Submitted by Heater Cole

Part 1: Why?

I am on a mission to visit Ghana in West Africa and you may wonder why. It is all because of Slavery. It has always bothered me. I never knew that I was descended from someone who was kidnapped and made a slave until one fateful day when I was in Infants A or Infants B at Christ Church Girls’ school. I do not recall which class it was. An argument started in the class between two little girls, mind you we were all little then. One wanted the other one to carry her bag and the other refused. It became boisterous and caught the teacher’s attention. Her name was Ms. Lovell. It was only when she teacher was addressing the matter that I found out what it was about. The first little girl said she only asked the second girl to carry her bag. The second little girl said she was not carrying the bag because she was not a slave.

What was a slave? I had not a clue. I lived in a bubble that was the world that I knew. I do not remember who asked the question out loud. However, Ms. Lovell began to tell us a story which became my first history lesson. I do not remember if anyone else knew what she told us; that we were all descendants of people who were taken from West Africa and made slaves in all the Caribbean Islands. The slaves worked without pay and belonged to the white people who owned the sugar plantations. Her history lesson must have had a profound affect on all of the little girls because from that day on if any one of the of the girls asked each other to do something menial for them the response was “no! I am not your slave!” This story and those words have stuck with me for a lifetime. However, that was not all that those works did, they made me feel as though I had been living a lie for all the 5 or 6 years of my life.

I could not wait to get home after school. When my cousins and I turned the corner onto to our gap from the main road in Cane Vale, I ran home. When I reached the opened back door, I ran inside and I told Aunt V (my grandmother) “the teacher say that we were slaves,” and I waited for her to say that it was not true. Instead of saying no or yes, she calmly asked what had happened and I repeated the story. I was still awaiting and wanted her to say no that is not so but the look in her eyes filled me with a deep sadness as I waited for her to respond. Her failure to respond to my shock started my traumatization and made me ashamed of who I was. After what seemed like an eternity, all she said was to stop worrying my little head, but I never did.

By the time my mother got home from work I was still quiet; engulfed in a state of sadness. She asked what was wrong and Aunt V told her. I do not recall her response. Later that night as I snuggled up next to Aunt V, I asked her to tell me about the slaves. She said she did know anything about slaves but she could only tell me about the old-time people. From that I understood that it was her way of saying that she would never call them slaves; it was as though she was part of the resistance. That was my comfort and from that night on, it was the stories of the old-time people and the old-time days that my grandmother told me.

Not that she knew much but it was a start. We were already close but the stories she told drew us closer. They were the stories that she had been told about mud houses the old- time people lived in, what they wore; about a woman who lost her hand feeding the canes in the mill and about duppies, how the dead were buried facing the East and more that I have long forgotten. I was a curious child one who asked for minute details, one who wanted exact details and if a repeat was not the same version, I would remind her what was missing. So much so, that she would get tired of my questioning and ask me if I was a lawyer. I never got tired of hearing the same stories.

By the time I entered high school at 11, I had long exhausted my grandmother’s informal knowledge. So, I read every history text book every year before the school year started. I had developed an insatiable appetite for knowledge of the people from my past.

The year that I was 16 we did a school project and I went to the Archives and there I discovered that there were slaves at Hannays Plantation whose last name was Cole. My great grandmother somehow made the journey from there to Church Hill of the Christ Church Parish Church and my grandmother moved from there to Oistins Hill and then Cane Vale. I never got a chance to see the oldest Slave Registers because they were closed from public viewing, so I never found out who were the old-time man and woman who lived at Hannays Plantation from whom I am descended.

Throughout the years, I have thought of them, where exactly did there come from, what did they do for a living prior to them being taken away. I may never know who they were, whose big dove shaped eyes I now wear or whose smile grace my face. I will never know what their real names were, or the exact area they came from, which tribe they belonged to, I do not know who gave me this streak of determination and fearlessness that I possess. I wonder if I am a descendant of a griot, yet I have this thing in me that makes me love art and colour. I always want to make things with my hands and then there is this love that I have for fabric. I cannot explain my numerous trips to Abeds and the other stores in Bridgetown that sell fabric to see what they have for sale. What I do know is that my ancestors’ blood still runs in my veins and I still carry their DNA.

Somehow long ago someone did things that are still a part of me. It is as though through me my ancestors live forever. Your knowledge of your distant past may not be much different from mine and our stories may be intertwined.

The President of Ghana is welcoming the Diaspora home in this historic year of our destiny that commemorates the 400th year anniversary of the commencement of the slave trade. Will you join me and friends and be part of this historic occasion from August 5 to 15, 2019 as we reconnect to our distant past?

60 responses to “A Heather Cole Article – I Dream of Africa”

1. Sidboyce

Africa has a lot to offer young people, but you must understand that suffering is also part of the human condition, and just because we are told about the number of young people that go to bed hungry at night in Barbados that does not mean it does not occur …

2. I Shake my head at the Article that has been written and Twisted by Commenters into Putting One Race Against Another! These people wear Glasses and they see through that Prism of Race and everything they see and do pertains to Race even Rewriting History to Suit their Narrative of Divide and Conquer!

Ms. Cole sometime ago I warned you of those who use their Magnets to Influence the Direction of other Peoples Inner Compass.

Either you seemed to have fallen for it hook line and sinker, or that’s the Direction you were headed all along and your piece was the Magnet to take us there?

http://religiopoliticaltalk.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/moral-compass-truth-worldviews.jpg

3. WE ARE MODERN DAY SERFS, BLACK WHITE AND INBETWEEN…

In Barbados People received their Freedom as it was heralded as something great they even Erected Statues to Celebrate Emancipation paid for by the Government, and then they proceed to make us Serfs. We have thrown off the Colonial Masters and now we have another one, Government and they are Celebrating Freedom with us while making us Slaves to the State!… Any kind of Slavery is Anti-Christ, it takes away peoples Freedom to Choose and its Ideology is that of Bondage!!

SOCIALISM is the Big Lie of the Twentieth and Twenty first Centuries!

Socialism has no theory of wealth creation; it’s just a destructive, Envy-Driven Fantasy about Redistributing Wealth after something else (and somebody else) creates it first. The slow poison of Government and Corporations, Crony Capitalism has infiltrated almost every level of Socialist Countries and is now being used as fodder to promote Socialism.

What most do not realize is that Serfdom still exist today in the guise of Socialism and Prospers Worldwide and we that are on the Isles of the sea are not exempt. The same Convoluted Philosophy that erected the Statue that Supposed to represent Freedom is Binding us in Chains of ECONOMIC SLAVERY.

That is the Ultimate Deception!!…OVER TAXATION IS THEFT…

https://pics.me.me/everyone-wants-to-live-at-the-expense-of-the-state-2743064.png

4. CRONY CAPITALISM IS VERY MUCH ALIVE IN BARBADOS…

Peace and Security are better established through the means of economic liberty. It is only when a people are individually and economically free can a society establishing a self-respecting and self-governing citizen. Free Enterprise (Capitalism) = Free Markets

Capitalism, which is a Communist word removing the (Free Enterprise aspect of it), + Governments = Crony Capitalism/Corporations (Not a Free Market)

Cronyism is where big business and governments collude to give special favours to those entities to the exclusion of the ordinary person. Crony Capitalism is an attempt to label the System of Free Enterprise by regulating it until it is no longer Free.

A Prime Example is that the BMC was bringing in Chicken wings as cheap source of protein for the small man and shops etc. However recently the original plan has switched and only Large Traders are allowed to purchase wings in Quantity and the small man is limited to One Box per purchase…Thus Squeezing small business and Individuals while Propping up Big Businesses…I wonder who is responsible for these decisions in Government or at the BMC and what Kickbacks they are receiving?

http://www.thewhirlingwind.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/harriet_tubman_meme.jpg

5. WE ARE MODERN DAY SERFS, BLACK WHITE AND IN-BETWEEN…

In Barbados People received their Freedom as it was heralded as something great they even Erected Statues to Celebrate Emancipation paid for by the Government, and then they proceed to make us Serfs. We have thrown off the Colonial Masters and now we have another one, Government and they are Celebrating Freedom with us while making us Slaves to the State!… Any kind of Slavery is Anti-Christ, it takes away peoples Freedom to Choose and its Ideology is that of Bondage!!

SOCIALISM is the Big Lie of the Twentieth and Twenty first Centuries!

Socialism has no theory of wealth creation; it’s just a destructive, Envy-Driven Fantasy about Redistributing Wealth after something else (and somebody else) creates it first. The slow poison of Government and Corporations, Crony Capitalism has infiltrated almost every level of Socialist Countries and is now being used as fodder to promote Socialism.

What most do not realize is that Serfdom still exist today in the guise of Socialism and Prospers Worldwide and we that are on the Isles of the sea are not exempt. The same Convoluted Philosophy that erected the Statue that Supposed to represent Freedom is Binding us in Chains of ECONOMIC SLAVERY.

That is the Ultimate Deception!!…OVER TAXATION IS THEFT…

https://pics.me.me/everyone-wants-to-live-at-the-expense-of-the-state-2743064.png

6. Notice Heather Cole is steering clear of barbados politics these days
    Wuh happen the pill too bitter fuh u to swallow

7. Heather a pity you were not recognized and place on the big wig consultant team after all your efforts to catspraddle Cahill

8. @ Heather Cole,

A good place to start.

9. And to think Mariposa was awaiting the many articles which Heather Cole would have presented on BU reflecting a guiding light as a path on which her beloved govt would pursue
    A path which would have placed barbadians into economic success
    Boy was i fool

10. Africa has much to offer. The Europeans still take all that’s why the Africans flee to Europe.

Leave a Reply to Vincent CodringtonCancel reply