The following IMF report was re;eased today – Barbados Underground

December 7, 2018

End-of-Mission press releases include statements of IMF staff teams that convey preliminary findings after a visit to a country. The views expressed in this statement are those of the IMF staff and do not necessarily represent the views of the IMF’s Executive Board. This mission will not result in a Board meeting.

• Barbados has made an excellent start in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program.
  • The rapid completion of the domestic part of the public debt restructuring has been very helpful in reducing uncertainty.
  • The government has engaged in intensive discussions with the social partnership to build public support for its economic reform program.

At the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm visited Bridgetown from December 4-7, to discuss implementation of Barbados’ Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan, supported by the IMF under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF). At the end of the visit, Mr. van Selm made the following statement:

“Barbados has made an excellent start in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform program. The country’s international reserves, which reached a low of US$220 million (5-6 weeks of import coverage) at end-May 2018, have more than doubled since then, amounting to more than US$500 million in early December. This has helped to rebuild confidence in the country’s macroeconomic framework.

“A comprehensive debt restructuring was announced on June 1, 2018. After intensive discussions, an exchange offer for domestic debt (Barbados dollar-denominated) was launched in early September. On October 15, the government announced reaching agreement with an overwhelming majority of domestic creditors, with support of all commercial banks, general and life insurers, the National Insurance Scheme, the Central Bank of Barbados, and smaller creditors. The domestic debt exchange operation was finalized on November 19. The rapid completion of the domestic part of the debt restructuring has been very helpful in reducing economic uncertainty, and the terms agreed with creditors will help put public debt on a clear downward trajectory. A much-reduced government interest bill will help create much-needed fiscal space for increased social spending and investment in infrastructure.

“Progress being made by the authorities in furthering good-faith discussions with external creditors is welcome. Continuing open dialogue and sharing of information will remain important in concluding an orderly debt restructuring process; completion of the external debt restructuring would help further reduce uncertainty.

“The government reported a primary surplus of 2½ percent of (annual) GDP in the first six months of FY2018/19 (April-September 2018). In October, the authorities launched a program to improve efficiency and reduce the public wage bill by laying off and retraining workers in the central government and public entities. This should help create a leaner, more efficient public sector, geared towards facilitating private sector-led growth. It should also help reduce central government transfers to state-owned enterprises, from a level that had become unsustainably high. In November, the authorities announced plans to modify the corporate income tax (CIT) framework, seeking to unify rates that apply to the international business sector and local enterprises. There are some risks to this reform, including making corporate income tax revenues more dependent on maintaining international competitiveness.

“Barbados has also made good progress towards meeting end-December 2018 structural benchmarks under the EFF. In October, a regulatory sandbox for fintech start-ups was created to allow them to try out new technologies in a well-defined and controlled space. Legislation to facilitate a more efficient process for providing construction permits is underway, as is legislation to support a more efficient budget process, and stronger oversight of SOEs.

“Following IMF Executive Board approval of the EFF on October 1, 2018, both the Caribbean Development Bank and the Inter-American Development Bank approved policy-based loans. These operations, worth US$75 million and U$100 million respectively (a combined 3½ percent of GDP), will help finance the government, rebuild reserves, and support the reform process with policy advice.

“The government has engaged in intensive consultations with the Social Partnership to build public support for its economic reform program. In October, a BERT Monitoring Committee was set up, and tasked to report to the Social Partnership and the public. Strong ownership and broad societal support bode well for successful program implementation and helping Barbados to achieve better living standards for all its citizens.

“The team would like to take this opportunity to thank Barbados’ authorities and the technical team for their openness and candid discussions.”

IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS
PRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar
Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

138 responses to “IMF Staff Concludes Visit Post BERT”

1. Jamaica is not a country to be looked at as a model of economic excellence.
    Jamaica is a failed state has been in an IMF program for more than thirty years
    The bandwagon and tailgating effect of govt selling medical marijuana is not a comprehensive policy to increasing govt revenue or creating a large local market forjobs
    but is simply and only a patch work solution for an economic plan ..a plan that requires a vision towards a long term and sustainable policies as larger countries model their economies through advance technology
    Mia grandstanding words would soon ring hallow as technolgy make greater and larger strides in harvesting and producing marijuana for the seeding of oil and other products wirh the abilty to sell at lower prices
    Our policy should be one of advancing an education system that can be at a standard efficient and competent enough to compete in a technological age in manfacturing products than can be sold on a world wide market

2. Once I thought that we knew both the issues and their solutions.

I now recognize that we lack the will or interest to implement the solutions.

