@inthenameof#

I must ask, what has stopped the formation of a “Corruption Unit” within the relevant investigative body?

I note the appointment of several other gurus in the area of communication, finance etc etc, yet Corruption is being ducked, such that persons as yourself can offer up ‘takes time’ (delay).

And whenever the time comes, with no person or unit “in charge”, there will be no person to answer directly for the progress made/not made.

With tag lines like “The mission is too great. It is about the future of Barbadian generations not about you…..or any of us.”, the most overused line, particularly concluding line. by speech writers.

This isn’t solely about a few elected persons, the rot has spread far and wide. So let’s wait for a thorough review of Integrity Legislation (another delay), and hope full engagement takes it through to a few weeks prior to the next election?

NortherObserver

The comment above by BU commenter NorthernObserver collides with a loud thought that has been tumbling in the mind of the blogmaster in recent weeks. Real haste characterizes- compared to the former government for sure- how the Mia Mottley government has effected some decisions since winning the government in May 2018. Why have we not seen the same haste to pursue alleged wrongdoing read corruption?

The blogmaster listened intently to Prime Minister Mia Mottley delivering at a mass political meeting during the recent political campaign to launch party manifesto – BLP Manifesto Launch and IMF Buzz – when she  hinted that wrongdoing behind the CLICO fiasco will be vigorously pursued. As each day passes the idea that this government will honour its campaign promise fades to compare with similar promises made by former governments.

There are about four or five ministers in here [Parliament] who really have to ask themselves some questions. When people ask, ‘how can you drive a jeep belonging to a company that provides services to your ministry and gets work from your ministry and believe that is okay?’”

Mottley assured the House, a BLP government under her stewardship would adopt a no-nonsense approach to corruption, which would involve the passage of anti-corruption legislation

– Caribbean360

There are many other examples of Mia Mottley hinting at corrupt behaviour by members of the former government if you allow Google to be your friend!

We are waiting Prime Minister.

We watching yuh!

176 responses to “Mia Mottley’s Government and Corruption Déjà Vu”

1. @Northern Observer,

Is this what passes for debate? The government has announced the policy. Nonsense about past tense and so on are irrelevant. It is now policy.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    why don’t you enlighten us
    1. Has the International Business Companies Act been repealed and replaced?
    2. Ditto for the Societies with Restricted Liability and the Exempt Insurance Act?

Dear ac was suggesting that corporate Barbados was only stepping forward to donate water tanks because the GoB has given them a massive tax break.

Are you aware that businesses have been forewarned they will be changes to the tax structure governing dividends, and potentially other areas, as the GoB seeks to recoup tax revenue lost. NONE of that has been announced as yet. So all we have is one part of a proposed tax policy (I beg you to find the new tax structures at the BRA), the other parts are still TBA.

Kindly provide your expectations, when prior Int’l Business entities, who have never been allowed to provide their goods and services locally, are now registered as local business corporations.

3. @Northern Observer,

In social policy, once the government of the day announces a policy, it is accepted as policy. It is similar to a Budget speech; we do not have to wait for the Finance Act to describe it as policy, the Speech in parliament is accepted as policy.
    You do not have to wait for the draft legislation to go through parliament to describe it as policy. That is considered a formality, although lawyers may beg to differ.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

We all understand policy.
    And that additional changes in policy, are likely to have a countervailing effect on net, after tax earnings.

5. @Northern Observer,

We do not all understand policy. You are getting two things mixed up. Policy is not tax revenue, although good policymakers calculate the cost/benefit of any policy initiatives..
    The important thing is not to call someone a liar if they disagree with you.

6. @ Sargeant
    “Tanks” for nothing, donated tanks a bust. The “vandalism” echoed by the BWA is just another excuse (lie) foisted on a gullible public eager to believe that someone is trying to make the Gov’t look bad.
    Boss, you are due for a major change in rank.
    You are seeing the ball like a breadfruit … even in the dark.

Bushie is just waiting to see how long it takes before it dawns on Bajan Brass Bowls (BBB) that the BWA is cursed with INCOMPETENCE.
    – First there was no problem -and two ministers bathed in the sewerage to prove it..
    – then they blamed the south coast mess on ‘people tampering with manholes’
    – then it was ‘people putting blankets and towels into the lines’
    – then it was people disposing of waste water into the system
    – then the pumps were faulty
    FINALLY …it turns out that the pipes are broken.

We need not even look at the many FAILED attempts, so far, to deal with this (THE ACTUAL PROBLEM) to date…
    …so ANYONE who is surprised at the stupidity of this whole ‘community tank’ situation HAS to be a dedicated BBB…

Rest assured, however, that the whole thing will come to a head …but only AFTER the current set of incompetents have inflicted REAL damage on Barbados in the upcoming drought period that has been predicted….

Sarge…
    The ONLY REAL problem in Barbados is our fetish with keeping incompetent, dishonest, selfish people in charge of our national affairs. Everything else can be EASILY addressed with competent common sense.

7. @ Northern O
    Bushie has to side with Hal Austin here…
    Maripoka lied…
    …but Hal is not really a case of a ‘liar’….but an idiot….
    No malice intended – it is just the unfortunate truth.
    …and in case anyone thinks that Bushie is being harsh, Hal keeps on making the point in post after post….

example…
    The BLP terminated NRSL as promised.
    They simultaneously imposed new AND HIGHER taxes ..
    (ON THINGS LIKE WATER AND GASOLINE THAT CANNOT BE AVOIDED BY ORDINARY PEOPLE BEING FRUGAL) .

Only an idiot would run around claiming that we have had tax benefits from the removal of the NSRL….
    so…
    Trust Hal to do so….

8. NO….Not wanting to say that Mia promises are worthless and worthy of ignoring
    He builds an excuse based on what suggestions OEC told govt
    What then is the purpose of Mia laying out a policy that sets the motion in wheels for Corporate barbados to benefit if Govt is not going to adhere
    One would think that with all the political favour and high fiving done by govt to sweeten more political benefits towards them from corporate barbados
    Govt would hold fast and true to its words

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    The BLP GoB actually INCREASED corporate tax rates from 25% to 30%. It was only when they discovered certain prior discussions had taken place, where the GoB had committed to the OECD they would harmonize local and IBC tax rates, that they announced in late Nov 2018, that new lower ‘sliding scale’ rates would be in effect from Jan 1 2019.

10. Steupsss
    Forgot that you are an idiot too…

In order to keep on getting foreign corporations to hide their assets here (to avoid taxes at home),
    we had to SHOW that the scam tax rates that we offer to them are actually the same as we have for locals.
    …by Dec 31 2018.
    THEY WERE NOT.

So Government made all LOCAL corporation taxes the same LOW rate as the scam rates used to lure the corporations….by Dec 31.

HOWEVER, nothing stops government from now instituting OTHER means of recouping the difference (and even MORE taxes) from local entities – EXCEPT THEY CANNOT BE CALLED CORPORATION taxes….

It is NRSL all over again…. Simply a game of semantics with the OECD.
    This is all Northern O was trying to explain.

11. Sorry NO
    missed your post before posting…

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

If the GoB lowers my corporate tax rate from 30% to say 2.5%, but then places a 40% withholding tax on dividends paid at source, and alters the allowable corporate deductions, the amount of money falling out at the bottom maybe unchanged. There are several ways to skin a cat.
    I know of nobody in corporate Barbados, who is expecting a windfall from the already announced tax rate changes. We know the GoB has to get revenue from somewhere.

From the early days when I came to this blog, I kept saying [not quite as often as HA says Barbados is a failed state] that levying and collecting taxes/revenue would be governments greatest challenge in the years ahead. And not just in Barbados.

13. Best to just repost….

“They have NOT given one shit yet, just talk, brought on by pressure from an external body, the OECD. And the deal with the OECD, was apparently negotiated under the last administration. (your boys and girls), to get the OECD grey-listing off our a**.

Based on filings from public firms, the tax rate paid in Barbados in 2018 was just a shade under 30%, up from 25%.”and add..since ya have to continually remind those with 15 second attention spans ..

and add THAT…..

.ah hope the lot in parliament realize that they are NOT…supposed to give any CURRENT businesses or NEW businesses..neither local NOR foreign……any TAXPAYER FUNDED CONCESSIONS….not with a current and very recent corporate tax rate of 1-5%.

….those businesses should be CREATING JOBS….and not RIPPING OFF TAXPAYERS AND PENSIONERS.

14. The problem with smoke and mirrors is that when the smoke clears everything is exposed.

Providing water balloons to people in water scarce areas was a masterstroke.

The selfish and unpatriotic actions of Innotech in removing water tanks put the government in a bad light. Someone, according to Mariposa, came up with the great idea of ‘distributing water balloons” which was
    (1) a good publicity stunt,
    (2) negated the actions of Innotech,
    (3) made it appear as if (or demonstrated that) the government cared for LL water scarce areas, and
    (4 )demonstrated the ability to respond quickly and efficiently to new problems….

But then the smoke cleared and the balloons burst

15. On a more serious note. Hopefully the local manufacturer do calculations that involves volume, pressure and other factors. The government need to set standards and to request the specifications for the local tanks (see how I throw a common sense bone at Mia?).

Some seem to think that the local product is inferior to that produced in Trinidad.

16. TheOGerts

A few days ago someone asked what Bajan product is worth buying, and I am here to tell you that Shirley biscuit is doing quite well in the Caribbean and in North America … and would you believe that all of the Jamaicans that I’ve met here have erroneously thought Shirley biscuit was originally from Jamaica until I show them Barbados printed in bold letters on the package…

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheoGazerts

The Jamaicans had a similarly tasting product,flavoured with allspice.

18. While Coverley developer Mark Maloney is set to earn millions from the relocation of Ross University School of Medicine students, Government was also a big winner.
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley yesterday revealed that government has sold its lands at Coverley to Maloney for $13.5 million, three times the worth.(Quote)

Was this land publicly auctioned? Was it a private deal?

19. 🙂
    Man I am now on the MM train.
    No matter who is in power, this gut making money. Once upon a time, a new set of businessmen would come into favor when the government changed. But this guy is just rolling no matter which side of the BDLP is in power. No east or famine just feasting.
    MM, show them how busisness done MM.
    I am looking to join your train … 🙂

20. *gut=guy;
    *east=feast
    *busisness done=business is done

Arghhhhh
    !!&%$#! &*$
    I dun. L8r

21. What became of those who wrote volumes, treatisesand epistles against MM when he was on the DLP gravy train?
    Keyboard not working?
    Electricity off?
    Death?
    Probably discovered they are part of the farm animals on animal farm…

“The creatures outside looked from MM to Mia, and from Mia to MM, and from MM to Mia again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

22. @ TheOGazerts,

1000 students x $ 2000 per month x 12 = $ 24 million Barbados dollars.per year.

“Some 400 houses in the sprawling Coverley development, built by the Preconco group, are to be completed by January to accommodate about 1,500 students, 100 faculty and another 200 administrative support staff.”

23. It’s simple…..the people who were “against MM when he was on the DLP gravy train,” had a lapse in memory and are now supporting him now he is on the “BLP gravy train”……

………and, as is the norm in these situations……..the people who were defending “MM when he was on the DLP gravy train,”…….including your “star girl,”…….will now be writing “volumes, treatises and epistles against” him for similarly conducting business under this arrogant BLP administration.

The amazing this about it is, while we enter the halls of BU to call each other “yard-fowls” or “limited rage chickens”…..and defend the BLP or DLP……FREE OF COST…….

……….Maloney, Bizzy, COW, de boys and dem….….gine be laughing duh way to the bank, when the million$ begin to roll in.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheOGazerts January 17, 2019 8:02 AM

Nice analogy there, The O gazer of high intellectual might!

Should the pawns (sheeple on the farm) in the double-dealing duopoly BDLP political war games fought between the symbiotic twins called Tweedle-Dem and Twaddle-Bee look forward to another entente cordiale arising from an official pact of financial cooperation on the Hyatt hotel erection similar to the just concluded Cover(t)ly ‘let-sleeping-dog called Abijah Holder remain-dead deal’?

When is the public going to be ‘fully informed’ on the long-pending erection of the Bay Street behemoth called Hyatt Inchoate?

Who are the beneficial owners of the land(s) on which that ‘long-in-coming’ hotel erection is expected to tumesce? Maybe Plantation Deeds aka Bajan Free Party can shed some light.

Who are the money people behind the scenes backing the ‘hard-rock’ erection in that red light district?

25. Who is going to be the first minister to bite the bullet and resign from the Mottley Cabinet?

26. Is the junior finance minister, with responsibility for investments, now the government’s spokesperson on town and country planning? When are we going to have a public discussion about town planning, and not just shouting on BU?