Melissa Martin, Ph.D., is an author, columnist, educator, and therapist. She lives in
USA

Delicious. Delectable. Decadent. Oh, how we enjoy chocolate goodies! The sweet treat is a palatable paradise. Valentine’s Day, Easter, Halloween—holidays oozing with multi-colored wrappers containing the exciting elixir. Chocolate hearts. Chocolate bunnies and eggs. Chocolate candy bars.

Chocolate goes to the cinema. “Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory” is a popular book and movie with a chocolate theme. An eccentric chocolatier owns a magical chocolate factory and seeks an heir. Willy, a young boy with character, but living on the cusps of poverty is declared the winner.

Roll out the Red Carpet for dark chocolate. But hold onto your bloomers as you learn more about the happy hype. How did the chocolate factories bamboozle consumers into believing that a yummy concoction of fat, sugar, and chocolate is a healthy snack—a health food? We know why—profit. When consumers buy into propaganda, they buy the product. Chocolate is big money. And big money carries power.

And just how did the chocolate moguls fool the masses? Scientific research and advertising. Producers of chocolate paid for studies into cocoa science. Isn’t that a conflict of interest? Public perception is often bought and sold for profit—not for public health.

Vox published a 2018 article investigating dark chocolate as a “superfood.” Journalist Julia Belluz reviewed 100 Mars-funded health studies. “In 1982, Mars Inc. — the company that has brought us M&M’s, Snickers, and Twix — established the Mars Center for Cocoa Health Science in Brazil to study, in part, the biology of cocoa and its impact on human health,” according to Belluz.

Around 70 percent of the world’s cocoa beans come from West African countries: Ivory Coast, Ghana, Nigeria, and Cameroon. In Asia, you’ll find cocoa beans growing in Malaysia and Indonesia. Brazil and Ecuador are also producers of cocoa beans.

Cocoa is made from tropical Theobroma cacao tree seeds; the main ingredient in chocolate. Does dark chocolate contain enough of the flavanol micronutrient to justify eating the fat and sugar content that accompanies the yummy foodstuffs? Fresh cacao beans are rich in flavanols, but the micronutrient can get destroyed during chocolate processing. Not all forms of chocolate contain high levels of flavanols. And cocoa is a bitter-tasting powder—that’s why sugar is added. How much chocolate does a person need to consume in order to garner the flavanol benefits? Does dark chocolate really help protect your cardiovascular system?

The top four countries responsible for the production of chocolate are the United States, Germany, Switzerland, and Belgium.

According to the American Cancer Society (2019 article), “We do know that flavanols in cocoa beans, an ingredient in chocolate, are antioxidants, meaning that they may reduce damage to cells. Damaged cells can lead to cancer development. What we don’t know is to what extent chocolate itself has an effect. There have been a number of studies done on the health benefits of chocolate, but these studies mostly asked people to remember how much chocolate or chocolate products they consumed, then compared it to whether or not they’d had heart problems or cancer. So, while the results of these studies are interesting, they really don’t tell us if it’s the chocolate itself making a difference, or if it’s the flavanols, which can also be found in other foods.” www.cancer.org/.

Some foods rich in flavanols include cranberries, apples, blueberries, plums, cherries, oranges, strawberries, peanuts, onions, legumes, spinach.

Belluz further surmised in her article, “But despite the industry effort to date, cocoa still has never been proven to carry any long-term health benefits. And when it’s delivered with a big dose of fat and sugar, any potential health perks are very quickly outweighed by chocolate’s potential harm to the waistline.”

Does dark chocolate improve cardiovascular risk factors? It depends on the study. Of course, reputable health professionals and scientists recommend more research to find the answer.

Hershey, Nestlé, Cadbury, Godiva, Ferrero, Whittaker’s, Ghirardelli, what say you?

So, is dark chocolate heart healthy or heightened hype? You decide. Nonetheless, the answer is moderation. The answer is to eat well-balanced meals. And enjoy a dark chocolate yum-yum occasionally—because chocolate is candy. Sorry to burst your dark chocolate bubble, but use your brain instead of your taste buds. Dark chocolate is a treat and not a health food.

Anyway, you will find me munching chocolate peanut butter eggs during Easter and chocolate peanut trees during Christmas. And dark chocolate treats throughout the year. Bon appétit! Buon appetite! Buen provecho!

47 responses to “Dark Chocolate, Heart Healthy or Heightened Hype?”

