The government has introduced a new format to debating the 2019 Appropriations Bill. Ministers of the respective ministries and support staff will be questioned by members of parliament. It is early days how the new format will improve government, however, it must be said that hearing directly from government officials is a refreshing change from the annual humdrum of ministers spouting tired talking points.

Follow the discussion here:

299 responses to “Appropriation Bill and Estimates 2019 Debate”

1. @sirFuzzy

A good guess is that the cards were probably stored in a filing room somewhere and the manufacturer couldn’t guarantee the quality of performance.

2. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ David February 19, 2019 7:30 PM

I can see that clearly happening. As in the movie entitled “Finding Nemo” we are looking “For Hope”

tsk tsjk

3. I guess it would be too much to ask you to learn how to write a proper sentence????????? Ten year old children write way better than you do.

And do a better analysis.

You do nothing but come here call some names, call people some names, one thing all the time in a barnyard chorus..

NO ANALYSIS. NO SUBSTANCE.

Just “COCKADOODLE DO!”

P.S. I am not trying to convince you, bird brain. Others who have more than a bird brain have already been convinced. Ask Enuff!

4. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ TheOGazerts February 19, 2019 7:25 PM

Frustration is a potent force. We may be so frustrated with the duopoly offerings that “any tom dick and harry” maybe elected to the HOA. 3rd partly candidates included

Just saying

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“It is becoming quite obvious that Mia & her cabinet are unqualified/unable to run this country, hence consultants are now running this country.
    So what do we need a bloated cabinet & PM for?
    What purpose are they serving?”

It is as plain and visual as day, but the blind are trying to convince us otherwise….

6. Poor Donna,want to critcize but cannot take any too bad yardfowl, i see right through you.Tell me are we in school,i am analysing the entire tag team especially you to show how ridiculous you all are.Therrfore as long as it angers you i will continue unless the blogmaster states otherwise.However i will state this the revamped estimates based on feedback seems to be a positive for this Government.

7. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@TheOGazerts February 19, 2019 7:25 PM

The MoT Duguid may have hinted that bus fares may be on the increase by 1.50 or 2.00. But a proposal is definitley before the cabinet.

Moving bus fares to 4.00 will be a bitter pill to swallow for those that need to use the bus exclusively. If you are unfortunate to require 20 bus rides in a five day work week you looking at a $80.00 budget or roughly $352.00 a month for a 22 working day month. The excess in bus fares could easily pay a BWA monthly water bill payment.

Just thinking

8. I see I have at least made you TRY to analyze something. But that is not analysis. Just fluff. The sort that feathers produce.

An annoyance. Like the stray fowl cock that sometimes shits in my yard. If he angered me he would be dead. But he is just a minor annoyance so he’s lives to shit another day.

That’s what you remind me of. That stray fowl cock.

9. And now back to IMPORTANT MATTERS.

10. Would it be aaking too much of government to have assembled a local team of consultants at a much lower wage having a built in recovery for fiscal prudence to paying govt taxes
    Right now consultants like White Oaks would be drawing huge sums all of which would be deposited in some international bank
    Whiteoaks cannot change or regulate IMF rules and policies which are formulated for govt to pay debt owed
    This charade of many hands make for light work hold in its hands a hang mans noose tied around the necks of barbadians

11. Welfare to get 3 million more
    Consultants 21 million more

Case closed.

12. “If Mia keeps sending you, nameless headless #1 and Enuff out, I will quit the team.”

TheOGazerts

I’m a bit surprised (and disappointed) that you dropped this “paranoid, mentally deranged, first class idiot, appallingly ignorant bookkeeper, intellectual fraud and BLP stool pigeon” off the team with you, Lorenzo and Enuff.

And you know it’s the norm for the “nameless headless #1” of the other to include me in the team.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

“Poor Donna you are right fowl shit for a Dem yardfowl and pooch licker just right for you.As i told you you are out of your league, when it comes to me as i have been arond politics too long for you to fool me about not dtill being a Dem yardfowl carry that to the tag team.”

Lorenzo

I think you should be a bit more careful how you respond and don’t let anger throw you off track.

When I first read the above comment and compared it with comments written by ac/Angela Cox/Angela Skeete/Mariposa prior the last year’s general election……

………..I could have sworn it was her who wrote that contribution and immediately thought she switched allegiance from the DLP to the BLP.

However, when I saw your name, I thought perhaps you and her use the same consultant or a consultant from the same firm.

13. Somebody got jokes 🙂
    You mention them, they complain
    You don’t mention them and they still complain
    You just cannot win 🙂

14. Enuff

In 9 months your party the BLP has been perfect and transparent.

Imagine that our next door island Trinidad the Prime Minister dismissed a Minister who brought a known drug lord from his constituency to a function at the President’s house.

While you have in Barbados 5 of the biggest drug lords and Freddie Hill Promoter a well known drug trafficker invited to Parliament at a function by the Prime Minister and BLP Government.

My my my.

Trinidad & Tobago News
    Trinidad PM: Accused gang bosses can bid for contracts
    By Staff Editor 19 h ago

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley
    (Trinidad Guardian) Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley says if he acts un­fair­ly against in­di­vid­u­als who have not been con­vict­ed of crim­i­nal ac­tiv­i­ty he will be in breach of his oath of of­fice.

Speak­ing to re­porters in Moru­ga yes­ter­day, Row­ley said if such per­sons are en­gag­ing in crime the po­lice must take ac­tion.

“At the end of the day, those of us who hold the post that I hold, we do some­thing that none of you have to do in this coun­try, ex­cept for Bar, those on the Ju­di­cia­ry, is to swear the oath of of­fice: to act with­out fear or favour, with­out mal­ice or ill will,” Row­ley said.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2019/news/regional/trinidad/02/19/trinidad-pm-accused-gang-bosses-can-bid-for-contracts/

15. “Moving bus fares to 4.00 will be a bitter pill to swallow for those that need to use the bus exclusively.”

SirFuzzy

I hold the opinion that the Transport Board’s demise began in 1976 when, prior to the general elections and as an elections gimmick, Barrow “abolished” the stage fare system and reduced bus fares to 75¢ island wide.

The reality is government cannot continue to subsidize bus fares. The rate of $2 island wide is unsustainable, especially if you take into consideration TB’s operating expenses have been steadily increasing over the years. This means government, through increase taxes or subsidies, has to make up the short fall.

The owners of private PSVs have been advocating for an increase in bus fares…. and justifiably so. Their operating expenses have also steadily increased over the years…….and unlike TB, they are not allowed duty free concessions or government subsidies…. and even with the reduction in road taxes for commercial vehicles, their taxes are much higher than what TB pays for an omnibus.

Interestingly, there is another reason why there must be an increase in bus fare.

Remember, in December 2018, the Transport Board advertised an “Invitation for Bids” for the supply of e-buses for the supply of a fleet of electric buses, together with the requisite charging stations, on a REVENUE-SHARING basis.

+++++++++++++++++++
    The arrangement to be put in place will require that: –

The Barbados Transport Board breaks even and budget transfers from Central Government be phased out.

The cost and risk of the acquisition the electric buses be borne solely by the bidder.

The bidder has adequate equity and resources to absorb shocks to revenue or increased cost without defaulting on the arrangement.

Under the arrangement, the partner is expected to: –

Provide between 120 to 180 electric buses within 12 to 18 months on the signing of the contract and solely on the basis of the requirements stated above and in conformity with the technical requirements as defined in the specification sheet.

Conduct all necessary due diligence and negotiations with the Barbados Light and Power company with respect to the timeline, cost of charging stations and electricity rates.

The scope of the arrangement also includes providing technical inputs related to battery and battery management system data required for the design of electric vehicle chargers and providing support and resources in works related to battery management system interfaces etc., during the commissioning of electric vehicle chargers.
    ++++++++++++

This arrangement is essentially a private sector/TB partnership, where it seems as though the successful “bidder” is expected to take the majority of the risk involved.

“Bidders” have to “furnish, along with its bid, a letter of understanding, supported by a Board Resolution pledging unconditional and irrevocable financial support for the execution of the contract by the bidder in case of award,”……….

……….. and “provide proof of its ability to finance the acquisitions and to withstand any shocks in revenue or increased cost.”

Under these terms and conditions, it is highly unlikely that the partner would want to operate in circumstances where bus fare remains at $2.

16. Man, you like you en familiar wid sarcasm……yuh.

17. CORRECTION: bus fare was reduced to 25¢ island wide.

18. Understood that many services which had applied low fees cannot be accommodated in 2019
    However expecting increase in fare also goes with a responsibilty by govt to having quality service at hand
    What this govt has shown so far is its abilty to play the role of cow tonguing to their Masters the IMF while not giving a rats a.ss of concern about the people who gave them their trust
    How many times in the past months have govt offered any relief for the citizens
    After all them taxes and people being retrenched where in the hell is govt expecting people to find extra money to do more

19. @AC
    in a single sentence you have summed up the average Bajan…”while the people sit in waiting with hands longed out asking “what about us”
    Those folks will always sit and wait. And whatever is done will not be enough, they deserve more.

20. Sometimes de ole man wonders where wanna people does come from and what de beadwork wanna does read to enrich wunnaselves.

There is a “format” in interrogation that informs on this format fiasco

So de ole man going try to enlighten wanna here by relying on some Internet information which I have cut and paste.

“..An interview is a conversation intended to elicit information. Interviews are generally non accusatory…”

What Mugabe is going to be doing is conducting INTERROGATIONS

“…An interrogation is the process by which suspects
    are questioned in regards to their involvement
    in the activity that gave rise to the investigation…”

The purpose of this exercise IS TO INSTITUTE AN ENVIRONMENT OF FEAR.

Every one of these persons who are going to be coming before the Red Council are in fact being put under serious pressure and subjected to a Regime of FEAR.

During these interrogations, these public servants can expect to be subjected to a series of questions WHILE UNDER CLOSE OBSERVATION OF THE REGIME MEMBERS and Mugabe

These are in fact duplicates of the Public Denunciations the Khmer Rouge effected against the millions of Cambodians that they put to death.

Bajans IN TV LAND watching these FIASCO interrogations are all unwitting witnesses to the implementation of a national BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU PROGRAMME.

Much like in the French Revolution, we can expect to see the interrogations become heated, where there are persons that the regime wants to discredit, LIKE EVIDENCE GATHERING IN A COURT CASE, where the fiascos become accusations against the multiple suspects WHO THE REGIME WANTS TO FIRE.

Sheeple who are new to these theatrics will be sucked into the hype totally unaware of the overarching design of this structure denunciation and assignation of blame to the subjects of the Mugabe Regime.

What is happening is that the digital evidence of each citizen is being gathered during these publicized Interrogations.

Additionally, the open scenes of these interrogations will discombobulate the bajans being interviewed and pretty soon we will have a Public Service so neutered that it will be impossible to have anyone with a backbone to stand up against Mugabe.

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Even if you do not like Prime Minister Rogue-Works, which the SSS can raise her hand and say, I do not like or trust the rogue that is Mia Mottley, I have to give her credit for coming up with this change in the estimate debates. What is quite obvious to me is the quality of the discussion regarding the quantifying reasons put forth to justify the various ministries and departments need for certain resources. it amuses me how ministers cannot stick to questions ask but goes off on a rambling tantrum of utter irrrelevancy. Anyway these are just petty issues and I believe that we should see some substance in the days to come as all a sundry adapt to this new change But, I got to say that where certain aspects of her tenure so far has failed to produce the desired transparency, namely justification for why retirees are brought back into the money when so many apt, capable and educated Barbadians can do just as well, the secrecy surrounding those persons, businesses or firms that have been granted a tax amnesty, and the silence surrounding the claims laid at the feet of two of her ministers, no one can argue that this move is not a transparent move.

Puff Enuff

I like em bad. Mottley has done a good thing here. Kudos to her.

Lorenzo

Can you not find something else to says besides the same shite each time you have to make a comment in defense of your party? If you believe Rogue-Works is going to get a free pass to do shite you need to think again. You starting to sound like you running out of bup to say. Lorrrrrrrrrdie.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Is that what was proposed? 20 million for Mia friends, and those who have been plunged into depending on Welfare handouts will only get a pot of 3 million?

23. PUDRYR

I am not happy with everything that Mia Mottley is doing, but to call PM Mugabe and constantly promoting this fear mongering and childish conspiracy theories nonsense is becoming silly, monotonus, juvenile and over baring.

I have to tell you this even if I run the risk of you calling me a BLP pooch licker, which i don’t care. Everyone who is patriotic doesn’t have to agree with your methods.

So far the BLP has been doing nonsense. After being in parliament since 1994 Mia Mottley should of had some plan to indicate where she is taking Barbados and policies for the socio-economic development of the country. She and her ministers are running around like headless chickens. It looks like bare confusion to me. No plan. I also believe she will create history as being the first female PM with a one term administration that may not even do the full five years.

There are other methods you could use, such as comparing things she criticised when in opposition and has been doing now she is PM. You could list the number of consultants and if they are performing for their pay or prove they are unnecessary. Or how she has been travelling much more than Fumbles or if the travelling is necessary. List what you believe are her failures and show it is leading to a one term government. Things like that.

To come with this Mugabe nonsense about interrogations is a weak cop out make you look like a deranged man, when you could have been doing some real serious and meaningful research of the failures of the BLP so far to convince of the one term.

24. BTW, tell Hal Austin I is are an alcoholic. He should know.

25. Artax

Electric bus is a waste of the people’s resources … government must be more creative in its approach to public transportation …

Firstly, it is time to computerized the buses and in this way government can diversity its busfares … for example: instead of the $4 fare … why not create a $5 two hour bus pass; or a $7 all day pass … and it can go even further and create a $60 or $70 monthly pass, but of course … the buses need to be computerized, and drivers need to be trained in order to use this computerized system …

26. Northern Observer
    The people on May 24th voted for better ..during ten years of campaigning Mia planted a seed of betterment in their mind
    Mia mantra to the people was one of the People deserving better ..those were her words and her rallying cry to give the people hope and to restore a better quality of life than what they were receiving
    Therfore rightfully so the people should be sitting with hands stretched out in Mia face asking what about “US” until they get the responses from the many promises Mia made to them
    It is unfair that after giving the people Hope and offering them a pathway out of desperation Mia in less than a year has thrown the people to the IMF wolves who does not seem to understand the social enviroment of this country and the coming disaster heading its way from these harsh and unrealistic policies

27. @ Mariposa,

Ms Mottley’s only political ambition was to be prime minister. She had no idea of what to do once she had achieved her ambition. BERT and the nonsense of Vison20/20 are it. She dislikes details; she believes in the big picture, leaving the detail to her technocrats.
    There is no acceptable economic basis, orthodox or heterodox, for BERT; all the IMF is interested in is its Washington Consensus punitive policy. Vision 20/20 is PR waffle, probably thought up by the Chinese. It will all end n tears. Barbados is a failed state.

28. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Artax February 19, 2019 9:56 PM

I am aware of the history of the TB and govt meddling. That aside i am just noting that a $4.00 bus fare will be hard for some to handle.

I hope the GOB considers a “stage system” where the maximum fare would be $4.00/$5.00 for the longest journey and be lesser for shorter ones.

Something that occurs in Trinidad may be trialled to see the workability using the remnants of the TB as the guinea pig service provider.

On another note; If the TB was not used as a political football and a stronger management style stripped of political interference was adopted way back then; i don think the TB would be in the sorry state it is in now. But hind sight is 20-20

Just thinking.

29. @ Hal
    What do you expect when all we can boast about is borrowing money and taking orders from International Loan Sharks.
    The BLPDLP economic policies or lack thereof literally guarantees persistent poverty for the majority of the working class.
    We keep talking about the middle class but I am yet to hear what qualifies us for that group.
    I have said on BU that we still have people working for less than $300 per week!
    We are now and have been for the last couple of decades being governed by theatre!
    BU is an excellent example of how we think. All we do is defend party policy.
    Just imagine in a period of deepening austerity we want more consultants while we give the State agency that looks after the poor a measly $3 million increase.
    We have thirty constituencies and almost thirty ministers and parliamentary secretaries combined!
    That alone should tell you the story.
    Not a failed state yet but………..

30. “Electric bus is a waste of the people’s resources … government must be more creative in its approach to public transportation …”

Mr. Lexicon

If you read the Transport Board’s bid information, it is clear that “the people’s resources” would not be essentially wasted, since the risk and financial burden lie with the company that eventually wins the bid to import e-buses, prepare them for operation and providing the necessary electronic systems and e-bus charging infrastructure. Additionally, an e-bus operation would obviously require some level of computerization.

I believe transitioning to a successful e-bus system requires strategic planning. Before fully implementing an e-bus system, TB should use at least 10 of these bus to service long haul routes, such as Martin’s Bay, Bathsheba, Sam Lord’s Castle and the Airport to Speightstown; where there is a combination of routes, e.g, Connell Town/Josey Hill/Pie Corner, Boscobelle/Indian Ground; routes with a number of hills, such as St. Andrew Church, Shorey Village; and routes where buses have to service several communities, such as Bayfield.

This would allow TB to analyze the e-buses performance on different routes with varying complexities and the correlation between the amount of energy each e-bus expends servicing each route. Plug-in charging and over-head charging are the most widely used method of charging e-buses. The data gathered from the “route testing” provide TB with useful information relative to where the electrical charging infrastructure could be strategically located…… if at overhead points, designated bus stops or specific areas along the route.

31. Good about the new format it forces civil servants to be in the spotlight to defend and promote positions/policies. We will have to wait until next year to measure the benefit of the new format read performance. We must demand accountability from public servants as well. We have heard from Caswell and others in the know about how the public service has been infiltrated by political operatives. We will see!

32. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Hal,

I am off to the cricket so have no time to join this debate.

Hal, did you see see the new’s story of the prominent Chinese lady who was given a fifteen year sentence in Tanzania for the illegal smuggling of ivory to China? This lady had the presence and status of another similar personality in Barbados. She was a very powerful figure. Take a look at the two links below. It makes for fascinating reading. No doubt there are one or two here whom will be critical of my submission. My only motivation is to warn the nation that we need to be vigilant of those outsiders who may be here to do us harm; and whom may be buying influence in high and low places.

“Chinese ‘Ivory Queen’ Yang Fenglan jailed in Tanzania”

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-47294715

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-36203798

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

We should call them what they really are.. ….the politics enslaved…and they are destructive, they learn nothing and have nothing to offer…..they are members of the TAKE BRIGADE…an extension of the takers in parliament..

34. Sir Fuzzy

If I’m not mistaken, the only Caribbean island that has a standard bus fare to all routes is Barbados.

An increase in bus fare would bring the usual excuses such as, the number of children people have and how many buses they have to catch each day.

We like to brag about our wages and standard of living as compared with the Caribbean neighbours, but in all the other territories I visited, bus fare varies according to distance travelled. In St. Vincent, for example, a person living in Owia and working in Lowman’s Hill, has to catch 4 buses a day. While the fare from Owia is about EC$7 to Kingstown………from Kingston to Lowman’s is about EC$1.50. That individual has to pay EC$17 per day.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax February 19, 2019 9:56 PM
    “This arrangement is essentially a private sector/TB partnership, where it seems as though the successful “bidder” is expected to take the majority of the risk involved.

“Bidders” have to “furnish, along with its bid, a letter of understanding, supported by a Board Resolution pledging unconditional and irrevocable financial support for the execution of the contract by the bidder in case of award,”……….

……….. and “provide proof of its ability to finance the acquisitions and to withstand any shocks in revenue or increased cost.”

Under these terms and conditions, it is highly unlikely that the partner would want to operate in circumstances where bus fare remains at $2.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Please Artax, as a man well acquainted with the vicissitudes in the world of business, please don’t fall for that crap being spewed from the mouth of the chair of the TB.

Which sensible business person of entrepreneurial worth would pumps millions of dollars in capital expenditure (Capex) and more than likely having to borrow from foreign sources given the current environment in which the operators of the diesel-fuelled ZRs and minibuses receive the bulk of the fixed pool of public transportation revenues on the ‘profitable’ short-haul routes?

Neither the Bajan economy nor the country’s population is expanding’ enough to justify any large Private sector investment in a price (fare)-controlled enterprise called public transportation.

Please dig deeper into your bank storing the knowledge of business and withdraw the hidden acumen about the risks associated with the concept called ROI and ask yourself the following:

Which investor(s) in their right profit-driven frame of mind would put their money on the line and provide such ‘costly’ electric buses to the TB in the current Wild West type public transportation scenario without guarantees that there will be no competing operators to ‘compromise’ their investment in such an ‘inertly risky’ venture of transportation deemed a public good?

Unless the government can guarantee that the Private-sector owned electric buses supplied to the TB would be able to compete ‘fairly’ on the existing revenue-generating profitable routes now ‘monopolized’ by the ZR’s and minibuses then we can only conclude that this is project conceived by ‘hired’ consultants living in the commercial clouds in cuckoo land somewhere on Roebuck Street.

36. David u speak of accountability within in civil service
    What about govt accountabilty and transparency to the people
    So far we have a govt who have made unilateral decision behind closed doors
    Taxwaivers
    Taking control of pensioners retirement savings
    Selling govt land that was parcelled out for the people
    Hiring consultants unbeknownst to the people without first giving the people any information as to what the required purposes
    All the above mentioned is a reqirement of good goverence and should be placed before a table of accountability and transparency for the people to see before and not after deals and contracts are signed and sealed

37. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Artax February 20, 2019 8:10 AM

Please be fair. Comparisons are only just that a comparison. We may choose to compare bajan wages to any other country.
    its generally a useless exercise but used when certain persons want to prove some point.

I always marvel at how bajans when ready point of the QEH as the best Hospital in the Eastern Caribbean, and somehow turn in a split second and say how bad it is compared to some others in Usa etc. The real question is; “is the level of care at QEH adequate or professional”? If its not up to par “say such” stop with the comparisons. For the patient perspective/outcome if the level of care is bad but better than Grenada’s means absolutely nothing. We in Barbados need to stop that useless exercise.

EC$17.00 a day must be seen in the context of how much the person earns and the cost of living in the district/parish/country etc

There are some persons in Barbados that a 4.00 bus fare will bring on additional hardship. Some may disagree but for those that have the hardship it is real.

Barbados may have a higher pay rates than other Caricom members but we also have much higher cost of living than the others.

if you are unfortunate to be earning 400.00 a week. A bus fare going to 4.00 a ride will be very impactful. In bim there are those that live beyond their means in all situations/scenarios . But for those that are honest with themselves and try to make end meet the 4.00 will be more hardship.

Just my take

38. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

how much money a week do you think the average cashier makes in the supermarket industry?

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Totally agree with you. From the looks of things, I believe this new format is just what the doctor ordered. Not only is it transparent but allows the public to assess the competency levels of those we place in key positions of service in Barbados. I would have like to see a bit more structure such as statistical fact used to support requested finances, followed by some picture-proofs to justify the state of conditions and more defined structure, but maybe that will come later. The fact of the matter is that you cannot go wrong when you start right. This is definitely a righted move.

When something is good, it is good. I cannot find any fault with this process at all because it wreaks with transparency and the direction we feel Barbados needs to take. It means ministers will now have to be on top of their game and heads of departments and their technocrats will have to provide the technical information needed to prove why it is necessary to spend certain millions, and you know what, Barbadian can now hold them accountable.

Take a bow Rogue-Works, this is good for Barbados and your government. Until I see more transparency, laws dealing with the lack of accountability in finances, publish names of those who got tax breaks, and more teeth given to the Auditor General to execute forensics, you will remain tricksy and roguee to me. Nonetheless respect for this move.

40. @SSS

What is missing is Opposition numbers. We have a reasonable structure but the process is under the control of government given the 29-1 division.

41. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ david.

After the tv casting call, what happens differently in the individual ministries?

42. “EC$17.00 a day must be seen in the context of how much the person earns and the cost of living in the district/parish/country etc…”

Sir Fuzzy

It seems as though you are missing my point……but your above comment was among the points I was trying to make.

Bajans have a habit of making comparisons and that’s why I mentioned “WE like to brag about our wages and standard of living as compared with the Caribbean neighbours…..”

You should note I used the word “WE” in a GENERALIZED statement, which does not make a definitive indication it was “ME” who was making the comparisons.

And you reinforced my point re: “WE may choose to compare bajan wages to any other country. It’s generally a useless exercise but used when certain persons want to prove some point.” Likewise, I note your use of the word “WE” in your comment as well.

Anyhow, your point is taken.

43. @sirFuzzy

A big part of growing a culture of transparency and holding people accountable is encouraging disclosure. The new format is a step in the right direction.

44. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Artax February 20, 2019 8:10 AM

I acknowledge. Do have a nice day:-)

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You know what, we have a first of everything happening here. A first female Prime Minister, the first time that this format has been introduced, the first time in history that Barbados is without opposition, and the first time that the DLP has never won a seat. If Rogue-Works is smart, she can even make more history by proving that she will not be tricksy and deceitful like she has done with the tax breaks and then placing the matter under top secret protocol out of the purview of accountability to the people. I think she has the word ”First” at her disposal to utilise effectively or stupidly. I am glad there is no opposition. You really would want those ruthless, crooked DLP brutes opposing? Let us see as we go down the road if she will be the first to be called the best Prime Minister Barbados ever had. Let’ hope we can have a first.

46. “Neither the Bajan economy nor the country’s population is expanding’ enough to justify any large Private sector investment in a price (fare)-controlled enterprise called public transportation.”

Miller

Did you expect anything different from a man such as me……an appallingly ignorant, deranged, paranoid bookkeeper, intellectual fraud who learnt by rote…… not to fall for the crap being spewed by Nicholls?

Don’t be too hasty………..I understand you…….but my comments were made based primarily on the bid’s details.

However, you may be in for a surprise. Bear in mind, Williams Industries will be embarking on a pilot project with the Barbados Transport Board to transform some of its redundant buses to e-buses.

We shall have to wait and see if he wins the bid and under what terms he is willing to operate.

After all, Bizzy is a man who seemingly seeks profits from government under the guise of patriotism and love of country. Remember the desalination plant deal with the BWA……. or his suggestion to buy out the SSA. Just check his history with government projects.

47. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Artax February 20, 2019 9:38 AM

Self confession is good for the soul????? lol

You are right if Bizzy sees that there is money in them old buses, why cannot any one at the TB or GOB see the same?

Just asking

48. ” Until I see more transparency, laws dealing with the lack of accountability in finances, publish names of those who got tax breaks, and more teeth given to the Auditor General to execute forensics, you will remain tricksy and roguee to me. ”

It is called the Public Finance Management Bill 2019. I repeat a lot is happening, notwithstanding the pick-a-noise movement, with its many constituent parts.

49. Piece,

She is collecting my personal information how? I am watching my television. How exactly is she gathering my information? I’m not feeling you on this one. As I told you last time I find it very hard to believe. You said the BLP information link disappeared just when I was about to check on it on the government website. If she had tried something THAT CLUMSY somebody would have exposed it before you did, I think.

P.S. What exactly does she intend to do with my personal information?

50. Notwithstanding that the rooster has been around my yard shitting to the extent that I would love to find fault with the new format, I can only say that I’m sorry I missed so much of it. What I saw, especially from McConney and her team, was informative and thoughtful and thought provoking and I think can lead to greater efficiency and transparency. I would like to see a public accounting in the same format to evaluate what progress has been made after a suitable period of time.

It’s tough being me. I would have loved to pelt a big rock at dat shitty rooster.
    Still, I’m sure there will be other opportunities.

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply