The plight of Alden BLACKman was carried by Caribbean News 13/03/2019.

March 12, 2019

Hon. William Duguid JP,

Sir, I write to you as the new Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance. To informed you, and seek clarification, and rectification of a dangerous situation.

Sir, I lived adjacent to a natural watercourse from 1982, and never once saw the course edges overflowed, until 2002, after a British Expat White Woman, obtained the services of heavy equipment, and encroached onto said watercourse, levelled down the edges and made a path/road across, to prepared her lot for building. That process started the alteration of the course.

In late 2002, nearing completion of building, the heavy equipment returned, entered the said course, and proceeded to further altering, by placing boulders out, up, and along the land marks in the centre. That resulted in narrowing the natural course, for an increased of land from within the course, to form a yard-cum-private road that joined the levelled down path/road across the course on her side. The levelled edge to the outer side was not rebuilt.

Those actions brought the first flooding in 20+years. At that stage, I was the most affected by flooding. Thereafter, I was made to endured the consequences of yearly redirecting flood flows to my home causing damages to house and surrounding.

Sir, years of Complaining to Drainage Unit Officers from 2003 and MTW Officers from 2004, to this day, brought no relieved, no remedy , only comfort promises. The top Officers from MTW. Former CTO Thornhill and present DCTO Tudor, the two Officers, I held hope in, for a remedy to said altered course, showed inaction to the plight of this Black man.

Sir, no need for me repeating what was done by Arthur’s Construction when laying pipes for BWA, in said course.  After the pipes were biased laid, the results from heavy rainfall became worse, started to affect the Black Residents of Clarke Road, but MTW/Drainage Unit Officers continued disregarding my pleas, and blatantly overlooked the dangerous situation, and the fact that Black Barbadian lived below the risk.

The effort of MP. Hon. Minister Kerrie Symmonds, did failed by 2008, no remedy was done.

The following 10 years, MTW/ Drainage Unit Officers blatantly continued disregarding the plight of Black Residents of Clarke’s Road, by inactions to the root cause of flooding, for the purpose of allowing a British Ex-pat white woman to have a private road, that was discriminatory maintained with paving, by MTW, leading up to the General Election in 2013.

Sir, the Black Residential Area, road was then, still is deteriorating condition, because it became the new watercourse, due to the altering of the original watercourse in 2002. But was not paved, leading up to 2013 General Election.

While MTW/Drainage Unit Officers kept overlooking the risk. similar actions, were done by a Mr. Clarke in 2010, while preparing his lot behind the White land owner. Mr. Clarke: also got the services of heavy equipment to removed, the remaining edges, from above the across road, to upstream where the floods flow emerges. That deep part of the once natural course, is now a garden.

Its clearly seen by me, and persons with integrity, that the said Officers of MTW/Drainage Unit have afflicted this dangerous situation with blatant disregard, unjustified and discriminatory actions.

Concerned persons acted for the safety of me and my family plight. In late 2010 assisted us with erecting a short protection wall, “on what appears to be a drainage course”, is not the original drainage course, but due to years of erosion from redirected floods flows, caused by the narrowing of the original course in 2002, and the directed wash over floods flows, from the road across the course.

Sir, due to statement from you” as the new Minister of MTW&M”,  in reply, to a an email from me, on 24 Feb 2019  you stated “I have asked for the Town Planning enforcement notice”  this is the first stage.

DCTO Mr. Philip Tudor, email to me, on the 20 Feb 2019, stated  “As I had mentioned to you at a site meeting which we had some time ago, this matter was referred to Chief Town Planner, Whose Agency is responsible for issuing enforcement notices. Please note that no demolition of this structure in St. James could have been carried out by the Ministry of Transport and Works without the authorization of Town and country Planning Department. To date, we have received no such authorization. I will however contact the Chief Town Planner in an effort to see if this situation can be remedied before the 2019 hurricane season”.

Sir, I never met Mr. Tudor, my telephone conversations with Mr. Tudor ceased when I realized that my pleading and hoping were misplaced. Clarification Is needed from Mr. Tudor as to what structure is to be demolish, and for what reason.

Sir, I was informed of further Discriminatory practices against me, “to demolish my protection wall, built in late 2010,” as the “MAIN PROBLEM” that caused flooding to my home, and Clarke’s Road Residents since 2002”, and not the White woman private road, “built into and across the watercourse in 2002”.

Did DCTO Mr. Tudor in 2004, seek to obtained an enforcement notice from the Chief Town Planner, to removed, what he told me, is “an illegal boulders wall private road into, and along the natural watercourse”. why was the road across said watercourse allowed?

This is 15+years later in which Mr. Tudor inactions as to this dangerous situation was as blatantly showed, as the others Officers.

Sir, I now appeal to you for a justly, “right to a wrong” that Residents of Clarke’s Road and I had to endured for the pass 15+ years. Please, see this watercourse site that was once a define natural watercourse, and judge for yourself.

86 responses to “Open Letter to Barbados Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There you go, David. What more proof do you need then a fitting example like the Coverly Compromise or the Mark Cummins intervention in frustrating the efforts of Mark Maloney and the political pea chinks that decided to put a stop to the Chief Town Planners frustrating Cement Store House construction by giving him more money via a PS post. That is why people like Mark Maloney and this white woman shall prevail. They are just bait that the stinking rats in government cannot resist.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lawson

All cows give beef, all pigs produce bacon. Does not matter what colour they are. Black and White remain an issue as long black idiots with keys continue to provide service for the rich, who are mostly white and dish out piss to the blacks, who are mostly poor. The issue remains one of privilege and status, and that my good man is always an issue of the minority versus the majority. If the crux of this problem is centre around the permissions granted to this white woman to escalate the problems that Blackman now faces, the authorities have aided and abetted in illegal activity. Just like how they aide and abetted in the accident that took that poor woman’s child and never once identified with the illegal Mark Maloney encroachment as a factor in the accident. Black crooked idiots in officialdom granted the permission and black idiots in officialdom went after the poor and lay the blame, while the rich went about their business looking for another deal to strike. Is it Mark Maloney’s fault if he took full advantage of the situation? For me, hell no! If my money is going to buy you and you are going to let it buy you, I am going to buy 300 of you because, in return, I am going to earn 300,000,000 smackeroos pun top of the lil bittle I give 300 of you.

3. The British perpetrator, removed the edges from the straight of the watercourse adjacent to Mr. Blackman’s back yard, and created a road across. The outer edge belong to a lot on Blackman’s right to the top . (she took the liberty to encroached) on that straight, which is less that 75ft from where the floods flow emerges.

The built up boulders private road within the course is 5+ft high down stream slopping 3+ft up stream to where it joint the road across the course above my backyard level when finish.

4. 50+ years of independence and the instruments of government still favor one group over another,
    50+ years of free and higher education and our officials kowtow to one group even more than their predecessors
    50+ years of BLP and DLP exchange of leadership and injustices under one administration are never corrected by the other,.
    50+ years of enriching one group and mistreating another group..

Perhaps the yardfowls got it right after all. Suck a party pooch. 50 years of feast and famine as parties exchange the leadership are preferable to 50+ years of just famine.

I signed up for the MDF and am on-board the M&M train but nobody is giving me my free ticket or my gravy.

Namesless ones… where is my ticket for the gravy train

5. Hey Barbados
    I hope your problems are less than my own and that all of you have a great day.

It looks like a beautiful day here in NJ. Yesterday we reached 77 degrees in my area and I had to turn on the ac in my car. I think the coat I was wearing was responsible for my discomfort,

6. watchman i said go work it out,hopefully amicably, its not a one way st pardon the pun, my neighbor at one of my rentals had apples that were bouncing off the garage roof into my jacuzzi. The tenant was pissed off so I went over to solve it but he was unreasonable so I told fine do nothing but as soon as my tenant leaves I will rent out the house to bikers for a club house and he can see what he can get for his house if anyone would buy it. The tree was cut back.

7. Helicopter (8P) Avatar
    Helicopter (8P)

As I’ve read the discrepencys of Mr Blackman stemming for almost two decades in my frame of thought and reasoning I see a problem in which the authorities responsible for drainage, hydrologist and a coastal zone expert should have seen employed in finding a fix the this flash flood prone environment. Looking into the matter couldn’t but be enhancing to the surrounding residents and taxpayers. We are and intellectual nation and by being proactive in environmental discrepancies we reduce property and lives lost to flooding

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Watchman

All the information you are providing here is it factual? Is there any supporting pictures you can provide.

Will Mia Mottley Intervene in this matter that started under her BLP who at that time, was operating like arrogant thugs and thieves?

9. SSS

Let us agree to disagree. The sinister comment was directed at Tron w’ho seems to think that the flooding of a man’s house is too trivial a matter for our attention or that of the prime minister. This is after having appealed to all her underlings.

10. Mr Blackman complained from 2004 to the two top Officers of MTW. CTO, Frank Thornhill and DCTO, Philip Tudor. Both Officers must have known, “The Prevention of Floods Act Cap 235” and who have the responsibility to carry it out, in a case like “The dangerous situation posed by a watercourse in Clarkes road, St. James”.

The said CTO of MTW, did inaction to the illegal private road that caused the risk, but sent Mr. Innis from Drainage Unit to sink a 20ft well in the wrong place, floods flows bypassed well, to Clarke’s road.

MTW,CTO Frank Thornhill next unjustified, discriminatory action, was to task MTW work men to paved the said private road within and across the watercourse. Even though he told Mr. Blackman in 2004 the road is illegal and he will have the boulders removed.

CTO, Mr. Frank Thornhill, had the duty to protect Mr. Blackman, a Barbadian taxpayer, from the risk of a created situation, of which he had the authority to remedy.

CTO, Frank Thornhill promised an Officer of MTW that he will remedy the dangerous situation at Clarke’s Road, right to his retirement from MTW. The dangerous private road remained a risk.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Do you still have that image of the rich white woman?

12. Over a year ago Mr. Blackman email MP Kerrie Symmonds and Cc to MP Mia Mottley. In a flash both reply with comfort promises. MP Symmonds went as far as to tell Mr. Blackman on his last days rounds in Clarkes road before 2018 General Election , that MP Mottley , and him visited the watercourse but, he (Blackman) was not home

The last email to the Hon Minister Kerrie Symmonds, Cc to Hon PM Mia Mottley. Minister Symmonds reply to Mr. Blackman stated that he is not to be blame for Blackman’s plight, “which is true”. but to add that Mr. Blackman is getting unduly confrontational in his agitating to have the risk remedy, is very unconscionable of the Hon Minister Symmonds, he would not have allowed, what has happened, is still pose to happen to Blackman. To be DONE to him or any of his social class friends.

Hon PM Mottley is silent.

13. MsEU MM
    Why don’t you learn to get your facts right? Did Mark Cummins had any legal authority to grant or refuse the cement facility planning permission or only to serve a stop notice because of the erection of a structure without planning permission? Stick to the Alden Blackman matter and stop conflating issues.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Puff Enuff

Hello my sweetie. I am sure if you read again you will see that my only comment with respect to Mark Cummins was that he was given a PS post so that his part in frustrating Mark Maloney’s efforts to continue constructing his Cement Barn House would come to an end. Now how in the name of pooch licking did you arrive at me muddling facts? I do not see any reason why I should decipher between Mark Cummins authority to refuse to grant or Mark Cummins authority to serve a stop notice blah, blah, blah, when it so obvious to see. The point is that a thorn was pulled out from Mark Maloney side and Mark Maloney was freed by those who were bought with his campaign financing.

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Dearest SSS

You have to expect that sort of attack for any dissenters against Mugabe

Let me list the methods

1.They do the classic GRAMMAR POLICE ATTACK. Under this frontal attack they seek to tear down targets by speaking about your English

Like they did with the young UWI student Kemar who showed that Mugabe’s BERT was poop

They attack your looks and or skin colour or your significant other’s skin colour, your bald head, weave, drooping breast, known sexual prowess, sexual deviancy, child rapist status.

Remember how they used to talk about the skin tone of the Honourable Blogmaster some years back

They attack your profession

Like they did with the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch when he first came here and almost left in a week

They attack your character and associations Leroy Paris the Leper, Michael Carry way a ton, the late DPP the Guyanese

Then the call you names.

Mine is the Conspiracist and the Wearer of Tin Foil

You are Miss EU Marketing Manager

They don’t know how to cope with people who embrace their names

Like…

https://imgur.com/0ZqbsNn

But they get fearful of the ones with the data and the materials stored spreadsheets which are not on the drive they accessed, data that these dissidents will not hesitate to publish when challenged.

It’s a really terrible thing to be in situations where you say something AND IT IS RECORDED, but you can’t delete the records BECAUSE THE VERY DELETION IS AN ACT CONFIRMING YOUR GUILT!

I mean, when the originals AND THE DELETED VERSIONS are compared, what happens then?

That is not for you Dearest, the reader knows who it’s for.

but Those are the ones they fear. The librarians.

One final thing.

I am going to be politely crude because I have found that crudity makes sure people DO NOT FORGET THE SUBJECT LESSON

Just imagine That you and I meet at say 5.19 pm on Saturday 16th 2019, we start to get touchy. note the time reference and go back to 5.19 pm and see the meaning to my story

The two of us take to a liking of each other, I, in my fairytale story, am totally blown away by your ravishingly spectacular looks and you find my 5.4 foot frame and round belly, cute

At 6.10, almost an hour after you tek pity on me and say let’s have “sex”, I agree

But then I say that I want to have “unprotected sex” with you, WOULD YOU AGREE?

I DONT THINK SO DEAREST yet if you look at that 5.09 and 6.10 pm response between you and one of the BU BORG, that is precisely what you did.

Now it’s Sunday morning here at 3.21 am and de ole man ent feel like getting up and going to de virtual machine and downloading that picture day you were sent but I caution you about these files Dearest

If you have to use their pictures use screen shots DO NOT DOWNLOAD ANY OF THEIR PICTURES my sweetest

Forgive my crude imagery BUT I have found that after I speak and use that type of example PEOPLE NEVER FORGET THE MESSAGE AGAIN

Imagine you and this rooly polly 300 pound 5.4 inches old man in bed!!

you will never forget my message won’t you?

16. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

17. MsEU MM
    In July 2016 the court granted Rock Hard a stay, blocking any further sanction against it until its own appeal was heard in the High Court. Maloney by law could continue to build while the matter was in the court and I can recall a BU contributor making this point. Cummins became an acting PS in February 2018 and it is understood that the former PM granted permission just before the 2018 elections. Admitting that you should not “decipher” between permission granting power and a stop notice, is an admission that you should not comment. Good analysis starts with sound evidence. Again, stop conflating.
    P.S: I don’t support a “Cement Barn House” next to a flour mill.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

LOL. You are funny. You know that the SSS has earned a reputation on here for being nasty. I mean, I will be the first to admit that of recent, I seem to have found Jesus. Normally I would have ripped into Puff Lappy already. But, the bitch in me seems dormant or more like getting tired. I am not bothered at all about Mottley and her spyware nor the sweet pooch licker Puff Enuff. Puffy should know that titles are not given to you up here because of political affiliation. You have to know your onions if you want to continue in that wash pan of money. He just jealous that my salary is more than Mottley per year and that I do not have to lie, steal, and make deals for kick backs. And, Mottley can track me down however she likes through her communication specialist, she is not the only one that has computer experts at her disposal. Besides, I still got what the old man has begged me not to reveal to bounce pun her wicked ass in due course. You think she clean, trust me piece, Mottley is a complete rogue.

Puff Enuff

You are hilarious. There was tic for tac between Maloney and Cummins ever since the stinking DLP decided to put him into all the money bearing projects. Maloney even charged that he felt the then Chief Town Planner had a bone to pick with him as Mark Cummins continue to act in accordance with Town and Country Planning Rules. So since Markie Mark was not having it with any more of Mark Maloney shenanigans, the DLP foot the move easing Maloney’s pressure. Early or late, they plan the plot, soon after that plot showed clearly why it was the plan. Dahhhhhh!!!

19. Ms.EU Marketing Manager

You still have not demonstrated, either by way of FACT or sound reasoning, why there was a need to promote the former CTP to PS to get him away from the “Cement Barn House” when all Maloney had to do was get permission from the PM, which he knew was forthcoming, and the enforcement would be quashed. But you carry on with your cohorts like TinFoil, who thrive on lies and conflation. It is always about reading to respond rather than to understand. By the way you could never rip into me and I think you know that very well.

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Puff Enuff

You do not present sound reasoning so stop fooling yourself that you do. A few timelines, and quote from here and there, and any information outside that you come running with ya conflation nonsense. At any time, when I ever I feel the need, you are easy game. You can be easily be popped up but what for. You are sport.

21. Another knockout from me. Go prepare your charts and keep quiet..bout Marketing Manager in the EU.🖐🏿🥊

22. I am asking all Black Barbadians from all social classes, to look again, at what befall the Black Barbadian Residents of Clarke’s Road, something similar, can happen to you or your family anytime.

From 2002, until this day, the BLP Black Barbadian led Government, have unjustly allowed, and the DLP Black Barbadian led Government have discriminatory maintained and continued to unjustly allowed a British ex-pat White person to have a private road across and within an active watercourse above a Black Barbadians Residential area. Even though, it is seen as illegal by all Officers of MTW / Drainage Unit.

This part constituency of St. James Central, is represented by BLP MP Kerrie Symmonds who have failed to obtained a remedy to the dangerous situation, from MTW, when his BLP was the government in 2006.

A former DLP MP George Hutson who ably obtained the discriminatory actions of the MTW to paved said illegal road.

My Black Brothers and Sisters today it is Clarke’s Road, Where it will be next

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

PUff Enuff

Hahaha, self praise you into now? You bettas let me remain civil.

24. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dearest SSS

I am glad that you have found Christ else I am sure that you would have been vicious with The Nameless Ones #1

He gives on Peace else we would be quite dangerous

25. @ watchman,

I support Mr.Blackman and the people in Clarke’s road in their effort to improve the safety of their neighborhood.

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@BMcDonald March 15, 2019 12:05 PM “Therefore, Bishop Maxwell is without doubt, the Bishop of Barbados.”

I am an Anglican too. But “no”, Bishop Maxwell is not the Bishop of Barbados, since Barbados does NOT have a state church, and has not had a state church since the 1960’s. Maxwell is the Bishop of the Anglican Church in Barbados.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right March 16, 2019 4:35 AM “I can understand how some people are inclined to be ammmmm big boned.”

Is big boned the same as fat?

Is it the same as obese?

Is it the same as whopsi?

28. @ Hants

Mr. Blackman and I thank you for your support.

Institutionalized corrupted Officers of MTW/Drainage Unit would sat at a desk, and allowed a person to altered and destroyed a natural watercourse, by placing a private road within and across the course. Then blatantly showed inaction to the risk, and disregarded the fact that poor Black Barbadian lived below the risk.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Watchman and Mr Blackman

Greater awareness is what is needed in this matter since the political pretenders and the minions they have operating under their direction are all profiting at the expense of the average Barbadian. Time after time we have proof that politics and operatives of the politicians are responsible for the sickness on the island. Rather it increases crime, lawlessness, suffering, inflation, the epicentre of all of this is the wickedness that takes place at the political level and the trickle-down effect that follows it. There is no way in heaven or hell that the events leading up this flood matter can go without blame. Alden Blackman has provided proof that his house and property is under threat of flood waters, and that the watercourse has changed track towards his property and whoever else affected, because of the encroachment of a road with boulders from a rich woman peddling her consent to do as she was directed. Time to up the war and help Alden Blackman against the compromised political double crossers of the Democratic and Barbados Labour Parties.

Puff Enuff

Come along with me for the ride, sweety. Trust me it will be worth it. Or are you taking a drink because you feel you won some war of words battle as Mr Fact Finder? Once upon a time, such confrontations would get me all wet and sticky, but these days, I am different since becoming Marketing Manager of the EU hehe.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

David check your mail. Let me know if you get it

31. […] in his native home village in Barbados known as Clarke’s Gap. The story can be found on Barbados Underground, where Mr Blackman has provided a detail account of the events leading up to the floods that […]

32. A little further north.
    ” At least one person had to be rescued when several homes flooded after raging waters engulfed the north of the island in a matter of hours yesterday.

Residents in St Lucy, St Peter and St Andrew endured a terrifying two-hour downpour that once again left the flood prone Gills Terrace and Church Street householders racing to higher ground and then with the headache of a muddy clean-up.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/13/heavy-rainfall-leaves-communities-flooded/

Water water everywhere not not a drop to drink.

Leave a Reply to watchmanCancel reply