One would think the sewage crisis would be over by now, but this boondoggle has put money in a number of different pockets. Why kill the goose that lays the golden egg? The D’s had their turn at milking the sewage and now the B’s have their turn. It will get fixed, but at what cost.

I have followed the discussion on integrity legislation. The initial penalties were so mild that they seem to suggest that corrupt officials “get to keep what they steal”.

Every year the AG points out the deficiencies of the system and nothing is remedied. A past report is as relevant as this year’s report.
    One mus ask if the AG is insane as he “does the same thing over and over and expect a different response’.

The problem with our courts are well known; the dishonest actions of some lawyers are well known and documented. Are they investigated and punished? No.. instead we have the “land thief’ becoming responsible ‘for lands’; even a fool can see that is a get out of jail free card.

Why continue on? Just recognize it’s “Bizarro world” and everything will make sense.

Not a failed, but failing. However, the chances of recovery are getting smaller (diminishing).

3. I will not be joining the medical marijuana bandwagon.

People were framed, fined arrested, jailed, shot ….. for possession and a slew of other charges and lives were ruined.

Now that the state and big business have discover how to monetized it, the words medical marijuana’ rings out everywhere
    (Altria – a cigarette manufacturer – cronos: medical marijuana )
    https://www.cnn.com/2018/12/07/investing/altria-cronos-investment-marijuana/index.html

4. I would love to see Enuff/Gabriel/Lorenzo explained this phrase
    “Barbados has also made good progress towards meeting end-December 2018 structural benchmarks under the EFF. In October, a regulatory sandbox for fintech start-ups was created to allow them to try out new technologies in a well-defined and controlled space.”

They would say.. it means the IMF supports and approve the sandbox and mMoney. Mia is a genius

They would not read
    “good progress towards meeting” as “you are not there yet”
    “try out” as “take a good look and see if it is fit for using”
    “well-defined and well-controlled space” as “know exactly what your sandbox is supposed to do. Know its characteristics and its limitation; know the dimensions of the world you will let that monster loose on”

My friends, those are words of warning and a caution. I can tell you that when Rawdon saw those words, his heart sank.

5. I know that MOU has in too few letters to get the biog words guys to salivate. However for smal words guys like myself the following may be informative.

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/m/mou.asp

Most of the reporting we see on Rawdon signing MOUs are nothing more than publicity stories…

6. I know that MOU has in too few letters to get the big words guys to salivate. However for small words guys like myself the following may be informative.

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/m/mou.asp

Most of the reporting we see on Rawdon signing MOUs are nothing more than press releases… Read them as “Coming soon to a theater near you”

Meanwhile if you purchased bitcoin as 9of9 suggested then your investment is halved.
    1 Bitcoin equals 3,332.19 United States Dollar
    It was/is now a pump and dump scheme

7. Gazzerts speak for yourself do not try to speak for me,You ever hear the saying that some people say a glass is half full while others say it is half empty?Well I look at the positive and I will not join you doom and gloomers on here trying to tear down a six month not six year old Government. I will leave that bellyaching to the shite conspiracy theorist Piece ,the disgruntled Dems T Inniss ,Mariposa,Hal Austin and the know all Waru,as it seems you all from England or the USA and hope Barbados fails,but I live here and want Barbados to succeed as it was pre 2008 when as Mr Arthu called them the wild boys took over.I saw you trying to defend Piece saying he ain,t drinking the koolaid,i guess neither you and that is your choice but remember I also have my view.You also stated that the sewerage problem should have been fixed by now ,I agree by the previous administration instead we had two Minister diving into the waters to prove all was well and deafening silence from the ex PM and Dr Estwick,hoping the problem would go away hence why we are where we are today.Therefore in closing I would encourage Ms motley to keep working hard to bring the country bach from the precipice and ignore the sudden group of experts on everything under the sun who in my view never run a breadshop far less a country.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, easy enuff 😁 to focus on the ad hominem – which really is just the par for course blogger’s straight right to push back the afversary, it’s generally meaningless- but why not focus on the really substantive broadsides about merry ole England…. surely, if you call us a failed state for our fudged up processes you should deal with your resident country screwups also as COLLOSAL failure!

So what of…*… a country that unlawfully deported and denied persons the right to access health care, a country where people wait months for critical medical appointments and not too long ago government had to bail out a number of banks that collapsed due… due to profligacy.”…

And one may add, a country that is having a national hissy fit of ‘I want my Brexcake and to eat it too’. PM in contempt of Parliament, ministers resigned left and right, a govt in waiting promising to upend ansd squash whatever this govt bakes with this Brexcake!

I suspect you would call that in Bim…absolutely a failed state!

Educate the blog how the goose can fly free whereas the gosling gets ‘flight failed’!

9. We must bear in mind that we are commenting on a statement written by Mr. Bert van Selm of the IMF. He is not a Bajan. He is not accountable or answerable to Bajans.
    From where I sit, there is a need for the government to provide Barbadians with more information and education.

“In October, the authorities launched a program to improve efficiency…”

Does this program have a name? What inefficiencies have been identified? How many of these inefficiencies have been eradicated to date? How many central government and SOE managers who presided over and nurtured these inefficient practices have been sent home? How long is the program supposed to last? How much is it expected to cost? How do we quantify the benefits to be reaped from the program?

“In October, the authorities launched a program to reduce the public wage bill by laying off and retraining workers in the central government and public entities.”

We are aware that layoffs have started using the LIFO method. How many public workers have been sent home so far? How many have been retrained? What are the retraining costs? Out of those who have been retrained, how many were re-employed? Are we carrying some workers through a retraining exercise and then dumping them on the heap of chronic unemployeds?

“This should help create a leaner, more efficient public sector, geared towards facilitating private sector-led growth.”

These are mere useless “dreamy dreamy” words. It has been documented that the private sector in Barbados thrives on bribing politicians, and hates competition of any kind. The annual Auditor-General reports show clearly how civil servants and private sector operatives conspire and collude to steal taxpayers’ money with no fear of repercussion or reprisal. Looking through the eyes of Bajans, these nationally destructive criminal practices are expected to continue unabated. A leaner, more efficient public sector my foot. Private-sector led growth my foot. Just words.

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheOGazerts at 10 : 24 AM

I am happy that you and some others have noticed how very cautiously the whole IMF report is worded. It certainly does not read like a stamp of approval nor endorsement.
    Does anyone else notice that a system of international payment that wishes to eliminate a regulating body is trying very hard to get the approval of those bodies?
    Why should a national authority want to abandon one of the few levers left to it to regulate its economy allow a free for all contrivance?

11. Ha! I know the meaning of the word. Definitely not agnostic, but to say more would expose ‘the inner me ‘.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

“allow ” should read “support”

13. @Vincent

The IMF report is what it is, it is too early to state a definitive position. Walter hints and what must happen now, our critique of the government policy must be relevant and penetrative absent the political hogwash from the partisans. This is how we hold the government accountable.

14. What paritisan hogwash the reality on the ground diametrically differs from the IMF report
    A Report that tells one side of the economic picture
    A report that will never include the social downward spiral of an economy
    An economy that thrives on jobs and not job losses

15. @ De Pedantic,

Pray tell why do you want me to speak on behalf of the UK?

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

😂….wait, you is the same brother who speaks so “eloquently” about Bajan failure but is now tongue twisted about the land of your new citizenship (I presume) and residence!

You does be speaking on behalf ah we Bajans wid your brickbats and lambasting…oh lordie, you is a true true backra johnny sweet talking dissembler when ya ready, fah real! … Play as if you lose ya voice. 😂 Nutting fails BADLY in the great UK!

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Do you define tackling corruption as what, seeing former ministers and public servants going to Dodd’s?”
    NO.
    It goes far deeper than a few elected officials who may seek benefit for themselves instead of the populace.
    It speaks to the systems in place, and how the public space conducts its affairs. Not that there isn’t corruption beyond the public sphere, but that is up to the the owners of those entities to figure out and deal with.
    It speaks to how contracts are tendered, how the public dollar is spent. It speaks to how decisions are arrived at. It speaks to how the judiciary operates. It speaks to how the pubic’s primary revenue generators operate.
    Barbados remains in the dark ages. Little enclave’s of power who resist any change. Open and accountable systems are the only way to ferret out corruption, or it will continue.

18. In Canada legalization of Cannabis is just a money grab by government , owned by Gov and Police , and so much Regulation , the legal marijuana program is now offering discounts , but its all about the QUALITY !
    Marijuana been around thousands of years as a medicine and a stimulant ! Its good for you in some ways . It should be grown in Barbados and be privatized , it would help economy like in California ! Enough said !

19. Walter Blackman said
    From where I sit, there is a need for the government to provide Barbadians with more information and education.

After six months Bajans are no wiser. Apart from the government sending home thousands and borrowing millions, what is the position? What has been done?

When HA calls the place a failed state people get upset but he is 100% correct. Bdos is not failed in the sense of a Syria or a Somalia but every major organ of governance, every system needed for the proper functioning of a reasonably civilised society is either failing or failed.

He is also correct that it will likely end in many a tear. How could a govt comprising a team of people with no discernible track record of achievement in any area of significance suddenly become runaway successes?

Unless they miraculously begin to operate beyond their capabilities, it doesn’t really take a an Einsteinian intellect to see what is coming…

20. @ Pedantic,

What do you want me to say about the land of my new citizenship (I presume) or residence?

21. Thanks for the elucidation, no argument from the blogmaster.

None!

22. RE Therefore in closing I would encourage Ms motley to keep working hard to bring the country bach from the precipice and ignore the sudden group of experts on everything under the sun who in my view never run a breadshop far less a country.

QUESTION
    WHAT HAS MIA MAO MUGABE MUTLLEY, THE CARD CARRYING PUDENDA BITER OR HER BAND OF 26 FOLLOWERS EVER RUN SUCESSFULLY?

CAN YOU ILLUMINATE AND ILLUCIDATE PELUCIDLY AND PROLIXLY

23. RE a country where people wait months for critical medical appointments

THIS STATEMENT WAS MADE BY DPD WHO IS KNOWN AS AN EXPERT ON CERVICAL INJURIES even though he has never seen a case, AND AN EXPERT ON EMERGENCY POSTMORTEMS- AN OBVIOUS OXYMORON

NOW THE TWIT WOULD SPEAK OF THE BRITISH NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEM?

MAN IN THE USA YA DOES HAVE TO WAIT WEEKS IN A CITY JUST TO SEE A GP FOR A LIKKLE PAIN……..EVEN WITH GOOD INSURANCE IN THE CITIES.

GOD HELP YA IF NOT IN THE BIG CITIES AND DONT HAVE INSURANCE.

I STUDIED THE WORKING OF THE BRITISH NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEM AND ACTUALLY SAW IT AT WORK………AND IT WORKS WELL. IT IS NOT PERFECT BUT IT WORKS VERY WELL

WILL THE MEDICAL ILLITERATE AND MORON NOW COME AND DEFINE CRITICAL MEDICAL APPOINTMENTS AND TELL US HOW QUICKLY YOU CAN GET SUCH AN APPOINTMENT WITH OUT VERY GOOD INSURANCE IN THE USA………SOMETHING THAT SHITBAMA MADE LESS EFFICIENT IN HIS 8 YEARS OF CONSTANT AND CONSISTENT DOO DOO-ING?

WHAT IS A CRITICAL MEDICAL APPOINTMENT, DUMMY? TELL US? I DARE YOU

24. I sticking to my point, Hal is no economic guru…just overweight on the ego scale. People educated by institutions (not former polytechnics) in his own adopted homeland that he so often elevate and portray as superior, especially when comparing them to the UWI, are lost, incapable, clueless etc. But he, a former Senior Editor at the ftAdviser knows everything, about everything. It seems as though once you are Bajan and based in Barbados, Hal has a problem.

25. @ Enuff,

I am not an economist. So we agree.

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, re “What do you want me to say about the land of my new citizenship (I presume) or residence?”….not a thing, not a thing!

So let’s flip that around: What do you perceive you shold stop saying about the land of your first citenzenship and old residence?

If you have UK aphasia 😂 who am I to note how quickly you regain full faculties for overly negative Bim palaver…so if you cant speak then you cant speak…all good, oh lordie!

@Mr Can’t Discern Doc, this is no myopia definition folly… I now realized hat I omitted punctuation…there was no opening ” marks…so you are excused for your erroneous: “THIS STATEMENT WAS MADE BY DPD …”

It was NOT made by me…

… but then again any careful reader of my opening para who also noticed the set of ellipsis AND the closing quote marks would have discerned the statement was a tad more than my words…but alas, this man who pompesettes on his word skills but argues stupidly on the meanings of myopia choose to “monkey up” a simple post.

Pls note the quotations marks around ‘monkey’, I am merely echoing words from your governor! 🤣

You need not dare me to anything senor, in simple terms you have shown here repeatedly that a good education though as cherished and valuable as it always should be, can also be used like how that doctor used the ‘bone saw:’ as a destructive implement.

Go play with your educational saw!

27. Hal should tell us if it is true that poor families have been waiting over 15 years for social housing in his beloved Brent (according to Gabriel). Further, how many people/families across the entire London are on the housing waiting list? What about in the richest boroughs, where Russian oligarchs and other billionaires buy entire blocks and leave them empty? How many residents from Grenfell have been rehoused 18 months on? Like I said before, the UK didn’t stop Bajans from visiting or moving to the UK right after Hal plus there’s something called the INTERNET and I don’t mean google.😂😂 You’re the same “expert” that refused to accept the point made by me and the blogmaster that online shopping was decimating brick and mortar. Your neighbours may very well be already in tears.

28. The sting of the austerity measures on barbadians would never go away no matter how much sweet talk the IMF places in front of rhe people
    The long and short of the IMF measuing stick is one that is short on formulating a balanced economic plan without long term suffering and pain on the people
    No matter how much the IMF tries to use a rod of distraction to remind all and sundry how better things would become
    The policies under which a small nation has to endure cannot be overcome with reminders

29. ‘@Enuff,

All this will take a book. I do not love, or hate, Brent and drive through it occasionally. I am not aware of how many people are on the London housing waiting list, but there are too many. That information is available from the relevant authority. I do not know anything about the richest boroughs, or do I know any Russians. I am not aware of the Grenfell Tower statistics, but am waiting for the inquiry to report. I am not an expert on anything, as I have said on numerous occasions. I am not even an expert wat walking. As to the internet and bricks and mortar shopping, there is an impact, but the internet will not wipe out the high street. And my Australian neighbour is always joking and laughing.
    Anything else?

30. DPD

RE If you have UK aphasia
    WHAT IS AN APHASIA?

WHAT IS MYOPIA?
    WHAT IS AN educational saw?
    WHAT IS AN EMERGENCY POSTMORTEM

DO YOU ALSO ASK MEN TO GET BEHIND YOU LIKE BU’S TOP BRASS BOWL AND PROVOCATEUR WID DE WHACKER WHO WAS ADOPTED BY SOME BBE

CAN YOU ANSWER ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS…….ESPECIALLY TEACH ME ABOUT APHASIAS

31. Lawd you interpret neighbour literally…look I done. #fauxintellectuals#jesustakedewheel

32. Mariposa you are a sickening indivisual,everyday since your party got rightly redwashed you on here talking about poor people,tell me did the over 3000 sent home receive any thing in their hands and secondly has the beautify workers who were sent to a non existent Tribunal receive all their money up to today?I did not hear your voice back then talking about poor people being sent home why?This was because your party was sending them home,hyprocrite.Do you remember the name Ms L Marshall who you placed all her her personal business on this blog in defense of your party?All of us are sorry to see layoffs because of in my view incompetence of your party but both you and T Inniss can save us the crocodile tears,you are fooling no one ,you are still angry over the redwash.As for Waru my point stands you are a know all who in my view never run a breadshop yet and no one has elected piece or yourself to run anything.

33. How do you Yardfowl know what I have run, as I said, yall are notorious for being Grade A idiots..not even worth listening to cause ya are always the last to know anything ya political masters do…yardfowls wait for ministers to think for them then they slither onto the blog and regurgitate all the dumb crap and make themselves look even more stupid..

Don’t worry…ya will soon find out what is really going on…..we who were not elected cannot be thrown out of parliament 29-0 though…soon come…tick, tock…when those diplomatic passports and shit titles are TAKEN AWAY by the majority population…then ya will know…ask the DLP yardfowls and Donville..

34. “These are mere useless “dreamy dreamy” words. It has been documented that the private sector in Barbados thrives on bribing politicians, and hates competition of any kind. The annual Auditor-General reports show clearly how civil servants and private sector operatives conspire and collude to steal taxpayers’ money with no fear of repercussion or reprisal. Looking through the eyes of Bajans, these nationally destructive criminal practices are expected to continue unabated. A leaner, more efficient public sector my foot. Private-sector led growth my foot. Just words.”

That is their curse and blight that will NEVER go away until it is cleaned up…it will guarantee that investors will say the hell away from them ALL….no one likes THIEVES…and no investor wants to be associated with a nonfunctioning Supreme Court filled with thieves for lawyers and bribetaking judges…

35. Waru

Man you did saying the same shite over and over for how long now?

In the worst of times how many investir came here?

Sandals came in bad times and there expanding

How many other Bajan entities get take over but external sources during the worst of time under the DLP?

Ross coming and the thing in St George coming and these are early day in the country turning around

But continue shoveling your shite bro
    You and Hal

36. And who is benefitting??

YALL STILL cannot pay your debts..

All ya doing is borrowing, borrowing, borrowing and will continue to do so for the next 4 years 5 months…so who is benefitting..

ya borrowing so ya can borrow…so far..how much debt has been repaid????…name one debt that has been repaid….clown.

Again…too dumb for ya own good..

I have never seen so many RETARDED, BACKWARD ASSES…so HAPPY to be in DEBT…

37. Take note…all businesses that are being acquired…are marching right off the island…even SOL…so who is benefitting…certainly not you or the majority population…and ya have not even heard the latest yet, but I will certainly not be the one to tell ya..

38. THE BLOGMASTER WAS QUICK TO UPLOAD DEFINITIONS FOR MYOPIA AND DNA WHEN HE THOUGHT I WAS WRONG IN SHARING MY OPINIONS ABOUT THEIR PRIMARY DEFINITIONS

THE DEVIL CAME UP FROM HIS PIT IN HIS LAIR IN THE ABYSS TO OPINE

TODAY DPD THE BU POLITICAL SAGE TRIED TO EXCORIATE HAL AUSTIN WITH RESPECT TO UK APHASIAS, BUT HAS SO FAR BEEN ABLE IN HIS IGNORANCE TO TELL US WHAT AN APHASIA IS. SO LET ME SHARE A FEW THOUGHTS THEREON.

FIRST THERE ARE SENSORY APHASIAS AND THERE ARE MOTOR APHASIAS.

ALL OF US WHO WENT TO CHURCH AND SUNDAY SCHOOL KNOW WHAT A MOTOR APHASIA IS AS IT IS EXEMPLIFIED IN Luke 1:5-25 WHERE THE Birth of John the Baptist IS Foretold

yOU WILL RECALL THAT Zechariah REFUSED TO BELIEVE THE ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE ANGEL, AND WAS STRUCK DUMB BY RECEIVING A LESION IN BROCA’S AREA OR AREA 44 IN HIS BRAIN. THIS IS THE AREA THAT CONTROLS SPEECH.

AS THE STORY UNFOLDS WE SEE THAT ZECHARIAH THOUGH BEING ABLE TO RECEIVE AND INTERPRET SENSORY INPUT TO HIS BRAIN, I.E HE COULD UNDERSTAND INSTRUCTIONS BUT COULD NOT USE HIS MUSCLES FOR SPEECH……….HE HAD A MOTOR APHASIA

I HOPE YOU ALL LEARNED A BIT ABOUT APHASIAS THERE

39. Waru

Yuh switching

You did saying no investors coming

Point out to you that investors did coming even in the worst of time u switch to paying debt

40. Is the great industrial super doper USA debt free?

No one is proud to be in debt but most people know at some point in time u have to get a loan mortgage or some kind of investment if u want to move on

6 months just gone
    Debt is schedule to be paid in 21/22
    There is more to the new loans than paying off dept when there is also a need for FX to keep the country economy going
    And for reserve in case of natural disasters

41. Retard..the Credit Suisse debt is OVERDUE…20% of the debt is EXTERNAL…

Both governments landed the island in DEBT….over the last 25 years…

It will take another 20 o 30 yeas before investors risk their money in Barbados..maybe by then ya might actually have a real supreme court and not the current swamp of corrupt rats infesting that dump…

42. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Wonderful Progressive Barbados Asses running and dodging paying LOCAL DEBTS and this is December 2018. Barbados is a failed dismal island ran on corruption and incompetence.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Staff of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) could be locked out of their Pine, St Michael headquarters.

So fearful is management of this occurring that they moved all of the entity’s trucks, tankers and other equipment from the Pine on Friday to ensure they would have access to them if the building is locked down on Monday.

That is because the BWA has defaulted on the lease payment, and Innotech Aquaserve Ltd, landlords for the $44 million complex, issued a letter to the public utility company on December 5, giving it 48 hours to come up with the cash.

Sources told THE NATION that workmen spent several hours on Friday moving equipment off-site to the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment Plant complex at Lakes Folly, the City; the pumping station at Golden Ridge, St George; and the Barbados Defence Force headquarters. (MB)

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/221272/bwa-staff-lockout

43. CS loan is overdue and they have to wait until the external debt restructuring is completed just like everybody else.

Until then the new loans will help with supplies for the hospital etc.

If a hurricane do to Barbados like what happen to Dominica or we had an earthquake like what happen to Haiti it is then you want we running cap in hand begging other countries to help us rebuild?

You like hearing there is a shortage of drugs in the island or broken down equipment at the hospital causing delay in surgeries and dialysis and that kind of thing that was happening under the last government?

Well your ass don’t live here so if Mia got to borrow some money to keep thing running then we that here, living under the strain, with she.

You would prefer we stand with the pothole roads, irregular trash pick up, 4 hrs wait for bus to go in the countryside, all kind of sick buildings, exposed to natural disasters, and lack of medical supplies.

44. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

EXCUSES EXCUSES EXCUSES

BARBADOS IS A FAILED CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT ISLAND FROM TOP TO BOTTOM.

YOU IDIOTS DON’T KNOW WHEN YOU BORROW OR GET CREDIT MUST PAY BACK INSTEAD OF LINING POCKETS FOR AT LEAST 30 YEARS.

CHICKENS 🚺 HAVE COME HOME TO ROOST.

45. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ John2

I guess your Government wasn’t successful in pulling the wool over Innotech into taken useless junk bonds stretching payments over hundreds of years.

TIME TO PAY THE PIPER OR REPOSSESSION.

BARBADOS IS A FAILED ISLAND AND LAUGHING STOCK OF THE CARIBBEAN BROUGHT ON BY INCOMPETENCE AND CORRUPTION FOR AT LEAST THE LAST 30 YEARS.

46. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ John2

Even poor Guyanese in Guyana worried about being ripped of by Barbados based on Bonds purchased through a major entity.

GBTI’s minority Shareholders (39%) should demand forensic audit in the interest of all other stakeholders

Dear Editor,

Permit me space in your letter column to thank Mr. Rustum Bulkan for having referenced my analysis of GBTI’s 2017 Financials in a letter carried by this publication on June 19, 2018. Mr. Bulkan, in his letter carried on November 29, 2018, echoed the very concerns that I had highlighted in my writings in which it was explicitly concluded with the burning question, who is representing the interest of the minority shareholders?
    Without regurgitating much of the analysis previously done, that institution, we have established, is obviously financially weak and is very vulnerable to further exacerbated deterioration of its financial soundness especially in the absence of sound, professional and competent leadership.
    With regard to the financial analysis, another interesting point that should be highlighted which was not mentioned in the earlier analysis, is that, the Bank of Guyana Supervision Guideline No.5 Section 15 states, “An account shall be written-off three months after being classified as a loss unless it shows a definite and significant improvement, which indicates recovery within the next six months. A record of bad debts written-off shall be maintained in a memorandum account for monitoring purposes.”
    That being said, if one were to scrutinise and audit the bad-debt portfolio of GBTI, which is in excess of some $11 billion, it is almost certain to find billions of non-performing loans that are still reported on the balance sheet, that should have been written off in keeping with the statutory requirements.
    To this, GBTI may want to respond saying that these loans have been renegotiated, or in fact, this is what they have been doing; renegotiating many bad loans only to revert to being bad, and this is a shrewd and skilful way to avoid having them written off, because writing off these loans, would mean that the bank’s balance sheet would be weakened even further
    It would have to come from their reserves, bearing in mind that the loan-provisioning is already under-provided for by over $4 billion, so this would mean less real profit for the bank and less dividend paid to shareholders.
    So, from almost every dimension, GBTI, a once financially sound and healthy bank, is being destroyed by its careless and irresponsible Board of Directors – viz-a-viz, reckless financial management and questionable governance philosophies.
    Now, to wrap this up, and to further complement and build on Mr. Bulkan’s contentions, hereunder stated are a number of crucial factors of concern to which, it becomes imperative that GBTI issues a public statement to answer these questions in the interest of all stakeholders, particularly the minority shareholders:
    • From looking at the 2017 balance sheet under investments, GBTI has $7.8 billion in securities issued by foreign governments (including CARICOM countries), and $7 billion in corporate bonds giving rise to a total of $14.8 billion.
    In the interest of transparency, how much of this investment is concentrated in the Barbados Government Securities and how much is concentrated in Petrotrin Trinidad &Tobago? Both of these institutions have undergone massive restructuring of its debt owing to the structural reforms of the Barbados economy

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2018/12/07/gbtis-minority-shareholders-39-should-demand-forensic-audit-in-the-interest-of-all-other-stakeholders/

47. Continue to look for everything negative story about Barbados and post it.

Continue to use multiple monikers taking others for idiots.

Time is longer than twine.

48. This govt has heavily relied on Fake news and political propaganda as a way of easing the pain and multiple pressures it had placed on the people but as David states in his comment Time longer than twine and sooner rather than later the truth would come out
    Govt time of hiding would come to an end

49. This tiny island has been sold out and the media is amongst those auctioneers who have put barbados and barbadians on the auction block for whosoever will take advantage of its people
    A country now being taken over by the new state propaganda machine called the IMF who now sees only their interest to be that of priority while the people in this holiday season is left scraping the bottom of the barrell to make ends meet

50. Wonderful..and Mia STILL don’t want to lock up Lowe and Estwick for that scam against taxpayers…whose money built the building…why does Innotech own the lease…

“That is because the BWA has defaulted on the lease payment, and Innotech Aquaserve Ltd, landlords for the $44 million complex, issued a letter to the public utility company on December 5, giving it 48 hours to come up with the cash.”

“Well your ass don’t live here so if Mia got to borrow some money to keep thing running then we that here, living under the strain, with she.”

I actually have NO SYMPATHY FOR MIA …not on that score, she does not WANT SYMPATHY…she knows where all the STOLEN MONEY IS BURIED OFFSHORE..,.refuses to recover what was STOLEN FROM THE PEOPLE BY HER FRIENDS…none of that engenders sympathy in me…I will reserve my sympathy for those who are REALLY SUFFERING FROM THOSE THEFTS.

Wait until the other shoe drops…ya ain’t seen nothing yet.

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply