Readers will recall that a raging topic in the public domain before and during the campaign for the May 2018 general election was the legal entitlement of the then Honourable Leader of the Opposition, now the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, to practise law in Barbados, since she did not possess the Legal Education Certificate (sic) awarded by the regional Council of Legal Education. It took the explanatory intervention of her father, Mr Elliott D Mottley [as he then was] and, I suppose, the result of the election itself, to quell further discussion of this matter. I recall that I wrote then that the decision to admit Ms Mottley to the local Bar was a decision of the High Court of Barbados and could be overturned only if there were a timeous appeal of the matter on a point of law.

Indeed, a recent decision of the Judicial Committee of Her Majesty’s Privy Council [JCPC], on appeal from the Eastern Caribbean Court of Appeal[Grenada], confirms that admission to the Bar is not merely a ceremonial occasion but, rather, in substance a legal decision that may result in a decision that is adverse to the applicant. This decision is Layne v Attorney General of Grenada, delivered by the Board on March 18, 2019.

Despite serving a sentence of imprisonment for murder, Mr Joseph Ewart Layne dreamt of becoming a lawyer. His first step was to secure an LL.B, which he duly completed with honours by correspondence from London University, Clearly bitten by the studying bug, he next proceeded to read for his Master’s in Laws from the same university. At some time, he also secured a Bachelor of Science (Accounting) from Oxford Brookes University in the UK with First Class Honours. Having served 26 years of the 40-year term imposed on him, Mr Layne then enrolled at the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad & Tobago to pursue his professional training, leading to the Legal Education Certificate, now a sine qua non of admission to most of the regional Bars. It is worthy of note that being an LL.B graduate of a university other than the University of the West Indies, Mr Layne would first have had to pass an entrance examination comprising a number of subjects in order to be admitted to Hugh Wooding. He was duly awarded the Certificate of Legal Education in September 2013.

Thereafter, Mr Layne applied to be admitted to the Grenada Bar. The central issue was whether Mr Layne possessed the good character required by section 17 (1) of the Legal Profession Act 2011 of Grenada. This provides, where relevant-

17(1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, a person who makes an application to the Supreme Court, and satisfies the Supreme Court that he-

(a) Is of good character; and either

(i) holds the qualifications prescribed by law;………………………………………………………………………shall be eligible to be admitted by the Court to practise as an attorney-at-law in Grenada.

So far as the judge before whom the application was made, Price Findlay J., was concerned, good character was “The aggregate of moral qualities which belong to and distinguish an individual person, the general result of one’s distinguishing attributes. That moral pre-disposition or habit, or aggregate of ethical qualities which is believed to attach to a person on the strength of common opinion and report concerning him.”

With regard to lawyers, the “guardians of our fundamental freedoms”, they had to command the personal confidence of not only lay and professional clients but [that of] other members of the Bar and of judges”; and while there was no rule automatically barring someone who had been convicted of an offence from practising the law,” an applicant with the background of the appellant had to make an extraordinary showing of rehabilitation…” In her view, the test was whether there was “a potential risk to the public, or, more importantly, whether there will be damage to the reputation of the profession” The court, she stated, was “concerned with the maintenance of public confidence in the members of the profession.”

After re-emphasizing that while rehabilitation was important, it may not be possible to make a “show of rehabilitation in the face of past serious misconduct”, the judge had regard to Mr Layne’s youth at the time of the murders (he was only 25 years of age) but held that his leadership responsibilities demonstrated his maturity at that age.

Ultimately, she concluded that although the applicant was a man who had accomplished much, nevertheless, having reviewed the evidence and taking into account all the relevant considerations, and the authorities in other jurisdictions, she was constrained to refuse this application for admission.”

Mr Layne’s appeal to the Eastern Caribbean Court of appeal was given short shrift, the judges there applying the principle that an appellate court should be reluctant to interfere with the judge’s exercise of discretion (sic), and therefore limiting its decision to the question whether the exercise by the judge of her discretion was susceptible to review in an appellate court. The Court of Appeal concluded that there was no basis on which it could properly set aside the judge’s exercise of discretion in this case, and dismissed the appeal.

On further appeal to the Judicial Committee, their Lordships dismissed the appeal by a four to one majority. For those interested in reading the details of the Board’s respective reasoning, the judgment may be found at http://www.bailii.org/uk/cases/UKPC/2019/11.html

For the younger readers, the murder to whose commission Mr Layne was found to be a party was no ordinary murder in the history of Grenada. It was the summary execution of the then leader of the country, Mr Maurice Bishop, and nine others in the aftermath of the schism in the New Jewel Movement that had seized power in Grenada in 1979. Indeed, if memory serves me correctly, Mr Layne, then deputy Minister of Defence was alleged to have played a significant role in the deaths.

The question begs asking, given that the events happened nearly forty years ago, that the killings were of a political nature under the belief that they were necessary for the preservation of the state, and Mr Layne’s subsequent impeccable behaviour and academic achievement, is this a man who is liable to be deservedly denied the respect of the populace, the judiciary, and his fellow members of the Bar? Or is the dismissal of his application merely a reflection of the horror still felt by Grenadians at the entire sorry episode so may years ago?

While I view the judgment of Price Findlay J to be unimpeachable, (she must have been well trained!), I incline more to the reasoning of Lord Kerr, the lone dissentient in the JCPC, who argued cogently that  “Reprehensible conduct in the past by a candidate for admission may provide an indicator as to her or his present character but it must not be allowed to operate as an automatic bar. In other words, simply because an individual has behaved badly in the past does not constitute an inevitable block on their admission to practice. Previous past conduct is material only to the extent that it bears on the evaluation of character made at the time of consideration of the application. And, however bad or shameful the past behaviour, the decision-maker must not approach his or her assessment on the basis that its effect can never be outweighed by the subsequent redemptive conduct of the applicant. Egregious behaviour in the past may present an applicant with a formidable hurdle; it should never be regarded as an automatically insuperable one”.

I am almost certain that some wag will contend that most lawyers are crooked or eventually become so anyway and, at least, Mr Layne’s misconduct is behind him.

169 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – An Ineradicable Blot”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Me fears that you have long to wait if you expect The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch to touch that topic of Treason

This is toxic and Mr Cumberbatch is a wise tactician

He avoids entrapment through these things hypothetical and fantastical or is that fantasical?

Watch you will be unafraid of the Seat Perilous and step forward to the Grail!

2. @Jeff

An article about the trifling with the Bail Act?

3. Something or someone has indeed messed me up, but unlike you, I’m aware of Willie lynch’s experiment that is today setting you fools against your sons and brothers. Which other race of women harbors so much hatred for their sons and brothers except those with nappy heads. Wear it with pride.

4. Men and women have been having problems with each other for years!!

Here is a Quaker will from way way back!!

JENNINGS, John Gent.
    St Philips Parish, 11 July 1670, RB6/8, p. 401
    Wf Millisaint Jennings, a most unfortunate match, a more cruel, masculine, treacherous wf none can know save God alone; friend Henry Walrond Jr Esq & Deborah Walrond his wf; Henry Walrond – Overseer; friends Margaret Ashley now living on the Harmitage & Sarah Lovell my God dau; wf – Xtrx. signed John Jennings
    Wit: John Paige Esq, Roger Lovell, Mary Paige
    Proved 11 June 1672

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

An article about the trifling with the Bail Act?

On Sunday next, David…

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Still waiting on Jeff to define treason for me.

Everyone commits treason who, in Barbados,

uses force or violence for the purpose of overthrowing the Government of Barbados;

without lawful authority, communicates or makes available to an agent of a state other than Barbados, military or scientific information, or any sketch, plan, model, article, note or document of a military or scientific character that he knows or ought to know can be used by that state for a purpose prejudicial to the safety or defence of Barbados;

instigates any person who is not a citizen of Barbados to make an armed invasion into Barbados;

conspires with any person to commit high treason or to do anything mentioned in paragraph (a);

forms an intention to do anything that is high treason or that is mentioned in paragraph (a) and manifests that intention by an overt act; or

conspires with any person to do anything mentioned in paragraph (b) or forms an intention to do anything mentioned in paragraph (b) and manifests that intention by an overt act.

There is also High Treason-

Everyone commits high treason who, in Barbados,

kills or attempts to kill Her Majesty, the Governor-General or any person performing the functions of Governor-General under the Constitution;

does any bodily harm to any person referred to in paragraph (a) tending to death or destruction;

levies war against Barbados or does any act preparatory thereto; or

assists an enemy at war with Barbados, or any armed forces against whom Her Majesty’s Forces raised in Barbados are engaged in hostilities whether or not a state of war exists between Barbados and the country whose forces they are.

7. Jeff,

Do paragraphs a and b correspond with the order of the paragraphs you have posted?

8. Whitehill,

Both sexes have work to do. Both sexes are to blame for the state we are in. When black women, according to you, were not able to afford to buy their own house and car, black men were busting their asses. My great aunt was beaten to death by her beloved husband. She loved him and made excuses for him until death. His well-connected uncle pulled strings and despite my quite adamant mother bearing witness albeit as a child, he never spent a day in jail. My aunt’s parents owned quite a few lots of land. Her brother seized almost ALL upon their death. Her sister, my grandmother left her husband, my grandfather before he was able to add to the physical damage her brother-in-law had done to her when she tried to intervene in her sister’s beating. She found menial work and supported her two daughters with minimal help from her estranged husband.

How many innocent men can you count in the above narrative?

Stop wallowing in it and get some help! Then proceed to enjoy life without bitterness.

9. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man should ask you to further expand on the following

1.the rather archaic though not explicit “…that he knows or ought to know can be used by that state for a purpose prejudicial to the safety…”

Enter 2019 and the age of technology and electronic data

The enter WARU and your humble servant Piece of the Rock Yeah Right or as the most recent addition to the Mugabe Defence Force fondly calls me “Piece of Shite”

Let me ask you about “war” and the interpretation of “a purpose prejudicial to the safety of the state…”

Is it not reasonable given this law AND THE FORTHCOMING AMENDMENTS TO SAID HIGH TREASON LAWS, that parties such as WARU & MYSELF can be deemed to be used by a state, or organs of that state, e.g the IDB, the World Bank the European Delegation, in a manner that is “prejudicial” to the well being of Barbados?

What say you LUMINARY?

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

…that parties such as WARU & MYSELF, in promoting these electronic utterances, can be deemed to commiting high treason if, said transmissions are used or partially relied on, by a state, or organs of that state…

The above item should have read as appended Luminary

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch

Then there is this element of your remark

“…without lawful authority, communicates or makes available to an agent of a state other than Barbados, military or scientific information, or any sketch, plan, model, article, note or document of a military or scientific character…”

Recently, within the last 10 years of incompetency, and within this current administration, one has been hearing the use of “national security” and state secrets and “destabilization” quite regularly.

Could one assume, given of course the latitude of these various overzealous judges that, while it is not explicitly clear in the archaic laws of Barbados that a leap can now be made between “actions which in Mugabe’s opinion are destabilising the country “, national security matters and by extension, militaristic relations?

I am not sure if you recall this matter during the tenure known as “The Gelding of the Sheeple ” aka Ten Years of Fumbling.

This may jog your memory

http://imgur.com/gallery/30Vj1

When Verla Depeiza jumped up in Parliament and cried High Treason!

Do you remember when the letter of the then Prime Minister Fumbles was read in the HoA?

I guess I am seeking your opinion about how this law about High Treason works in a quasi banana Republic where a man gets a year for a $6.99 clippers by a justice and Ministers can call reading a letter treason.

Is anyone safe in such a system Luminary?

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re How many innocent men can you count in the above narrative?
    THE SAME NUMBER OF INNOCENT WOMEN

13. My great aunt loved her husband and made excuses for him until the day he killed her. She was innocent on that count, GP. My grandmother seeing his brutality and foreseeing its end was only trying to save her stupid sister’s life. All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. That is not the point. You are taking it out of context. My point to whitehill was made in relation to his comment about women taking advantage of men since they have become financially independent. I was reminding him of what was the norm before women were able to buy their own house and car as he said. He believes that women are to be blamed since they have now turned against their menfolk. My question to him is – how long have the men been in our corner???????? We, now having been enlightened, should be trying to heal and move forward with a new understanding.

My aunt and my grandmother did not deserve what happened to them at the hands of that monster of a man.
    What about your dear mother and your darling wife? Are they innocent? How would you react if I so judged them without knowing them?

Oh sorry! We all know the answer to that!

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

q What about your dear mother and your darling wife? Are they innocent?

a THEY ARE BOTH INNOCENT OF taking advantage of men since they have become financially independent.

15. My great aunt took advantage of no-one. My grandmother took advantage of no-one. They were BOTH AS INNOCENT AS YOUR MOTHER AND YOUR WIFE.

But you are making my blood boil so I am finished with that. This was not the topic at hand but a diversion. Just trying to help out whitehill and his bitter disposition.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re But you are making my blood boil
    YOU MUST NOT LET YOUR BLOOD BOIL YOU WILL DENATURE THE PROTEINS IN IT AND THE HAEMOGLOBIN WONT BE ABLE TO CARRY OXGEN

17. @Donna, thanks for helping me out. Now i know what’s wrong with me, I wouldn’t let it get the better of me as I watch the black race continue to be so divided along gender lines. Now I know why it boils my blood as well as we continue to be like so many Rass hole crabs in a barrel, kick the fucking ladder down as each individual believe they have arrived. I’m also saddened by your aunt’s demise like her unfortunate situation has any bearing on anything. I saw, experienced and witnessed shit. Whenever I come to BU, I come to speak to issues affecting us as a people. I’m never personal or RH emotional. Look here Miss, please, I don’t need to get into some fucking pissing match with you. Too much shit is going on between us, male/female that if addressed now would make us a people a power house. Goodnight! Regards to SirSimple if you see her.

18. @Donna…Bitter disposition my ass! Was Malcolm X bitter and angry too? I’m i to believe all those who had the balls to speak to the black people as apposed to blaming whites angry and fucking bitter? #kissmyass

19. What a load! Why do you men think that you alone are entitled to tell your stories but when we women illustrate our points we are told not to personalize things and make them about us? I could write a book about your life the amount of personal details you give on this site. Which white woman you had over, for how long, what you did with her and her best friend etc etc etc. Very distasteful!

My point was that historically and still today, women have suffered at the hands of men. Literally. Men are not totally innocent creatures being taken advantage of by wicked women.. So that berating women who have taken advantage of their financial independence to unfair men without telling the other side of the horror story will get us nowhere.

If you wish to heal a disease you must first correctly diagnose the problem.

And no I would not be caught dead kissing your ass or anywhere else on your person. You definitely don’t come from Sweet Bottom. Yuh too bitter! And not like mauby!