Submitted by a concerned party

Just over, two weeks ago LIAT came to its staff seeking a 10% wage reduction to bridge a gap in funding left by Barbados not meeting its funding obligation to the restructuring program.

The unions and staff present laid out several cost cutting and revenue generating programs that the company could use to fill the gap. Many of these recommendations were not new and in fact had been laid out in a CDB report handed to the company since February 2018. To date despite being in a self declared state of emergency the company has implemented none of these measures.

The position of the staff expressed at that meeting and reiterated since is that they do not have any confidence in the present management to manage any recovery and any sacrifices made would be squandered by the same people that put the company in this position in the first place.

The staff collectively made their position known that if there was a replacement of the management team, they would be willing to entertain giving concessions.

This sentiment has been echoed not just by the staff but by the several governments who have indicated publicly and behind the scenes that they would be willing to contribute to the airline if the current management were replaced.

Thus far, the politicians of Antigua and St. Vincent specifically seem inclined to protect the political hacks that they put in place that cow tow to their every demand and that ran the airline into the ground instead of saving what is arguably the only tangible provider of regional connectivity.

Yesterday, after having consulted with its members the Pilots union sent the attached correspondence to the CEO and to the head of the LIAT shareholder governments the Hon. Dr. Ralph Gonsalves.

The Caribbean Development Bank was, in its report of 2018, pellucidly clear as to the devastating effect that a LIAT shutdown would have not just on the tax income of the region and its airports but its wider economies. In the case of Barbados for example, airport user fees on LIAT tickets account for 15% of the airports TOTAL revenue and the situation is worse in many other islands.

Aside from the measurable economic impact, such a shut down would precipitate an unprecedented technical brain drain across the entire region. Pilots, highly trained engineers & mechanics will all scatter and likely not return.

Given that the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority and to some extend the Barbados Department of Civil Aviation has always been staffed traditionally by ex LIAT employees (be it pilot or engineer) and its ability to show it is performing compliance inspections and audits is almost entirely tied to its oversight of LIAT, even the future ability of the governments to regulate Aviation in the region is at stake. At a minimum, the OECS’s CAT1 status would be at risk going forward.

The fate of regional air travel is now in the hands of the shareholder governments and they have a choice to make. Should they choose to protect a failed management and demand that staff subsidize incompetence then this will undoubtedly trigger a shut down. Should that occur, they will be forever known as the ones that finally killed LIAT, marring their own legacies as LIAT’s tombstone will forever read;

Here lies LIAT
Facilitator of regional travel
Transporter of generations of West Indians
First on Island in time of natural disaster
Safety Record envied by all
Founded by one man with a vision
Killed by Mia, Ralph and Gaston

98 responses to “LIAT Staff Expresses Lack of Confidence in Executive Management”

1. @ Sir Fuzzy,

The ferry between Grenada and Carriacou is controlled by Filipinos. Further, at the formation of the Federation the British gave them three ships to facilitate inter-island trading. What happened to those? How about the schooners that traded between the islands? What abut the 15 shrimp fishing trawlers we had at independence? Are we going backwards?

2. PUDRYR

Yes, I agree a ferry service is an excellent idea.

But……. is your definition of this excellent idea based on the fact that ferries travel between St. Kitts and Nevis; Antigua and Montserrat; Dominica, Guadeloupe and Martinique; St. Lucia and Martinique; St. Maarten to Saba, St. Eustatius and Anguilla or St. Vincent and Bequia?

Note, these islands are in “close proximity” to each other. For example, the distance from St. Lucia to Martinique is 36 nautical miles; St. Kitts to Nevis is 11nmi; Dominica to Guadeloupe is 46nmi and Antigua to Montserrat is 32.62nmi.

From Barbados to Antigua is 273.06nmi; Guadeloupe = 212.11nmi; Dominica = 167.28nmi; Martinique = 123.28nmi. Even if we converted nmi to miles or km, what would you say is the viability/feasibility of operating a ferry service between Barbados and these islands? What do you believe would be the ROI?

3. I wonder how much the insurance cost would (be) to run a ferry

4. All i understand that the economic problems of these small islands nations does not bodes well for govt to be throwing money into an airline which does not show a profitable margin
    An airline that is always in the Red
    An airline whose management is always being retooled or reinvented with no end in sight
    An airline by all accounts is draining the living daylights out of taxpayers pockets
    If u David can not understand the pitfall of beating a dead 🐎 then u are living in a land where reality defies logic

5. “All i understand that the economic problems of these small islands nations does not bodes well for govt to be throwing money into an airline which does not show a profitable margin….”

