“Banning single-use plastic bags and straws without significant further action is putting a finger on a spigot at a time when we need to suppress the tidal wave”Manny Stanislaus in World Resources Institute paper, August 16 2018

According to an item dated January 22 2019 on the Barbados Government Information Service website, from Monday, April 1, the importation, retail, sale and use of petro-based single-use plastic (plastic made from petroleum) will no longer be allowed in Barbados. The report further informs that products such as single-use plastic cups; cutlery, including plastic knives, forks and spoons; stirrers; straws; plates; egg trays (both plastic and Styrofoam), and Styrofoam containers used in the culinary retail industry will also be banned from that date.

It must have been a momentous announcement too, since it took no fewer than two Cabinet Ministers to publicize the proposal, he of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy, Mr Kirk Humprey, [no doubt because of the anecdote that plastic bags pose a threat to marine life that ingest them under the impression that they are jellyfish], and, more naturally, he of the Environment and National Beautification, Mr Trevor Prescod. It might be argued that so far as thematic relevance is concerned, there should have been a place there for the Minister of Commerce, on the basis that the measure is likely to impact significantly on the cost of items and that of doing business; and, for that very reason, the Minister of Finance.

Even so, the ban is not, as might have been assumed, immediately comprehensive. Mr. Humphrey explained that with effect from January 1, 2020, there will be a ban on the use of all petro-based plastic bags, with the exemption of those used for the packaging of pharmaceuticals/medicines, hygiene and the preservation of food. In addition, a moratorium has been extended on the use of tetra pack straws; while poultry producers have been given more time to find alternatives to the Styrofoam trays used to package chickens.

To my recollection, this is the second attempt to institute such a prohibition on plastics. There was one proposed last year by some members of the supermarket industry and a local environmental grouping. Of course, that initiative was doomed to failure in the absence of legislative support, the basis of some of the complaints made to the Fair Trading Commission, querying the bona fides of the proposal.

One supposes that on this occasion the prohibition will be duly supported by cognate legislation that would endow it with the necessary moral force in a state that adheres to the rule of law. Nonetheless, what appears to be missing on this occasion also is the official persuasion for people to buy into a state of affairs that will change substantially the way things are ordinarily done.

To his credit, Mr Humphrey did attempt to do so in the report although he chose to reference the alignment of our ecological self-expression with our moral imperative to be rid of single use plastics rather than the economics or the science of the initiative.

By his argument, “Barbados has to be a value-driven country. We have large expectations for ourselves. We have said that we want to be fossil-fuel-free by 2030; we want to have a renewable platform; we want to be a country that when we speak to the world we speak as an environmentally friendly country and destination.

[Therefore] these are the things that we must do if our words and our actions are to be aligned.  And so, we have made ourselves clear as to where we stand on single-use plastic”.

A review of the literature will, however, betray a far more complex calculus concerning the banning of single use plastics than how we might be regarded by the rest of the world.

Doubtless, there is much to be said for a ban on single use plastics. Their pollution factor and the costs of their production and disposal as well as their provision of a vector for mosquitoes and their diseases all point to their good riddance. Yet, on closer examination, pollution is rather a matter of disposal and re-use than the nature of plastic itself.

For instance, at home, we use the plastic bags from the supermarket as bin-liners for the various rooms in the house and for the disposal of old newspapers. The description of “single-use” is patently not apt there. As one writer posits, the solution to choking and clogging drains would be to educate people on better disposal. When the plastics are replaced, something else will clog and choke the drains once it is not properly disposed of.

Anent the threat to wildlife, Craig Good, who describes himself as a skeptic, asserts the following “There are at least anecdotes aplenty indicating that turtles and whales are ingesting bags, which might be mistaken for jellyfish in the water. It’s reasonable to assume that the plastic accumulating in their gut is bad for them, but we have no idea how prevalent this is or how many might be surviving it fairly well, because nobody posts photos when there’s nothing unusual in a dead animal’s gut. But it does seem clear that plastics, one way or another, are entering the food chain. Given that there’s no nutritional value to plastics this is probably a bad thing. But how much of the problem is plastic bags versus all the other garbage humans dump into the sea? Good question.”

So far as the contrasting carbon footprint is concerned, research from the University of Oregon affirms that stresses on the environment from the production of plastics are fewer compared to paper bags and cotton carrier bags since plastics use fewer chemicals, less water and also emit a significantly lower amount of greenhouse gas.

