The embedded documents support a view the government has backtracked on a promise made to employees at the BTPA and the Barbados Workers Union. In the interest of transparency and integrity it is important for the Mia Mottley led government to clarify the matter if it is to sustain the confidence of the people it serves. The last thing the citizenry wants is a government that was voted to office with an overwhelming mandate to mimic the decisions of its successor.

See relevant documents shared with Barbados Underground.

P-1P-2P-3P-4P-5P-6Union_Promise

189 responses to “Barbados Cabinet Breaks Promise to Consult BWU re: transfer of BTPA to BTMI”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I really, really want someone to tell me that the article is not true, that is what am aiming for…Enuff should be happy to tell me that…

2. Current Performance Ministry of Tourism Currently there is very limited policy driven leadership of the industry by the MoT. Using arrivals numbers as the key performance indicator for the Ministry and BTA has a detrimental impact on innovation and the potential to drive change. The current structure, lack of policy, strategic direction and relevant performance indicators mean that the Ministry has little control over the approach taken towards key elements of the industry, in particular to cruise tourism or the policy on airline negotiations. Research and Product Development are undertaken by the Ministry and the BTA. This duplication weakens the delivery of both functions. Effective research driven policy is not currently evident in the Ministry and research is undervalued. As with all other Ministries, and some public sector bodies, the Ministry is unable to manage its staff adequately since the responsibility for appointments, dismissals, and discipline rests with the Public Services Commission. There is a lack of synergy and co-operation between the central Ministry and public sector bodies – particularly the BTA………. Ministry of Tourism and Tourism Public Sector Bodies Institutional Assessment and Prior Options Scenarios Report July 2012

3. But after all you swear Roleric Hinds was the MP for St.Thomas too.🤣🤣🤣

4. Barbados Tourism Authority The main focus of the organization seems to be on increasing visitor arrivals with very little analysis regarding the cost of getting the visitors to Barbados and the returns on investment. The practice of negotiating MRGs with airlines is now costing the BTA dearly as the risk has been removed from the airlines, while the focus on promoting and advertising the airlift before and during the period of the service has been removed. Based on information in the 2012 budget estimates, the amounts spent for MRGs in 2011 exceeded BDS$31 million. The Authority has a very broad and deep hierarchy which has too many divisions and senior people reporting to the CEO and many overlaps which can be reduced. The majority of the staff, budget and focus of the BTA is currently on marketing and airlift in particular – where approximately 30%-40% of the budget is spent. This leaves very little to be put into product improvement, guidance and training and this needs to be corrected. Currently research in the BTA seems to be limited to analysing the statistics derived from the visitor completed immigration cards. But there is no detailed market research to identify trends and marketing preferences of visitors, to form the basis for decision making. Research as a tool to guide marketing decisions is lacking. The BTA has established a costly staff and infrastructure footprints in foreign markets, instead of identifying tourism marketing representation companies that have a clear terms of reference and performance criteria for assessing their performance and determining their contracts. …………….Ministry of Tourism and Tourism Public Sector Bodies Institutional Assessment and Prior Options Scenarios Report July 2012

5. Where would the Ministry of Finance get $500 m from to invest?

6. Some years ago a Singaporean official visited Barbadosband he advised that Barbados using the wrong metric to measure tourist arrivals. Instead of number of arrivals the more performance base approach is to log dollars spent. We continue to define all issues with a political scant, we are stuck in the mud.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wondering….from which major statutory board was the BWU rep removed?

8. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

That is another of my reasons for questioning the article…cause they borrowed over 200 million right, from IMF….so they should have nothing to invest…not in such a risky scam..

I see it as some fool using Barbados to promote the bitcoin scam, waiting for someone to say otherwise…

9. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Enuff…ah take it ya can’t answer for fear that you are wrong and get laughed off BU…ah know ya so well..lol

10. $500M? Stupse, you’re part of the intelligentsia and can’t RH think. #copy+pastequeen#salemite

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Instead of number of arrivals the more performance base approach is to log dollars spent.”

I suspect dollar spend will be a difficult metric to gauge. Days spent maybe more attainable.

12. Do we know how Singapore is able to measure ave dollars spent?

13. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Nah…ah love ya to tell me when am wrong…what else are ya good for anyway…gotta find work for idle minds, you Dottin supporter…lol

14. as a follow to that story about the $500 mil bitcoin acquisition the PM of Bermuda whose special adviser is Gabriel Abed announced that Bermudas will get a Fintech Bank

http://www.royalgazette.com/local-business/article/20190201/fintech-bank-one-of-final-pieces-of-puzzle

the things that make you go huh

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

It would appear Singapore uses ESTIMATES, with some Visitor Information survey being the key.
    https://www.stb.gov.sg/statistics-and-market-insights/Documents/STB%20Q2%202018_09112018.pdf

Since several of their measurable indices show very poor ‘expected correlation’ over time, I find the numbers reported to be at least, questionable.

16. Barbados s a failed state. It will all end in tears.

By the way, what does “you ay have the last word really means sociologically?” I think understand the literal sense.

17. @Northern Observer

Thanks.

We conclude the measure is no more robust than ours?

At minimum it exerts tension on a more relevant measure?

18. Was Ryan Straughn, the minster of finance, at the 40th gala of ICBL? Is this the company involved in the Donviille Inniss case? Am I right in saying they pleaded guilty to bribery allegations? Is there going to be an investigation in to ICBL and these allegations? If there is, will the inquiry come under the ministry of finance or the attorney general’s department?

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ Piece
    Don’t forget when they were striking and protesting,the orders were coming from the bosses in the private sector.

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright February 4, 2019 4:15 PM “And before you start Sir Simple I know that you gine axe de ole man whu i got gainst females who bites out pok*es but i gine jes leh you know that they are jes 2 inches away from the pooch lickers and de ole man ent like dem eider.
    Do you? A simple yes or no will suffice.”

I don’t care what you or anybody else likes or dislikes.

That said, I am a disciplined person. Just this morning I told 45govt that I have no bad habits. I’ve never had any bad habits. I waited until I was a fully grown healthy adult of 25 years old before I started my sex life. I continue to enjoy my sex life. I remain in excellent health. I’ve never had an STD, nor have I ever given one. Furthermore I do not need to account to ANYBODY for my sexual activity, because in more that 40 years I have never, never hurt anybody, and I never will.

I trust that your nosiness is well satisfied.

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

And if you think that I am a ho ho ho who cares. I just my change my BU moniker to the happy, healthy hooker.

Except that I do not want anybody’s money. I’ve never wanted anybody’s money. I’ve been happily doing legitimate work to help support myself since I was 4 years old, starting with picking pond grass, nut grass and devil grass etc. I’ve eaten well every single day of my life. I expect to remain healthy and happy well into my late 80’s or 90’s just as my parents did, and most of my grandparents did.

This current political class? They too will pass, and I will still be here.

Politicians are NOT the Alpha and Omega.

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright February 4, 2019 4:15 PM “Do you? A simple yes or no will suffice.”

And “yes” there are male and female homosexuals in my family, and “yes” there have been male and female homosexuals in my family for generations. And “yes” they are a well beloved part of our family.

We are a loving family.

23. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Enuff…in a situation like this, you find out who is using the island to push the scam…you have my permission to investigate, I trust your judgement and tell Mia I said to pay ya.

in all seriousness, the island really is a target for every lowlife on earth….that is the reputation the previous and now this government wanted, be careful what you wish for….

24. @Hal
    What does “you may have the last word” mean.

I think you know what it means. You often allow Lexicon to ‘have the last word’.

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern Observer

The BSS also carry out periodic visitors’ surveys in order to arrive at an average spend per visitor. Most measures as you know are estimates .

26. Before we go down the scam route… we must first figure out if this money will be going to a sandbox venture.

Perhaps they have developed new ways to skin the once fatted calf.

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

BSS = Barbados Statistical Services.

28. @NO
    @Lawson
    It can be a mixture of hard and soft data… from hoteliers and tourists…

Both have their drawbacks. The hotelier might under-report for he fears the taxman.

And guys like Lawson and 45colt will claim they spent a million dollars on their exit survey.

29. @JG
    I am using my phone so my access to information is limited. It seem as if Bermuda is rightfully putting the horse before the cart with education and training being the first phase

30. &Waru
    I’m googling and cannot find that $500M story. Share the link or take it back.

31. @Theo,

Still don’t know what it means.

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

You may have the last word means:

I am tired of engaging you in argument/talk/discussion. I am finished with the argument/talk/discussion. I acknowledge that you still hold the same beliefs now as before we started the argument/talk/discussion.

I dun.

I outta hay.

Or as the young people say holding the palm of their hands up high “talk to the hand”

That is”

I am not listening/paying attention to you anymore.

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Can’t take it back…it was on facebook and quite obviously designed to promote bitcoin scam…..that is why it caught my eye, it came complete with amounts earned if you invested in bitcoin, that is how I knew it was not kosher, cause since the false high… bitcoin crashed to way lower than they are advertising,….plus the language was all wrong for something coming out of CNN..plus the photo with all the IMF players was one I saw about the second or third month after the government was elected… I was not even interested in the link after all of that, but you are free to search……lots of redflags…

34. That is the literal meaning. But what is the sociological significance of saying it? Does it have a wider significance? ie the saying: Don’t mind he, man, I know he,he ain’t nuttin”, has a deeper cultural meaning. Or, another historical sociological example is the Trinidadian saying: He is a bad John, a corruption of he is a Bajan.

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I thought that WARU might like this:

Canadian cryptocurrency exchange QuadrigaCX seeks creditor protection after founder’s death. Gerald Cotten died in December — but what were his passwords? In an affidavit, the widow of Gerald Cotten, Quadriga’s founder, CEO and sole director, said he died suddenly on Dec. 9 due to complications from Crohn’s disease. Court filings show that after his death, Quadriga employees have been unable to locate or access roughly $190 million worth of digital money.
    More here: https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/quadrigacx-cryptocurrency-1.5005236

36. The Unions in barbados would be hard to find anyone supporting any of their fights within themselves or with govt.
    Toni Moore sat down with past govt and had an agreement of 34 % percent skinned botsie at govt and said that was not enough
    Turns around and throw entire members under the bus for 3% now got nerve to be looking for support in time of Union fight with govt
    She got some nerve
    So glad to see govt now having their turn at throwing the Unions under the bus i hope the bus wheels turned them into mashed potatoes

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.npr.org/2019/02/04/691296170/cryptocurrency-exchange-says-it-cant-access-millions-after-founder-s-unexpected
    Cryptocurrency Exchange Says It Can’t Access Millions After CEO Unexpectedly Died, at age 30 in India

“Gerry died due to complications with Crohn’s disease on December 9, 2018 while travelling in India,” Robertson [his widow] wrote, “where he was opening an orphanage to provide a home and safe refuge for children in need.”

38. Barbados Underground is no place for FAKE NEWS.

“A Facebook page targeting Maltese audiences is sponsoring ads on Facebook with claims that the Finance Ministry has invested some $500 million in a deal with the The Bitcoin Revolution.”

https://www.newsbook.com.mt/artikli/2018/12/11/malta-government-targeted-by-scammers/?lang=en

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Told yall it was sketchy from the jump…the info was all wrong, badly worded etc…

40. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Bitcoin was a hot mess from the get go, nothing good was ever going to come out of that….

….Sir Simple…suicide of another young bitcoin quadrillionaire just last year, think he was just 25, now another one bites the dust…this get rich quick thing is not all it’s cracked up to be though…..and when they carry their passwords with them….wuhloss..lol

41. Typical behaviour from the Salemite/pick-a-noise crew–Abigail, Thomas et al. Ignorant!!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

42. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog February 4, 2019 4:18 PM

Trying to find out if this is true, saw it on CNN Tech..the language seems a little off, but that could be me, help me out Enuff..please..

WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog February 4, 2019 7:36 PM

Can’t take it back…it was on facebook and quite obviously designed to promote bitcoin scam…

A demon at work.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Not too sure what was on Facebook and CNN about the Fintech global scams.

Pretty sure about the MyMoney scam that has been launched in Barbados by the Mugabe Regime and how dat gone eat up so many billions in the coming year

It gine mek dat cryptocurrencies fiasco that the Barbados Central Prank is running pale into insignificance

And speaking about other promises the Mugabe regime has reneged on, IN ADDITION TO THIS BTA TRICK that shows the regard Mugabe has for the sellout union, let us not forget other nationally renown broken promises

http://imgur.com/oOs1XdI

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    yes I am aware. The point which David picked up, is even Singapore uses estimates on spend.
    Data collection is expensive. Especially spend. And their increasing allocation to the “miscellany” category tends to suggest they are ‘educated guesstimating’.
    Popular features like AirBnB in Barbados, is only one evolving feature that will catspraddle stats, if the operators don’t report.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

Since no reply, was it the NIS Board the BWU was removed from or another statutory board?

46. @Northern Observer

We know a representative of the BWA was appointed last year, one would have thought if the position was removed our media would have shared with the public.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

T Inniss

I am sure that… that within the ranks of the police force, you have some thinkers far beyond the knowledge base of Dottin that can consult and interject strategies to deal with our criminal elements. Unfortunately, they might not be loyal lapdogs, or compromise by friendships or passes on. To tell you the truth, I am glad a homeboy is consulting, but I would have felt better if we had gone to Washington for an ex FBI agent to come to our shores and offer his or her insights into fighting our crime mess. For me, Dottin is too close to the current PM, and both have a shared history. Sounds to me like putting all her pooch lickers in key places so they can carry out her mandate of Yes MAM is the plan here.

I have heard many stories about the inconsistencies of Dottin, while he functioned as Police Commissioner, and that while there, he was no stranger to controversy and ridicule. I have also heard some positive things as well, which were beneficial to the force. Be that as it may, one has to ask: what can Dottin offer now that was not presented before, that can prove useful to the current Commissioner? For all intents and purposes, the current commissioner is on the receiving end of praise. Dottin has a question mark hanging over his head for allegations that he followed the wiretapping script written for him by his dear friend and political leader. So his winning his case, he getting a consultancy position, and the introduction that the Barbados government wants to wiretap, and oh yeah, Mottley’s recruitment of a Communications specialist that is a non-national, is all too coincidental to me. I smell rogue in all of this, and Rogue-Works is putting her plan into motion.

48. @Vincent

The fact we are not talking more about trapping more dollars and instead politically focused on bodies passing through ports of entry exposes that we are not serious?

49. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

So now am a demon…a sweet person like me..

Enuff…ah go find a real job for you, take time, sometimes things move slow…but they move, just remember those words…cause that particular job will mean ya have to actually do real work and for a very long time…

“So his winning his case”

That is the fake news put out there by Marshall…according to their yardfowl…the case has not even been called yet…but Marshall already has Dottin winning it, gotta find out who is the Judge that already gave a judgement on a case that has not even been called yet.

……Marshall has a track record for claiming he won cases that never went to court……and according to him, the judge agreed with him and everything..lol

ticktock…ya heard that Enuff…..how much time did ya say is left …four years …four months….magic numbers…

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“but Marshall already has Dottin winning it, gotta find out who is the Judge that already gave a judgement on a case that has not even been called yet.”

And to add insult to injury him and Mia already got their minds set on dipping into taxpayers money to pay Dottin…

….ya can’t get not one of them lowlifes who have mooched off taxpayers from primary school to their retirement age complete with pension…consulting or doing anything for the majority population…black people like themselves…for free…not one want to give back to the people, not one…everyone want MONEY…and to tief as much of it as they can…

Billie the goat Miller should be working for free..

Cheltenham should be working for free..

Greenidge should be working for free..

David Simmons should be working for the people for free and in penance for what he did at the Supreme Court, the total destruction of the court by him and his corrupt companeros, the total destruction of the lives of injured people by him in collusion with CGI Insurance, Peter Harris and the Baileys…

But no…not one of them want to give back to the people…all they want to do is take, take, take from the PEOPLE…and tief as much estates and properties as they can….

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply