“You are not to wrong or oppress an alien, because you were aliens in the land of Egypt. –Exodus 22:21 (ISV)

There appears to be an irrefutable presumption in the collective mind of governing administrations in Barbados that a substantial majority of our citizens are firmly in favour of the ongoing regional project in all its iterations. Hence, there is no need to consult the populace on any measure proposed by that project to which the State might be inclined to accede.

However, if I am to judge from certain views expressed in various quarters over the years, I am not so sure that this presumption might not be seriously flawed. Of course, our Constitution does not mandate the holding of a referendum in order to ascertain the public sentiment with regard to these or, indeed, any treaty matters. These are solely within the executive prerogative so officialdom is nonetheless entitled to base its international relations on this presumption without fear of legal recrimination.

We saw the application of this presumption with regard to our accession to the appellate jurisdiction of the Caribbean Court of Justice and we are now witnessing it anew with the recent enactment of legislation, the Caribbean Community (Amendment) Act 2019, intended to give municipal effect to our regional obligations under the Protocol on Contingent Rights to which the Honourable Prime Minister affixed her signature on Barbados’s behalf on July 6 2018 in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

To my mind, the presumption is founded on the popular anecdotal expression that for the people of the region, true integration is a daily-lived experience ever frustrated by the actions of the political leaders who care not one whit for any cession of their sovereignty in their several bailiwicks. The first part of this opinion was echoed by the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, sometime Prime Minister of Barbados in his speech at the 1986 CARICOM Heads of Government Conference where he declaimed, “If we have sometimes failed to comprehend the essence of the regional integration movement, the truth is that thousands of ordinary Caribbean people do, in fact, live that reality every day. In Barbados, our families are no longer exclusively Barbadian by island origin. We have Barbadian children of Jamaican mothers, Barbadian children of Antiguan and St. Lucian fathers. We are a family of islands.”

As Mr Barrow appeared to be, I, too, am a committed regionalist. Yet, it may be argued and is submitted that the reality of which he spoke is experienced by only a few in the region, and that there are numerous CARICOM nationals that have had or will have no contact with the other states in the region or their inhabitants. For these people locally, Barbados is their oyster, the self proclaimed “gem of the Caribbean” whose imagined pristine environment of low crime, harmonious race relations, and general law and order would only be sullied by an invasion of foreigners from other regional jurisdictions.

His Right Excellency would have been referring to those of us who, whether by marriage, romantic relationship, occupation, trade or otherwise are compelled to be Caribbean men and women. But there are also significant numbers who, as a caller to David Ellis last week, have never even visited a neighbouring island and whose experience of other CARICOM nationals is either based on generalized hearsay (“the violent Jamaican”, “the smart-man Guyanese”, “the poor small- islander”, or “the party-minded Trinidadian”) or on some random adverse encounter with one such person. And then there are the unrepentant xenophobes or latter-day “nationalists” who will brook no strangers at all within their gates.

As for the legislation itself, I have perused a copy of this from the Barbados Parliament website –Bills before the Senate- <https://www.barbadosparliament.com/site> (last accessed March 9 2019). My first comment is the rather esoteric one of dissatisfaction with its form. The language of treaties is ordinarily less rigorously crafted than that of public statutes, thereby permitting the ratifying jurisdiction to fashion its complying law in accordance with its perceived national interest while still respecting the intendment of the international obligation. However, on this occasion, the state has taken the “easy “ way out by simply appending the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas [RTC] and the relevant Protocols thereto as Schedules to the body of the Act that does not itself make any substantive provision. It has been done elsewhere before, it must be conceded, and I am unaware at the time of writing of any revision to the electronic document.

The Protocol on Contingent Rights, the Third Schedule to the Act, is the only one reproduced on the electronic copy referred to above and it repays reading. What is immediately striking is that certain jurisdictions are not signatories to the original document so that if the rights and obligations under the Protocol are intended to be reciprocal, these jurisdictions are not privy to them. Indeed, I have learnt subsequently that some of these jurisdictions have asked for a deferral of their accession to the Protocol for varying reasons.

According to the Recitals to the Protocol, the States Parties to the RTC that establishes the Caribbean Community, including the CSME, declare themselves “convinced that the primary rights accorded by Member States to nationals of the Caribbean Community in respect of the CSME must be supported by other enforceable rights operating to render them exercisable and effective. Interestingly, while they acknowledge the differential institutional and resource capabilities of Member States of the Caribbean Community in ensuring the enjoyment by their nationals of internationally recognised (sic) rights” and, at the same time, “the importance of equality in the grant of Contingent Rights among the Member States”; they nevertheless are “committed to conferring the contingent rights as set out in this Protocol…” [Emphasis added]

I suspect that it is these italicized passages more than anything else that is the source of phthisic for most Barbadians opposed to the measure. After all, they reason, parties enter into agreements in order to secure mutual benefits and if the parties are not equally resourced, then the benefits (and the burdens) are likely to be disproportionate. So that while Barbados is able to provide social benefits such as taxpayer-funded bus transportation for schoolchildren, I am not aware of any regional jurisdiction that does this. It is similar with regard to undergraduate tertiary education.

By the same token though, Barbados, with its comparatively high cost of living and levels of taxation might not be that alluring to many individual wage earners, as assumed.

Essentially, the contingent rights to be afforded to the principal beneficiary – a national of a Member State exercising one or more primary rights under the RTC-; his or her spouse and their dependants as both these terms are defined in the Protocol, are detailed under Article II (a) to (f). These rights are minima only and Article IV permits a Member State to confer even more extensive rights than those in the Protocol, subject to Articles VII and VIII. In addition, there is, in Article III (a) to (g), a built-in agenda of potential rights that “shall only be recognised and applied as contingent rights at such time and upon such terms and conditions as the Conference may determine”.

To be continued…

282 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Borderless Region”

1. Fuh true? Fuh real? Soun sweet nuh.

““The first claim on the country’s biomass cannot be foreign investors of whom we know little, but has to be the sugar industry of Barbados, so that a sugar factory can be powered 12 months a year to become a viable financial proposition, being able to stabilize the sugar industry.

More than anything else Barbados has to stem the decline of the sugar industry by making sensible financial decisions that can make the industry profitable again at all levels,”

2. But David

This has been ‘in progress’ for 70 years. The road it has gone down, is going down, will lead to the further disempowerment of African peoples living in these here islands, global formations are changing.

There is a time and place for everything under the Sun. We judge that that the CARICOM bus has long passed.

Fundamentally, and this is something Sir William Skinner, does not confront and will never engage, is that African peoples in these islands are ourselves trying to make Barrow perverse vision come true. Barrow said we will wake up one morning and own nothing in these islands (sic)

Community, whether regional or national must be first undergird by the ownership of the resources by the population. In Barbados, we have never achieved that. Far from achieving economic democracy we are now pretending to invite other people to take more advantage of us under the rubric of investment.

Nobody who comes to these islands has to deal with Black people as the dominant players in economy. Why, because we have no developed communities that we control.

In other words, we are all sophisticated beggars talking shiiiite about integrationist notions in the interests of our enemies, both domestic and foreign. Interdependence, or a deepen integration, can only mek sense if we are an economically independent people, as a precondition.

And if we continue to believe that development will come by somebody else’s hand or by moving penniless hordes from island to island we will only receive more of the abuse, in private and public, that the ugly man said he witnessed.

3. Pacha the alternative is a Bajan Zimbabwe?

Our educated middle class has reneged on the leadership mantle. If Barrow were alive this would probably be his greatest disappointment.

4. David

Respectfully no, again!

The education was a miseducation, in the first place. And we have a semi-literate COW who is then asked to employ the so-called educated middle classes.

So yours could not be the problem. The problem has always been land or resources, not education.

We will proffer that those same miseducated middle classes you described would have done far better for the country had they not been ‘educated’ but had large tracks of lands and banking support.

5. We may very well reach Zimbabwe status, circuitously

Our man PIECE UNDER may rejoin by citing the presence of Mugabe here already. LOL

But yes, even worse than Zimbabwe

6. @David

Pacha at March 12, 2019, 10:08 AM sums up the whole fiasco beautifully.

We talk and talk and talk. But the fundamental problem is that Bdos is an ex-slave society which functions in much the same way as during the times of chattel slavery.

The neo-plantocrats own while the neo-slaves work.

In fact, the ownership and wealth disparities are getting worse and will accelerate under the Mugabe/ IMF tag team.

7. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Pachamama

I now in the presence of Sages and Magis and Medicis like yourself, the Annunaki and my myope colleague.

When I grow up, it is my hope to be as profound, as verbally adept and as spiritually sound as you three and hopefully congeal each of those qualities into my simple self.

I will not say anything about Mugabe in this submission

I will not mention her constitution changes, nor her rehiring of the wiretapper, nor her $21 million heist fro friends and family

“…And if we continue to believe that development will come by somebody else’s hand or by moving penniless hordes from island to island we will only receive more of the abuse, in private and public…”

See how adeptly you have explained this “Billy goat logic” of importing entrepreneurship under this Protocol signage?

You sight dis idiocy?

“…moving penniless hoares sorry you said hordes from other besieged CARICOM territories…” as a cure for our economic woes

STEUPSEEE

8. PIECE
    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    DO NOT MENTION ME IN THE SAME BREATH OR THE SAME SENTENCE OR ON THE SAME DAY AS THESE DIABOLICAL SCUMS!
    THANK YOU SINCERELY

9. Georgie Porgie

Go fuck off with your stinking White god. Rassooooooooul idiot

10. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

It sure will…since Mia “cares” sent home postal workers last year and there is still a backlog of packages and mail from January that people have not received….both at the airport and the processing centre in town…but they will not tell you about that backlog which impacts people waiting for their packages and mail from US and other places…..a useless government.

How long have the blogs been telling both useless governments to dismantle the slave society..they are the ones keeping it alive and using pensioners and taxpayers money to maintain it for their tiefing local masters…dismantle that evil…..but no…Mia wants to involve other Caribbean nationals in that blight to destroy their lives and futures and that of their offspring and descendants….instead of addressing it….

that is what should be happening, the conversation should be about doing the right thing by the taxpayers, pensioners, voters, ..but no….continue using and wasting tax dollars to throw bashment parties at Llaro Court…instead of living in the residence as the brass tax contributors are saying and are damn annoyed about…they are angry she is using the residence they are paying her to live in …for her public functions and wukups…that is what is most important to her….

she still thinks she got every bajan brainwashed and believing in her shite..

11. @Dullard

Execution continues to be an issue for us.

12. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

When you see what i have seen…Bajans will understand that it is because of both black governments that their lives have been harder than it needed to be….there was no need for so many young men and women to fall through the cracks because of lack of opportunities…it happened because the black population was robbed by both black governments…doubt me…check out who benefitted from your money over the last 40 years….if you can access those areas…..then check out the depressed areas and see the blatant neglect and devastation…which was unnecessary….and would never have happened if the population had not been robbed blind….by their own governments..

just the fact that they all…in parliament…in bar association…who have been in positions of power…ALL HAVE OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS…both them and their racist masters…but the island is broke…and the most vulnerable in the population are suffering…….that alone tells u everything u need to know…

and none of them can hide their offshore accounts…that they should all have to explain…how they got them and whom they stole from..

13. RE since Mia “cares” sent home postal workers last year and there is still a backlog of packages and mail from January that people have not received….both at the airport and the processing centre in town…but they will not tell you about that backlog which impacts people waiting for their packages and mail from US and other places…..a useless government.

IF THIS IS TRUE THIS IS AMAZING
    WE HAD THE SECOND POSTAL SERVICE AFTER THE UK
    AND ONE OF THE MOST PROFICIENT POSTAL SERVICES ANYWHERE IN THIS WORLD

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

I have long accepted your view about the shortcomings of our current existence because of historical injustices. What I would not accept is that we are incapable of overcoming them. I remain steadfast that they can be better addressed and defeated via a unified Caribbean state.

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

I have long accepted your view of our current circumstance because of historical injustices. What I would not accept is that we are incapable of overcoming them. I remain steadfast that a unified Caribbean state , is the most effective tool to address and defeat them.

16. William Skinner Avatar

apologies for the double post.

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

GP…unfortunately for them…it is first hand info from those who cannot get their packages, because of staff shortages and backlogs.

18. William Skinner

Maybe that’s why you lost your deposit and still bitter up in Trumpland. #dontblameme

19. Skinner

We remember well your heroic activism around the vendors issue back in the 80’s, we seem to recall. So you come to this debate not without substantial credentials. As few of us do.

Our disagreement is not unreasonable. Indeed, your argument will win the day as it represents the dominant narrative. And we will bow to that when the time comes. Although we know it will be a wrong determination.

Maybe history will prove you right. And if that happens, we all will be winners. But we very much doubt.

20. I WORKED IN THE LOCAL GPO
    IT WAS VERY EFFICIENT
    ONE COULD POST A LETTER IN HOLETOWN ONE DAY AND A PERSON IN LONDON COULD GET IT NEXT MORNING

IT SEEMS THAT BARBADOS IS INDEED A FAILED STATE

21. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

They dragged the island down GP…and none of that destruction, thefts from the people etc could have happened, without the collusion of both governments….none of it….not with what people are seeing..

22. @Enuff March 12, 2019 9:20 AM

Y’all need help. Haha talking about undemocratic.

What will it take for you to ignore the self hating bullshitter from the Ivy, Hal Austin. Everything from the Caribbean region is bad, but not a word on the incompetence of the UK parliament which is the laughing stock of the world.

23. @ Bajan n New York,

I do have views on Trump and the cess pit that is New York.

24. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Caribbean nationals need to research black ministers, lawyers, politicians in Barbados THOROUGHLY…before uprooting their lives to get stuck in her and her racist master’s swamp.

And this is when u have absolutely NO SHAME….how can the roads be any better when u have the same tiefing crooks with their substandard road works…over and over using the same substandard methods so that they can do a halfassed job every 3 years when the roads fall in to disrepair ….like clockwork….and everybody get their bribes and kickbacks while the taxpayers are left with deploreable roads…Mia immediately started following the same damn script.

….no government wants concrete roads to last 40 years…that will not generate theft of tax dollars and bribes.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238841/roads-mess

“IT’S NOT AN EASY ROAD in Barbados.

are in a deplorable state, with not a single one reaching an international four- or five-star standard.

Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance Dr William Duguid yesterday cited what he said was an independent road safety study which determined the island had only 30 per cent three-star roads, 44 per cent two-star roads, and 24 per cent one-star roads.(BA)”

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah wonder which one will have the balls to tell us on BU that the deploreable roads are not both governments and Cow’s fault….i will wait to see if they got balls or as balless as we all know they are…

26. Theresa May’s day of decision. We are betting she will fail, then fall.

27. @Pacha

How can a lame duck prime minister be allowed to lead a government on Brexit?

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

On another note…some are surprised, but everything has its season and people are fed up of bribery corruption, fraud etc.

https://www.nydailynews.com/sports/college/ny-sports-yale-soccer-coach-scandal-20190312-story.html#nt=oft-Single%20Chain~Recommender~new-left-chain~lower-headline-stack~~6~yes-art~automated~curatedpage

29. 391 – NO
    242 – Yes

Brexit fails

30. David

The traditions are not being upheld. Just like Trump in the USA.

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Caribbean nationals need to stay out of Barbados for their own safety until the grip the corrupt and the racists have on the island is gone permanently..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/989403794602493/?t=0

32. Any comments on the Brexit mess from the Ivy born bullshitter who lives in England?