I understand your point. However, let’s look at LIAT similarly to how you would view the Transport Board.

Judging from your contributions, especially those posted prior to the 2013 general elections and recently, you are against the privatization of the Transport Board and an increase in bus fare.

Do you agree it “bodes well for govt to be throwing money into TB which does not show a profitable margin,”

……….”A (TB) that is always in the Red….”

……….”A (TB) by all accounts is draining the living daylights out of taxpayers pockets.”

Should we be more concerned with the social or economical benefits to be derived from LIAT?
    Would you agree if this BLP administration decides to sell it’s shares in LIAT and cease subsidizing the airline?

6. The same dam policies that have kept Liat in economic stagnation are those which are being repeated by different formulas a tweak here or there as the bottom line becomes uncontrollable and a bunch of shareholdergovts keep eyes wide shut to the reality that beating a dead horse over and over does not make it come alive

7. @ Artaxeres the Archiver.

Your skills extend beyond those records, and the accounting books, to the practical issues of this travel connundrum.

I can get on a JetBlue Flight to most anywhere here in the continental US for about US$46.

Why is that? their planes cost more to maintain dont they? than a LIAT airplane?

So one subsidizes the Liat aircraft to permit one person to embark on an aircraft right?

The ferry concept IS NOT SOLELY FOR PASSENGERS and anticipates the transport of cars and vessels, FOR WHICH A DIFFERENT FEE CAN AND WILL BE LEVIED.

The ecosystem anticipates people and vehicles and commensurately A HIGHER PREMIUM TO BE LEVIED on the ferry travelling public.

I could provide the numbers but de BLP pun de blog waiting for all de computations and ting and I ent fattening cockroach for fowl heheheheh doah dem dun got ***

8. How many in this forum remember the “leaked document” which detailed proposed plans for Barbados to divest its majority share in LIAT and to take several of the new ATR aircrafts from its fleet to form a new airline named “Newco” to compete with LIAT?

According to the proposal, Barbados would have acquired the aircrafts through a reassignment of title by the Caribbean Development Bank, which funded the purchase of the new fleet, or a shareholder decision.

As was expected Antigua’s PM Gaston Browne was furious, calling the proposal a “treasonous act.” He was also reported to have said Barbados was “literally seeking to collapse LIAT,” and that any such moves would run “contrary to the spirit of Caribbean integration.”

“We buy flour from St Vincent, we buy juices from Barbados, vegetables from Dominica and all I am saying to them, leave us with LIAT,” Browne said. “We have every right to defend what’s in the best interest of Antigua and Barbuda.”

“Browne also took a swipe at other shareholder governments, telling a local radio station that there needed to be a change even at the level of LIAT’s political directorate. “I don’t see why one Prime Minister should control the chairmanship of LIAT, it should be rotated”, the Prime Minister said.”

“Even in terms of the share holding positions of the various governments, I believe the shares of Barbados should be DILUTED because they believe that because they have the majority shares, that everything must move to Barbados.”

This was the type of rhetoric that came from Gaston Browne who seems to believe LIAT belongs to Antigua. And against this background, we would want to discuss the benefits of regional integration, when it’s clear Caribbean governments will ultimately act in their individual self interest.

9. “The ferry concept IS NOT SOLELY FOR PASSENGERS and anticipates the transport of cars and vessels, FOR WHICH A DIFFERENT FEE CAN AND WILL BE LEVIED.”

PUDRYR

I have travelled on the ferry from St. Vincent to Bequia and the ferry that sails between St. Kitts and Nevis. I noticed that, going to Bequia, for example, Vincentians can take their cars on the ferry to drive around the island until they are ready to return to the mainland.

By mentioning “the transport of cars,” is this the type of arrangement you’re referring to?

Or do you mean, for example, Simpson Motors exporting vehicles to St. Lucia?

10. Is there a demand for a ferry service to the Northern Caribbean that will take one to two days to arrive at the destination?

Are governments receptive to harmonizing legislation to support sea travel given the different their public utterances?

11. “Is there a demand for a ferry service to the Northern Caribbean that will take one to two days to arrive at the destination?” is a valid question that needs to be considered.

I can understand a ferry service being essential for St. Vincent & the Grenadines; Grenada & the Grenadines; St. Kitts & Nevis; Trinidad & Tobago and Antigua & Montserrat. The ferry service between Antigua and Montserrat is subsidized by government.

