There is an inevitability to the predictability.

In 1989 Red Plastic Bag won the Pic O De Crop final with De Country En Well.

The blogmaster posted a blog on May 03, 2007 titled Our Nation Is Crying.

The rise of violent crime in Barbados is responsible for 20 recorded murders at the time of posting this blog [23 March 2019].  It does not surprise the blogmaster and some members of the BU family, we have been warning about the weeds sprouting on what use to be manicured lawns. In response BU was branded a doomsayer blog.

Barbados Underground has posted prolifically about a dysfunctional court system. We heard from the authorities that both parties involved in Thursday’s ‘high noon’ execution were on bail.

Barbados Underground has posted about implementing an efficient transportation system. Almost four decades later we have seen a sub culture take deep root.   The result has been a paralysing sub culture as we are witnessing daily on our highways, byways AND in society at large.

The blogmaster has also written about the need to implement a relevant waste disposal system. Do we know what will happen next?

What we have is a society comfortable in absorbing a way of life from lands across the seas brought closer by how the global village is now constructed. There is the tension between secular and non secular and the vacuum left by a non adherence to traditional values anchored in religious dogma, ease of travel for leisure and study, access to the Internet and television, music are commingling to produce an intoxicating effect on a small open society. It must be said that Barbados is not alone in the fight.

The blogmaster over the years has been a harsh critic of our growing middleclass – satisfied with acquiring paper trophies, the house, car and frequent vacations to Disney – have retreated from a moral obligation to sustain a quality society. There is a good reason education has been allocated significant resources by successive governments. What is the ROI for education since 1966?

There is something wrong about a society consumed with discussing crime on a day OUR elected representatives in Parliament were debating the ‘2019 Budget’ and our leaders of the future were expressing themselves in athletic competition.

It was widely reported that President Duterte of the Philippines condoned the execution of 30 drug dealers by security forces within four days of taking office. He ran a campaign on a promise to execute known criminals and urged his supporters to kill drug traffickers and dump the bodies on the street.

It is evident that organic change is not possible by adopting traditional approaches in Barbados. One of the most depressing aspects to what is occurring today is to listen to our leaders respond with the usual uninspiring words with that deer in headlights look.

If Barbados is to excoriate the crime infection, we must be prepared to amputate  the affected parts. Heavy emphasis on targeting the blocks or certain schools will not be enough. Those perpetrating violent crimes are the victims of a dysfunctional system. How is it possible for the Port Authority to have non functioning scanners for lengthy periods? Members of parliament moaning about the problem because it has struck close to home will not be enough. To the politicians and supporters on all sides: we have countries in the regions to observe how crime feeds on a country polarized by partisan politics.

The blogmaster is not championing Duterte approaches to solving our problems which are most extreme for our culture. However, we should be able to agree that ‘shock’ interventions are required to arrest the decline in our society complemented with longer term strategies. The interventions must be swift and sustained from the leaders in the political and social spaces.

• 24 hour courts (encourage retirees to volunteer)
  • On the spot fines (impound vehicles on the spot)
  • Child Care and other Welfare Services must be empowered to intervene swiftly in troubled households.
  • Random stop and searches (request citizens being searched to record the activity to force transparency, suggestion?)
  • Legislate car pooling hours between 6AM to 8AM and 4PM to 6PM – minimum loads), legislate taxi rates in the time periods
  • Minister of Education Bradshaw, we need to discuss and implement the reforms promised to how we educate our people as a matter of priority.
  • add to the suggestions, non linear only!

Of course Barbadians will protest, it is what we do. However if we want real change to occur, different approaches are now required.

There is an inevitability to the predictability.

137 responses to “Crime Pall Hovers”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    I agree that we need to start from the cradle, but I think that we cannot wait for those policies to bear fruit in 16 or 18 years.

My apprehension about Minister Forde’s programme to teach entrepreneurship is that these people will be directed towards the usual low income enterprises like weed whacking people’s bush or selling sweet drinks. Such enterprises are not likely to provide enough to survive on, never mind a decent living… so as Gary Becker points out, the rational choice is to revert to criminal behaviors.

We need instead to train disadvantaged people to gain access to more lucrative ways of making a decent living… why not train them to do something that really has a role in 21st century life?

Why not train them to be computer programmers? Crazy? Not necessarily. We have the TEN Habitat Code Academy; the challenge is that it costs $20k plus each student needs a good laptop. So to train a hundred people on the block we need to raise more than a couple of million dollars. Impossible? I think not.. it wouldn’t be easy, but it’s not impossible.

Maybe that’s what I’ll do…

2. @ PLT

I want to talk about policy, not hunting for business.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Unless policy options are sustainably financed they wither on the vine. I’m anti-capitalist, but realist.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Plus I want to actually do isht, not just talk about it.

5. I really don’t know why you’re all so mad. The fact is that Barbados is now internationally in the media. I bet our government copied that from Trump: Better bad news than no news at all.

You all need a dose of reality: After 10 years of North Korean economic and financial policy under this figure, who can’t even handle his decimals, Barbados is totally ruined. Youth unemployment is high and the population is impoverished and totally demotivated. Drug trafficking is the only way to make a substantial extra profit.

The Prime Minister now has to show her toughness and reintroduce the death penalty as well as the labour penalty. 50 x execution of the death penalty per year would bring us maximum attention in the international media. I would also just like to point out to David that the labour penalty is in line with all international conventions, in particular ILO. If we let all prisoners work, all roads will be repaired in 12 months.

6. So what changed since the last blog titled “CRIME WAVE” less than a month ago? Did the public execution of a minor criminal spur this response? The Gov’t doesn’t have an answer other than “lock em up and throw away the key” or “prayer”, we will be stuck in a holding pattern for some time.

There is the oft repeated question from the former PM Sandiford of “How did we get here?” as it relates to the economy, we should be asking ourselves the same question about crime.

The only thing that can provide relief is if by some miracle there is some employment opportunities for those on the “block”.

7. @Sargeant

There is always that damascene moment.

8. Corrupt Barbados Avatar
    Corrupt Barbados

WANTED: NATALIE HAREWOOD. The police in Barbados seem curiously incapable of locating the very popular and, therefore, recognizable Natalie Harewood, of prostitution and political fame, for questioning as it relates to the destruction of property owned by and located at:

…………Sophia Bailey, #14 Oxnards Crescent St. James, Barbados…………

Sources claim that Natalie Harewood is a police informant and a provider of personal ‘services’ to members of the (Royal) Barbados Police Force. Natalie Harewood scoffs at the idea that anyone in the Holetown Police Department would ever dare to pick her up for questioning! Officer (Badge #1484) Forde’s close association with Ms. Harewood needs to be investigated.

We all watched (and as was admitted by Natalie Harewood herself) when Ms. Harewood destroyed one of her customer’s vehicle by bashing in the windows of his truck. No arrest was made on behalf of the queen in that criminal matter. Not to mention her smoking marijuana, which possession of that substance happens to be illegal in the queen’s commonwealth of Barbados, during the taping of her videos. Talk on the streets allege that Natalie Harewood is also using cocaine.

WANTED: Natalie Harewood. Last known address (provided to the RBPF):

Rohan Layne (who lives with his mother Jennifer Layne.)
    Grazettes Road (Directions: Fifth house on the right, white wall house, green patio with air conditioning unit, opposite the day nursery. If you are coming from Tudor bridge, it’s the left turn.)

Yet, the police in the tiny island of Barbados can’t seem to take hold of Ms. Harewood, for the pleasure of the queen and all, and the accomplices who aid and abet in her circumvention of the law.

WANTED: Natalie Harewood

9. Barbados’ dramatic increase in violent crime is directly related to the ” re – hiring ” of Darwin Dottin to the public space.

No less a person than a Governor General of Barbados – some years ago saw the wisdom & incontrovertible evidence to remove Darwin Dottin from the post of Commisioner of Police.

The police are the ones to fight crime !!!!!

Fifteen of the murders in 2019 – occured since Darwin Dottin was returned to ” public life ” by this BLP administration to “””fight crime “”” !!

Barbadians pleaseeeee …….

Stop the ROTTIN !!!!!!

Fire…..Darwin DOTTIN !!!!

10. That old saying “Follow the money” seems to work. Drugs, firearms and ammunition in the quantities that appear to be prevalent in Barbados cannot be paid for in Barbados dollars.

Let the financial crimes unit along with the BRA do some investigative research into who and what entities have access to large quantities of US dollars but appear to be not reporting same. Start tapping phones (again?) and it shouldn’t take too long to see where the money is coming from and where it is going.

This of course is in tandem with some of the above suggestions to reverse the undesirable societal trends.

11. David

Why are we so surprised by ‘crime and violence’ in Barbados. When economic violence has been meted out for centuries we did not see such consternation.

The truth is that the world is at a critical juncture and all norms of behaviours are changing, and not for the better. So it should not be surprising that the once thought of Bajan is responding to cosmic forces.

Just this week, the American dictator Trump, supported the idea that the Golan Heights, international recognized as Syrian territory as occupied by the Zionist regime should be now seen as part of the so-called Israel. We fully expect him to seek this coming to legalize the unlawful.

Is that not crimes and violence? Who could bring this criminal to heel? Could this not lead to a war, the final war, where could be omnicide?

For the last 20 week in France the Yellow Vest Movement has been confronting that wicked government. And while their uprising is more morally casted than ordinary crime and violence, these are both forms of unsocial conduct nonetheless.

In the UK, we may have similar violence soon as well, when clear evidence is thusly presented showing that the ‘right to vote’ means not one shiiite.

It is the English norms of conduct that the conservators of decentcy in Barbados, like Sir William Skinner et al, would have us adhere to. But when the English themselves have behaved badly in the past and will so do again soon, we do not hear such scribes holding them to their own standards, as perceived.

We have never recognized the inherited norms of behaviours as handed us by the British as worthy.

The elites in Barbados have been serial law breakers. They have taught the ‘boys on the block’ well how to disrespect said social norms. So much misbehavior was done by them over decades that the nation state itself was brought to its knees, and may well still succumb to life threatening injury. Where has been the corrective for them?

Separately, David

Was trying to find the financial statement as was supposedly one-half of the presentation from Wednesday, and could not. Is it possible not be able to analyze the numbers which the PM spent a quarter of a day talking about?

And if that is so, what are the orders of magnitude of this con?

12. Suffering from the same problem now as PIECE use to. David

13. @Pacha

It was a budget not of the normal delivery. It is difficult to cost or analyse the numbers because for several initiatives none were provided.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/stay-the-course-draft-outline-final-excluding-appendix-5-crj.pdf

14. David that was not a budget ..but a hatchet job on the poor people of barbados
    I hope the people learnt there lessons
    Never drink koolaid during election cycle
    If it sounds too go to be true ran as fast as possible meking sure yuh feet hit the ground

#####watchmuhnow

15. David

Surely, this is a departure from tradition, and will prove to be a big mistake. It could cause continuation problems in the future.

Economy is not immune to ‘estimates’ in the circumstances you so described. Even if those estimates are off, and they often are, we need a baseline, a model, to look back to, to plan for the future with.

Absent such, a year from now the PM could then impose numbers with the benefit of 20/20 vision. That cannot be fair!

Wow, no revenue and expenditure number. Without these the nation’s 6 hours on Wednesday were wasted.

16. @Pachamama

The IMF targets are all that matter at this juncture.

17. David BU

PM Mottley right to do what she did during the Budget speech.

No Financial statement outlining the costings for the basket of horse prattle she introduced.

But then again……her behaviour was consistent with that of a DESPOT !

BARBADIANS…..were warned !!!!

18. Adriel Braithwaite. FB

I was always saddened when persons like the present AG opposed measures aimed at addressing crime in Barbados. The BLP opposed the amendment to the Police Act which enhanced the powers of the police. Indeed they promised to repeal it if ever in office. They opposed promised anti gang legislation and amendment to the Bail act which would have made it difficult for persons on murder charges or members of gangs to be given bail so easily. Instead some politicians ( I don’t want to be sued) struck alliances with suspected gang leaders on every block that they could find all in the interest of power. This is a very sad time in the history of our nation.

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Wuhun still got this???????

PS. I suspect when you big ups stop your crime it will be far easier to stop the violence.”

pretty much…a few more of them want hauling in…a la Donville.

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin ” the Stephen Lawrence affair”

Why do you call Stephen Lawrence’s MURDER, the Stephen Lawrence affair? There is no need to bowlderize the young man’s murder.

We need to name MURDER as exactly what it is, MURDER.

21. @ Pachamama

I noted that you said “…Wow, no revenue and expenditure number. Without these the nation’s 6 hours on Wednesday were wasted…”

Fractured BLP echoed a similar strain of thought.

Please simplify this procedural matter for an ole ingrunt man like me and the sheeple reading this statement

What does this mean?

Has Mugabe not delivered a Budget without there being numbers?

Me fears that this two liner is lost on many bajans so i’d love you to clarify it please

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin “There is an urgent need for a debate on crime.”

We can’t waste time on a debate on crime, even while our young men slaughter each other. We have to stop the murders now. Now is not the time for academic debates. Now is the time to stop the killings.

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TheOGazerts March 23, 2019 9:35 AM “I have seen Bajans celebrating/welcoming an increase in bus fares.”

So where did you see these celebrations?

i am right here on the spot and I have not seen any celebrations.

What i have seen is a dour acceptance.

The same dour acceptance as with the sewage and garbage tax. The government calls them contributions. Everybody else calls them by their right name. TAXES.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson [‘s friend] March 23, 201910:16 AM “It starts off with poor health care.”

NOT TRUE.

Even while I agree with some of what Peter’s friend wrote on Facebook, it is NOT true to say that poor children in Barbados are exposed to poor health care. The public health care delivered to poor families, and to middle class families who choose to access it through the polyclinics is in fact EXCELLENT. First world excellent. In fact better than the care delivered to poor people in some first world countries,

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Peter’s friend on Facebook “expelled from school on the slightest pretext.

It is NOT TRUE either to say that Barbadian children are expelled from school “on the slightest pretext”.

Invariably children who are expelled have typically used violence against or repeated threats of violence against another child, or against a member of the school’s staff.

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin March 23, 2019 11:10 AM “About the relevant social policies, let us start with the home circumstances, is there a man in the home.”

And not just any ole man in the home.

But a GOOD MAN in the home.

I trust that you know that there are some fathers and step fathers who introduce their children and step children to drug dealing.

In cases like that the home would be better off without such men.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I would say to any politician who invites any drug dealer to their home or their office. Any politician who socializes with drug dealers, who goes to their weddings or funerals, who stands as godparents to to the children of drug dealers:

if you sow the wind, you WILL reap the whirlwind.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece

No I do not want to see another 30 dead sons.

I would wish all of our sons to live to old age and to die in their beds at home, or in their beds in prison, yes even the drug dealing sons.

If the ideas suggested by Peter and by Hal will work, then they should be implemented immediately.

If we do nothing, then they murder rate will increase, it can become as high as more than 100 per 100,000, but by that time we will have a huge out migration and no tourist industry

29. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

When the shootings and murders spike began in May last year we thought it was a blip that would settle down after police arrested the perpetrators. It turns out not to be a spike but a long ongoing spate of the most brutal killings and shootings.

2019 without a doubt is the darkest chapter in Barbados’ history nothing else comes close.

The brazenness of the murders in broad daylight in crowded shopping malls is naked horror. The nation is justifiably very afraid. People are beginning to think twice before leaving home especially at night.

The vast array of guns in the hands of obviously heartless killers is inexplicable there is no end in sight for the gun violence.

Much time is spent by government pointing fingers at the past government as the cause. This is unacceptable the people voted for Motley’s team to solve problems because that is what they were promised.

The reality is we have a country in crisis the likes of which we have never seen. Right thinking citizens want to see the severe crime problem wrestled to the ground.

Words like ‘not bout here ‘and empty mountings from the prime minister and attorney general affords us no comfort their policies thus far have failed miserably.

Twenty murders is the average for any single year in our post slavery history. We equaled that figure by mid march. A solution to the carnage must be found before we officially become a failed state.

30. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

I agree with @Mariposa Facebook Post made by Adriel Braithwaithe in regards to the gang leaders and Drug lords feeling empowered because the current Government sold its soul to win election last year at ALL cost.

Combined with deep deep corruption in the Barbados Police Force it has gone past the point of no return regardless of future studies or models proposed.

Corrupt Barbados police officers are involved in “the gangs, money laundering and human trafficking—with young foreign girls fast becoming the preferred targets”.

This has become the ‘new industry’ along with drug trafficking for corrupt police officers to earn a hefty supplemental income albeit by illicit means.

Human trafficking is a variety of corruption that has established what appears to be a permanent presence on Barbados shores.

Barbados police officers are heavily involved in human trafficking with strip club owners and brothels in addition to working with local gang leaders and Drug Lords in trafficking drugs hence leading to increased mayhem.

Police corruption in Barbados, takes four forms—low level/petty corruption such as receiving bribes, abuse of administrative procedures and process such as failure to investigate, corruption borne out of liaisons with criminal groups and high level corruption such as disclosure of police information or evidence to benefit political groups for which the officer is affiliated.

THE ROT ON THE ISLAND OF BARBADOS HAS PENETRATED TOO DEEPLY and is now no different than TT, Guyana or Jamaica.

31. PLT is making much sense. Personally, I believe that we should have mandatory “military service” for any young person that is not gainfully employed and speedily going nowhere in life. The concept would be to teach Discipline, to Educate according to ability ie Uni if capable, technical training , Trades -carpentry, masonry, painting whatever is required to build a decent income and provide marketable services. Note that countries that have mandatory military service have far more disciplined and successful societies. If we take people off the streets, decriminalise Ganja ie take the profit out as price would collapse, we might be able to turn Bim around.

32. MoneyaBrain

That is a good idea, but you think the government has the financial resources to housed, feed and clothed all the young people leaving school in Barbados? And in most countries mandatory military service is designed for males and not females …

33. Many of the contributions on this subject are truly hypocritical. The fact is that selling drugs is the only way to get rich quickly in Barbados at the moment. The island is so run down after 10 years of rule by these plantation dwellers that it will not recover so quickly.

You should ask yourself who pays the lawyers of the drug soldiers who are currently shooting around. The money comes from the drug trade. In other words, many lawyers in Barbados are involved in money laundering and organised crime. Those who knowingly accept drug money as payment make themselves liable to punishment!

Barbados has been under US observation for some time. It is time to arrest more people once they are on holiday in the United States, put neck irons on them and sentence them to long prison terms.

34. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Barbados has been under US observation for some time. It is time to arrest more people once they are on holiday in the United States, put neck irons on them and sentence them to long prison terms.”

what an excellent idea…and they can start with the wicked, tiefing, traitorous, criminal fu*kers in the present government…that is why it is soooooo imperative that the electorate takes away those diplomatic passports and throw all their money laundering, drug trafficking…land stealing…treasury and pension raping asses out of the parliament…

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@MoneyBrain
    “… we should have mandatory “military service” for any young person that is not gainfully employed…”
    Military type mindless obedience is a complete waste of any life. We need to teach young people how to innovate, NOT how to obey their elders who have failed them so miserably.

A year or two of “social service” is much more what is required… they should spend their time repairing the run down dwellings of so many senior citizens who live in poverty, building a bicycle trail along the route of the old train line, cooperatively building businesses in growing sectors of the economy like electric bicycles…

They should be learning by doing; the opposite of their wasted 5 years of secondary school, and the opposite of military marching up and down pointlessly while being yelled at by some loser on a power trip.

36. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“A year or two of “social service” is much more what is required”

Excellent…

37. @Peter

We have to work our way out of a bad situation. We have to creep before being able to run.

38. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Too many levels of criminality exists…most starts in government and extends outward to every tax payer funded entity. This is the nasty shite government ministers love to bathe in…

” Sharon Christie and the QEH
    Sharon Christie is the Deputy Chair of the QEH Board. She effectively functions as the Chair due to the weakness and incompetence of Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland. Juliette is also subservient to white folks (Sharon is a white Bajan)

Sharon is also the CEO of Kensington Court Ltd, H Jason Jones Co and several related companies.

Since joining QEH Board, one of the companies that she manages has been given a contract to oversee QEH security including CCTV system. As Chair of the Tenders Committe she should have known better. So much for transparency under this new Government.

Secondly, Jason Jones is now becoming the supplier of first choice to the QEH. A blatant conflict of interest! But no one has the balls to stand up to her.

From her office at the QEH (?) she terrorizes the staff and fellow Board members. She threatens them by constantly stating that she is there to do what Mia wants done.

So once again a a select few are getting thru under this new Government whilst the rest of us suck salt.

It is time to tell Sharon Christie that Massa day done. It is time that such a disrespectful, arrogant person be removed from public service.

I also want to see an urgent investigation into the relation between QEH and all companies that Sharon Christie is associated with.”

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson March 24, 2019 7:17 AM “A year or two of “social service” is much more what is required.”

You are right as usual.

And we have to teach our children at home while they are still children how to look outside of themselves and how to “do” for others. I am glad that my father who did not go to school past the age of 12 showed us by example how to do that, and I am glad that I did the same with my children. I showed by example how a perfectly ordinary person can hold down a full time job, excellently raise two children, and find the love, time and passion to give to others for decade after decade. I won’t stop until I am disabled or dead.

Too many of us are too selfish. Too busy raising obese entitled children, too busy accumulating “stuff” which our children will dump on the landfill before we are cold.

40. How about Mia dumping all them million dollar consultants and put the money to the goodwill of educating the youth on the block
    Putting in place technical and industrial schools geared to educating them into becoming productive citizens of this country
    The monies that White Oaks and other consultants are receiving can go much further in preparing them for jobs and steering the youth away from a culture of crime
    Yuh think that White Oaks ever or will ever bring to table any meaningful ideas for building a society where the betterment of the youth is put first
    So far the evidence of what is happening on the street says NO
    Meanwhile these multimilion dollar goriilaphants continue to eat off the tax payers trough and enjoying hearty bellies while the youth try to find ways of feeding theirs

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Barbados Underground Whistleblower March 24, 2019 12:29 AM “human trafficking—with young foreign girls fast becoming the preferred targets.”

What is wrong with this generation of Bajan men that they can’t seem to get sex without resorting to prostitutes. The old guys used to find a woman by their late teens and sex with her until 70 or past that, and that was in the age BEFORE Viagra. My old man got together with my mum when he was 19 and remained with her until 90, had all of his children with one woman and that was BEFORE the contraceptive pill, BEFORE Viagra, when the nearest shop which sold condoms was 5 miles walk away. And “no” the old man was not a church goer. Never stepped in a church until he was past 60. But those old men worked physically hard, ate ground food, dranked little or no alcohol, and did not take ANY drugs.

It seems like not a fella today can get a woman to willingly say “yes” to them for 60 years in a row. What has happened? Have our men become sexually incompetent? Are our men less sexy that their fathers and grandfathers?

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

So sexing was as easy as breathing.

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@MoneyBrain March 24, 2019 4:33 AM “Note that countries that have mandatory military service have far more disciplined and successful societies.”

I note that Canada does NOT have mandatory military service and you have seemed comfortable enough hanging out there from the days of your youth.

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“It is time to tell Sharon Christie that Massa day done. It is time that such a disrespectful, arrogant person be removed from public service.”

It is also time to tell nasty Mia who loves bathing in racist and apartheid shite and splashing it on her own black people…,that massa day done..,,apparently as a middle age black ass woman…,she still dont want to accept that..,she too is subservient to racists..,.particularly of the white variety…

45. @Simple Simon

You might have observed the topic is about discussing ways to improve our situation? It is easy to highlight the symptoms of the problem.

46. Mia said that many hands make for light work
    However it seems that the manys hands she employed were placed in the wrong direction
    Here eight months later ordinary citizens are trying to come to grips about the upsurge in crime and having to find solutions while govt use of Slogan to make a point of acceptance does nothing to rebuild or construct a decaying social enviroment
    We the people were sold a bill of political solgans built on self interset nothing having to do with engineering meaningful thought that is benefical for the youth
    Boy David Thompson must be rolling in his grave
    constituency counsel gone
    Football tournaments over
    I wonder how many of the youth who found these groups to worthwhile in keeping them grounded now look into the streets for hope

47. All this sums up why barbados social enviroment would continue on a downward spiral
    Those who have ears to hear let them hear

http://www.afrikanheritage.com/dispensers-of-hopelessness-raining-havoc-on-barbados/?fbclid=IwAR2ORNZ40afyaWQhFvkmIEgUdPlU7oQWcDZ4PD0HfUoh9ZsfdxjvfOBC6eI

48. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon March 24, 2019 6:03 AM “And in most countries mandatory military service is designed for males and not females.”

I trust that both you and moneybrain have noted that for the most part Bajan women at home and abroad are NOT killing anybody. And this is in spite of poverty, in spite of a higher unemployment rate that men, in spite of receiving no or little social or financial support for their children, in spite off violence inflicted on them by their fathers, stepfathers, boyfriends and husbands.

MALE violence IS THE PROBLEM. Men should therefore find the solution, but I am doubtful if they can. The men of Barbados are too arrogant, too know-it-all, too unwilling to listen to women. I wonder if the day will ever come when Bajan men will look to the women in their homes, their communities, their churches, their clubs, their political parties and ask them “How do you do it?” “How do you remain non-violent, in spite of the grossest provocations?”

49. @Waru
    I have seen you put issues that if the average Barbadian thought deeply about them, people would be calling names as they march for change.

You strip the emperors of their clothes and put them on display.

But our folks prefer to pretend they are cerebral crabs in a boiling pot of water. The run after highfalutin talk and phrases; they would compare the economy, size and population of Barbados with richer, larger and more populous country and then sing praises of the finery of the emperor clothes.

I am glad that you have the stamina to continue to throw these issues into the lobby. The apologists will soon start swarming and attacking.

Don’t change your style. Nothing in that island will change if they don’t tackle what is wrong.

Leave a Reply to SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLifeCancel reply