The following report is reproduced by BU for many reasons. At the top of the list is the lingering curiosity by some Barbadians questioning whether local authorities will pursue this and other matters. The expectation is not meant to slur the character of anybody but to satisfy a reasonable expectation that justice must be seen to be done..

Barbadians have become increasingly cynical about the inability or inaction of local authorities to charge local prominent officials for white collar offenses. It is a naive person who believe white collar crimes “doan happen hey”.

New York News: BROOKLYN, Former Chief Executive Officer and Senior Vice President of Barbadian Insurance Company Charged with Laundering Bribes to Former Minister of Industry of Barbados

BROOKLYN, N.Y. – Ingrid Innes, the former chief executive officer, and Alex Tasker, a former senior vice president of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL), a Barbados-based insurance company, were charged in a superseding indictment unsealed on January 18, 2019, with laundering bribes to the former Minister of Industry of Barbados in exchange for his assistance in securing government contracts for ICBL. Innes and Tasker are not in U.S. custody.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the charges.

Innes and Tasker were charged with one count of conspiracy to launder money and two counts of money laundering in the superseding indictment. The former Minister of Industry of Barbados, Donville Inniss, a U.S. legal permanent resident who resided in Tampa, Florida, and Barbados, was charged with the same crimes in an indictment unsealed on August 6, 2018, and as a co-defendant of Innes and Tasker in the superseding indictment. Inniss is scheduled for trial on June 24, 2019, before United States District Judge Kiyo A. Matsumoto.

The superseding indictment alleges that in 2015 and 2016, Innes and Tasker participated in a scheme to launder into the United States approximately $36,000 in bribes that they paid to Inniss, who at the time was a member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados.

The charges in the superseding indictment are allegations, and the defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.

ICBL voluntarily disclosed to the government the payments to Inniss and received a prosecution declination under the FCPA Corporate Enforcement Policy. ICBL disgorged to the government $93,940.19 in illicit profits that it earned from the scheme.

The FBI’s New York Field Office and International Corruption Squad is investigating the case. In 2015, the FBI formed International Corruption Squads across the country to address national and international implications of foreign corruption.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of New York and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Division’s Fraud Section are in charge of the prosecution.

The Fraud Section is responsible for investigating and prosecuting all Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) matters. Additional information about the Department’s FCPA enforcement efforts can be found at http://www.justice.gov/criminal/fraud/fcpa.

The Defendants:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

INGRID INNES
Canada

ALEX TASKER
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (S-1) (KAM)

SOURCE: news provided by JUSTICE.GOV on January 31, 2019.

196 responses to “Inniss, Tasker, Innes Matter Filed Under DROSS by Barbados Authorities”

1. Hal Austin

Let me Educate you a little bit on the American Constitution regarding your question about David Thompson family background and had he been in America he couldn’t have been president.

Yes …the American Constitution states that you have to be naturally born in America to become president or vice-president, however, Sir Alexander Hamilton who was born in Nevis …could still have been president because he was citizen at the time of adoption of the Constitution …in other words Hall… Alexander Hamilton was grandfathered in prior to the naturally born citizen requirements … Don’t take my word for it do your own research …

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster could you not rename this blog

the Barbados and American Underground?

Every RH day one feller does be talking bout de American Cuntstitution and all sorts of things Amurican INCLUDING DE INSURANCE MONEY HE GET AFTER HE NEIGHBORS IN MURICA GET TIRED OF HE A.SS TORMENTING DE NEIGHBOURHOOD.

ECLECTICISM is one thing and one understands how, in an attempt to make things better, we can resort to discourses and practices to graft and modify our society based on meritorious practices but this “…America does this, and the Federal government does this and the W2 form does this…” it is disturbing to say the least…

Any visiting readership seeing Donkey’s prolific American contributions would certainly figure that they are on the wrong website!

“Denizens of dual or triple climes” have a challenge, particularly when you claim loyalty to the land of your birth and your subsequent domicile has been “kinder” to you.

Many of your utterances come across as being derogatory and being put downs for Bim.

But, in the midst of such commentary, we should pause and consider why, for those dual citizens who are not Bellevue candidates, why they come to this virtual home daily.

Is it to constantly denigrate the “failed or failing state” of the Mugabe regime? Or, while they are angry about the SCOURGE of the Druglord Endorsing Prime Minister, shake sheeple out of their stupor AND SHOW THEM HOW TO ROUT MUGABE WITH VIABLE ALTERNATIVES?

