I cannot speak for the rest of the Caribbean Community, but I can confidently assert that the people of Barbados – after some 52 years of national Independence – are coming (or have come) to the firm collective realization that their best hope for a secure, prosperous, and opportunity-filled future lies within a successful Caribbean integration Movement rooted in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

You see, as the Barbadian people – under new political leadership – buckled down in the year 2018 to the urgent task of rebuilding the country’s economic fortunes, certain  realities became unmistakably clear to those charged with the responsibilities of piloting the ship of state.

I am referring to such realities as the fact that whilst Barbados’ economy, as measured by its annual Gross Domestic Product, is approximately US$4.53 Billion, the combined Gross Domestic Product of the 15 member states of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is some US$74.8 Billion – 16½ times the size of the Barbados economy.

Similarly, while the land mass of Barbados is 430 square kilometres, the collective land mass of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is 463,300 square kilometres – some 1,076 times the size of Barbados!  And while the   population (and potential market) of Barbados is 280,000 persons, the combined population (and potential market) of CARICOM is 18,335,544 persons – 64 times the size of Barbados’ population and potential market.

What holds true for Barbados also holds true for every other member nation of CARICOM.  For example, Trinidad & Tobago may boast of the largest economy in the Caribbean Community with a GDP of US$21.89 Billion, but the combined CARICOM economy is still nearly 3½ times the size of Trinidad & Tobago’s.  And while Guyana may boast of the largest land area at a massive 215,000 square kilometres, the territory of the combined Caribbean Community is still well more than twice the size of Guyana!

We therefore cannot help but recognize the tremendous potential opportunities and benefits that are there for all Caribbean people and CARICOM nations to capitalize on – if only we can complete the urgent work of establishing a seamlessly inter-connected “Single Market and Single Economy” in our vast and extensive 463,000 square kilometre Caribbean Community space.

Surely, part of our ambition for ourselves and our children and grandchildren must be to have at our disposal both a physical and an economic space in which we and they can freely roam in search of career and life opportunities.  And in a contemporary world in which powerful nations are either building border walls to keep out people who look like us or are enacting a host of anti-immigrant laws and regulations, we must consider ourselves fortunate to actually have in place a CARICOM Skilled Nationals Programme that permits skilled CARICOM citizens to move freely across our community in search of gainful employment and business opportunities.

More and more – in Barbados – the idea is taking root that we have absolutely nothing to fear from our CARICOM brothers and sisters who are coming to our island nation and bringing valuable skills and entrepreneurial energy with them.  Rather than being a detriment to our nation, these skilled intra-Caribbean migrants actually add value to the society and generate additional economic activity that everyone benefits from.

Similarly with our private sector businesspersons and professionals.  Just imagine how much good will redound to our economies if we are able to put the entire legal and regulatory structure in place to permit business enterprises and capital to move speedily and efficiently across the economic and physical space of our extensive multi-territory Community in search of markets and new arenas in which to build enterprises!

Imagine also the benefits to be derived from a state of affairs in which we are able to permit the many categories of trained and certified Caribbean “professionals” to register in one CARICOM member state and to have that registration automatically accepted in all 15 member states, thereby enabling the “professional” to move freely and effortlessly in the practise of his or her profession!

And surely, it is not beyond us to contemplate a scenario in which CARICOM governments, CARICOM businesses and the Caribbean labour movement combine together to create regional initiatives and structures of production to establish a system of inter-territory sea transportation; a food production programme to tackle our collective US$4 Billion annual food import bill; an import substituting manufacturing programme to tackle our collective annual US$6 Billion trade deficit; an initiative to unlock and deploy the potential investment capital to be found in the US$47 Billion in savings that our Caribbean people have deposited in banks at ridiculously low interest rates; a system for identifying and collating the high level technical and managerial expertise that is to be found in our regional public and private sectors and making it available to CARICOM nations in need of such expertise; and the list of possible projects goes on and on!

It should therefore not be too difficult for us – the people of the Caribbean Community – to visualize a beckoning future that is hopeful, positive, and full of possibilities.

It is against this background that I describe this new year of 2019 as a “Year of Destiny” for our Caribbean Community (CARICOM).  This is the year in which our CARICOM Secretariat, our Heads of Government, and all of the Councils, organs and bodies of CARICOM must take the Caribbean people on an unprecedented inter-active journey to accomplish the several critical projects that have been placed on  CARICOM’s 2019 agenda.

And if my fellow Caribbean citizens are not aware, let me inform them now that these projects include the commencement of initiatives to establish a regional fast ferry maritime transportation system, a Pan-Caribbean news and information network, a joint Public/Private agricultural and food production project, and an innovative economic engineering project to develop new financial instruments which will convert a significant portion of Caribbean bank deposits into investment capital.

They also include the fostering of regional economic growth and development by permitting Caribbean companies to bid for large government contracts right across the community, and the facilitation of an “ease of doing business” regime with the enactment of a regional Investment Policy and Code, a CARICOM Incentives Regime, a regional Financial Services Agreement, a single region-wide mechanism for the registration of companies, and the full implementation of the CARICOM Skilled Nationals Programme.

If, therefore, a year from now – on the 31st December 2019 – we are able to reflect back on this extensive work programme and to utter a collective “mission accomplished” we would have effectively launched our very own Caribbean economic, cultural and political “megaship”, and taken a giant and decisive step forward in securing our future .

170 responses to “From the Office of the Ambassador to Caricom – CARICOM’s “Year of Destiny” has arrived!”

1. On the other side of the equation i see a plan afoot by Commisiong to have all Carribbean nations coming together to build an economic firewall and an financial Empire which will prevent USA economic invasion
    The downside however will be govts acting as dictators and people fighting among themselves
    Reason being that since some countries productivity is slim to naught those who have the highest level to produce would be the ones to call the economic shots in pricing producing a trade war among the islands and the unproductive nations feeling the shitty end of the economic stick

2. David is busy playing “I Wish.” He wishes we had about ten Caribbean leaders who could do the impossible or would even want to do the impossible.” Ten of them simultaneously.

He wants the equivalent of our cricket team of the Clive Lloyd and Viv Richards era when every man was a superstar but every man worked together for the common good.

Good luck with that one!

3. We wish some of you accept that Caribbean people have been moving and living up and down the island chain for years.

We wish some of you appreciate that Barbados is an ageing population with a rising social security cost. A solution must be found, and the options and opportunities are…?

4. To say, “we need to abandon the overly used term West Indian because it has no intrinsic value whatsoever … because we obviously know very little about each other,” is not entirely true.

Knowing “fungee” is Antigua’s or St. Kitts’ version of our “cou cou,” does not mean anything. You can get that information on-line or from books.

People choose not to learn about the other Caribbean territories because of some silly beliefs and preconceived ideas about these islands and their citizens. For example, I heard a man arguing with another man that there aren’t any Honda vehicles or “wall houses” in St. Vincent and everyone use “pit toilets.” I asked him if he had ever visited SVG…….obviously his response was “NO.”

A retired teacher who lives in my district told me a few months ago he prefers travelling to the United States, Canada or Europe and the other “big countries”……but would never visit any Caribbean island because they do not have anything to offer him.

Then we have people who refer to the other Caribbean territories as “the low islands,” while others believe being Barbadian makes them superior in comparison with their Caribbean neighbours.

For anyone to know about any Caribbean island, one would have to those islands to interact with the people and experience their cultures.

5. Many have questioned why Barbados Underground feature items bout Trinidad, Guyana and other Caribbean countries. Many have queried why we don’t see heavy responses to these items except from an enlightened few.

The reason is….

6. David,

I bemoan the fact that we missed the boat but alas I don’t think it is coming back.

The reason is, in my case, that I don’t know enough about these situations. I read but do not comment.

7. Yes? What IS the reason?

8. @David

Coyote sees that the BLOGMASTER has taken a step and gotten off the fence, however it appears most posters view he has selected the wrong side of the grass is greener fence. Blogmaster appears to be taking the HIGH PHILOSOPHICAL ROAD which most Barbados university Bajans subscribe too, then interpret comments as NEGATIVE when in fact the comments are REALITY.

Time to SMELL THE ROSES and leave the South Coast PHILOSOPHICAL sewage to the un-educated corrupt politicians. The Communist Social System only works under dictatorial regimes, of which the author of the article is a fully pledged member.

FAILED STATE IDEALS.

9. @45Govt,

The reason is that David BU does not know what he is saying. I| have said this on numerous occasions. On the one hand he talks about Barbadian loyalty (ie nationalism), then he implies a Caribbean-wide unity (ie shared sovereignty), then he condemns institutions set up by the former colonial master which ended over 50 years ago (ie liberation), then he tolerates a view that Barbados is a democratic Republic with a foreign Monarch (ie a bogus political and legal argument).
    When future generations read this nonsense they are going to ask if we had any sense of reason.

10. There you have it David, succinct rejections of your denial of reality, and not from me, so will you dismiss the wise words of Wily Coyote and Hal Austin as doom-mongering also, or can you see you have got it wrong?

11. @45govt

We all have opinions.

Let all content.

12. William Skinner Avatar

As an unapologetic regionalist, I am in total agreement with the article.
    To quote Errol Barrow:
    “ We are a family of islands nestling closely under the shelter of the great Cooperative Republic of Guyana. And this fact of regional togetherness is lived everyday by ordinary West Indian men and women”
    ( 1986 CARICOM Heads of Government Conference)

13. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

There are nuggets of merit in the bastard’s Caribbean togetherness framework. The real deal is no one who thinks for themselves trust such an individual and rightly so. The way that person selfishly fcuked up desperately needed economic opportunies was appallingly and downright wicked. Whatever is promoted from that source gives the sense of a hidden agenda.

His lackey the glorified yard fowl is a monkey see monkey do type who disrespects opposing viewpoints. No wonder he, the author and watch muh are kindred spirits underneath it all they are dictators of the banana republic variety. The short man knew of what he spoke. While most support Caribbean unity we reject discredited saboteurs who play the unity card.

14. @ William,

We are all committed regionalists, but under what umbrella? As I have said, the idea of CARICOM is most outstanding, but what we have at present is anti-democratic and badly flawed. Let us get that right.

15. We are not impressed because this is titled ‘from the office of the ambassador’.
    Substantively, it is high time that people like Commissiong and William Skinner stop this feigned commitment to the Federation, to Caricomalong, for they are both dead.
    If the titans of a postmodern Caribbean, people like Williams, Adams, Manley, Barrow, our man Burnham, et al could not met it wuk, minions like Mottley don’t stand a chance.

The likes of Comissiong and Skinner are deluding themselves and misleading the vulnerable with a pipedream, an idea well located in a bygone era.

We fear that their argumentations are part of a propaganda campaign aimed at serving the interests of elite forces, like the officials in the Caricom organs, that they want to ensure that caricom politicians can get a chance to jerk off in public while pretending to be statesmen with relevance beyond their own island.

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    The major problem is the lack of leadership. The current political leaders , have failed to inspire because they have been more interested in raw political skullduggery.
    The current umbrella is workable but it’s the political leadership that has failed.

17. “like the officials in the Caricom organs, that they want to ensure that caricom politicians can get a chance to jerk off in public while pretending to be statesmen with relevance beyond their own island.”

they are all yet to LEARN how INSIGNIFICANT they ALL are.. in the grand scheme of things…

18. Today the Chinese landed a vehicle on the other side of the moon. The first time in history.

People are talking about interplanetary industrialization.

Here on Pachamama, there is a better than even chance that the EU and other blocks could be entering a death spiral.

People in the USA looking to withdraw from the union to avoid the hundreds of trillions in debt, including unfunded liabilities, that must become a real problem soon.

But we got titularly intelligent people talking about a 70 years old failed integration project.

Be jesus christ!

19. @Pacha

When you have finished indulging tell out how it relates to Caribbean countries with a shared history and geography working together to achieve best results for the people of the region. Does it mean other approaches should be ignored? Of course not!

20. Artax

Yes I do agree that one can ascertain the different names attributed to cou cou throughout region online, but why did take a Barbadian, Antiguan, and Jamaican to come abroad to realized this fact?
    This goes to show how little we really know about each other, but yet we are proud to call ourselves West Indians…
    Artax, how many here know or care to know that Jamaicans have to pay to go to secondary school?
    A thing we too often take for granted in Barbados…

21. David

Don’t be snide!

For you cannot on the one hand argue that we live in a global village and at the same time maintain that a failed movement is still indispensable.

Our judgement is that we should cooperate with all countries where we can

But this fixation with a petite regionalism is at best quaint.

Not dissimilar to our enduring allegiance, still, to a failed empire.

22. @ William,

Failure of leadership is A problem, not THE problem.

23. Pachamama, It seems David hasn’t heeded Einstein who noted the definition of insanity was to keep doing the same thing expecting a different result.

24. He probably still watches “West Indies cricket” too.

25. Why can’t we grow functional cooperation in the region and operate in a global village at the same time? Explain to the BU dufus blogmaster please. We accept that Caricom is a failed experiment in your opinion.

26. William Skinner Avatar

Those who oppose regional integration as the path forward may want to tell us the path they prefer.

@ Hal
    Once leadership is A problem, the path forward would be more difficult.

27. Caricom is a failed construct in reality, as is the Federation, soon to be followed by the EU. The PEOPLE as opposed to their self-serving political class (I won’t glorify them with the term leaders) are wedddd to nationhood, not globalism.

28. @ William,

I am not objecting o regional unity. I am in favour of a West Indies Federation, which includes all 7000 Caribbean islands. The problem with CARICOM is that it is flawed, badly flawed.

29. What a blinkered, lying mentality

There is certainly a difference between opposition to integration and having the ball, the intestinal fortitude, to accept that it has failed.

Those failures occurred within an epoch/s where the conditions were best for success.

If we could not then succeed, how is it now possible to now?

In these circumstances, it is for the defenders of a failed movement to justify their idiocy.

30. Hal, what on earth makes you think a second go at a WI Federation would work? No one wants it.

31. Common sense dictates that we should seek integration ….with like minds.
    History tells us that the Caribbean countries are NOT like-minded…
    Most recently…
    – NOT even with the shiite CCJ – and this after being insulted by the Privy Council.

MEANWHILE, the world has moved on technologically..
    …where almost EVERY COUNTRY ON EARTH can now be considered to be a neighbor…

YET we have this illogical fascination with this archaic idea of integration based on PHYSICAL LOCATION…..
    t..hat made sense in 1950.

Bottom line…
    We continue to fail because decisions are being make about priorities by complete idiots.
    We have reached the sad state where obvious, FAILED, brass bowls put themselves up as ‘experts’…
    …where people who have FAILED in every previous area, gets the chance to manage national affairs.
    …and we actually expect good results…?

Let them keep watching ‘west indian’ cricket….. and looking for wins…

32. William Skinner Avatar

There are several relatively successful regional undertakings via CARICOM. It would be almost impossible for any reasonable person to conclude that the movement is a total and or irreversible failure.
    However it is also necessary for those who deem it a failure to inform how we should move forward.
    As a regionalist even with its flaws and failures, I believe like Hal that it is not beyond hope.

33. William Skinner is right about leadership being the problem.

How do we choose leaders…?
    By popular acclaim…? ..brilliant.!!!
    THAT sounds wise…

How about the old time wisdom of looking for persons who have been successful in $1,000 enterprises
    …and putting them in charge of $1,000,000 enterprises?
    How about judging leaders by the RESULTS that they are able to achieve…
    ..rather than the popularity that they are able to buy with bribes?

GRASS is our future….

34. “More and more – in Barbados – the idea is taking root that we have absolutely nothing to fear from our CARICOM brothers and sisters who are coming to our island nation and bringing valuable skills and entrepreneurial energy with them.”

Mr. Commisiong

In December 2017, policemen were “deployed” to remove illegal vendors that “set up shop” in certain areas around Bridgetown, blocking alleys, sidewalks and around the entrance and immediate perimeter of the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal.

One vendor plying her trade near the entrance of the bus terminal, told the press government should allow them to sell anywhere because in Guyana they call sell anything anywhere they choose to……..and was also adamant she would return to where she usually sells, as soon as the police leaves the area.

On another occasion, police ordered the closure of bars in the old Fairchild Street market compound, whose owners were operating without necessary permits and licenses. They RE-OPENED shortly after the police left the area.

Obviously, “our CARICOM brothers and sisters who are coming to our island nation” are also bring their “cultures” with them as well…….. while being DISRESPECTFUL in the process.

And it seems as though these “CARICOM brothers and sisters” believe government should change our laws to accommodate their way of life.

As Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM, what do you propose the authorities should do to address these issues?

Do you believe Caribbean governments need better policies to manage migration?

35. @ William
    As a regionalist even with its flaws and failures, I believe like Hal that it is not beyond hope.
    Don’t you believe that mankind has the potential to live in peace and harmony too…?
    Don’t you ALSO see the value in everyone loving their neighbors and being community – centric…?

But if you are SMART – you will walk softly and carry a BIG stick.
    and you would NOT organise YOUR life as if everyone else was of your mind-set…?

36. Artar

Look at the positive side of the issue for change … at least the illegal vendors aren’t victimizing you and the rest of the Barbadian public … I would never fault a man if he tries his best to make an honest living because had this not been the case he would probably be victimizing you and others…

37. Artax

You are hitting some good points.

I am glad you put the last contributions as direct questions to Commissong.

Let us see how he responds.

38. Bushie

The ‘unsullied’ make blandishments about leadership and the lack thereof.

All they are trying to do is to justify their own ineptitude. Their own fecklessness. Engage in escapism. Refusal to take ownership of failures for which they have been part thereof. Etc.

This writer has studied, and conducted seminars in the theories of leadership to senior executives and middle managers of a number of large corporations and government entities.

Your musing is therefore unacceptable to us as a final understanding.

39. Interesting theory that immigrants should be allowed to bring their scofflaw ways to their adopted country for fear of worse law-breaking if they are balked.
    That muddle-headed, not to say moronic thinking has gone down so well in Europe.

40. @ Come Sing a Song

This is pure unmitigated shy$e

CARICOM WILL NEVER WORK

But let de ole man share your agenda and that of yoor boss Mugabe.

EU Pan REGIONAL FUNDING to set up these WI FEDERATION IDEAS under the guise of CARICOM UNITY

More many to be had at that EU Funding level than can be teifed at the national level.

I HOPE CARICOM SEES WUNNA STINKING GAME

Steupseee

41. “As a regionalist even with its flaws and failures, I believe like Hal that it is not beyond hope.”

Mr. Skinner

Even if you consider…….

………………the governments and people of the Caribbean cannot come together as it relates to simple issues such as LIAT, UWI, West Indies cricket, CCJ, immigration, investment……….. and Barbados and Trinidad being unable to broker a simple fishing deal?

42. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

In Rome you do what the Romans do(or expect). If Rome allowed any and everyone one to do as they like; maybe it would no longer be Rome. Likewise; if you come to Barbados do as Bajans do, Respect our laws etc. Cause it seems you wanted to come here for a reason in the first place; otherwise you would have stayed where you are at home and get on with your living there.

You may be able to sell anything any where in Gtown Guyana; but last time i checked you are in Btown Barbados. Many of these Caribbean ppl will travel to London and New York etc but they will blend it and do what is expected of them.

43. @45Govt,

One of the firs things an immigrant puts in his/her suitcase is her/his culture. Once you get the numbers the entire district can be changed. Have a look at large parts of London.

44. @ Pacha
    Boss … if you are in the mood to take some serious nylon on your donkey from the whacker,
    then feel free to repeat what you said at 1.06 pm ….but in English this time…

Remember that the object of Bushies’ musings is not aimed at your final understanding…
    Also consider that while you were ‘conducting seminars’, Bushie was writing the books…

45. Sirfuzzy

Name any country in the world today where immigrants do not break the law? It happens in every country and among all groups of people, so find a best argument against legal immigration than the one you have presented here…

46. Again, it has been argues that certain elements of CARICOM, the regional integration movement have been ‘relatively successful’. Let them be named!

The ‘unfinished product’ (EWB) making those claims should also answer all the other pertinent questions. These must include the metrics used in that determination, the number of relatively successful agencies/projects as compared to the whole number over time, etc

In the absence of such imperial data, man-in-the-streets mouthings are worthless.

47. Mr. Lexicon

Are you suggesting an illegal vendor can make an honest living by breaking the laws of the land? So, in your opinion, it’s okay for an illegal vendor not to adhere to the laws of the land…….as long as “he tries his best to make an honest living?”

And I was here thinking the reason why the term “illegal” was attached to “vendor” was because he/she was breaking the law.

Are you also suggesting the rest of the Barbadian public and I would be victimized if we do not allow illegal vending?

This brings me back to Bush Tea’s point. What type of immigrants are we trying to attract, the “riff raffs” who are prepared to engage in employment that does not significantly benefit our economy, but to earn enough to money to “send back home?”

48. Bushie

You mekking us shiiiite!

In English – the failure of integration is not only that of CARICOM/Caribbean leaders, but it’s one generations of us all should take possession of, in equal measure.

How else can we do the most import thing – facing the future with confidence!

49. To think that the unifying of CARICOM States is futile .. is linear thinking.

AFRICA, in a couple decades will become UNIFIED into ONE CONTINENTAL STATE with ONE CURRENCY, ONE ECONOMY, supplying the world with quality food, mineral resources and new technologies. Today, they are working and moving towards these objectives.
    AMERICA was once a group of individual states, today they are UNIFIED.
    EUROPE, likewise has followed suit. Lessons can be learned and avoided.

CARICOM AGENDA must be commended. It is visionary. It is meaningful. The Ideas are workable and sustainable.
    Probabilities are high… It is a model that Africa will follow, we cannot fail them.

Critics must separate concepts from corruption, lay aside false, suggestive and misinterpreted realities from defined targeted actualities that can achieve much once the effort is supported and encouraged.
    None of you discourage your children to excel even to the point you strategize and plan.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply