CASWELL FRANKLYN

Trading as

VERITAS SERVICES

Upstairs Worrell House

Whitepark Road

St. Michael

PRESS STATEMENT

As the Industrial Relations Consultant to the Prison Officers Association (The Association) I have been authorised by the Executive of the Association to issue the following statement:

Prior to 1982 prison officers enjoyed the constitutional right to belong to a trade union of their choice, and as a matter of fact there was a prison officers division of the National Union of Public Workers. In that year an amendment to the Prisons Act provided for the establishment of the Prison Officers Association.

As a result of that amendment, prison officers lost their constitutionally guaranteed right to belong to a trade union. Section 24A of the Prison Act states:

24A.(1) There shall be established an Association to be known as “the Prison Officers Association”.

(2) The purpose of the Association is to enable prison officers to bring to the attention of the Superintendent, the Board and the Minister matters affecting the welfare and efficiency of prison officers.

(3) No representation may be made by the Prison Officers Association in relation to any question of discipline, promotion, transfer, posting, leave or other matter that affects an individual member of the Association.

(4) The Prison Officers Association shall be independent of, and unassociated with, any association outside the Service, other than similar Associations in and for Anguilla, Antigua, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent or Trinidad and Tobago.

Further, at section 24C the amendment goes on to prohibit a prison officer from becoming a member of unauthorised associations. Interestingly, among other things, subsection (5) defines “unauthorised associations” to mean a trade union as defined in section 2 of the Trade Unions Act.

Notwithstanding this prohibition, since 1992 the Government of Barbados has allowed the Association to become a member of the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB), and by so doing, the Government has allowed prison officers to freely associate with trade unions and become part of the much vaunted Social Partnership. In addition, management of the prison has facilitated the Association’s membership in CTUSAB by granting officers time off to attend trade union activity.

The President of the Association Mr. Trevor Browne, even though maintaining his innocence, has been charged with essentially carrying out the functions normally associated with a trade union leader.

In order to protect its members from any further criminal charges arising from its association with trade unions or anything that is likely to be interpreted as trade union activity, the Prison Officers Association has terminated its membership in CTUSAB, until such time as the 1982 amendments to the Prisons Act are repealed by Parliament or struck down by the High Court.

CASWELL FRANKLYN

INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS CONSULTANT

146 responses to “Prison Officers Leave CTUSAB”

1. “For example yours and the Salemite’s brains are functioning; the degree of functionality, however, is questionable.”

That is the same thing we are saying about the nonfunctioning supreme court, so you are just being contradictive for the sake of contradicting..then ya say the same thing we are saying, using US as an example…

ah said it before and ah will say it again…the poor bajan taxpayers wasted every penny they spent tying to educate a jackass like you..lol

2. TRYING to educate a jackass like you..

3. Ya are a useless yardfowl…go find something useful to do…go tell ya masters about International Anticorruption Day and that they should have said something about it…since morning..

don’t wory, they cannot avoid it forever…ask Donville…

4. LOL @ Enuff
    So according to your idea of ‘functioning’, the South Coast injection wells are shotting..
    … since we spent millions of dollars on them and they are indeed holes in the ground…. right?

…and the BRA is functioning too… cause people going to work most days….
    Never mind that nobody seems to pay VAT, taxes or NIS deductions….
    …and MILLIONS remain outstanding….

Shiite man, based on YOUR definition, not one shiite was wrong with the DLP
    unless of course it involved them using decimals…

…So why EXACTLY were you criticising them last years again…?

Steupsss
    Don’t let poor Bushie down nuh man…!!!
    Save a bit of your integrity nuh Enuff…

PLEASE…
    #Enuffofdeyardfowl

5. Yall lowlife, CORRUPT scum…yall are about to LOSE THE BWA THAT TAXPAYER’S MONEY BUILT…to covetous, nasty minded Bizzy Williams and the Cattlewash CROOKS..

…..all of you should be in PRISON..ya sell out douches…

ah been waiting for ya all morning..

and yet Mia is STILL PROTECTING THE CORRUPT Lashley, Lowe, Estwick et al who sold out the people, sold out the BWA and ALL of them have offshore accounts with the people’s stolen money…don’t worry though…time is LONGERRRRRRRR than twine.

6. Ah want to SEE Mia addressing International Corruption Day today, it will be interesting to see what she has to say…about LOCKING UP ALL THE CORRUPT..

ah bet Donville has a new found respect for stuff like that now, but if he don’t yet and still acting all uppity because he HAD a shite title…..he WILL..

7. And just to add some even better news so yardfowls will understand that this is not an…F-ing game..and just so Mia don’t think she can dazzle bajans with bullshit…

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/220990/imf-thumbs

“But as IMF mission leader Dr Bert van Selm lauded the implementation of this “ambitious and comprehensive economic reform programme”, he urged Government to “further reduce uncertainty” by concluding debt restructuring terms with foreign creditors.”

yardfowls…today don’t look like it turning out so good yuh..

BTW…where is Piece..ya can’t hog all that peace and quiet…get out here..

8. @BT

Enuff is a prime example of what is wrong with the failing state of Bdos.

An otherwise intelligent (wo)man but because of party loyalty defends the most asinine positions.

Now how could the Courts of Barbados be described as functioning by any sensible measure?

#amazing

9. ADullard and what’s wrong with you?

10. @CAswell Franklyn “Prior to 1982 prison officers enjoyed the constitutional right to belong to a trade union of their choice, and as a matter of fact there was a prison officers division of the National Union of Public Workers. In that year an amendment to the Prisons Act provided for the establishment of the Prison Officers Association.”

This is a serious question:

Why was the Prisons Act amended in 1982?

And did the prison officers object to this amendment?

And if not why not?

I was not living in Barbados in 1982, so I genuinely do not know this part of the history of the Prisons Act.

Thanks.

11. @Hal Austin December 8, 2018 2:53 PM “…who believe they are entitled…”

One: They are NOT elite.

Two: They re NOT entitled to our time, our money nor our blood

Three: Because we are NOT their mummies. And ee do NOT want to be their mummies, and we do NOT want them to have our time, our money, nor our blood.

12. Isn’t this reactionary 1940’s legislation the same sort of legislation that the white South African governments used to prosecute Nelson Mandela and other freedom fighters?

13. @Hal Austin December 8, 2018 :04 PM. “Keep an eye on the Canadians and Brits and their training courses for the RSS and the defence force.”

Indeed. For we know that wherever in the world the British have gone there has followed slavery, tyranny and oppression. The British like to think of themselves as nice people, but they are NOT nice at all. You have to have eyes in the back of your head when dealing with the British.

14. The Canadians are only British removed to another another place. Learn how they have treated, and still treat the indigenous people.

15. @Barbados Underground Whistleblower December 8, 2018 3:08 PM “Why because they are not following…
    Anyone with half a brain should leave the island.

We hate status quos. We hate following.

Nah. We ain’t leaving.

We ain’t leaving at all.

16. We hate following.
    i agree wid you SS
    that is why when a man tell me get BEHIND him I said NO and ran! just like good ole Joeseph

17. Geogie Porgie

Your religious hypocrisy becomes more apparent the more you open your mouth GP…
    Because God tells us in 1 Peyer 2: Obey all people who have authority in this world. Obey them because that will make the Lord happy.

18. Peter sorry…

19. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Simple Simon

You are an old woman and the comment was never directed at someone like you who no longer have many years of productivity or benefit to society.

I am especially saying this as you were extremely callous and cruel to the lady suffering at the hands of Mark Maloney with her house in Coverly Christ Church.

For other Barbadians reading this I will give them a couple of examples of two people who would not have had the opportunity if they had been living in Barbados.

First example is a 19 year old male not long out of high school earning US$15 per hr 40hrs per week total US$600 per week. Then averages US$300 additional in bonuses per week. Total US$900 x 4 = US$3600 monthly or BD$7200 per month which is over BD$85,000 per year.

Secondly is 28 year old male with a felony record after spending 1 year in Federal Prison for drug trafficking. He is only a high school graduate. Earning US$20 per hr 40hrs per week total US$800. Additional weekly bonus US$400 total US$1200 × 4 = US$4800 per month. Over US$57000 per year or BD$114,000 per year.

Neither of these two gentlemen are highly trained or skilled. They operate in the Green Energy industry which is the fastest growing and not enough workers currently.

Legislation was passed in the last week that ALL New Housing in 20 States starting 2020 must have Solar Electricity which means tens of thousands of more jobs available in an industry that can’t keep up currently.

I could help hundreds of Barbados male and female find excellent paying job instead of the shite they have to deal with on the island of gutter politics, crab in the barrel mentality, little personal growth, corruption and COLLUSION.

I know the Prime Minister very well if she saw me would call me by my first name however I cannot pretend when I know better what is happening in the bowels of the island.

20. Whistleblower

Money isn’t everything …what about the years apart from love ones and friends … what about connecting with the people you have a lot in common with…? No amount of money can buy the above mentioned … listen! If I had to do it all over again … I would rather spend my entire life in Bim then I this country though it offers much more financial opportunity than Barbados … but money cannot replaced the years I’ve spent apart from my dear departed madda and aunt … sisters and younger brothers…

21. Money isn’t everything…
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Shiite man Lexicon…
    You gotta stop with these profound statements Boss…
    It is totally out of character.
    You are doing great damage to the ‘maripoka/Dompey brand’ on BU.

Next thing we will have is GP making grown-up comments on the blog.

22. “…..it has been at least 6 months the court was closed and promises made to reopen it, cases ARE NOT BEING HEARD….apparently both the Manor Lodge and Canewood locations are not functioning so the COURT IS DEAD”

Analyse this statement for 10 points, be sure to define functioning in the context of the statement. 1st Form English Literature. lmao.

23. re Next thing we will have is GP making grown-up comments on the blog.

exactly! BEWARE OF MEN WHO TELL YOU TO GET BEHIND THEM!

24. @ Enuff
    While it is NOT true to say that ‘cases are not being heard’, (because a FEW were indeed held) this in and of itself does NOT allow you (or anyone else) to qualify the Court situation as one that is FUNCTIONING.

A functioning organisation is one that is substantially fit for purpose.
    A functioning Court is one where justice is dispensed.

Ours may not be completely IDLE….(WARU is prone to hyperbole….)
    But it certainly is not functioning ….and it only just barely passes the ‘idle’ bar.

25. If Prison Officers have been prohibited from taking part in any Union activity since 1982 why is it now a bone of contention? Did the recent Court decision generate a complaint by Nurse to his political bosses which caused them to pull the trigger, any one believes that the DPP acted on her own accord in this matter this is the right season for them because they believe in Santa Claus too.

Was the issue of Union involvement identified as an issue of concern in the COI (cover up) on Glendairy? Was that report ever published? The same people whose hand was on the rudder during the bonfire at Glendairy are again at the centre of the Dodds issue. Who says Bajans aren’t into recycling? We recycle politicians and recycle disputes, the stench from these charges rivals the sewage mess.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WARU

“6 days shalt thou Labour…but on the 7th day…”

Let me give a little insight into these stupid announcements that affect such a significant part of the electorate and citizenry.

The average man IS NOT GOING TO FORGET the wickedness perpetrated upon it BY THE BLP

Let them continue on with these actions

All this is good as it relates to their imminent departure from the House of Assembly in 2023

There is alot to be done and you already know that

No time to linger

27. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Money isn’t everything
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tell that to the thousands being sent home and the many more unemployed having to suck salt with quite a few having to resort to petty criminal acts and prostitution to survive on the island.

Tell that to the many who have or will lose their mortgage re their homes and rental apartments.

Tell that to the many mothers who will prostitute their sons and daughters so that they can eat and have a roof over their head.

Tell that to the many poor and INCREASING homeless on the island.

I choose to live in the real world with its realities.

28. Barbados Underground Whistleblower December 10, 2018 12:00 AM

YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THAT MANY ON HERE PLAY TO THE GALLERY
    THEY SAY STUFF TO GET THE APPROVAL OF THOSE WHO THEY THINK ARE SOMEBODY
    THEY SAY WHAT THEY THINK SHOULD BE SAID………OFTEN THEY DONT KNOW AUGHT OF WHAT THEY SPEAK
    THEY CARE NOT ABOUT, OR DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE TRUTH IS…..OR THEY HAVE FORGOTTEN

“Money isn’t everything” SOUNDS GOOD AND MIGHT EVEN BE TRUE, BUT THE REALITY IS

ACCURATELY EXPRESSED IN THE SCENARIOS THAT YOU MENTIONED THAT FOLK ARE EXPERIENCING

WE WILL SOON SEE WHEN THE SUICIDE RATE, AND THE CRIME RATE INCREASE AND THE ADMISSIONS TO JENKINS INCREASE

BUT TIME IS LONGER THAN TWINE

29. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie

WE WILL SOON SEE WHEN THE SUICIDE RATE, AND THE CRIME RATE INCREASE AND THE ADMISSIONS TO JENKINS INCREASE
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Unfortunately this is the reality that jackasses do not see or want to acknowledge.

Let me give you an example: today I went to a Chinese restaurant and bought a Shrimp dinner as a takeaway.

On my return to my abode I saw a homeless man maybe in his thirties sitting on a pile of clothes next to the side of a highly trafficked road on a pavement.

As I passed the man something in his face made me double back and handover the takeaway to him.

He took it and neither one of us exchanged a word. As I walked away I glanced back and saw the homeless man tear the plastic bag apart and set about devouring the food as if he hadn’t eaten in days.

This would have been around 3pm in the afternoon.

Do you think to the homeless man and countless others “Money Does Not Matter”.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is going to be the pandemic suffering where the average man and woman will be penniless and homeless and hungry which is going to lead to the demise of the BLP

When more and more people are on the HEADLINES IS HAPPENING DAILY IN THE PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SECTOR the level of discontent will rise and will seethe for years.

During which time people will see the BLP continue to appoint their own pooch lickers and be unable go diversify the economy

31. If Mia would stop pretending to be some kinda savior, a scam which has already turned to shit because of the CORRUPTION in the Supreme Court and the Corruption that destroyed the economy that she refuses to ADDRESS or bring any of her DLP friends to justice for….

…,..she could not even open her mouth for International Anticorruption Day….so that says everything…

Bushman…trust me, if you have ever attended any case in that blighted Supreme Court…any case….ya know it is a FARCE, between the nuisance lawyers and the useless Judges who are otherworldly. …not of a real judiciary….ya would wonder if ya have entered a twilight zone….and ya will know..that in the last 6 months…the few cases that have been heard at Manor Lodge .., NOT ONE INCH OF PROGRESS WAS MADE to finish those cases.

…….ya can guarantee that those cases are JUST AS FAR AWAY FROM COMPLETION.., as they were at the beginning of the case…which am sure started years and years ago, some cases ya see with a start date of 2002…..this is 2018..

Yardfowl Enuff wasted taxpayers money in school and should be breaking ROCKS…he is so damn DUMB..

32. Piece…there is going to be a mad scramble…we will laugh our asses off…just wait for it…

….of course there is lots to do, these clowns and their fowls believe they have all the time in the world to screw up the majority population’s life even more for their self enrichment purposes….but like someone in NYC said yesterday “Bitt (ch) COIN” and mMoney are DEAD…there is a new game with certain players in town and a mad scramble afoot…but it is not going to proceed and be successful with the SCAM they are all planning so they better recalibrate to benefit the MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION…or the REGRETS will be MANY and far reaching.

33. When ah talking like that, ya done know ah know something that is going to turn into some real life SHIT…because as usual with the SELL OUTS in parliament…they started WRONG.

Mia needs to stop PLAYING THE ASS and do the JOB the majority population ELECTED and are PAYING HER to do on THEIR BEHALF…..or her REGRETS WILL BE MANY.

Any ENRICHMENT going forward is to be DIRECTED strictly to the BLACK MAJORITY..

34. One example of a court case that has been winding through the blighted supreme court for nearly 40 years is that despicable woman Ram Merchandani and her MacDonald Farms dead chickens case…nearly 40 years in court, last I heard it was at the CCJ..

Nearly 40 years for a court case…in which other part of the world do you hear that crap,

…..it is a pity the CCJ don’t have powers to JAIL the as*holes for lawyers in that case..and the ignorant judges who allowed a case to fester in a court system that long without closure..

So YES…the SUPREME COURT REMAINS NONFUNCTIONING….and will stay that way until ALL THE CORRUPTION IS GONE..

…..the day they get the CRIMINALS…like CGI Insurance and Peter Harris et al…out of the court spreading their corruption like a CANCER…as they have been doing for DECADES…then we will see a huge difference.

IT IS THE BRIBERY CORRUPTION…stupid.

35. Barbados Underground Whistleblower December 10, 2018 3:21 AM

WE WILL SOON WITNESS IN BARBADOS THE HOMLESSNESS AND THE SCENARIOS OF WHICH YOU SPEAK JUST AS ALREADY OCCURS IN THE USA – WHICH SOME CALL THE GRETEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD EVER

these are the words of a child and the blog jester

36. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie

The difference is from my observation majority of the homeless in the USA is because of drug addiction out of control.

Some are able to pull themselves out after a while and go on to lead productive lives.

Many who don’t continue a downward spiral which leads to overdose/death or long term homelessness.

In Barbados most of the future homeless will be because of economic situation.

But who says “Money isn’t Everything”.

37. Barbados Underground Whistleblower

I certainly agree with you that a lot of the homelessness in the major cities of America these days is due in part to drug and alcohol addiction.But let us hope and pray that your prognostication does not occur in Barbados … no one can predict the future … but the One who sits on high and looks down low …

38. Barbados Underground Whistleblower December 10, 2018 11:45 AM

In Barbados most of the future homeless will be because of economic situation.
    I AGREE WITH YOU
    I AM HEARING THAT A LOT OF PROPERTY IS ALREADY UP FOR SALE

But who says “Money isn’t Everything”.

TWO OF THE BIGGEST IDIOTS AND KNOW IT ALLS ON BU
    ha ha
    these are the words of a child and the blog jester

39. BushTea – 4/10. You sure you went school in Waterford?

40. Isn’t it a strange coincidence that one of the said officers who is testifying against Browne of the Prison Service Associations – suddenly has her case dropped .

She was charged with the serious offence of fraternizing with a prison officer and eventually marrying him- yet she continued to work at the Prison while – her case kept getting rescheduled.

Now we are suddenly told someone higher up decided not to go ahead with the case .hmmm – things that make you go what de ……….

That man Nurse like he is a interesting piece of work.

Incidentally it was under Mia Mottley watch as Attorney General that the prison at Glendiary got burnt doen – and it was under Nurse watch as Head of the Prisons.Hmmmmm.

41. Why is a military man heading up our civilian prison?

42. That is probably the best question I have heard in a long time.

43. When the history of azzolism is chronicled the insipid nonsense written by one GP and one Hal Austin will take pride of place.Never in the history of blogs has there been two bigger clowns posing as informed bloggers.

44. SEE AMIDST THE WINTERS SNOW
    GABRIEL TALKING SHITE BELOW
    ha ha

gabriel was an old man
    and a silly ole man was he
    when he came on BU talking lots of pee
    ha ha

DING DONG MERRILY ON HIGH
    IN HEAVEN THE BELLS ARE RINGING
    DING DONG MERRILY BELOW
    ON EARTH GABRIEL IS BULL SHITTING
    ha ha