1. Chocolate going to the cinema right … now that I know better I sorry I didn’t tek friut instead…

2. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

Good morning all

I am not sure what the talk is all about; but bring on these chocolates any time of the year. Whether they be healthy or not. They will be properly put away in my tummy. Dark chocolates taste much better when followed by more chocolates. I guess i have a sweet tooth or some subtle addiction?

However, i could never really get my mind wrapped around white chocolates. I tend to not think of them as real chocolates. Geez, does this man i am racist or have racist tendencies because i prefer dark coloured chocolates over white chocolates? I hope not; but that wont stop me from eating either of them.

I must admit if the chocolates comes without a price as in free or a gift white chocolate will be eaten. If i have to pull my pocket only dark chocolates will be purchased. lol

just musing.

3. Polyphenols( Flavonoids) present in chocolate act to inhibit the action of what are known as free radicals at the cellular level in the body.Free radicals can result in mutations that can be harmful. Every now and then, a lot of alarmist sound bites are circulated in the media. In the past, I have written about the benefits to be derived from the consumption of cocoa-based products in the local press. Let me explain a fact of life: there is no such thing as a hundred percent safe food. One only has to consider cassava, sorghum, ackee to realize this fact. All of the above mentioned food crops contain endogenous toxins that can kill if consumed in excess. In food there are chemical and microbial risk assessments to be considered. One assesses the cost-benefits of the product under consideration. For example the use of sodium nitrite in the manufacture of ham and sausage. In the absence of nitrite, the possibility exist that the pathogenic bacterium Clostridium.botulinum could proliferate and elaborate a deadly neurotoxin in hams and sausages. In the presence of proteins, nitrite can form carcinogenic compounds. This is particularly so in bacon( streaky bacon) in the presence of heat and fat. To prevent the formation of the carcinogenic intermediary compound, ascorbic acid or its isomer erythorbic acid are added to the curing formulation. The consumer has a choice to either use or don’t use nitrite in the cure and suffer the consequences. It must be pointed out here, that the amount of cured meats one would have to consume to be stricken by cancer would require many human life times. These alarmist try to give the impression that life is risk free; unfortunately that is not so.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU MAY MODERATE THIS POST TOO

YOU MAY ALSO CLOSE THIS THREAD NOW TOO

BECAUSE ALL THAT WILL BE SAID OF SUBSTANCE ON THIS TOPIC HAS ALREADY BEEN SAID ABOVE BY DR LUCAS

THE BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS WILL SURELY HAVE VERY LITTLE TO SAY ON THIS TOPIC THAT WILL MAKE SENSE

5. So what is the purpose of the article
    It seems as if BU has a fixation on this woman and think it is necessary for the BU household to hear what she has to say
    Or this another vehicle which she uses to promote her books and articles

6. I’m over 70. Every night after dinner – now for more than ten years – I’ve been taking a 5 gram piece of Lintz 85% dark chocolate which I melt on my tongue before washing it down with a 2 oz jigger of dark rum. If there is anything harmful in dark chocolate abuse . . . I am now either happily immune to it or the rum is the antidote !!! And if I must “go” as a result of it’s long-term consumption, mine will have been a life well enjoyed. What is it Psalm 137 enjoins: “Out of darkness comes light” !!

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE What is it Psalm 137 enjoins: “Out of darkness comes light” !!
    DEFINITELY NOT P
    YOU HAVE THE WRONG PSALM BUT ITS NOT PSALM 137
    Psalm 137 King James Version (KJV)
    137 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.

2 We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof.

3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.

4 How shall we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land?

5 If I forget thee, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget her cunning.

6 If I do not remember thee, let my tongue cleave to the roof of my mouth; if I prefer not Jerusalem above my chief joy.

7 Remember, O Lord, the children of Edom in the day of Jerusalem; who said, Rase it, rase it, even to the foundation thereof.

8 O daughter of Babylon, who art to be destroyed; happy shall he be, that rewardeth thee as thou hast served us.

9 Happy shall he be, that taketh and dasheth thy little ones against the stones.

8. What a self-fulfilling prophesy by the chief of ‘BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS’

Anybody who has to capitalize every word has to be either an idiot, mentally deranged or something so.

A so-called christian who walks around with that which comes from his posterior also emanating from the hole in his face, from his mindlessness and his very fingers.

For western dirty christians have yet to learn the required cleaning of ablutions.

That walking around with shite or its smell and unwashed is not only unhealthy but ungodly. Studies show that every Christian church has traces of feacal matter on every seat. That is where this GEORGIE PORGIE sits. Even his non-existent god must smell the shite too.

As a result GEORGIE PORGIE is as shitty as a pig or the chickens he has consumed.

And everywhere he goes a stench of biblical proportions is therefore permitted to disturb the sensitive nasal passages of us all.

Permission granted for the 11-plus examination.

9. Gp,

Dr. Lucas is a gem and explains everything perfectly. When he speaks we see that it is not rocket science. But, he has said what I already know. Life is not risk free. There is good and bad in everything including food. It is all about assessing risks and finding balance. Some people need to hear that from a professional who has credibility.

I will continue to eat what I have been eating. It is what my grandmother and grandfathers ate who lived to their mid-eighties. Their main problem was lack of exercise. They got very lazy. It is what my father and mother still eat in their mid-seventies. They are not getting lazy. I eat a balanced diet. I eat in moderation. I eat dark chocolate because I enjoy the bitterness. I do not look for super foods or pay any attention to the industry studies. We have had this discussion before, you and I.

So, there is no need to add to Dr. Lucas’s submission. It applies to ALL these new alarms and crazes. Press ignore button and eat what the old people ate.

And accept that death will come eventually. lol. In the meantime enjoy life!

10. Brawling men, anybody?

11. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ GP. remember temperance. 🙂 But if you need to ask God for five minutes on your keyboard to engage in the combat; he may grant you such? lol

12. @Dr.Lucas

Appreciate this comment coming from a blogmaster who indulges in the dark stuff from time to time.

13. It is at best anti-intellectual for anybody to profess that what Lucas states here is all there is or could be.

At least, it represents a ‘man in the streets’ mindset. An attempt to limit us to what he ‘believes’ we should know.

For the very nature of interrogation is about furthering the frontiers of knowledge.

We are less than convinced that what Lucas says represents the outer limits of knowledge in the areas touched.

Only someone seeking ignorance would attempt to limit academic enquiry to the parameters prescribed.

14. @Pacha

You will agree that ordinary mortals are guided by the trained minds that walk among us? Is this not where the saying to whom much is given much is expected? This goes all the way back to the philosophers walking among ordinary men to share superior knowledge?

15. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ David March 29, 2019 11:34 AM

As far as i know that is the basis for teaching. The more knowledgeable pass on their knowledge in whatever mode is appropriate.

Once the knowledge is exposed the more daring or curious will push the envelope of this knowledge or subject. Often breaking boundaries to leads to new ideas and more knowledge etc.

16. @sirFuzzy

We are singing from the same hymn sheet.

17. One thing life has taught this woman in the street is that nothing is all good and everything has its uses. We must assess risks and seek balance. It is so for everything I have come across on this earth. We can explore all we like but we shall return to that starting point.

Another thing life has taught me is that death is inevitable.

18. David

Generally agree. But what those who try to impose a hard frontier on knowledge have argued in the past was that the earth was flat or that the bible was all one needed to kmow. Other kinds of knowledge limitations.

We worry when those who approach knowledge with a closed mind start to direct us as to what we should know. That there is any finality in any area of human inquiry.

In these circumstances, we may very well, like we’ve done in the past, be expecting too much from those who were given but now possessing dated intelligence. And is this not a current problem bedeviling Barbados’ development in all areas.

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Dr. Lucas
    @ Dr. GP

Thanks very much for confirming what our taste buds inferred was good for us. Your contributions are always appreciated by me. I am a chocoholic.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

But wait! Were not the Cadburys Quakers? How come John not weighing in on this? They certainly made a fortune out of this South American plant.

21. https://www.botanical-online.com/english/sorghum-properties.htm

This website argues for example, and it is not an academic site, that the toxicity in sorghum is only in the leaves or green parts of the plant. Meaning that the grain is free from the toxin.

Lucas did not say this and he cannot say everything on a blog.

David, let the people talk. Let them talk as much ignorance as they wish until they find sense.

22. @Pacha

Not connecting your point to Lucas. Where is the misinformation you have hinted?

23. David

No, we are not suggesting any type of intentional misinformation by Lucas. We are simply making the point that there is more information than given by him or that could have been given on a mere blog.

Hence the need for blogger engagement, comment, without the prescribed limitations of another who is perennially misinformed.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

david

this iswhat dr lucas wrote

Polyphenols( Flavonoids) present in chocolate act to inhibit the action of what are known as free radicals at the cellular level in the body.Free radicals can result in mutations that can be harmful.

this iswhat dr lucas said above

DURING METABOLISM OF FOOD AND IN THE ABSORPTION OF SOME FOODS FREE RADICALS ARE FORMED

FREE RADICALS ARE COMPOUNDS THAT ARE BASICALLY SEEKING ELECTRONS TO COMPLETE SHELLS IN SOME OF THIER ATOMS

Polyphenols( Flavonoids) ARE COMPOUNDS THAT HAVE WHAT ARE KNOW AS “LONE PAIRS” ——LONELY PAIRS IF YOU LIKE. THE N AND O ATOMS IN Polyphenols ( Flavonoids) ARE VERY HAPPY TO HOOK UP THEIR “LONE PAIRS” OR LONELY PAIRS WITH THOSE OF THE ANTIOXIDANTS TO LIVE HAPPILY AFTERWARDS. IN SO DOING THEY PREVENT THE MUTATIONS THAT ANTIOXIDANTS ARE PRONE TO CAUSE

DR LUCAS GOES ON WITH OUT EXPANDING ON HOW cassava, sorghum, ackee all contain endogenous toxins that can kill if consumed in excess, and points out that “. In food there are chemical and microbial risk assessments to be considered.and that One must assess the cost-benefits of the foods we eat

For example the use of sodium nitrite in the manufacture of ham and sausage.

if you have hypertension or high sodium levels perhaps you might be careful the amount of foods you consume that contain sodium nitrite.

On the other hand In the absence of nitrite, the possibility exist that the pathogenic bacterium may grow in these foods.

What Dr Lucas has said can not be refuted.
    NEITHER CAN WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN BE REFUTED EITHER

the BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS HAVE GIVEN NO INDICATION THAT THEY UNDERSTAND THE DEPTH OF THE BIOCHEMISTRY TO WHICH HE ALLUDES.

IF ONE IS UNABLE TO GRASP THE FUNDAMENTAL TRUTHS TO WHICH HE ALLUDES HOW IS ONE ABLE TO GO ON TO HIGHER THOUGHTS.

HOW CAN ONE BE FED THE MEAT OF THE BIOCHEMISTRY WORD WHEN THEY ARE UNABLE TO COMPREHEND THE MILK THEREOF?

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I GUESS WE SHOULD CITE ROMANS 10:14-15 HERE
    14How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?
    15And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

AS A FRIEND WHO TAUGHT MEDICAL TOGETHER WOULD SAY

HOW CAN THEY KNOW AND UNDERSTAND UNLESS THEY HAVE A TEACHER

ENOUGH
    I HAVE CRICKET TO WATCH

26. Thanks GP, that was pellucid.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ANTIOXIDANTS AND PRESERVATIVES IN FOODS ARE ONE OF TODAY’S BIGGEST CAUSES OF DISEASE AND DEATH AT THE CELLULAR LEVEL.

THESE ARE IN MY VIEW MORE DEADLY THAN HIGH FAT OR CARB DIETS

SOME OF THEM ARE IN SPRAYS AND CREAMS AND LOTIONS

28. Where ever possible I consume non-processed foods. One has to remember that the original intention of the food industry was that of ending shortages of food. For example, when there were heavy catches of fish, the Ancients use to dry and salt the excess for use in periods of shortages. Today, this is not the norm: the food industry caters for the convenience of the working woman. To do so many food additives are used. Some improve the mouthfeel of the food product(Carrageenan extracted from red sea weed; improves the mouth feel of chocolate milk drinks). By adding carrageenan one can add more water to the end-product; with the product still giving the consumer an impression of “full-bodiness.”.The next time the commentators buy chocolate milk read the label and look for carrageenan.
    @Pachamama: I am aware that high levels of toxin reside in the leaves of sorghum. It should be noted that sorghum is used as a grain legume in animal husbandry and if ruminants ingest said sorghum, cyanide poisoning can occur. High levels of nitrate can also be found in sorghum which if fed to babies can result in what is known as blue babies. The point remains that commonly used plant products contain harmful compounds. For example excessive intake of lima bean (Bonavist),can result in the formation of blood clots caused by a compound in the beans( actually happened to me).

29. It seems like when the fire is being turned up too much for the govt
    BU would invoke an article to distract the loud voices hence the repetition of a lady articles which has become fodder for most her on BU
    Notice today the the most loud voices are not active and those who are active like GP who has been cussing Mia has fell hook and sink for the distraction
    Nevertheless it is this type of article which gives his larger than large ego a chance to pontificate uninterrupted

30. @Vincent Codrington
    “But wait! Were not the Cadburys Quakers? How come John not weighing in on this? They certainly made a fortune out of this South American plant.”

Deliciously sweet; tastier than chocolate

31. The blogmaster thanks all who have constructively commented on this topic so far. It has been educational for many we are sure.

We need to understand in a practical way we are what we eat. Many drop products from the supermarket shelves enter the trolley with no clue how it will affect the body.

32. 🙂
    That was just as delicious. It reminded me of ‘en passant’ in chess

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Robert Lucas at 3:45 PM

Is Lima bean the same as Bonavist? Seeking clarification. My father was allergic to bonavist which some hawkers used to add to pigeon peas. He itched and scratched. I am happy he did not get clots but elongated bumps appeared on his skin for the period of allergic reaction. Thanks for your explanation. Very enlightening.

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DR LUCAS’ LAST POST IS MOST INSTRUCTIVE IN MANY WAYS
    IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT THOUGH BEING A FOOD SCIENTIST THAT HE SAYS
    1 Where ever possible I consume non-processed foods.

2 Today, the food industry caters for the convenience of the working woman. To do so many food additives are used.

CAN THESE FOOD ADDITIVES BE THE CAUSE OF MANY OF THE NCD’S THAT WE OFTEN DISCUSS HERE? VERY POSSIBLE.
    SHOULD WE NOT REVERT TO NOT CONSUMING PROCESSED FOODS AS WE ONCE DID?

3 commonly used plant products contain harmful compounds

IN OTHER WORDS NOT ALL NATURALLY OCCURING PLANTS ARE HARMLESS—THIS IS A COMMON MISUNDERSTANDING .
    For example excessive intake of lima bean (Bonavist),can result in the formation of blood clots caused by a compound in the beans

THE UNRIPENED JAMAICAN ACKEE CONTAINS A HYPOGYCIN THAT LOWERS BLOOD SUGAR LEADING TO DEATH

35. @Vincent Codrington
    There are two types of beans locally that are called bonavist. There is the white seed coat(testa) bean which has an astringent flavor when cooked and there is the red or brown seed coat(testa). The latter is less astringent than the white seed coat one. The white seed coat bonavist is similar in taste and shape to the imported lima beans. The only difference is in the size and this maybe attributed to the fact that bonavist is grown as a back-yard crop. No attention being paid to the fertilizer regime; spacing or for that matter, the right soil type to be used for cultivation purposes. I am not surprise that your father had an adverse reaction to the consumption of bonavist..the toxic substance linamarin, is broken down in the body to hydrogen cyanide, which blocks the uptake of oxygen by the hemoglobin of the blood. In the USA, by law ,low alkaloids( toxin), beans are cultivated for human consumption. In Barbados, no one test bonavist for the level of toxins it contains. Your father’s reaction seems to be an allergenic one and not what is known as food intolerance,A true food allergy causes an immune system reaction that affects numerous organs in the body. It can cause a range of symptoms. In some cases, an allergic food reaction can be severe or life-threatening. In contrast, food intolerance symptoms are generally less serious and often limited to digestive problems. I got the blood clots because I was on hard times and had to make do with what I could grow around the house.I was eating those beans every day in large quantities.it was one massive clot in my leg. Lucky for me it was just under the surface of the skin.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Robert Lucas at 6 ;50 PM

Thanks for the clarification.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

GP at 6 :38 PM

Thanks for explaining the biochemical process as it relates to the Jamaican unripe ackee. I studied for three years in Jamaica and was never brave enough to even taste ackee.

I think your hypothesis of a connection between food additives/preservatives and NCDs should be researched; and sooner rather than later.

38. @Vincent

Yuh think?

With Barbados branded the NCD/Amputation capital of the world research in this area should have been well advanced!

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

LOL VINCENT

MY FIRST EXPOSURE TO ACKEE WAS NOT SO PLEASANT TASTE WISE
    BUT AT THE SECOND I WAS REAL HUNGRY AND I HAD SOME BAJAN HOT SAUCE TO PUT ON IT– AFTER THAT I HAVE ENJOYED IT

RE RESEARCHING MY hypothesis of a connection between food additives/preservatives and NCDs MAY NOT BE AS SIMPLE AS IT MIGHT SEEM

IT MIGHT BE DIFFICULT, FOR EXAMPLE TO COLLECT A food additives/preservatives COHORT FOR COMPARATIVE PURPOSES

BUT CLEARLY food additives/preservatives MUST BE A MAJOR FACTOR, SINCE THIS IS A MAJOR FACTOR THAT IS DIFFERENT FROM OUR PAST EATING HABITS

DR LUCAS SPEAKS OF ALLERGENS TO BONAVIST FOR EXAMPLE.
    HE SAID A true food allergy causes an immune system reaction that affects numerous organs in the body. It can cause a range of symptoms. In some cases, an allergic food reaction can be severe or life-threatening.

ALLERGENIC COMPLEXES ARE NOW KNOWN TO BE INVOLVED IN THE AETIOLOGY OF THE KIDNEY COMPLICATIONS OF DIABETES.

I WAS ASKED TO GIVE SOME LECTURES IN THE URINARY TRACT AT MED SCHOOL IN 2004. IT WAS GOING WELL UNTIL I GOT TO THE NEW INFO ON DISEASES OF THE FILTRATION SECTION OF THE KIDNEY———-LIKE A LATIN UNSEEN IF YOU EVER HAD ONE OF THOSE. WHEN I CHECKED THE BIBLIOGRAPHY I SAW THAT THESE THINGS WERE DISCOVERED IN CERCA 1999

DEVELOPMENT IN THE TECHNOLOGY ALLOWED RESEARCHERS TO UNDERSTAND THE IMMUNOLOGICAL ISSUES THAT COMPLICATE OR/AND LEAD TO DIRE PROBLEMS IN DIABETES AND HYPERTENSION

WE KNEW MANY YEARS ABOUT THE COMPLEXES THAT AFFECTED SMALL CHILDREN SECONDARY TO INSECT BITES ETC THAT CAUSED KIDNEY DISEASES, BUT THE TECHNOLOGY HELPED TO BRING TO LIGHT NEW INFO————WHICH MAY ALSO BE DUE TO MODERN FOOD PROCESSING ETC ALSO

IT SEEMS THAT THE INCREASE IN RENAL DISEASES IN CHILDREN AS RECENTLY REPORTED MAY BE DUE TO DECREASED SANITATION IN THE COUNTRY.

PERHAPS WE NEED TO COVER UP THE LEGS OF OUR SMALL ONES IN THE EVENINGS MORE THAN WE USED TO. BUT I AM SURE YOU GUYS REMEMBER SCOFFING AT CHICKS WITH “POXY LEGS” IN OUR YOUTH

IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT WE HAVE ALWAYS HAD CONGENITAL KIDNEY DISEASES IN MALES ALTHOUGH NOT IN HIGH NUMBERS

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Melissa Martin “M&M’s, Snickers, and Twix”

These things are candy, not chocolate.

When family or friends go “down the islands” i beg them please bring me back some real real chocolate, which i will have at nights as cups of hot chocolate tea until it is all gone.

The genuine stuff.

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Vincent Codrington March 29, 2019 7:34 PM “I studied for three years in Jamaica and was never brave enough to even taste ackee.”

Are you kidding????

The first time i tried it…delicious. With saltfish, bakes and a cup of Blue Mountain. Not heaven, but close.

42. The old people have a saying, “Someting got to cyah yuh!”

If we eat non-processed foods there will be problems with ground provisions and pesticides apparently. I remember reading that there are also disadvantages to organically grown foods. Can’t remember what they are.

Fish also seem to be ingesting pollution and passing it on.

I can’t grow everything myself because if I rear an animal I’ll never kill it and eat it. Not even a fish. They’ll all have names like pets.

I will keep eating what I am eating. It has kept the doctor away for fifty-five years and counting.

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 30, 2019 1:27 PM “I remember reading that there are also disadvantages to organically grown foods. Can’t remember what they are.”

Possible contamination if fertilized with animal manure.

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“But wait! Were not the Cadburys Quakers? How come John not weighing in on this? They certainly made a fortune out of this South American plant.”

lol

“Are you kidding????

The first time i tried it…delicious. With saltfish, bakes and a cup of Blue Mountain. Not heaven, but close.”

pretty much, should try most things at least once..

“When family or friends go “down the islands” i beg them please bring me back some real real chocolate, which i will have at nights as cups of hot chocolate tea until it is all gone.

The genuine stuff.”

AMEN

45. The billionaire, Patrick Soon-Shiong, who is also the owner of the LA Times, has been accused of buying up a generic cancer drug that would have competed with one at a company where he was the largest shareholder(Quote)

What an evil man..

46. Dark chocolate helps to control my blood pressure so I love this article.

Leave a Reply to Georgie PorgieCancel reply