The blogmaster can recall that in 2010 former Minister of Health Donville Inniss announced a plan to change the nursing program at the Barbados Community College (BCC).  The objective was to ensure that Barbados responded to a shortage of nurses.

Who remembers the public outcry when nurses from the Philippines and elsewhere were recruited at the QEH? The underlying reason for the shortage was that student nurses were failing the Regional Examination for Nurse Registration. Inniss indicated  that a committee would be setup to come up with recommendations to address the issue.

Some of the recommendations reported in the media:-

• Admission requirements and student intake – no more than 80 students should be admitted annually over the next three years. This would be reviewed at the end of the period.
  • Admission should be considered at three levels – academic requirements, entrance level/proficiency test, and aptitude assessment.
  • All tutors should participate in clinical activities, and a comprehensive examination should be reinstated.
  • The Nursing Council of Barbados has evaluated the General Nursing Programme and has submitted its report to stakeholders,” said Inniss as he listed the changes.

Source: Nation newspaper – Changes for nurse training

In February 2019 Minister of Health Jefferey Bostic was reported in the press that he will be asking for a meeting with the Minister of Health to review the course work at BCC because of a high fail rate by nurses completing the regional examination. The minister’s position is supported by the following news column with a call to recruit nurses from overseas.

The question to our planners is – with the heavy investment in education why do we have to recruit nurses from overseas? What is so difficult about ensuring the nursing syllabus at BCC is aligned with that of the Regional Examination for Nurse Registration?

QEH to look abroad for nurses

Henderson Pinder, Director of Nursing Services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

(FP)

personnel are coming from that institution, Pinder said.

“The Barbados Community College and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital have a partnership in which Barbados Community College offers aspiring nurses with the educational framework to pursue a career in nursing, and the QEH provides BCC nursing students and graduates with internship and job opportunities.”

“However, although many nursing students go on to attain a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing from the Barbados Community College, many fail to pass Regional Examination for Nursing Registration (RENR). This is a matter which we need to urgently rectify to increase the number of registered nurses available on island.”

Chairman of the QEH’s Board of Management, Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland said: “We also recognize that we retain nurses who work at the QEH by making them feel more valued, recognizing their contribution and addressing matters such as salary, conditions of work, benefits and staff amenities. The Government has committed to providing for upward mobility of nurses as specialist nurses and the QEH will be working closely with the Barbados Nurses Association and Nursing Council to achieve this goal.”

Given the shortage of nurses, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital plans to look overseas.

Director of Nursing Services at QEH, Henderson Pinder, said it was necessary to ensure the continued, safe, patientcentred delivery of nursing services, especially in the Accident and Emergency (A& E) Department.

The need to look outside for nurses has been compounded by those interested in the profession but failed examinations at the regional level after successfully gaining their Bachelor of Science degrees in nursing from the Barbados Community College (BCC).

“Unfortunately, there are not enough critical care trained nurses in Barbados to meet the QEH’s staffing needs. As such, in an effort to fill the establishment, we’ve expanded the search for critical care trained nurses to other jurisdictions,” Pinder told the Sunday Sun.

Nurses are being recruited from St Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada and the Philippines.

Improve quality

Pinder noted the QEH has been continuously trying to improve the quality of nurses, and recently 29 completed the highly-rated Canadian Triage Acuity Scale (CTAS) training programme. A second cohort of nurses is to benefit from similar training .

In spite of the shortage, the QEH continues to maintain standards which allows it to deal with the dozens of emergency cases which flow through the heavily trafficked A & E Department, Pinder said.

“The nurses of the Accident and Emergency Department are able to provide an excellent standard of care despite the large number of persons who present to the department,” Pinder noted. “In instances when the number of persons who require care overwhelms the A& E’s staff complement, additional staff is deployed to the department and various other surge staffing measures are employed. Even on these occasions, the care given to our patients meets and surpasses the standards of practice for patient care.”

The lack of nurses on an annual basis casts the spotlight on the facility’s ability to draw from the BCC special programme, as it is clear not enough Fail exam

By Barry Alleyne barryalleyne @nationnews.com @barry_nationbb

139 responses to “Nursing Program at BCC Falling Short”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 21, 2019 7:53 AM “In the UK all trainee nurses must have GCSE English and Maths among other things. If they do not they are sent on the necessary course.”

Sensible solution.

Perhaps there is a need to add Biology and or Chemistry as well?

2. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David “The blogmaster can recall that in 2010 former Minister of Health Donville Inniss announced a plan..”

Announcing a plan is one thing. It is real-real easy to make announcements.

But now to the hard part: Was the plan actually implemented?

And if so what has been the outcome?

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@ks February 21, 2019 7:51 AM “Should really be named Harrison’s Secondary School and Queen’s Secondary School…”

In other places schools like Harrison College and Queen’s College are know as “College Schools” or as “Collegiate Institutes”, that is secondary schools whose mission is to prepare their students for college/university. Typically about 90+% of students at such schools proceed to university.

4. Through one mouth them cuss the changes to the Constitution to appoint diaspora people to the Senate, then through the other talk bout utilising the skills, talent and knowledge of the diaspora. #just4theogazdfraud

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill February 21, 2019 8:32 AM “Anyone having experienced some medical treatment in so called first world countries would readily notice the difference in attitude.”

Actually my children and I have experienced medical treatment in a first world country, specifically Canada, and in Barbados, and we have been treated competently, and courteously in both places. In Barbados I especially commend the staff of QEH, the Maurice Byer Polyclinic, the Warrens Polyclinic, the Winston Scott Polyclinic and the Marjorie Taitt/Black Rock Polyclinic. These polyclinics all deliver excellent child health care.

The QEH fixed me up proper 2 1/2 years ago. Abdominal surgery at 6 p.m., discharge by lunchtime next day. Perfect outcome. Extremely courteous and competent staff.

But I am not one to “hog-up” people.

6. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon February 21, 2019 8:35 AM “then Secondary Schools can start offering students Associate Degrees?”

Actually in the United States many secondary schools offer the “Advanced Placement Program” and the “CLEP” program through which secondary school students can earn some university level credits.

https://apstudent.collegeboard.org/home
    College Credit and Advanced Placement
    One great benefit of taking AP Exams is the opportunity to earn college credit and placement. Nearly all colleges and universities in the United States grant credit and placement for qualifying AP scores. You can save money and get a head start on your degree when you enter college with credit you’ve already earned through AP.

https://clep.collegeboard.org/earn-college-credit/clep-basics
    CLEP (the College-Level Examination Program®) offers 33 exams that cover intro-level college course material. With a passing score on one CLEP exam, you could earn three or more college credits at more than 2,900 U.S. colleges and universities.

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 21, 20199:04 AM “In the 1950s/60 Barbados provided the UK’s NHS with trainee nurses.”

Barbados is still doing so. Just last month I heard an advertisement were a British company is recruiting for nurses in Barbados.

So when I saw David’s article, I scratched my head, because we are exporting our (best?) nurses to a first world country, while the others remain behind?

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie February 21, 2019 10:00 AM “Most sensible contribution so far.”

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sargeant February 21, 2019 10:47 AM “…put his foot down in a “my way or the highway” move with the result that many nurses retired or quit..”

Sometimes the political class fail to understand that they do not own anybody, or anybody’s labour. They don’t seem to understand that massa dun de’d. And if people are treated badly, they will vote with their feet.

10. @ Simple, you are not one to go around ” Hogging up people” of course not, instead you go with that head bowing pleading and begging attitude like your tax dollars not at work. I’ve seen you bastards, talk shit in the villages but then go into a bank, hospital or some other government office and act like old dummies. You see, in this way you’re not a threat to the fool. Why don’t you try next time presenting yourself to these people the way you do here and see what happens. I’m sure you’ve never seen the customs officers at the airport performing their slave and master routine to the white tourist and to some old black lady like yourself wanting to know why you have so many panties. You think I haven’t noticed how most of you go into your docile, I’m stupid routine just to get by, hold your god damn head up. At least I return to my big ass house with my dignity intact. If that fails then I jump on jet blue…#kissmyass.

11. @ Whitehill,

You have a point. On visiting Barbados I used to wait unto I arrived at Grantley Adams and buy my duty free booze, until one customs officer asked why I wanted so much liquor. I told him I just wanted to spend my money n Barbados, he objected and I took back all of my alcohol. I will never buy duty free in Barbados again. If I want drinks will buy at Gatwick or while in Barbados.

12. SS’s husband rushed her to the QEH thinking one of the kids was due, the nurse asked her how dilated she was. she said were both over the moon.
    They had caught me with over 50 lbs of beef tenderloin on one trip lucky I had got one of those clod licenses

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Lawson, you really need to give up the drinks.

14. @Sir Fuzzy

See the following story about the graduates of the SJPP.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/12/poor-grade/

“Ninety-eight per cent of this year’s graduates left the programmes at the institute with unit certificates rather than full graduation diplomas because they were unsuccessful in some parts of the courses of study.

Principal Ian Drakes told the graduation ceremony that 305 fulltime students graduated, but of this class, “299 have been unsuccessful in some components of their programmes, and so are awarded unit certificates for complements passed”.

But the Pine institution is confronting the challenges head-on, introducing during the last school year, a remedial foundation course which the principal reported has yielded “positive” results so far.

He explained, “The high number of unit certificates presented this evening does reflect a dire need for this type of intervention for our learners as partial completion of programmes indicates students are not grasping or completing some of the minor literacy and numeracy-based courses.”

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill February 22, 2019 2:01 AM “Simple, you are not one to go around ” Hogging up people” of course not, instead you go with that head bowing pleading and begging attitude like your tax dollars not at work. I’ve seen you bastards, talk shit in the villages but then go into a bank, hospital or some other government office and act like old dummies.”

That wasn’t me. Once the QEH’s service was less that it should be and not only did they hear from me in person, but in wrting as well, with my real-real name, address, telephone numbers and email addresses.

In the immediate family, no further than second cousin: 3 registered nurses, one registered nurse sister in law, one registered nurse niece, one medical records big honcho, one anesthesist, one medical laboratory big honcho, one GP. Some of them work/have worked in Barbados, North America, Europe and Asia.

Lolll!!!

De got de medical wirl on lockdown. Some ‘o dem probably look after you whether you receive medical here here or anywhere in the world, except Australia and South America. I iz de onlliest dunciest one in de fambly.

Went into the Barbados Revenue Authority last month and this month and paid my taxes. So “no” I don’t beg. I expect excellent service because I know that I AM PAYING for that excellent service. That’s all, and typically I get it without having to beg or to be rude to the staff. If I don’t get it I complain in writing, with my name, address, phone numbers and email addresses. You know how uncivil servants are surprised when people complain in writing. BUT most of the staff ARE CIVIL servants.

The beauty of being old is that you don’t have to be afraid of anybody. What are they going to do? Kill me? And how would that be any different to the killing I know that Mother Nature has in store for me anytime now. As WARU would say “tick-tock”. Mother Nature WILL kill me soon anyhow, and I am not afraid of her either. When she ready she will do wha’ she have to do. I have had a very good life. I have told my children already, don’t weep for me.

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

You see, I have NEVER believed that nonsense that the political class likes to talk about “free” this and “free” that.

I know that we the taxpayers are PAYING for everything, including the fancy salaries, perquisites, vehicles and pensions of the political class.

I understand that WE PAY THEM.

I understand that the political class can’t take home a pay cheque unless WE THE TAXPAYERS front up WE MONEY.

So I am always courteous to public servants, but NEVER obsequious.

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.havergal.on.ca/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIr6SQ2q_P4AIVy1YNCh2Z3geUEAAYASAAEgK8IfD_BwE

A secondary school in Ontario called Havergal College, so it looks like those Canadians have it ass backwards too.

And do you know that the American place called MIT means Massachusetts of Technology? Not a word about university in its name, but some people tell me that it is an excellent university. The same with CalTech, VirginiaTech etc.

It is not the name. It is what the place actually does.

So if BCC is doing its best with the theoretical nursing program, and our nursing students need more hands on clinical experience, then the solution is to provide that clinical practice, NOT to pay a foreign university to do nursing training for us more expensively. Clinical practice REQUIRES patients. There are only X number of patients in any community. Can anybody tell me if the foreign university is planing to bring in patients?

Look I gone.

Feeling glad that Mother Nature has the inevitable in store for me sooner rather than later.

18. Mr. Whitehill

You have described the customer’s response to the level of service in Barbados perfectly.

Barbadians complain about the FLOW’s services, yet they find all types of excuses to keep using that service provider. The banks keep increasing fees for deposits, withdrawals, for not withdrawing, and Scotia Bank has even gone as far as charging customers a $10 fee change cheques if they don’t have an account at that bank.

One afternoon I went to ESSO Black Rock for gasoline and saw 5 attendants sitting and talking. When a white couple drove in ALL of them ran to their car, then one came to me afterwards. I told her not to bother, I’ll go to the next gas station.

I made a comment on this forum about seeing a Chefette employee “hog up” a customer. One wise contributor responded by “saying” the low wages Chefette pays give employees the right to treat customers as they please.

I recall about 3 years ago Republic Bank in St. Vincent announced they were increasing user fees and the next morning “droves” of Vincentians lined up at the bank to withdraw their money, causing them to rescind the policy.

Police, Immigration and Custom Officer are extremely unmannerly…….but the fact they are “in charge” seems to intimidate us, so we accept their hostility.

As it relates to duty free shopping at the ports of entry, to be fair to Customs Officers, Customs regulation allows travellers to “bring in,” duty free, ONE (1) litre of spirits and ONE (1) litre of wine. Sometimes COs would use their discretion, especially if the traveller is known to them…….. otherwise, they enforce the law. Therefore, the CO is within his/her rights not to allow amounts of liquor in excess of the regulations.

19. “Lawson, you really need to give up the drinks.”

SirSimpleSimon

Good one, SirSimple

I could hear Andrew Mason now…….. WHAT a magnificent shot….. and the ball goes over the boundary for a huuuuuugggee 6?

Hahahahahahaha!

20. GP,

I have been getting that suggestion from a few people lately but these parties are not for me. I do not have what is required to form my own party. I see myself more as an activist than a politician.

Besides, I wouldn’t enjoy having my skeletons taken out of the closet, embellished and paraded around on the national stage.

P.S. Why don’t you try contacting the authorities in writing with your analysis? You never know how your contribution could make a difference. LOL.

But seriously though…….do it.

21. @ Sir Simple, very often you remind me why I’ll never get married nor live with again. You talk too much shit sometimes. Furthermore, why must everything be from your personal experiences? How many times my heart hurts at the way we black bajans treat each other, I’ve had a few good experience, but for the most I’m usually appalled at the way we go after each other. Look here Simple, I’ve had mostly not too bad an experiences when stopped by white Cops, must I now infer that the killing of black men by these same cops is a figment of your imagination? #blacklifematter. All this month I’ve been fooping a white woman, she like me her friends are ok with me; does that mean there are not some racist white bastards out there? BTW, when yuh coming fuh de apple pie and home made ice cream?

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@whiteHill February 22, 2019 9:32 AM “@ Sir Simple, very often you remind me why I’ll never get married nor live with again.”

Fortunately for you I am not looking to marry nor live wid, so you are safe from me.

Lolll!!!

Enjoy your retirement.

But agreed. We need more courtesy in our interactions with each other. Courtesy costs nothing. We don’t need a BERT program, nor a foreign consultant to teach us courtesy.

Hire a few Bajan grannies as courtesy consultants. We would do it for $5,000 USD per month, deposited to our foreign bank accounts.

23. white hill careful you dont get caught between that white woman and one of her friends you may get crushed.I am sure there is a lot off pie and icecream being eaten if its the usual size pod women you fellas seem to go for.Some advice stick to buffets.

24. @Lawson, so many years abroad observing you white guys I’ve picked up a few things, I don’t put my hat where my hands can’t reach. Thus, my interest in Simple Simon, she’s a skinny old woman I can ”rinse her out” any day.

25. whitehall leave the old stuff alone , they usually are the crazy cat ladies you hear about, look bob kraft billionaire still gets the young asian stuff for between 59 and 89 bucks just outside jupiter so why waste your time on the ones you may have to pay for her dentures or pacemaker. Ya gotta wonder though, why these rich guys do the hugh grant thing …it almost never works out except for maybe prince andrew or Allen dershowitz

26. @ Lawson,

It is cheaper to outsource love, according to this reasoning. The death of morality.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 22, 2019 5:14 PM “It is cheaper to outsource love.”

Shhhh.

Don’t say that I told you, but what those fellas talking about got NUFFIN’ at all to do with love.

Which is why when they were on BU writing nonsense, I was at Agrofest having GOOD, CLEAN fun with the grands.

True LOVE.

28. Dr. Cheryl Weekes just explained that although BCC has a less than admirable pass rate at the first setting, it appears at the second sitting there is a high success rate. This refers to the Associate Program. The Bsc results will be known in October.

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

david
    i gave the reason for that in my first post
    the current students are our third or fourth tier girls who in days gone by would be picking pond grass
    these results are expected this does not mean that they can not learn on the wards like the old time nurses used to do
    bringing in people from here there and God knows where is not the answer as many other factors are involved

bringing in an overseas nursing school wiil not help either
    how will an overseas nursing school do better than the BCC teachers with our third or fourth tier girls ?
    why do we think that everything drom overseas is always better?

30. The government as we have heard is consulting with ROSS. It was also revealed that unlike other countries that submit candidates ready to pass BCC will submit all who are eligible to sit. It seems there is rationalizing required GP. She said the pass rate is 85% at the second sitting. Also interesting is CXC has taken over the examination with pass mark increased to 60 from 50. Subject to correction.

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

The government as we have heard is consulting with ROSS.
    WHY THE HELL DOES ROSS GET INTO OUT NURSING BUSYNESS?
    ARE THERE NO BAJANS IN BIM THAT CAN THINK OR LEAD OR THINK IN NURSING?
    I GUESS SOME MONEY WILL BE PASSING.
    WE HAVE BEEN PRODUCING NURSES LONG BEFORE THE ADVENT OF ROSS

It was also revealed that unlike other countries that submit candidates ready to pass BCC will submit all who are eligible to sit.
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT BCC SUBMITS ALL WHO HAVE FINISHED THEIR COURSE, WHEREAS OTHER COUNTRIES PRUNE THEIR CANDIDATES BEFORE SUBMITTING THEM TO THE REGIONAL EXAMS?

It seems there is rationalizing required.

WHAT rationalizing IS required ? .

She said the pass rate is 85% at the second sitting.
    DONT YOU THINK THAT THAT IS REASONABLE? STUDENTS WHO CAN REACH 85% AFTER A SECOND CHANCE MIGHT INDICATE IMPROVEMENT AND SOME PROGRESS

Also interesting is CXC has taken over the examination with pass mark increased to 60 from 50.
    OK 60 OR 50 IS JUST A NUMBER LOL
    IN SOME SCHOOLS 60 IS HONOURS AND 65 IS DISTINCTION LOL
    IT ALL DEPENDS ON HOW YOU SCORING LOL.

32. @GP

Yes to your question about submissions by BCC to sit the exam.

The other stuff is the Principal giving her explanations to questions posed.

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THAT BEING THE CASE, WHY ARE THEY LAMENTING AND COMPARING THE RESULTS THEN?

IF THE GIRLS PASS OUR EXAMS AT BCC—-WHICH WILL BE MORE RIGID THAN ANY AMERICAN EXAMS– LET THEM WORK. THEY HAVE NOT FAILED.

AS WE INCREASE THE NUMBERS ON THE WARDS WE WILL GRADUALLY ALSO CAUSE THE STANDARDS TO INCREASE TOWARDS WHAT IT WAS BEFORE…..AS THE BEST WILL TEACH THE REST…….HOPEFULLY

IT SEEMS THAT YOU HAVE DONE THE SERIOUS WORK REQUIRED AND LACKING IN THE SO CALLED JOURNALISTS WHO FIRST REPORTED THIS AS A FIASCO

IT DOES NOT SEEM THAT THINGS ARE SO BAD OR THAT ALL IS LOST

WE OUGHT TO COMMEND THE BCC TEACHING TEAM THEN

34. @ Simple Simon,

Why do you abbreviate, and distort, quotes, or is this a BU habit?

35. @GP

There is improvement needed but we have to compare apples with apples based on what we heard this evening from the principal.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster that 85% pass rate is a stunning stat… assuming that all who are eligible are allowed to re-sit and there is no filtering of some selected group….but based on the first sitting ~ 13% (4/31 was mentioned) pass it a great positive!

That being, it shows that the young nurses bring a greater awareness/skill to their follow- on test taking and learn effectively from their past mistakes…a plus in medicine surely.

But negatively it beggars the question from the original debate: why is there such a disconnect between course work/prep and the initial exam! Just as surely that they learnt from their errors if five times as many students can pass the re-sit then significantly more than 13% can be passing on first try with similiar tigorous effort/skill/awareness seemingly exhibited on second try!

Nonetheless, the BCC officials must be aggressively addressing those ‘unhealthy’ original stats.

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

it’s a great positive and vigorous…. corrections!

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austn March 5, 2019 5:39 PM “@ Simple Simon, Why do you abbreviate, and distort, quotes, or is this a BU habit?”

Nothing at all to do with BU.

100% to do with me.

39. On 24 August 2014 a CNN iReport claiming intentional suppression of data relating to 340% increased risk of autism among specific populations of African-American boys following MMR vaccinations went viral. The story seemed to disappear mysteriously, further fueling the notion that an intentional coverup was underway.
    The idea that vaccines lead to autism is not a new conspiracy theory, nor is it a particularly uncommon one. A now heavily discredited study published in the medical journal Lancet in 1998 planted a seed of fear about vaccine safety; and despite efforts to counteract the widespread concern among worried parents, public health officials continue to encounter growing public resistance to vaccination. And the CNN iReport in question was based on a video which featured William Thompson, a senior researcher at the CDC, seemly “confessing” to anti-vaccinationist Brian Hooker about a coverup at the CDC and included material such as a claim by Dr. Andrew Wakefield (who in 1998 published a fraudulent research paper claiming a link between MMR vaccine and the appearance of autism and has since been barred from practicing medicine in the UK) asserting that the results of a study proving a link between autism and MMR (measles, mumps, and rubella) vaccinations had been “hidden” by the CDC:(Quote)