@inthenameof#

I must ask, what has stopped the formation of a “Corruption Unit” within the relevant investigative body?

I note the appointment of several other gurus in the area of communication, finance etc etc, yet Corruption is being ducked, such that persons as yourself can offer up ‘takes time’ (delay).

And whenever the time comes, with no person or unit “in charge”, there will be no person to answer directly for the progress made/not made.

With tag lines like “The mission is too great. It is about the future of Barbadian generations not about you…..or any of us.”, the most overused line, particularly concluding line. by speech writers.

This isn’t solely about a few elected persons, the rot has spread far and wide. So let’s wait for a thorough review of Integrity Legislation (another delay), and hope full engagement takes it through to a few weeks prior to the next election?

NortherObserver

The comment above by BU commenter NorthernObserver collides with a loud thought that has been tumbling in the mind of the blogmaster in recent weeks. Real haste characterizes- compared to the former government for sure- how the Mia Mottley government has effected some decisions since winning the government in May 2018. Why have we not seen the same haste to pursue alleged wrongdoing read corruption?

The blogmaster listened intently to Prime Minister Mia Mottley delivering at a mass political meeting during the recent political campaign to launch party manifesto – BLP Manifesto Launch and IMF Buzz – when she  hinted that wrongdoing behind the CLICO fiasco will be vigorously pursued. As each day passes the idea that this government will honour its campaign promise fades to compare with similar promises made by former governments.

There are about four or five ministers in here [Parliament] who really have to ask themselves some questions. When people ask, ‘how can you drive a jeep belonging to a company that provides services to your ministry and gets work from your ministry and believe that is okay?’”

Mottley assured the House, a BLP government under her stewardship would adopt a no-nonsense approach to corruption, which would involve the passage of anti-corruption legislation

– Caribbean360

There are many other examples of Mia Mottley hinting at corrupt behaviour by members of the former government if you allow Google to be your friend!

We are waiting Prime Minister.

We watching yuh!

176 responses to “Mia Mottley’s Government and Corruption Déjà Vu”

1. And now I’m done wasting precious time with you. Going to thank God I’m not you.

2. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar
    In the Name of Common Sense

@ Donna and 45govt

I suspect that neither of you particularly like me (in Donna’s case I know, although she asserts she haven’t the time to hate human excrement such as my humble self). Notwithstanding that, I would encourage the both of you to get back to the issue at hand (no matter that i find the headline to be exasperating). You Donna too love to dwell on personalities. While I dont agree with much of what he says, I didn’t detect any racialism from the 45 character. I suspect that you are afflicted with the malady which many Barbadians are afflicted with, that being automatically believing that all members of minorities here have some deep seeted racialistic tendencies. As a member of a minority I take opposition to that wholeheartedly.

But to get back to what I was saying we can clearly see that we get no where when we engage in personalities rather than issues, as seen so pelucidly here and in our initial interaction. I appreciate the acerbity of 45’s wit over Donna’s crass vulgarity but I condemn both as neither are particularly helpful. Why can you all not just engage in issues? Will it kill you to do it for once?

3. Enuff in Wonderland…is that YOUR Jamaican connection….????

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/950534978489375/?t=3

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ 45 govt at 5 :57 PM

You wrote :”When in a hole stop digging”. Pray tell what do you mean by that?

5. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ T Inniss

Don’t forget to be on the lookout for David Shorey he is identical to Hallam Nicholls.

Someone took out Rodney Wilkson the invisible car racket scamster so he is a disease to them at the moment.

6. I have it on good authority that corruption in Bim began in 2008 and ceased on May 24 2018.

7. I will do as I please until the blog master stops me. You come here wanting to direct this blog. This is not Roebuck Street and nobody left you in charge.

If you were not a recent hire you would have seen ALL the comments that have been made by the two white shites. I am not the only one who has called them racist. It is a given.

Now butt out!

8. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

××Should have been Rodney Wilkinson××

RODNEY LEVI WILKINSON, the 59-year-old executive director of high-profile hired car company Executive Rentals Inc., will appear in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court today on several fraud charges involving over four million dollars.

Wilkinson, of No. 2 Friendly Hall, St Michael, is accused of the criminal deception of a number of car dealers and finance companies.

His arrest is the latest development in a reported car racket which has been a major talking point across the island.

Police sources told the SATURDAY SUN last night the charges involved purportedly selling cars which didn’t exist among other things.

A red flag was raised earlier this month after over 100 vehicles, including luxury models like Range Rovers and Mercedes Benzes were repossessed from the Worthing, Christ Church car rental firm.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/56279/wilkinson-charged

9. Carefull 45 with that handsome stuff with Donna she may go for it ,on the island her nickname was hurricane ………there would be a lot of sucking and blowing and then you would lose your house,

10. Is it three white shites then?

11. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

@ James

I appreciate the sarcasm, but some may be led astray in believing you. Corruption has been a part of politics since the original Athenian democracies and it will be till the end of times.

I’m not trying to run anything. I haven’t been hired by anyone and have been reading the blog since early 2008 but only began commenting recently.

12. Yuck! I think you are mistaking me for your wife. I like chocolate of the dark variety. Scientist agree that it is actually good for you.

13. Then you read with a biased eye.

14. “As a member of a minority I take opposition to that wholeheartedly.”

“Is it three white shites then?”

Nah…he would be dripping with shit announcing himself as white…..

…this is one of those who just think they are not black…negroid Indian or middle eastern or some such.

15. Now what about the acerbic wit of that Lawson. Care to comment on THAT?

16. Common,

I stand to be corrected but I dont seem to remember any corruption in Bim before 2008

17. Lawson is a lowlife..lol

18. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

@ WARU

I feel no need to validate myself to you and your intrinsic racism, but I will tell you for the hell of it that I’m actually mixed race (the product of two minorities in Barbados). If you want to know who qualifies as a minority in this country check a census. Somehow I get the impression Donna’s not going to condemn you for racialism.

PS Just out of curiosity why would I be prouder to tell you I’m white over telling you I’m Indian or Arab etc.?

19. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

Analogy makes for fascinating analysis if I was going to school and doing Lit but that doesn’t take away its crudeness. Do you assume that because he was attacking you I wouldn’t criticize him for it?

20. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

And now you and WARU have me sidetracked from the issues. Getting back on track now

21. If you had been reading since 2008 you would KNOW as all others here do that the personality thing is the exception rather than the rule for me as well as the ‘crassness.” You would also know that the personal attacks on me are the norm for the likes of Lawson and 45. I will deal with them as I see fit.

But on the morning of the December 28th I logged on to Nationnews.com and had to blink to clear my eyes. When I opened them I found that the disturbing picture was still there. And the caption – Sir Elliott.! And my heart sank! It did so because I had been hoping against hope that my vote had not been in vain. But with that picture all hope left me.

And my reaction was visceral!

It just struck me that the obscenity of the prime minister granting her father a knighthood with such indecent haste was deserving of equal crassness.

That Mia and her minions cannot acknowledge and understand these feelings which are shared by many but choose to ridicule and attack instead, says to me that I was right in my assessment. YOU HAVE CONFIRMED MY WORST FEARS.

The servants have become the masters again!

22. You gotta deal with ya own issues…re who ya THINK ya are…

23. And now we are back on track!

24. Common

i was in St Kitts recently and Dougie was asking how Charlie doing down in Bim. i told him he has MAM on the straight and narrow path. no scandals or rumours of scandals. i told him that this is the most corrupt free govt since the 1994-2008 BLP administration. he didnt seem to believe me. but that is Dougie for yuh. BTW Patches said Hi lol

25. By the way, that call out was lame since you did not mention his name and you kinda paid him a compliment on his analogy. Did you really think I would not notice?

SMH

26. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

I condemn 45 wholeheartedly for attacking anyone.

27. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

I condemn all personal attacks.

28. I work, serious work. Serious meetings all day. Don’t have time to waste on noise pickers everyday. You’re also s specialist in 7-day wonders.🤣🤣

29. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

@ Enuff

For me I can’t keep this up so often so I may have to taper off. But the guys need some support against the tsunami that is the disinformstion campaign. Next week they’ll probably nitpick about some other irrelevancy.

30. Lawson was even worse.

Irrelevant to whom? The more you post the more the attitude shows. But enough of that. You have been exposed enough. Everyone would have seen your attitude by now. And by extension………

31. So dismissive. Weren’t dismissive when they came to my front door.

32. In the Name of Common Sense Avatar

Do not judge the BLP based on me. I do NOT represent or symbolize the BLP. I am a fiercely independent individual. I treasure that independence so I resent that notion.

This is the last time I discuss personalities and such trivia.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff January 8, 2019 7:52 PM
    “I work, serious work. Serious meetings all day”

Working and meetings in Barbados?

Aren’t those two statements in ‘seriously’ oxymoronic contradiction?
    Unless, of course, you see eating sandwiches and sipping beverages as ‘work’ for the digestive system.

When Bajans can ‘meet’ to clean up their act by getting the garbage and detritus off the streets then we will give you guys a passing grade in basic hygiene.

How many soldiers with their ‘working’ vehicles does it take to remove 50 Xmas trees when the garbage collecting skips are overflowing at all the seaside spots?

34. miller

That suit you. lol

35. Transparency Watch
    What’s going on with the water Tanks
    Did govt renegotiate the loan with Innotech

Some of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) community tanks are mysteriously collapsing putting persons in water-scarce parishes at risk. So far, two areas have been identified where the issue occurred- Pot House, St John and Ginger Works, St Joseph.

36. We have the opportunity to champion the corruption issue in Barbados yet many see the priority as debating in the first person. And we ask why there is no change. A government will always reflect its people.

37. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

—James Greene
    January 8, 2019 7:07 PM

Common,
    I stand to be corrected but I dont seem to remember any corruption in Bim before 2008—

A touch of finesse is absent in your sarcasm even as Barrack tries to figure out what to do with $150 million paid out of poor taxpayers pockets. VECO, Greenland, Hardwood not to overlook the Silver Sands Golden showers the hair braiders and tree limb cutters. Cant remember all that’s why you are referred to the auditor general’s reports 1994 t0 2008

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

39. Overseas Observer Avatar
    Overseas Observer

In the Name of Common Sense AKA Charles Jong, Mia Mottley’s spin Doctor come to MISLEAD and FOOL Bajans as the politicians both DLP and BLP love to do.

40. Unfortunate that the current FRAUDS in parliament CANNOT SEE where their determinedly corrupt intentions ARE LEADING THEM…but it is time KARMA deals with them anyway …so me nah complain….Jong the fraud can’t save them either.

…..Pacha…finally…we have been saying this for donkeys years …get rid of all things originating from the CRIMINAL COLONIALS in UK…that has obviously in the last 60 years NEGATIVELY IMPACTED the MINDS of the majority black population from the. minute they enter a school compound…right through their lives….

what I want to know is WHY it took the university types SO LONG to REALIZE….what most of us saw since we were children…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/01/08/scrap-it-now/

“The funny thing is that this exam came out of an unjust system. It’s an exam that we inherited from the UK, started through a psychologist called Cyril Burt. He devised this exam basically to separate the sheep from the goat, to ensure that the best students go to top schools and the others somewhere else. Later, Cyril Burt was discredited as being racist. He did not like blacks, did not like Pakistanis and so forth. This exam is really to make sure that the best white persons go to the top schools,” explained Warrican.

41. @ Vincent 9.49pm

“You wrote :”When in a hole stop digging”. Pray tell what do you mean by that?”

Donna found herself in a hole, and as she has amply demonstrated since, has never learned to stop digging poor soul.

42. @ In The Name Of Common Sense

“I condemn 45 wholeheartedly for attacking anyone.”

But I didn’t, did I? Donna came on here with a stupid question from another thread and her naivete got exposed, followed by her innate racism.

43. Can we lose the personal attacks on anonymous bloggers for one second?

44. So this is telling us that BWA does not have a department that can SOURCE 2000 pound water tanks OUT OF TRINIDAD…although their Chairperson Leodean Worrell IS Tinidadian..,,

…..why do they need TIEFING Innotech to source water tanks for them from Trinidad…and the BWA gotta pay them 52,000 dollars a month …taxpayer’s money…when they can do the sourcing THEMSELVES…what is happening can only make sense to corrupt FOOLS..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/01/08/busted-tanks/

45. 45 you cant win ….your white……the banshee and harpie have formed a cabal against you and me lol. Waru is so hate filled for whites and anybody above her I can only hope she is married to chuck shumer.
    Donna ” weren’t dismissive when they came to my front door” lol from your posts I think you probably have more people coming to your back door.

46. “Waru is so hate filled for whites and anybody above her I can only hope she is married to chuck shumer.”

so what you got against the chuck schumers though…wuh they say I hate them too…..lol..they been saying that for years, just because ah cuss them a few times…

ALL THIS LOVE I am sharing with everyone PARTICULARLY TO WHITES…and yall call it HATE….must be something in the food or water…

47. Besides…it has been well noted that when I CUT LOOSE on black people…NOT A FELLA…calls me a racist…everyone just sits in SILENCE and GLOW and GLOAT with satisfaction…like well fed cats…

48. True stop eating that bajan hot sauce that keeps you spouting fire all the time, get both sides before you fly off the handle. Didnt courts go almost bankrupt in 2004 maybe this vat thing is all part and parcel of keeping it open and keeping people employed. I am sure there is more to the story …there always is …maybe someone has more information on it ..

49. Lawson, WARU has issues, don’t we all, but I sorta like her style. Donna is just sad, and I see that she has gotten a pass from the blogmaster as usual. You must be right about the bias!

50. David – your bias is appalling, no matter who attacks me, it is ALWAYS my fault for responsing. Perhaps you should intervene on the initial insult and issue your warnings on an evenhanded basis. Just an idea.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply