Screenshot 2018-12-28 at 19.26.37
Melissa Martin, Ph.D., is an author, columnist, educator, and therapist. She lives in USA

From sea to shining sea—America. We cherish the First Amendment to our Constitution. Nonetheless, sometimes we take our basic freedoms for granted.

Consider the country of Zimbabwe; found on the continent of Africa. A land with a population 16.5 million. A land with a history of unrest and human rights violations. A land with citizens that long for peace.

In December 1979 a peace agreement was reached between the British and Zimbabwean representatives, following a declaration of independence. In April of 1980 Rhodesia became Zimbabwe. Bob Marley headlined the independence celebrations with his song “Zimbabwe.”

In America Stevie Wonder sang the lyrics “Peace has come to Zimbabwe.”

They want us to join their fighting
But our answer today
Is to let all our worries
Like the breeze through our fingers slip away
Peace has come to Zimbabwe
Third World’s right on the one
Now’s the time for celebration
Because we’ve only just begun

“Over this past year, political proclamations and policy choices in the wake of Robert Mugabe’s replacement by Emmerson Mnangagwa have served only to widen the gap between the southern African country’s rich and its rank and file,” according to a 2019 article in The Atlantic.

“Referring to Putin as a senior brother,” President Mnangagwa recently reached out for economic guidance from Russia. www.africanews.com/.

The following information was sent in a 2019 letter to President Mnangagwa from The Zimbabwean (A Voice for the Voiceless) website publication:

“Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch and Oxfam International are writing to urge you to urgently take concrete and effective action to address the deteriorating human rights situation and increasing risk of a humanitarian crisis in Zimbabwe…We are seriously concerned about the escalating crackdown by your government on human rights defenders, civil society activists, labour and opposition leaders and members and Zimbabweans protesting the recent fuel price increase…We are also aware that several women and girls were reportedly raped by members of the security forces.” www.thezimbabwean.co/.

The following information is stated on the US Embassy in Zimbabwe website:

“The United States shares the same fundamental interest as the Zimbabwean people: a stable, peaceful, democratic Zimbabwe that reflects the people’s will and provides for their needs. Our support for the people of Zimbabwe includes ensuring that those few Zimbabweans using their positions of power to undermine Zimbabwe’s democratic progress are not benefiting from their actions.” zw.usembassy.gov./

“The United States remains seriously concerned about the excessive use of force by Government of Zimbabwe security forces since January 14, which has resulted in at least 13 deaths, 600 victims of violence, torture or rape, and more than 1,000 arrests. We extend our condolences to the families and friends of those killed or injured. The Government of Zimbabwe’s use of violence against civil society and imposition of undue internet restrictions betray promises to create a new Zimbabwe.” www.state.gov/.

Why should Americans care about the people of Zimbabwe? USA for Africa’s “We Are the World,” was released 34 years ago, on March 7th, 1985.

We are the world
We are the children
We are the ones who make a brighter day, so let’s start giving
There’s a choice we’re making
We’re saving our own lives
It’s true we’ll make a better day, just you and me

I want to daily live without inhuman treatment, torture, violence, war, poverty and so do you. My blessings are many. But obtaining contentment is not possible in lieu of suffering humanity and violated universal human rights in Africa. People like me—people like you. People. Human beings.

Peace will not be accomplished by elected officials and diplomats; presidents and kings; treaties and truces; armies and weapons of mass destruction; popes and preachers; or even by our most altruistic leaders. Peace will be accomplished by millions of civilians standing up for universal human rights, yet marching on their knees. Hands reaching horizontally around the globe, yet reaching vertically toward the sky. Humble people saying humble prayers. Peace for Zimbabwe.

30 responses to “Peace for Zimbabwe”

1. What about our Neighbours IN VENEZUELA are their Cries Less Worthy ?

“They cannot cover up the humanitarian crisis, day to day die children, die young, die adults and die grandparents for lack of food, due to lack of medicines, due to lack of medical inputs and for lack of medical care in optimal conditions.

Let the world know, let the world see, let the world set its eyes in our country.

Today Venezuela suffers, today Venezuela dies, today Venezuela is leaving slowly.

Their struggle for more than two years has been for the opening of a humanitarian channel, because no more babies die 😭💔😔

Maduro cannot cover the sun with a finger, Maduro cannot hide the reality of a whole country where more than 80 % of the population lives in extreme poverty.

We warn the world of the urgent need for humanitarian aid we need.”

LET YOUR VOICES BE HEARD BARBADOS

https://www.facebook.com/manosalaobraporvenezuela/videos/2081146338642677/

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

De ole man is ever watchful of these articles on Barbados Underground

I watch to see the way how “the Content” is strategically changed to guide public interest and attention.

So AS A DIRECT COUNTERPOISE to de ole man’s Save Bajans from the Dictator Mugabe up comes this meaningless? post about Zimbabwe

So the instructions are

“The submissions by de ole man are starting to make an inroad AND DISLODGE our currency so what can we do about that?”

And a Dufus comes back with feature the namesake.

Now that would be generally a good thing to do IF THE BASELINE PERCEPTION WAS NOT OF A MAN WHO SPEARHEADED THE CUMPULSORY ACQUISITION OF LANDS therefore what this article does is 3 things.

It confirms that Barbados Underground is being guided by an external thrust

It confirms that the Third Party Movement IS FEARED

And it shows the feeble defenses that obtain WITHIN THE RED COUNCIL WHEN to combat the MIA MUGABE THE DICTATOR scourge, your best defense is to employ another article by an unknown PhD Melissa Martin.

Wunna just was told dat using a white woman to bat as a champion for black history month WAS A FVCKING POOR CHOICE.

Yet in the face of that chastisement wunna going come heah and repeat the same strategy?

MUGABE IS A ONE TERM GOVERNMENT

Thank you for being the catalyst for de ole man ‘s new Gravatar

3. PUDYR

IS TRUTE YOU AH TELL!
    TRUTE DAT!

4. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

This was the ole gravatar for those of you who wanted a larger version, enjoy

Bajans needed to see first hand what you are.

The heart of man is most wicked AND IN THESE 8 MONTHS you have shown the nature of your heart

And now they have see you Knight your fadder AND dissolve $1 million in taxes, change de constitution, import 3 Canadians and mek dem senators, invite your 5 druglird friends to Parliament and fire 5,000 Bajans and hire 28 ministers, rehire a wiretapping policeman, cancel all court cases prior to 2008, EVERYONE HAS SEEN YOU FOR FIRSTHAND FOR WHAT YOU ARE

A DICTATOR

https://imgur.com/Q93GVbu

5. Peace be to Zimbabwe

6. Robert Mugabe is no Mandela, all the capital he accrued in the freedom fighting days with Nkomo is gone. A Zimbabwe post Rhodesia is a hot mess.

7. David

Robert Mugabe never claimed to be a Mandela … he transformed a nation named as one of Africa known racist and an exploiter of the Black South African …and whether good or bad he did something about the White Exploitation of his country …

8. MUGABE DESTROYED HIS COUNTRY FOOL………..JUST AS MIA MUTTLEY IS FINISHING OFF THE DESTRUCTION OF OURS!

9. But Piece why u keep whinning about the seeds which u help planted
    Seeds that became fertile and rip for the pickings
    Why cant u face the reality that it was your hand that helped put Mugabee in place
    Why dont u face the fact that all that is being revealed about Mugabee u knew of
    Why dont u face a truth that u never once during the campaging of Mugabeee ever sounded the alarm that Barbados was on the pathway of dictatorship if Mugabee was elected
    Boo haa Piece u reap what u sow

10. Georgie Porgie

Well, I guess Mugabe and Donald Trump are one and the same, because a lot of Americans believe that Donald Trump is destroying America …while on the other hand… those of your liken believe otherwise… So I guess it is a matter of opinion or who you ask?

11. *PUDYR

IS TRUTE YOU AH TELL!

TRUTE DAT!*

Is it only a matter of time before BU goes the way of BFP?!

“MENE, MENE, TEKEL, UPHARSIN”

12. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

This is one of the reasons the author on the remembering black women blog is imploring white women not to forget their own crimes against Black women..their part in destroying black women and their offspring’s lives.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/01/opinion/sunday/tradwives-women-alt-right.html

“To some (let’s be honest, probably mostly white) people, the fact that white women have the capacity to inflict violence and to cruelly manipulate the lives of others—to be what Jones-Rogers, in our conversation, called “evil and dastardly”—is an eternal revelation. That’s why we still get curious, “look at this weird phenomenon” articles about white women at Unite the Right, or within the alt-right movement. Or why we need to be reminded again and again that white women gleefully attended lynchings, flocked in the thousands to form auxiliaries for the Ku Klux Klan, and avidly protested school integration in the South and the North. This history of slave-owning women’s economic relationship to slavery, Jones-Rogers says, should “remove the surprise.” “If you think about the value, the importance of whiteness in their lives, being a source of power, being a source of empowerment and emboldenment, then throughout history these little things make sense,” she said. “Women can hold their own when it comes to violence.”

13. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Piece…have those cases been already canceled without closure???

“The stories from WPA narratives show that from the perspective of the enslaved, female slaveholders weren’t much different from their male counterparts. Many of them were just as physically cruel as men, and they didn’t hesitate to make decisions to “sell away” enslaved people or their relatives. Stories of women who whipped enslaved people with nettleweed or fed enslaved children spoiled meat, and an entire heartbreaking chapter about the practice of separating enslaved women from their infants so that they could act as wet nurses for their mistresses’ offspring, make it clear that Southern women who owned people weren’t kind “mothers” making the best of a bad situation. “If we look carefully at slave-owning women’s management styles, we find that these differed little from those used by slaveholding men—and they rarely treated enslaved people as their children,” Jones-Rogers w”rites.

14. A. Dullard February 18, 2019 9:46 AM

Is it only a matter of time before BU goes the way of BFP?!

“MENE, MENE, TEKEL, UPHARSIN”

mr dullard Sir, you must not say things like dat man.

You must bow and scrape and talk about the honourable blogmaster and “lumenary”.
    You have to tow the line, and be sure not to contradict the favored idiots who write shit here on a daily basis.

15. mr dullard, if you should be so rude as to suggest that one of the favored idiots on BU should incorrectly say that NY is the capital of NY state, you can not contradict him and say it is Albany, or you might be rebuked with a comment like this………What is the point? Some of you have too much time on your hands.

Is it not true that it is folk with time on their hands that come here and talk?

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

These are the demons who keep civil war, poverty and strife alive in majority black countries, particularly in Africa and Haiti….and when those black governments are irredeemably corrupt…nothing ever changes for the people.

‘AFRICANGLOBE – Haiti’s Foreign Minister Bocchit Edmond confirmed Monday that five Americans on the island have been arrested.

Local authorities said the Americans are being held on conspiracy charges, but have not been formally charged by Haitian authorities. The foreign minister has not confirmed the conspiracy charges.

Three other people have been arrested, two foreign nationals and one Haitian, Edmond said.

The identities of the people taken into custody were not immediately available.

The country’s capital, Port-au-Prince, has been rocked by deadly protests since February 7. Haitians have been on the streets, torching cars, clashing with police demanding President Jovenel Moise and the prime minister resign.

Moise’s administration has been under fire for soaring inflation and accusations of corruption.

In a Saturday night televised address, Haitian Prime Minister Jean-Henry Céant called for calm and promised to uncover the corruption — which for many is at the root of the country’s problems.

Referring to the government’s own auditor’s report into how revenues from Venezuelan subsidized oil were siphoned off, he said: “Corruption is one of the biggest problems. We need to fight corruption.”

The US State Department on Thursday issued a Level 4 “Do not travel” travel advisory for Haiti, citing “crime and civil unrest” and “widespread, violent, and unpredictable demonstrations in Port-au-Prince and elsewhere in Haiti.”

The State Department ordered all “non-emergency US personnel and their families” to leave Haiti, saying the country has “limited ability to provide emergency services to US citizens in Haiti.”

“Protests, tire burning and road blockages are frequent and unpredictable,” the advisory stated.

“Violent crime, such as armed robbery, is common. Local police may lack the resources to respond effectively to serious criminal incidents, and emergency response, including ambulance service, is limited or non-existent.”

17. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog February 18, 2019 6:16 PM,

I have just read this minute the same new’s story on the BBC’s online service. Scary! Do you think they were there as tourists?

” The US state department says it understands that a number of Americans are among a group arrested in Haiti.

Local media reported semi-automatic weapons had been found but this has not been officially confirmed.

The circumstances remain unclear but local authorities told CNN the Americans were being held on conspiracy charges, but are not yet indicted.

The arrests come amid nearly two weeks of protests against President Jovenel Moïse.

The reason for the group’s presence in the country also remains unclear and no identities are yet confirmed.

Haiti’s police did not respond when called by the BBC.

But Inspector Gary Desroisiers, a deputy spokesperson for the national police, told news agency Haiti Libre the group had “refused to speak”.

The group, said to have eight members, was detained in the country’s capital, Port-au-Prince, on Sunday.

In pictures: Haiti anti-government protests
    Local media reported that the members of the group were driving two vehicles without registration plates and were arrested at the Rue des Cesars.

A police source told Le Nouvelliste newspaper that the men had said they were working for the Haitian government.

Haiti Foreign Minister Bocchit Edmond told CNN that five American citizens and a Haitian national were among those arrested.

The state department would not confirm any numbers.

Local media report that a Serbian citizen and a Russian was also part of the group.

Since 7 February, thousands of people have been protesting in Haiti over soaring inflation and allegations of government corruption.

Opposition groups are demanding an investigation over claims that officials and former ministers misappropriated development funds from an oil deal signed between Caribbean countries and Venezuela.

Demonstrators have demanded the resignation of President Moise, in power since 2017.

Last week he rejected the calls, saying he would not leave the country in the “hands of armed gangs and drug traffickers”.

Haiti is the poorest country in the Americas and 60% of the population live on less than $2 (£1.56) a day, according to the World Bank.”

18. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Talking Loud…they do that crap all the time, it is a pattern…which is now very old…. the leaders are always the problem as everyone is now clearly seeing worldwide.

19. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

REMEMBERING BLACK WOMEN AROUND THE GLOBE

@ millertheanunnaki ,

Can you see why I had no intention to answer your question from yesterday! By the way, I thoroughly enjoyed the Holetown festival yesterday. It was wonderful.

millertheanunnaki February 17, 2019 1:57 PM

@ Talking Loud Saying Nothing February 17, 2019 11:22 AM

“Whitehill, Plse read my notes. It is a very important issue, one that we avoid, but one the white man s very aware of. The black man is the enemy, not the black woman.
    Of course, we must wait until David BU gets a liberal white woman to tell us about the nature of our relationships with black women.”
    Excellent comment Hal. Short and on point.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Before you can give a ‘passing’ grade to that overly trite remark you (TLSN) need to tell us in what way the “black man is the enemy” (and not the ‘black woman’) to the white race.

Why is the white ‘man’ afraid of the black man and not the black woman when the salvation of the black race lies in the hands of the mentally-emancipated ‘educated’ black woman who is bent of not having children until they find Mr. Black Right?

‘The black hands which rock the cradle (and pushes the pram or buggy to the nursery) determine the destiny of the black race’.~ Black Enlightenment

Talking Loud Saying Nothing February 17, 2019 2:32 PM

@ Miller,
    I am off to Holetown to sample some white culture. And have no desire to enter a potential maelstrom with the Syrian (?) right ring nutter or the SS women!

Have a blessed day.

whiteHill February 18, 2019 4:30 AM

…………”But, I know, the white man has from time immemorial played the black woman against her race you two (Hal Austin and Talking Loud Saying Nothing) can ignore this at your own peril. This SSS person is but a fine example of this, make her their pet monkey and she is willing to give up Jesus for Barabbas again. How many times living in the USA I saw black women enjoying a relationship like SSS and her white friends who are willing to deny slavery ever existed. The white man gave jobs to black women while refusing same to black men, what is the black woman’s attitude towards her sons and brothers? He gave her welfare and housing at the exclusion of her black men, didn’t she sees him as the second coming as this SSS person does? ”

Sunshine Sunny Shine February 18, 2019 8:11 AM

Whitehill

……….”To even purport what you have written here is setting a very dangerous precedent because you are completely devoid of my history or my steps up the corporate ladder. You are also an insult to every strong black woman who has had to fight, work hard, study long and prove themselves while having to take on the perversions of associated with weak such as you.”

Well readers does Whitehill have a point or is he foolishly misguided?

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the lost Author of this piece (no relationship to the writer Piece)

Here is a more recent, better researched, piece about the recently releived Robert Mugabe

“….Zimbabwe’s Coup Did Not Create Democracy from Dictatorship” by STEVEN FELDSTEIN
    AUGUST 16, 2018. Summary: Despite the possibility for real democratic change, Zimbabwe’s July election has elevated another despot in Mugabe’s mold.

Many citizens and international observers cautiously hoped that the southern African nation of Zimbabwe would find its way from dictatorship to democracy this year. President Robert Mugabe was militarily removed from office in November 2017 after 37 years in office, opening the door for the country’s first real leadership transition since 1980.

Elections were set for July 30. And, for the first time in many Zimbabweans’ lives, Mugabe was not on the ballot.

Election turnout was high, with over 70 percent of the country’s 16 million eligible voters participating. Zimbabweans waited in long lines to choose between Mugabe’s replacement, the 75-year-old acting President Emmerson Mnangagwa, and a young lawyer named Nelson Chamisa who promised economic revival and political change….”

The article continue further on to say

“…Mugabe was a violent, repressive ruler. And Mnangagwa – whose nickname is “the Crocodile” – was his vice president and enforcer. In the weeks since the election, the government has ruthlessly cracked down on the opposition.

Police have beaten and arrested dozens of Chamisa supporters, and groups of Mnangagwa’s backers have conducted house-to-house searches for opposition leaders.

Tendai Biti, a well-known opposition figure, fled to Zambia, but was turned over by the Zambian government to Zimbabwe’s security forces. Mnangagwa’s government charged him with inciting public violence. He was released on a US $5,000 bond only after a global outcry…”

Read the rest of that news item for yourselves at https://carnegieendowment.org/2018/08/16/zimbabwe-s-coup-did-not-create-democracy-from-dictatorship-pub-77069

But then again some of you may not need to read that article since we have our own Mugabe here

https://i.imgur.com/P20mh4Q.png

21. (A next post that I cannot contribute to, so I am out of here)

@SSS
    The relevant post was already closed out and I am glad it was.
    However, let me add the following.

Do not be surprised when some blacks minimize your effort and sacrifice.
    As a man who worked hard and caught no breaks, I am always surprised when others think that it was my skin that helped me.
    In their minds, the skin which caused them to suffer solved all of my problems. The facts that I sacrificed more, stayed in school longer and worked harder were irrelevant.

Just keep doing what adds to your success and ignore them.

@Donna & SSS
    Side note:
    I may be too harsh, but BU has its share of misogynists. You will never convert them. Ignore them.

(A next post that I cannot contribute to, so I am out of here)

22. Not trying to convert anybody. I’m just saying that though we should be the primary writers of our own history, for obvious reasons, we should not discourage those who GENUINELY wish to join us in our fight for justice. We need to make sure that we direct the show but we should allow actors of all races. Just saying that we also need to make ourselves aware of our history BEFORE SLAVERY to provide us with the anchor that we so obviously lack. Just saying that we ourselves have some work to do in evaluating why we are not making more progress. Just saying that we fight too much among ourselves trying to score points off each other thereby shooting ourselves in the foot. This is borne out by the statistics on black on black crime. Just saying that in spending so much time pulling fellow crabs back into the barrel we allow only a few to get out. Just saying that what we are doing is obviously not working for the majority. Just saying that we need to take some responsibility for ourselves beyond ranting and raving, moaning and groaning, mourning and lamenting. Just saying that while it is good to examine the white man and what he is doing to keep us down, it is also good to examine ourselves to see what we are doing that keeps us down. Are we mentally free? If not, why not? How can we gain our mental freedom? T

I guess we black people are doing ALL THAT WE CAN, aren’t we?

Some people are arguing about things I never said just trying to elevate themselves. Some are taking offence at certain truths about us black folks as though to even speak about them is to denigrate black people and play into the white man’s hand. How can we address our issues if we don’t admit we have issues? Or perhaps we black people are perfect and have no issues!

Only the truth will set us free!

That is, if we want to be free. Maybe we prefer to wait for the reward in heaven for those who have suffered on earth. Maybe we have internalized that in heaven the last shall be first and are waiting for our eternal bliss.

N.B. Whitehill actually does have a point when he speaks about the playing off of black women against black men but I don’t think it is because they don’t see us as the enemy it is just a tactic to keep us divided and to stop us form forming strong families. In short they kept us and keep us divided.

And now somebody will probably come back with their argument to prove me wrong against ALL COMMON SENSE and prove themselves right because of course that is our main goal. To score off other black people.

We top of the BLACK HEAP!

But we can’t score a pang ‘gainst de white man! And his heap keeps on piling up!

I dun wid dat!

23. That was supposed to be posted under Donna.

David wuh happen we not being remembered anymore?

24. You cleared cookies, change browser, did an update to the system? Many reasons from your end.

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Fantastic post Donna, you too Theo.

26. No David. And it’s happening to more than just me. Others have been having the same problem.

Thank you, WARU. Just want us to get real and get to the root of the problem.

27. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

at the root of the problem, especially in countries like Haiti and Africa…lowlifespretending to be missionaries and priest raping African children, getting their jollies while pretending to help…that too has been happening forway too many centuries…African leaders…already known to be weak…must find the strength to put their foot down..and keep these demons out of Africa and far away from their women and children..

“As the world exploits Africa for its rich natural resources, some of those who are purportedly there to help — including missionaries, volunteers and “peacekeepers”— rape African children, the most vulnerable of the vulnerable. A time-tested tool of colonization and conquest, missionaries were known to “soften up” indigenous populations in Africa, Asia and the Americas. They performed a psychic conquest of Black and Brown populations — separating them from their traditions and belief systems, replacing their gods with a god that looked just like the conqueror, and paving the way for the kidnapping, enslavement, subjugation, forced labor, rape and genocide that would follow.”

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Donna…many problems to get to the root of, but at least we have all the information our ancestors did not have, available to us to start….

In this case, the only thing good came out of this crime against this innocent woman, she took out that demon permanently..

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/52999838_2530638850310614_542137405193322496_n.png?_nc_cat=100&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=a8705e5d760796264be0a72aae2413f9&oe=5CF2EE9C

29. Black History month 2019 would go down in History as one of the worst physchological times for the black race
    The black race had to faced humilitation brought upon the community by two well known celebrites Art Kelly and Jussie Smollett both indicted for crimes against the betterment of society and bringing shame and embarassement to the black race
    The last humilitation by Smollett boggles the mind and which give cause to entertaining thoughts of What for and Why