There has always been consensus by the BU family that at the root of our problems is an irrelevant and dysfunctional education system.  It was therefore important to listen  to Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw as she and her team appeared before the 2019 House Appropriation Debate – Standing Finance Committee OWN the problems with a promise to reform the education system.

It was interesting to note Bradshaw’s assessment of the current education system if compared to her predecessor Ronald Jones. He offered no similar critiques during his lengthy tenure as minister of education. What a difference a general election makes!

A poignant moment came in the presentation when Minister Bradshaw stated that problems identified by the criterion test at 9 years old were not remediated before the child had to do the 11+. It there translated to young children condemned as failures by society. Some may suggest another poignant moment occurred when the Prime Minister asked Chief Education Officer what recommendation would she make to improve the leadership in the schools. Her response will floor you!

Watch Santia Bradshaw, Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training share the challenges and opportunities  faced by her ministry.

A must listen for all Barbadians!

266 responses to “Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw Makes Shocking Revelation”

1. having studied or taught or applied Anatomy & Physiology since I was aged 22, i.e 45 years I CAN SAY THAT THE BRAIN

IS NOT A MUSCLE
    IS NOT SIMILR TO A MUSCLE
    CAN NOT BE TRAINED LIKE A MUSCLE
    DOES NOT CONTAIN MUSCLE FIBRES
    DOES NOT CONTRACT LIKE MUSCLES DO
    DOES NOT BEHAVE LIKE A MUSCLE
    DOES NOT HEAL LIKE MUSCLES DO

HISTOLOGICALLY THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF NERVE FIBERS NOT MUSCLE FIBERS
    THERE IS NO SIMILARITY OF NERVE TISSUE TO MUSCLE TISSUE IN DESIGN STRUCTURE OR FUNCTION

THE POST ABOVE IS SPURRIOUS AND TOTALLY CONTRARY TO WHAT IS KNOWN TO MEDICAL SCIENCE .

MEDICAL ILLITERATES SHOULD REFRAIN FROM PUTTING OUT BULL SHIT ON THE BLOG CONCERNING STUFF THAT THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT

2. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

HE POST ABOVE IS SPURRIOUS AND TOTALLY CONTRARY TO WHAT IS KNOWN TO MEDICAL SCIENCE .

MEDICAL ILLITERATES SHOULD REFRAIN FROM PUTTING OUT BULL SHIT ON THE BLOG CONCERNING STUFF THAT THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I copied and posted the above information from several Medical Articles Online word for word.

Last time I checked there must be at least 1 million Doctors worldwide specialising in various fields in a worldwide population of over 7 billion people.

Somehow you seem to think you are the one and only.

You may have the last word.

3. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

When at the end of this life’s journey ALL OF YOU will see that my fellow myope Dr. GP is Right AND THE BRAIN IS NOT A MUSCLE!

And I ent care how many millions of doctors say so

Consciousness and brain functions ARE NOT THE SAME

ONE IS, IT JUST IS!!! while the other, the brain, is just a physiological mechanism to manage or conduit our responses in this casing.

But few of you have ever experienced that, while not under the influence of anything but life itself, a spontaneous disassociation that gives you true “association” with BEING so

At any rate, one digresses, but the good Doctor is right and it’s not a muscle.

And with that aside de madmen’s cry is launched heheheheh

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HERE IS A GOOD PPT ON MUSCULAR TISSUE

By: Kristin Tuccillo. What are the main functions of muscular tissue? Movement; Maintenance of posture; Joint stabilization; Heat generation.

https://www.google.com/search?q=POWERPOINT+ON+MUSCLE+TISSUE&rlz=1C1LENN_enUS622US622&oq=POWERPOINT+ON+MUSCLE+TISSUE+&aqs=chrome..69i57j0.29142j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

HERE IS A GOOD PPT OF NERVOUS TISSUE
    https://www.google.com/search?q=POWERPOINT+ON+BRAIN+TISSUE&rlz=1C1LENN_enUS622US622&oq=POWERPOINT+ON+BRAIN+TISSUE&aqs=chrome..69i57.16670j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

YOU FOLK CAN JUDGE FOR YOURSELF IF THERE IS A DIFFERENCE

HERE IS THE LAST WORD

RE I copied and posted the above information from several Medical Articles Online word for word.

SEEMS YOU COPIED THE WRONG SHITE OR YOU DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU COPIED

Last time I checked there must be at least 1 million Doctors worldwide specialising in various fields in a worldwide population of over 7 billion people.

THAT IS VERY TRUE BUT IT SEEMS YOU COPIED THE WRONG SHITE OR YOU DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU COPIED

Somehow you seem to think you are the one and only.

I CERTAINLY DO NOT THINK SO………………..BUT I KNOW AND UNDERSTAND VERY WELL THE BASIC HISTOLOGY AND THE ANATOMY AND PKYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN NERVOUS TISSUE AMD MUSCLE TISSUE WHICH CLEARLY YOU DONT KNOW………….SO YOU COPIED AND POSTED STUFF THAT YOU DONT UNDERSTAND

5. I have not yet been to the library and therefore I have not got all the facts. One thing I do know about the news media is that they tend to take out a statement that will tantalize the reader to want to know more. That is how they sell their product. Often when you read the full story, thereby putting the statement in its context, you realize that they were being deliberately provocative and thereby distorting the meaning of the speaker.

Not being in possession of the facts, I decided not to ridicule the doctor with a proven record of talking sense as opposed to nonsense. It is not because I bow to social status or which school the person went to or even educational qualifications. We all know some educated idiots. It is because I do not see how a person of her PROVEN intelligence could make a leap like the one published in that article.

It may be that she did make such a leap. But my experience with news media would cause me to give the benefit of the doubt to Dr. St. John. This is the logical response, i think. To judge people by their proven track record until in possession of all the necessary facts is the ONLY SMART WAY TO PROCEED. My response to the article is that I obviously need to know more.

But really… the onus is on the one who wants to mock to pursue the facts.

I don’t have the facts. Neither it seems do you. I will acquaint you with them when I do get them because it seems that the journalist does not want to exert himself so we can have the enlightened discussion he desperately wants to have. WOW!

PS. My reference to the school she and I went to was in response to the standard criticism of “learning by rote” in Barbadian schools as being the reason for our problems. At that school we did not learn everything by rote.

Sometimes this site depresses me. It seems as though some people come here with no intention of being reasonable.

Why, why, why???????

6. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Cristina Gil Lopez, PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher

Answered Aug 4, 2015

It is not a muscle but it behaves as a muscle. Strictly speaking and at the physical level, the brain is an organ, the most important one.

However, there are some theories that describe the brain as a muscle in the sense that it can be trained to improve different cognitive functions like working memory or math skills. Maybe here is where the confusion appears.

The fact is that new evidence shows the brain can be developed and function like a muscle.

The main claim is “the more you use it the stronger it got” ( see Carol Dweck: Brain exercise boosts motivation). Thus, the conclusion is that, as in physical exercise the more you challenge your brain the more you increase your neurons connections resulting in a “smarter brain”

(Farrington, C. A. (2013). Academic mindsets as a critical component of deeper learning. University of Chicago: Consortium on Chicago School Research.)

https://www.quora.com/Is-the-brain-a-muscle-or-are-there-muscles-inside-your-brain

7. YOU PRODUCED no study OR explained,no methodology OR GAVE no discussion TO SHOW THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE, BUT YOU ARGUED VEHEMENTLY AND VOICIFEROUSLY WITH VIM AND VITRIOL THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE. (Quote)

Although I prefer to leave this nonsense alone, I have always talked about the fabrication of issues on BU. I can only assume the good doctor must have been reading something else. Plse re-post all the contributions on the original.

8. At that school we did not learn everything by rote.

True!!

But that is not the gist of Mr Austin’s comments. Why criticize the man for telling uncomfortable truths?

Any right thinking person knows that there is TOO MUCH rote learning in Bim, in the sense that there is little encouragement to think independently and figure out problems. It is a cultural issue where “children should be seen and not heard”. Where “the credibility of experts should not be questioned”. Where some one is right “because they are an expert”.

The returns on the multi-billion dollar free education experiment have been disappointing.

You doubt the Dullard?

Just have a look around the island — literally or figuratively.

9. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Barbados Underground Whistleblower March 18, 2019 2:34 AM

Cristina Gil Lopez, PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher

Answered Aug 4, 2015

ALL THAT YOU HAVE COPIED IS BULL SHIT

THE HISTOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE IS VERY CLEAR
    THE PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE IS VERY CLEAR
    A PIECE OF SCUM WHO CALLS THEMSELF A Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher
    CAN OPINE ALL THE SHITE THAT THEY LIKE BUT BOTH THE THE HISTOLOGY & THE PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE ARE VERY CLEAR

YOU, HAL AUSTIN AND Cristina Gil Lopez, PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher ARE ALL MEDICAL ILLITERATES

YOU AND , HAL AUSTIN NEED TO READ WITH UNDERSTANDING AND DISCERNMENT

HAL AUSTIN I READ ALL THE SHITE YOU POSTED AND I SAY AGAIN THAT YOU PRODUCED no study OR explained,no methodology OR GAVE no discussion TO SHOW THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE, BUT YOU ARGUED VEHEMENTLY AND VOICIFEROUSLY WITH VIM AND VITRIOL THAT THE BRAIN IS COMPOSED OF MUSCLE TISSUE.

YOU EVEN TALKED THE SAME SHITE OF WHICH Barbados Underground Whistleblower SPOKE

BECAUSE SOME PIECE OF SCUM WID A PhD, Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience researcher PUTS SOME BULL SHIT ONLINE YOU IDIOTS GOBBLE IT UP

SHIT IS SHIT WHO EVER WRITE IT BUT BOTH THE THE HISTOLOGY & THE PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND MUSCLE ARE VERY CLEAR

ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY IS THE BASIS OF THINGS MEDICINE

Psycholinguistics and Cognitive Neuroscience IS CLEARLY BULL SHIT

REAL NEUROSCIENCE IS THE TRUE STUDY OF THE ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND NEURAL TISUUES………..NOT THE COGNITIVE BULL SHIT RAMBLINGS OF SOME STUPID WANNABE WOMAN SOMEWHERE

THE ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY OF THE BRAIN AND NEURAL TISUUES..IS SET IN STONE!

10. @Dullard

The chickens coming home to roost.

11. Is this senator now the minister of health or, as usual, she is over-stepping her bounds?

Heart disease, stroke and diabetes cost the taxpayer $64 million to treat, acting Minister of Education Senator Lucille Moe revealed today.
    She said: “We have seen from the World Health Organisation (WHO) figures that the Government of Barbados has spent approximately $64M dollars a year on cardiovascular diseases and diabetes.
    “We can all agree that this extravagant cost to Government has resulted from poor dietary habits and unhealthy food choices. Let me remind you that this figure will increase substantially if the dietary habits of all school-aged children are not changed.”
    The minister implored parents and guardians to be aware of the foods that they feed their children.
    She said: “My appeal to parents and caregivers of our nation’s children is to be cognizant of the pivotal role in making this campaign a success.
    “We are adults and we must always be aware that the way in which we nourish and nurture our children from infancy will impact on what they do at present and what they will do in the future and how they will develop in the future.”
    Senator Moe was speaking at the launch of the Switch It Up: Protect Our Children mass media campaign the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.
    She said Barbadians must seek to reduce their thirst for sugary drinks and have a more active lifestyle.
    She added: “The school should continue to reinforce its best practices of this campaign and continue their Water Wednesdays and their Fruit Fridays as well as have a vibrant physical education programme.
    “The vendors around our learning institutions must be mindful that they too must play a part in feeding our nation’s children. In addition, the community too can also play a part by leading by example.”
    With childhood obesity rates in the Caribbean being higher than the global average, therefore, Barbadians must play their part in eradicating obesity, she said.
    “Our children need our intervention let us do our part, let us strive to stamp out this scourge. Let us strive to live healthy lives free of obesity,” she said.(Quote)

12. Now the evidence is real. Trainees entering the Samuel Jackson Prescot are so innumerate and illiterate they need remedial classes. Since these are school leavers ie age 16 and over, then we can honestly blame both BLP and DLP governments.
    For 20 years the Arthur/Thompson/Stuart governments have allowed our educational system to decline. Who were the education minsters over those years?

13. Codrington School is applying for work permits to bring in a number of teachers, including maths, PE and Spanish. Are they joking Where are the teaching unions? Are they going to take legal action if these applications are approved?
    Is the minister going to speak out? Is the DLP going to speak out? Is Solutions going to speak out?

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

Hal, here you go again

RABBLE ROUSING!

about a thing that shows that local stakeholders ARE NOT DOING THEIR JOBS,

Cause dem dont give one badword Hal, or, while they all been to school and are educated, like you, dont give one really badword badword!!!

I said that already didn’t I?

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinNovember 8, 2019 2:16 PM “Codrington School is applying for work permits to bring in a number of teachers, including maths, PE and Spanish. Are they joking Where are the teaching unions? Are they going to take legal action if these applications are approved?
    Is the minister going to speak out? Is the DLP going to speak out? Is Solutions going to speak out?”

On page 3 of the Nation of Friday November 8, Codrington School states that “having received no suitable applications…it is our intention to submit work permit applications for non-nationals…persons objecting to the granting of these work permits should respond to the Chief Immigration Officer by 19 November, 2019.”

16. Below is some propaganda to defend the application for overseas staff recruitment. So no to this bogus essay, paid for in Barbados Today.
    By the way, editors have the right to reject advertisements.

Is your child completely prepared, academically, socially and otherwise, for universities admissions, university and life beyond academia? If your answer is “I think so” or “I hope”, read on!
    As parents our roles are diverse and we endeavour to raise our children to be the best versions of themselves in today’s global and ever changing world. One of the most important aspects of our role is to guide their education. Discussion continually abounds on which curricula, which schools and which countries are better. The fact of the matter is no school or curricula are perfect. The key question/discussion should always be which school, curricula, and later on university, is best for my child? This should be the most important question for all parents.
    Education is not solely about achieving academically or doing well in examinations. Equally if not more important, is the development of the whole child. It is about equipping each and every student with a “toolbox” of the skills, experiences and attitudes, not only to get into the university of his/her choice but to succeed in that university and beyond. At The Codrington School, that is not only our goal but our mission and the reason we became an International Baccalaureate (IB) World School.

The Codrington School offers many enrichment activities including music
    The Codrington School, The International School of Barbados has been an IB World school since 2002. From the first 8 students, it has grown into a thriving, 170 strong, International Baccalaureate (IB) community catering for students between the ages of 3 – 18 within its 3 academic programmes.
    The school is a member of the Council of International Schools (CIS), the European Council of International School (ECIS) and is fully accredited by the International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) as an IB World School offering the Primary, Middle and Diploma Programmes.

The goal of Codrington and the IB encompass developing future leaders – people who know how to communicate, collaborate and who know the value of teamwork. People who can problem solve, analyze, who are versatile and have a global perspective. The IB curricula develop what our ever changing world needs: individuals that can make a difference – who have developed the compassion and sense of public duty to contribute. Individuals who do not only think locally but globally and strive to be the best they can be.

The Codrington School teachers cater to different learning styles and personal interests
    The IB accomplishes this through a student centered approach that focuses upon inquiry, action and reflection and which develops globally engaged and internationally minded individuals. Codrington students of all ages come to school with their own learning styles, strengths and challenges; they have combinations of unique and shared patterns of values, knowledge and experience of the world. Promoting open communication based on understanding and respect, the IB encourages students to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners.
    University Readiness
    As we talk of university readiness and embarking upon the university admissions process, we ultimately focus our attention on the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (16-19). This globally respected Diploma Programme is known for its academic rigor combined with a broad educational experience and a holistic approach. The Diploma Programme develops students that top universities seek: students with expert subject knowledge; with a skill set essential for university success (research and evaluation, essay writing, presentation skills, referencing,); a thirst for intellectual inquiry; the ability to think critically and to continually challenge ideas and ask questions.
    Universities are exceptionally aware of this. It is reflected in the offer and acceptance rates for IB Diploma students; which is higher than any other post-16 system (e.g. A-levels, Cape, AP, etc.). Universities in many countries, especially the US, Canada and the UK hold the programme in very high regard. So great is the influence of the IB Diploma Programme on university acceptance that it has prompted Marlyn McGrath Lewis, Dean of Admissions at Harvard University to comment:
    “Success in an IB program correlates well with success at Harvard. We are always pleased to see the credentials of the IB Diploma Program on the transcript. GPA is not nearly as important a factor in university admission as the IB Diploma. If a student has to choose, choose the Diploma over protecting the GPA.”
    The above has also been confirmed by independent studies, and it is understood that the IB increases students’ academic achievement, college readiness, university acceptance rate and the probability of high school graduation and college enrollment. Other independent studies prove that IB students are well-prepared to succeed in post-secondary study. And, perhaps most importantly, they are set to make important and inspiring contributions to their communities, and will help achieve the IB’s mission of education for a better world.(Quote)