The following was posted to the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) website in July 2008. It is not necessary for the blogmaster to cover the below with comments except to say, ‘we not ready’.

See FTC recommendations on page 26 of the document embedded.

In 2007, the Commission began a follow-up inquiry into fee setting in the professions focusing especially on the schedule of legal fees for non-contentious matters.

The Commission had previously found that mandatory fees set by professional associations were in breach of the Fair Competition Act. However it stopped short of making the same finding in regard to non-contentious fees because they were set in statute. The Commission however determined that the schedule of legal fees for attorneys at law, represented a conflict with the principles of fair and open competition as advocated in the Fair Competition Act.

The Commission therefore has formally recommended that an amendment be made to the Legal Profession Act 1997, so that the fees charged for non-contentious matters can be recognised as being provided for reference only, and attorneys wishing to charge above or below these fees, being able to do so without reprisal.

This will resolve the conflict between the two statutes, and should allow for some competition in the legal profession.

See Fee Setting in the Professions II:  Follow-up Report. [pdf]

Closed July 2008

130 responses to “Fee Setting by Legal Profession and other Associations Left Unchecked by Successive Governments”

1. @ GP
    Are you REALLY grown up?

When Jesus instructed someone to ‘get behind him’… what was he…?
    Not just someone who can recognise the Devil when he sees him?

No wonder you are so unnerved by Bushie…
    Unlike most others here, you clearly KNOW who you are dealing with…
    …and it must REALLY piss you off nuh…!!

2. Monstrously, massive, MALE egos.

Yup.

That is what I see in this.

Look guys, a job is not that important, a title is not that important, status is not that important, money is not that important.

Monstrously, massive, MALE egos.

Yup.

That is what I see in this.

3. What is important?

Love is important.

I command you, “love one another”

Nothing else is important.

John 13:34-35 NIV “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples.”

4. Wow! Something is definitely wrong here! Seems like many people can’t sleep!

5. Simple Simon
    Love and Forgiveness are the two highest divine principles … and these two divine principles will keep many out of heaven … the Bible tell us: If I speak in tongues and have not love … I have nothing … if I prophesize and have not love … I have not anything … the two defining forces in our Christian walk … and many are unable to attain these two divine principles …

6. Simple Simon

The Bible also tell us to forgive one another … without love there is no forgiveness … when the man asked Jesus how often should I forgive my brother master… and Jesus said to him … 70 * 7 … it takes much love to forgive GP that much times …

7. Georgie Porgy

Yuh got the rum shop gine this here morning

We never assumed that a ‘man’ of your ilk would bring your book to such ‘behind- talk’ in such way. LOL

Yuh are doing the devil’s work for her.

8. Georgie Porgy pudding and pie

Kissed the boys and made them cry

When the girls came out to play

Georgie Porgy ran away.

9. Simple Simon

In the Christian faith you cannot say that you have forgiven your brother … and then you erect a high wall of separation … true forgiveness entails returning the injured party to the current state of affairs before the committed wrong…

10. GP needs help….
    Good potential… But spoiled by a hopelessly overgrown ego …and a mean spirit.
    But which of us are perfect…?

Shiite…. GP’s imperfection is just so …childish…

@ Lexicon
    Love is the ultimate test.
    It is the ONLY real measure
    It CANNOT be faked
    ….because the NATURAL impulse is to look after number ONE…
    LOVE is the natural tendency to look after OTHERS just as diligently…
    often even more so…

Boss, you got Bushie reviewing your credentials yuh…
    Part you went since you done with the Dompey moniker…?
    It like it paying some dividends boss,
    …cause every now and then you hitting like a rock-in-engine

11. None of us is perfect but there is enough for God to work with in all of us.

Bushie, ya whacker cyan wuk pon GP. He needs a gentle touch. LOL.

12. @BT
    It like it paying some dividends boss,
    …cause every now and then you hitting like a rock-in-engine
    Wuh happen? De hard edge wearing off and the gullibility showing up? We all know someone who talks a lotta shyte and then utters something profound once in a while and some of us are quick to reevaluate that individual’s acumen until they quickly revert to the norm.

My favourite was many years ago when an acquaintance said “yuh know X is known for talking gibberish but I was speaking with him the other day and he said “there are more questions than answers” and that left me wondering how did he acquire such insight until I heard the song and realized where he got it from”.

13. WHY IS IT THAT BU DOES NOT PUT UP MY POSTS?

DONNA I SLEPT WELL AFTER WATCHING A NIGHT OF ABSORBING TEST CRICKET FROM ADELAIDE

14. @ DONNA
    None of us is perfect but there is enough for God to work with in all of us.

Bushie, ya whacker cyan wuk pon GP. He needs a gentle touch.

YOU ARE CORRECT BUSH TEA WHACKER MY TAIL
    BUSH TEA IS SATAN’S SON AND THE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE DEVIL ON BU
    AND I RESIST THE DEVIL WITH ALL MY MIGHT

15. WHY IS THAT BU DONT PUT UP MY POSTS IN RESPONSE TO THE RUBBISH BY BUSH SHITE THE DEVIL?

I HONESTLY IN MY HEART BELIEVES HE IS THE SON OF SATAN THE SLANDERER

Bush Tea December 7, 2018 7:42 AM

Are you REALLY grown up?

When Jesus instructed someone to ‘get behind him’… what was he…?
    JESUS WAS GOD AND HE TOLD SATAN GET BEHIND HIM

YOU ARE NOT GOD. YOU ARE SCUM AND THE SON OF SATAN AND THE DEVIL’S REPRESENTATIVE HERE ON BU

Not just someone who can recognise the Devil when he sees him?
    NO YOU AGAIN TWISTED THE WORD AS USUAL

JESUS THE SECOND PERSON OF THE TRINITY TOLD SATAN TO GET BEHIND HIM
    YOU ARE A MAN TELLING ANOTHER MAN TO GET BEHIND HIM

No wonder you are so unnerved by Bushie…

I AM NOT UNERVED BY THE DEVIL

I RESIST HIM JUST AS I RESIST YOU

YOU DONT GET ME ANGRY AS YOU THINK.
    YOU MAKE ME LAFF AS I RESIST YOUR PERPETUAL SLANDER

Unlike most others here, you clearly KNOW who you are dealing with…

EXACTLY! Unlike most others here, I VERY CLEARLY KNOW who I AM DEALING WITH —–THE SON OF SATAN SATAN’S REPRESENTATIVE ON BU

…and it must REALLY piss you off nuh…!!
    NO YOU DONT PISS YOU OFF
    I RESIST YOU THE SON OF SATAN SATAN’S REPRESENTATIVE ON BU

I PISS YOU OFF AND YOU SLANDER ME. I CAN GET YOU TO DO THAT ANY TIME I WISH
    I JUST HAVE TO SAY CERTAIN THINGS AND YOU COME OUT OF YOUR LAIR IN THE PIT IN THE ABYSS

NOW I AM NOT ALLOWED TO MOCK YOU, THE PROVACATEUR

16. Georgie Porgie
    ” Donna none of us is perfect”

The big misconception hypocrites use when they want to continue in sin …GP what differentiates a Christian from a sinner…? God says to us … I am holy so be thou holy … and he that knoweth to do right and consciously does wrong has sin … GP what is the purpose of the Holy Spirit in your life if you continue to sin in words, thoughts and deeds…? If we cannot reach that level of divine perfect … why does God give us over to a reprobated mind to do those things that are contrary to His will…?

17. Georgie Porgie

What differentiates a Christian from a Sinner? A simple question for a man who runs away this blog beating people with the divine rod of correction …

18. ANY OF YOU Christians WILLING TO HELP THE OLD LADY ?

“The community of Warner’s Gap, Britton’s Hill, St Michael is gravely concerned about one of its elderly residents.

The woman, 78-year-old Margaret Carter, is living in deplorable conditions and the fear is she may soon die in the dilapidated, partially collapsed house.

In addition, there is a large pool of stagnated water outside the house, which neighbours said may be from a leak in a nearby pipe, despite Carter’s utilities having been disconnected.

When A NATION team visited the area, Carter said she was not feeling well and neighbours were arranging food for her. She did not respond to any further questions. (CA) “

19. lexicon

what differentiates a moron from a real scholar?
    YOU SHOULD HAVE NOTICED BY NOW THAT I DONT WASTE ANY TIME WITH YOU
    I AM NOT ONE OF THE POLICE AT DISTRICT A BOY

watch the devil BT come from his lair in the abyss now

i can flush him out any time i want

I JUST NEED TO USE CERTAIN KEY WORDS. IT WORKS EVERYTIME LIKE A CHARM WHEN EVER I REALLY GET REAL BORED

ITS LIKE A BOWLER JUST BOWLING A BALL SLIGHTLY WIDER IN A T20

20. Georgie Porgie

Taking and academic approach to Scripture does not make you a Christian … you have to genuflect and ball out to God to fill you with the Holy Ghost so that you can take a more spiritual rather than an academic approach to Scripture …

21. Georgie Porgie

Your very conversation is indicative of your ungodliness … I am holy … so be thou holy …

22. You should ask the obvious question, who has reported and given evidence in the matter, a fellow warder?(Quote)

The more important question is who made the decision to prosecute?

23. Hants

Start with the man in the mirror … what have you done but run off your mouth with your accusatory tone?

24. Georgie Porgie

You are a scholar … don’t mek mah laugh … where are the books you have authored …? What are you known for in the world of academia?

25. SHALL I DRAW THE PROVACATEUR AND SATAN’S SON BT FROM HIS LAIR IN THE ABYSS AGAIN TODAY FOR ONE OF IS SLANDEROUS RANTS AS I DID LAST NIGHT?

i can flush him out any time i want AS I DID LAST NIGHT

I JUST NEED TO USE CERTAIN KEY WORDS. IT WORKS EVERYTIME LIKE A CHARM WHEN EVER I REALLY GET REAL BORED

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As a fellow prison guard who

(1) is employed in the Mugabe regime

(2) is cognisant of the current draconian practices of firing dissidents

(3) has a reasonable and proven fear of being fired if they are seen not to be a team player, what do you think they should do???

27. Geogie Porgie

Your are the laughingstock on this blog … one you are a scholar … known for your quick temperament …lol…

28. RE where are the books you have authored …?

MY FIRST BOOK IS CALLED “PIMPING IN AND OUTSIDE DISTRICT A POLICE STATION” BY MARK FENTY

29. Georgie Porgie

So u was one dem dirty old men dat used tah trouble de people boy children behind district wall … ok I
    ..know you now GP …

30. NO DAT WAS YOUR FADDER OR STEP FADDER dat used tah trouble de people boy children behind district wall

AND de people boy children behind district wall INCLUDED YOU MARK FENTY

31. Weather under austerity or neo-liberalism the elites and those so minded are the enemies of the people – all of the elites.

It therefore should not be expected that the Bajan lawyer or lawyer-politician would lift a finger to stymie the radical transference of wealth to elite formations.

These actions will result in systemic poverty at levels hithertofore unknown.

Today in France, like all over the world, the Yellow Vest Movement, like ordinary peoples more generally, are rising up against the Napoleon / Marie- Antoinette of our time.

The elites in Barbados are saying the same thing – ‘let then eat cake’.

We have no intension of engaging the elites in a food fight. We have long contended that that well known French instrument must make an intervention in Barbados

Those who like to pretend that they are squeamish, selectively, fail to recall its application within the shadow of Tower of London less than 150 years ago.

32. This is at the heart of the matter and the weakest link.

33. The body of a second British woman to go missing in Jamaica has been found as police investigate three murders in two weeks.
    Barbara Findley, who moved to Jamaica from Kensington five years ago, was reported missing at the end of November.
    Police found her body on the side of a road on Wednesday, according to The Times.
    Ms Findley, who described herself as a photographer and stylist, was found by a car wash manager in woodland not far from her home.
    She is understood to have one daughter, who lives in Britain.
    It comes soon after the disappearance of Karen Cleary, a 44-year-old woman from London who was in Jamaica building her dream home.(Quote)

Is this what people are returning to the Caribbean to?

34. What is the outcome of the court appearance by the prison officer?

35. THIS WAS POSTED ON BU EARLIER TODAY
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/220685/elderly-woman-living-squalor

IN AMONGST ALL THE TALK ABOUT LOVING YOUR NEIGHBOUR IN THE ATTEMPT TO DISCREDIT ME FOR TELLING THE TRUTH ABOUT AN IDIOT

BUT WHERE IS THE DISPLAY OF LOVE FROM BU AND THE BU LOVERS IN BIM?

NO ONE HAS SUGGESTED TO PICK UP DONATIONS TO HELP THE OLD LADY

YOU SEE THE BU BRIMBLERS LOVE IN WORD BUT NOT IN DEED

YOU SEE THE BU BRIMBLERS LOVE NUFF LONG TALK……BUT THEY ARE INCPABLE OF ACTION

BU BRIMBLERS HAVE NUFF LONG TALK BOUT LOVE BUT THEY HAVE NO LOVE IN THEIR HEARTS ah lie?

YOU SEE BU IS ONLY A TALK SHOP………ONLY A RUM SHOP TALK SHOP. NO ONE TAKES ACTION ABOUT NUTTIN ah lie?

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The phenomenon of murdering returning nationals is endemic across the Caribbean

If you check out this issue you will see that it is a big problem in Guyana and Jamaica.

In Barbados while it is not as prevalent, what happens is that the KILLINGS ARE DONE BY contractors who they paid to build their houses.

AND THE LAWYERS WHO THEY APPOINT TO CONVEYANCE GHE WILLS AND CARETAKE SAID PROPERTIES.

But all this killing by the lawyers and professionals is going to continue for a short while only and then we will see a new order arise.

Mark de ole man’s words

37. This man should never allow these savages in the system to violate his human rights in an effort to avoid paying him his settlement money…they are all criminals who refuse to treat each other like humans..hopefully he sues them ALL and wins another settlement..

Why is no one locking up the thieves from the former DLP government, the thieves in the Bar Association who rob people and the thieves in the minority business community who stole hundreds of millions of dollars over the years from the treasury and NIS Pension Fund.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/220862/prison-officers-president-released-bail

“Prison officer Trevor Browne has been granted bail on four charges after a morning appearance in the District ‘C’ St Matthias Magistrates’ Court.

The trade unionist was represented by Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim and supported by General Secretary of the Unity Workers Union Senator Caswell Franklin, pleaded not guilty to four charges of maliciously endeavouring to seduce four prison officers from their duties between May 1 and 9 this year.”

38. “But all this killing by the lawyers and professionals is going to continue for a short while only and then we will see a new order arise.”

Of course they will try to rearrange the way thieving is done…problem for them is, they are ALL LOW ON CREATIVITY…, so it won’t be hard to spot ….BY THOSE OF US WHO CAN SEE and EXPOSE for the world to also have a good look.

39. What is the outcome of the prison officer appearing in court? Is the hearing being covered by our media? If so, do they consider the outcome to be urgent/breaking news?

40. MAN CHECK THE NATION NUH?

41. I am wondering if these clowns in parliament and in the system as a whole are actually viewing themselves like the outside world is viewing the crap they are doing on the island and ONLY TO THEIR OWN PEOPLE, or are they so delusional they are telling themselves no one can tell what is happening..or that people are enjoying watching them violate each other’s rights, if it is the latter, they are sadly mistaken…

#######################

Wuhloss..the State AGs got subpoenas out there,,,wuhloss…not even I was expecting that this soon.

https://www.politicususa.com/2018/12/04/state-ags-just-subpoenaed-all-of-trumps-tax-returns.html?fbclid=IwAR079f4ZKEPR3dpelZ-kmXweUZeMPtnihBn3EGsNizl8boVJyHAuAJZu1kQ

42. “MAN CHECK THE NATION NUH?”

lol, lol..

43. Prison officer Trevor Browne has been granted bail on four charges after a morning appearance in the District ‘C’ St Matthias Magistrates’ Court.
    The trade unionist was represented by Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim and supported by General Secretary of the Unity Workers Union Senator Caswell Franklin, pleaded not guilty to four charges of maliciously endeavouring to seduce four prison officers from their duties between May 1 and 9 this year.
    Chief Magistrate Christopher Birch released him on $1 000 bail and adjourned the matter until February 18, 2019. (Quote)

This may pass in Barbados as a court report, but it is nonsense. The principle of news reporting is not to leave the reader asking further questions. Why was the case adjourned until February? Is he suspended on full pay? There are four charges, but what are the details, if the details were not given in court, then why not? He is supported by Caswell, but what about his association? Why $1000 bail, for what? Are there restrictions on his bail? Then there are the basics: his age, address, etc?
    We must hold the feet of these incompetent magistrates to the fire. Is the delay caused by the gridlock in the Registry, or is it because of the chief magistrate’s diary?
    It is a bad court report, which can be resolved by basic training..

44. Walter Blackman Avatar

Prices in Barbados are either structural or market driven.

A notorious example of high prices being structurally driven is the ICBL case in which an insurance company was allowed, with no competition, to set its premiums artificially high enough to pay bribes and still register a handsome profit. Market forces were given no chance to operate because corruption was involved.

After reading the introductory document to this blog above, I can see clearly that some high prices in the legal arena are being structurally driven by statute. Market forces are not being allowed to operate. However, there is no corruption involved.

How can we solve this problem? An enlightened government (certainly not the one we had from 2008 – 2018) will quickly realize that this is basically a trivial matter. Market forces should be allowed to play a role in the charging of legal fees. Any justifiable reduction in prices to consumers should be encouraged across the board.Therefore, no lawyer ought to be “criminalized” because he/she, through efficiency or a lower profit motive, decides to charge lower fees for their services. If the government does not move speedily on a trivial matter like this, then a “real” opposition should be able to generate a lot of political mileage. A lot of lives are touched and affected.

Joseph Atherley is a man of God , and a man of the Devil. Thus, if he puts his mind to it, there is nothing on Earth that he should not be able to get done.

45. For those who still don’t know, despite being bajan AND complaining about the lousy reporting……that the island is still in the dark ages…voluntarily so by its backward leaders…so, to get information, one will need to peruse several sources of news…including those shitty online newspapers that are totally political bottom feeders and lowlife to the core.

Nurse is known as an extremely nasty piece of work and a prime example why some black people should NEVER have any power, no matter how minute…over each other…the negros can be evil.

https://barbadostoday.bb/?post_type=post&p=284891

“Just last month, and in a separate matter, Browne made a bid for his boss, Superintendent of Prisons John Nurse, to be held in contempt of a court order to have him (Browne) promoted and paid damages.

Browne has already instructed his lawyers to apply for the contempt order in the High Court.

The move by Browne stems from an earlier successful lawsuit against the prison boss as the first defendant and the Attorney General as the second, in which he claims he was superseded by junior colleagues.

On September 4, Justice William Chandler ordered the prison superintendent to have the claimant appointed to act in the post of orderly officer and that damages be paid to him.”

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dr. GP,

I saw that this morning when Hants put that up

I actually copied the address that he wrote just to paste it and sat that this Ministry of elder care is the most inept minustry in Barbados

It started under the so called apostle David Durant and now culminates with talky talky Cynthia Forde and her Permanent Secretary Gabrielle Springer

One thing that I am sure of is that God does not sleep and the evil that men do WILL BE REVISITED UPON THEM as they will see, in the fullness of time

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Justice William Chandler is one of the few principled and host Justices on the Bench.

Would that there could be more like him who owe no allegiances to anyone and their jobs with integrity

He is an honest, giant of a man.

Of course there will be those who will make their remarks about what they, being bound by the physical see, but when you see his spirit his towers above the rest of them like a Colossus

48. @Hants December 7, 2018 12:20 AM “The woman, 78-year-old…”

Where is her spouse? Where are her Children?

Where are her grandchildren?

Where are her siblings?

49. @Hal Austin December 7, 2018 5:44 AM “Browne is charged that between May 1 and 9, he maliciously endeavored to seduce prison officer Shanell Ellis-Vaughn from her duty and did the same thing to Ophneal Austin, David Davis and Stephenson Trotman during the same period.”

Seems like a big, big charge for allegedly seducing people not to come to work.

Bajans do not show up to work everyday. Bajans don’t need to be seduced in order to call in sick.

We call in sick for bare sport…and to rip off the NIS.

This is common knowledge.

Anybody on this blog who has NEVER called in sick, when they were NOT sick, please raise your hand.

Any Parliamentarian, past or present who has NEVER called in sick at any job, not just the Parliamentary pick, please raise your hand.

Bajans have the highest life expectancy in the English speaking Caribbean, yet they have the highest rate of sick leave.

I still can’t understand how healthy long livers are so sick so often.

Unless of course…

ALL OF US ARE A BUNCH OF LIARS.

50. @Donna December 7, 2018 8:32 AM “Wow! Something is definitely wrong here! Seems like many people can’t sleep!”

I slept very well. By 8:32 a.m. I was already out working in the ground. By 11:30 a.m. I had a nice lunch of self grown sweet potatoes and kale stir fried with my own fresh herbs. A pork chop rounded it off nicely. And a glass of water. I expect to sleep well tonight too.

It is my hope that lexicon approves of my lunch.

Leave a Reply to PachamamaCancel reply