Barbadians might be forgiven for thinking that our island in recent weeks has been transformed into some latter-day Caribbean Dodge City or Tombstone Territory, given the alarming incidence of crimes involving the use of firearms. It is disconcerting enough when the offence involves mere unlawful possession, although, if one is to judge from the newspaper photograph of one such weapon, preparations for an internecine civil war or a serious public assault by one group or other might already be substantially underway. This may be scary enough; however, when there eventuates the scenario of an innocent bystander’s life becoming the collateral damage of some unfriendly fire, the situation becomes even more terrifying.

Despite the populist diagnoses of this spate of gun violence, ranging from scarcely veiled partisan discourses on the degree of the contribution of the state of the economy and, by extension, depending on the speaker’s political allegiance, the indirect responsibility or non-responsibility of the governing administration for the current state of affairs; to the so-termed “slap-on-the-wrist” approach of the magistracy and judiciary to sentencing offenders that, as popular wisdom would have it, contributes immeasurably to all criminality in Barbados, the problem seems intractable. There have been more broad hints than one in the public domain during the last week that some aspects of Sharia law may not be that bad after all.

Last week’s revelation from the acting Commissioner of Police, Mr Tyrone Griffith, of the police suspicion (he put it no higher than that) that negligently or criminally inadequate oversight by local customs officers of incoming cargo is a major contributor to the presence of illegal firearms in this country was always going to set the cat among the pigeons in a jurisdiction where such sweeping generalisations are more than likely to raise the hackles and much otherwise of all the members of the class of individuals at whom fingers are pointed.

As to be expected, there is a report in another section of the press this morning (Saturday) that customs officers are “hopping mad” and their representatives “outraged” and befuddled at what has been reasonably interpreted as a generalised calumny on all customs officers. Of course, I do not believe that this defamation was intended by the acting Commissioner, but it would have satisfied the requirements for actionability in the courts had he been any more particular in his assertions. Indeed, as I propose to tell the students in the law of Torts II lectures in a few weeks, when a wide class of individuals is impugned by a statement, no member of that class may sue successfully for defamation unless he or she is able to establish that there is something in the statement or the small size of the group that would lead the ordinary listener or reader reasonably to consider that the claimant was being referred to.

While this is the strict legal position, it is at least doubtful whether the customs officers would be detracted by such a technical consideration. However, given that it would have been both defamatory and impolitic for the acting Commissioner to be any more specific in this context, there is necessarily now an impasse between the two entities to be judged in the court of public opinion. There, the issues to be determined are whether the acting Commissioner was right to have made public the police suspicion without there having been at least the arrest and charge of one officer, and whether the customs officers are not being overly sensitive, given the allure of an argument that a proliferation of weapons in the island must include at least a number that were imported through the lawful ports of entry.

The workers’ representatives are nothing if not adamant that the Commissioner’s statements were more than unfortunate. While the more representative of these organisations, the National Union of Public Workers [NUPW], has termed them as “inflammatory, without basis” and serving only “to tarnish the reputations and integrity of all customs officers”, Mr Caswell Franklyn, the leader of the Unity Workers’ Union, argues that the police force was “more responsible for interdicting weapons than Customs given its superior facilities and training…”

What may be equally regrettable is the appearance of a public spat between these two governmental entities that are placed in the forefront of the interception of contraband into the jurisdiction. At a time when there are already publicly expressed fears that the interdiction of drugs, despite reports of periodic substantial seizures, is barely effective, if at all, in stemming the available local supply, any fissure in the scheme of co-operation between these agencies could scarcely be in the public interest.

Perhaps it may be that guns have become the new controlled narcotic substance and thus their imported presence here, like that of the latter, is inevitable. For the ordinary Barbadian, this may be a future too terrible to contemplate. A combination of astute political leadership, the committed co-operation of the responsible authorities and judicious parenting would serve us all in good stead to alleviate the problem.

Endnote: To reinforce my thesis of a few weeks ago that many of the issues arising for debate in the local public forum are akin to nothing if not recurring decimals, I have chosen today to reuse a column first published in this space on August 22 2015 as The guns of August. The title has obviously been changed to reflect the contemporary discourse. Alas, little else has in this regard.

154 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Guns of January”

1. Can a Criminal Obtain a Gun and keep it? Would a Law-abiding Citizen in Barbados acquire an Illegal Gun and Keep it? What would happen if Law abiding Citizens had Guns and Criminals did not? What would happen if Criminals have Guns and Law abiding Citizens did not?

If you Answer these Questions Truthfully you should come to the understanding that Law Abiding Citizens with Guns is the Protection that we all need as the Police can’t be everywhere at the same time but Law Abiding Citizens can.

In America in Texas Gun ownership is the Highest in the US and violent crime is the Lowest in the US. So when people talk about Confiscation of Guns they do not mean the Criminals they mean ordinary Law abiding Citizens.

As a matter of Policy why would you Confiscate Guns and leave the Criminals with their Guns, is that what being

GUN CONTROL IS NOT ABOUT GUNS

IT’S ALWAYS ABOUT CONTROL

We Need to Understand the Nature of the Beast…

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/bb/92/f2/bb92f29dc8b754d9c771df5ec2630411.jpg

2. You do not think the police hierarchy, DPP and the others know who the culprits are? What about understanding that the system is compromised you do not understand. You think some of us waging the fight are all buffoons?

3. ” Kidnappings, executions, drug trafficking, organized structures and legitimate business operations – gangs in Barbados appear to have it all.”

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/gang-activity-all-levels-society-study-reveals

4. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

THE UNITED STATES HAS ARRESTED DONVILLE INNISS AND INDICTED SEVERAL OTHERS CURRENTLY IN BARBADOS FOR CRIMES ORIGINATING OUT OF BARBADOS WHICH IS PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE.

HAVE THEY BEEN ANY ARREST IN BARBADOS?

CORRUPTION IN BARBADOS GOES ALL THE WAY TO THE TOP.

REPORTING IS A WASTE OF TIME BECAUSE SYSTEM IS BROKEN AND EVERYONE PROTECTS EACH OTHER.

5. expose them then. send the information to newspapers in the UK or some other place. acosording to the police advisory – if you know something say something- get these persons exposed. just dont say they are involved and everybody knows and nothing is done.

all we do is talk and drop remarks and continue on.

6. How do you know the information has not been sent? Why would a UK or Canadian newspaper print stories about Barbados? Some of you sit in far off places and believe all of us are fools.

7. Several times I have mentioned that the studies have been done, the solutions have been given. We all know what they are. So we ask – why is there no apparent will or no concerted and co-ordinated effort to implement them? And of course the answer must be that the system and its actors have been corrupted! What other reason could there be?

8. Kim Ramsay is saying what we already know. The powers that be know it too. Either they are not so powerful after all or they don’t wish to be. Which is it?

9. How do you know the information has not been sent? Why would a UK or Canadian newspaper print stories about Barbados? Some of you sit in far off places and believe all of us are fools.(Quote)

Is this man for real? Why does he think he is more Barbadian than any one else? The man is a fool – not ‘all of us’.

10. Hal,
    this is what they do. they wear you down. i have been wore down over the year so this is no surprise. i used to make suggestions for improvement only to be given every reason why it couldnt be done. no one even tried but instinctively they knew it could not work in Bim.

who knows? maybe David is right. and the beat goes on

11. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“why dont you send your information to the GG or some other relevant authority?”

Has the GG directed the commissioner of police yet, as is her job per the constitution, to investigate Donville, ICBL and it’s former employees indicted by US for bribery re a taxpayer funded entity……as is her job to also direct the police to investigate the criminality and corruption… so embedded in every area of the Judiciary, the judges anc lawyers and ministers who have so thoroughly corruoted the supreme court etc..

….do you see her doing anything at all…per her job description….she is just as useless as all the GGs who came before her…cause an investigation will reveal her involvement also, so dont look for any, no matter who sends her information.

12. Police don’t know how a local film crew was able to drive into Central Police station and film a scene….

And this is the crime fighting/gun seizing group that will go after the two -bit gun toting gangsters in Bim?

Abandon hope all ye who enter…

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/236230/badness-movie-clip-sparks-probe

13. Waru

do what you normally do. spread it all over your website. isnt that what you do best?

14. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

James Green
    Hal Austin

Unfortunately Barbados is a place where people on the little island is living in REAL fear.

The Police, BDF and Customs/Immigration have in nuff nuff CRIMINALS and is epidemic in corruption and bribery.

I wished it wasn’t so.

However having dealt with all 4 categories I know it is institutionalize.

One can be setup ie planted evidence or disappeared if one balks against the criminal Forces.

There are many ‘legitimate’ business men and criminal Deportees who work together with the 4 above Institutions named to rake in millions.

That is the reason it is futile exercise.

It would need an external Agency in Scotland Yard or FBI/DEA to cleanup Barbados but the Government who also include many dirty players would never allow that as some of their own would be ensnared.

Easier to make an example of the poorly educated want to be gangsters to appease the public.

These low hanging fruit do not own boats/yachts, private jets and import containers with goods.

15. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah dont have to spread a thing, it is written in the constitution what the role of the GG is…ya wasting ya time thinking ya can cover it up, you want people to send the GG information so she can do what, nothing…right…and cover it up right…so what is your goal again…leave things as they are…right?

Yall will one day learn that ya cant have it both ways.

The fake status and false titles and do nothing attitude about crimes and corruption in the parliament and judicuary will one day have to go.

16. James Greene do you know how much info this blogmaster has sent to the police, child care board, media over the years of BU’s existence? Then we have buffoons who come on the blog spouting Rh about keyboard warriors?

Back to ignore mode.

17. BUW and David

so what are we gonna do? blog and hope or try and try until someone hears us? that is in no way a condemnation, it is a question? what are gonna do about it?

18. Blogging i.e. using various social media platforms is one aspect to giving vent to citizen advocacy.

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Greene just came along and thinks he knows everything,.,, but the commissioner himself got info on the insurance executive parasites/criminals, the Peter Harris and all the others and the crimes committed against injured people by misusing and abusing the supreme court, the wicked lawyers Haynes et al who destroy injured people’s lives just to avoid paying them.compensation…the claimant’s lawyers who sell them out,

Even the Chief Justice got info while the present GG sat on the appeals bench..and what did any of them do.,nothing, people in and out of Barbados sent info.,.the supreme court is just as corrupt as before the info was sent, in fact they have all done even one better…the high court is now totally NONFUNCTIONAL.

Not only that, since then…Donville got indicted by the feds in US for taking bribe money from an insurance company.and what has the GG done….what has she directed the commissiioner to do…. nothing, just like the usual useless head of state..

So when ya come on here, make sure ya got all ya facts.

20. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

So ya see after all the years of beseeching all the useless titled asses in Barbados to do something about the corruption, ya see who actually had to get up and ACT…the US, love them or hate them, regardless their intent, you can count on them only to act when needed…….for certain things..

…..ya cant even count on UK…despite the constitution explicitly stating that each and every one of those douchebags in the judiciary, parliament etc belongs to the crown..although they are paid salaries by the majority population….UK should be the one rolling in and arresting their corrupt scumbag backsides because under the constitution.,they are owned by the crown..

21. The only way the citizenry is going to rise up and act is if they are informed. It will take more than a few bloggers to act. But a few bloggers can inform enough people to eventually make them rise up and act effectively.. It is along term endeavour.
    Why do you think they want to shut it down?

The average Bajan will not read a long scholarly article but the format of BU can reach the ordinary man.

Time longer than twine. What en happen in a year can happen in a day. Day does run till night catch it.

22. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“…you could have wrote (sic) about all those issues including the constitutionality of the BDF engaing in civilian work and the hiring of a consultant to the CoP by a PM

@ Mr Greene, Of course I could have, but it is my column not yours! I sought to make a different point!

23. Wuhlaus Jeff! Yuh acid enuff, bosie! LOL

24. Wuhlaus David! Yuh acid enuff, bosie! LOL

P.S. Thank you!

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I would have really loved the edification in such a column on those 2 topics especilally the one dealing with the constitutionality of the Dottins appointment vis – a vis the Commissioner of police and his Authority.

@ Mr Inniss, I have already told you I am a trained lawyer. If you want any further information on these matters before I discuss them in my Sunday column, you are free to make an appointment…

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna one small clarification re “Not to mention you can buy the guns from outside the state and drive in with them. Individual states with strict gun laws make states with gun control laws ineffective.”

It is illegal in most states which ban guns for anyone to do as noted… as soon as you enter a gun-restricting state with a gun bought in a gun-carry state you are inevitably breaking that state’s law if you are a resident of the state into which you have entered.

Even a resident of state FL, for example, who has a gun permit may also encounter problems taking the weapon to a visited state, lets say NY, which has strict gun laws. Many states do recognize a visiting state resident’s gun permit but again as an regular citizen if you are visiting a gun restricting state you definitely have to store and lock away the weapon during your visit if you are even given permission to carry it in first place!

@Mr Austin, should I grasp from your 11:26 that you are asking that old policies be recast again, suggesting the Bajan authorities have no idea whatever of managing societal crime issues or that they are waiting for people like you (or any of us) to recommend solutions!

The solutions you noted gun amnesty, restriction on containers leaving port before inspection, no private ports are NOT new and #1 has been tried at least once to my recollection.

The issue is not the solutions but as noted the actual IMPLEMENTATION of proper border control inspection…. as the Blogmaster noted they are actually some very sensible folks resident in Bim…definitely not all buffons!

And as I am no criminolgist or sociologist your numbers sound good…anywhere in the world were the cop to citizen ratio is 1 cop per 186 citizens (or ~ 54 per 10,000) should be excellent.

@JGreene not ever columnist needs to delve into such naked political affairs….it would be a tad off-center if the law professor opined so openly on such a clear political matter of what consultants the PM should or should not appoint.

27. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The jackasses for local community leaders will probably try to pray it all away instead of rising up against the useless government and GG and DEMAND the act, they who refuse to address the real cause of the guns, drugs and corruption etc and their friends, partners and masters who are the root cause of the destruction.

28. ABORTION IS MURDER, no gun needed.

A people who have no belief in Eternal Consequences for Evil Acts will Resort to Evil Ways.

https://www.facebook.com/libertyheadquarters/photos/a.451425028243722/2273903409329199/?type=3&theater

29. “We know the solutions, the governance system has become corrupted. The result is that unless we find a disruptor – it will get worse.”

Disruption is the name of the game (AirBNB, Uber, Grubhub, MMoney, Netflix etc) yet, we refuse to disrupt our colonial system and mindset, our archaic education system, our public service, or our systemically rigid and pedantic political processes and governance models. Our culture is entrenched. We like um so.

We were too caught up with our disgust and hatred for “those guys” that we never imagined we would get “these” guys and more of the same albeit with alot more talking, marketing and PR.

Critical public discourse and analysis is needed. History must be reviewed so we don’t repeat our mistakes. We need leaders not managers, producers not politicians, visionaries not status quos, progressives not partisans, nation builders not yard fowls.

Will the real leaders please stand up?

Just observing

30. ” Former Attorney General Dale Marshall says Barbados’ violent crime has reached crisis proportions, and the Barbados Defence Force should be used to augment the manpower resources of the Royal Barbados Police Force.

He made the recommendation on Wednesday (August 30, 2017) the day after two men were shot dead at Marley Vale, St Philip.”

He is again the Attorney General and has responsibility for the Royal Barbados Police Force, the preservation of public order, the Forensic Sciences Centre, the Criminal Justice Research Unit and the Police Complaints Authority .

It is expected that he will solve the crisis.

31. ” Detector dog assists CBSA in efforts to keep illegal guns out of Canada”

https://www.oliverchronicle.com/detector-dog-assists-cbsa-in-efforts-to-keep-illegal-guns-out-of-canada/

32. Jeff

the news cycle has gone past whatever point you were seeking to make in your column. please try to stay relevant given what has been happening. i know it is your column. no doubt about that whatsoever so i dont understand the need to so assert

DPD

i never asked Jeff to write politically about the PM hiring the CoP consultant. i said he could have written about the constitutionality of a PM hiring a consultant to the CoP. there is a difference you see

33. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

i never asked Jeff to write politically about the PM hiring the CoP consultant. i said he could have written about the constitutionality of a PM hiring a consultant to the CoP. there is a difference you see

@ Mr Greene, There is much that I could have written on…Why do you believe that a constitutional issue is raised by =the PM appointing a consultant for the COP to which he himself has no objection? Unusual does not equate to unconstitutional.

34. @ Jeff
    …”It is disconcerting enough when the offence involves mere unlawful possession, although, if one is to judge from the newspaper photograph of one such weapon, preparations for an internecine civil war or a serious public assault by one group or other might already be substantially underway.”… (quote)

Your OPINION seem to border on fear mongering depending on ones perspective.

It also alludes to some kind of planning of a covert nature. It also leaves one to wonder which group or other that may have such substantially advanced plans.(based on the caliber of weapons as evident in the newspaper photograph?)

Are these conjectured preparatory plans by any particular group be based on future reprisals, even fallout from state, society or custom?
    Can the average man on the street afford the latest in high-tech armory?

… “There have been more broad hints than one in the public domain during the last week that some aspects of Sharia law may not be that bad after all.”.. (quote)

Broad hints must also be countered and reinforced that this is a BAJAN SOCIETY and do not subscribe to imported indoctrinations or systems of any SHARIA LAW.. If ANY proports to SHARIA LAW, let them know they are free to go where it is practiced.

… “Mr. Caswell Franklyn, the leader of the Unity Workers’ Union, argues that the police force was “more responsible for interdicting weapons than Customs given its superior facilities and training”… (quote)

The goodly gentleman should exercise some common sense.
    The Authority and Jurisdiction of any Department lies in the hands of those responsible for that department..
    On inspection of a container, the Customs Officer commands responsibility, not the Police.

35. David

I understand the gun violence issue better than most here because I lived in the inner-city of America for sometime, and the problem lies with the availability of firearms both legal and illegal.

So David, don’t let 45gov fool you because he as does John speak in favor of firearms because the both of them are Republicans, so they’re going find every theory or reason to justify the use of firearms.

36. Senator The Hon Lucille Moe, Minister with responsibility for the CBC made the point in the Senate last week that from 1964 to 2007,CBC incurred a debt of $72 million and between 2008 and 2018 the CBC incurred an additional debt of $40 million.I think the taxpayers of Barbados are indeed fortunate because if that muttly group of Stauart and Sinckler were responsible for the years 1964 to 2007 we would have been up the creek without a paddle to the tune of $172 million,that is an additional $100 million.
    This calls into question the return on investment of government owning a radio station in a country where there are more pressing needs to be fulfilled and where there is only one TV station.Given the scarce use of available funding those dollars might be better spent on crime prevention and let CBC be privatized in its entirety.

37. David

Every so often in the inner-cities of America where most of the gun violence occurs, there is moratorium on illegal firearms where individuals in the inner-ciities can turn in their illegal fiream without be arrested.

The police in the inner-cities also conduct what is called a Buy Back Program where people can turn in their illegal fireams for cash … and this is effective for sometime because the less illegal guns on the street the safer we all are…

38. Jeff,

i dont profess to be an expert on Bim’s constitution such as it is but permit to make a few observations re the hiring of this consultant.

i did not get the sense that the present CoP expressed a desire for someone at the level of a consultant to himself to assist with crafting policies or coming up with strategies to combat the present violence if that is what Mr Dottin is being hired for.

as i understand it the responsibility for the police is held by the GG and is on recommendation to the GG that matters within the police are dealt with. normally if the police wants a consultant at that level the CoP would write some paper asking for such and send to the GG and if agreed it is conveyed to the politicians to create the post and associated payment.

it is usual for a PM to hire a consultant for the CoP without a recommendation from the CoP via the GG.

whether this amounts to a constitutional breach is the question. on the face of it you seem to believe it is unusual but not unconstitutional. thanks for that.

39. Mr. Greene, since you have so many opinions on everything, why do’t you write your own articles? I am sure David would publish and we can all have our say. steupse.

40. @Hal
    Given your 1:186, I have estimated that as 591 officers per 100, 000 citizens. Currently, we may already be ahead of Jamaica and Trinidad. in the count per 100,000.

Here are two links for you to explore
    https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/countries-with-the-most-police-officers-per-capita.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_and_dependencies_by_number_of_police_officers

It is quite possible that the problem that additional police or policemen supported by the army is not a solution. We may already be “over-policed” and we still have significant issues.

41. The Prime Minister has threatened the full weight of the law on those causing the mayhem in Barbados. Now I am worried. There isn’t even a courthouse at which this “weight” is to be applied.

42. Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity.

—–It’s real bad poetry, but it is devoid of the illusion that maney suffer from—
    What, if in the words of Malcolm X “The chickens are coming home to roost”
    Our society is broken and our criminals are on the loose
    Our politicians consider themselves nas a law unto themselves,
    Now, a next segment of our society has no ears for anyone else
    The false bridge between ‘high society’ and the criminal element has been severed.
    Courts are now reserved solely for hammering the small man who enters it
    for illegal transfer of properties or for coddling the rich
    With the facade of justice removed, the criminal elements administer street justice

43. a couple of typos

44. Theogazerts

This is what happens when we take religious out of the daily life for man becomes a God onto himself, and concepts of right and wrong which holds man behaviour accountable has no relevancy any longer …

45. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“There isn’t even a courthouse at which this “weight” is to be applied.”

Mia is taking the shite for a joke..

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@JGreene, I view your comment as word play re “i never asked Jeff to write politically about the PM hiring the CoP consultant. i said he could have written about the constitutionality of a PM hiring a consultant to the CoP. there is a difference you see”.

I see no difference.

The constitution can be reviewed by you or me and surely a man of your schooling to tertiary level can obviously dissect well the relevant clause… but regardless the PM has the authority to appoint the personnel she sees fit – with the consent of her cabinet one expects – so I also ask you: what breaches the constitution with such an act?

Thus, however you twist the semantics an opinion on such an appointment is very politically tinged discourse.

From what we read weekly the professor has strayed away from such unvarnished political commentaries … are there not more than enough political commentators in the local press already that can allow this legal academic to stay well above that fray!

I have not gone to review the constitution so I can’t really respond on your remark that the GG is the substantive official re such an appointment related to the RBPF…but I find that difficult to accept….thus I will go and read it!

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@JGreene are you suggesting that the clause below gives substantive authority to the GG over the PM’s selection of a non civil service , non titled, outside-chain of command consultant appointee to the Police Dept? Why and on what basis?

96.(1) Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, power of members to make appointments to offices in the Police Force and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in such offices, is hereby vested in the Governor￾General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Police Service Commission. …

48. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog January 27, 2019 9:00 AM “Ah know no one wants me to say who owns ambulances on the island.”

Well word on the street is that Donville owns or used to own ambulances, but people are probably telling lies on poor Donville.

49. ” acting in accordance with the advice of the Police Service Commission.”

50. It appears that Barbadians are gradually becoming more informed of the high level of cavalier management of the country’s human and material resources over the last 10 years of government by the Democratic Labour Party.It is not lost on the discerning that remedies are demanded overnight.This Barbados Labour Party should be aware that the electorate wants action and want it now.In politics patience is not a virtue.30 love is proof.It can happen again if the wrong conditions are present.

Leave a Reply to Sir Simple Simon, P.C.Cancel reply