Jesus explained that we only have two paths before us, namely, the broad way of irresponsible behaviour that most choose, and the narrow and more challenging way of responsible behaviour.  I believe that when we reach our individual ages of accountability, we are each given 3 virtual bags containing the good deeds, encouraging words and healings that we are to empty before we go to the great beyond.

Every one of us have plenty of opportunities to give out of our bags, but something holds us back.  Something tells us that if we meaningfully help someone else, or say an encouraging word, or speak a blessing, that we would be ridiculed.  Imagine that.  We have been deceived into thinking that being responsible is something to be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

We are to receive no earthly benefit for most of the good things that we do, because we are to do them in secret.  Jesus said that our good deeds must be so private that figuratively, our left hand does not know what our right hand is doing.

During this time of severe austerity in Barbados, we have many opportunities to give out of our bag of good deeds to help those in desperate need.  Let us resist the temptation to selfishly guard our time and other resources for our own use.  It would be tragic, for us, to squander such opportunities.

As we interact with others, we will be tempted to withhold our compliments, advice, and encouragement out of a fear of how they may be received – we may even cringe at the very thought of saying something nice.  How it is received is not our responsibility, emptying that bag is.  Therefore, tell your loved ones that you love them, compliment persons for their efforts, and encourage persons to do what is right.

All three bags are to be emptied together, so we must also empty the contents of that third bag – the blessings.  We will be tempted to avoid blessing others because it may appear awkward if the blessing is not realised.  Again, the result is not our responsibility, emptying the bag is.

I follow my own best advice that I freely give to others, so I am happy and content with reason.  Two days ago, I was thanking God with a heart overflowing with gratitude, while walking towards my car after shopping in Bridgetown on Christmas Eve.  I happily realised that if I could choose any car in the parking lot, that I would honestly choose mine without reservation.

I then realised that if I could choose any house on this planet, that I would happily choose the one we built.  I then reflected further – and gingerly.  I slowly contemplated that if I could choose any woman on this planet, that, after deeper and honest contemplation, and with God, who knows all of my thoughts as my singular witness, I would genuinely choose my wife.  I asked God that I not outlive her, and I have already put my house in order for that eventuality.

I continue to improve myself so that I can better serve others, which is why I am currently pursuing a Doctorate in Engineering in addition to my other duties.  So, I write this blessing to every person who reads this.  May you be empty so that you may be full.

May you prosper financially during this time of severe austerity in Barbados, so that you will have abundance to assist those in desperate need.  May you be in good health and be healed of any and all diseases or ailments, so that your testimony may increase the trust others have in God’s love for them.

May you understand all information that you read, hear and perceive.  May your ability to analyse this information far exceed my own abilities (hence the reason for revealing my studies).  May you be filled with wisdom from above that may be applied to this analysed information so that the productive result will benefit you, your family, and everyone who follows your best advice.  All of this I write in the name of Jesus, our Messiah, the Son of God, Yeshua.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

308 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – A Year of Empty”

1. Now looka de shite this cum-yah writing above though nah.

Real brassbowl – Stephen Lashley getting some low level award (which was not warranted because he was doing his job) – to a prime minister giving she father the Nation’s highest award.

You could tell the caliber of people who are BLP politicians and the caliber of their supporters like that brassbowl writing that crap.

2. Those titles are pure SHITE , not even worth the words uttered about them, only the brainwashed negros think they are worth something and that the TITLES in turn MAKES THEM SOMEBODY, FINALLY…..

when cocaine dealers are getting them, that should tell ya what they are worth…

….time to move past the UK idiocy and wake the hell up…they WON’T HEAR TO WAKE UP.

3. @T.Inniss December 29, 2018 8:43 AM “what is it that the father did to deserve this honour?”

What has any politician ever done to deserve a national award. Haven’t we not had national awards go to men who did not even raise their own children?

Don’t politicians not all feed on the fatted calf/AKA the taxpayer?

Don’t they not all have monstrous egos?

You too TInniss…you just waiting your turn to suck the blood of the taxpayers.

4. BushTea
    I am not here to defend Devry, Ross or the government. It is the sheer misinformation, twisting and hyperbole (your word) that is nauseating; and y’all always coming for me. Devry is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, the same body that accredits the University of Chicago, Northwestern University, University of Notre Dame, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, Case Western Reserve, Washington University-St.Louis and more.

5. Waru @8:50 a.m.

Yuh see dat post @ 8:50 a.m yuh just send – people need to read that carefully at least 3 times.

Aclock is at least right once a day.

So instead of seeking to harass you about every post you send – they need to eat the meat and leave the bones.

A word to the wise is enough.hahahah..

6. Without googling or checking last year’s newspapers tell me who received khighthoods last year and for what.

you can’t remember right?

meaningless.

7. “Devry is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission,”

DEVRY is now DEFUNCT..because of DECEIT and FALSE ADVERTISING…

call it by it’s NEW NAME.

8. You calling someone a cum yuh, when you suddenly came out of the woodwork on May 25 to post anti BLP and pro DLP crap?

There is no difference between you, Mariposa, Enuff, Lorenzo, Gabriel, TLSN et al.

I listened to Brass Tacks yesterday and your President Verla Depieza was a guest. When i compared the political shiite you write with what she was saying it is clear you are all reading from the same DLP manual.

You are a typical DLP supporter don’t care how much you try to hide it. You are quick to support posts that are pro DLP and anti BLP.

YOU NEVER SUPPORT POSTS THAT BRING A BALANCED VIEW.

It is a shame that you, as others say, suddenly found a conscience and now come to BU trying to enforce your own rules, telling people how and on what they should contribute and labelling people who don’t follow your script, BLP yardfowls.

But then again, maybe you were among us for a long time. Some of your posts have a lot in common with those of Bajanfuhlife and Fractured BLP and the anti Starcom thing is what made NationBLPnewspaper a nuisance.

9. Ah should really be a little more specific though..for real…more meat… lol

when COCAINE TRAFFICKERS WHO HAVE BEEN TRAFFICKING ON THE ISLAND FOR OVER 40 YEARS… are getting those SHITE TITLES., that should tell ya what they are worth…even if the titles attracted a certain level of people when they were initially given out in the 60s or 70s…is only riffraff getting them now..

10. Enuff…are you retarded, the information is right in front of you.

11. BTW..are you Liz Thompson..she was spouting that same rubbish about Devry yesterday ,..as someone else….and gushing and gushing about what Devry offered…lol

12. “DEVRY is now DEFUNCT..because of DECEIT and FALSE ADVERTISING…”

But classes starting 7 January 2019–https://www.devry.edu. This is the type of igrunce you continue to ejaculate on the blog.

13. ya like to PARROT and MIMIC too much, ya need to be KEPT BUSY..

14. WARU

You are right. These titles come from our colonial past and should remain there.

Imagine black people feeling proud to gain the titles of those white people that enslaved our fore parents.

Politicians giving their relatives, colleagues, friends, supporters, lackeys and financiers national awards is WRONG and sends the WRONG signals.

15. DID THEY NOT PAY A FINE….it takes time to phase out certain things….it is only last May that they changed the ticker on the stock exchange, it is years now they have that mess with the feds…

Besides…they are not using Devry in Barbados now are they…ya should ask them WHY…don’t expect ME to tell yall..

16. .it is only last May 2017…that they changed the ticker on the stock exchange,

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Enuff, if you don’t come to defend you certainly do a mighty good job of pretending to do so!

You observations suggest a person of rationale interpretation and quite a bit of background info in a normally studied way…thus it is shocking to read your “Devry is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, the same body that accredits the University of Chicago, Northwestern…”.

So what…were they also not ‘unaccredited’ by the same after the various investigations etc…. the blogger @Waru may trend to all the things you accused her of but that does NOT mean that she is right about this issue or some others.

The simply issue is that DeVry was once a fully accredited tertiary institution but due to bad actions by those who run the business it lost its focus and became almost a paper mill shill store where students were loath to attend.

If the Bdos govt is getting involved with that institution or anyone formerly associated with it then questions are fair and in order…bring your studied approach and can the political tribalism, fah real.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oops…let add another NOT …

…that does NOT mean that she is NOT right about this issue or some others.

19. Yardfowls do not have that level of analyzing skills.

20. Enuff is a REAL disappointment…
    One of the reasons that we are SURE to end up in the grass…

Bushie had some hope (of the David BU brand) in Enuff’s positive influence on the BLP…

But alas, Enuff has become the BLP toilet…
    Their means of disposing of shiite via BU….

21. This says it all
    “@Enuff, if you don’t come to defend you certainly do a mighty good job of pretending to do so.”

Everytime the bush get beat, you run out.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Simple, SMH….pithy pathos seriously. For the lady who speaks of great discernment your barbs defy good reason often…you just having fun I presume!

Everyone loves awards and a Knighthood/Dame is one of -well the most really- prestigious in the eyes of all those old men and women you cite…you know dat so cut the corny.

And when those 18 years olds get to be senior and slow they too will be keen to get a national award for services rendered to the nation…can you seriously perceive that a generation which takes a selfie a minute or broadcast their life so regularly are immune from being heralded….get real!

Maybe by then – to channel the Blogmaster- it will not be awarded by a GG but a President and the award may be the Knight of Yoruba or some such but damn sure a similar brouhaha will be there.

I gone do.

23. Am sure BLP is also disappointed, they sent an ac/Alvin of the DLP variety to defend them on BU no less..

24. WARU
    Once again you have been unmasked as a peddler of untruths and when cornered you jump lanes, obfuscate, conflate and elide. The sale, change of trading name etc does not mean the school is defunct. Copying and pasting is easy and truthful; however, understanding, analysing and synthesising what you read is far more challenging and that’s when the untruths come out. 🤣🤣🤣

25. @ SS

I agree the optics are bad and it is wrong for Mottley to give her father the award.

I gave an example and the DLP lackey yard fowl T. Inniss used Stephen Lashley.

What did Bryan do to deserve being awarded 3 of the highest national award other than having the Advocate being the mouth piece of the DLP.

Just like the other BLP and DLP political lackies like those that go on Brass Tacks to lambast their political opponents, T. Inniss is sensing this is a one term government and is using BU in the same way to be rewarded with a pick on a SOE board or to feed at the trough.

He may fool you and everyone else on BU, but he is no different from ANY other political yardfowl he is quick to criticize.

26. Yeah, yeah..and yet…you are the one left looking like the IDIOT…

27. As I said earlier…at least Verla…a REAL lawyer, not the one you were on BU pretending to be, knows her LIMIT…regarding things US.

28. Warm greetings to all of Barbados.
    I went snooping on FB and got an extremely surprise. What I thought was a howling and rabid partisan, turned out to be a thoughtful young man. I guess we change our personalities a little when we see certain folks on BU.

Now back to beating the bush…

29. extremely pleasant

30. Agree the optics are very bad. It is asking too much to expect the Governor General to have vetoed the selection? Her position is definitely ceremonial.

#hereweareagain
    #politicalchatter
    #politicalclass
    #morethingschangethemoretheyremainthesame

31. Depedantic
    I find that a lare number of the contributors on BU do not read before they comment because they are so eager to attack an individual. However, I can and will take on ALL comers when I am in the mood. BushTea commented: “Accreditation by whom? There is ‘accreditation’…and then there is Accreditation.” Is that not a direct attempt to question the accreditation body? Therefore my response simply showed that the accrediting body is legitimate and accredits some of the best universities in America. Is Devry not CURRENTLY accredited?

32. I repeat this t Inniss suddenly found a voice post Mat 24th,to criticize everthing done by this Government.Imagine he criticizing a legal luminary like Elliot motley.saying he do not know of his work .Mr Mottley is known also outside of Barbados as an AG in Bermuda,but Inniss had no problem with Mr Lashley getting awarded for doing his job by the Ex PM.He also talks about Ms Depeiza,performing well ,yesterday she was all over the place on Brass Tacks.As a member of the DLP ,she is stating she does not know of the,goings on with contracts and so forth.Well in my view this does not add up.Where was her Independence and Christmas messages?.As Robert Goren states this T Inniss is no better than Mariposa,Hal Austin ,Gazzerts,and afew others pure DLP apologists.However despite the anger at their 30 to 0 whipping,the Country will rebound,based on the brief evidence we have seen so far from the current Government,in spite of them wishing for Barbados to fail for political reasons.One more thing this Lorenzo did not post any videos on BU,never have never will.

33. “Is Devry not CURRENTLY accredited?”

Is Devry in Barbados or is it…….

“The company that owns DeVry University, one of the nation’s largest remaining for-profit college chains, is changing its name.

Downers Grove-based DeVry Education Group announced Wednesday that it now will be called Adtalem Global Education. Its new ticker symbol, ATGE, debuted Wednesday on the New York Stock Exchange.

The new name, which the company says comes from a Latin translation of the phrase “to empower,” comes months after DeVry University agreed to pay $100 million to settle a Federal Trade Commission lawsuit alleging it misled tens of thousands of students about their post-graduation job and income prospects.

The company also faced an investigation in New York into misleading advertising. It agreed to settle in January.”

34. WARU
    You declared the university defunct but classes are starting 7 January 2019 and I am an idiot? Ok then. How a set of grown supposedly educated people let you get away with so much shite says a lot about the blog. Since your Roleric Hinds debacle I realised you’re seldom right and always wrong.🤣🤣🤣

35. @enuff et al

Your point is understood. The oversight accreditation body has the university listed.

@Dee Word

Your point is also understood. We have top banks in the world doing business after being fined.

What the blogmaster hopes for is that accredited medical school allowed to operate in Barbados have to offer a security deposit in some form to cover liabilities in the event there is a failure. Who can forget Ames and abandoned investments in Barbados.

36. I DECLARED THE NAME DEFUNCT…

show me where I said DEVRY UNIVERSITY …is defunct…

WARU December 29, 2018 9:25 AM

“Devry is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission,”

DEVRY is now DEFUNCT..because of DECEIT and FALSE ADVERTISING…

call it by it’s NEW NAME.

37. Can you even walk and chew gum at the same time??

why would you even want to talk a yardfowl/pimp job…and for free too…steuppppsss

38. ” “Let us be clear. In life you have to know when to move on and when to say ‘thank you’, and I say ‘thank you’ despite all of the lashes you would have gotten from me in the past on other things,” Mottley told Maloney during a recent tour of the area before shaking his hand.

It was refreshing to see two “foes” putting their differences aside for the sake of the country.”

BARBADOS EXACTLY!!!!

39. I do not ever listen to Brass tacks
    Ifba media cannot be unbiased in their opinions .they become lapdogs to the govt and in itself lacks journalism ethics and integrity
    Nothing that is said on brass tacks is of any interest to mariposa
    I placed them in the same catergory of Fox news whose blantant endorsement of Trump backward policies have encoraged division amongst the people.

40. @Hants

Maloney delivered Ross to Mottley which has resulted in several positives – Coverley solution, forex inflow and related activity, fixed roundabout etc. A win win.

O

41. @enuff

Let the matter go. Move he discussion forward.

42. @ David,

Drug Lords also contribute to the economy and provide employment to the street level dealers although it is a WIN LOSS.

43. WARU

This is your post, in response to my comment that Devry is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission:

“DEVRY is now DEFUNCT..because of DECEIT and FALSE ADVERTISING…call it by it’s NEW NAME.”

You are a dishonest, pathological liar!!

44. …call it by it’s NEW NAME.

lol, lol, murdahhhhhh!!!

45. Mr Eliott Mottley is deserving of the knighthood conferred on him. Having been Attorney General of Bermuda and President of the Court of Appeal of Belize I think would qualify him for the honour. Being the father of the Prime Minister is coincidental.

46. @Lorenzo
    You went up by 100 points when I thought you were that Lorenzo. )LH). Then you had to come and open your mouth..

Couldn’t you pretend a little
    and for a short time.

47. @T.Inniss December 29, 2018 8:23 AM

Enuff

Imagine that you see no big thing in the prime minister of this country within 6 months of coming to office GIVING HER FATHER THE HIGHEST AWARD IN THIS COUNTRY.

AND YOU SAY RELAX.

Were you so wounded up when Mazie Barker-Welch was awarded the title Dame? Can you remind us of her achievements? Take the advice and relax, the awarded titles were rendered meaningless long ago.

48. WARU
    Accreditation is granted to the educational institution, and the university has no new name. Proved to be a liar again, but always quick to talk about integrity.#allwunnacangather

49. I have been a voice in the wilderness calling for the abolition of these awards as DLP Gov’ts hand out knighthoods to DLP supporters/members and vice versa for BLP Govt’s. Now we have the added complication of a PM doling out a knighthood to her father whoever said “blood isn’t thicker than water”? Based on what passes for the requirements for these things perhaps Mottley pater deserved the ceremonial tap on his shoulder and he certainly wasn’t going to get it from Arthur or Stuart (BTW isn’t Arthur deserving of one after all Mottley’s Sr. accomplishments pale in comparison to Arthur’s but “who de cat like he licks and who he dosen’t like he scratch”)

Speaking of accomplishments, Bermuda hmmnnn?

50. I do hope after all of this that people will learn that it is very embarrassing , demeaning, DEHUMANIZING and oppressive to be a PROUD yardfowl….and that the new generation Bajan will avoid politicians as a whole and ministers of government …AT ALL COST…..

…..only when it is time to vote for someone to parliament should you even speak to any of them…and try to get inside their heads…ya got a lot to work with given the experiences of 3 generations of Bajans interactions with the two lowlife political parties over the last 60 years.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply