Barbados is fortunate to have Ross University relocating here, and our Prime Minister deserves credit for facilitating the move. This was a win for everyone: the University, which would have a wonderful location in the true land-of-the-free; the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre (LESC), which would be able to pay its bills and not be a drain on tax payers; but most importantly, ordinary households.

The severe austerity is impacting those with home mortgages, and to have the reported 1,000 students plus 300 staff paying perhaps $1,000 per month for a room in someone’s house, may save the house from foreclosure. If the mortgage has already been paid, then the money can be used to invest in the education of their children.

The immediate beneficiaries would likely have been those in close proximity to the LESC, who would have likely benefitted slimily as those near the University of the West Indies. However, given the LESC’s favourable location and Barbados’ radial road network, anyone living near Highways 4, 5 and 6 would have an advantage since it would be one bus ride to and from LESC.

Many homes are already prepared to host the students and staff, having upgraded their houses to accommodate visitors for the Cricket World Cup. The level of interaction should be beneficial to the families since these are post-graduate students, and the exchange of ideas can only benefit both parties. Well done Barbados!

Yesterday, to my dismay, I read that all Barbadian households were disqualified from offering their houses as accommodation to the students and staff. I learnt that only those small houses in the Coverley residential development, which are located far away from LESC, were approved for Ross University students and staff. I felt sick reading that even if students wanted to have accommodation at a Barbadian household, that they could not.

Something did not seem right. Certainly Ross University would correct this offensive news report, but it remained unchallenged. Hence, this article.

Why is this offensive behaviour being tolerated in Barbados? Everyone in a free country has the right to seek accommodation that they can afford. Even in countries that limit personal freedoms, like Cuba, Russia, China and North Korea, people can still choose to select affordable accommodations.

In Barbados, the only persons who do not have the choice of accommodations are inmates detained at Her Majesty’s Prisons (HMP) Dodds, the Psychiatric Hospital, and those who choose a military type regimen like the Youth Service and the Defence Force. Everyone else has a constitutional right to personal liberty where they can seek affordable accommodations.

Is there no lawyer in Barbados who can request a judicial review of this offensive contract? Is there no person at the Fair Trading Commission who can make a determination of the fairness of this contract? Why are we tolerating having Barbados’ reputation being damaged in this manner?

It actually gets worse, as if that were even possible. These approximately 1,000 sq ft area houses are reportedly being rented to accommodate 4 persons, who must each pay approximately US$1,000 per month in rent. What???

This rent is so ridiculously high that those 4 students can pool their rent money for 3 years and easily purchase the house that they are renting. They can then sell it, share it as a vacation home, or rent it to other students after they graduate? Clearly they would not even need to consider something so extreme if the rent was reasonable, but to not consider this investment opportunity would be financially irresponsible of them.

It is a well-known maxim that to understand what is really going on, one should follow the money. It has been reported that the houses at Coverley were not selling as expected. It seems that only a few favoured people are supposed to benefit from the relocation of Ross University.

While homeowners and others may mourn the loss of this economic opportunity, the real victims are the unsuspecting students – who are to be incarcerated at HMP Coverly.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

237 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Ross University – Hip Hip Hooray”

1. Coyote has a dumb question that he has not seen documented, what is the cost(s) to Barbados in providing the accommodations at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre (LESC) and Coverly to this PRIVATE UNIVERSITY. ROSS UNIVERSITY appears to be getting a SANDALS type connsession, maybe even better than Sandals. ROSS is being provided a campus and residence with no capital outlay, hummmmm.

Is the LESC not a public entity to facilitate business, government in Barbados and Coverly a residential development for profit. So now that Barbados has given these two entities to a Private organization where does one hold conferences in Barbados and whose going to refund all the purchasers in Coventry development fo not meeting the original sales agreements ?

2. @Wily Coyote
    Wily Coyote

Have you not been paying attention? The finer details of the agreement with ROSS has not been shared with the public. Sounds familiar?

3. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Enuff January 6, 2019 6:52 AM

But Enuff, not even Ross is claiming to be in the same category as Harvard, Yale, UPenn, or Dartmouth.

4. @ The Truth,

Are cultural traits inherited, does that mean they are biological?

5. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@WARU January 6, 2019 7:13 AM “bate and switch.”

Bait and switch. Bait, as in the substance used to catch vermim.

You owe me $1 USD for that.

Please deposit it to the offshore account of Sir Simple Simon, P.C. (People’s Counsel)

6. Theo and BushTea

If WARU references Ivy League schools, am I not suppose to respond by referencing Ivy League schools? She contended that what Ivy League schools charged is justified. My response simply showed that Ross U is actually lower than Ivy League universities, and the emphasis was on HOUSING not fees per se. I also indicated that the AVERAGE cost of private medical university is US$55,000 per year, note I did not say IVY LEAGUE but PRIVATE MEDICAL universities, which means Ivy League and non Ivy League schools. For example Creighton University School of Medicine, Nebraska charges US$58,666 per year in tuition and $16,800 per year for living, which equates to US$1,866 per month. Is Creighton Ivy League or is it ranked? I keep telling wunna READ to UNDERSTAND not to ATTACK me. All yuh ain’t ready fuh me at all. I am not AC/Mariposa et al, I think for myself!! #butiamayardfowl

7. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Enuff January 6, 2019 8:39 AM “Many universities require 1st and 2nd year students to live on campus and some even require 3 and the full 4 years. ”

Kindly provide us with a list of those universities which require 3rd and 4th year students to live on campus. Thanks.

Since according to you:

@Enuff January 6, 2019 8:39 AM “The bloggers hear need to start posting more evidence-based submissions and less of the hearsay, emotive and flat out lies.”

So at a minimun I THINK that you should be REQUIRED to at least meet your own standards.

Sir Simple Simon, P.C. (People’s Counsel)

8. WARU

Here are some:

Roanoke College – 4 years required
    Duquesne University – First 2 years
    Brown University – 3 years
    Winston-Salem State University – 2 years
    Duke University – 3 years
    Loyola University – First 2 years
    Cornel University – All FT students, unless stated exceptions are met
    Baylor University – All FT students, unless stated exceptions are met
    Tulane University – First 2 years
    Wagner College – 3 years

9. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Jeff Cumberbatch January 6, 2019 9:11 AM “@ Bush Tea, she may start with this one-

“In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section(1) of Section 93 of the Finance Act, 1994 (32 of 1994) (hereinafter referred to as the said Act), and in supercession of notification number 13/2012-Service Tax, dated 17th March 2012, published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II Section 3, Sub-section (i) vide number GSR. 211 (E), dated 17th March, 2012, the Central Government, being satisfied that it is necessary in the public interest so to do, hereby exempts the taxable service of the description specified in column (2) of the Table below, from so much of the service tax leviable thereon under Section 66B of the said Act, as is in excess of the service tax calculated on a value which is equivalent to a percentage specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) of the said Table, of the amount charged by such service provider for providing the said taxable service, unless specified otherwise, subject to the relevant conditions specified in the corresponding entry in column (4) of the said table”

First i would spank the lawyer who wrote that.

Then I would end them back to class one.

And after they have passed the 11+ with at least 90% in English, then CXC, earning a grade 1, and the A’Level or whatever it is called now earning a grade 1 or an A, only then I would let them back into law school.

One day long ago a friend of mine received a letter from the lawyer of his ex, one of the those who have sat in our honourable house. We nearly de’d with laughter then. Either the lawyer is dyslexic, and or her secretary also has dyslexia. If I had written a note like that to the village shopkeeper my mother wouldda kill me den.

But this woman escaped from UWI’s law school, and we promoted her to one of the highest offices in the land.

A complete joker, who likely could not have earned her living in any place other than Barbados.

Lolll!!!

10. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar
    The Truth Shall Set You Free

Are cultural traits inherited, does that mean they are biological? {Quote}

Out of all the things in my post you choose to focus on that simple issue?

Maybe you should Google it, the same way you Googled that the brain is a muscle and argued with Dr. GP, then tried to back-track when he and others showed up your folly.

You are truly an amazing character.

11. I happen to know that some of the lawyers and even a Q.C I know cannot write a simple sentence in English. In fact I have kept a campaign circular for more than a decade of a particular government minister from the last administration. Every time I come across it whist digging for documents I have another chance to roflmao.

Makes one wonder – how did they get through CXC, UWI etc??????

12. @ The Truth….
    You are truly an amazing character.
    Not really amazing…
    Just an idiot.
    ALWAYS was…
    Always will be…

13. TheOGazerts

I was “born and bred” in Black Rock and I have never heard about “higher crime rates” in the area. Even the Commissioner of Police’s assertion that there were several “gangs” in Black Rock, was dismissed as folly. As such, I’m entitled to ask from where did he obtain this information.

You are being very DISINGENUOUS and SILLY in your stupid attempt trying to associate me with the BLP each time you make some comment associated with me. Yet you come to this forum trying desperately at every opportunity afforded you, to convince us you’re not a supporter of the DLP.

14. A few month ago I listened to a CBC (Canada) interview featuring Mike Grant- a member of Musical Youth- responsible for the popular song “Pass the Dutchie” and he explained the context of the lyric from the song.

https://www.cbc.ca/radio/q/wednesday-october-17-2018-troye-sivan-margo-price-and-more-1.4864867/musical-youth-s-mike-grant-shares-how-the-song-pass-the-dutchie-changed-his-life-1.4864944

15. @Artax
    But I called you fair and balanced. Was I wrong?

I must point out that being a DLP or BLP supporter is not a crime. The difference between us is that I criticize where criticism is due, you both defend where it is not appropriate to do so. That will always put us in different camps.

I think it is time for you and Enuff to say “I am what I am”. Stop trying to draw lines where none exist.

Here is your response … Provide me with examples where…

16. TheoGaz

Can’t you read? Let me repeat, I support the BLP. Is that clear enuff now after the umpteenth time?

17. Looks like the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre will become a centre for cadavers!!!!

Where will Barbadian students sit exams?

Wasn’t that what the millions were spent for … and to think the party in power put a whole lot of steal in there already!!

18. @ Enuff
    I support the BLP. Is that clear enuff now after the umpteenth time?
    So What?!!
    Bushie too…

But Bushie DOES NOT SUPPORT SHIITE….
    ..so any Bush man support for the BLP is CONDITIONAL on wunna keeping wunna excrement in the damn toilet…

Can you say that…?
    If so, give us any example where your MORAL compass trumped your BLP support..?

Failure to do so is strongly correlated to ‘Yardfowlism’….

#takethetestEnuff

19. Gonna be short..
    Not failed but failing.
    PR moves and BS instead of policies
    Insensitive to optics (feelings of the people they represent)
    Land fraud terrorists heading the ‘Land’ and justice departments
    The businessmen who were DLP demons are now BLP business partners
    Doing the same things they called out when in opposition
    New broom does not sweep any cleaner.
    Not failed but failing
    No recovery in sight

20. BushTea and Theo

I already dismissed wunna as lightweights since 11:46 am. Go rest and enjoy wunna Sunday food. Once again, reading to attack me not to understand what I am saying.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant 👍🏿.. cool interview!

Fame, fortune and pot… cooking pots, and a bit of the other one too!

22. Enuff 68…I recognize some of them, but that does not explain why Ross wants to chain these students to Maloney’s DUMP at Coverley…all through their 4 year term or whatever it is..

23. TheOGazerts

Likewise, please give examples where I “both defend where it is not appropriate to do so.”

24. TheOGazerts

Why should I have to admit to you or anyone if I support the BLP, since, as you have mentioned, supporting the BLP or DLP is not a crime?

Based on the content of your contributions, anyone can reasonably conclude you’re a DLP supporter…….but again, it’s not a crime if you are.

If you’re so convinced I’m a BLP supporter, why do believe there is a need for you to belabor the point or try to convince others.?

As I have mentioned on numerous occasions, many of you forget what you contribute to this forum, and when you are reminded, rather than admit to your hypocrisy, you prefer to make snide, pejorative remarks, as evidenced by the resident pantomath.

25. @David

Coyote has been paying ATTENTION, same old same old, corruption continues. Question is how is the MAM organization facilitating the necessary graft payments from this arrangement.

Time to wake-up and smell the rotten roses.

26. David u need to come clean .The people are being blindsided by these articles that does not put govt feet to the fire

27. For the record. the Constitutional right to liberty is not only about incarceration as Jeff seems to suggest. I stated that there are 10 reasons. This is not my opinion, anyone can read the public document and see that there are 10 (a to j). So it is fact.

The interpretation of the law on the other hand is a matter of opinion. Sometimes the law is clearly written to be self-explanatory, and sometimes it is not. Where it is not, there are differing legal opinions. The court is where those opinions are addressed and precedent can be set. Good practitioners of the law should know be able to cite these precedents to support their legal opinions.

There are so many aspects of law that lawyers normally only have time in their careers to specialize in only one part. More accurately, they only have time in their careers to keep current with the precedents of that one specialization. There are other professionals who must also keep current with the same legal precedents in order to properly do their jobs.

All Engineers who manage construction contracts must be familiar with contract law. It is a mandatory part of their academic training, and they must understand the construction contract precedents of the jurisdictions where they practise in order to properly adjudicate construction disputes. I have done that across the Caribbean for the past 2 decades on significant contracts.

I am not, inany way, an expert on the Constitution. But I can read it – and so can any of you.

If we look at the 10th, or j, it reads thus.

“13. (1) No person shall be deprived of his personal liberty save as may be authorised by law in any of the following cases, that is to say-”

“j) to such extent as may be necessary in the execution of a lawful order requiring that person to remain within a specified area within Barbados or prohibiting him from being within such an area, or to such extent as may be reasonably justifiable for the taking of proceedings against that person with a view to the making of any such order or relating to such an order after it has been made or to such extent as may be reasonably justifiable for restraining that person during any visit that he is permitted to make to any part of Barbados in which, in consequence of any such order, his presence would otherwise be unlawful.”

So clearly, personal liberty is not just about incarceration, it is also about not going or living where you want to go. The Constitution lists 10 reasons where you can be prevented from living where you want – or having limits on your personal liberty. Some students want to live elsewhere, but their liberty is being restricted.

The whole point of the article is that any differing opinions on this matter can be resolved through the courts, hopefully to the benefit of the students and us. Hence, my simple call for a lawyer to assist with a judicial review by the courts. Some found this objectionable.

28. My Dear Artax,

Why do I ‘pick’ on you and Enuff?

Somehow I get the impression that both of you are young and inteligent. However, it seems as if your calculations include getting thirty pieces of silver. I sincerely believe that both of you are better than that.

If you continue on your current path, you will become the MCarrington and GPayne of the future. This politicAl and legal trickery and excuses is a part of the DNA that all of Barbados should try to correct.

The future of Barbados lies in your hands, but your role models are deeply flawed.

It’s not a B or D thing. It’s about the future of Barbados.

It’s not about making excuses because “it’s your guys at bat”…. it’s about core values… right is right and wrong is wrong… live that.

I believe and have confidence in the two of you. Be honest with yourselves.

TheO

29. @ TheO G
    Steupss…
    You mind Artax,,,?
    what young man what??!!
    He old as shiite hear…..

Bushie is but a few months older than that ol’ geezer…
    Artax missed the gravy train when Barrow died….

30. “There are so many aspects of law that lawyers normally only have time in their careers to specialize in only one part.”

This is patently false…replace the word “aspects”…with DISCIPLINES of the law…DISCIPLINES..

Some lawyers attempt…to practice 2 or 3 DISCIPLINES…most don’t..

Most lawyers PRACTICE one DISCIPLINE throughout their careers…some multitask..

31. “Enuff 68…I recognize some of them, but that does not explain why Ross wants to chain these students to Maloney’s DUMP at Coverley…all through their 4 year term or whatever it is..”

Coverley student housing is superior to many dorm rooms on offer in Amurka. Murdaaa!!

32. “However, it seems as if your calculations include getting thirty pieces of silver.”

“If you continue on your current path, you will become the MCarrington and GPayne of the future.”

TheOGazerts

WTF!!!!

How the bloody hell did you arrive at the above conclusions, especially taking into consideration you don’t know anything about me?

What exactly is behind your SICK PREOCCUPATION with whether or not I’m a BLP supporter?

Assuming I was, how will that affect you?

Where did this shiite about “thirty pieces of silver” come from?

Continuing on what “current path?”

I’m not a lawyer nor have I been accused of with-holding the funds of former clients or stealing their land. So how could you conclude I “will become the Michael Carrington and George Payne of the future?

Perhaps you may be experiencing early symptoms of dementia or senility.

My friend, if you don’t have ANYTHING WORTHWHILE to contribute, just chill out until you do, rather than making silly, unfounded and wild accusations.

I have challenged you on several occasions, to PRESENT to this forum, any of my contributions, in which you can IDENTIFY a phrase, paragraph, sentence, even 4 words, that could be reasonably and definitively interpreted as DEFENDING Mia Mottley and the BLP.

You have refused to do so……..yet you continue to these make silly, childish accusations.

Just chill out and relax yuh-self.

33. Waru:

I stand corrected. I should have wrote “disciplines” as you correctly stated.

Please note that such pedantic corrections do not normally attract an alarming accusation of: “This is patently false.”

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Phillips, I am happy that you noted that you have been working with contract law of the building business for many years …however your explanation of clause 13 as above highlights a complete lack of deftness of understanding.

You caused me to read the section this morning thus I cannot fathom your explanation at 6:48PM..I am not an attorney but like you work duties for some years enforced a need to be nimble and knowledgeable on the law of contract about de place…and beyond.

So I am just as ignorant or competent as you or any non lawyer to decipher our constitution clause 13 which as I read it simply states that there are a series of conditions (a – j) which CAN deprive a person of their liberty …ALL of them RELATE to losing liberty or being incarcerated/arrested by the direction of the courts/nation!

The principal point of the sentence in the clause is DEPRIVATION of personal liberty which has been defined as incarceration by the Dean…how else do you perceive that the state can DEPRIVE a citizen of their personal liberty?

The clauses a – j simply define the class of person (or reasons attributed to such persons) that CAN BE DEPRIVED OF THEIR LIBERTY by the state. They are NO OTHER REASONS that define or validate lack of liberty….that is simply NOT FACTUALLY what is stated or intended.

In simple English (per clauses a-j) persons CAN be deprived of their liberty by the state when:

a.they are charged and are unfit (unable) to basically make bail or they have been convicted by a court recognised in BIM.
    b.they are charged with contempt of court and remanded to jail.
    c.they can’t pay child support or some other imposition and have been placed on remand by the courts.
    d.an arrest warrant has been enforced to ensure the citizen atends court
    e.they are arrested on suspicion of terrorism or some other criminal offense.
    f.they are an unruly minor and the courts are forcing them to get an education and/or behave themselves thus have taken their liberty against their will
    g.they are suspected of having Ebola or some such communicable virus and the courts say ‘restrain them until they are free of that’.
    h.they are deemed mad as a hatter from drugs, mental challenges or whatever and considered a danger to themselves or society
    i.they are doing an Myrie (poetic license taken) and trying to get in or stay in BIM illegally as far as the courts are concerned; or another country has presented a valid extradition request for their deportation.
    AND the one you so strangely highlighted…
    j.a restraining order is issued to prevent them from visiting certain locations or conversely the restraining order restricts them to their home or other designated area.

Mr Phillips it is shocking the absolutely confounding interpretations you assign to relatively straight forward text … for a man who deciphers numerical data well you do an absolutely poor job with interpreting words in CONTEXT.

All I can ask in summary: On what basis are you concluding that those clauses offer a legal basis of “the Constitutional right to liberty [that] is not … about incarceration”

I am dumbfounded by this refusal to accept the simple explanation by the law professor…it was NOT an opinion of the law…it was a DEFINITION of a wording in this clause of the law…if you will .. it was a defining precedent on how to proceed….

You cannot START interpreting the law unless you have the correct definition done and dusted.

You are just plainly FACTUALLY wrong…SMH!

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And @Phillips if you do get a chance to respond it may be USEFUL to read sect 13.2 in CONJUNCTION (or contextually) with 13.1!

Considering that these are linked together and 13.2 starts :“Any person who is arrested or detained…” it strongly suggests that ‘liberty’ of 13.1 is focused and almost solely intended to refer to INCARCERATION as was CLEARLY defined for you by our resident SME.

Were you any other person making these incomprehensible remarks you would have been dismissed as a charlatan…but based on your background of accomplishments one can reasonably presume this is simply NOT your forte and thus you are careless and not studied enough!

36. “We took the risk on Barbados based on Prime Minister Mottley and her Cabinet because it was clear that they were going to help partner with us in a very short time frame. There always were going to be obstacles right, that we were going to be able to overcome those obstacles, so for our investors and for the folks that fund us, they see Barbados as a place that is easy to do business; that is partnering with investors and businesses that are coming in; that has a government that is very focused on, for us it is important that the government is focused on education and particularly healthcare education.”

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/ross-university-picked-barbados-because-mottley-led-government

37. THE operation of Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM) on the island is expected to give a boost of between $55 to $60 million to the Barbados economy annually. To date, the medical university has provided work for over 1 000 Barbadians on the construction projects on the academic and living facilities.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DpD

Forgive me for asking this question of you.

I will admit to you I started reading the submissions but…

From what I am cleaning from your own commentary the issue seem to rest on deprivation of liberty and incarceration right?

Dont know who is promoting the moot and, given Grenville’s recent strategy to make statements about anything that the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch says, i will assume that this is a similar argument by Phillip’s.

In his continuing attempt to drum up Solutions Barbados article counts.

But just to make the observation that “deprivation of liberty” is NOT necessarily incarceration.

Simply look at the statement of justice delayed is justice denied and you can easily draw the parallel between “degrees of deprivation” which do not meet the definition of The United Nations Human Rights abuses clauses BUT ARE SO SKILLFULLY MANIPULATED TO EFFECT DEPRIVATION.

OR DE FACTO INCARCERATION.

Let me give you an example as presents itself with this Integrity Legislation of 1933.

Under one of its Plenipotentary Clauses an individual can be detained summarily by one of the officers of said Commission PURELY BASED ON THE SELECTIVE INTERPRETATION OF AN OFFICER.

So, say that Darwin Dottin is appointed to head that Integrity Commission and sat that one of his officers arbitrarily decided that the DLP fellow heading that Police Commission thingy is in his, the officer’s opinion, breaching the IL rules, would arresting him twice a week, on Monday for 3 days and again in Thursday for 4 days, for 6 months, not meet the requirements of depriving one of one’s liberty BUT NOT INCARCERATION?

Again de ole man apologizes for not reading this Grenville Phillips blog in its entirety and probably getting the whole moot wrong but…you dun know dat Grenville Phillips is a BlP plant to undermine the Third Party Movement in Barbados don’t you?

Jeff Cumberbatch is seen as a Social Threat with TOO BIG A FOLLOWING.

GRENVILLE PHILLIPS ‘ JOB IS TO WHITTLE AWAY JEFF’S CURRENCY WITH THESE EMPTY ISSUES EVERY SINGLE WEEK.

Jeff has been entertaining the clown Grenville for a while cause the latter is disposed to be kind to animals BUT DE OLE MAN ENT GOT DEM DNA NICETIES.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for DpD thank you

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance is being sought Honourable Blogmaster with a drivel item here

41. Artax: Do you not remember the debates in Parliament noting about 18 gangs in Black Rock?

Enuff: Perhaps you are unaware that these are not under-graduate students but graduate-students. Are you aware of any university on this planet that mandates where graduate students should live?

Piece: You are so quick to oppose that you have tripped yourself up. Then, you continue with your obligatory insults. If you are as old as you claim, and you are still behaving like an infant, then you really need to grow up fast.

Section j was provided to show that item 13 does not only refer to incarceration, but limiting where someone can and cannot reside – while not being incarcerated. If it were exclusively incarceration, then it may be more challenging to argue relevance of Ross’ situation. However, it includes restricting where a person can reside and cannot reside.

Section 13 suggests that such restrictions on personal liberty (where a person can and cannot reside) is the exclusive right of the authorities – not a private institution like Ross. Why not let the courts adjudicate this matter?

42. “Artax: Do you not remember the debates in Parliament noting about 18 gangs in Black Rock?”

nextparty246

And..…….you used this information as your basis to determine there is a “higher crime rate” in Black Rock?”

WOW!!!!……..you’re good.

I do not remember any “debate in Parliament noting about 18 gangs in Black Rock,” but I do remember that, in August 2017, Police Commissioner Tyrone Griffith revealing police had identified as many as 16 gangs in the Black Rock area.

The police did not present any statistics to indicate there was an upsurge in gang related crimes in the area, but they said there has been a decrease in certain criminal activities.

43. “Please note that such pedantic corrections do not normally attract an alarming accusation of: “This is patently false.””

but it is patently false and misleading…so much so that lawyers in Barbados. 99% of them …FORGOT they were TRAINED IN and PRACTICE DISCIPLINES…instead they PRACTICE..THEFTS AGAINST THE PEOPLE….deceit against the people…

So the distinction is very, very important to make.

44. “Coverley student housing is superior to many dorm rooms on offer in Amurka. Murdaaa!!”

just how many dorm rooms have you visited in US…

45. @Artax

There was a debate challenging the definition of a gang as put forward by COP Griffith. We should not get embroiled in the pedantic. Deacons, Feirnihurst and surrounding areas are hotspots for crime. Many of these areas have been listed in published reports operating below the poverty line. Let us not push our heads in the sand like Maurice King offered all those years ago.

46. @enuff

Is this an issue to quibble about you think? If the students are unhappy about the student quarters they signed up for there must be an internal process for them (and parents) to represent their interest. We have other local causes Grenville and others should be championing.

47. David BU

Okay, I’ll have to accept what you mentioned as fact, and concede I don’t know anything about an area in which I grew up and lived.

48. @Artax

One does not have to grow up in Black Rock to appreciate the trends.

If time permits will locate the public reports covering the area.

49. “Enuff: Perhaps you are unaware that these are not under-graduate students but graduate-students. Are you aware of any university on this planet that mandates where graduate students should live?”

This exposes you as a pretend paragon of virtue and man of the highest integrity. It is intellectual dishonesty of the highest order and if you take this approach to writing your Phd thesis you will fail. You spent the entire weekend arguing the constitutionality of forcing someone to live on campus. The basis of your argument had nothing to do with whether the students were graduate or postgraduate. In fact you asked “why is this offensive behaviour being tolerated in Barbados?; and made clear that “everyone in a free country has the right to seek accommodation that they can afford. Even in countries that limit personal freedoms, like Cuba, Russia, China and North Korea, people can still choose to select affordable accommodations.” The operative word being EVERYONE. It is only now that it has been shown that students are required by universities to live on campus for varying lengths of time and the behaviour is not “offensive” as you claim, that you are now trying to zero in on graduate students. There are many obvious reasons, primarily capacity, why universities tend not to impose such strict requirements on graduate students. However, both Oxford and Cambridge universities dictate that students live within a stated distance of the university. Unless exempted, failure to do so results in failing the course. Is that unconstitutional and offensive too?

50. Meanwhile the Ross students have the malls at skymall and Sheraton ‘ramoff’.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply