I’m to ask and every right thinking person must be wondering: in whose interest is the Mia Mottley Administration managing the affairs of this country?

I would not be so silly to suggest that previous administration left this country in good order.  And I would be the first to admit that the new administration needed to take measures to restructure and stabilise the economy.  But so far, the measures imposed by this new labour party administration has shown a merciless disregard for the plight of the most vulnerable in this society.  As promised, the Government removed the much vilified National Society Responsibility Levy (NSRL), which was collected from the merchant class up front, and replaced it with a series of punitive measures that took particular aim at the poor and labouring classes in the country.

This country is badly in need of revenue and the Government seems content to raise the necessary funds to run the country by taxing the people that a labour party was philosophically set up to protect.  On the other hand, this administration has moved swiftly to ensure that its friends and family are protected from the ravages of this marauding tax collecting machine that came into power on May 25, 2018.

This administration has even placed a tax on water, while at the same time forgiving the billions of dollars in income taxes that were owed mainly by the merchant class, who fund election campaigns, and by their close friends and family.

Last December the Government introduced and passed an amendment to the Income Tax Act to write off taxes that were owed by persons between 1968 and 2000.  The cynical among us, including me, believe that this was a measure aimed at giving tax relief to the Prime Minister’s father.

The country did not cry out about that atrocity and that has emboldened the Government to prepare legislation that would write off the Value Added Tax (VAT) that was collected and stolen by VAT registrants between 1996 and 2000.  The furniture store, Courts, is set to receive a write off of the principal sum of $35 million not included interest and penalties, that will also be written off by this legislation.

Lord, the people of this country prayed for a change but if they only knew what they would have gotten.  I am reminded of what my grandmother would say:  BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU PRAY FOR, YOU MIGHT GET IT.

The amendment bill is attached.

333 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mia Scares”

1. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I would like to talk to him.

Ronny is a member of staff in my Faculty at Cave Hill…he can be reached by calling 417-4223 and asking for him. That is not his direct line

2. Let us, just for the sake of discussion present 20 handpicked men and women for this battle ahead of us.

Men and women with principles and vision…what would 2023 present to Barbados?

We as a people would have choices?

I know dat de ole man has wunna wondering about the number 20 but suffice it to say that de ole man has been shown that the “ARMY” to be chosen MUST NOT BE ALL 30 seats!! but 20

“…So Gideon brought the people down to the water, and the LORD said to him, “Separate those who lap the water with their tongues like a dog from those who kneel to drink.”

The Third Movement Party MUST HAND PICK EACH ONE OF THE 20

https://i.imgur.com/68geHwU.png

3. @ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

Thank You Luminary.

De ole man shall essay to reach him AND OTHERS soon

There is much work to be done and LITTLE TIME

The fact about this article pertaining to Senator Caswell Franklyn is ass frightening as your article here titled “…The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Borderless Region…”

Few among us are watching!!

Imagine that we have a Leader of the Opposition, the Reverend Bishop Pastor Joseph Atherley and he is silent on the things that Caswell is speaking about!

Imagine that we have a so called Ombudsman and a Caricom Ambassador WHO IS A SO CALLED LAWYER, one David Come Sing a Song and both are silent IN FACT DAVID IS MUTE while you a Dean at UWI Cave Hill have to come here and prosecute matters that he is being paid for!!

Doesn’t that frighten you oh Luminary?

Wuh we could as well join a chat room and just talk bout how many wummens we had with junk in dem trunk, and other meaningless pursuits!!

You figure that these people and the sheeple who read this really care?

Looka how Simple Simon jes mek a comment bout politics and some other inane comment.

You tink dat she, wid all she life experiences unnerstanding what you write bout? even doah she is de first to write pun you blog?

Steupseee dat is why i does doan have much social interactions Jeff cause I very quick to call a man a veryyyy bad word and tell ppeople dat dem is a part of the body 2 inches away from a woman’s ammmmm “behind”

Here is people in de Rum Shop trying to mek sure dat we isnt get kill when we pun we way home from brimling AND YOU GOT SHEEPS like dese talking cunt!!

I sorry man, I sorry but sometimes I does lose it and den got to pray for forgiveness.

steupseeeee

4. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

You assistance please with an item here for THe Luminary, thank you

5. One thing fuh sure he got Charisma and bajan women love that
    Now as far flunged is his political leanings if he too close to Mia that is a NO GO

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ ManyPussy

Being close to Mia does NOT automatically make him a no go.

Why should it?

Is he attached to her fronts or her behind?

Is he a man?

Let de ole man do a little psychoanalysis on this man Dr. Ronnie Yearwood

Go to his Facebook pages.

He has 2, his business one which, unlike White Oaks and that of Charles Me Love You Long Time Jong, clearly states his record and stints/jobs

And, unlike Mia, he lists his leval certifications. Heheheheh

Then go to his personal page

He poses WITH HIS WIFE who is white, and j said that passinvly, because as a black man, in the UK, to do such, it is not that he whitened his coffee, he loves his wife

And is comfortable in publicizing this

But let de ole man not digress

Do you or Mugabe understand what this profile means? for a black professional, a lawyer TO SO OPENLY, AND SOME WOULD SAY PERMANENTLY, mark himself by his union?

THIS MAN DR RONNIE YEARWOOD GOT BIV BALLS!!!

BIVGER BALLS THAN MIA MOTTLEY

The United States was once a colony of England so your point is moot

By the way, everyone it noticing how you are trolling all my efforts to advance THE THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT.

Every time I push forward with the initiative, you and others appear and make a comment.

Why is that?

Ate you starting to realize that fe ole man s campaign is getting traction??

7. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for ManyPussy thank you

8. Emphatically declaring that “Barbados is fully open for business” Prime Minister Mia Mottley this evening welcomed Dutch Caribbean hardware megastore Kooyman Holding International as it broke ground at Kendal Hill, Christ Church

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/14/welcome-kooyman/

9. ” “I’d like to congratulate Kooyman. I’d like to congratulate Massy for working with Kooyman ”

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/dont-fear-kooyman-barbados

10. Another company that will import and sell.

When will we see another company export and sell.

11. Good point Hants. The last government heralded the arrival of Cost u Less now we have Koogman. Were there concessions?

12. Prime Minister Mottley stressed that for growth Barbados must open outward and cannot afford to be myopic or insular, therefore she called on local businesses not to feel intimidated or disheartened with this new addition.

+++++++++++++++++++
    Au contraire, if we could extrapolate from the Canadian experience the local businesses have much to fear, the advent of the Home Depots, Lowes etc. saw the demise of many small operators. We have seen the closing of small Independent bookstores as larger chains invaded the market but Barbados may be different.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Got to admit that any additional business entity coming into Barbados can only promote more competition amongst the largesse. Can’t fault Rogue-Works for this move.

14. so what if one has a small business , how does a big company helps the small business person. . Furthermore this hardware store would use barbadians to purchase their products
    in return buy and purchase their inventory from foreign entities
    So how does this business help in bringing FX to the country, This is just another smoke and mirror plan /policy to juke the people in the eye by this govt
    Btw no one has heard how much concessions was given for all knows that these companies before setting up shop in barbados look to govt for a hand out
    So much for Transparency

15. Good argument, the same others used when your party allowed Cost-u-less to establish in Barbados.

16. Yes David and what you are trying to defend is what you and others crticize the past govt for
    Anyhow your comment only bodes well to say that even when the blp in opposition was being critical of the Freundel Stuart govt they had no plans for correction and now as govt prefers to go a similar path as Stuart
    What a dam shame if i were u i would not cover for Mottley

17. The comment was meant to expose your blind partisan positions. All DLP supporters have done is to flip the script. It is our curse. People like you will never cause change to occur.

18. Since u speak of change once again
    Change which this govt used as a smoke and mirror plan to win the people confidence
    Where is the change?
    Now am i expected to endorse this govt runaway policy of the Same path and direction that has the country in a griplock of taxation

19. I happened to read OSA comments about Barbados being blacklisted by EU
    “””””””””””
    Taken from John Sobers fb page

The only person in Barbados that did not know that neither EU nor OECD has no jurisdiction over Barbados’ tax policy is mam. So that the recent tax conversion that saw the BLP reducing corporation tax from 30% to 5%, creating a $280 million shortfall in government’s revenue, was the biggest act political ignorance ever committed in Barbados.

Head of the Sir Arthur Lewis Foundation, Don Marshall was recently reported to have told the government that they are not obligated to carry out the request of EU nor OECD. But he has spoken too late as the government, quite unprepared for political office, had already signed off on the country’s demise of it’s tax structure.

Having committed that political folly the BLP, in an attempt to now close the revenue hole of $280 mill it created, will go to Parlaiment next Wednesday and further tax working class Barbadians, pensioners and the unemployed.

The BLP does not have a clue what it is doing. Only devine intervention can help Barbadians.

