May you live in interesting times’ is widely reported as being of ancient Chinese origin but is neither Chinese nor ancient, being recent and western. It certainly seems to have been intended to sound oriental, in the faux-Chinese ‘Confucius he say‘ style, but that’s as near to China as it actually gets. Confucius’s actual sayings are as elusive as those of his western counterpart Aesop – we have no written records from either of them. –The Phrase Finderphrases.org.uk

More than a handful of issues compound the popular public conversation in what has been a short but rather eventful 2019 so far for Barbados. And I am not even referring to the surprisingly unseasonal nature of the chilly nights in St George and elsewhere or that of the current cricketing exploits of the regional cricket team. Local public discourse ranges from the arrest and charging of a youth that, in popular parlance, has “not yet lost his mother’s features” accused of apparent serial murder to the forewarning of a prohibition on the local use of plastics and Styrofoam, with some exceptions, after April 1.

From two executives of a leading local insurance company being indicted for money laundering in the US, to the island’s authorities being plainly at a loss as to the optimal temporal solution to a crime wave involving unlicensed forearms, and being obliged to declare a weekend of national prayer in addition to the unprecedented and controversial appointment of a consultant to the Commissioner of Police, among other measures.

From a recent report of Transparency International that contrary to popular perception and public accusation, Barbados places as high as 25 on a list of 180 jurisdictions in descending order of the perceived level of public corruption and, for what it may be worth, ranks currently as perceptibly the least corrupt jurisdiction in the region, to the complex determination of the ideal policy stance to adopt in the ongoing Venezuelan todoment, having historically declared our foreign policy intent to be a lofty-sounding but geopolitically impracticable “friends of all and satellites of none”. While the second part of this dictum is eminently achievable, it is clearly more difficult to subscribe to the first in any scenario of international conflict except perhaps to sit on the fence. Is anyone, anywhere, at all times a friend of all?

So far as the US indictment of the insurance executives is concerned, many will naturally wonder how it is that an illegal transaction that had its origins in Barbados, (although, admittedly, its dénouement did take effect in the US), has seemingly had no criminal consequence here while the relevant parties have all been subjected to the US criminal jurisdiction. This lack of development is even more surprising given the clear extraterritorial reach of the local statute. According to section 7 of our Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act 2011-

Any act done by a person outside Barbados which would be an offence if done within Barbados, is an offence for the purpose of this Act.

Of course, I concede that the prosecution of a criminal offence is entirely a discretionary matter, based primarily on the relevant authority’s perception of the chances of securing a conviction. However, that very resolution is way above my pay grade. Readers should simply take note here that our law is not entirely deficient in this regard.

With respect to the weekend of prayer, given our predilection for the Biblical Judeo-Christian injunction and our traditional insistence on being termed a Christian society, there is little doubt that this notion will resonate with a sizeable majority of permit me to discount the potency of prayer or the mysteries that constructive thought, faith and positive belief may effect. At the same time, I consider that humanly to do nothing and expect prayer to solve miraculously a man-made problem such as a gun-crime wave smacks less of faith and more of superstition.

Not that there has been any paucity of suggestions as to how to cope with our current predicament. One former magistrate and MP has suggested a gun court, as was the case last century in Jamaica. Unfortunately, this turned out to be declared unconstitutional by the JCPC in one of the landmark cases of regional constitutional jurisprudence. There have also been the usual suggestions of violent retribution for offenders; hanging, whipping dismemberment and castration. The Commissioner of Police had suggested that there should be no bail granted for those charged with gun crimes, the former Minister with responsibility for the Police politely implored the perpetrators to put down their guns and the Prime Minister herself has warned them in the lingua franca, “Not ‘bout hey”. Most controversial from a partisan political angle, however, has been the nomination of a former Commissioner of Police, Mr Darwin Dottin, to be a consultant on crime, either to the Office of the Attorney General or, as it appears to have been popularly perceived, the Commissioner of Police.

If it is indeed the latter, this measure would be unexceptionable had the request for such assistance emanated from the Commissioner himself, but that does not appear to have been the case. We are therefore left , rightly or wrongly, with the impression that the current task is overmuch for the current High Command and that greater intellectual candlepower is required.

Indeed, it may be argued that the authorities are putting themselves out on a limb here, for nothing but unconditional success in curing the scourge will suffice cogently to justify this unprecedented initiative.

Unfortunately, the constraint of time today compels me to break of here and to continue this commentary next week, D.V.

To be continued…

127 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – “In interesting times” –a Sunday cook-up [I]”

1. @David

My memory is not too gud, the cold has done a lot of damage to my brain (and spelling) and atrophy has set in but didn’t the former COP lose his case in Court for reinstatement?

2. Thank yuh David/BU.

Glad we can see eye to eye on something buddy.

3. Wuh Sarge I was hear wondering the same thing Boss.

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David February 3, 2019 9:33 AM “@Simple Simon. Inniss has property in the US. This is a matter of public record.”

i am not disputing this David.

What i am saying is if as the Americans allege, he had been “earning” some extras on the side, and if those extras had been kindly spent on his constituents, instead of being as alleged by the Americans being put in an American bank account, perhaps the constituents would have been so grateful, they would have reelected him, and he would as a Parliamentarian still be inviolable, still be holding a diplomatic passport, and thus beyond the reach of U.S. officialdom. Americans cannot arrest those who can hide behind the Vienna Convention.

In other words David, when ya have a little spare change knocking ’bout in ya pocket spend some on the truly needy, share it ’bout, such people may be grateful and remember you on polling day.

5. @Sargeant

It is poor optics and bad business.

Bear in mind however Cheltenham the legal support for the PSC user the former government advised against firing Dottin. Messy business.

6. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

If Donville was still a Parliamentarian and holding a diplomatic passport thee Americans would not/could not have arrested him.

It was in his interest to hold tight, tight to his Parliamentary seat.

7. So leh me get this straight, I could lose a case in Court and the AG who is the chief law enforcement officer in the land can assert that the Gov’t will have to pay me damages because the PSC decision was “flawed”. What about the Court’s verdict?

I saw the word “sinister” today and I immediately thought of “left hands”, In this case the left hand and the right hand are in concert and possibly the “Head” too,

8. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“friends of all satellites of none”. It sounds good in the uttering and makes for good copy but as been alluded to; at best it is pandering for the “otherness” as being different and at worse dishonest in its application.

@ Sarge, I agree…in modern geopolitics the first part of this dictum is almost meaningless…as it is in personal life…Who is or can be a friend of everyone?

9. If the perception of where Dottin’s political loyalties lie is true, then it will appear as though his appointment as the Consultant on Crime in the Office of the Attorney General is gesture to vindicate him……..

……… in other words……… “duh force out we boy, but we bring he back as a consultant.”

What is disgusting about this situation is that, although Dottin was “retired in the public’s interest,” he continued to receive his CoP salary until he eventually retired……. now he is back to feed off tax payers once again.

10. The following excerpt was taken from the Monday, October 17, 2016 edition of the Barbados Advocate:

THE Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU) is taking note of the changing face of crime in Barbados and the methods being used to address it.

Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU), Cheryl Willoughby, noted recently that her department has been tracing the evolution of the criminal justice system in Barbados over the last 50 years and since the Unit’s establishment, it has been conducting research that can prove valuable in informing the decision-making process of key policymakers.

“No longer are our policymakers making decisions based on anecdotal information. They are now gathering their information based on empirical data, obtained from our Department, with regard to crime,” Willoughby pointed out.

“If you want to know how many persons committed homicides over a five-year period, what are the demographics of persons who are committing certain aspects of crime, what is the recidivism rate of crime in Barbados, that is information that you can get from our department and in doing so, you are able to put together your research projects,” Willoughby stated.

The director, meanwhile, noted that she is looking forward to the country moving in a direction where more science is used to solve crime.

“If you look at our justice model for example, we are moving more away from a punitive justice model, more towards a restorative justice model. We are seeing developments in the area of policing, where we are seeing more science being used, more equipment and technology being used, in order to detect criminal activity,” she said.

“I look forward to Barbados moving in that direction, to the point where we no longer rely on information garnered from criminals themselves, but we use technology, we use CCTV and we use science to solve crime, because certainly, if you look at Barbados from the perspective of a criminologist, you would recognise that the nature of crime has changed as well. Crime has become more complex and as we have free movement across the Caribbean and beyond the region, you will recognise that persons can access Barbados easily and commit crime and move on and so we need now to have more connectivity in terms of what we do and be more science driven, in seeking answers to some of our problems,” Willoughby said.

Her comments came recently as the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit held a career showcase for secondary school students at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to educate them about the types of careers available to them within the criminal justice system.

Why does Barbados need to pay a consultant on crime in the AG’s office at this time………when there is a Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU), formerly known as the National Task Force on Crime?

What about the work done by Cheryl and her team?

Is this arrogant BLP administration implying there isn’t any need for the Unit?

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

as the constitution such as it is does not give the PM a unilateral right to do any hiring within the police force

*that is the constitutional question i posed to Jeff, which he has answered in a roundabout fashion8

@ Mr Greene, This is the assertion that I responded to…not in a roundabout fashion. A consultant to an organization does not in law become part of that organization

12. you get the govt you deserve

13. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I saw the word “sinister” today and I immediately thought of “left hands”, In this case the left hand and the right hand are in concert and possibly the “Head” too

@ Sarge, A Latin scholar too, I see…

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax February 3, 2019 2:54 PM “Dottin was “retired in the public’s interest,” he continued to receive his CoP salary until he eventually retired now he is back…”

I like Mr. Dottin. I think that he is handsome, smart, charming, all of that.

But as a taxpayer I don’t like what is going on.

I don’t like the implication of the Nation’s “Dottin’s Payday?” Does this mean that he received his full salary while a policeman, is receiving his full pension(s), maybe one from NIS? and one as a retired public servant, his gratuity, his consultant’s fee and now the Nation is telling me “damages” too?

It makes this pensioner who is still paying a couple of thousands a year in income tax, plus VAT on everything including toilet paper, plus property tax feel very, very bad. When am going to get an ease? When will I get to pay a couple of hundred per year instead of a couple of thousand?

When will I get to stop funding other people’s paydays?

What will I get to be to be one of the “blue eyed boys”?

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Jeff Cumberbatch February 3, 2019 10:47 AM “what Trinidadians call “a monkey pants””

Dear Professor: i am not at all familiar with Trini talk, so can you please define “monkey pants” for me. Thanks.

16. jeff,

when i say round a bout i mean you answered one part of the question, which is that Dottin is a govt consultant and not a police hired consultant. when the news broke of his hiring did you know that?

i didnt and that is when that question was posed- whose consultant was he? can a PM can hire a consultant within the police service?

i remember writing something to the effect that if the COP wanted a consultant to advise him for some particular reason he would have to apply to the GG who would pass it onto the govt department responsible to act upon, if she agreed.

somewhere in there is the PSC the police oversight body which would have received the COP application for a consultant and send onto the GG with a nay or yay.

you answered the question by saying that MAM could hire any consultant she wanted.

i took that to mean that Dottin was her consultant from your point of view. by answering that part of the question you also indirectly answered the other – could a PM hire a consultant within the police- which i take it is a no

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sargeant February 3, 2019 2:48 PM “What about the Court’s verdict?”

Clearly I am no legal scholar.

Clearly I int n kind of scholar.

Far be it from me to say it, but perhaps the politicos think that the court’s judgement is flawed too.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Greene as said above yourself and others INVENTED this issue of the misunderstanding of the role of the consultant to the CoP.

You accuse me of spewing nonsense but then extensively quote an editorial which bluntly says the SAME baisc thing I said from day one.

The only folks who didn’t know that the consultant COULD NOT direct Griffith were those who refused to read and understand the rules of govt and the Constitution … And dare I say …our Constitution is meant to be UNDESTOOD by thrash collectors, pig farmers, fishermen, housewives and scholars ….ALL by reading, comprehension and proper application.

Respectfully senor, if u need to wait for the editorial board of BdosToday to flesh out basic comprehension for you then that’s fantastic but pls don’t saddle others with your need to defer to the editors.

This matter is purely political swill mainly in the manner @Artax explains … That the AG publicly says he is not aware of the consultant’s role is further nonsense of the swill because it means he was NEVER consulted although the PM had tapped him to take over…thus she is doing whatever she wants to!

So let’s be clear the Dean CLEARLY noted from the git go that there was no constitutional issue; and rational reading of ANY governance system like ours also made it pellucid that an outside consultant had NO CHAIN OF COMMAND OR EVEN PERSUASIVE AUTHORITY to direct a substantively titled civil servant..thus this was ALWAYS political nonsense .. I am overjoyed that you have finally reached that awareness based on others who made the issue more crystally clear…always better late than never to a good party! 😁

19. What is wrong with Dottin being hired as a consultant?

A lot of Congressmen here are hired as CEOs of major corporations; presidents of universities; and advisors to governments around the world ofter their tenure … So why so much lip-service over Dotten’s hiring?

20. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

DLP Grreene loves to play these shitty games…so now he knows the COP has to consult with the GG for everything, but did not know that only the GG can fire the COP…stueupppsss…jackass..

Anyway…Mia and Marshall can play hopscotch as much as they want with all the dirt Dottin got on all of them…but it will not end well..

“Son Of Spam
    February 23, 2011 at 9:14 am
    Here are some questions I extracted from a document that was sent to me with some questions on Mr Darwin Dottin stewardship and his ability to continue as COP. As a former intelligence officer internationally I have no reason to doubt my sources who have forwarded these documents for safekeeping.

Does the BLP appointed Royal Barbados Police Force commissioner Mr Darwin have dirt on DLP politicians?

Why are the British frustrated with Mr Dottin?

Does it have anything to do with the misuse of vehicles and surveillance equipment?

Can Mr Dottin tell the public why a suspended Sgt Carlos Thompson and his wife are driving a Special Branch vehicles?

Who are the private citizens illegally wiretapped and spied on by Carlos Thompson and by whose instructions?

Mr Dottin,is they any truth to the existence of a band of Untouchables headed by you which include such person as Richard Boyce and Jedder Robinson?

Is the Country`s security at risk with the transfer of 4 Special Branch officers with over 80 years experience.

When last was an audit done of the finances of the RBPF and who are the Untouchables carrying home over $4000 in overtime monthly.

Why did the Top COP disrespect the current AG on the January 5th 2011?

Did David Thompson, put Superintendent Boyce to watch Mr Dottin?”

21. Pedantic

lets agree to disagree and move on. ours seem to be a circular argument

22. WARU

Your contention was that the GG could fire the PM

and i asked you to name the circumstances under which a GG unilaterally could remove a sitting PM

here it is-

WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog February 2, 2019 12:53 PM

Enuff in Wonderland…of course you will want to split hairs…Belgave retired Dottin….that is a firing…he could not even take the case to the CCJ…

Better watch the GG don’t fire Mia’s ass…cause she can..lol

then where will you be…

23. William Skinner Avatar

Why are we still pretending that we are shocked by the shenanigans of the BLPDLP and their pathetic assortment of sycophants and apologists?

24. @Artax
    What is disgusting about this situation is that, although Dottin was “retired in the public’s interest,” he continued to receive his CoP salary until he eventually retired……. now he is back to feed off tax payers once again
    That makes the quixotic quest for damages ludicrous (it is not “quixotic” now he gets to dance the fandango with the AG), unless he felt that forced “retirement” was damaging to his reputation.

@Jeff C

The small rumbling you felt was a minor earthquake occasioned by several teachers turning over in their graves re “Latin scholar”

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Mia and Marshall are trying to spin this web of deceit as though the fact that Dottin lost his court case never happened…they are both on fantasy island and in Lala land all at the same time..

.. just make sure they do not take you there with them…ah hope they enjoy their time there..even their foolish followers are ineffective, it’s just that none of them have gotten the memo.

26. SirSimple

It is common practice here for companies to rehire retirees for a certain amount of hours per week, but what they make for salary counts as earned income … meaning that they have to pay taxes of what their make…

Plus a police officers or soldier who starts a career in their 20s, can retire at 40, and start and another career … because both of the careers above are classified as Hazardous Duty, so therefore, the police officer or the soldier can retire after 20 years of service if they both wish to do so and work elsewhere…

27. Sergeant

Didn’t Dottin have a case pending before the court? Then what about those people who are on paid administrative leave until their cases are settled?

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Dear Professor: i am not at all familiar with Trini talk, so can you please define “monkey pants” for me. Thanks.

@ SSSPFL, simply put…in a sticky situation. I confess that I do not know the origin

29. David

I still await the proof of wiretapping the named persons. I don’t trust nuffin certain people inlvolved in–naffin. How come they didn’t have a case? As far as I know Dottin never lost his case for wrongful dismissal. Here is the proof:

Former Commissioner of Police of the Royal Barbados Police Force, Mr Darwin Dottin, had his request for special leave to appeal denied by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ). The CCJ in written reasons issued yesterday, denied the refusal of interim relief that Mr Dottin sought following his removal from the ‘top cop’ post 4 years ago. Since his claimed relief was to enable him to continue in office and he had retired before his appeal to the CCJ, his appeal was without practical merit. His substantive case concerning his dismissal remains to be heard by the Barbados High Court. He asked the Court to determine that there is no such concept as “administrative leave” and that he could not have been compulsorily retired in the public interest under Barbados’ Pensions Act of Barbados.

Too much misinformation by the self-proclaimed intellegentsia. lmao.

30. @Enuff

This is why BU is important to clarify erroneous positions before others craft messages elsewhere.

31. And just because Dottin was terminated that does not mean that he does not have a right to due process under law … we all do …if not by way of a labour department hearing … then by the legal remedy…

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ SSSPFL,

NNP put Grenada in a monkey pants
    October 5, 2013 | COMMENTARY

The recklessness of the NNP administration during the period 1995-2008 is responsible for this monkey pants that all Grenadians will be asked to wear. They neglected agriculture; not a single new hotel room was built (only promises); they left the country unprepared for when payback day comes

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Got it. Thanks.

34. Enuff

I am still awaiting the proof of wiretapping the named persons

The main accusing in the case is long dead … Inspector Anderson Invader Bowen … Had accused Dottin of wire tapping his phone…

35. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The only thing yardfowls are good for, “waiting to see.”

As is the norm, the PM and AG are both IGNORING THE DECISIONS OF THE HIGH COURT JUDGES…re Dottin.

Dottin already had his day in court, he could not even elevate the matter to the CCJ…because the decision was final.

36. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

That is why judges of the Supreme Court should be ELECTED and not selected by corrupt government ministers because they all ignore the judges decisions…even insurance companies have gotten into the act of ignoring judge’s decisions.

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Lexicon February 3, 2019 3:52 PM “A lot of Congressmen here are hired as CEOs of major corporations; presidents of universities; and advisors to governments around the world after their tenure. So why so much lip-service over Dottin’s hiring?”

Because Barbados is NOT the USA. Because the per capita Gross Domestic Product of the USA is $62,518

While the per capita Gross Domestic Product of Barbados is $16,669, so those of us who pay taxes here feel over-burdened. We don’t feel that it is right to rehire pensioned public servants who are already getting a pension out of the taxpayers purse and then to pay them a salary out of the same very slim purse.

It is not that we don’t like Dottin. We like him. Or at least i do, but we who pay taxes in Barbados feel stretched to the limit.

We are not bad minded. Just broke, struggling from pay check to paycheck or pension check to pension check.

That’s all.

Got it?

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I will tell you something that most Bajans will never tell you.

Right now I have $1 in my bank account and pension day is not until the 18th.

It is a good thing that notwithstanding the teasing from some of the BU fellas, that I work the land so I have plenty of home grown food in the house, so I can eat. And the utilities have been paid, and I have a pensioner’s pass.

39. Oh laaaawd, here comes another episode of Roleric Hinds. Re-instatement after one has reached the age of retirement is not the same as being wrongfully dismissed. Although the QC hired by the Guyson Mayers/DLP led PSC is quoted in today’s paper saying he was preparing to settle with Dottin’s lawyer, Abigail insisting the High Court ruled. Lemme gather muh popcorn.

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sargeant February 3, 2019 4:11 PM “unless he felt that forced “retirement” was damaging to his reputation.”

What reputation what?

I am in the departure lounge, maybe 15% of life left. Maybe 1%. Dottin is older that I am.

Professional reputations are only good in the market place. When you are in the departure lounge are there many people looking to “buy” your excellent reputation?

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“is not the same as being wrongfully dismissed. ”

But he still lost the goddamn case…

Was Dottin reinstated…or was he RETIRED…wrongfully or not..and in my view ah saw nothing wrong with cutting him loose.

Mia can always reinstate him now…but why is it the taxpayer’s having to pay him…for what, he was and still is a disgrace to the force….two rape victims had to fight to get him to release the man they swore did not rape them, cause Dottin seems to know otherwise because he was there and not the victims………violating those poor women all over again…… they had to take their cases to the UK media and expose him, they got raped and then had to fight to release the man falsely and wrongly arrested by Dottin and Leacock…

hope ya enjoy ya popcorn, cause I enjoying mine.

42. Allow me to touch on one of Jeff’s offerings re “Day of Prayer”. A “Day of Prayer” only works if there is a receptive audience and I would venture to guess that the target audience will not be found in the precincts of any church (unless they are there to bade farewell to one of their confreres), the people who will be in attendance are the same ones found in the pews on any given Sunday.

Call me a cynic, can we have a “Day of Prayer” for the Economic well- being of the island?

43. Idiocy has no bounds. Wrong and strong and trying to save face talking shite. Carry on.

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And here I was thinking ya were enjoying ya popcorn, but no, ya still fretting……lol

when ya see the shit starts flying…ah hope ya get a bucket full…straight in ya face…that is always the well deserved rewarrd for yardfowls anyhow…..just ask ya companeros, AC, Alvin, CCC..well we know who that one is…but they will tell ya..a bucket of shit in ya face is much different to walking in raw sewage..

45. Lot of people praying today especially rams fans

46. Sergeant

Pray has a transforming effect … but pray only work for those who are called to God purpose… the Bible wasn’t written for sinners but for worshippers of God …

47. Sergeant

Pray has a transforming effect … but pray only work for those who are called to God purpose… the Bible wasn’t written for sinners but for worshippers of God …

48. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Didn’t see any politicians at church this morning.

49. Sergeant

Calling on the society for a Day of Pray not Prayer …is like asking Hitler to prayer for the the Jews… Because God only answer the prayers of those who are His chosen people …

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“and he had retired before his appeal to the CCJ”

that only happened because Dottin was goddamn greedy, he wanted to get the pension and keep the job too, but imagine him, a lawyer, not knowing that he should have appealed the case to CCJ…BEFORE RETIRING…..

Besides…if Marshall is saying Dottin is vindicated…in the dismissal case…when it has not even been heard yet at the supreme court…which corrupt…judge BLP selected already signed off on it????

remember… Marshall claimed he took the beneficiary to court whose land they stole…..won a judgement…and it has been proven that he lied about that…so what now..

ya see all those games yall playing..I can hear the clock…tick, tock..

my popcorn is still good..lol

don’t worry about the sequence of events..I got this, watch muh nuh…

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply