The blogmaster has been following recent events in Jamaica with interest. Two members of parliament were murdered. There is a feeling that it is happening over there and it will never happen in Barbados. The escalating crime situation in Barbados and the change in a Bajan way of life which use to separate us from the rest is no more.

We should not speculate why the MPs were murdered, however, there is good reason for the citizenry to be concerned when public officials are targeted by the criminal element.  For many years the blogmaster and members of the BU family have expressed concern about how Barbados society has changed for the worse. Do we dare speculate that in the near future local news will channel what is currently happening in Jamaica and elsewhere? Already there is a numbness that has set-end regarding gun crime, routine breaking of traffic laws, MPs flouting campaign financing regulations and on it goes.

The blogmaster does not need to be prolix to register his greatest fear. All the signs are present to suggest what is unfolding in Jamaica will happen in Barbados IF….

What is the call the action?

Let us joins hands and show we love Barbados, let us join hands and show we really care…

34 responses to “MPs Murdered in Jamaica, what if….?”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

This is Valentine’s Day. Your Blog should be about LOVE. What happens in Jamaica is not a precursor of what should happen in Barbados. I am sure you are not into scare mongering.

Peace and Love to you my dear brother(s).

2. @Vincent

Have you read the final sentences of the blog?

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The last sentence of the submission is like a grain of sugar in a 10 ounce glass of salt water. Let us sea how the other commentators react.

4. @Vincent

Oftentimes from a macabre scenario it can serve to hammer home a point.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, a very hearty guffaw or a Bajan ‘ wait u mekking sport or wha’ to you re Valentine day!

Bro, every freaking day is one of love, succour and sharing flowery petals of peace but as we seek to renew or reinvigorate ourselves with these contrived speciality marketing days , every freaking day has also scary dire hours of the macabre.

Celebrate love and peace always for sure but let’s not be trapped to perceive that the heinous stops for our celebrations!

The Blogmaster is being quite tame frankly.

The scenarios seen in Jamaica are being played out exactly alike here in Bim…most if us here are familiar with the actions of supposedly upright public officials there who supported criminal elements and engaged them as key constituents in their respective parties …are we not BOLDLY seeing the same here now … The Blogmaster gently refrained from making that point again but rather pointed to a near certain end result and intimated ‘there but for the grace of love goeth us soon’!

So give love all year good sir cause we certainly will be getting pain all year too.

One love.

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

Macabre scenes can be a catalyst to unstable minds.

7. No one likes crooks no matter their title

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Being dat de ole man also noted such a configuration in Jamaica, I guess that I should be enjoined to the same group as the Honourable Blogmaster as ONE WHO ENVISIONS THE SAME THING HAPPENING THERE IN BARBADOS

SOONER RATHER THAN LATER

And, before anyone says that one is inciting the masses to kill MPs (Mr Codrington?) one makes the disclaimer that this perspective neither seeks to “be a catalyst for unstable minds” nor “destabilization”

What are we contending with here?

Besides the perception that MPs are responsible for the state of the economy and their actions AND INACTION affect social stability.

Besides the perception that MPs have AND CONTINUE TO GIVE SUCCOUR TO DRUGLORDS, overtly and quietly

Besides the opening of Parliament with 5 representatives of this segment of our society, the drug lords that is.

We have rapidly descended to a point where the criminal interests of a group of hidden “untouchables”” has merged with the megalomaniac interests of another set of overt “criminals” and that combination makes for ” THE PERFECT STORM”

A storm in which only poor people are deading.

And de ole man puts it to you that, like in the French Revolution, when these people and sheeple and “unstable minds” finally come to the realization that they are dying anyways, valueless pawns in the play that these two untouchable groups are enacting, it is only reasonable to suggest that they are going to “reach out and touch” these untouchables!

It certainly brings alive the empty statement that people always seem to use when your family members die, that one about “I feel your pain”.

But you only “feel my pain” fuh real when you, in truth, “feel my pain”

One takes no delight in this “macabre” permutation of this issue but you know something, the sentiment of the sheeple and people is one of “One Law for the Medes and another for the Persians”

You remember how 15 to 16 years ago a tourist got killed?

And every policeman was called out from leave and vacation?

Why was that?

Cause, in spite of all de bajans getting kill, an “untouchable” got touched and all stops were opened to address that problem of murder.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

10. Piece

Don’t hold breathe and anticipate such to happen in Barbados because Bajans are cowards by nature unless you are from the Bush Hall of old…lol…

11. David

I hope you are aware of what I am seeing …the old man is engaging echolalia …

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

For many, many decades we have heard rumours of the political class using violence against partners.

Sometimes domestic partners choose to respond.

In such instances the response it is no different from any other domestic incident.

In a 1969 Shukan Asahi interview with novelist Shūsaku Endō, Japanese Prime Minister, and Nobel Peace Prize winner Eisaku Satō’s wife accused him of being a rake and a wife beater. That wife was born in 1907. Maybe a modern partner would choose to respond.

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

If members of the political class can “share lashes” surely the time will come when they will also have to “hold some”

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The abused partners need to stop “crying softly so that the neighbours won’t hear” They need to cry loudly, real loudly, so that the neighbours do hear. They need to go immediately to their doctors so that the injuries can be documented, photographed and verified. Then they need to go next to the police, and after that to both the traditional and social media.

STOP the bullies once and for all.

15. Sooner or later all the Jamaican attitudes end up here. We consume their bad boy music. Who’s to say somebody won’t write a song and somebody won’t want to act it out like the people in Trinidad following the Run wid it ” song.

I heard on CBC that during the playing of the song people are running away with other people’s belonging. The police have warned them to cease and desist. Imagine that!

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

All politicians, lawyers etc and thier criminal friends gotta watch their backsides around the globe, if the people dont get them and take them down at the polls …. the people they abuse and rob will…one way or another ..,their evil asses will be dealt with…

https://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/ny-news-paul-manafort-recommended-sentence-20190215-story.html#nt=oft-Single%20Chain~Flex%20Feature~right-chain~manafort-jail-1045p~~1~yes-art~curated~curatedpage

“Former Trump campaign chairman Paul Manafort could spend the rest of his life in prison on tax and bank fraud charges, say court documents filed Friday.

Manafort, 69, should serve between 19.5 years and 24.5 years in prison under federal sentencing guidelines, prosecutors for special counsel Robert Mueller noted in the court filing.”

17. That prayer hasn’t worked,now we are on no.11
    Could Mia declare a National Emergency?

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

James 2:14-26

Faith Without Works Is Dead

What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him? If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit? Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

But someone will say, “You have faith, and I have works.” Show me your faith without your works, and I will show you my faith by my works. You believe that there is one God. You do well. Even the demons believe—and tremble! But do you want to know, O foolish man, that faith without works is dead? Was not Abraham our father justified by works when he offered Isaac his son on the altar? Do you see that faith was working together with his works, and by works faith was made perfect? And the Scripture was fulfilled which says, “Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.” And he was called the friend of God. You see then that a man is justified by works, and not by faith only.

Likewise, was not Rahab the harlot also justified by works when she received the messengers and sent them out another way?

For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.

19. Four more murders have occured since Darwin Dotiin has returned to law enforcement circles !

Was it a good decision to bring him back ?

Barbados deserves better !

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

10 men and 1 woman murdered for the year. Police have arrested some men, all under the age of 40. The police are on the lookout for the armed and dangerous 85 year old women who have committed the rest of these murders

There are those on this blog, white hill, miller, piece who say that I hate men, and yet I have managed to life for nearly 70 years without inflicting a single act of violence on any man, no not even on a male zygote.

Prayers alone won’t fix our problems. Prayers done. Now the real-real work begins.

It is the responsibility of every man over the age of 40 to work with our young men. Teach them that being a man has nothing to do with violence.

The women can’t do it.

Men, now is your turn to father your sons, stepsons, little brothers, nephews, grandsons etc.

It is YOUR JOB.

Get to work NOW.

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Fractured BLP February 16, 2019 6:08 PM “Four more murders have occured since Darwin Dotiin has returned to law enforcement circles! Was it a good decision to bring him back?”

You idjit.

You have to politicize everything???

22. For the record, we have people of the view that murders will be solved by the police force before they occur?

23. Two shootings today.

Police are on the scene of a shooting at 6th Avenue New Orleans St Michael

When police arrived on the scene at Rock Hall, St. George earlier today, Norville was found in the roadway in a pool of blood,

24. Two young men murdered. This is happening too often. May they rest in peace.

25. Good post , Simple Simon. Simple solution. Long ago, Cheryl Willoughby told me that most of the young men in Dodds have no active fathers. Many do not even know their father’s name.

So it seems that we women also have some work to do. We have to teach the young women what it means to be a real woman. We have to teach the young women to value themselves. We have to teach the young women what we have learned – a good mother tries to provide her child with a good father.

26. The horse has already bolted .Most likely barbados is heading in the same direction as Jamaica

27. Evidence now shows that the govt plans to put more miltary boots on the ground has failed
    The system itself maybe too corrupt to save Barbados from ongoing criminal activty

28. All of this upsurge of violent crime over the past few days…..is directly related to the appointment of Darwin Dottin.

He needs to be sent back into retirement……for the public good !

29. Thanks for reminding the blog why your party created history with a 30-0 result.

30. “Evidence now shows that the govt plans to put more miltary boots on the ground has failed.”

Spot on! You are correct! Keep the pressure on!

I often wonder where the members of your fan club disappear to, when you post shiite such as the above comments.

Thine ignorance and that of thine colleague “Fractured BLP” are boundless.

31. Now that we have the return of Dottin

The country has witnessed more shootin’

It is time for Dottin to go

So that peace will remain once more

Words penned by David of BU

32. Yeap my prerogative comment got one blp yardfowl flying right off the fence
    Yeap yesterday double murders sent a blantant message to govt that they can take their double booted defence and shove it.

33. I think Mariposa’s deliveries this morningb are not at the usual leve
    l.