20. As I understand it, they have no jurisdiction but have committed to making life harder for us if we do not comply. It is their usual bullying. I have always been in favour of standing up to bullies. And showing up and shaming their bullying tactics.

Where is our new Shridath Ramphal?

21. @Donna

Yours is the understanding to be drawn from Don Marshall. The extent to which countries of the North are prepared to dictate tax policy. Also the opportunity for other offshore jurisdictions in the North to win the ear of these White lords to gain waivers.

22. OSA said he did not comply and it is not in our country best interest for OEC to tell us how to manage our taxes
    Reason why barbados is being blacklisted

23. WHEN WE WE LEARN?

Finland: Government Collapses Over Universal Health Care Costs, #Bernie2020 Hardest Hit

“Similar problems are bedeviling Sweden and Denmark, two other countries frequently held up as models to follow on health care”

Finland has long been touted by American socialists as the socialist Nirvana, where everything is free and everyone is happy, happy, happy. Sadly, fiscal reality hit Finland’s government as it collapsed Friday due to the rising costs of its universal health care.

The warning signs were on the wall last spring when Finland, as Leslie noted, ended its experiment with “universal basic income.”

Bernie Sanders (I-VT), who has been hanging his socialist mantle on the “success” of Finland’s socialist structure, may be the hardest hit.

READ MORE @…https://legalinsurrection.com/2019/03/finland-government-collapses-over-universal-health-care-costs-bernie2020-hardest-hit/?fbclid=IwAR10m_Z2o6d70u58-BivxiFHJkKEbJ13KLDL5HTm8HtwPBvK-3V_xHgWHhE

Image…https://c3.legalinsurrection.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Bernie-Sanders-Trump-SOTU-2019-1-620×436.jpg

24. David,

These Europeans took our ancestors from their homeland, deposited them on these natural resource-free rocks, got rich off their labour, erased their culture and so we are left with theirs. Materialism. And now they have the gall to talk about unfair practices!

If we allow them to bully us it will never end.

Where is our new Shridath Rampaul? We need somebody to tell them the tale they pretend to have forgotten.

We are who we are because of them!

We live where we live because of them!

They have what they have because of us!

The only unfairness here is that they refuse to pay us what they owe! The very least they can do is to give us the wiggle room to stay alive!

25. We have no leadership on the regional front. We have Lilliputians who steep every thing they touch with political hogwash.

26. All they have to do is present the facts and the figures and see if they still have the gall to sanction us. I think an agreement could be made that we would only allow a certain amount into our offshore sector so as not to drain them too much. We could set limits. That would be fair.

27. The EU and OECD will continue to make it difficult for offshore jurisdictions. We will have to understand the consequences and diversify our business.

28. OSA comments on Barbados being black listed

“I refused to give the EU or the OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) any commitments. I got an opinion prepared for me by my attorney general who said that my position was justified. The EU has no jurisdiction over Barbados in respect of taxation matters and the correct approach has to be that Barbados should give no commitments to anybody about the tax policies the nation has.”
    The former finance minister said the Government of Barbados has placed itself on the blacklist by signing the taxation agreement with the European Union.

Arthur continued: “The position I held is the position that I believe in; that the OECD or the EU has any jurisdiction and that is a mistake to sign letters of commitment to an entity that you are not a member of in respect of something as fundamental as taxation. They put themselves in it and they would now have to find themselves out of it,” Arthur said.

He added the best approach would have been for Government to give no assurance to the European Union on their taxation policies.

He said: “That is what we did then, and we were on good legal grounds and perhaps I suppose I told David Simmons’s opinion to us as Attorney General then should be a document of the House when [Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley] speaks on this matter.”

29. On another issue to deal with Transparency and accountability
    It has been said over and over again by the opposition on the floors of Parliament
    This govt does not share any information dealing with the goverance of barbados until the last minute
    Mot Good

30. Serms as if Caswell Franklyn knew what was in the budget for the Poor when he said Mia Scares.

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Many of you and the inferior superior Dr Don Marshall Director of the Sir Arthur Lewis Centre for Economic Studies do not have one clue about the quantum of funding that the EU and its delegation control.

Ensuingly what obtains here is that we have a minister who recently has come to understand what National Indicative Programming means, AND HOW TO ACCESS THESE FUNDS

This is the problem with people sheeple and chvunts

People read and sensitize themselves about these mechanisms

Sheeple do not read but are herded into abattoirs

And chvunts get fvcked in their bottoms without grease for five years as part of austerity programs

While auntie gets $21 million for her externally sourced, but internally generated, cuntsultants