Jesus explained that we only have two paths before us, namely, the broad way of irresponsible behaviour that most choose, and the narrow and more challenging way of responsible behaviour.  I believe that when we reach our individual ages of accountability, we are each given 3 virtual bags containing the good deeds, encouraging words and healings that we are to empty before we go to the great beyond.

Every one of us have plenty of opportunities to give out of our bags, but something holds us back.  Something tells us that if we meaningfully help someone else, or say an encouraging word, or speak a blessing, that we would be ridiculed.  Imagine that.  We have been deceived into thinking that being responsible is something to be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

We are to receive no earthly benefit for most of the good things that we do, because we are to do them in secret.  Jesus said that our good deeds must be so private that figuratively, our left hand does not know what our right hand is doing.

During this time of severe austerity in Barbados, we have many opportunities to give out of our bag of good deeds to help those in desperate need.  Let us resist the temptation to selfishly guard our time and other resources for our own use.  It would be tragic, for us, to squander such opportunities.

As we interact with others, we will be tempted to withhold our compliments, advice, and encouragement out of a fear of how they may be received – we may even cringe at the very thought of saying something nice.  How it is received is not our responsibility, emptying that bag is.  Therefore, tell your loved ones that you love them, compliment persons for their efforts, and encourage persons to do what is right.

All three bags are to be emptied together, so we must also empty the contents of that third bag – the blessings.  We will be tempted to avoid blessing others because it may appear awkward if the blessing is not realised.  Again, the result is not our responsibility, emptying the bag is.

I follow my own best advice that I freely give to others, so I am happy and content with reason.  Two days ago, I was thanking God with a heart overflowing with gratitude, while walking towards my car after shopping in Bridgetown on Christmas Eve.  I happily realised that if I could choose any car in the parking lot, that I would honestly choose mine without reservation.

I then realised that if I could choose any house on this planet, that I would happily choose the one we built.  I then reflected further – and gingerly.  I slowly contemplated that if I could choose any woman on this planet, that, after deeper and honest contemplation, and with God, who knows all of my thoughts as my singular witness, I would genuinely choose my wife.  I asked God that I not outlive her, and I have already put my house in order for that eventuality.

I continue to improve myself so that I can better serve others, which is why I am currently pursuing a Doctorate in Engineering in addition to my other duties.  So, I write this blessing to every person who reads this.  May you be empty so that you may be full.

May you prosper financially during this time of severe austerity in Barbados, so that you will have abundance to assist those in desperate need.  May you be in good health and be healed of any and all diseases or ailments, so that your testimony may increase the trust others have in God’s love for them.

May you understand all information that you read, hear and perceive.  May your ability to analyse this information far exceed my own abilities (hence the reason for revealing my studies).  May you be filled with wisdom from above that may be applied to this analysed information so that the productive result will benefit you, your family, and everyone who follows your best advice.  All of this I write in the name of Jesus, our Messiah, the Son of God, Yeshua.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

308 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – A Year of Empty”

1. Well done:

Northern Observer

and

David/BU

2. Northern
    Am I lying?

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

T. Inniss

Your imagery emotes by “Shitehoods instead of Knighthoods” is fantastic.

De grandson called me and said that he would give Sir Mugabe and Sir Mooo and a few others a crown of a roll of human shy€e, the pointy type to depict the level of faeces that we are dealing with.

Carry on smartly (though de ole man has to tell you that, for you to up your credibility as a reasonable DLP supporter, you got go call out more DLP underperformers. That way people while dem know you is a DLP man, would day, he is a fair fellow. Otherwise you come over like dem two Poocklickers above okay?)

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You said and de ole man quotes

“…Agree with this comment, the optics are bad and the brazenness of doing it in the first year of term is a foreboding act…”

when you Honourable Blogmaster can say something like this, the rest of us sheeple, rum shop brimlers, class idiots and NUFFERNARIANS MUST BE AFRAID!!!

The dictionary meaning of foreboding, especially following so soon after brazenness, mouthed by you, Honourable Blogmaster is particularly instructive.

that definition is “…a strong inner feeling or notion of a future misfortune, evil, etc.; presentiment…”

For a little while she going mek wunna shy€e blood but just remember that the outcome IS GOING TO BE THE PATRIOTS PARTY OF BARBADOS.

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

5. No matter which side of the fence, you are on, I am hoping that Barbados and all Bajans have a happy and prosperous 2019

“A rising tide lifts all ships”.

I wish Mia has honest, big, bold and new ideas and is able to throw away the 1966 to 2018 playbook.

“A ship in harbor is safe — but that is not what ships are built for.” — John A. Shedd.

6. Piece

Tell de grandson that I looking forward to dem 2 shitehood Cartoon.Lol.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T Inniss

Here is one of them

The other one will come later

http://imgur.com/DFcCNzI

I suggest that you wash your hands after you touch the screen since you may catch something and what these shy€dhoods have is pretty contagious

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T Inniss

And here is the 2nd one

http://imgur.com/gcJ0VRo

There is a purposed commingling of these images where one good fellow stands among the rest but he is there for a reason

The issue is Knighthoods based on merit and maybe, just maybe you can see that one of these knights is not like the others….