There is an inevitability to the predictability.

In 1989 Red Plastic Bag won the Pic O De Crop final with De Country En Well.

The blogmaster posted a blog on May 03, 2007 titled Our Nation Is Crying.

The rise of violent crime in Barbados is responsible for 20 recorded murders at the time of posting this blog [23 March 2019].  It does not surprise the blogmaster and some members of the BU family, we have been warning about the weeds sprouting on what use to be manicured lawns. In response BU was branded a doomsayer blog.

Barbados Underground has posted prolifically about a dysfunctional court system. We heard from the authorities that both parties involved in Thursday’s ‘high noon’ execution were on bail.

Barbados Underground has posted about implementing an efficient transportation system. Almost four decades later we have seen a sub culture take deep root.   The result has been a paralysing sub culture as we are witnessing daily on our highways, byways AND in society at large.

The blogmaster has also written about the need to implement a relevant waste disposal system. Do we know what will happen next?

What we have is a society comfortable in absorbing a way of life from lands across the seas brought closer by how the global village is now constructed. There is the tension between secular and non secular and the vacuum left by a non adherence to traditional values anchored in religious dogma, ease of travel for leisure and study, access to the Internet and television, music are commingling to produce an intoxicating effect on a small open society. It must be said that Barbados is not alone in the fight.

The blogmaster over the years has been a harsh critic of our growing middleclass – satisfied with acquiring paper trophies, the house, car and frequent vacations to Disney – have retreated from a moral obligation to sustain a quality society. There is a good reason education has been allocated significant resources by successive governments. What is the ROI for education since 1966?

There is something wrong about a society consumed with discussing crime on a day OUR elected representatives in Parliament were debating the ‘2019 Budget’ and our leaders of the future were expressing themselves in athletic competition.

It was widely reported that President Duterte of the Philippines condoned the execution of 30 drug dealers by security forces within four days of taking office. He ran a campaign on a promise to execute known criminals and urged his supporters to kill drug traffickers and dump the bodies on the street.

It is evident that organic change is not possible by adopting traditional approaches in Barbados. One of the most depressing aspects to what is occurring today is to listen to our leaders respond with the usual uninspiring words with that deer in headlights look.

If Barbados is to excoriate the crime infection, we must be prepared to amputate  the affected parts. Heavy emphasis on targeting the blocks or certain schools will not be enough. Those perpetrating violent crimes are the victims of a dysfunctional system. How is it possible for the Port Authority to have non functioning scanners for lengthy periods? Members of parliament moaning about the problem because it has struck close to home will not be enough. To the politicians and supporters on all sides: we have countries in the regions to observe how crime feeds on a country polarized by partisan politics.

The blogmaster is not championing Duterte approaches to solving our problems which are most extreme for our culture. However, we should be able to agree that ‘shock’ interventions are required to arrest the decline in our society complemented with longer term strategies. The interventions must be swift and sustained from the leaders in the political and social spaces.

• 24 hour courts (encourage retirees to volunteer)
  • On the spot fines (impound vehicles on the spot)
  • Child Care and other Welfare Services must be empowered to intervene swiftly in troubled households.
  • Random stop and searches (request citizens being searched to record the activity to force transparency, suggestion?)
  • Legislate car pooling hours between 6AM to 8AM and 4PM to 6PM – minimum loads), legislate taxi rates in the time periods
  • Minister of Education Bradshaw, we need to discuss and implement the reforms promised to how we educate our people as a matter of priority.
  • add to the suggestions, non linear only!

Of course Barbadians will protest, it is what we do. However if we want real change to occur, different approaches are now required.

There is an inevitability to the predictability.

137 responses to “Crime Pall Hovers”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Violence is a public health issue. You cannot reduce violence by inflicting more violence on communities. We need to learn from the experience of places like Glasgow, which used to be the murder capital of Europe but is now a model for cutting crime.
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/europe/glasgow-was-once-the-murder-capital-of-europe-now-its-a-model-for-cutting-crime/2018/10/27/0b167e68-6e02-4795-92f8-adb1020b7434_story.html

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Just as when the public health system breaks down you get outbreaks of Cholera, when the social service system breaks down you get outbreaks of violence. It operates like any other contagion. Prayers will do absolutely nothing to help unless the prayers are accompanied by resolute action to fix the social ills.

One of the best violence reduction models is the one pioneered by Cure Violence in Chicago. It is is a public health approach to violence prevention that understands violence as a learned behavior that can be prevented using disease control methods. “The model prevents violence through a three-pronged approach:
    1) Interrupt transmission
    2) Identify and change the thinking of highest potential transmitters
    3) Change group norms”

http://cureviolence.org/the-model/the-model/

3. @ PLT

Stop it. You are copying. What is the aetiology of this so-called public health problem? This is now what the silly mayor of London is talking about. The fact is he was too young to remember Glasgow as the crime capital of the UK.
    In the late 1970s/early 80s David McNee (42 years ago, the mayor was seven years old), the so-called Hammer, was brought down to London from Glasgow as the tough cop who would sort out London. He did not last very long.
    Crime is a social construct and its place on the priority list of social problems depends on politics. In the UK crime is not only mixed up with race, it is also a very strong and destructive expression of racism. Only a couple days ago I was reading about the late Lord Denning, the most liberal Master of the Rolls (number two in the court hierarchy in the UK) in modern history, who, despite his purported liberalism, thought black people were not fit to sit on juries.
    Stop Googling half-baked ideas from badly written news stories in newspapers. Remember the so-called broken window theory, stop and search, which has returned as a weapon against ‘terrorism’ as Section 60? It was sstop and search that led to the 1981 ‘riots’ throughout the UK which Lord Scarman though ought to be banned. Lord Macpherson, in his report in to the Stephen Lawrence affair, also condemned police/black relations.
    There is an urgent need for a debate on crime, but in Barbados we do not have to import dim-witted ideas from Glasgow or London.

4. Beautiful Beige Avatar
    Beautiful Beige

Is this yet another “FALSE FLAG ” that is being executed by the “Political Class” : This horrendous public assault of violence, counterposed to sports and materialism (all being fuelled by people’s fasicination with entertainment via the visual media) are all being used to l ” “DRUG” the masses into a stupor/slumber?

How does this create or promote a “SUSTAINABLE SOCIETY”?

WHERE ARE THE DETAILS ON THE BUDGET THAT WAS PUT FORWARD ON WEDNESDAY MARCH 20 ???????

Is nobody questioning why only snippets of the above have been released?

Is the only role of the “PEOPLE” in this “DEMOCRACY” to pay increasingly more burdensome taxes and “RATE INCREASES”?

Bread and circuses” (or bread and games; from Latin: panem et circenses) is a metonymic phrase critiquing superficial appeasement. It is attributed to Juvenal, a Roman poet active in the late first and early second century AD — and is used commonly in cultural, particularly political, contexts.

In a political context, the phrase means to generate public approval, not by excellence in public service or public policy, but by diversion, distraction or by satisfying the most immediate or base requirements of a populace[1] — by offering a palliative: for example food (bread) or entertainment (circuses). In context, the Latin panem et circenses (bread and circuses) identifies the only remaining interest of a Roman populace WHICH NO LONGER CARES FOR ITS HISTORICAL BIRTHRIGHT OR POLITICAL INVOLVEMENT.

With only one opposition representative (who is of the same ruling party) what assurance can the Prime Minister have/give that public opinion is being TRULY REPRESENTED?

5. At least the AG is on the ball, he is quoted as saying the “wake up call’ should have been sounded a decade ago. When was this man AG again? Somehow the “wake up call” should only have been expressed after his stint as AG, this man isn’t pretending to be a clown he is the real deal.

6. Band aid solutions would nit wirk
    Those have been tried and failed
    Build a Wall. Hmmmm

7. “There is something wrong about a society consumed with discussing crime on a day OUR elected representatives in Parliament were debating the ‘2019 Budget’ and our leaders of the future were expressing themselves in athletic competition.”

Is it now accepted that Bajan cannot walk and chew gum at the same time? Parliament has been debating ‘budgets’ for over 50 years and we still find ourselves “up the proverbial creek without the paddle” . Perhaps, they should focus on other matters as well.

“One of the best violence reduction models is the one pioneered by Cure Violence in Chicago. ”

Sometimes I have a blindness/bias that approaches sheer ignorance. I am aware of it. The statistics tell me that the whatever model they are using in Chicago it is a failed one. My bias is so strong that I will not look at your link.

On the spot fines (impound vehicles on the spot) . ***I will assume that you will add more flesh to #1 and that you are just brainstorming.
    Random stop and searches (request citizens being searched to record the activity to force transparency, suggestion?) *****These stop and searches are never random and lead to profiling. I suspect a select few will escape the indignities of stop and search that some would like to see inflicted on others.

Don’t give up your rights without a fight. Let the government find ways to target the criminals and not every citizen. The wish list is indicative of policing failure.

8. @ Sargeant,

The wake up call for me was in 2005 when I saw drug dealing in the open in 3 neighbourhoods in Barbados.

I have chosen not to name these neighbourhoods because it would not be fair to the good law abiding people who live there.

9. #2 Random stop and searches (request citizens being searched to record the activity to force transparency, suggestion?)
    *****These stop and searches are never random and lead to profiling. I suspect a select few will escape the indignities of stop and search that some would like to see inflicted on others.

Don’t give up your rights without a fight. Let the government find ways to target the criminals and not every citizen.

10. BARBADOS on record pace, T&T, Venusuala and Jamaica beware your enviable MURDER RATING is under threat from little Barbados. Wily looking forward to seeing how Barbados Political Class is going to massage this statistic into positive political praise.

11. I have seen Bajans celebrating/welcoming an increase in bus fares and I wonder if we are all mad.

The only persons that should support an increase in fares are the owners, drivers and conductors. A working ‘yardfowl’ that relies on public transportation should not welcome/celebrate anything that would take money out of his pocket or may take food out of the mouth of his children. Be smart.

Of course you should examine a situation and vote on its merit, but you natural instinct should be hold on to your dollars and resist efforts to empty your wallet. Don’t be the proverbial fool who is easily parted from his money.

12. Will the shooting / murder in Sheraton Mall be enough to trigger the Police to raid the ghettos ?

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    You need to bring something substantial to the discussion not just ad hominem attacks. The World Health Organization acknowledges that violence is a public health issue; so does the the American Academy of Family Physicians and the World Bank.

I am not a subject matter expert in violence, so my first instinct is to do research. If you wish to understand the aetiology it is perfectly simple to research this… I’ll give you a simple head start from the Center for Disease Control https://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/pdf/history_violence-a.pdf

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    The “dim-witted ideas from Glasgow” were not from Glasgow… which you would have noticed if you read the article. It does not matter where the ideas came from, what matters is that they WORKED. They achieved real results in the complex real world. It is not the only place they have worked either.

15. Well, well well! A most enlightening set of verbiage! I am forced to take off my rose- oloured spectacles as ordered by the Commissioner and the AG and see that these murders are reprisals etc. etc. etc.

What are we paying them for again? To tell us what we have been telling them?

And quite conveniently the awakening should have occurred a decade ago.

We the people have been crying out for far more than a decade. First the DLP’s Maurice King famously said there were “no gangs in Barbados” when we all knew even the names of the non-existent gangs. Then the BLP rubbished the DLP who ran on arresting “Crime and Violence” under David Thompson. They even had a foolish t.v. ad to make the mock sport stick. “Crime and Violence”. I still remember that ad. Now we should have awakened ten years ago!

Question for you esteemed farts sorry folks who have apparently been living under the rock instead of on the rock.for decades –

Wuhun still got this???????

PS. I suspect when you big ups stop your crime it will be far easier to stop the violence.

16. @PLT

The idea of crime as a public health issue came from the World Health Organisation in 2005 when it declared Glasgow as the ‘murder capital of Europe’. It was a bad idea then and it still is now.
    It was that report that led to Glasgow setting up its Violence Reduction Unit (which London has now done, a bit of re-inventing the wheel).
    Before that the Tony Blair government talked about tough on crime and tough on the causes of crime. ignored the nonsense, and set up a street crime initiative which looked at pupil exclusions, their home lives, police practices, sentencing policy and rehabilitation. Crime fell after 2002 in London.
    At the time I was working for the Daily Mail as a crime reporter and that was my bread and butter. I remember it well. I suggest you talk to good criminologists. I can give you contacts if you want.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal

Good criminologists publish their work and I read it. Are you alleging that the Violence Reduction Units were NOT successful?

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I would like to quote from a Facebook post by an acquaintance of mine:
    “The gang related violence has 2 interlinked factors:

The gangland bosses and thugs have become emboldened by their public association with top politicians. YES I SAID IT.
    Economic disenfranchisement. The opportunities for wealth creation, or even modest success simply do not exist for many Bajans from the lower classes. It starts off with poor health care and nutrition, the social stigma and prejudices about where you live, your last name… even as a child. Then you are streamed into inferior schools and told that you will be nothing. Low expectations foster underachievers.

Then you are treated badly in these schools, punished harshly and unreasonably. Expected to compete in an academic setting with persons who get the best social support on the same timetable.

Then you are not supported when you get expelled from school on the slightest pretext. People are taught that might is right because the world unfair. Then we surprised when they feel the need to own a gun.

Our society is routinely discarding over 50% of its citizens. They find a place to belong and a sense of purpose in gang activity. That is their only avenue to moderate amounts of money as well.”

“We CANNOT address the rise in violent crime at the level of ‘policing’. Harsher punishments, brutal floggings, and the death penalty are not solutions. They are evidence that we have failed as a society and are continuing to fail our children. So now we hide from the truth by killing our mistakes. That is unacceptable.

We need to stop failing our children.”

19. Beautiful Beige Avatar

Is this yet another “FALSE FLAG ” that is being executed by the “Political Class” : This horrendous public assault of violence, counterposed to sports and materialism (all being fuelled by people’s fasicination with entertainment via the visual media) are all being used to l ” “DRUG” the masses into a stupor/slumber?

How does this create or promote a “SUSTAINABLE SOCIETY”?

WHERE ARE THE DETAILS ON THE BUDGET THAT WAS PUT FORWARD ON WEDNESDAY MARCH 20 ???????

Is nobody questioning why only snippets of the above have been released?

Is the only role of the “PEOPLE” in this “DEMOCRACY” to pay increasingly more burdensome taxes and “RATE INCREASES”?

Bread and circuses” (or bread and games; from Latin: panem et circenses) is a metonymic phrase critiquing superficial appeasement. It is attributed to Juvenal, a Roman poet active in the late first and early second century AD — and is used commonly in cultural, particularly political, contexts.

In a political context, the phrase means to generate public approval, not by excellence in public service or public policy, but by diversion, distraction or by satisfying the most immediate or base requirements of a populace[1] — by offering a palliative: for example food (bread) or entertainment (circuses). In context, the Latin panem et circenses (bread and circuses) identifies the only remaining interest of a Roman populace WHICH NO LONGER CARES FOR ITS HISTORICAL BIRTHRIGHT OR POLITICAL INVOLVEMENT.

With only one opposition representative (who is of the same ruling party) what assurance can the Prime Minister have/give that public opinion is being TRULY REPRESENTED?

20. @Hants
    Do you mean more raids?

A Gov’t backbencher- a physician- is being very vocal about bringing back the Death penalty and she is even advocating summary execution for those who shoot at Police. We need solutions and I decided to listen once again to the speech on youtube that the PM made at the swearing in of Cabinet and I didn’t hear one word about crime although I previously thought that she had brought it up, this was against the backdrop of the COP making frequent statements that crime was on the decrease and he had the “stats” to back it up.

I don’t want to be alarmist but I keep hearing anecdotes about individuals not travelling on some roads at night, about people being waylaid by criminals who place objects across the road to stop vehicles, people being mugged in their driveways etc. and much of the criminal activity goes unreported because they don’t believe the crime will be solved or the Police have the will to resolve the matter.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Where is my Sweet PIece

I find it strange that all of a sudden, you have an escalation of shootings and murders under watchwoman Mottley and the same AG that was lambasted for smiling and talking pretty shite, is the same AG that did very little then who doing very little now. This sounding very much to me like if the criminals have been given a ticket to wreak havoc on the land for a period so as to drive fear in the hearts of the people and get them all subdued. Piece, is this how Mottley plans to stay in power?

22. What will be the Outcome of a Socialist State much Describes your Concerns Blog master

What’s Wrong with Socialism?

We’ve read and watched the news of Venezuelan society collapsing under the weight of socialism. But how bad is it really? See this first-hand account from documentary filmmaker Ami Horowitz.

23. @PLT

Yes. I am saying the VRUs have been a failure that is why they have been largely abandoned. The London mayor is playing politics.
    The most up to date criminological work is in think tanks and university departments. Books can take years to write and time moves on that is why the latest work is always in the journals, seminars and post-graduate students’ research.
    I repeat, crime is a social construct and social policy is the best way to sort it out. Sometimes the offender is mentally ill. However, it is not a communicable disease; people do not catch crime from sitting on a ZR van next to a robber. The very idea is bogus.

24. Do we focus on the escalation in recent months or the fact we have some causal factors we need to uproot.

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “crime is a social construct and social policy is the best way to sort it out.”
    I agree completely. You have radically misinterpreted my argument.. of course “… people do not catch crime from sitting on a ZR van next to a robber.” I did not mean to imply any such thing. I quoted experiences which argued that it required a public health approach… I thought everyone would understand that the comparison to disease was metaphorical.

I know that the “… latest work is always in the journals…” which is why I googled “which communities have successfully reduced gang violence” and read articles in the Journal of Issues in Nursing from 2014, and Preventive Medicine Reports from 2016.

When I sought to evaluate the effectiveness of Violence Reduction Units by searching research journals the articles I found all substantiated the effectiveness of VRUs. I did not find any that said VRUs have been a failure, but I am very interested in reading such research so I’d be grateful if you would point me towards it.

So since we agree that “social policy is the best way” to sort out the violence problem, let us discuss the specific social policies that might have the best effect.

26. Hal

spot on. but in Bim we need to look at short terms measures or fixes in better policing methods and court procedures and at the same time long term social ills

27. @PLT

You have not said that crime is a communicable disease, but that is core to the theory of crime as public health. About the relevant social policies, let us start with the home circumstances, is there a man in the home; look at the schools and the performance of the pupils, then look at the preparation for the world of work. At every stage there must be remedies for those who are falling behind.
    We must also look at policing, the courts, sentencing policy, incarceration, prison education and industries, rehabilitation and the probation and welfare services.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    So which specific social policies that will have the best effect in reducing the violence? What will they cost? How will we finance them?

29. The Missing Link… Socialism Leads To Violence

Gloria Alvarez reported recently, noting that it wrecks economies. In this video she points out that it also leads to government using force against its own citizens. Regimes that call themselves socialist have killed millions of people. Tens of millions were killed in the USSR. Same in China.

Millions also died in Cambodia and North Korea, which claimed to follow socialist ideals. Alvarez says that socialism, whatever the variant, tends to turn out the same way. Right now, people die in Latin American countries that fell for socialism’s promises. In Cuba, because government restricts private property and trade, Cubans trade on the black market to survive. Sometimes government violently cracks down on them.

Alvarez interviews Ibis Valdes, who says: “my father was a political prisoner [in Cuba] for almost a decade … because in his 20s he sold soaps and perfumes and did not want to relinquish all of his profits to the government.” Michel Ibarra, who escaped Cuba, says: “Socialism is the perfect excuse for someone who wants to rule an authoritarian regime.”

Political violence in the name of socialism also occurred in Nicaragua and Venezuela. Alvarez interviews Ramón Muchacho, a former mayor of a section of Venezuela’s capital city, Caracas. He tells Alvarez that he was pressured by socialist leaders to use his police force to brutally suppress protests against the regime. Because he refused, he was threatened with jail. He fled to America.

“It seems to me we are not able to learn,” Ramón Muchacho tells Alvarez. “[Politicians] will always be dreaming about the future and never delivering. People keep falling in love with that kind of crap.” Alvarez hopes that some will learn. Gustavo Tefel, who fled violence in Nicaragua tells her that he did. “I don’t think [people] realize how deep socialism is involved in all [the violence]…

30. @PLT

Funding through the public purse and the polices are the ones outlined above.

31. More poverty equals more crime

keepitupmiaapromiseisacomforttoafool

32. We are talking about “addressing the problem of crime in Barbados” and convincing arguments have been made for addressing it at the root, but no one is mentioning the elephant in the room. The truth is that we are not really talking about crime in Barbados, because in our country some people can commit crimes with impunity while others receive harsh punishment for doing the same. As long as this blatant system of injustice continues and Bajans openly tell you that prison in Barbados is for Black people, we can put forward all the ideas we want to solve the problem but we will make no headway. By the way, does anybody know if Walter Prescod is out on bail yet, 8 months after he was arrested, all the while Charles Herbert and Chris Rogers walking bout?

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Are you not being facile? We know that there is no more money in the public purse without raising taxes.

The current Minister of Youth Adrian Forde has recently launched his Building Blocks programme which seeks to teach adults on the blocks ages 18 to 40 to start their own businesses. Is this going in the right direction? Do you think it stands a chance of success?
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/19/forde-blocks-to-become-entrepreneurial-centres/

34. @PLH
    When we have pressing social problems that need resources to solve them and the government was already crying for a lack of funds, why reduce corporation tax to practically nothing?

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

It is widely understood that drug trafficking criminal gangs are the inevitable outcome of drug prohibition. We have known this as an incontrovertible fact ever since gangsters like Al Capone and Bugsy Siegel were created by alcohol prohibition.

Why do we not simply follow the money and end marijuana prohibition tomorrow?

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tee White
    “… why reduce corporation tax to practically nothing?
    You will have to ask this question of someone that agrees with current government policy, not me.

37. Find it amazing that after all the long talk about more policing of the targeted areas for known drug hangouts and crime related incidents that the criminals have all but out smarted the police
    In as much as taken to what most would term or identify as safe areas
    to commit mayhem in the form of murder
    This last murder serves as evidence that the criminal element of this country is fearless ..and tackling crime would require more than policing certain areas but acquiring policies that have goals which ate iron clad in keeping fast forward pace ahead of the criminal mind

38. Can we agree that unconventional intervention is urgently required and that it transcends the usual political exchange offered by many here and elsewhere? Can we agree to this point as a jump off?

39. @ My Dearest SSS

I am still here

De grandson and I finished up something yesterday and we were busy but it is done

Where to start nuh??

First thing first

https://i.imgur.com/BRPuA9k.png

I am reliably informed by others more knowledgeable than I am that what has happened in as I said earlier

(i).The contraction in discretionary spend caused by the badword dat Stiinkliar and Fumbles do to the country has caused a serious problem with the drug consignments being sold out as contracted

(ii).The introduction of additional big ups into the drug market has caused another dynamic which is IN A CONTRACTED MARKET, the real druglords and not meeting targets and are therefore at risk of being taken out.

(iii).BECAUSE OF THE NAMES OF THE PEOPLE WHO ARE INVOLVED the infighting CANNOT TEK OUT DESE high society big people CONSEQUENTLY at the street level you are having the street & territory wars.

That part is sanctioned BUT THE RETRIBUTION KILLING ARE NOT but the big guys CANNOT CONTROL THAT PART and that is why you seek absolute loss in Teets eyes and Griffith’s face when they are talking about these illings

(iv).The Thing about killing a Druglord or their family is that there cannot be any schedule attributed to the ensuing reprisals

By that de ole man means that IT GOING REALLY GET EFFED UP if that happens because AT DAT LEVEL dem haffa show backbone so it is not really reprisal killings but LAW & ORDER among druglords

You have to be extreme to show that you are not to be messed with.

Now, what will that do my dearest SSS?

When that happens it is going to really affect the tourism market.

Because while a po’ black boy from Crab Hill or Deacons getting kill ent no big ting and will sell a few more papers WHEN DE BIG BOYS’ FAMILY GET TEK OUT dat gine viral!!!

But none of this is to be feared really because this IS WHY MUGABE IS A 5 YEAR GOVERNMENT, they cannot solve the crime because well MUGABE heheheheheheheh

Well let a feller say dat de devil ent going punish imps heheheheheheh

40. Many of you posting to this blog and in wider society do little to assist people in need of help and by extension country. We see the violence and react by posting on social media and expressing horror at the state of affairs with friends and family. Then we close our windows and doors and pick up the remote to the TV. The current state the society finds itself is a vivid reflection of its citizens.

41. i understand you do a lot to assist. you should be congratulated for that David

42. @Greene

The comment was not about the BU household. You travel around Barbados and there is the us and them culture gaining traction, there is the divide opening wider and wide. We have to solve our problems as a collective. What message would it send if the political parties see what has happened as a tipping point to call a truce for 12 months of all the political hogwash banter and hammer out an action plan with NGOs to win back the country? We need to protect whistle-blowers. Let us offer rewards/bounties for information that leads to arrests/conviction. Let us do something that works!!!

43. @PLT
    Sometime ago criminologist Yolande Forde gave an estimated cost for keeping people in prison in Barbados. That is where most of the money will come from; better educated people mean more jobs, increased productivity, higher tax revenue, that is where a large part of the money will come from; reduced crime rates mean a reduction in an ever-expanding criminal justice system, that is where some of the money will come from.
    @PLT there is nothing called a free lunch in this town. If we want to control crime we must pay a price. Read Nobel Prize winner Gary Becker on the cost of crime.

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Let us do something that works!!!”
    So perhaps we should start out by discovering what works… are we the only place that has problems with gang violence? No? Then perhaps we should google “which communities have successfully reduced gang violence?” and actually learn from what has been successful elsewhere 😉

45. David, David David.

There is more than one way to skin a cat…

THE FACT IS THAT WHAT PACHAMAMA SAID YESTERDAY ON ANOTHER POST IS ABSOLUTELY TRUE.

He said that ONLY THREE OF THE parliamentarians commenting had anything to say and that the rest could STFU

When one sits and watches this playacting with these inferior superiors one cn continuously come here and post shy$e every single day OR MAKE IT SO!

And by make it so, i mean doing what you always talking about all the time.

Doing it takes time and $$ especially when you self fund a thing.

It is hard but IF YOU ARE A PATRIOT and if one is committed to all the shyte talk that one espouses THEN YOU LEAD BY EXAMPLE especially when you are in the army of a Special Entity

You have to understand that there will always be men and women who have no balls/conviction, that is the docility in the DNA.

What GOD DID WITH THE CORRUPT WAS TO LET THEM WALK IN THE DESERT FOR 40 YEARS, in a circle, till all of them died out.

So too, these concentric circles with the BLP and DLP and these killings MUST PROCEED until that mindset dies out AND A PEOPLE ARISE THAT WANT MORE!!

I genuinely want there to be 50 deaths, not because i delight in that BUY BECAUSE Right now my man, Bajans dont really give a FVUCK!!

Until it becomes a pandemic, and you got to drive bout IN A CARAVAN OF VEHICLES as you traverse barbados, this nonchalence WILL PERSIST cause it is dem RHs from de favellas dat deading

YOU SIGHT???

A man must genuinely want change and not talk it cause it seems like a good thing, then we going seriously sit down and engage to change this morass.

You need to look up Low Crawl and learn how to low crawl when the bullets start around you, you get down lown and crawl on your belly using your hands/elbows and knees in an oaring motion and dodge the bullets

Until then WE WILL REMAIN KEYBOARD WARRIORS or some of us, because others of us are putting their $$ where their mouth is.

46. With the expansion of a welfare state in less than eight months the rate of poverty will increased as welfare would be unable to meet the social demands
    This reality would lead to many seeking alternative solutions to adress their daily livelihoods
    Many would see the drug world a source of accessibility and comfort to meeting their daily needs
    To say that reality is not happening at present and which might have lead to an upward surge in crime who be burying one head in the sand.

47. @Peter

Believe it or not the blogmaster sides with the view that this is a social disease and if we prescribe the right medicine we can stabilize and possibly cure. Our problem is that we continue to ignore the virulent nature of the disease to the host and it whilst doing so it continues to spread to other areas of the body (society). From where we sit the issue is not the action plan per se, it is the collective will of the society to attend the doctor and identity the right medicines. To use a simplistic analogy.

We need more people working in a coordinated way; interdependently to move a break point.

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Thanks for pointing me toward Gary Becker on the cost of crime. I was familiar with his work on racism, which was quite good even though he was a conservative… in fact it alienated him from other conservatives when he pointed out how much racism costs the whole society, not just minorities.

I will read up on his rational choice theory of criminal behavior.

49. @ PLT

The current Minister of Youth Adrian Forde has recently launched his Building Blocks programme which seeks to teach adults on the blocks ages 18 to 40 to start their own businesses. Is this going in the right direction? Do you think it stands a chance of success?(Quote)

I thought the cohort was 18-35, but that is minor. I think it is doing the wrong things for the right reasons. A 40 yr old man is not a youth, he is middle aged.
    As I said earlier, let us start from the cradle, what is taking place in the family home; then school, is the pupil learning as expected; then post-16 training or education; then a job; then opportunities to save and start a family. We must stop those angry, bitter magistrates from destroying young lives by introducing a tough sentencing policy.
    Barbados s too small a nation to waste our youth. Social capital is priceless.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The college boy Adrian Forde is biting off more than he can chew. He is Mottley pet. Should have stuck to Pharmacy

Leave a Reply to Beautiful BeigeCancel reply