Further, while materials used in the manufacture of plastics are synthetic, those for the immediate alternatives are made from natural materials. If paper is to be the replacement, then more trees will have to be destroyed, an aspect of environmental degradation.

Moreover, the relative imperviousness of plastic makes it a more effective packaging for liquids or wet products than re-usable bags, and, as an incident, also more hygienic, since they are easier to clean. Who knows what nasties might lurk in an improperly cleaned reusable bag?

The purpose of this column is not to challenge the official policy of prohibiting the use of plastics, but merely to caution that the native intelligence of the local populace merits at least a cogent case being put for the implementation of any policy measure. Of course, this desideratum will make governance a infinitely more difficult undertaking, but as one source puts it, this is [merely] a reminder that the best and most honest answer to some questions is, “I don’t know, let’s find out.”

45 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Paper, Plastic, or Polystyrene? -The New Prohibition”

1. @Jeff

Posted by Sarge to the other blog.

Sargeant
    Sargeant
    11 minutes ago
    Don’t Come Prince Charles – Purging the Monarchy Growing a Republic

@Jeff

As an individual who is very careful in your use of language I find the word “anecdote” very interesting in your article. Are you suggesting that the evidence of harmful effect in our overuse of plastic is dubious or open to extensive skepticism? The discovery of plastic in the stomachs of marine animals can be treated as the tip of the iceberg or we can treat it as an anomaly but we should never overlook the examples simply because the evidence is not overwhelming. Plastic is very useful and necessary but as with all things too much of anything is not going to be good for you and recent history has shown that the overuse of DDT which was hailed as a miracle pesticide turned out to be very harmful to the environment.

I am not sure how this “ban” will work but Bajan Govt’s are not known for gradual introduction of any major changes, they prefer disruption which leads to chaos and eventual failure.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hello Mr Jeff

Normally I do not read your articles, but when I do I am enthralled by the level of clarity. So me got to say a really nice write up here by you messrs. If you be so kind as to let me add my two cents worth I will greatly appreciate it so here me go.

Me like what you have written here. I live in a country where plastic is not ban because it is a recycable product. Now if Barbados refuses to go into the recycling business, which I must say is big tail business, we would not have to ban plastic at all. Plastic is part of our life, but recycling it is not. If we do not create a loop factor in a cyclic motion s in order to establish a full circle that depicts the life cycle for plastic than you have a piece of a semi circle spiral out of control mess, where plastic starts, plastic gets dispose and the rest is the pollution factor. Also me like what you said when you wrote, and me quote from my throat, lemma clear em because I wanna sound good for you, hmm hmm

”Doubtless, there is much to be said for a ban on single use plastics. Their pollution factor and the costs of their production and disposal as well as their provision of a vector for mosquitoes and their diseases all point to their good riddance. Yet, on closer examination, pollution is rather a matter of disposal and re-use than the nature of plastic itself.”

Man if you did not have to write all them paragraphs this here is the penultimate paragraph along with one or two more that used a Thor-like hammer to hit home the point. You captured the essence of what needs to be done than striking down a much needed material source as problematic when the real problem is that not a fella ain’t provide a cycle for good ole useful plastic products. Jeff if me have made sense here lemma know. A praise from you would make a girl really blush. SSS over and Out.

3. @SSS

A good observation and one the advocates for recycling have not full taken onboard. The focus is always on the quick hit. There is a strong lobby in other countries against recycling for this very reason. On a heavy topic like this one is we cannot afford to be simplistic with our analyses.

4. Plastics are within Bajans at the cellular level because it’s particles become incorporated even into our cells. Witness autoimmune diseases like bowel disorders, cancers and the allergic reactions so common today. If you do not find ways to stop it from getting into everything then we the humans at the top of the chain will also increasingly suffer from its dangerous effects.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Have we ever provided a solutions-based approach outside of mash em up? Wuh em ain’t rocket science that is needed here. Just a bit more force to convince two sets of clown parties to understand better spending more so than accustom wastage. We want to run with the times but use donkey cart approaches. No wonder we going backwards instead of forwards.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Health

When do the harmful effects of plastic start to manifest itself as major health issues? And, since plastics grand entrance into our lives, how many years have past that human beings have been using plastics at this stage. I would think that more of us should be dead, dying, suffering from plastic use after several decades of using it. Do not get me wrong, I understand your point I just trying to get a better understanding of the health side.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Health March 3, 2019 9:00 AM

Plastics are within Bajans at the cellular level because it’s particles become incorporated even into our cells. Witness autoimmune diseases like bowel disorders, cancers and the allergic reactions so common today. If you do not find ways to stop it from getting into everything then we the humans at the top of the chain will also increasingly suffer from its dangerous effects.

