As a teenager visiting the Plaza cinema to watch Kung Fu movies, there was always at least one unruly person who put his feet on the chair in front of him and behaved badly. During those times, I would wonder where the adults were.

I remember promising myself that when I reached 30 years of age, I would be the adult whom I expected to intervene. Since reaching that milestone, I have tried to keep that promise in defense of others. It is one of the reasons why I entered politics, and is the main reason why I write these weekly articles.

During my career, I have witnessed much wickedness in high places. The level of corruption is so shocking that anyone reading about it could not be faulted for concluding that it was fiction.

In 1995, Transparency International (TI) published their first Corruption Perceptions Index report, which exposed the extent of corruption globally. They published their second report in 1996. The Caribbean was not included in these early reports, but it was only a matter of time before TI would focus on the Caribbean.

In an act of pure coincidence, in 1997 our parliamentarians effectively discouraged any public discussion of corruption by passing the Defamation Act. Under this act, anyone who revealed genuine cases of corruption, with incontrovertible evidence, could be found guilty of defamation and punished accordingly. However, the Act protects politicians if they talked about it in parliament.

Not long ago, I attended a committee meeting of a statutory corporation, where some members were formally discussing giving a no-bid contract to a contractor. I stated that what they were proposing was corruption. There was a very heated exchange – the fellow actually rose to his feet to fight me. They seemed completely unaware of what corruption actually was, but were highly offended at being associated with it.
The corrupt operate in the secret political economy, which is normally exclusively reserved for political supporters in exchange for bribes. The way of corruption is for Ministers to instruct that no-bid contracts should be awarded to specific companies.
Inexperienced Ministers tend to deceive themselves by their good intentions. They tend to stumble onto the path of corruption by trying to justify allowing no-bid contracts. The current BLP administration has many inexperienced Ministers just waiting to stumble, and I am trying my best to prevent them from falling.
A root cause of our economic problems is the corrupting practise of Ministers directing no-bid contracts. The DLP made themselves highly offensive with that deplorable practise over the past decade. Shockingly, the BLP appear to be carrying on where the DLP left off, but in an even more brazen manner, as if that were even possible.
Last week, many BLP parliamentarians delighted their supporters by accusing the last DLP administration of gross corruption. Ironically, during the same week, the BLP appeared to play the hypocrite by announcing several major no-bid contracts, and they had the gall to boast about it. No! No! No! No! No! and ten thousand times No! We simply cannot go down that road again. All of this austerity cannot be in vain.
Has the BLP learnt nothing from the DLP’s unconscionable behaviour? Why is the government persisting, even more brazenly, with this corrupting political economy? Why is the government intentionally disqualifying competent companies from tendering for tax-payer funded projects? Why is the government shielding politically favoured companies from competing? Are the Ministers aware that when they give no-bid contracts, the public tends to pay many times over for the resulting bad work and bad advice?
Let me write directly to the BLP’s inexperienced parliamentarians. We have been here many times before. We are sick of the ‘good intentions’ excuses that have been used to justify keeping a political economy for the exclusive use of the Party’s politically protected companies. The end never justifies the corrupting means – ever.
I implore you to reject the political economy and the way of the corrupting no-bid contracts. Those who go down that road rarely find their way back, since they sell their souls to the master corrupter who will not easily let them go. Expect some political supporters to demand their pre-paid share of the political economy from you.
They will pressure you to award them no-bid contracts with the typical excuse of urgency. Once you have been tricked into starting down that dark road, the nation will suffer. Companies who bully their way to the trough of the political economy, knowingly disqualify the most competent companies from tendering on government contracts. They should be utterly ashamed of themselves.
You will also be pressured into believing that it is specialist work that only they can do. Unless they own the patent, or have an exclusive-use contract for the technology, then that is a well-worn lie from the very pit of hell. Why not challenge their ridiculous assertion by allowing a competitive tender? What is the possible benefit to yourselves or the country of disqualifying the country’s most competent companies from tendering? I expect an answer to this question from each of you.
There is no right way to do wrong things, and giving no-bid major contracts is definitely wrong. Further, giving no-bid contracts in a depressed economy is so far beyond wrong as to qualify as satanic.

I implore you, repent of this evil and do right things. In your manifesto, every one of you promised, on your sacred honour, that you would provide a Contractor General to review government contracts and those of State Owned Enterprises. You have had enough time to establish this critical post, yet you have failed to do so. What happened? Was this another initiative that must be a sacrificed casualty of the unnecessary BERT austerity plan? Have you even read that secret plan?

Your options are simple. Either repent and terminate those corrupting no-bid contracts and allow a fair tender process, or be deceived with your ‘good intentions’ and continue down the road to hell.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

276 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Road to Hell”

1. @Jeff

Can you opine on the matter at hand I.e. the present government has signaled to the market that because its financial state is perilous , it intends to renegotiate some contracts with suppliers they believe to be onerous. In some cases they have clearly challenged suppliers to take the government to court.

2. This govt is not known for the Truth there are too many instances and cases wher evidence shows it has lied
    Why would any one want to belive anything govt says
    Govt knows it owes past debt.Why would govt allow these drastic actions by Innitech if govt knew had legal on its side

3. The people are not deprived of water at this stage, the tank is a contingency as you know. The case highlighted in the press today had broken faucets which meant water would not have been available if the water was unavailable from BWA pipes.

4. All this corruption talk reminds me of the post 2008 election when the DLP came out victorious all that has changed are the names and some of the players, I fell for some of it but I am older and a lot wiser. The only person who has been snared is Donville who took his act to Carnegie hall and was given a bad review by the Americans, if he had stayed local at Frank Collymore Hall he would be leading the DLP today.

5. Good one Sarge, touché.

6. @Jeff,

With your local legal expertise I do not know what your answer is to David BU, but I can gave one scenario: if the loan is denominated in US dollars, regardless of the domicile of the creditor, if the case is taken to a court outside Barbados ie New York, then it is a totally different ball game. It will be Argentina all over again.

7. AgainDavid us relying on the propaganda machine which has become the mouth piece of govt known as tge press
    The only thing/s broken is the moral compass if this govt who lied their way to win an election and now using the press as a pit stop to deliver their non stop campaign of lies

8. The Many hands make for light work policy .is costing the people millions of dollars as these socalled advisors and technocrats have nothing good to offer govt in preventing the impending chaos of the social network

9. Looka Lisa Cummins nyamin Caswell raw in the Senate. lmao.

10. All you have to ask I who own the land they built on, It sure not the government land of that Plantation, in the end, they need to go back to the old building in the Pine Plantation, , We have that 410 acres Plantation Deed also, BWA maybe on Haggets Hall Plantation deed 364 Acres,,We have that also, Also Warran Plantation Deed, and many more , So Again Where either get the land from and landowners Permission? Massive Land Fraud and Ponzi and Land Laundering, all of them are crooks So even MIA need not pay any, where ever there is Fraud there can be no gains of profits, Let them fight it out in court and we shall see who will talk about the land ownership to get away from paying so much money, Let see how another crook Judge shall Rule was also a lawyer crook him or herself, CCJ needs to Step in ,, BFP?CUP 2023 or sooner, More Pain to Come!

11. “The fact being govt re -negotiating terms were unreasonable…”

Mariposa

This could be true…..

……….but if you were to read pages 109 – 112 of the Auditor General’s 2015 Report, you’ll realise the Innotech’s terms were unreasonable and disadvantageous to the BWA and, by extension, the Barbados government.

12. I want to know from whom Innotech got the loan to build the BWA building…and from whom government got the loan to assist, none of them had the money back then for that project, the money had to come from somewhere..where did the money come from…

13. Stuupse.

14. So…the government printery moved to a government ministers company, now how does that work, is there not a conflict somewhere in there, the proof is on the Panama Papers database…

15. Sass me now…lol

16. Come off it…….please!!!

You wrote that Innotech RECEIVED a loan from the IDB to build the BWA Headquarters.

I’m not “saying” you’re WRONG. All I’m “saying is, so far, the IADB’s website DOES NOT contain that information.

Therefore, the ONUS is on YOU to PROVIDE this forum with the EVIDENCE to support your claim.

Surely, we’re not being unreasonable.

However, I would be a bit surprised if the IADB gave Innotech a loan to finance the building of the BWA headquarters under a PPP arrangement.

17. Sir this is 2018 relying on past agreements which could have been re-negotiated later does not solve govt defaulting on the debt owed to Innotech
    The question now should be asked is what is govt back up plan for solving the problem

18. Isn’t the mandate of the IADB to lend to governments and government agencies?

19. The Salemite doan know wdf she’s talking about. Remember she claimed she saw a sign saying that Dr.Roleric Hinds was the MP for St.Thomas and accused the man on BU for taking taxpayers’ money and not performing his duties as MP. Now she saw it in the newspaper that IADB loaned BWA money to build a new HQ. You can’t mek this ish up.

20. “You can’t mek this ish up.”

Hmmmmm……..

Perhaps it’s one of those things you make up just to make things interesting.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

She made a mistake on source. The BWA got loans for other purposes separate to the HQ buildings. She, nor you, nor I, know exactly where the financing came from, for the HQ project, likely a consortium of financial backers like several PPP’s.
    You already know from the AGen report it was a ‘phuck up’ like most public projects. And when questioned, the BWA could find no fault with the AGen findings, NOR offer any explanations. You also know that is how you keep your job in Bim, and qualify for subsequent promotion, say nothing.

22. It’s obvious that you did not read the AG’s 2015 Report……….. but….it’s all good.

“You are correct once again….. keep the pressure on.”

23. Northern…actually, someone read the article to me this morning, they did get a loan both of them but I was feeling around trying to remember the source, they had to have had a loan to get the project off the ground, both parties….the deluded on BU still believe that money grows on trees…

24. There is information available which suggests the government issued bonds with an interest payment of 8.25% to secure financing for the construction of the building.

But they also had to pay Innotech an advanced payment of $5M + VAT, which was supposed to be repaid in 15 years with an interest rate of 2.5% per annum…..”and a provision for the non-repayment of the Advance if BWA was in default of its obligations as tenant, under the Lease Plus Agreement.”

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

The BWA made an unusual concession [in a PPP project] to advance the contractor $5 million, which was to be repaid with interest. Exactly WHERE the BWA got this money from was not specified. However, at project completion, the BWA made another unusual concession in allowing $6M in “extras”
    “A request was made to the BWA for evidence that the additional costs
    claimed by the contractor of $6,111,194, as mentioned in the “Deed of
    Mutual Release”, were reviewed and approved by the Barbados Water
    Authority project personnel or consultants. In addition, BWA was asked to
    indicate if these additional costs were as a result of requested changes to
    the project by the Barbados Water Authority. All decisions of the Board of
    Directors related to this Project from August 1, 2011 to April 30, 2014 were
    requested. The BWA did not provide any of the requested information
    noted in this paragraph.”

You will note the “extras” essentially cancel out the loan plus interest?

26. “Northern…actually, someone read the article to me this morning, they did get a loan both of them but I was feeling around trying to remember the source…..”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA…….

Wuh loss

He He

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The other point is that the interest rate of 2.5 % was low when
    compared to the interest rate of 8.25% payable on the bonds used
    to secure financing for the project. In effect, BWA in its lease
    payments would be paying an interest rate of at least 8.25%, while
    providing a loan to the contractor at 2.5%.”

The AG did NOT say the bonds were GoB issued?

28. Actually..my bad, it was not Panama Papers, it was Paradise Papers…ah know Enuff had to run off to confirm…

29. So am i now to undetstand and agree that past “unreasonable” agreements by Innotech which were entered into tge contract between last govt and innotech shelters present govt giving it a right not to pay Innotech
    This debacle has the makings of a Phase 2 barrack saga with all the political piss thrown on top
    This govt is notorious for using political leverage to ignore its debt

30. Gotta love how they are outing each other, we feel the love, all the chickens are coming home to roost..more than happy to watch….

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/12/prescod-chides-police-dpp/

31. Hmmmmm…….

I NEVER wrote anything that could be interpreted as suggesting “that past “unreasonable” agreements by Innotech which were entered into the contract between last govt and innotech shelters present govt giving it a right not to pay Innotech..”

Those are YOUR words…. not mine.

32. @Mariposa,

The time to say the terms are unreasonable was before signing the contract. If you sign it means you must obey the terms. A post factum justification is bogus. We can all claim terms were unreasonable after the event. The government defaulted on its debt, it must face the music.

33. Where is Enuff…ah guess he is still scrambling…lol

34. So is Prescod a MINISTER or a candidate…am confused..lol

35. I agree that any responsible government should seek to renegotiate a loan that seem pretty one sided.So I have no problem with the Mottley administration trying to do that.

However you cannot force a lender to agree to your terms after the contract has been signed and agreed.So this big foot move by Wilfred Abrahams and the government to try to bully the Company or seek to shame them or turn the public against them – is only going to cause Innotech to play hardball.

What was wrong with the old Water works building next to the Ministry of Transport though ?

I didn’t see the need for that new building and at that expense.

36. @T.Inniss

Where is it written that the BWA bullied Innotech? So far what we know is that Innotech were invited to several meetings and they were a no show.

37. @enuff

It is no surprise the BLP Senators will go after Caswell.

38. Am here laughing so hard I can’t stand up..

Caswell was warned up to yesterday..am sure he is on his guard.

39. Innotech does NOT have to attend any meeting. That is black mail. If the government defaults then Innotech is free to take legal action against them. And if they have a legally enforceable contract they will win, and the government fails to obey the ruling, then they can take the fight outside Barbados – which they should.
    What government should do is challenge the contracts in court which they claim were illegally or unethically days before the general election – which is what it can also do with Innotech. Inviting them to a so-called meeting is stupidity on steroids.
    The BLP government of lawyers must remember the rule of law, not of bovver boys. Not even the government has confidence in the courts. It will end in tears and is further proof that Barbados is a failed state.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

I suspect from the AG report the original contract, apart from a most bass ackwards process, is not the issue. Rather it is the the sidebar deal of “Deed of Mutual release”.
    TWO of several main reasons owners opt for a PPP, is a) to avoid cost overruns a.k.a extras b) to avoid any cash outlays until the project is occupied/used.
    On the BWA HQ project, the most unusual act of advancing money at the outset occurred, and then just prior to completion, another most unusual act occurred, the granting of a sum [+/- equal to the advance + interest] for extra costs incurred.
    IF, I didn’t know how honest all those involved were, I might suspect the advance was to be able to quickly pay some ‘thank-you’ gifts, and the release payment for extras, to make sure monies paid to others were funded by the project and not the contracting parties. Or maybe they were some ‘farewell gifts’ too? Since the contract was ‘sole sourced’, we’ll never know what other bids may have been.
    This is all of what our advanced educational system is about. We do not need to waste resources public tendering, we know who is the best for any job, and can get competitive prices without competition. We just need to ensure the contracting parties are Christian and understand the concept of sharing.

41. @Northern Observer

We do not know if the government has a good case to frustrate the agreement. What we know from the AG report is that it was an agreement consummated under a cloud.We also know that the government has been able to push other suppliers on the back foot, the port agreement comes to mind.

Exclusive Rights Granted Before Substantial Negotiations Carried Out

5.41 BWA signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), dated 22nd December 2011, which gave the contractor exclusive rights for the Project. This was eight (8) days after it had commenced negotiations on the bid, and approximately fifteen (15) months before the Agreement was signed. The MOU also made provision for the contractor to commence certain works as soon as was practically possible after the execution of the MOU. The BWA in essence was binding itself to an arrangement with the sole bidder before substantial negotiations were completed.

Commencement of Works
    5.42 The commencement of works before the conclusion of negotiations placed the BWA at a disadvantage in relation to its decision making. An example of this was observed subsequently, when the BWA received an opinion from its legal representative on the implications of not proceeding with the completion of the building. The opinion indicated that BWA would have

42. This present govt is on the ropes they know it so who they off to help dry their crocodile tears none other than the media who with all its worth is worth nothing and now resorts to selling govt propaganda known as fake news to the public
    The fact being that Innotech has no obligation to govt
    Govt has already shown that they can rewrite legislation to tricked hardworking people out of signed agreements
    Innotech is not foolish to sit back and wait on govt to take bold legislative stands on taking them to the cleaners
    Hence the move for Innotech to move quickly and garnish their property
    This govt has a history of not paying local investors debt even when ordered by the court
    ExhibitA Al Barrack

43. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal
    Innotech does NOT have to attend any meeting. That is black mail.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The locals don’t understand such strong wording.

Nothing makes sense in the cesspool on the island of Barbados unless you are BLP or DLP.

44. “Hence the move for Innotech to move quickly and garnish their property.”

Wuhloss…it is ALWAYS the taxpayer get ROBBED..in these evil scams…

45. WARU

You are such a liar, good God. Every time you are proved to be wrong, you always concoct a story. You spoke with such aplomb about the IDB funding the HQ, now you’re back tracking rather than simply admitting you made a mistake. Dishonesty is manifested in various forms.

46. Whistleblower

We are steadily moving to the backburner … so therefore, we must come to terms with our fate

47. I note that Jeff Cumberbatch is querying my understanding of the Defamation Act, which has led David to cast aspersions on my motives. Please note that I am offering myself only once more to the public as a politician, and I will not tarnish my reputation by lying to the public. Let me try to engage Jeff in an honest discussion.

I claimed that the act was cleverly written to allow a person, who is speaking the truth about an allegation of corruption, to be charged with defamation. Jeff disagrees. So Jeff, let us present and discuss evidence on a separate thread (already sent to David for publication) rather than make disparaging remarks.

48. Enuff in Wonderland…..and that is your biggest problem tonight…ah think ya got BIGGER PROBLEMS than that coming at ya…..that is not my problem either …ah much prefer WAIT and hear it read out for you..

So…Is Trevor Prescod a MINISTER or candidate, ya know the one with Prestige Printing ya know the one taking one the Government Printing job and DIVERTING taxpayers money..

correct me if ah got anything wrong, ya know, like the name of the printery..

49. Now the Class A BU idiots going hold up in hand a 2015 AG report to slime Innotech .However regardless of that report an agreement was signed and nothing in that report gives govt consent in any shape form or fashion to default on Innotech debt
    This govt run a campagain on false promises and its trust is worthless

Leave a Reply to NorthernObserverCancel reply