We are now in BERT Phase 3.  After the IMF’s recent assessment of the previous phases, the result of the BERT severe austerity program is foreseen – the BLP administration will meet the IMF’s targets.

To reduce government spending, the trend of laying-off persons will continue as planned.  To reduce the transfers to government corporations, we will be forced to overpay for services that we have already paid for many times over.  The operation will be successful – but the patient is unlikely to survive.

Our Members of Parliament are inflicted with an incurable disease whose symptoms continue to harm us.  We have become their perpetual patient on whom they operate.  It matters not how beneficial a program is to our health.  Once they have decided to target it for a political advantage, it must be rejected and we must lose its benefits.

Back in 2002, I was requested by the government, under the then BLP administration, to chair a group of some of the most highly qualified non-politically partisan experts from 25 professional associations.  For 3 months, we developed perhaps the most effective economic growth plan for Barbados.  It worked well for those who implemented it.  However, it had one vulnerability – political corruption.  The DLP appear to have entirely ignored the plan during their decade in office.

Since the plan was developed under the Owen Arthur led BLP administration, it was assumed that the current administration would use it now that an economic growth plan is desperately needed.  However, BERT publicly confirmed that they did not look at any such plan when they developed their severe austerity plan.  As if to confirm the incurable nature of their disease, they publicly confirmed that they will never look at it in the future.

Why would the current BLP administration refuse to even look at an excellent, workable and proven non-austerity home-grown economic growth plan designed specifically for Barbados, and instead embrace an IMF severe austerity plan that contains no effective economic growth initiatives whatsoever?  Why indeed.

It is finally beginning to dawn on some of them that when the patient dies, there will be no one left to applaud their achievement of meeting the IMF targets.  So they must find an economic growth plan from somewhere.  Unfortunately for us, the incurable nature of their disease dictates that they must ignore what they have already politicised.

The current administration acknowledged the critical need to improve the management of public services.  However, rather than actually improve their management, they have developed a public relations campaign where they must repeatedly mention “fit-for-purpose”, while laying off the very persons who can help them do just that.  That is not better management.

There is an international management standard called ISO 9001.  It works in public services across cultural boundaries.  It is desperately needed to improve the management of Barbados’ public services.

The customs department in El Salvador attracted typical complaints of delays, corruption, and significant abandonment of goods.  Once they implemented the ISO management standard, it was quickly transformed into the most modern customs department in South America, with significantly improved efficiency and almost no complaints.  Not a single employee was dismissed, even though many had worked in the Ministry of Finance for over 20 years and were over 50 years old.

The ISO philosophy is not ‘who is wrong’, but ‘what is wrong and correct it’.  Customer dissatisfaction is almost always a result of poor management, which can be corrected.  However, rather than properly manage our public workers, we are playing the lunatic by first sending them home and then searching for a management plan.

Barbados is a member of the ISO organisation, and the ISO 9001 international standard was developed for all nations, including ours.  So why are we the only nation on this planet to formally reject the ISO 9001 quality management standard?  Because the disease is incurable.  The BLP short-sightedly spent the entire election campaign ridiculing this excellent international management standard, and once they politicised it, we are to be automatically disqualified from its benefits.

The DLP, after consistent failure, appeared to have stumbled upon the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL), which was perhaps the fairest tax Barbados has ever had.  By contrast, VAT is by far, the most unfair tax we have ever had.  However, the NSRL was targeted as a political issue and the most gullible of us marched against one of the very few things that had actually benefited all of us.

The BLP and DLP have allowed their disease to be incurable for them by choice.  It compelled them to ridicule Solutions Barbados’ non-austerity policies that can only benefit Barbados.  Their disease can only remain incurable if their ideas are the only ones allowed to contend.  Tragically for us, their active supporters in the established media are doing themselves and all Barbadians a grave disservice by irresponsibly ensuring just that.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

81 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Incurable Disease”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

De ole man posted this elsewhere on this blog as a challenge to all Bajans

The E-Platform that de ole man is promoting wishes to offer itself under its PROOF OF COMPETENCY requirement

The platform proposes to employ 10 people at the end of 3 months once created

And 25 by 6 months

In fact, let me go further and do this

I will make this pledge to every Bajan – Help this campaign reach its target and the ole man and his grandson will “Adopt 10 Unemployed Youth in Any One of the Crime Communities”

I will show ALL OF THE MUGABE CREW HOW CRIME REDUCTION IS DONE

People want and need options and I will show Bajans how to make serious alternative inroads AGAINST YOUTH UNEMPLOYMENT and ultimately Crime where misguided youth BELIEVE THEY HAVE NO OPTIONS!

That is of course effing Barbadians SERIOUSLY WANTED CHANGE but, given all the signals and actions and all the lotta talk, few people seriously comprehend what is happening in this thug city, barring you few and you committed, WHILE BARBADOS BECOMES THE NEW JAMAICA

2. Dr.GP Hopefully this may help you to understand a little more…

THE GREAT AND ABOMINABLE “IDEOLOGY”

We NEED to UNDERSTAND the NATURE of the BEAST and His IDEOLOGY of TYRANNY and BONDAGE that PLAGUES US ALL…They are only Two Dogmas, Freedom or Tyranny and variances in-between!

What you Believe is your Religion… If you believe in Christ you Believe in Freedom… 2 Corinthians 3:17 “Where the Spirit of the lord is there is liberty”

https://biblepic.com/53/28859.jpg

Where People are Failing is that they are Refusing to Connect the Dots that Ideology of Socialism is the Counterfeit to the Lords Commandments. It is the Opposite of the Lord’s Plan of Happiness and Prosperity!

The Adversary’s Ideology from the Beginning of time has Morphed through the Centuries and in more recent times comes under the Guise of Communism, Marxism. Nazism, Socialism, Leftism, and Even Radical Islamism…Names only changes to suite the times, it all stems from the same Tree and Root System…

Remember Why Cain Killed his brother Abel? Cain Loved Satan more than God and listened to him for Power and Gain stemming from the Envy of wanting what did not belong to him!! Those same Teachings pretending to be charitable is “A Godless Conspiracy”, with the Intent to take Away Man’s Agency and Sovereign Rights Bequeathed to him by God at birth.

Socialism when it has run its course in Every Nation Does Not End Well, it Cannot, it Brings as its Fruit… Misery, Poverty, Violence, Extermination, Breakdown In Law And Order, and Disregard for Human Life etc. As in Venezuela, Germany as in Hitler’s National Socialist Party 10 Million Dead, Russia 30 Million Dead, China between 50 -70 Million Dead, Cambodia one in Four Persons killed …North Korea a Slave State!

By Following and being Faithful to Heavenly Fathers Plan of Happiness by keeping his Commandments we may have Joy and Happiness, Prosperity and FREEDOM.

Remember the verse before Introducing the Commandments which was Followed by the Spiritual Laws that ensure our Freedom which says…

Exodus 20
    And God spake all these words, saying…
    I am the LORD thy God, which have Brought Thee Out of the land of Egypt, Out of the House of bondage.

America is the last Free Frontier Left Standing IF she goes the Beast will have Total Control!

We Were Made To Be Free… The Opposite is Bondage and Tyranny!!…

This is what Democrats want for the USA

https://www.facebook.com/TheFederalistPapers/photos/a.112478365457075/2321910897847133/?type=3&theater

3. @William Skinner February 28, 2019 10:40 AM

Any third party that is prepared to put in some elbow grease will get some support.
    The people have grown tired of the BLPDLP and are prepared to at least listen.
    Al it calls for is VERY hard work.

Has it gotten harder or easier for third parties since the days of the NDP in the early 1990s?

4. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“I will make this pledge to every Bajan – Help this campaign reach its target and the ole man and his grandson will “Adopt 10 Unemployed Youth in Any One of the Crime Communities”

Go Piece…

5. @ Bajan in NY
    It’s politically easier now. The new parties just afraid to work consistently and persistently for five straight years.
    There is also the problem of financing and resources that they may not have or attract outside of the election period.
    You asked a very good question.

6. People want to embrace a third option but it must be seen as credible in their eyes.

7. The good people of Barbados in their infinite solomonic wisdom gave Mia full authority to change the Constitution and any law applicable to the country.Further, to introduce new laws such as removing the right to a pension for life of any and all parliamentarians and to lick and lock up the last cabinet of the Defunct Lowlifers Party aka the DLP.All you sad sacks who wishing destruction on the BLP had better take stock and recognize the extent to which the electorate felt comfort and placed faith in the message of Mia and her party of competent.30 love is no accident.It was the will of the majority.Nobody wants to hear from the DLP anymore nor is it likely that they want to hear from the malcontent Resolutions party.By the way where is Natlee.How come nobody pushing Natlee.

8. It seems that in an age of instant this and instant that, that the “third option” politicians are not prepared, it seems, to bend their backs and do the hard yards to be seen a credible to the electorate.

9. @Gabriel

Natlee has reverted to what she does best from all reports.

10. What she does best? What a sick mind.

11. Natlee has reverted to what she does best from all reports.

Q IS MIA THE WICKER AND PUDENDAL BITER DOING THE SAME?

12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dr. GP

No siree

But doan ask de ole man

Ask de married wuman Boyce who car get block in when de licks start and de police get called….

Heheheheh but you ent hear it from …

13. Last I saw Natlee she was ‘doing a number’ at a shop in Holetown where she manages a boutique or some such place.She was offended at big ups in big drives motoring to her shop and uplifting her product and just walking out to the Range Rover or Beamer.Natlle responded like Captain Morgan the pirate on a video with language only Bajan Patsy would out do.That was vintage Natlee cussing black is white.

14. I like when FC make some long posts.
    I get a chance to rest my eyes and exercise my fingers on my mouse’s wheel.

15. PIECE

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE DICTATOR BITING AND BEATING THE WOMEN SHE WICKING TOO?
    HOW YOU KNOW THIS?

WAS SOMEONE WATCHING MUH? (HER)

EXPLAIN CAUSE I AINT TOO BRIGHT, YA KNOW THE MYOPIA GOT MUH

I DONT DRINK RUM
    BUT I LIKE BRIMBLING IN DE RUM SHOP

16. @ Dr. GP

Looka how my fellow myope trying to get de ole man in chains.

Is it not enough that quod scripsi scripsi ? heheheheheheh where there is no fould there is no blame heheheheheh

But it ha been reported that…

@ Mr. William Skinner

William I had written a brief piece (no pun intended) in response to your reply to Bjan in NY

I seems to have disappeared but here is the jist of what i was suggesting as a response

People will be sort of slow to respond openly NOT BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT KEEN TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT INITIATIVE but because they are afraid to be “seen” or known

Take for example the Go Fund me initiative

I have 30K email of Bajans and could easily send out those email to solicit support.

So why dont i?

If you notice de ole man is solely concentrating inside the BU and the GoFundMe envelopes

Why is that?

Because any third party movement MUST BE SELF ACTUATING and people have to believe that their information IS SAFE

This is first and foremost BECAUSE THEY FEAR BEING BETRAYED and their information and affiliation being conveyed to the PARTY IN POWER and AS IS HAPPENING WITH THE BLP (and as happened with the DLP) they do not want to be victimized

https://i.imgur.com/vdQSP93.png

The goal of this campaign is very simple PEOPLE HAVE TO TRUST YOU!!

And you might well say that is really strange coming from de ole man concidering that

(a)the fact that the author of the EPlatform is “an unknown” heheheheheheh

(b)the fact that as an Anonymously Orchestrated platform it cannot disclose its design to the general public

But you know what William, every one of the readers EVEN THE MUGABEITES RECOGNIZE THAT if de ole man is so paranoid about his identity and that of de grandson, after a while dem going be equally sure dem can be confident dat I gine keep dem names secret.

Like you William.

Let me ask you this question.

I have said that i can employ 10 people 3 months after i set up the E-platform

10 young people.

10 YOUNG PEOPLE FROM THE HEART OF THE CRIME VILLAGES.

What does that mean to you a man who was in the NDP and was tasked with the Youth Portfolio? or wasnt that Martin Dacosta Bailey? de ole man forgets now, but let use examine this dispassionately

Mugabe has rehired Dottin to solve the Crime problem for $150,000 per year

De ole man is asking patriotic bajans for US $10,000 to facilitate a platform to employ 10 of the unemployed youth in one Hotspot of Choice.

Is that a reasonable offering to you?

Doan mind de rest of the naysayers THEY KNOW THAT DE OLE MAN WILL DELIVER and THAT is what they fear!!

Mugabe give away $21 million dollars and de menses still killing de menses.

De ole man looking at wunna bajans and saying to whu, 1,000 uh wunna spend a $20 bajan and create options for our youth and give a feller a chance at life as opposed to bleeding to death in London Road, and in St Phillip and all bout Barbados

Dem going do some sort of horse race Saturday and de ole man gine bet you dat bajans gine spend mo’ money pun de garrison pun horses with no spirit as opposed to sentient misguided beings

Watch as they gather to decry what de ole man has said WATCH DEM ALL

17. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here

18. PLT: You are a clever fellow, but still a very dangerous person.

Do you not remember when Ryan Straughn (now Minister in Finance) publicly stated that he will never share the BLP’s numerical analysis? Your response was not to demand that he release it to you. Instead, you received your orders and then only attacked me, demanding that we alone release ours publicly.

To try to damage a person’s professional integrity in a small island is truly reprehensible. Rarely do other professionals do that, but for those who worship a political party, it seems common. Political operatives are by far, the absolute worst of us. It is time for you to change your wicked ways.

As to not being a member of a political party, that no longer provides you with any cover. Your actions to try to destroy the professional reputation of another professional, whether by malice or not, is evidence enough.

When passionate about defending a position, some may be extremely rude and disrespectful. That is to be expected. But I have found over the past 3.5 years in politics, that even the most extreme yardfowl does not cross the boundary of trying to damage a professional career. That role is reserved for dangerous political operatives and you seem to be the exemplar.

If you are not being directed by the current political party, then the only other option, with the extreme hatred you have demonstrated as you trolled me these past few years, is that you are directed by satan himself. That never ends well. Better get out while you still can.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GRENVILLE

PLT AND PIECE AND I WILL SQUEEZE YOUR LOLO AND SEE THAT YOU DONT RUN THIS COUNTRY.

IF YOU CANT DECLARE YOUR SOLUTIONS PUBLICLY, WHY SHOULD THE PEOPLE ACCEPT YOUR ANONYMOUS OFFERINGS?.

DLP GONE!
    AND SOLUTIONS GONE BEFORE IT START!
    YOUR SOLUTIONS DEAD ON ARRIVAL GRENVILLE!

I WILL ASK DE PEDANTIC BRIMBLER TO COME AND DO AN EMERGENCY POST MORTEM ON SOLUTIONS! HE INTO DAT IN A BIG WAY, ALONG WID HIS SPECIALTY IN CERVICAL INJURIES AND UK APHASIA (what ever dat is)

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GRENVILLE

TALKING BOUT THE INCURABLE DISEASE, THE GRENVILLE PHILLIPS COLUMN DOES GIVE YA PROCTALGIA FUGAX!

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Dr. GP

I wrote this on another article but I am not sure that you will see it so…

I have been thinking about your suggestion which was TO RELEASE THE DOCUMENTS AND LET THE CARDS FALL AS THEY MAY…

I thought about it long and hard and will tell you what de ole man thought about and my reasoning

How does one “leak” information safely?

Several moons ago, before dem hack de ole man gmail account for piece uh de Rock Yeah Right people would write de ole man deah and give me various insights.

Like the attempted murder of Nazzim Blackett by the Royal Barbados Police Force and de Caribbean Export fiasco and other things dem

So dem set up de ole man and get access to dat information inlet.

Now while that was not good (my sources were given instructions to denude tings dem) it was not all bad.

De same authorities dat illegally compromised the account broke up the chain of ownership.

They locked de ole man out of de account but in so doing apprised de ole man AND GMAIL AUTHORITIES, about illegal access to a US based email provider

So dem break de law and nullify any claim dat Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right is the sole user and author of the electronic contents of that account.

You are with me so far?

But it did a few things as well regarding usernames and passwords and permitting people to continue to access accounts over long periods to establish a log. Of IP and ISP addresses heheheheh

And what does all that backstory mean Dr. GP?

These thieves need A LINK THAT CANNOT BE CONNECTED TO THEIR ILLEGAL, LOGGED ACTIONS! cause you can bet your last dollar this verbal dissent by people like you and me and WARU and others in the enunciated tag team IS hated and they are engaged every day in an attempt to crush it.

They know that once this E-platform is constructed that their REGIME OF DISINFORMATION IS OVER

They know that de ole man has the technology to bypass their clamps on the Internet Anarchy they are implementing AND THEY UNDERSTAND THAT KNOWLEDGE, as distributed by the internet is power.

They do not want citizens and voters to have access to information

Dat feller Goring telling me bout doing analysis on government policy

What a piece of shyte like if de sheeple in the street interested in interest arbitrage and stock options!!!

De ole man emotes change that is my skill. Or one of them heheheheh

So I had to make a decision about what I am going to send to you and where and how.

I don’t know if they have compromised your machine.

Have you a virtual machine? Do you follow BU ONLY VIA A VIRTUAL BROWSER?

Do you make sure not to download and read pdfs and document links from Barbados government sites and even here on BU?

If so then you have exposed yourself to keyloggers with government loggers and the lesser “site referrals” from BU unless BU unwittingly provides a link to a government document.

Do not doubt this conspiracist.

But I decided that I will pick you up on your offer and send you a purposely denuded document which, after you read it you will see what de ole man is talking about AS THE REAL AND PRESENT DANGER OF MUGABE

You can’t share it with anyone and once you read it, it will auto destruct once you advise me you are done reading it.

It will give you a real insight into these people and what they are doing with this country.

Send a message to the Honourable Blogmaster so that he can give you my new email and I will reach out to you afterwards.

My first contact will be a series of interrogations which you alone will know the responses to

If you fail those I will break off

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville
    “Do you not remember when Ryan Straughn (now Minister in Finance) publicly stated that he will never share the BLP’s numerical analysis?”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    No I do not. I called on all the political parties to release their numerical analysis… the DLP, the BLP, the UPP, and Solutions Barbados.

Next election I will make the same appeal. I think it is fundamentally dishonest to be asking the public for votes while hiding pertinent information from those voters.

Talking about hiding information from voters, I notice that you have hidden my comments as well as your responses and blocked me from contributing to our parallel discussion on Facebook. Really Grenville? Is your position that fragile that it cannot sustain public discussion in a civil manner? That is sad.

23. PLT

Are you suggesting it makes a mockery of political parties hanging a hat on being transparent and their committent to being a government elected to serve the people?

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David,
    It is but one of the many ways that political parties in Barbados make a mockery of being of service to the people.

25. If we understand Grenville’s argument he hangs his ‘political’ credibility on the code of conduct engineers must adhere to.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Engineers must get their calculations checked by other engineers.

27. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Is your position that fragile that it cannot sustain public discussion in a civil manner? That is sad.”

petty, petty…

that is why it was so satisfying to see Weatherhead take out his large dagger and bury it firmly in Grenville’s back…none of them are leadership or prime minister material…they are too vindictive and petty…a useless trait not suitable to be accepted by voters…and should definitely be rejected by all voters…nasty, vindictive, petty politicians are useless to the people.

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, and what code of conduct is it that engineers follow which is being trampled?

Forever and a day many folk with a professional reputation to safeguard or who dislike every aspect of their life or commentary taken apart and scrutinized have deliberately stayed away from politics…and rightly so.

It is difficult to have everyone second guess your ideas and proposals and on top of that question your integrity snd true motivations…but good heaveans that’s the life of a politician…from Adams to Barrow to St.John to Arthur at the top and various of their lieutenants were harshly questioned REPEATEDLY in the public square of ideas and opinionated adversaries…

Mr Phillips’ attitude to the demands that he scores his economic plans are ridiculous…he either gets out of the political kitchen or start cooking to suit the demands of those to whom he is selling the food!

It’s really quite simple…political acumen or rather success in politics is not defined by any engineering code of conduct…if that was the case then all political “structures” would be carefully vetted and built perfectly to and for purpose…and so too economic plans would be properly detailed!

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

PIECE

THANKS FOR YOUR TEACHING
    I HOPE THAT YOU CAN SOMEHOW EXPOSE THE BASTARDS PUBLICLY
    I DONT WANT TO KNOW AS MUCH AS I WANT ALL AND SUNDRY TO KNOW

I WILL BE RUNNING IN THE NEXT ELECTIONS AND WILL HANG MY ‘political’ credibility on the code of conduct DOCTORS must adhere to.

30. PLT dangerous?????? WTH! In what way is he dangerous? Is it by asking pertinent questions and telling the truth that he is dangerous???

Dangerous to WHOM?

When an engineer steps into the political arena he has to be prepared to answer hard questions and face some hard truths.

Here are some hard truths for Grenville.

As is my God-given creative talent I automatically give voices to the words I read. On this site EVERYBODY has a very distinctive voice when I read their submissions.

Grenville’s voice is one of a privileged, sanctimonious, petty person who does not even take the time to properly study the Bible he preaches from so nauseatingly often. As such he often takes it out of context and misses the true point. His voice is weak and childish. Not appealing at all.

Grenville’s first submission to this site was greeted by many with bewilderment. As mentioned by one reader, it had the depth of a sixth form project. Still, some of us offered encouragement but gently prodded for the broad framework of his “simple solutions”.

Grenville is yet to step up from his juvenile offerings and has now added juvenile behaviour to his repertoire.

You cannot blame the electorate if they stick with the devils they know.

31. Good one, GP! What the hell did that comment mean???????

Leave a Reply to Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIghtCancel reply