However, I am trying to contemplate the viability of operating a ferry between Barbados and Antigua, for example.

Around 1994, there was a ship named the “Windward Lines” that provided a weekly passenger/cargo service from Barbados to St. Lucia and a bi-weekly service to St. Vincent.

It was extremely popular because a passenger could have departed Barbados at 11pm Friday night to arrive in St. Lucia on Saturday morning at 7am, spend the day and leave Sunday evening around 6pm to return to Barbados at 6am on Monday morning……. for a minimum fare of $120, if you sat on the deck. A cabin fare was $194.

I remember reading the ship’s owners were planning on purchasing a bigger ship. Unfortunately, service ended abruptly.

12. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Artax March 23, 2019 10:58 AM

I believe the ferry service if well devised will not only carry human but some level of cargo. There needs to be an evaluation of the whole thing. Transport by sea is happening all now between the islands; just ask the BPI they see many toone of cargo been on and off loaded weekly.

Also the the island hopping nature of LIAT may need to be reproduced in the ferry service and not offer a direct to island service if it cannot be feasible or viable.

The cost of air travel between the islands some say is an impediment for intra regional travel(holiday travel). Its cheaper to go FLL or MIA than visit Tobago etc. If the market research is done and only a few sea ports are deemed viable then only serve those ; u may be surprised how creative West Indians become if they know that they can save some travel cost to visit another island but need to hop over to Island first in order to get the ferry service.

13. The elephant in the room is why would shareholder governments enable the market for a ferry to operate profitably if they are committed to LIAT? There would be cannibalization. Do not see this as pouring water on the feasibility of the idea.

14. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ David March 24, 2019 2:28 PM

You have a point. But are we not all under the fog that the Govts of caricom want inter island travel. They are two ways to do that; sea or air or by sea and air. If we the dumb stupid lot can see that it maybe a better outcome to pursue sea and air transport as the option; then maybe we need to fire the whole lot that running LIAt and replace them with wooden spoons.

In 2017 the BDF proved without a shadow of doubt that removing or sending persons to Dominica after the hurricane by sea was a better way of getting aid to our fellow caricom brother/sister than via the air. Sea ports in the Caribbean are normally located near the city and are usually nearer the larger or largest population centre if aid needed to be sent. A Caricom ferry service will help out our sister caricom islands but we first need the capacity to help. A Liat aircraft can only deliver a certain amount if the airport is functional. Seaport are seldom put out of order by hurricanes and if so the ferry can still off load with the help of barges/smaller vessels etc.

We battle over sea and air; but air is already there so sea is not considered. We have a lot invested in LIAT but it may not be the best option as demographics and the cost of travelling have change over the decades. In the 1970s it was the TNT carnival that rode head and shoulders above the other islands national festivals. today in 2019 even Guyana has a national festival and they are actively promoting it. We as East Caribbean ppls have more options and reasons to see the other islands/nation; and to get there should not be hijacked by the old thinking that formed LIAT. Mind you before LIAT how did we get around? In historical sense LIAT is the new kid on the block but should not be the only kid on the block.

Just thinking and being prepared for whatever comes or way…

15. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ David March 24, 2019 2:28 PM

I or maybe we are often lead to believe that we elect leader to make hard decisions After all that is part of being a leader. You/we may have a vested interest in LiAT. The St Kitts govt and T’dad govt made tough decisions to end their involvement in the respective sugar industries. Today Sk Kitts does not produce sugar nor does Trinidad. Tdad Govt. is still on track to close the oil refinery. That is a big decision with nuff nuff recuperations.

LIAT may have reached the point where we take tuff decisions. Maybe just maybe the transport in the region can no longer be seen as an “airlift” question. Maybe just maybe the transport in region or sub-region has to be seen as a air lift and sea lift question.

Just saying.

16. @sirFuzzy

You have made a good case for a thorough analysis to be done about the best way to move passengers/cargo in the common market/Caribbean in normal and abnormal circumstances. The challenge we have to mount and overcome will require support from governments. A test case we can study is the Rise and Fall of Redjet. What the Redjet project would have told us is that we have a Caribbean which aspires to one common space but in reality that space is carved up into many sectors.

17. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@david

(quote) When construction crews begin digging a new canal this month across Nicaragua, connecting the Pacific and Atlantic, it’ll be a boon to global shipping and, the government says, to the economy of the second-poorest nation in the Americas. But activists, scientists and others are increasingly alarmed by the environmental impact of a 173-mile artificial waterway—wider, deeper and three and a half times the length of the Panama Canal.
    Read more: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/new-canal-through-central-america-could-have-devastating-consequences-180953394/#Vv5iI7QJTWsjx56p.99
    Give the gift of Smithsonian magazine for only $12! http://bit.ly/1cGUiGv
    Follow us: @SmithsonianMag on Twitter (quote)

Answer me this question. Why would China leave her back yard 1000s of kms away to start construction on a second canal linking the Atlantic and the Pacific oceans this time via/thur a different Central American nation; given the fact that the Panama Canal was recently upgraded this decade? If sea travel was not important to China. However sea travel is not important to a bunch of islands in the Caribbean sea?

Go figure, and if you figure it out pls post your results. 🙂

18. @sirFuzzy

Good question, one for the bright boys on the blog to answer.

19. LIAT pilots have agreed to a salary cut to keep the airline in the air. From all reports they seemed to have bought into Mia Mottley’s promise that LIAT will not be business as usual. Congrats to her, she has where her predecessors of late have not been able to.

LIAT pilots agree to salary cuts

CMC,

Added 29 March 2019

BRIDGETOWN,– Pilots employed with the cash-strap regional airline, LIAT, Friday confirmed that they had agreed to a less than 10 per cent salary cut in a bid to keep the airline in the air.
    Related articles

Some LIAT flights moving
    LIAT pilots say no
    Sickout losses high

President of the Leeward Islands Airline Pilots Association (LIAPA), Carl Burke, told the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC) that while he was not at liberty to disclose the exact amount the pilots had agreed to, pending the Prime Minister Mia Mottley of Barbados receiving the necessary communication, he was nonetheless indicating that it was not the 10 per cent that had been requested,

He said during a meeting with LIAT a request had been made for the 10 per cent pay cut across the board and that the pilots “wrote to them and said we did not have the confidence in LIAT’s management to take us out (of this)… and we were very cautious about making an investment in the company at this time.

“We met with the shareholders on Tuesday and Prime Minister Mottley did give a guarantee at the shareholder level that she would ensure that there was accountability ad it would not be business as usual”.

He said that pilots on Thursday night “actually voted” on the salary cut and which has since been communicated to Prime Minister Mottley.

“At the moment I have to make sure that she has received our communication before I could give you that information.…(but) it is less than 10 per cent, it is not 10 per cent,” Blake told CMC.

20. So sad that at every drop of a hat employees are asked to pay the price for bad management and govt policies
    So 😢

21. David BU

Do you have any information on what is the current situation with LIAT?

Is it true Gonsalves hinted LIAT could drop the Trinidad & Tobago routes unless funding is forthcoming?

I noticed St. Lucia’s PM Allen Chastanet, who has been adamant about not investing in LIAT, has apparently changed his view, now he realizes the demise of the airline is a reality.

After finally admitting St. Lucia is in need of air access, he “has not entirely dismissed a suggestion that Caribbean countries consider minimum revenue guarantees (MRGs) for non-profitable routes flown by Caribbean airline LIAT, however, he noted that a lot more detail about that suggestion would have to be provided before making a final decision.”

It is true there is an urgent need to restructure LIAT’s operations, but the non-contributing territories needed a “wake-up call” that they cannot continue not contributing to the airline and reap economic benefits off the backs of the shareholder islands’ taxpayers.

22. David BU

I just read LIAT’s “pilots employed with the cash-strap regional airline, LIAT, Friday confirmed that they had agreed to a less than 10 per cent salary cut in a bid to keep the airline in the air.”

23. How long can this go on

Caribbean airline LIAT is in urgent need of a cash injection of at least US $5 million to remain in operation.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley made the revelation at a media conference at the Piarco International Airport on his return from the 30th Caricom meeting in St Kitts and Nevis on Thursday.

While Trinidad and Tobago is not heavily dependent on the inter-Caribbean airline for transportation, Prime Minister Rowley said other territories like Barbados, Dominica, Antigua and St Vincent “virtually at the mercy of a LIAT service” will be seriously impacted.

T&T once a major shareholder in LIAT, owns a one percent share in the airline but will not be financially impacted if the airline fails.

While the Prime Minister acknowledged that he was not aware of the full extent of the impact LIAT going out of service would have in Trinidad and Tobago, he said the country may have to enter into an agreement.

Rowley noted that the situation was more dire for the airline’s shareholders who would need to act urgently to ensure that LIAT does not go belly-up. Adding to LIAT’s financial troubles, the airline owes the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) significant sums of money which the shareholders now are required to address.

Further, LIAT is currently flying uneconomic routes that are heavily subsidised.

“And if the airline is to remain flying to countries that have routes like that, the shareholders are saying that such countries will have to guarantee a minimum revenue stream to the airline or the airline would cease to fly on those routes.”

Identifying another cost centre for the airline in the form of aircraft maintenance, Rowley said he has agreed to allow LIAT to speak with Caribbean Airlines (CAL) to discuss the possibility of cooperation between the airlines from a business operations standpoint.

He said the collaboration could relieve LIAT from some of their external expenses and having those work done locally.

“If so, then we in Trinidad and Tobago can get the benefit of providing that service toward the area of aircraft maintenance,” he said.

LIAT
    FINANCIAL TROUBLES
    UNECONOMIC ROUTES
    CASH INJECTION

24. @Artax

There are stories circulating in Trinidad media to the effect Caribbean Airlines will pick up the slack if LIAT fails. Bear in mind the issue of fuel subsidy does not factor and the cost of the ticket to the consumer will possibly come in to play.

25. Well some body ought to pick up the slack
    A managment policy of exorbitant airfares and ongoing subsidies at taxpayers expenses added to the now planned intervention of wage cuts can only go so far in saving this airline from doomed failure
    This airline has taken many economic nose dives in the past and have heavily relied on tax payers funding for take over
    Going by recent events and the ongoing problems at Liat it is all but a foregone conclusions not a matter of if but when would shareholder govts retire this airline

26. David BU

I’m sure you’re aware that, other than Barbados, Caribbean Airlines travels to Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, Tortola and recently St. Vincent, which now has an international airport…….. all routes that are serviced by LIAT.

However, CA’s airfares are much more “expensive” than LIAT’s. Perhaps one reason for this is because LIAT’s fares are subsidized and CA flights travelling to the islands I mentioned above, have to “stop over” in Trinidad first, before continuing to the intended destination.

Let me give you an example. The cheapest Caribbean Airlines airfare to Grenada from April 1 to 8, 2019, is US$463.48 or BD$929.96. Please note that flight, BW458, departs BGI, April 1 at 6AM and arrives in POS at 6:55AM. Passengers are transferred to an ATR 72, which departs POS at 7:50AM to arrive at GND’s Maurice Bishop International Airport at 8:30AM.

On April 8, passenger will leave GND on Caribbean Airlines (BW 448) Aerospatiale/Alenia ATR 72 at 5:45AM and arrive BGI 6:45AM.

Or using the same dates for Antigua. The cheapest airfare is US$506.45 or BDS$1,012.90. But you can get a fare of US$946.50/BD$1,893.00.

And the flight leaves BGI at 6:00AM, arrives POS at 6:55AM; then leaves POS at 7:50AM to arrive ANU at 9:10AM. (3 hours, 10 minutes, 1 stop).

Returning to BGI, the flight leaves ANU at 6:25AM, arrives POS 7:25AM; leaves POS at 8:50AM to arrive BGI at 9:45AM. (3 hours, 20 minutes, 1 stop).

27. David BU

Check out this Caribbean Airways flight to St. Vincent from April 2 to 10, 2019.

The cheapest quoted total airfare is BD$818.40, of which the airfare is $480.00, while “taxes, fees, charges and carrier-imposed fees” are $338.40.

What is interesting is, the flight departs BGI on Tuesday, April 2 at 9:35AM and arrives in POS at 10:35AM. It leaves POS on Wednesday, April 3 at 6:45AM to arrive SVD at 7:40AM (22 hours, 5 minutes, 1 stop at Piraco International).

On Wednesday April 10, the flight departs SVD at 1:00PM; arrives POS 1:55PM. The flight will subsequently leave POS at 8:50PM to arrive BGI at 9:45PM (8 hours, 45 minutes, 1 stop).

Surely if LIAT’s operations were to “permanently grounded” and CA takes up the slack, the airline would obviously have to do something about its flying times. Because what normally would take LIAT 45 minutes each way to SVD, would take CA 30 hours, 50 minutes and 2 stops at Piarco International.

28. @Artax

The blogmaster is aware the expense and inconvenience of traveling CA. If LIAT were to fail would the increase in the load factor positively affect fares? This is the dilemma the HOGs face regarding the regional good of LIAT as far as integrating the region is concerned. If only we can get our act together giving the priority need for affordable regional Transportation.

29. @ the Honourable Blogmaster
    @ Artaxerxes the Archiver

The two of you seem to be the only two keyboard warriors who are procsecuting this matter.

Artaxerxes, who is forever the sleuth, did what my non-javascript friendly browser will not permit me to do because of its settings, which is to do a comparison of the flights

And in so doing he shared with us that (a) the flights are way more expensive (b) and that you take 2 days to get to certain destinations WITH COMMENSURATE ACCOMODATION & (TAXI) TRANSPORTATION COSTS

I was however wondering something Honourable Blogmaster

Some time back you had a submission made by a former pilot? of the Airline LIAT.

I was wondering if said individual could be contacted and if he could definitively tell us, WHAT WERE AND ARE THE COSTS that he and his colleagues believe that they could operate the airlines for IF THEY WERE TO BE ABLE TO TAKE IT OVER?

30. No LIAT, no problem

https://youtu.be/E22ruogKrB4

f LIAT pulls out of Trinidad and Tobago, Caribbean Airlines will pick up the slack.

That’s according to Finance Minister Colm Imbert who says this country pulled out of LIAT’s affairs a long time ago.

The statement comes as the cash-strapped regional airline moves to restructure its operations amid increasing financial burdens.

LIAT is seeking US$5.4 million to help it stay airborne.

During a press conference Friday, Minister Imbert criticized the media for what he said was scandalous reporting on the LIAT situation.
    http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/no-liat-no-problem

31. “I was wondering if (the) said individual could be contacted and if he could definitively tell us, WHAT WERE AND ARE THE COSTS that he and his colleagues believe that they could operate the airlines for IF THEY WERE TO BE ABLE TO TAKE IT OVER?”

PUDRYR

I understand LIAT’s employees own a 5.3% shareholding in LIAT. However, this percentage is subject to correction. If these guys, as you seem to be suggesting, have any immediate (or long term) plans to take over LIAT’s operations, they must have an exceptionally prepared business plan.

I don’t know if you remembered the Barbados based regional airline called “Carib Express.” Roy Barnes was the CEO.

The airline was initially established in 1994 and commenced operations on February 15, 1995, with one 76 passenger British Aerospace BAe 146-100 J8-VBA aircraft……..and subsequently acquired 2 additional BAe 146-100s, increasing fleet to 3. According to company officials, these aircrafts were more suitable for many of the smaller airports in the Eastern Caribbean, since there were designed for short take offs and landings.

Local investors trading as Trident Holdings, held 70% of the shares; British Airways, 20% and the remaining 10% were divided between the governments of Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia and St. Vincent.

Unfortunately, Carib Express ceased operations in 1996.

I’m sure you’re aware of REDjet’s fate as well.

32. PUDRYR

Do you remember an organisation called the Association of Caribbean States?

“Heads of State and Government and representatives of the States, countries and territories of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), at the inaugural summit, held in Port of Spain, Trinidad in August 1995, adopted a Declaration of Principles and Plan of Action on Tourism, Trade and Transportation.

Concerning transportation, they stressed the importance of the principles of easy access and equal opportunity to affordable air (and maritime) transportation as indispensable factors in the economic integration of the ACS region.

In this regard, the ultimate goal was articulated to be the provision of a sustainable, efficient, profitable, readily differentiated and significantly higher quality service to the travelling and cargo shipping communities at reasonable rates.

More specifically, with regard to air transportation, they agreed to examine the existing regulatory and operational framework within the ACS region; evaluate the scope for negotiating air services agreements on a group basis; take steps to improve facilitation at airports; consider simplification of visa requirements; and encourage increased cooperation among ACS airlines.

In addition, many of the English-speaking Caribbean States (were at the time) drafting a multilateral agreement concerning the operation of air services within the Caribbean Community. It was anticipated that this will be have been finalized in 1996, creating an air transport regulatory framework that would provide for a more liberal and transparent exchange of commercial route rights.

Juxtapose the above comments with the attitudes of regional governments and their contribution to the demise of REDjet, Carib Express and perhaps LIAT.

33. Why do I get the impression that T & T is like what the Jamaicans call a “John Crow” a Turkey Vulture waiting to pick LIAT’s bones to the benefit of CA.

Does “Corbeau” fit the bill?

All together now “CARICOM”!!!

34. @ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

You said and i quote

“…Juxtapose the above comments with the attitudes of regional governments and their contribution to the demise of REDjet, Carib Express and perhaps LIAT…”

what hope should we have then for regional unity at CARICOM?

Are you not saying that we are doomed?

35. PUDRYR

I’m not suggesting we’re doomed……..

……….Caribbean leaders are known to make certain agreements at these CARICOM or other summits and subsequently renege on their promises.

For example, at the ACS summit held in Trinidad I mentioned in my previous contribution, it was stated that “many of the English-speaking Caribbean States have been drafting a multilateral agreement concerning the operation of air services within the Caribbean Community. It is anticipated that this will be finalized in 1996, creating an air transport regulatory framework that would provide for a more liberal and transparent exchange of commercial route rights.”

REDjet commenced operations in May 2011 and by March 16, 2012 it suspended all flights. On June 8, 2012, the airline dismissed its 94 employees and declared insolvency.

When the airline began to experience difficulties and suspended flights, then T&T’s “Transport Minister Devant Maharaj said that state-owned CAL was preparing to service the intra-Caribbean routes previously flown by the stricken airline.”

He also said REDjet “was not really an airline, but a man with two planes.”

Maharaj also admitted the T&T government took some time before granting the airline an operating licence to fly into Trinidad’s Piarco airport hub, but subsequently revoked the airline air operation certificate………… and further stated “he saw little prospect of it being renewed in the foreseeable future.”

When the question of a fuel subsidy to REDjet arose, Maharaj “argued that the Trinidad government subsidy to CAL is intended to make sure that Trinidad and Tobago nationals are able to travel in competitive times when large legacy carriers are cutting routes.”

You see wuh I mean PUDRYR?

In other words, when REDjet suspended flights, the then T&T government revoked the airline’s air operations certificate, refused to offer financial aid or a fuel subsidy and positioned CAL to “pick up the slack” left by REDjet.

Your question re: “What hope should we have then for regional unity at CARICOM?”…….

……… is one worth answering and discussing.

36. Caribbean Airline loss making.

LIAT loss making.

In the news this weekend Air Jamaica cutting staff because it is loss making.

Transportation is important to region integration yet we do not have a common airspace.

Each Caricom member has their tangled regulations to make affordable travel only a dream.

http://www.rjrnewsonline.com/local/fly-jamaica-cuts-all-staff

#thebeatgoeson

37. An interesting related article:

http://www.geo-ref.net/en/tto.htm

Screenshot 2019-04-02 at 04.44.39.png
    This is a population density map of T&T, there are several online and there is also CSO data (scoffs derisively!)
    I believe a new ferry port should be located at San Fernando, as part of the new waterfront project; that new ferry port & service together with the new highway to Point Fortin will improve transportation to POS and Tobago – and later on to other Caribbean islands, reduce costs, and eliminate the hideously expensive water-taxi.
    People are shocked when they hear the subsidy for each water-taxi seat is more than $TT 100. Maybe, it has gone down since last year but there is no economic sense and logic in subsidising each seat per trip by $100. Why do we persist with this monstrosity?
    How many people will be driving from South and Central to Toco to take the ferry to Tobago? How much gasoline or diesel for that journey? How much time?
    There is now another ferry.
    “Lewis-Cock­burn said the boat will be han­dled sole­ly by the Na­tion­al In­fra­struc­ture De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny Ltd and not the Port Au­thor­i­ty of T&T.
    On pos­si­ble in­ter­est in the T&T Ex­press, which was pur­chased for US$20 mil­lion in 2006, Lewis-Cock­burn said, “Right now we have some ten­ders (for the Ex­press) that we are re­view­ing.”
    Asked if she was aware of a ves­sel ar­riv­ing in May, Hadad an­swered in the neg­a­tive.
    “We have no com­mu­ni­ca­tion from the min­is­ter or min­istry with re­gards to such. We have no such in­for­ma­tion about any boat. We are not aware of any­thing. The re­la­tion­ship has been aw­ful, not, non-ex­is­tence.”
    How­ev­er, Hadad said it would be in­ter­est­ing to find out who leased the boat, at what price and for how long. She said the Gov­ern­ment has been dan­gling a car­rot in front of every­one, telling them “we go­ing to get a boat, we go­ing to get a plane and we go­ing to get a su­per­hero. The last three and a half years have passed and To­ba­go has gone straight down. Noth­ing would sur­prise me any­more.”
    In­sist­ing she no longer had faith and con­fi­dence in the cur­rent ad­min­is­tra­tion, Hadad said the col­lapsed seabridge had caused busi­ness­es in To­ba­go to crash.
    “There is noth­ing to have a prob­lem with the seabridge any­more. Peo­ple have giv­en up on sail­ing across there. The peo­ple who use the Galleons Pas­sage are those who are des­per­ate and they tell you that.”
    Sev­er­al calls to NID­CO’s chair­man Her­bert George’s cell­phone went unan­swered yes­ter­day.”

38. I read Gaston Browne wants to buy Barbados’ 49% shareholdings in LIAT for Antigua to own 81% shares in the airline, and he has negotiated a $7M investment from Sir Richard Branson.

Browne is attempting to fulfill 2 of his campaign promises, to get majority shares in LIAT, which is why he is also opposed to any suggestions, recommendations, proposals or decisions by the Barbadian authorities……….

………….and the other on is to build a UWI campus in Antigua.

39. This would be great news if Barbados is able to dump its equity in LIAT. It opens the opportunity to negotiate with other airline players. We know LIAT is and will always be mismanaged by Antigua because it is regarded as a government department.

40. It seems as though Browne is only interested in securing jobs for Antiguans irrespective of the financial implications to LIAT. He pledged his government “to resist any collapse of LIAT and any move to re-create its replacement.”

St. Lucia’s PM Chastanet believes “There are other airlines and if in fact, LIAT were to shut its doors, others would be willing to step in. Maybe that’s what we need. We need a fresh start.”

41. There is an emotional argument that Antigua will always bring to the table given how it has operated through the years and the culture which has enveloped it.

42. If the government of Antigua is willing to purchase Barbados’ shareholding in LIAT, why can’t Browne invest those funds in the airline?

Supposed Barbados decides to sell its shares, I hope Browne would not expect our government to burden Barbadian taxpayers with the same level of investments into LIAT when we were majority shareholders.

Also, would there be any reason why Barbados should continue contributing to LIAT …………. or should we hold a position similar to St. Lucia, only to invest in the airline when there are significant changes to its structure?

Barbados is indebted to the Caribbean Development Bank in the amount of US$35M for purchasing new aircrafts for LIAT. What would be Browne’s expectations relative to the Barbados/CBD arrangement, if Antigua succeeds in acquiring majority shares?

43. Ralph Gonzales hinted in a press statement a couple weeks ago that the shareholders are actively considering selling 2 or 3 of the ATRs which would have the effect of reducing the debt.

44. Gaston is reading the headlines and see Barbados is “punching above its weight”, so why shouldn’t Antigua? A University here, an Airline there, blocking the Scotia sale everywhere.

Isn’t regional integration great?

45. And we must not forget one of Gaston’s initial promises to the Antiguan electorate, which was to negotiate with the USA to have their embassy relocated from Barbados to Antigua, so Antiguans won’t have to travel here when applying for a US visas.

As it relates to the university, Gaston also promised Antiguans he would build a university in Antigua, to prevent Antiguans going to UWI Cave Hill campus. He intends to name the campus “UWI Antigua,” even if he does not receive permission from UWI to use their name…… otherwise he is prepared to use a name of his choice.

Under these circumstances I had to laugh at Gaston’s comments as it relates to the other Caribbean territories and the minimum financial requirement:

Browne said, “Some of them are totally rudderless, the whole issue of oneness means nothing to them, they’re extremely selfish and I have to tell you they are not following in the tradition of John Compton and VC Bird.”

Clearly Browne is the individual who is “totally rudderless” and “the whole issue of oneness means nothing to” him.

46. It is interesting to note two developments as it relates to LIAT.

First, Grenada has become the 5th major shareholder in the airline, a move that was accepted at the shareholders meeting in Antigua on April 30, 2019.

So far, Grenada has invested EC$1.3M.

According to the ch-aviation capacity module, Grenda is LIAT’s fifth most important airport by weekly capacity, with 2,240 seats or 7.85% of the airline’s total. It is sixth by weekly frequency, with 35 of the carrier’s total of 491 flights, or 7.13%.

Secondly, one of the tasks being undertaken by White Oaks is a developing plan to restructure LIAT. How will this sit with Antigua’s PM Gaston Browne, who wants to buy Barbados’ shareholdings for Antigua to become the majority shareholder in the airline.

So far, Browne has rejected any proposal to restructure the airline and how will this affect the Richard Branson’s proposed investment of U

47. ******Richard Branson’s proposed investment of US$7M.