In 1992 some Caribbean states in declaring the Caribbean area a zone of peace, objected to the passage through the Caribbean of ships carrying nuclear waste material. The heads of Government issued a statement vowing “to take all necessary steps to protect their people and the fragile ecology of the Caribbean Sea from this highly dangerous threat.

Now Russia plans to bring nuclear weapons to the Caribbean and we are silent.

Ping Pong

The BU family is a savvy group always alert to what is happening on the local, regional and international fronts. The plan by Russia to establish a temporary military airbase in the locale of Venezuela must be a concern for the people of the Caribbean – see Russian newspaper: Russia to set up nuclear bombers on Caribbean island.

The pristine reputation of the Caribbean took a hit when it was established that Trinidad and Tobago had the highest rate of ISIS recruits in the Western hemisphere per population size. The zone of peace the region has enjoyed is now under threat with the announcement that the Russians are coming.

Further, with Russia and Venezuela in bed the long running dispute between Venezuela and Guyana is brought into sharp focus. Does it matter if Ambassador of Caricom David Comissiong or Caricom respond given our lack of military and economic standing in the world?

Geopolitical analysts are of the view Putin is seizing the moment with the changing of the guard in the USA. It has not have gone unnoticed by the blogmaster Russia launched the Avangard missile yesterday which is reported to be a challenge to US detection systems.

Let the games begin in the region!

189 responses to “Caribbean as a Zone of Peace Under Threat”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sargeant

What was the latest piece of news prior to the tank? There was an algorithm which was coded to act in this particular way as a consequence.

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The computer makes a trade in seconds.

3. @Vincent

I’ve heard that some previous sell offs were triggered by automatic trading because of preprogrammed instructions e.g. some people place stop loss orders on the system to limit losses if stocks fall beyond a certain price but I haven’t heard if this is true in these most recent occurrences.

4. @Barbados Underground Whistleblower December 27, 2018 11:39 PM “Someone seem to have snitched on DaCosta Braithwaite. Once a HIGHLY REGARDED member…”

Highly regarded by whom?

Certainly not by wise people.

5. The folks who crow about “biggest” one day gain in history remind me of people who harvest coffee beans from Civet cat shit. Every bean found is a celebration but overall, they have to go through piles of shit to make it worthwhile. That “biggest” one day gain was offset by many days of historic declines so at the end of the year the overall market is down from the previous year.

When a batsman scores 300 runs in on innings and then for the next 40 innings he scores ducks but keeps reminding people about the 300 runs 39 innings ago.

6. of course lots of reasons, china, russia’s new weapon lol, but are you telling me that you could not see that if the dems took the congress and maxine waters was going to be oversight over wall st that a lot of people were not going to like it come on . Markets dont like uncertainty having the presidents business agenda tied up for the next two years is uncertainty .

7. @Lawson

I know its hard but could you try to separate Trump’s personal business from the Nation’s. Did Pelosi/Waters urge him to impose tariffs on China? Did they urge him to get rid of Gary Cohn in favour of talking head Larry Kudlow? Did they urge him to impose tariffs on Canada? Did they urge him to muse about firing Jerome Powell?

His business agenda is intact it is his personal business that is under scrutiny, check out the word “emoluments” it is a word that you will become very familiar with in the coming months

BTW what Russian weapon? Is it the film documenting certain activities in a Russian hotel?

8. @pieceuhderockyeahright December 28, 2018 7:53 AM “How comes that you alone can mention the names of about 8? People? You mean that Attorneys General Dale Marshall, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall again, Adriel Brathwaite nor Freundal Stuart ent got no balls?”

Mia has none.

I can’t speak for the other people.

I like beautiful shoes, so I have never bought anything from D;s Mega Styles.

I you have 1930’s types names like DaCosta (what the hell were his parents thinking in 1965) and George Washington (I thought that that one had gone out of fashion in about 1750) you should not be facing drug charges.

Leave that to the Omar’s and Dwayne’s.

Sorry Omar.

Sorry Dwayne.

I know that the two ‘o wunna is nice guys.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

So let me try this reply button…ok @Sargeant (and all) what specific reason as u asked could be the cause of these WILD gyrations other than auto algorithm procesing!

POTUS has been there 2 years now and for all practical reasons the market continued its upward trajectory since the 08 crash and the Obama administration (masterful 😂, in every way) management.

There is really no new madness that this POTUS has done to cause serious hitters so whatelse but system based stop lost orders!

For all it’s worth it’s as great a time to pick up on the downturn …

Realistically …
    1. If Trump causes a conflagration (not WW3) then some stocks go sky high others falter and folks like Walmart enjoy much business…

2.If he is impeached (and there is no freaking civil strife) then Pence takes over and the markets can stabilize

3.If the tax cuts, Powell’s interest increase, plus trade angst etc realy cause the economy to dip into recession (and this is down the road really) then we go into a needed market correction and sensible investors would have bargained for that…

… In very brief, WHY these wild gyrations ..certainly POTUS really can’t be the principal reason… Just saying.

@45Colt (I like the Blogmaster’s fandangle of ur handle) your and @Lawson link to the Dem congress takeover is as true as it is that Trump is not guilty of anything! 😂

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

That should be ‘jitters’ NOT ‘hitters’.

11. @T.Inniss December 28, 2018 12:45 AM “Barbados Today is reporting that one of the charges filed against Donville Innis has been withdrawn by the US Justice Dept.”

The last time the U.S. “withdrew charges” sometime later the man was found dead in a field at Baker’s Plantation. I don’t recall that anybody has been arrested or charged.

Things are not always what they seem to be.

12. If I were Donville I would not breathe easy yet.

13. @Pachamama December 28, 2018 10:20 AM. “Their deep fear of genetic annihilation.”

We are all genetically programmed for self annihilation. For most of us on BU that time is less than 15 years away, as it is also for both Trump and Putin.

Making war will not make us immortal.

We will all die. We will all rot. We will all stink.

14. @T.Inniss December 28, 2018 1:51 PM “Look carefully to see that VOB with Ellis,Stetson Babb and other moderators along with the editors at the Nation newspaper will not give that positive change for Donville – the same prominence.”

Bad news is news.

Who cares about good news.

15. keep the faith sarge hang on to your clico, harlequin, payless stock lol , avoid the obvious.Odd you supporting a jewish boy, who did take that letter off the presidents desk? Didnt canada renegotiate or did i miss something Two years and every week you liberals have claimed the sky is falling for trump …his cohenoscopy, his hooker woes, she owes him money by the way, maddow with his taxes exposure that was funnier than geraldos safe fiasco.All these people hoping their country will fail to spite trump, sad. Remember act in haste repent at leisure. Blacks will become 3rd class citizens if the dems have their way ……open boarders for everyone. Keep voting dem

16. SS..
    Pachamama

“Their deep fear of genetic annihilation.” …”We are all genetically programmed for self annihilation”.

GENETICS / DNA CAN BE DE-PROGRAMMED.

17. RUSSIAS’ recent superiority in weaponry is due to SUPERIOR BACKING.

In the effort to halt geo-political engineering and expansion, balance must be struct and by extension, eliminated, not by war, but via inertia through deconstructing support systems.
    Any attempt to detonate ND will be thwarted and disarmed.

Which country does not subjugate and exploit Blacks?
    Keep your eyes on Africa and watch how the Blacks worldwide will respond.
    Blacks will regain superiority in ALL THINGS.
    China expansion efforts will be halted.
    Colonizers will flee.

18. let me know when you have managed to deprogram yours

19. SS
    ALREADY HAVE

20. Simple Simon

Death holds no fear for me, but when I do contemplate my own mortality … it isn’t death in of itself that I fear the most, but the pain associated with dying which crosses my mind often.

21. Get some fentynal and do a goering. The agonal don’t you be depriving the church of its dues

22. LIFE IS ETERNAL.
    Segmented incarnations are due to the programmed TEMPLATE called death. A construct of the DNA. DNA is under command of consciousness. It listens and acts on your instructions.
    Speak to it, command it.
    Halt the repetitions, create the change… any change.
    DAY 7 of the NEW EARTH and REALITY.

23. Lexicon
    You were not given a Spirit of Fear, yet you will draw unto yourself that which you fear because you allow it.
    FEAR NOT… if you decide to choose death, then create the exit you desire.. When you reach the other side of the veil, you will understand all things and realize the exit was not necessary. You will return again… hopefully you will, at that time address the template.

24. Nineofnine

This isn’t any human being on the planet earth that does not fear his or her own mortality … Christian or otherwise…

25. That should be cretinous in every way.

26. Actually, corrupt in every way.

27. “but the pain associated with dying”

What pain associated with dying, have you ever seen a woman give BIRTH.

stop wussing out.

28. “his hooker woes.”

lol..she should sue him for that ugly peepee he got, she says it’s UGLY and oblong shaped and that she regretted meeting it.

29. For Theo..no matter how sentimental you feel, these jews are NOT TO BE PLAYED WITH…OR BOWED DOWN TO…OR ENABLED IN ANYWAY…black people’s lives depends on it..particularly vulnerable Bajans…

https://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/ny-news-jewish-sect-kidnapping-charges-victims-found-20181228-story.html#nt=oft-Single%20Chain~Flex%20Feature~right-chain~kidnapped-113pm~~1~yes-art~curated~curatedpage

30. U…R A ..W…hat, hooker woes is that she owes him a lot of money, and he wont take it out in trade. LOL Waru she said eating.. A 130,000 dinner and she wanted more.more money.greedy why is it such a problem for you liberals to understand how he can pay her and stiff her at the same time

31. ..but she got the money already..it’s his ugly little peepee that traumatized her and for that alone, she should be PAID MORE…lol

the joke in US is…Clinton got blown for FREE and in the WH too……while he paid 130,000 for the SAME job…making Clinton..the genius….lol

32. he is married to hillary you know big genius, I saw him eyeing up arianna grande’s butt at the funeral just before the pastor groped her. Unlike stormy, lewinsky didnt swallow the evidence laying the grounds for impeachment..
    Fear not Waru you can have that same white dick if you want ……just squint

33. really Lawson..ya doing ya white brothers like that.

34. apparently ya doing the white brothers

35. tell me honestly, what would most women do for 130000 dollars tax free

36. I can’t speak for most women, but am sure the lady has a child, and 130,000 is not as much as you think it is, I take it ya never seen that much all at once…and there are ladies savvy enough to get a 130,000 dollars AND. MILLIONS MORE for doing absolutely NOTHING..am sure you came across a few of those over the decades.

37. its not 130000 bajan dollars right

38. Doesn’t matter both currencies smell the same…and both are paper.

39. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Waru,

Whilst Mia hands out knighthoods her government continues to pander up to countries who represent a real danger to the majority population from our island. I have said it before and I will state so again. Argentina is not a country that Barbados should be partnering up with.

https://www.bbc.com/news/av/world-latin-america-46641620/what-it-s-like-to-be-black-and-argentine