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Donkey

4. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Bajans have been relieved of another scum lawyer, but not fast enough..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238233/disbarred

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Why are the taxpayers the one paying for this crap…there were sworn affidavits of the wiretapping by officers ordered to do the taping…….taxpayers should not pay for this, Mia and Marshall should be paying Dottin with all the money they all got hidden away in offshore accounts….which the US needs to start investigating anyway..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238239/dottin-payday

6. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/executive-order-blocking-property-persons-involved-serious-human-rights-abuse-corruption/

Mia and all her ministers from the old political team and extended family of lawyers etc who have all these offshore accounts stretching and plastered from one end of the earth to the other..needs a very thorough investigation..

……all ah them got millions and millions of dollars and old peoole’s stolen properties stashed away offshore, while the island is BROKE and the people struggling…they all need to explain that..

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And we have not started on the human rights abuses against the majority black population on the island perpetrated by the scum of parliament elected and paid by the people….but who take bribes to keep their own people disenfranchised, poor and helpless…

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Leximoron

Before you respond and get vex with my scolding let me assist you with a “backdrop” of relevance

Had you been reading other items in the blog recently, you would have seen dialogue concerning the dual nationality of that guyanese fellow whose recent vote has been s been a serious issue in Guyana.

In fact if you use the same Google you would see that dual nationality of persons holding position iinparliament, especially Head of State and Government positions, is often challenged in CARICOM and Caribbean countries, prior to, during and after elections WHEN SUCH ISSUES AFFECT THE OUTCOME OF THE ELECTION.

Hopefully, when the Honourable Blogmaster decides to post my comment, you will be able to understand the context of my remarks there

But then again, “a fool convinced against his will is of the same opinion still…”

9. I heard a clip of asocial media commentator dping his part to help combat violence amongst gang member
    I must commend him on his efforts an effort that is worthwhile snd in the long term would provide dividends and help push the younger generation towards a path to be nonviolent
    Having said the above
    My question to the same commentator when will he called on Mia to give accountabilty for the photo shown all across social media where she is in the company of known drug king pins laughing and some what endearing to their company
    Not to also go unnoticed her giving them validation by invitation to the swearing ceremony for members of Parliament

10. “there were sworn affidavits of the wiretapping by officers ordered to do the taping”

When there is a conspiracy anyone can swear an affidavit. The DLP and its supporters, including those in the RBPF, clearly had an agenda–a very calculated one indeed. This story about wiretapping may be far more than what we believe at the surface. Once again the last administration has burdened the Bajan taxpayers with costs resulting from wrongful dismissal..

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

So fe ole man gine tek a stab at dis “story” rewritten a la Charles Me Love You Long Time version

“In breaking news today, the regime of Mugabe was able to reveal that what was contrived to look like Wiretapping by the former Commissioner was in fact a long time investigation of a suspicion that OSA was a Chavez plant!”

Sources close to the new dictator indicate that a communique was discovered from Chaved to OSA where the latter was found to be involved in an exchange of Petro Oil & Rum

An undercover agent has revealed that, early in the OSA administration, Puff the Magic Dragon travelled to Venezuela to “cement” the deal with a promise of Arawak cement.

The agent, code name Come Sing a Song, a deep sixty nine in the Chavez regime, shared the info with Mugabe who shared it with the then top cop.

The sting was set up to expose Puff the Magic Dragon but went awry when Commie Sing a Song drank one bottle of the 30,000 Rum shipment.

People are still wondering how Puff missed one bottle in that entire shipment!

That storyline should be adequate enough to expand that comment about “…This story about wiretapping may be far more than what we believe at the surface…”

Please send this month’s check for Jong to de ole man account in New Jersey at the same place where ICBL sent Pornville s money

or wunna can use Rawdone’s MyMoney scam

12. Again the question, if there were Affadavits why did the DLP government not pursue the matter as a platform message.

We have to stop the politicking with matters such as this one.

13. Sir Alexander Hamilton who was born in Nevis

++++++++++++++++++++++

How did Alexander Hamilton get the knighthood?

Do your research!!

Hamilton signed the Constitution and the constitution requires to become President a person must be born in America.

I hardly think he had a chance of being president.

14. Freundel Stuart and Mia Mottley have chosen to remain unmarried.

With good reason!!

Can you imagine what the children of such a marriage would look like?

15. David,
    are you saying because the DLP didnt use the affidavits to bash the BLP politically there were no affidavits?

besides that, Insp Andy Bowen sued Dottin and had a v strong case of victimisation against him.

Bottomline- Dottin misused his office and should have been removed from his post.

given the employment act – dismissals are very difficult to win. there is causation for dismissal that must be followed and the procedure for dismissal which must be adhered to. any breach and there are almost always breaches given the strictness of the act, the person fired in 9 out of 10 cases always wins.

would have been best to move Dottin to any govt department.

16. How did you arrive at that conclusion?

What is known is that senior police officials swore affidavits andtge were not acted upon even when a DLP sponsored DPP was appointed.

17. This is the same insanely stupid racist fool who would demand that the Bajan government (not the British) withdraw citizenship from people born in Barbados who have been convicted for committing a serious criminal offence.
    To which country would he deport these stateless “criminals”?(Quote)

??????????????

18. @HAustin, you have some affection/respect for Thompson which certainly colours ur remarks in a quite irrational way I would suggest.
    ++As asked above on what rational basis can you surmise that “David Thompson…would have made a decent prime minister”.
    Decent in what way… integrity, policy proposals, battling corruption, refocusing the civil service and corporate processes… how exactly?
    OK so he would have engaged people in debate… did he not engage us all in the CLICO debate while being the legal agent of the then CEO’s remuneration package and PM too!
    Is that part of being a decent PM?
    You can so ridiculously opine that the ONLY case against him is that of CLICO…well there was one big case against Philby too, not so!
    Your reasoning at times defies the most basic common logic.
    I’m not going start a DT diatribe but suffice to say that there are folks who knew him from his school lad exhibition winning days who speak extremely highly of him still and others of that same vintage who always thought he was somewhat of scalliwag.
    However, that u give him so much leeway and bash others very similar in nature to him is freaking amazing.
    Incidentally wasn’t Ted Cruz born in Canada (of a US mother) and was vying legally to be US president?
    How does Thompson heritage in any way serious disqualify the man to be a bajan PM…
    The St.Lucian wife item is funny really because at one point as a lad I thought u almost had to marry a non Bajan to be a Bajan PM ! (Quote)

Out of courtesy I will respond to this. I did not have the good fortune of having Mr Thompson as a personal friend, all I know about him has been in the pubic domain. At one or two social events we have exchanged pleasantries, at least one of those an event sponsored by the high commission.
    It was based fundamentally on what I had read in the local press and heard from people who knew him personally that I formed an OPINION that he would have made a decent prime minister. Because he APPEARED a basically decent man. Decency has nothing to do with the implementation of policy.
    Given the above, your second sentence is irrelevant. My view that he would have engaged people is based on a response to one of my Notes …..which he responded to shortly after a visit to London. That gave me the IMPRESSION that he would have engaged in reasonable debate. I got the impression he liked a exchanging ideas in a polite manner. Sadly events intervened and this did not continue.
    I can assure you that my reasoning does not defy basic common logic….maybe it defies Bajan logic. I can live with that. In case you have forgotten, we were deprived of seeing what he would have been as a prime minister, so we cannot (I will not) judge him negatively from his grave.
    The rest of your statement is silly. I do not know, or care about Mr Cruz. However, I repeat the point made, you are free to agree or disagree: I am somewhat disappointed that a man, born in the UK, of Guyanese heritage, with a St Lucian wife, could be eligible to be prime minster of Barbados. I am not asking you to agree with me.
    About the failure of regulation, I will not discuss financial regulation with you apart from pointing out that everything said about Clico could have been stopped by competent financial regulation. I am aware that Bajans rather personalise these failures than deal with the real systemic problems, but there you are.

@Lexicon,

I have no interest in the finer points of US constitutional history, but thanks for the offer of a free lesson.

19. David

I repeat, the previous government seemed to have been more sinister than we can fathom. Interestingly, according to today’s newspaper, the former government prior to seeking to remove the “illegal wiretapper” wanted to TRANSFER him to a PS post. Yuh think naming Owen as one of the ‘wiretapees’ was just coincindental?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin February 3, 2019 10:47 AM
    “This is the same insanely stupid racist fool who would demand that the Bajan government (not the British) withdraw citizenship from people born in Barbados who have been convicted for committing a serious criminal offence.
    To which country would he deport these stateless “criminals”?(Quote)
    ??????????????”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Your exact recommendation, you two-faced arrogant liar and hypocrite!

Therefore, let us “quote” you ‘verbatim’ to remove any sliver of doubt:

Hal Austin January 24, 2019 11:49 AM
    Government also needs to look seriously at withdrawing citizenship (including birth right) from people convicted of serious offences, including drug and gun trafficking.(Unquote)

Is that what you had in mind for the now dead ”Guyanese-born” DPP Leacock before his god took him from incurring your wrath just like the same god did with David Thompson with his “Guyanese” (BG) heritage?

You expatiate in the most garrulous manner without the slightest knowledge that most black Guyanese have Bajan heritage going back to the 1860’s when the British started to see BG as the new Queen jewel in the English Sugar crown.

Now who is this ostentatiously ugly and arrogant negro with all the solutions and is so overly proud to be a British citizen in finding the greatest pleasure by describing Barbados- the land of his birth and regular vacationing spot- as a “failed state” but refuses to lift a finger in saving it from damnation?

Does the Christian admonition quoted below apply to you or are you so superciliously stupid as to look into the mirror and to try to deflect it unto others?

“Judge not, that you be not judged.
    For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.

Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?
    Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye?

You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

21. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Those Affidavits were not signed by just any constable…as I remember..Bowen was A RANKING OFFICER…wearing khaki I believe, the dude had stripes, can’t remember who the other one was, but I believe them, especially with Marshall, all shady and untrustworthy himself… claiming..” he did not do it then, but we bringing him back to wiretap now”…steupse,…they all want locking up…

DLP could not do anything cause all their corruption would have been exposed….same LEAKING BOAT Mia is in now…

22. Just think of this, Donville is a very small man in this game of Barbados crime and corruption, Just wait on Mia, Stewart, and Daddy! Mottley, A bow and arrow VS Atomic BOMB of Corruption dealing with the rest of them, Wait till you get to the lawyer level of these crimes that rob Bajan of their future, 126 Years of Barbados History missing for the education system of what Bajan did, do and bought owned after the white slave trade in Barbados, People may not want to see them in Jail, They may love rope Better! The 126 years is missing from Banking records that allow people to get loans and get 3 to 4 interest on their money and not .01% All Economist in Barbados is full of She-it, hiding the truth with long talk, can’t fool white people with black lies,2023 or sooner, No Confidence Motion by 2020, we can’t take 5 years of a Cocaine Economy! hidden by Economist,

23. These wiretapping allegations have been around for some years, her is an old article from the now defunct BFP.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/barbados-commissioner-of-police-accused-of-illegal-wiretapping/

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John February 3, 2019 9:51 AM “Can you imagine what the children of such a marriage would look like?”

Cheeze on bread John. I did not mean married to each other.

But now that you have suggested it, i think that it is a pity that we don’t have arranged marriages in Barbados.

If we had the citizenry could have arranged a thing.

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

As I said…I believe the police rank who filed their affidavits in the supreme court..

“Son Of Spam
    February 23, 2011 at 9:14 am
    Here are some questions I extracted from a document that was sent to me with some questions on Mr Darwin Dottin stewardship and his ability to continue as COP. As a former intelligence officer internationally I have no reason to doubt my sources who have forwarded these documents for safekeeping.

Does the BLP appointed Royal Barbados Police Force commissioner Mr Darwin have dirt on DLP politicians?

Why are the British frustrated with Mr Dottin?

Does it have anything to do with the misuse of vehicles and surveillance equipment?

Can Mr Dottin tell the public why a suspended Sgt Carlos Thompson and his wife are driving a Special Branch vehicles?

Who are the private citizens illegally wiretapped and spied on by Carlos Thompson and by whose instructions?

Mr Dottin,is they any truth to the existence of a band of Untouchables headed by you which include such person as Richard Boyce and Jedder Robinson?

Is the Country`s security at risk with the transfer of 4 Special Branch officers with over 80 years experience.

When last was an audit done of the finances of the RBPF and who are the Untouchables carrying home over $4000 in overtime monthly.

Why did the Top COP disrespect the current AG on the January 5th 2011?

Did David Thompson, put Superintendent Boyce to watch Mr Dottin?”

26. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I don’t know what Mia and Marshall are doing thinking they can fool grown ass people who are not yardfowls.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright February 3, 2019 6:00 AM. “But, in the midst of such commentary, we should pause and consider why, for those dual citizens who are not Bellevue candidates, why they come to this virtual home daily.”

Home?

Home is where the heart is.

And this is not a political statement.

This is a human statement.

Hal’s heart is in Barbados, so is lexicon’s, so is miller’s and Sargeant’s and Hants’ and WARU’s even that of lawson the virtual Bajan.

That is why they are here with us every single day.

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“even that of lawson the virtual Bajan.”

lol…wuhloss…

29. Hal’s heart is in the Ivy.

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Ivy/Barbados same thing. In every village in Barbados there were (are still) families doing the right thing. Raising their children well. We need to encourage such families. We see from lexicon’s post that he had a happy childhood of kite flying, fishing, cinema going, eating fresh fruit. We can’t undo a happy childhood. Happy childhood’s build resilience

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

You you may be may not be so correct about that “happy childhood ”

If you will review Donkeys own words he said and I quote

“… I remember a very very happy childhood …amess the paedophiles…”

By “amess” de ole man is going to assume that he, like you, made a mistake, and wanted to say amidst.

Now, given that construct for Donkey s admitted spelling challenge, one is disturbed by what appears to be his delight to be among pedophiles.

Donkey, please return soon and rephrase this sentence otherwise the rumour circulating about you and the old menses down by St Leonard’s school and “the incident” after school

You know that day that Adonijah had was to beat you and that man said he had some “salve” that would heal the welts on your ammmm behind?

People never understood why you did not run after he pulled down his pants…

Heheheheh doan mind me doah I only making sport cause I ent believe de rumour

32. Tasker quits

MARIA BRADSHAW, mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Added 11 May 2019

http://www.nationnews.com/IMG/281/76281/alex-tasker2101-450×303.gif

Alex Tasker (FILE)

Alex Tasker has resigned from Digicel (Barbados) Ltd. Reports reaching THE NATION indicate that Tasker, who was the executive chairman of the telecommunications company, tendered his resignation and met with staff last week to bid them farewell.
    Related articles.

When contacted, a senior official associated with Digicel confirmed the resignation stating: “Mr Tasker has resigned to pursue other interests. He was not fired.”

In January, the United States Department of Justice (DOJ) named Tasker, who was a former senior vice-president business development and marketing of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL) and Ingrid Innes, a Canadian citizen and ICBL’s former chief executive officer, in an indictment relating to money laundering involving former minister in the previous Democratic Labour Party administration Donville Inniss.

That case is due to be heard in a US court next month. (MB)

Subscribe now to our eNATION edition for the full story.

33. So how many distractions are u going to set up to keep people minds far away from the task of investigating on how Mia takes treasury money and feed it to a boutique owned two man business advisors who takes advantage of poor countries like Barbados
    All knows the problems of Inniss and those involved in money laundering schemes
    However little is known on how Mottley strikes a deal with White Oaks without transparency

34. @ David re “That case is due to be heard in a US court next month.”

Hopefully Tasker and Ingrid Innes are smart enough to stay away from the USA unless their lawyers made a deal for them to ” rat out ” Donville.

imho The giver of a bribe is as guilty as the taker of said bribe.

They all remain innocent until proven guilty.

35. Being saying all the time Gaston Browne is a Big..a.ss hole

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239698/browne-helping-unity

36. This is not a B thing or D thing, just a question

Has Barbados reached the point where other Caribbean leaders no longer accept that Barbados is primus inter pares?

Have we reached the point where what would be acceptable and what they accepted in the past is now being questioned?

I suspect that “the gap’ between Barbados and other islands have closed over the years and whilst Bajans think the status quo should be maintained, others cannot understand why we can use the models of the past.

I would like to see someone try to do a head-to-head comparison of Barbados and Antigua in 1950s and the Antigua and Barbados of today.

37. @Hants

Saw the resignation of Tasker in today’s press and updated the blog for those checking. Actually it might make sense to put up a countdown. Will have to research the date of the case scheduled for next month.

38. @ Hants

The US is a gangster state. Remember Ben Johnson? I went down to St Kitts to follow up story for the Sunday Express on a doctor alleged to be involved in the Ben Johnson incident and others and was told, very reliably, that the Kittitian/Canadian was on a flight back to Canada when it was diverted to America, New York, and he was taken off. They obviously got hold of the flight list and realised he was on board.

39. Remember former government minister was also charged in a New York Court with one count of conspiracy to launder money and two counts of money laundering.

Innes and Tasker were charged with one count of conspiracy to launder money and two counts of money laundering in a superseding indictment.

How can BU updating the public with new information relative to this embarrassing situation, be interpreted as a distraction?

Is there isn’t anything preventing you from “investigating on how Mia takes treasury money and feed it to a boutique owned two man business advisors who takes advantage of poor countries like Barbados?”

BTW, I hope you think the word “boutique” in this instance, means a small retail shop?

40. When contacted, a senior official associated with Digicel confirmed the resignation stating: “Mr Tasker has resigned to pursue other interests. He was not fired.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    “To pursue other interests” those of us who have worked for big Corps and are familiar with some Corporate “speak” can read between the lines and know that Mr. tasker was given an ultimatum and he took the more honourable route. Sometimes it is “to spend time with my family” and the person is divorced, and sometimes they go on leave never to return. I worked with a guy who was being transferred to a rural area as a precursor and when I queried him about it he told me it was because he liked fishing etc.

41. I know of a situation where a Human Resources Director and subsequently Director of Operations of a well known hotel, who did not have any difficulty dismissing employees for the slightest wrong doing. You would hear “John Browne was fired for stealing for stealing fish,”…….. or “Mary Jones was dismissed for having hotel property without a gate pass signed by management.”

When “top management” discovered she and her husband engaged in certain financial infelicities…….. he was asked to leave. She, on the other hand was dismissed, but management said she resigned “to pursue other interests” and gave her a big “send off party.”

Another manager at the same hotel was experiencing difficulties with “top management” and they decided to gave her a “severance package.” It was told to the staff that after 30 years service, she retired “to pursue other interests.”

Dat is how duh duz do it fuh de big boys and dem.

42. @Sargeant

Bear in mind Tasker was appointed after the Donville arrest and information that others- including Tasker- had attracted the attention of the US authorities. The big question, why did Digicel appoint him exec chairman?

43. Is there an official inquiry in to ICBL? If not why not? Has the insurance regulator anything to say about recent developments? Has anyone connected with ICBL been banned or suspended from being a company director in Barbados? If not, why not?

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sargeant May 12, 2019 5:04 PM. “Sometimes it is “to spend time with my family” and the person is divorced.”

Hey!!! family also means: Parents, children, siblings, etc. We enjoy the company of our higher up and better off relatives. We love them when they have plenty of time, and plenty of money. Lolll!!!

@Sargeant May 12, 2019 5:04 PM “I worked with a guy who was being transferred to a rural area as a precursor and when I queried him about it he told me it was because he liked fishing etc.”

Lolll!!!. Good one.

45. Tasker appeal adjourned

THE RECORD of the appeal is now in the hands of the judges, and attorneys for both sides in the Alex Tasker extradition case will have a chance to submit further written submissions.
    As a result, the appeal brought by the former vice president of the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Ltd. (ICBL) against his Magistrates’ Courtordered extradition was adjourned by the Court of Appeal yesterday. It was on September 8, last year, that Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes ordered Tasker, of Mayfair Terrace, Leadvale, Christ Church, extradited to the United States to face a trial for conspiracy to launder money and two counts of money laundering between August 2015 and April 2016.
    The Chief Magistrate had advised Tasker that under the law, his surrender could not take place until 15 days had passed.
    The Chief Magistrate had further advised him that under Section 19 of the Extradition Act, he could either appeal or file a writ of habeas corpus.
    Tasker’s attorney, Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim, who represented him in association with attorneys Neville Reid and Martie Garnes, has filed grounds under the Magistrates’ Court Act. He also filed an application for leave under the Extradition Act.
    Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Alliston Seale and Senior State Counsel Oliver Thomas are representing the United States Government.
    Yesterday, President of the Court, Chief Justice Sir Patterson Cheltenham, who presided with Justices of Appeal Rajendra Narine and Francis Belle, noted he had very recently received the record of appeal.
    “I want to have this matter out of the system with some alacrity. We need to look at the record very carefully,” he said.
    “If consequent upon perusal of the recently submitted record either counsel is of the view that additional submissions are warranted, counsel are permitted to file and serve the respective submissions.”
    The matter was adjourned until June 10. Until then Tasker remains on $200 000 bail; his passport remains in the custody of the court and he will continue to report to the Glebe Police Station.