HEALTH YOU ARE A MEDICAL ILLITERATE TALKING SHITE!
    WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT autoimmune diseases like bowel disorders, cancers and the allergic reactions so common today.

CAN YOU PROVE THAT THE AETIOLOGY OF autoimmune diseases like bowel disorders, cancers and the allergic reactions so common today IS DUE TO THE USE OF PLASTICS OR ARE YOU JUST EFFLUXING FROM YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON LIKE THE AVERAGE BU RUM SHOP BRAYER BARKER AND BRIMBLER?

PLEASE KINDLY EXPLAIN THE PATHO PHYSIOLOGY OF autoimmune diseases like bowel disorders, cancers and the allergic reactions so common today, AND HOW at the cellular level THESE particles become incorporated even into our cells?.

PLEASE KINDLY DO SO THAT I CAN HAVE SOME MIRTH LATER IN THE DAY READING THE RUBBISH YOU WILL BE SPEWING FROM YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON

8. Wily has a few questions for Jeff……

Please define the legal definition of “moral force”, “moral imperative”, ?

What is “ecological self-expression” and how is it applied ?

This proclamation by the GOB is to be commended, however the implementation of same is doomed to FAILURE. It’s like to ride your house of mice you immediately employ an A BOMB. YES the mice will be gone however the consequences of the cure were never evaluated. This is but another typical idea why Barbados is heading down the FAILED STATE PATH.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“The report further informs that products such as single-use plastic cups; cutlery, including plastic knives, forks and spoons; stirrers; straws; plates; egg trays (both plastic and Styrofoam), and Styrofoam containers used in the culinary retail industry will also be banned from that date”

I can remember buying tasty treats from that small ‘snackette’ in the St. Michael’s Row area south of Queens Park close to the old Taylor’s Cycle Center (name defeats me) when I wasa lad and as I recall if I sat at one of the few tables you used a sturdy reusable plastic glass for beverage but if I left with the drink then it was the drink bottle – I think…cans came much later!

I say all that to recollect that since those long lost days of youth I don’t remember a time in the last 35+ years when eating from a snackette or modern fast-food joint or road-side vendor did not include plastic utensils for the food!

How in reality does this ban work? Are these operators going to use some type of biodegradable plastic cups and cutlery? How will a mac-pie and baked chicken be sold for take-away and consumed on the drive?

Is this ban to suggest that 1) we buy and consume back at home/office where sits our stainless steel stuff, 2) we revert to manual dexterity of finger-licking use (in a piece of foil of course) or the earlier noted biodegradable items.

Back in my youth the term fast-food was like a badword: known but hardly mentioned and moreso not even used…nowadays, Cheffette and KFC are on lips and outta mouths daily … I am keen to see how we manage this ban!

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The article ,as usual ,tried to cover all the angles and raise some interesting contradictions. The mission has been achieved; that is to raise the level of decision making in this country .
    We are tending to jump on band wagons without asking whether these decisions are in the Barbadian society’s best interest. All new alternatives ,so far, require disposal. We still need the garbage trucks and recycling. Let us deal with these.

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD

The name of the snackette was Dougies. That is where teenagers ate after the matinee at the cinemas with our dates. You real old though.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent …ahaa..thanks! 🤣 well age is relative as you know…so yes some may say that…but in truth I suspect I am on the lower end of the curve to many of you older guys!

I came to Dougies late in the game I’m sure…but yea Django or Santana or Dirty Dozen and then a stroll north.

But I will hazard a guess that you and some others here didn’t do Bruce Lee or any of the myriad kung-fu flicks of my day back den cause by then you guys had moved on to ‘older bigger boy’ things, ah lie 🤣!

Lata

13. @VC

How do you know he didn’t mean Jeff’s?

Another “old” fogey🔭🇧🇧🇧🇧

14. Jeff’s and Dougie’s. Jeff’s had better ice cream generally, although Dougie’s had better rum and raisin.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD

Yes we watched the Bruce Lee flicks as well. But we restrained the younger ones from trying out the moves.

But we did not litter. We were trained to pick up garbage and put them/it in the dustbins publicly provided.
    Paper bags were multi-use and biodegradable. Even newspapers were good wrappers for fresh flying fish and ground provisions.

16. @Vincent

Behaviours and products we use in the present have changed, we have to deal with the now?

17. Dean Cumberbatch….“According to an item dated January 22 2019 on the Barbados Government Information Service website, from Monday, April 1, the importation, retail, sale and use of petro-based single-use plastic (plastic made from petroleum) will no longer be allowed in Barbados……”

This is all part and Parcel of the New Green Movement War on Petroleum…

Why do you think that they are pushing for Wind and Solar Energy in Barbados that has been a proven Failure in Big countries? Not only will mash up our limited Land Real Estate but it’s all a Ploy of a Bigger Picture…The Elephant in the room that nobody paying attention to!

Why do you think they keep the Cost of Electricity so high even if the Government are the benefactors?

Green energy is the perfect scam because it is disguised as a do-good movement and the victims are dispersed, unorganized and disarmed by propaganda. Green energy is endorsed by government agencies, environmental non-profits, and scientific groups. These are people that are often seen as sources of reliable information but that, in reality, work to promote their own parochial interests. This is a scam that needs to be exposed.

The Green Movement is Right Up Hillary Beckles Communist Alley….

The green energy scam is the perfect scam because the beneficiaries include many influential individuals and institutions, while the victims are dispersed among large numbers of unorganized people…

It is a STEALTH Creaping upon the People who will be held Hostage as the Overall Cost Skyrockets…. The Price on all commodities listed will escalate when we have to pay more for a meal or drink or at the grocery store.

It All Boils down to the Benefactors making $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!

The Question is How much is Beckles being paid for his Part to put the Noose around the Necks of Bajans in Brainwashing the Students at Cavehill?

It’s a Bloody Shame that people do Not Connect the Dots!!!

EDUCATE DO NOT USE FORCE TO MAKE PEOPLE COMPLY BY TAKING AWAY THEIR AGENCY… THAT’S TOTALITARIANISM!!

Environmentalists are Communists…YES THEY ARE!

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10 :48 AM

We are dealing with the present.
    The products are the same. Good behaviours have not been reinforced ; mainly because too many of us like to create something to be critical about.
    Along with our education we learned values and respect for the views of others. The society came first not the individual pursuit of material things and notoriety. These are insatiable.

19. The products maybe the same but the way same are packaged and presented for sale have locally and internationally.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

We ,the users , have to deal with the packaging . We created /accepted the problem . We solve them ,sensibly. Start with the garbage trucks and the recycling. Bitching will not solve the problem.

21. I am not an old fogey and I have eaten at Dougie’s. Chicken Barn On Bay Street was another favourite of mine. That is still going strong.

I remember people throwing snow cone holders out of bus windows when I was a child. The conical papery ones and then the regular plastic cups.

I cannot understand why the option of recycling has not been seriously taken up by this government. It seems like the more viable option. Many people do not have transportation for the recyclables and since communities have fractured they don’t think about joining together to transport. Seems like a little help from government could solve that. A pilot project to begin with. These are the things that the community councils should have been doing during the last administration’s tenure. How about constituency offices picking up that role? It’s worth a try, I think. Some recycling bins and organisation of pick up at regular intervals. Does not seem hard to me.

22. Who will rid me of this meddlesome looney????

23. @Donna

A big part of the issue has been the lack of education programs and the government not leading by example by ensuring an efficient waste disposal is managed. How can we have garbage all over the country; scattered everywhere and it not negatively influence behaviour of the wider public?

24. William Skinner Avatar

Banning plastics is the correct thing to do. However as Jeff pointed out if we do not learn to recycle, we are still going to have major issues.
    We are still littering the place and not practicing proper household management of our waste.
    Like the failure to reform the education system, we may take another fifty years to act wisely or at least begin a serious conversation.
    Anybody can peruse the newspapers of the early 80s and read where concerned citizens were saying that we were not caring the island well. There were complaints about garbage disposal even back then.
    We only learn to swim when we are drowning.

25. Freedom Crier Avatar

Dean Cumberbatch this to me was one of your better Articles in that you attempted to give an Honest Balanced View.

Some of the things worth noting are that Barbados seems to be Targeted for being a Guinea Pig for the Environmental Hysteria of the Environmentalist movement by the Lending Agencies to Foster their Agenda in our time of Desperation rather than taking the most Competitive way out, we have been Saddled with HIGH COST of the Unworkable Environmentalist Discourse of the Lending Agencies.

A paper Hot Cup with its Paper Sleeve has 379% more weight than a Styrofoam cup. A Styrofoam cup or any Styrofoam product is mainly air. The difference in weight between 200 Styrofoam containers and 200 Paper containers is striking. One you can lift with one finger and the other you need both hands.

What they are not also telling you is that the Government has allowed Biodegradable Plastic Bags but refuse to allow Biodegradable Foam Containers.

We can have all the plastics that they are concerned about as Biodegradable but we as the Guinea Pigs do not have a say!

The Loss of our Sovereignty is a GREATER THREAT to us as Barbadians by the Imposition of the Ban on Petroleum Based Products by the Lending Agencies.

Over the years we have signed unto many UN Treaties which have limited our Political action that Diminishes our Sovereignty, so much so is that we do not recognize it anymore e.g. we will not put murderers to death and that we must work to support them but we will kill the most innocent among us without even thinking twice as in Abortion!

And it seems like after the next phase of the War on Petroleum Based Products is “Renewable Energy” with the Huge Impact on the Population’s ability to pay for it, will be the Mill Stone around the Necks of we Bajan’s.

All the people in Barbados that sell take away food pay 12 cents for a large foam container and pay 70 cents for a cardboard container, which is not quite a big and gets soggy from Stew.

This means that the cost of every meal from a van instead of ignoring the 12 cents will now have to add on a dollar. Your Twelve dollar meal will go to Thirteen dollars…a waste of somebody’s income that will end up in the Garbage and a waste of the Foreign Currency to Satisfy the Demands of Short-sighted Lending Agencies.

I am always amazed that when you have a loan that you are unable to pay because of changing circumstances, that local and foreign lending agencies always find things to add on, Late Fees, Penalties, Higher Interest Rates etc. that Balloons the Debt from $100 to $200 to $400. Then take you to Court Local and International to pay the $400 Debt and you are supposed to be the one that thinks that somebody that would help you repays the $100 now want you to repay the $400.

The most important take away from what I have said is the Loss of our Sovereignty to the Dictates of our Lending Agency Masters.

26. Freedom Crier Avatar

Frédéric Bastiat – The Law: Summary and Analysis

The Law , a work written by the French political philosopher and economist Frederic Bastiat in 1850, investigates what happens in a society when the law becomes a weapon used by those in power to control and enslave the population.

What is the Purpose of Law?

Laws should be set to prevent certain actions which harm individuals and their property. It should not be used to compel or force people to act in a certain way.

Since individuals are not allowed to force individuals to behave in certain ways, groups of individuals (governments, organizations, corporations) also should not be allowed by law to force individuals to act in certain ways.

“Since no individual acting separately can lawfully use force to destroy the rights of others, does it not logically follow that the same principle also applies to the common force that is nothing more than the organized combination of the individual forces?” (The Law, Frederick Bastiat)

https://i2.wp.com/academyofideas.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/the-law-bastiat.jpg?resize=195%2C300&ssl=1

27. If you think about it plastic bags are of fairly recent vintage in Barbados.

We got by fine without them before!!

If I had to date the advent of plastic bag use on a large scale I would say RPB, Red Plastic Bag, would be a marker.

His choice of a name my guess was to reflect the large scale use by the population of Red Plastic Bags.

Which begs the question, were all plastic bags at one time only red?

Anybody knows exactly why or how RPB chose his name?

Will the GOB make RPB change his name too or will they ban him?

28. Red Plastic Bag did not choose his nick name. I read his history some years ago. h
    He said he came in one day from playing in the hot sun and either a sister or mother told him his face was red like a red plastic bag and unfortunately or fortunately, it stuck.

29. @ John,

We used to have paper bags. Where did these plastic bags come from?

30. Freedom Crier Avatar

Not to interrupt the Levity of those who commented but this is Serious Business in Barbados that affects us All Negatively as the Great Tragedy of our time is the Loss of our Sovereignty…

“. . .when the plunder is abetted by the law, it does not fear your courts, your gendarmes [police], and your prisons. Rather, it may call upon them for help.” (The Law, Frederick Bastiat)

The Spread of Legalized Plunder

Legalized plunder has been so prevalent throughout history because often groups who are initially the victim of legalized plunder try to gain power not to put an end to it, but so they can use the law to take the property of others.

“Men naturally rebel against the injustice of which they are victims. Thus, when plunder is organized by law for the profit of those who make the law, all the plundered classes try somehow to enter – by peaceful or revolutionary means – into the making of laws.” (The Law, Frederick Bastiat)

The Legalized Law of the Banning of Petroleum Products is to Aid and Promote the Enslavement of Barbados by paying more money for Non-Petroleum Products thereby Perpetuating our Enslavement.

The Longer that we are in this Enslavement we will have to do what they say while our Sovereignty Diminishes.

https://www.ey.com/Media/vwLUExtFile/Country-page-headers/$FILE/header-barbados.jpg

31. Please note that last year the EU Parliament voted to ban single use plastics, which is expected to take effect from 2021. Many of our neighbours have either banned or have announced/discussing doing the same. Not all plastics can be recycled.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SO WHAT ENUFF?

SINCE WHEN DO WE FOLLOW the EU Parliament OR our ANY OF OUR neighbours?

RE Not all plastics can be recycled.

WITH YOUR GREAT KNOWLEDGE OF PLASTICS CAN YOU TELL US WHAT PLASTICS CAN BE RECYCLED AND WHICH CAN NOT, AND WHY, AND WHY NOT?

WHAT IS THE CHEMICAL STRUCTURE AND ORIGIN OF PLASTICS, I.E FROM WHAT ARE PLASTICS DERIVED? HOW? WHY?

COME WUK FUH YA MONEY EDIFY US?

33. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Freedom Crier, you have made some very valid points. However, we can all appreciate that single use plastics will always be with us, then emphasis is on a radical reduction of its usage. Recycling will not deal with the microplastics that have found their way into Antarctica and some of the deepest remote oceans. Micro plastic are now turning up in our excrement and research has shown that the manufacturing process contaminates the water bottles with these 5 microns or less particles. We can either seek to mitigate the risk via reduction of SUP or accept defeat pretending we cannot change the course of history.

The circular economy or what is know as the close loop system provides many opportunities for the recycling of plastics into many items such as furniture. Unfortunately,humans can seldom be trusted in doing the right things as their self interest most often takes precedent. Example, the tipping fee removal did not stop indiscriminate illegal dumping. Emphasis must therefore be on production reduction and usage.

The Sargassum seaweed plastics, Vegan Plastics from Sugar Cane, Bagasse food containers and Sweet Potato Stem plastics are but a few cellular based options.

Why is it so hard for we to see opportunity rather than obstacle. Do you know Barbados imports liquid manure….its just someone selling their fish waste water which is rich in nutrients.

Bio plastics from crops by nature of their growth will sequester carbon dioxide thus any carbon dioxide produced during product manufacture may have a zero impact. A commercial composter on island would complement the impending ban and help the waste management process while reducing our need to import compost!

34. When I migrated to the US in the 1980s there was no such thing as recycling garbage, but after government introduced the idea here it took the public sometime to get use to the idea … I don’t know if Jeff understand that recycling is a big operation …? it requires the public to separate their garbage into plastics, cans and cardboard … and this process involves different colour trash cans which the above mentioned items have to be placed in as well as addition garbage trucks for this specific operation…

35. Wuhloss Barbados is in deep doo doo
    Crimes Up Plastics down
    Time to toss the coin
    Heads u win Tails u lose

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John March 3, 2019 2:17 PM “Anybody knows exactly why or how RPB chose his name?”

He told me himself. When he came in from playing in the sun, he was burned “red” and a little nephew or cousin said “you look just like a red plastic bag”

Watch the boys of BU call me liar.

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 3, 2019 11:43 AM “I am not an old fogey and I have eaten at Dougie’s. Chicken Barn On Bay Street…”

Mr. T’s Donuts too?

Yummiest ever.

And packaged in a cardboard box.

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

What ever happened to:

A cheese cutter wrapped in bread paper.

A grocery basket made of balsam.

A down basket made of…I don’t remember.

A little church basket made of ping-wing/pandanus

Snocones in paper cups.

Snoballs in the palm of your hand.

Food in a restaurant on a china plate. Even non-fancy restaurants.

A soft drink straight from the glass bottle, no straw.

Tea, coffee, juice, milk, water in a Thermos bottle straight from home.

Water fountains in schools and work places.

Standpipes in the country for the thirsty. Drink the water straight outta hand.

Taking cutters and sandwiches to school and to work in a long lived metal lunch tin. Maybe even a recycled biscuit or chocolate tin.

Food for bus drivers, policemen, firemen and other mobile workers packed in a white enamelled multi-chambered food carrier.

Taking your own tot or enamelled cup to the shop to buy ice.

Or buy a big block of ice on Sundays, and wrap in a clean crocus bag.

Feeding left over food to the fowls, dogs, cats and pigs.

Flour, sugar and everything else, including saltfish and pigtails wrapped in grey “shop paper”

Kites make of wood and kite-paper. So people took them in at night, so that the rain would not destroy them.

Fish wrapped in newspaper

Meat from the butcher wrapped in heavy brown paper.

Taking your own glass bottle to the pharmacy to buy 5 or 10 cents worth of vanilla, almond or mixed essence.

Grating coconuts straight off the tree in order to make coconut bread.

Lighting the village church with a “Tilley” lantern.

Taking a torchlight along to see your way home at nights.

Eggs directly from the yardfowls. If any were left over they sat in a ceramic bowl on the china wagon.

Walking a mile to school, home for lunch, back to school and then home again in the evenings 4 year olds walked 4 miles a day. Almost zero childhood obesity.

Milk directly from the cow. Drank full fat milk everyday. Made our own butter on Sundays and baked right away.

The age of no plastic, and very, very modest use of petroleum.

When we had a power cut sometime last year, i explained to one of the grans that for the first 12 years of my life I lived (very well) completely without electricity. No electricity at home. None at school. The headmistress had a big brass bell which she rang vigorously. Well there was a Reddifusion set and we sometimes listened to stories through that.

Gran looked at me as if I was from Pluto.

39. Simple Simon,

I recall Mr. T’s so I probably did eat donuts there.

The village shops have been replaced by the supermarket unfortunately and so that sort of packaging is not practical anymore.

My son did an interview with the Bag for his SBA. He’s a really pleasant fellow. I had interactions with him before many many years ago, years later and just recently. He hasn’t changed. He talks to everybody. No reason why he wouldn’t talk to you. I have heard him say many times in other interviews that he got his name somewhat as you said. It was also in Elizabeth Watson’s book.

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I was just documenting for younger people how we survived without plastic.

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

One of my children volunteered with the NCF for years. She reported that the Bag is very, very respectful of the youth volunteers. And that he is funny too.

42. Mr. Holder I understand you are concerned citizen about environmental issues and rightly so as we are the Guardians of the Earth and should be Responsible Caretakers… However I have a few questions…

Mr. Holder have you been one among those who would have been Instrumental in the Ban on Petroleum knowing your activist pass?

The world’s worst Polluters of the waterways are in Asia.

You have not addressed the Most Important Point of Sovereignty and #2 the Cost of non-Petroleum based replacement and #3 of FOREX.

In the Video presented there are groups of people that the Global Warming provides them with things they want…Money for themselves or their Organisations or Confirmation of their near Religious devotion to the Idea that man is a destructive force and cannot be trusted!! SOUNDS FAMILIAR???

You say “Unfortunately, humans can seldom be trusted in doing the right things as their self interest most often takes precedent.” Unfortunately Mr. Holder YOU BELIEVE IN FORCE/TYRANNY RATHER THAN EDUCATION, by your suggestion that we cannot be trusted!

Climate change is an urgent topic of discussion among politicians, journalists, environmental activist and celebrities…but what do scientists say about climate change? Does the data validate those who say humans are causing the earth to catastrophically warm? Richard Lindzen, an MIT atmospheric physicist and one of the world’s leading climatologists, summarizes the science behind climate change.

Please watch the video.

43. Freedom Crier Avatar

Do 97% of Climate Scientists Really Agree?

Is it true that 97% of climate scientists agree that climate change is real? Where does the 97% figure come from? And if it is true, do they agree on both the severity of and the solution to climate change? New York Times bestselling author Alex Epstein, founder of the Center for Industrial Progress, reveals the origins of the “97%” figure and explains how to think more clearly about climate change.

There is Innumerable Scientist who dispute that the Co2 Alarmist AKA Climate Change Agenda.

Please watch the video.

44. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife March 3, 2019 11:20 PM

yeah; how exactly did we survive without all these plastic items is indeed a mystery. 🙂

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply