There is an inevitability to the predictability.

In 1989 Red Plastic Bag won the Pic O De Crop final with De Country En Well.

The blogmaster posted a blog on May 03, 2007 titled Our Nation Is Crying.

The rise of violent crime in Barbados is responsible for 20 recorded murders at the time of posting this blog [23 March 2019].  It does not surprise the blogmaster and some members of the BU family, we have been warning about the weeds sprouting on what use to be manicured lawns. In response BU was branded a doomsayer blog.

Barbados Underground has posted prolifically about a dysfunctional court system. We heard from the authorities that both parties involved in Thursday’s ‘high noon’ execution were on bail.

Barbados Underground has posted about implementing an efficient transportation system. Almost four decades later we have seen a sub culture take deep root.   The result has been a paralysing sub culture as we are witnessing daily on our highways, byways AND in society at large.

The blogmaster has also written about the need to implement a relevant waste disposal system. Do we know what will happen next?

What we have is a society comfortable in absorbing a way of life from lands across the seas brought closer by how the global village is now constructed. There is the tension between secular and non secular and the vacuum left by a non adherence to traditional values anchored in religious dogma, ease of travel for leisure and study, access to the Internet and television, music are commingling to produce an intoxicating effect on a small open society. It must be said that Barbados is not alone in the fight.

The blogmaster over the years has been a harsh critic of our growing middleclass – satisfied with acquiring paper trophies, the house, car and frequent vacations to Disney – have retreated from a moral obligation to sustain a quality society. There is a good reason education has been allocated significant resources by successive governments. What is the ROI for education since 1966?

There is something wrong about a society consumed with discussing crime on a day OUR elected representatives in Parliament were debating the ‘2019 Budget’ and our leaders of the future were expressing themselves in athletic competition.

It was widely reported that President Duterte of the Philippines condoned the execution of 30 drug dealers by security forces within four days of taking office. He ran a campaign on a promise to execute known criminals and urged his supporters to kill drug traffickers and dump the bodies on the street.

It is evident that organic change is not possible by adopting traditional approaches in Barbados. One of the most depressing aspects to what is occurring today is to listen to our leaders respond with the usual uninspiring words with that deer in headlights look.

If Barbados is to excoriate the crime infection, we must be prepared to amputate  the affected parts. Heavy emphasis on targeting the blocks or certain schools will not be enough. Those perpetrating violent crimes are the victims of a dysfunctional system. How is it possible for the Port Authority to have non functioning scanners for lengthy periods? Members of parliament moaning about the problem because it has struck close to home will not be enough. To the politicians and supporters on all sides: we have countries in the regions to observe how crime feeds on a country polarized by partisan politics.

The blogmaster is not championing Duterte approaches to solving our problems which are most extreme for our culture. However, we should be able to agree that ‘shock’ interventions are required to arrest the decline in our society complemented with longer term strategies. The interventions must be swift and sustained from the leaders in the political and social spaces.

• 24 hour courts (encourage retirees to volunteer)
  • On the spot fines (impound vehicles on the spot)
  • Child Care and other Welfare Services must be empowered to intervene swiftly in troubled households.
  • Random stop and searches (request citizens being searched to record the activity to force transparency, suggestion?)
  • Legislate car pooling hours between 6AM to 8AM and 4PM to 6PM – minimum loads), legislate taxi rates in the time periods
  • Minister of Education Bradshaw, we need to discuss and implement the reforms promised to how we educate our people as a matter of priority.
  • add to the suggestions, non linear only!

Of course Barbadians will protest, it is what we do. However if we want real change to occur, different approaches are now required.

There is an inevitability to the predictability.

137 responses to “Crime Pall Hovers”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron March 24, 2019 6:04 AM “The fact is that selling drugs is the only way to get rich quickly in Barbados.”

Can you explain to me why getting rich quickly is important or desirable?

Do people who get rich quickly live longer, happier or healthier lives?

The life expectancy of a low level Bajan drug dealer is about 30 years.

And the life expectancy of the high level drug dealer is less than that of a working class black Bajan woman. The high level drug dealers use their money to buy big rides so that they do not have to walk anywhere, to consume more alcohol and cocaine, to eat too much meat, so that they are lucky to make it to 80, even after they have paid American doctors hefty fees for their quadruple heart bypasses.

Black working class women in Barbados enjoy the healthiest, longest lives.

So what is the point?

Anybody ever see a white upper class Bajan man make it to 100? By the time they are 70 something they are drooling and a black working class woman is changing their diapers, and spoon feeding them.

Why is this?

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Anybody ever see a white upper class Bajan man make it to 100? By the time they are 70 something they are drooling and a black working class woman is changing their diapers, and spoon feeding them.

Why is this?”

Because KARMA loves a good laugh…lol

3. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“I am glad that you have the stamina to continue to throw these issues into the lobby. The apologists will soon start swarming and attacking.”

Let them come..,am locked and cocked….they are much safer facing international agencies….as they will all come to learn.

4. The problem in Bim is that obviously very senior people in Bajan society are in charge of the drug trade, permit guns to enter the island and are only interested in benefiting financially. Bim is far too small for any major negative activity to take place without a properly trained police service being aware.

5. PLT, why do U think I placed “military service” in parentheses? My emphasis is on teaching Discipline and Education not tons of marching and certainly no shooting. I certainly agree with social service.

6. Sir SS, Canada needs “military service” too. Far too many lazyAss white people here who need a jolt of reality before China and India become their masters.

7. @ Money Brain March 24, 2019 9:18 AM

Finally someone who speaks the truth.

Now everyone is about to attack you, the other members of the establishment, accusing you of being unpatriotic, racist, disrespecting the culture of the locals and the like. They’re used to sticking their heads in the sand. If you live on an island for too long, your view will become very narrow and your perception a little clouded. I hold it there with Plato and his cave parable.

I refer here only to the local so-called economists, who seriously recommended a loan from China or Arabia for the solution of all local problems.

8. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Far too many lazyAss white people here who need a jolt of reality before China and India become their masters.”

So how is that a bad thing.,..given that they are working very hard to put themselves in that position.

9. PIECE UNDER WROTE ……………

”@ Pachamama
    I noted that you said “…Wow, no revenue and expenditure number(S). Without these the nation’s 6 hours on Wednesday were wasted…”
    Fractured BLP echoed a similar strain of thought.
    Please simplify this procedural matter for an ole ingrunt man like me and the sheeple reading this statement
    What does this mean?
    Has Mugabe not delivered a Budget without there being numbers?
    Me fears that this two liner is lost on many bajans so i’d love you to clarify it please”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++===

For our purposes, there are basically two types of information included in a set of ‘financial statements and budgetary proposals’ as the PM was alleged to be presenting – qualitative and quantitative.

We all know what the quantitative information was – numbers.

However, with the qualitative information is where the PM and her supporters are seeking to plough new ground by contending, essentially, that its nature makes it not reducible to numbers.

And these figures would be needed to go with the other numbers we already have to complete the package of the ‘financial statement and budgetary proposals’

At the centre what the PM and her supporters neglect to tell us is that all QUALITATIVE information MUST always be reduced to QUANTITATIVE information – numbers!

So PIECE, in the simpliest terms this is a Fruendian lie being perpetrated on the people by Mugabe and her acolytes.

A lie which unfairly benefits the PM by pretending to give the country a budget without coming clean. Then next year, with 20/20 vision, she could then benefit from risk-free certainties of the past year.

It now falls to ‘The Miller’ and others to convince this PM to avoid going down this as path blazed by FJS.

‘The revolutionaries wait for a head on a silver plate’ (sic)

10. Looka muh crosses! Long time since I agreed with Moneybrain. PLT’s suggestions are spot on as usual except for the two things SS pointed out.

But Simple Simon, I think we women are getting more violent. Check out the school girls. That is something we need to work on..

Waru, thanks for the news. Where ya get dat from????????

11. And I forgot to mention that Hal Austin seems quite knowledgeable on this topic. He should expound further.

12. Money Brain March 24, 2019 9:18 AM

The problem in Bim is that obviously very senior people in Bajan society are in charge of the drug trade, permit guns to enter the island and are only interested in benefiting financially. Bim is far too small for any major negative activity to take place without a properly trained police service being aware.

13. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Donna…listen carefully..

Wuhloss…ah hard pressed to title this one….ah need help….where are u Enuff in LaLa Land.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/996238037252402/?t=0

14. @ Tee White

This hurriedly done item is credited to you and a comment you made earlier on this blog

I have sent the “letter version to the Honourable Blogmasted and he may publish it at his discretion for consumption.(David BU has a schedule for publishing these articles and I always defer to him in his wisdom on these matters (plus it is his blog)

The fact is that the people who are to make the decisions about this issue ARE SHEEPLE led by inferior superiors and until individuals accept this and come to the understanding that THEY ALL MUST BE REPLACED, this cycle will repeat itself

https://youtu.be/R4AJ20pUOvE

15. @ Pachamama the sojourner

Thank you for the explanation of the subtlety

But then again this sleight of hand is consistent with Mugabe’s modus operandi to talk bare shyte while speaking without a piece of paper, pretending profound knowledge, remember the Covenant of Hope dog poop and then end up SCREWING PEOPLE

Of course she is swift to accord rights and privileges to her family and friends in broad daylight AND UNDER COVER OF the MYMONEY scam

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Since Tron was suggesting that “drug trafficking is the only way to get rich quick” as though getting rich quick is a desirable activity, perhaps he and his diplomatic friends can explain why white men in the United States, the “most successful” group in that society have the highest suicide rate, while black women, the “least successful” group in that society have the lowest.

Perhaps he can also explain what one does with one’s life after one has “become rich quick.”

Perhaps he can advise the local drug traffickers that their money is unlikely to make them happy or healthy, or add to their longevity. Perhaps it will take some of the charm out of drug trafficking, and the lust for “getting rich quick.”

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

“black females, has and has always had the lowest rates of suicide (Centers for Disease Control 2012). The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Prevention Data and Statistics Fatal Injury Report revealed that in 2015, white males had the highest suicide rate at 24.6 per 100,000 (30,658 deaths), followed by black males with a rate of 9.4 per 100,000 (2,023 deaths), then by white females with a rate of 7.2 per 100,000 (9,138 deaths), and finally black females, who had the lowest suicide rate of 2.1 per 100,000 (481 deaths).1 Attempt survivors by race reveal a similar pattern.”

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I’ve Got My Family and My Faith: Black Women and the Suicide Paradox
    http://www.asanet.org/sites/default/files/attach/journals/dec17socuisfeature.pdf

Abstract
    Although existing suicide literature proposes black women’s strong religious ties and social networks protect them against suicide, few studies offer black women’s perceptions. The present study examines the factors black women perceive of as protective against suicide by conducting in-depth semi-structured interviews with 33 U.S.-born black women. Results support current suicide literature on the role of social networks and religion in black women’s lives. The results also identify two important factors researchers continue to overlook. These include: (1) Black women’s encounters with longstanding oppression appear to have aided them in developing a strong sense of resiliency that has thereby resulted in a keen sense of survival individually and culturally despite the challenges they face, and (2) black women are highly regarded within their support systems, so their levels of responsibility and commitment to others often results in the dismissal of suicide as an option.

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I bet that neither Tron nor most of the boys of BU are familiar with this data.

Finally, once one has gotten rich quick…

What then?

20. That’s what i always ask, Simple What then? But Tron says the things that sweeten our lives, or the Bajan men’s lives at least, are are drugs, brothel sex, cigars, rum and gambling. I guess they will do more of that after they get rich quick.

If that’s what they are all about it’s no wonder we are in this state.

PS. I would never kill myself as long as my son is alive on this earth. I want to stick around and be there for him for as long as I can. I am happy as long as he is happy. So you are probably right about the suicide thing.

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance here please with an item thank you

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

“…It is evident that organic change is not possible by adopting traditional approaches in Barbados. One of the most depressing aspects to what is occurring today is to listen to our leaders respond with the usual uninspiring words with that deer in headlights look…”

De ole man is writing a series of short stories on life.

I been writing them for years now and have never finished one.

And consequently published none.

One of these studies is called “White Space”

In it de ole man claims that there is a relationship between the amount of white above your pupil and your top eyelashes!!!

I call it the Deer Idiocy Quotient or the DIQ

And in my short story I often remark as to how much of a DIQY pronounced dickey he or she is.

I need to check on this with my fellow myope Dr. GP as it relates to the workings of the thyroid gland but…

I want you to take a look at the DIQ Dale Marshall when he is talking about crime and see if de ole man is onto something as it relates to that idiotic look you mentioned in your submission above and my remarks that Teets is clearly a DIQ!!!

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ SIR SIMPLE SIMON

Among your usual ramblings about yourself at times one comes across some gems

How regularly is a matter for statistical analysis and that is above my pay grade but here is your gem for today…

“…so that they are lucky to make it to 80, even after they have paid American doctors hefty fees for their quadruple heart bypasses…”

I find it quite interesting that you, a woman who is just a denizen in the middle income group of our country, could definitively know WHO A REAL BAJAN DRUG CZAR IS, but the Royal Baygon Police Force has no clue about this man nor any other one of these men!

Now de ole man is quite willing to retract me many comments about the Royal Baygon Police Force if they prove to be incorrect but the way things aligning with the Herbert Case it would appear that a next DIQ is at the helm of the police and dem ent know de drug lords like you obviously do

Maybe, given that you are a “Sir” maybe you should give them your false DIQ and your “balls” so the not only get to know who the drug czars are, but go and arrest them

What do you think? Given that this question is about you, you are free to respond anytime.

24. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the new Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with two other items in suspense

Thank you

25. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

You found one but you missed this one

“…It is evident that organic change is not possible by adopting traditional approaches in Barbados. One of the most depressing aspects to what is occurring today is to listen to our leaders respond with the usual uninspiring words with that deer in headlights look…”

De ole man is writing a series of short stories on life.

I been writing them for years now and have never finished one.

And consequently published none.

One of these studies is called “White Space”

In it de ole man claims that there is a relationship between the amount of white above your pupil and your top eyelashes!!!

I call it the Deer Idiocy Quotient or the DIQ

And in my short story I often remark as to how much of a DIQY pronounced dickey he or she is.

I need to check on this with my fellow myope Dr. GP as it relates to the workings of the thyroid gland but…

I want you to take a look at the DIQ Dale Marshall when he is talking about crime and see if de ole man is onto something as it relates to that idiotic look you mentioned in your submission above and my remarks that Teets is clearly a DIQ!!!

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right March 25, 2019 8:45 AM “SIR SIMPLE SIMON. I find it quite interesting that you, a woman who is just a denizen in the middle income group of our country, could definitively know WHO A REAL BAJAN DRUG CZAR IS.”

Please do not mistake me for a genius.

I am but a simleton.

but i do have a fair understanding of human behaviour.

I know that once human beings have more money than needed to meet their most basic needs they tend to start indulging in too much “rich” food/fast food [why do you think that so many of our political class, all parties are so whopsi?] and too much drink, too much smoking, too much drugs both legal and illegal [wasn’t it rumored that decades ago one of our most senior officials died of a drug overdose?] too much commercial sex, Tron will know about commercial sex [haven’t at least 2 of our parliamentarians died of AIDS]. Why do you think that their is an “opioid crisis” and a “suicide crisis” in the United States. people have too much money and too much time on their hands. Remind me again why Donville is “visiting” the United States of America?

Once people have too much they behave worse than hogs, because hogs stop eating once their belly is full. But there is no stopping human over indulgence.

So the sick hearts, and sick dogies etc. follow as sure as night follows day.

Why you think that my daddy didn’t use to drink or smoke? (whisper: ‘e couldn’t afford those habits) Why did he live to be nearly a hundred?

But please do not mistake me for a genius.

27. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

Trinidad population……1.374 million…….110 murders
    Barbados population…….287,000………….20 murders

28. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Moneybrain
    The problem in Bim is that obviously very senior people in Bajan society are in charge of the drug trade, permit guns to enter the island and are only interested in benefiting financially. Bim is far too small for any major negative activity to take place without a properly trained police service being aware.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Never a more accurate Statement on Barbados Underground.

The Police are in it with the major crime boys along with quite a number of Politicians on both sides having sold their souls to the Devils.

I will give you real life experiences, I had 5 burglaries at Business locations across the island and had to make reports at 5 separate Police Stations.

One Detective at Black Rock Police Station asked me to give him $1000 for him and his boys after I helped them to solved the burglary. The Station Sergeant his boss asked me separately and privately for a gift.

At the other four stations again with different police officers these ones in uniform I was asked for money and in one case at the Glebe Police Station a taser gun and pepper spray after reporting a check fraud incident.

So not casting aspersions I can safely say that the boys who are paid to protect and serve are a major part of the problem on the island.

29. ” In addition, it will help in the review the matters of 300 police officers who are on suspension, alongside the Professional Standards Bureau, to have these officers either returned to work or sent home based on the outcomes of their outstanding matters.”

“The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) says is seeking to contract a team of prosecutors from the United Kingdom specialising in fraud and fraud-related matters”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239061/trinidad-police-seeking-uk-assistance-probe-fraud-matters

30. “SECURITY IS NOW tight at Barbados’ most visited polyclinic, after it reopened to the public yesterday following a one-week shutdown.”

” Patients and visitors are now being scanned by security officials using hand-held metal detectors.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239066/tight-security-polyclinic

31. ” Hakeem Roberto Stuart, 21, and former calypso monarch Aziza Tsgaye Kebret Clarke, 23, have been charged in connection with the Sheraton Mall shooting death of Damian Trotman.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239099/murder-accused-calypsonian-appear-court

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

So, so, sad. One young man dead, and two young people facing serious life changing charges. i don’t know what to say to the young men, but we need to say to the young women, :it is ok to say “no” to your husband, boyfriend, or male companion.

The first time that he asks you to do anything which makes you feel uncomfortable? “No” is the right answer.

Don’t ever find yourself in the position where the police can charge you with transporting or hiding a bad boy. If he is as much bad boy, as much man as he is supposed to be, he should not be hiding in your car or under your bed.

let him face the consequences of his actions.

33. Sad she end up at Dodds.

34. Barbados Defence Force soldiers and Task Force police are currently patrolling the courtyard as the man charged in connection with the murder in Sheraton Mall is expected to make a court appearance this morning.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239107/tight-security-court

35. That is a beautiful kaiso voice. What a waste!

36. Superwomen ? duh mussee got wings. lol

“POLICE ARE SEEKING the public’s help in finding two girls who scaled a ten-foot, barbed wire fence and escaped from the Government Industrial School for girls at Barrows, St Lucy.

37. What ever happened to the woman who claimed she was kidnapped and taken to an ATM and forced to withdraw money? Whatever happened to the police officer who shot his neighbour, was remanded in prison, and released on bail by attorney general Brathwaite? Why are the wheels of justice turning so slowly?