It’s that time of the year when I hope those not directly involved in the tourism sector spare a tiny thought for the many who will be working over the Christmas period and to various degrees, sacrificing quality time with their families.

From our own perspective, this year will be the first family Christmas that I hope to experience in over 40 years. Of course it goes with the territory and if you choose tourism as a career then it is naturally expected that you will be working during what the majority consider ‘unsocial times’.

For our cherished guests it is a very special time where almost always they are paying premium rates for both accommodation and flights.
If there is any hope they may return year and year, we have to justify why they are now paying higher prices than ever before.

While I fully understand the current Government’s financial challenges, they also fully benefit from the increase in windfall taxes at this time and concerted measures have to be taken in an attempt to keep the island clean and tidy.

Once again, our area has not had a garbage collection for over two weeks. The stench of the rubbish, strong winds blowing it all over the place, breeding flies and constant scavenging by stray dogs and fowl, does nothing to impress our guests or encourage them to return to the destination.

Many of our visitors closely follow the social media and are aware of the increased operating costs to businesses, compounded by the second departure tax, accommodation room and ancillary tourism tax that they now have to absorb in their increased holiday costs.

Perhaps many readers will vocally argue, give the new Government a chance. Rightly so but there are very rarely second chances in the tourism industry.

You cannot make comparisons with goods and many other services. If a car or refrigerator breaks down you can take it back to the dealer or get it fixed. First and last impressions often have a critical bearing on the choice of the next holiday and we should never lose track of that fact.

While the private sector is pivotal in the overall visitor experience, it cannot directly intervene in the continuing niggling problems, so graphically highlighted in social media sites like Barbados Trip Advisor Forum. These include a shortage of manned immigration desks, exacerbated by the long delayed Automated Passport Control Kiosks becoming operational. The time it frequently takes to reclaim hold baggage or as one Canadian visitor commented recently, it took 1 hour and 40 minutes to retrieve his luggage.

Yes, we fully understand the possible illegal drug implications, but surely a few more fully trained customer officers and dogs are not beyond the administration’s ability to implement, especially as our arrivals are paying for it in vastly increased taxation. And finally, either we have a customs green channel or we don’t.

None of these are new problems. They have been there for years. Let’s finally deal with them.

140 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Cleanup the Country, it is XMAS for Chrissakes!”

1. I GIVE YOU MY WORD THAT IF WE ARE THE NEXT GOVERNMENT I WILL BE BRINGING IN NEW SANITATION TRUCKS IN 3 MONTHS TIME TO DEAL WITH THIS GARBAGE MESS.

WHO PROMISED THAT ?

WAS IT SANTA CLAUS ? HO HO HO

2. Wondering if this would pass as poetry. I think we have found a Shakespeare….

“Now all are beginning on 25th dec in the year of our Lord to realize that all the whispers of change for the better emittting from the breath of Mottley mouth was nothing more than stinking garbage which caused a fog of unreality and blinded the vision of the people of Barbados

There is no bigger liar than one who can stand boldly and proclaim they have the answers to barbados economic problems that took more than fifty years to full fruition

Mia is who i speak of.
    Her grand illusion of illustrious platitudes of promises in a time of barbados economic woes knowing full well that the burden to recovery ( if it should ever happen) would be place on the most vulnerable

In the meanwhile her advisers and associates clap hands while singing Hark the herald angels Sing

Thanks Mia for Nothing on this Xmas Day”

3. almost got caught this morning was just about to push button to rent a place for three weeks in feb but hit the read more button instead and was kinda surprised. to see the words shared economy levy will be collected on arrival 10% of cost of villa LOL then I remembered the departure tax that will also be collected.so the govt has added a couple of grand to my trip.
    Shared economy levy …..graeme hall outfall….departure tax….lol…lol… why not be upfront like screw the tourist…..pump shit ….into the ocean…..and ……are you sure we got everything tax. and to top it off like Adrian is saying the place is a mess

4. Who was the person that told us that bajans seeking to trade with Guyana had to do so in U.S. currency because there was talk of a possible devaluation of the Barbados dollar.

Which was a flat out lie.

But you know what ask Mia she might know who said that

5. Who said that:” we feel strongly that if we were to be elected to government tomorrow,Barbadians can have the confidence that within one week we will start to implement a number of plans to address this crisis ?

Perhaps you can ask Miss Mia amor Mottley – she might be able to help you.

6. Why did Owen Arthur tell us on October 8th 2012, – that “the BLP lost the elections (2008) IN PART because of the new prison built by VECO ( that corrupt firm which had no history of building prisons and where many of their senior officials were sent to prison because of proven corruption in their contracts”.

Was Owen trying to tell us the public something which he could not give details on ?

Who were the 2 senior ministers that were responsible for that prison contract at Dodds – where the price moved from less than $200 million barbadian dollars – to $200 million U.S. dollars to eventually close to $730 million barbadian dollars.

Not me and that Pele case boazee.

Who are the 2 at press conferences now who are chanting :”we will lock dem up? ”

Hmm

Can Satan correct sin ?

7. @T.Inniss

There is hope, you have four and one half years to change the narrative?

You maybe lucky to win a no confidence motion. Sorry you are outside the parliament!

8. @ David
    Cut the crap about engagement with the citizentry. We are 52 years of collective management by the BLPDLP.
    Proper water services FAIL
    Proper Sewage Disposal FAIL
    Proper Public Transportation FAIL
    Proper Garbage Collection FAIL

Citizens PAYING MORE TAXES PASS

Cut out the wishy washy crap and stop being an apologists for poor collective government.

9. @William

You always miss the point. No suprise here.

10. As usual this week the pink truck and the red & grey truck were competing for my garbage. I am wondering if I should call the SSA and let them know. It took one call a couple of years ago when the pink trucks were first hired. They had missed my street. When my regular SSA guys were put back on the route the pink truck was not taken off. I have not called because when the SSA truck breaks down I still have the pink one.

Having said that I am still holding my breath in the south coast shit zone but I seldom have to pass there. My son still has no school bus (but there is a very reliable and markedly more well-behaved private sector fleet) and with respect to water, I have had no reason to use my water tank and pump for many months.

But it pains me to see what my fellow Barbadians are going through and it will affect me indirectly I know.

Have to say that the report card our prime minister gave herself is similar to the report card of the man with whom she took that terrible photograph – a figment of her imagination.

P.S. A call to the FTC caused the BL & P to fix the frequent outage problem in my area and Flow finally got its act together to restore my internet.

11. Mia marking her own homework. I am sure she gave herself an A*. Barbados is now punching above its weight regionally and globally. This or prime minister is punching above her weight regionally and globally. This is not a game, it is serious.

12. @David
    “You have to pay taxes or suffer the consequences. Engagement in the democracy by the citizenry is fueled by awareness of civics. The degree to which citizens are engaged determines the quality of society.”

You can play all the fancy hop scotch and engage in all manner of semantics. Under no circumstances should citizens be exposed to this level of stupidity.
    No amount of civics classes will solve the garbage problem or the lack of water and public transportation after 52 years of self government .
    The simple truth is that the citizens have been complaining about these issues for donkey years. What must they do now?
    Please tell me the civic involvement needed to fix the sewage problem. Tell me what the citizens of St. Joseph should do to get water on a daily basis.
    Tell me what the citizens of St. John should do to get a proper bus service.
    Tell BU of your citizens/ civic plans or suggestions. Time for you to stop posing. Show us who you are and stop the high school “gotcha”
    Crap!!!

13. @William

How do we hold elected and public officials accountable IF the majority of the citizenry has relinquished its responsibility in the democracy? Are you of an unenlightened view politicians will do what they say without the coercion from whom they are suppose to serve?

14. @ David
    In our democracy , the people vote for the government they want. I am saying that you believe that the citizens are inactive-they are not and they demonstrated that most recently! I am taking about the inability to deliver basic services to the populace.
    Whether politicians keep their promises is not the issue here. I asked you to simply admit that after fifty two years of self government, we have failed to develop and deliver basic services. I asked you what more do you want the citizens to do.
    The other day we wanted a government removed and we marched.We protested over the building of a hotel and garbage disposal plant; we removed an incompetent government.
    What more do you want us to do?
    March up and down St John and St Joseph? Picket the sanitation department? Dump our sewage in the parliament building yards?
    This is not about civics or broken promises ; it is about collective incompetence on both the Bees and the Dees.
    So , I am still waiting on you to tell me : What are the citizens supposed to do now?

15. @William

Be clear in what you say, affixing an x every five years fully discharges citizen responsibility in the democracy we practice?

16. Oh plse!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the appalling ignorance that gets one angry. Does the man understand what democracy means? In return for a vote every four or five years we give up all our freedoms. We now have a government that does not even care for that vote.
    That is what I mean by DavidBU posting anonymously. He sets the standards of the blog.

17. Seasons greetings and a prosperous 2019 to
    Northern Observer, and
    DpD

18. @ David
    I never said that !! All I asked you to do is give us your advice on what to do to get basic services up and running.

19. ‘@ TheOGazerts

Thanks . The same to you and yours.

20. William Skinner

Please continue to agitate, remonstrate and frustrate the status quo when you have to.

Blessings on you and your family in this season and the year(s) ahead.

21. @William

It is a work in progress.

The citizens of Barbados whether individually or through agents have abdicated basic rights given to them in a healthy democracy. We have to continue to finds ways to disrupt to ensure a new order of things. There is no silver bullet that will cure all. Note the challenges being experienced by Barbados occupy others outside of our boundary to different degrees. In a democracy power must flow from the people.

22. @William,

Compliments of the Season, old chap. All the best for 2019.

23. @ T. Inniss

Thanks and the same you and yours . All the best.

24. @ Hal
    Thanks and the same to you and yours. All the best in 2019.

25. @ David
    Pray tell how the citizens have abdicated their rights. Who are these agents?

Time to call a spade a spade: The corrupt duopoly has been unable to provide basic services to ensure healthy Neighborhoods for our chlidren. They are endangering the lives of our seniors by allowing raw sewage to spout all about now diverting it to the sea; they have failed to control illegal arms/ guns.
    Even private sector people are now saying the educational system is lopsided.
    Why are you blaming citizens for these atrocities. Put the blame where it is due. Nothing we are complaining about started last week or in the last ten years. We have been in the socio economic doldrums since the late 60s. I will continue to say the truth.
    Don’t tell me about North America. I am concerned with Horse Hill, Lammings, Hillaby, etc
    I don’t give a crap about Trump.
    I am concerned with the next batch of government workers going home.
    Don’t tell about BREXIT. Tell me about the garbage all over the country.
    And please tell me: What are the citizens to do ?
    And by the way I don’t keep a clean house for guests. I keep it for me.
    Get proper water , transport and garbage service for the citizens of our country. Tourists come here for six days. We actually LIVE here!!!!

26. We have many examples William. Take the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar for example. How is this committee with a mandate to pursue restitution on behalf of the people suppose to act? Has it acted with vigor?

#michaelcarrington

27. @Donna December 26, 2018 11:23 AM “As usual this week the pink truck and the red & grey truck were competing for my garbage.”

Lucky you.

My garbage has not yet been picked up even though it was supposed to have been picked up Tuesday 18th December.

My tightly covered bin is not yet full because I recycle all of my plastic, glass and metal. But sadly most of my neighbours do not do the same.

Still a pick up every two weeks is inadequate when the temperature is almot always above 24C. Soon the place will stink, and the bins will be full of maggots, and shortly flies will be everywhere.

28. I have been wondering if the workers and the SSA are involved in an industrial dispute.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

De ole man was just talking your name on another blog here.

And I come here an’ start reading and whaplax!

You heah trying to kill the Honourable Blogmaster

You put this one of the three of them on the spot AFTER THEY WERE ABLE TO GET THE OFFICIAL GoB RESPONSE THAT 35 TRUCKS ARE REQUIRED.

But that did not satisfy you did it?

You proceeded to ask the Honourable Blogmaster, the 2/3’s of the BU BORG a next question about his suggested line of action.

And with that query you crossed the Line of the Sedition Act 2018.

One which the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch has not seemed to address as yet.

I WONDER WHY?

But here is the wishy washy response that de old man will interpret for you

The Honourable Blogmaster says and I quote

“…@William

It is a work in progress…”

Euphemism for “…Please give me a break and do not force me to respond to this question and show where my true allegiance lies…for I cannot vote against the rules of the BLP…”

He continues “…The citizens of Barbados whether individually or through agents have abdicated basic rights given to them in a healthy democracy…”

Euphemism for “What de ef is your problem William? Wunna ungrateful effers jes vote SO KEEP YOUR ASS QUIET FOR ANOTHER 5 YEARS!! MOFO…”

He then continues “…We have to continue to finds ways to disrupt to ensure a new order of things…”

While is duplicitous speak for “…your ass needs to remain silent and accept the Mugabe Status Quo as Mugsbe on our people running things in a new way now…”

He continues “…There is no silver bullet that will cure all…”

Which means you better had watch your mouf cause Mugabe vot a glock and Bjerkham vot a glock and…

The he employs the renown BLP excuse which goes “…Note the challenges being experienced by Barbados occupy others outside of our boundary to different degrees…”

Euphemism for “looka de DLP had de same problems and other countries have garbage problems so what de ef is your problem??…”

And finally he says “…In a democracy power must flow from the people…”

Euphemism for “…Shite, and shite talk, FLOWS DOWNHILL, and diarrhoea flows from people.

Right now I, the Blogmaster and talking shite go the BU sheeple and I tell SUFFER YUH RH SUFFAH”

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster an item here for Mr William Skinner languisheth

I wrote this item after watching your guarded exchange with Mr Skinner.

It is obvious that you have great respect for William AND what WILLIAM IS SAYING.

But in the same breath, given the garbage response (no pun ingended) it is clear to us readers that ALL THE PASION YOU CAN APPLY TO THE NON ENTITIES BREXIT AND TRUMP, you have prevaricated over the response and that is an obvious anomaly

31. @ Piece
    David has become a master of the art of political gobble -de-gook.
    Unless we seriously change direction, each household would soon have to find money to buy water tanks.
    Anybody who follows the garbage mess knows that back in the eighties we also had a garbage problem caused by the same indifference that is prevalent today.
    Everybody knows that the Transport Board has been a political football since the 70s.
    A great majority of the last two generations has not seen any proper management of water, garbage or public transportation.
    Everyday on brass tacks -dozens of citizens -complain and can get no answers.
    Political cannibalism is sucking every breath out of the country.
    Even school children,who are citizens too, are protesting for their rights.
    Yet David gets here on BU pretending that the citizens are not doing enough.
    What does he want them to do?
    He needs to abandon his constant reference to “ it happens outside of Barbados too“.
    Garbage all over St Michael has nothing to do with London; no water in St Joseph has anything to do with Brooklyn and no buses in St. Andrew has anything to do with Montreal!!!!
    Imagine in the year of 2018, people selling food from shanty structures made of card board and rusty galvanize. Look at those things David . Get off your pseudo intellectual bogey train and catch the real bus .

32. THE WHEELS ARE COMING OFF

33. @William

In your opinion what feeds the political caninalism to which you refer?

34. @William

We have a large educated middle class in 2018 that prefers to be passive in our system of government. When town halls are scheduled as per the law to garner feedback on propose changes re EIAs for example, are we seeing John Middleclass motivated to be active? By your argument they would have voted therefore no further participation by them is required.

The blogmaster understands the nature of retail politics in Barbados better than most, the participatory government that is required demands the citizenry to lift its game. To repeat, power must flow from the people.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. William Skinner.

I am going to say something here that may shed some light on what all of us may call a dance but WE HAVE TO READ THROUGH THE LINES AND “SEE” WHAT THE OLD DAVID OF BU IS SAYING.

@ 4.13 AM it is being said clearest to every single man woman and beast here on BU.

It is being said on Christmas day, it is being said on Boxing Day and He continues to say it now!

In fact THOSE OF US WHO LOOK CAREFULLY WILL SEE WHAT HE IS SAYING CAREFULLY.

What HAS TO BE SAID HERE WILLIAM is that the Old David of BU “HAS LIFTED HIS GAME”

And while a few here MIGHT NOT SEE IT, de ole man wants you to know this

Let me explain what is happening here.

CAREFULLY!

So that none of us misses a heartbeat.

I will find a appropriate verse from The Republic, give me a second

Ok I found it

“…“How then does a protector begin to change into a tyrant? She begins to grow unpopular. … Then comes the famous request for a bodyguard, which is the device of all those who have got thus far in their tyrannical career – ‘Let not the people’s friend,’ as they say, ‘be lost to them.’ The people readily assent; all their fears are for her – they have none for themselves. And the protector Mugabe of whom we spoke, is to be seen – the overthrower of many, standing up in the chariot of state, the House of Assembly, with the reins in her hand, no longer protector, but tyrant absolute.

The lion and serpent element in [Mugabe] disproportionately grows and gains strength [until she is unremovable!]

Look carefully at His Call to Action carefully ALMOST SAID FEARFULLY, inserted into the digital mosaic, SCREAMING AT ALL OF US SO CALLED
    EDUCATED MIDDLE CLASS IN 2018.

He is seeing it from first hand and he…. but I am done there.

Why has he uncharacteristically let a Christmas article go so left side?

WE MUST UP OUR GAME IMMEDIATELY!

He that has ears to hear let him hear

36. @ David
    “ By your argument they would have voted therefore no further participation by them is required”

Where I said that? I merely said they were clear in their minds and booted out the incompetent government! I mentioned marches and making the government abandon Cahill. Then I stated they marched, both private and public workers. I even mentioned students protesting. Stopped the construction of a hotel. I never said this is all they could or should do . All I stated is that they call Brasstacks etc.
    I then asked you what more would you suggest and you have not answered that simple question.
    A thousand people don’t have to turn up to a townhall to make it successful.
    It is obvious that you want to blame the populace for the shortcomings of the duopoly.
    I repeat: After fifty two years of self government we cannot even get , water services , public transportation or garbage collection right.
    Again I say we have failed to deliver proper services to the populace and it’s a stinging indictment of both the Bees and Dees.
    When you can seriously counter that argument we could then have a real debate.
    Kindly desist from using red herrings and believing that others are oblivious or ignorant of the fact that you are pure status quo.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Mr. William Skinner thank you

@ Mr William Skinner,

This is the winter of major discontent so to speak for bajans, it is a continuation of 40 years of spendthrift politics and a lack of preparation and diversification

Barbados is ruled by incompetents.

If you think I am telling untruths WATCH HOW THE DAMAGE CONTROL TEAM IS VOING TO RUN HERE LIKE THE TWO DOGS THEY ARE & BARK.

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

38. @William

Why do you think Cahill was successfully fought against? Was it? Think carefully.

How does a citizenry give weight to public opinion in the eyes of the political class?

Here is a clue. Think UK poll tax. What happened?

39. Barbados is ruled by incompetents.
    Barbados is ruled by iINFERIOR SUPERIORS!

40. The wheels have fallen off. My vacation this winter will be the Bahamas and hopefully in October I will be in St. Lucia. From the discussion on this blog there is nothing to entice me to visit in 2019.