the right of the left-right spectrum than the standard political right, particularly in terms of extreme nationalism, nativist ideologies, and authoritarian tendencies.

The term is often used to describe Nazism, neo-Nazism, fascism, neo-fascism and other ideologies or organizations that feature ultranationalist, chauvinist, xenophobic, racist, anti-communist, or reactionary views. These can lead to oppression and violence against groups of people based on their supposed inferiority, or their perceived threat to the native ethnic groups,nation, state or ultraconservative traditional social institution”

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon April 1, 2019 6:22 AM “Why didn’t Mr. Layne move first to have the criminal activity in his youth expunged?”

I don’t know of any country which expunges murder convictions. I mean a murder conviction is not the same as a 17 year old rising a bicycle without a bell?

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Matthew Chapter 5, verse 23

“Therefore if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar. First go and be reconciled to your brother; then come and offer your gift.”

Reconciliation is of necessity mutual. I can’t reconcile with my spouse unless my spouse is ready and willing to reconcile with me. The people of Grenada are not ready to be reconciled to Mr. Layne, perhaps because he has knowledge of “where the bodies are hidden” and has refused to share this information with the families of those he was convicted of murdering.

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I wonder what it is with SOME Bajan men that they seem to have such a morbid interest in the sex lives of women? That they seem to take it as a personal affront if a woman does not want to have sex with them or with any man?

Look fellas. There are billions of women in the world, if one does not want you it is NOT a big deal.

36. TheOGazerts
    April 1, 2019 8:05 PM

Using wikipedia — far right (not your average church-goer)
    “Far-right politics are politics further on the right of the left-right spectrum than the standard political right, particularly in terms of extreme nationalism, nativist ideologies, and authoritarian tendencies.
    The term is often used to describe Nazism, neo-Nazism, fascism, neo-fascism achauvinist, xenophobic, racist, and other ideologies or organizations that feature ultranationalist, nti-communist, or reactionary views. These can lead to oppression and violence against groups of people based on their supposed inferiority, or their perceived threat to the native ethnic groups,nation, state or ultraconservative traditional social institution”

Grasshopper

This is a perfect description of communism … the left!!

Did you know that the fascists under Hitler and the Communists under Stalin signed a pact which led to both fascists and communists invading Poland in 1939?

This is taken to the beginning of the WWII.

The combined left started WWII.

Two year later, one faction of the left, the fascists, attacked the other faction of the left, the communists.

That’s why an anti communist is automatically labeled a fascist …. look at the definition from wikipedia!!

But it isn’t necessary to be fascist to be anti communist!!

This is simple, straightforward logic!!

The problem is the brain washing!!!

37. Here is a perfect example of an ignorant person, it just happens to be a woman, getting it totally wrong because of the brainwashing to which she has been subjected.

AOC claims that the Republicans had to amend the constitution to prevent Roosevelt being elected as president.

He had been elected four times, 1932, 1936, 1940 and 1944.

He died in 1945.

The 22nd amendment which limits presidential terms to 2, was passed in 1947, two years after Roosevelt died and ratified in 1951, 6 years after his death!!

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Matthew Chapter 5, verse 23

“Therefore if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar. First go and be reconciled to your brother; then come and offer your gift.”

Reconciliation is of necessity mutual. I can’t reconcile with my spouse unless my spouse is ready and willing to reconcile with me. The people of Grenada are not ready to be reconciled to Mr. Layne, perhaps because he has knowledge of “where the bodies are hidden” and has refused to share this information with the families of those he was convicted of murdering.

THIS IS A PERFECT EXAMPLE OF MONKEY HANDLING MUSKET!
    Reconciliation is of necessity mutual. I can’t reconcile with my spouse unless my spouse is ready and willing to reconcile with me.

THIS MIGHT BE SO IN YOUR SEMI ILITERATE HEAD, BUT ALL SCRIPTURES INCLUDING THIS ONE TEACHES THAT IT IS ONLY NECESSARY FOR THE RECONCILOR TO INITIATE ACTION

2 Corinthians 5:18–20 IS VERY CLEAR ON THIS

8 All this is from God, lwho through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; 19 that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. 20 Therefore, owe are ambassadors for Christ, pGod making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

16 and might reconcile us both to God in one body through the cross, thereby killing the hostility.

20 and wthrough him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace yby the blood of his cross.

21And you, who once were alienated and hostile in mind, adoing evil deeds,

SEE IT AGAIN IN ROMANS 5

6 For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.

7 For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die.

8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

9 Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him.

10 For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by his life.

RECONCILIATION IS ALWAYS SOMETHING DONE TO THE RECONCILLE BY THE RECONCILOR ALWAYS
    IT IS A ONE WAY THING THAT DOES NOT DEPEND ON WHETHER THE RECONCILLEE WANTS TO ENGAGE IN RECONCILIATION OR NOT

THIS IS CLEARLY DEMONSTRATED IN ROMANS 5 AS SHOWN ABOVE
    when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.
    God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

THIS IS CLEARLY INDICATED IN THE FIRST EXAMPLE OF THE BIBLE

FOLLOWING THE LAW OF FIRST MENTION, WE SEE THAT JACOB SOUGHT TO BE RECONCILED TO ESAU

IN THE NT WE SEE THAT GOD SOUGHT RECONCILATION
    HE SOUGHT TO RECONCILE US TO HIM SELF

HERE IT AGAIN IN Colossians 1:20-21
    20 And, having made peace through the blood of his cross, by him to reconcile all things unto himself; by him, I say, whether they be things in earth, or things in heaven.

21 And you, that were sometime alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now hath he reconciled

NOTE WHO MAKES THE PEACE AND DOES THE RECONCILIATION
    NOWHERE DOES IT SAY THAT THE RECONCILITION HAS TO BE RECIEVED OR APPRECIATED FOR RECONCILIATION TO HAVE OCCURED

FINALLY ; Ephesians 2:16;
    And that he might reconcile both unto God in one body by the cross, having slain the enmity thereby:
    AGAIN RECONCILIATION WAS ENACTED BY SLAYING THE ENMITY ON THE CROSS BY THE RECONCILIATOR

IT WOULD BE NICE IF BIBLE ILLITERATES WOULD NOT SPEW FALSE TEACHING ABOUT THE WORD OF GOD IN PUBLIC

HIGH TIME FOR MONKEY TO STOP HANDLING MUSKET IN THIS WAY

WATCH THE MORON TRY TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE

BUT I HAVE HERE AGAIN RIGHTLY DIVIDED THE WORD OF TRUTH

39. But whose brain has been washed and by whom, oh ye of the diseased mind?

Too far east is west and too far west is also east.

As I have said here many many times – the problem is the extremes – RIGHT AND LEFT! They arrive at the same point. Oppression.

I reside in the middle.

AND YOU?

40. Simple Simon,

To be fair, they are also obsessed with the sexual habits of men. They are just obsessed with what they see as sexual deviance. It’s a Christian thing, except for the Anglicans of course, who have checked themselves out of grown people’s bedrooms.

41. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man was reading de news earlier today when this item came to my attention

While it has nothing to do with you Layne moot directly de ole man merely mentioned it cause it was related to legal matters

It is about an American Visitor Gatling who seemed to have been intoxicated, or on drugs, or both, and caused a disturbance, beat 3 Bajans, and bit a special Police Officer as well as a policeman.

The article reads,in part,

“…she was remanded to HMP Dodds until today (a total of 3 or 4 days) but made an appearance on Saturday before Magistrate Graveney Bannister on another drug offence.

She was reprimanded and discharged

After the facts were detailed Gatling offered an apology after saying she did not have much to say. “I would like to apologise to the police officer because I was intoxicated . . . but it is not how it went down,” she said as an official from the American Embassy and Immigration Officers sat in on the proceedings. (Now that Long ingrunt sentence without a subject was written by the Barbados Today people dem)

Her three victims who were also present accepted the apology. (Imagine dat, you beat me and I accept the apology)

Magistrate Cuffy-Sargeant then ordered that she pay forthwith compensations to those involved – $1,100 each to Grosvenor and Burnett and $800 to Payne.

The monies were paid.

The deportation order was made on the cannabis charge and Gatling left in the company of immigration officials…”

Now I will append another article of a local who did a similar series of crimes e.g. stole something, got in a fight with a security officer, was found with drugs, begged for leniency and was locked up for 12 months

Dat 12 months thing is a recurring decimal with these Bajan judges, like the other local man who got 12 months for a $6.99 fingernail clippers

“…A 47-year-old offender has been jailed for 12 months after pleading guilty to theft and wounding charges.

Paul Amron Cherubin, of Whitehall No.1, St Michael appeared at the No. 1 District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court today and admitted to unlawfully and maliciously wounding Albert White on March 29, 2019.

He also pleaded guilty to stealing four bottles of roll-on worth $61 from AP Jones and Company Limited on the same day as well as stealing five bars of soap, three creams, five pouches of gel worth $176 belonging to No. 1 Beauty Supply.

Magistrate Douglas Frederick…”

Could you explain to de ole man whu is de difference?

Please remember dat Tourism is we business AND YOU MUST PLAY YOUR PART

How come Gatling get released and Cherubim get lock up?

42. By contrast, the phrase “far-right” is used to describe those who favor an absolutist government, which uses the power of the state to support the dominant ethnic group or religion and often to criminalize other ethnic groups or religions.[38][39][40][41][42]

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUDRYR

Gatling had money to compensate the victims. Cherubim had none. Pragmatism at its best!

44. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Piece, As I said before, much of the sentencing in the lower courts lies in the discretion of the magistrate. In the matters you mentioned, the theft and wounding charges of Cherubin would have carried stiffer penalties than the Gatling offenses. In addition, Ms Gatling offered an explanation that must have satisfied the magistrate had to pay compensation, and will be deported…

45. Brutal dictators are adopting his slogans. White supremacists have adopted him as their symbol and feel emboldened and fascism and the far right are riding on his tailwinds.

PS. Not all brutal dictators are white supremacists. Nothing I said above states that they are. All the bad people find something of Trump’s that they can use. He appeals to bad people EVERYWHERE!

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE

THE ANSWER IS CLEAR
    THESE IDIOTS ARE NOT JUDGING RIGHTEOUSLY OR CLEARLY BECAUSE THE LAW, AND ITS PRACTICE, AND LAWYERS ARE ALL MUDDLED

THE TREATMENT FOR ACUTE APPENDICITIS IS APPENDICECTOMY!

THE TREATMENT FOR TORSION OF THE TESTIS IS REMOVE THE DAMAGED TESTIS AND AFFIX THE OTHER IN THESCROTUM

HERNIAS ARE REDUCED AND SO ARE FRACTURES

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Brutal dictators are adopting his slogans. White supremacists have adopted him as their symbol and feel emboldened and fascism and the far right are riding on his tailwinds.

PS. Not all brutal dictators are white supremacists. Nothing I said above states that they are. All the bad people find something of Trump’s that they can use. He appeals to bad people EVERYWHERE!

WHAT USED TO HAPPEN EVERYWHERE BEFORE TRUMP APPEARED IN 2015?
    IN CUBA? IN UGANDA? ZIMBABWE? SOUTH AFRICA? ETC ETC ETC

48. Ms Gatlin was convicted of maliciously wounding Grosvenor; assaulting Payne occasioning her actual bodily harm and unlawfully and maliciously wounding Burnett on March 28, 2019..

Seems to me the Magistrate was extremely lenient with the AMERICAN TOURIST.

49. Who cares about muddled technical terms? Far right, far left, fascism, communism, whateverism all lead to schisms.

Let us call it right wing populism! Right wing populism is on the rise. Far right wing populism.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-43301423

50. “The drugs beating me sir. If I just get a chance, the drugs beating me, beating me, beating me sir. . . I trying all the time . . . I asking for help. I smoking and I doing foolishness with myself,’ Cherubin stated.

” pulled a knife according to the prosecutor and swiped at White but missed. He swiped again cutting White in the head before fleeing.
    In handing down the sentence Magistrate Douglas Frederick told the accused that he had jeopardised the life of the security guard who was only doing his job.

Cherubin needs “rehab” and is likely to re offend after his 12 months in jail.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply