The embedded documents support a view the government has backtracked on a promise made to employees at the BTPA and the Barbados Workers Union. In the interest of transparency and integrity it is important for the Mia Mottley led government to clarify the matter if it is to sustain the confidence of the people it serves. The last thing the citizenry wants is a government that was voted to office with an overwhelming mandate to mimic the decisions of its successor.

See relevant documents shared with Barbados Underground.

P-1P-2P-3P-4P-5P-6Union_Promise

189 responses to “Barbados Cabinet Breaks Promise to Consult BWU re: transfer of BTPA to BTMI”

1. Doesn’t look good. Meet the new boss, same as the old boss.

2. @David
    Stop the Press! You are really on the ball, the BWU just realised that playing nice doesn’t win you any friends.

BTW, those pieces of correspondence reached you so quickly that they may start to copy you in future.

3. Do we know who are the members of this transition committee?

4. David

Oh please !

How do you expect a DESPOT to behave ?

By the time she finishes……Mia Mottley will cause more damage to the Barbadian landscape, citizen pysche than hurricanes Andrew , Gilbert, Hugo , Katrina , Irma & Maria – COMBINED – did to the countries they impacted !

Imagine before May 24 , 2018 this DESPOT said that Barbados is BROKE and at the BRINK !!

Gi me the VOTE and WATCH MUH !!!

She begged !!

Well the people did !!

Here is an EXAMPLE of their reward :

• $ 20,000.00 a month consultancies for her FAMILY & FRIENDS !

• Her RETIREES friends brought out of retirement and put on government payroll !

• A 27 member CABINET……when she said the Dems own of 17 members was too large !

• Knighthood for her father !

• 2,500 public officers retrenched with more to go before April 1, 2019 !

Barbados deserves better !!

5. Why do you all even act surprised you voted for crooks, liars, and scumbags what you expect? Cake and Roses? No need to read all the pages when it comes from the outhouse, You can read as long as you can hold your breath,

6. What the hell am I seeing here.

This does not augur well at all for the so – called social partnership.

I must say though in fairness to the Union – that big foot move is total disrespect to the Union.Not in order at all !.

Toni Moore – you see why Freundel tell yuh be careful when the lambs lying down wid the LIONS?

Anyway all you have to do – IS UP DE TING – RIGHT AWAY LOL.

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Fascinating David. I commend the BWU for their insistence on following “agreed protocols” but I doubt that it will make much difference in the final analysis

8. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

We shall follow with interest to see who executes who.

9. Wunnah been had by woman would pretended she cared until she got what she wanted … because naivety led a lot gullible Barbadians to believed that she had what it took to fix the problem facing the infinitesimal island.

But had she been honest she would have level with the people and we wouldn’t be having this conversation now, but she was cognizant of the fact that had she had done she would risk the chance of being elected, so opt for lies in order to gained what she was obviously seeking …power …

10. I saw the Prime Minister before the election on Facebook and other social media outlets smiling and joking with gullible Bajans … but she was smart though because she knew how to play the game in order to get what she wanted, because she had obviously identified a weakness in the Barbadians character … Naivety

11. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Time is longer than twine.

12. No support here for the Union. They deserve every kick they will be getting from govt.
    After all Toni Moore sold out the members for 3% .
    In turn she was rewarded a cushy pay check in Parliament .

13. Do you accept the union is always represented in the Senate, Leroy Trotman, Bobby Morris et al?

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

A rogue cannot pretend to be good when their heart has well practised deceit and deception. Mottley made sure that she speaks what the people want to hear: More talk about transparency, accountability, holding renegade money making ministers too account, and letting the people know that she will investigate the crooked DLP. All it amounts to is just talk. Take note that she is boldly presenting her wire tapping campaign under the guise of increase crime on the island. Take note also that Dottin is back in the money and will be put in a position to enforce her efforts to keep tabs on all persons of dissenting interest. Mottley has commenced her PM campaign by draconian means. She does not give a shit what people say or think. All of her people are reaping the benefits of specific decisions made, while those who are related or close to her are agonising over the next meal or bill paid. By the way what happen to bringing certain things to the people for them to decide? Yeah right!

15. “After all Toni Moore sold out the members for 3%. In turn she was rewarded a cushy pay check in Parliament.”

Spot on…….you are correct…….keep digging.

16. “Do you accept the union is always represented in the Senate, Leroy Trotman, Bobby Morris et al?”

David BU

I’m happy you reminded BU of her ignorance.

If I had done it, the members of her fan club would have accused me of being a “BLP stool pigeon” and “defending Mia Mottley.”

17. Lexicon

My goodness ! I find myself saying aye aye to your 2 posts above @ 3:33 & 3:41 a.m.

Looka dis ting!

But you are spot on though.

However I believe naviety and the use of traditional media and social media are the things that have Mia in the Driver’s seat.She lied and the media namely VOB and the Nation the 2 more popular outlets – did not challenge but instead pushed the propaganda as though it was wisdom from on high.

Even now they are still continuing on this path.

If Barbados ends up in a Dump heap – those 2 companies and their leadership need to look themselves in a mirror and know they contributed greatly to us being in that state.They and the academics,the social commentators,the Unions and the private sector who joined in the game of lets fool bajans into thinking Mia has the answers and is ready to take up the mantle of leadership.But without the Media pushing her stories positively all the time without any critiquing, and by pushing only negative stories about the last government, and hyping up the people about the smallest thing and manipulating gullible persons minds – her agenda would not have had the legs.She most likely would have won but not at the level she did.

We are already seeing troubling signs less than a year in.

I await the report of more biting of female parts and beating up of girlfriends.

Power is so intoxicating that it can make someone feel so invincible that they will bite or beat a foreign diplomat in the heat of passion and then – WUHLOSS – TROUBLE FOR BARBADOS.

18. Sunshine

You see that BIG POINT you made about this GOVT DECISION TO WIRETAPP CITIZENS AGAIN – AND DARWIN DOTTIN – THE EL CHAPO OF WIRETAPPING BEING BROUGHT BACK TO A POSITION OF INFLUENCE – BELIEVE ME A LOT OF PERSONS MISSED THAT BY A MILE.

All sort of drivel about Venezuela and Guyana and other shyte but dangerous things are happening here and we are not seeing a bombarding of articles here on these things.

What you just mentioned is big and I saved that newspaper article for future reference.

19. The performance of the DLP drove the BLP to Office, although the BLP has a good communications strategy.

20. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Wuhloss…Inniss is right..information is spreading all over the place about those lover’s brawls…that means whenever the biting starts up again, that too will be all over the place for public consumption…no wonder she has no choice but to bring back Dottin…blackmail or not..

getting yaself sprinkled with blighted water by colonial slaves from the church, definitely ain’t working though..try something else..lol

21. But Trotman did a good job of representing the Union .Toni Moore representation is evident in how much she was driven to sell out the UNion for a measly 3% albeit she received her reward.

22. Your opinion, just your opinion. The substantive point is that the union is always represented in the Senate. Therefore Toni Moore’s sitting there is procedural. You may have the last word.

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The Minister of Tourism and International Transport is my Member of Parliament. I haven’t seen him since the May 24th election. I am not at all sure that he will get my vote in 2023.

24. Stupse, Y’all really pay attention to this dog and pony show. The BTA, BTMI, BTPA are all a waste of time and money.

What are/were the goals and deliverables of these entities, What are/were the metrics for success
    BTMI “invested” millions of borrowed money building a useless Car park and then turn around and convert it to office buildings for immigration. Any idea what happens to that investment now.

Far as I am concerned the staff there should be happy for the useless jobs they have/had.

WRT to Toni Moore and BWU, when will there no longer be any need for adult supervision. Face it, it was a boss move by Goddards to steal Julian Hunte, the one talented practitioner they had. It has been downhill since then

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

“We were unable to engage with you immediately after the Cabinet’s decision.”

What does this mean in standard English? Or plain Bajan?

Perhaps my Member of Parliament can explain?

Because I did not vote for anybody named Sunil.

Cabinet made a decision on December 20 and that one page decision was not conveyed to the worker’s or their representatives until January 24, thirty-six calendar days, or twenty-three working days later? Why? Why the delay? When I was in the workforce if I had failed to convey a management decision for 36 days I would have been fired for “cause” failure to do my job properly.

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Look Board Chairmen and women. f cabinet has made a decision, then they have made a decision. If you strongly disagree with the decision, you resign. If you agree with the decision, you convey it to relevant parties IMMEDIATELY.

And just in case you don’t understand, IMMEDIATELY means within 24 hours, better still within minutes.

We too like dragging we feet ’bout this place.

27. UNIONS CRYING, what did they expect, this idea of A SOCIAL PARTNERSHIP will only work in a positive government cash flow senario. Unions in Barbados have had TOO MUCH POWER for TOO LONG and they have been a significant part of Barbados economic ills. Wliiy is no fan of the BLP government but taking all unions down a couple of notches is approved, just hope the government actions are genuine and not the usual papi grandstanding.

28. William Skinner Avatar

The main purpose of unions is to protect their members. Whenever they deviate from this role they open themselves to failure. The first principle of progressive trade unionism is that the workers well being is integral to the nations well being. Once the unions fall the nation will fall. There is a misconception that there can be a nation without workers. Our socio economic structure cannot survive without effective trade union leadership; such absence will create disaffection and bear negative consequences. The current union leadership seems to not understand their mission hence their credibility is now in jeopardy.

29. My experience with unions is that most of their disagreements with employers have to do with procedures not being followed. In fact Roslyn Smith actually told me once that she was tired of showing up to represent an employee who in her opinion needed to be fired. The statutory corporation just kept ignoring procedure which FORCED HER TO TURN UP AND REPRESENT. She found THAT very frustrating and in fact told the employee that even if procedure was not followed next time she would not be coming.

I have actually also been present at a meeting at which the union representative advised staff to straighten up and perform. He warned staff that once procedure was followed there would be no basis for union representation. He said all he could do in such circumstances would be to beg for a chance.

It is my opinion that union leaders understand very well their role but the problem is mostly bosses and government ministers who ignore procedure.

I do agree however that the social partnership was a bad idea since government and employers are not acting in good faith and seldom do. I believe though that the intentions of the union were good since they know the harm of disruptions in work time and wanted to stave off unnecessary action. They thought that it would make for better communication and a unified purpose – the development of Barbados for all concerned including the workers. Unfortunately government and businesses do not act in good faith. There concerns are often more narrow and short-term.

Unions are given a bad rap by all. They have not sold out the workers neither do they encourage bad behaviour among their membership. I have NOT seen that in any interactions I have had with ANY union.

And so I am not at all surprised by this correspondence.

30. Correction -their concerns

31. Wily coyote

“Unions in Barbados have had too much power for too long”

If you call fighting for livable wages and proper working conditions for hardworking Barbadians too much power … then I hope your grandchildren
    work for what you think is acceptable in our date and age?

32. @ Donna
    I am very much pro union but it is very difficult to understand that a union will ask for a 24 percent increase and then accept a 3 percent wage increase.
    I read where the NUPW said they had crunched the numbers and that the country could afford a 24 percent increase.
    I have always seen the social partnership as a tool that could be used against the unions .
    I think that the unions need to get back to basics. I have never accused the leadership of selling out the workers but they have been seriously outfoxed in recent times.

33. Will Coyote

Don’t our labouring value something?

34. Will Coyote

Don’t our labouring value something?

35. Toni Moore is an INDEPENDENT senator, selected by the GG who was appointed by the former government.

36. William Skinner,

Was not responding to you with that comment. Indeed I am agreeing that they have been outfoxed for sure.

What happened recently with the 24 % increase proposal was an aberration that should be ignored. It is not the norm.

37. @ Mariposa.

Trotman is hired as an advisor to Miss Moore and is/was very active in negotiations.
    Is Trotman not a part of the sold out of the workers then?

38. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ WARU
    Wuhloss…Inniss is right..information is spreading all over the place about those lover’s brawls…that means whenever the biting starts up again, that too will be all over the place for public consumption…no wonder she has no choice but to bring back Dottin…blackmail or not..
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Is this Belle Holder at CBC and Give me the vote and watch muh?

The female biter is well known for beating women for years.

If this was a man he would be ridiculed in Barbados and shouts of putting him in Prison.

Barbados is a failed island with taxpayers unfortunately hoodwinked.

Next time vote for any party not DLP or BLP.

39. If Toni Moore role in the senate is to look out for the best interest of the people
    Would not hold my breath knowning that as Head of the BWU she failed miserably in representing her members
    Now bodly is seeking the support of people to fight govt disregard for the Union
    Have no respect for turncoats of her ilk with a need to “used ” or generate support when the red tide of politics flows against her better interest
    Toni Moore be gone
    Fight yuh battles all by yuhself

40. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Next time vote for any party not DLP or BLP.”

for years we have been telling people to stop voting for these 2 toxic political parties, vote for INDIVIDUAL CANDIDATES who actually did community work in the constituencies and got good results…..maybe now they will start doing that…weed out the riffraff…hangerson, yardfowls, pimps and imps…streamline who ya put in the parliament….if they have a track record for theft and lies and bribery/corruption, pedophilia, robbing old people etc…do not allow them in the parliament…cause Payne and Marshall should not be in the parliament…but it is understandable that DLP had to go…and options were slim…those who start the same corrupt practices when elected, do not elect them ever again…it is pretty simple….the problem is the electorate have turned a blind eye to the crimes of ministers, lawyers etc for too many decades…that is why they all believe themselves invincible and untouchable…..maybe now the PEOPLE will hold them ALL accountable by not allowing them in the parliament….ever again…

The ugly right now is Mia and Dale believing they could demoralize the police force by resurrecting Dottin…that is serious business, despite what I post sometimes, there are some good men and women on the force….Dottin left the place a mess, now because of their weaknesses and corrupt secrets in the parliament , he is once again in the taxpayer’s faces….that is ugly…

That Belle issue was funny ..lol..am sure if there was any biting or physical violence it would not have been though..,,and the police would not have been amused..

41. This is what we have been reduced to i.e. running with a WhatsApp post as gospel?

42. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Actually…it is the WHO…that sent the info…

43. 8.2 BARBADOS TOURISM AUTHORITY The scenario set out here is that the BTA would be reorganized to be balanced in terms of its Marketing and Product Development roles recognizing the Tourism Product is the core and most important “P” of the four key Ps in Marketing (Product, Price, Promotion and Place). In this scenario, BTA will need to be radically reorganized and made into a far more focused and leaner more professional organization.

44. 18.2.3 Organisation Structure In this scenario, the BTA will be restructured to become a more focused and efficient output oriented organization and though there will be adjustments required to the Tourism Development Act to address issues such as tourism product oversight strengthening, the organization will not be split into two separate entities but will be more balanced between marketing and product improvement. In addition to this, outsourcing of advertising and Public Relations functions in the UK-European, USA and Latin American or any other market where there is a significant need for specialized advertising and PR services will continue to be done. Given the level of expenditure of the organization and the fact that it has one of the largest allocations of funds in a single public Sector Agency, one suggested additional position at a senior level in the organization is for an Internal Auditor reporting directly to the CEO. Secondly, given the number and complexity of the legal contracts which are entered into and require legal review and oversight the addition of a corporate secretary/Legal Officer at a senior level reporting to the CEO is advised. BTA will have therefore have a CEO supported by an internal Auditor, a Corporate Secretary/Legal Officer, an Executive Secretary and three Divisions with one focusing on Marketing for the overseas and local Marketing offices, one on Product and the third on Finance and Administration

45. As I recall, the same was said about JMGM “Tom”.

46. SCENARIO 4: PUBLIC SECTOR BODIES – THE BTA ………….Ministry of Tourism and Tourism Public Sector Bodies Institutional Assessment and Prior Options Scenarios Report July 2012

47. Four more years and 4 months at least. Once the pick-a-noise crew continue, my popcorn gine keep popping.

48. @ Mr. William Skinner

First of all please let me apologise for the crudity at the end of this blog to you.

But as you read through you will appreciate that the only way to get people rather sheeple to stand up and respond to the shy$e that is going on in the cuntry is to be crude.

The majority of bajans do not have reasoning skills and cannot see the slow inexorable slippage that is occuring IN CLEAR LIGHT OF DAY!

You said and I quote “…The current union leadership seems to not understand their mission hence their credibility is now in jeopardy…”

With all the talk and the impotent letters what “the Current union Leadership” has no choice but to do IS TO STRIKE!!

Already their credibility is suspect and they are perceived as being sellouts to the BLP regime

IF, they do not do anything to stand up against this MUGABE despot move then, one can only colclude that she/they is irretrivably a part of the poock licking, and clitoris rubbing brigade.

And before you start Sir Simple I know that you gine axe de ole man whu i got gainst females who bites out pok*es but i gine jes leh you know that they are jes 2 inches away from the pooch lickers and de ole man ent like dem eider.

Do you? A simple yes or no will suffice

49. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Trying to find out if this is true, saw it on CNN Tech..the language seems a little off, but that could be me, help me out Enuff..please..

“Barbados’ Ministry of Finance Announces Acquisition of a $500 Million Startup, Saying “This Is Where the Future Lies”

Barbados aims for a more robust economy with a new million-dollar investment
    Barbados’s Ministry of Finance has just invested a portion of its wealth into a new project which the government believes will shape the future of the financial industry. The Ministry of Finance now looks set to take the world of blockchain technology by storm. On Saturday, they finalized a $500 million deal with The Bitcoin Revolution, saying that “the future of finance depends upon people having access to the best possible resources”

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Why i said that, the picture put out with the article had those IMF dudes and dudettes there, i saw the photo before, months ago…that is why the article seems…uhhhhh.

Leave a Reply to WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the BlogCancel reply