The following articles posted by fellow blogger over at caribbeansignal.com, separating signal from noise Barbados Underground

Barbados Fuel Price Change December 2018

From mid-night December 2 consumers paid less for gasoline and diesel. The retail price of gasoline fell from $3.91 BDS per litre to $3.71, 20 cents / 5.1% less. The retail price of diesel fell from $3.20 BDS per litre to $3.17, 3 cents / 0.9% less (Source: Barbados Government Information Service).

See link to full texthttps://www.caribbeansignal.com/2018/12/05/barbados-fuel-price-change-december-2018/

DeLisle Worrell: The Threat of Barbados Dollar Devaluation Remains – The Threat of Barbados Dollar Devaluation Remains

Prime Minister Mottley’s unprecedented achievement in securing financial support from the IMF, the Interamerican Development Bank and the Caribbean Development Bank, has averted an imminent threat of devaluation. However, even though the risk of immediate devaluation has lifted, it has not gone away. Loans from the international financial institutions have bought the Barbados Government some time; Government must use this breathing space to negotiate a mutually satisfactory agreement with holders of US dollar-denominated bonds. In the absence of debt restructuring which is agreeable to the holders of those bonds, the threat of devaluation reemerges in three years’ time.

See link to full texthttps://www.caribbeansignal.com/2018/12/05/delisle-worrell-the-threat-of-barbados-dollar-devaluation-remains/

44 responses to “Fuelling Devaluation!”

1. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

‘fess up! your $BDS is already devalued. When I send  $U.S1.00 to my private banker in Barbados, $BDS 5.00 shows up on my Barbados savings account. I guess this good for you people. I can send you a legal document. Red-caps, taxi drivers and barmen at hotels are doing very well, thank you. Haynes Darlington.   

2. Where is BERT when you need him most?

3. Could not resist making this observation!!

Trump is way ahead of the game.

Got out of the Paris Accord and now Paris like it has twigged he is right.

Citizens set it on fire!!

http://www.msn.com/en-xl/northamerica/northamerica-top-stories/trump-mocks-macron-again-over-french-fuel-tax-protests/ar-BBQwcqW?li=BBKxOeO&ocid=spartandhp

We dummies here are trying to singlehandedly solve the Global Warming nonsense by restricting the consumption of fossil fuel through taxation!!!!

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

who says the price of gasoline, ie TAXES, has anything to do with trying to reduce a carbon footprint, rather than an attempt to raise government revenue?
    We import like crazy, and have little recycling. Our garbage sorting efforts are near non-existent. Our duties do not recognize items packaged in recyclable/reusable materials versus those which create a mountain of garbage. We do not separate food waste from other waste. I suggest, we have no formal plan to reduce our carbon footprint.

5. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

Why would government offer motorists the 30 cent reduction in the price of fuel instead of keeping it to help close the deficit? Furthermore wouldn’t one expect that the higher the price of fuel the greater the moderation of its use in car-pooling, less acceleration and general road use ? If gasoline in Barbados is over $14.00 per gallon and motorists still haven’t learned to conserve it, Government should capitalize on this lunatic indiscipline for greater revenue collection. Certainly it might be applied to help repair roads and to avoid raising bus fares.

6. Former Central Bank Governor representing the external bond holders is a conflict of interest or unprofessional given his pronouncements while in the office?

7. QUESTION Where is BERT when you need him most?
    ANSWER he went to help ERNIE WHO HAS A “dyspeptic disposition of the Statler and Waldorfs personality types borderING on schizophrenia”

8. Former Central Bank Governor representing the external bond holders is a conflict of interest or unprofessional given his pronouncements while in the office?(Quote)

Nonsense. What is the conflict of interest? The former governor is a working person and is using his professional expertise to advise clients. If there is a fear of a conflict, then it must be written in to law. Is there a law barring former ministers or senior civil servants from working in the sectors in which they were ministers or civil servants?

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

Rare, but I agree with HA.
    And will add, forget former, do current elected persons ie the speaker, continue to practice?

10. CAREFUL HAL CAREFUL
    YOU CANT EXPECT THE DUMMY TO SEE THAT THE former governor is a working person and is using his professional expertise to advise clients OR THAT If there is a fear of a conflict, then it must be written in to law.

YOU NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT Given that time is precious, YOU MUST NOT waste it by continually haemorrhaging it in the role as keyboard warriors BECAUSE you WILL open yourself to nerves being frequently pinged. PLEASE KINDLY BE surgical in your plethora of attacks AND DO SO playfully. MURDAH

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin 8:49 AM

Must we Bajans legislate morals and professional ethics?
    We used to know what is fair and what is right. They were written into our DNA. Perhaps when we live abroad too long we become genetically modified by an osmotic process.

Lord have mercy.!!!

12. NO
    I AGREE WITH HIM TOO
    EVEN THOSE WITH MYOPIA AND the dyspeptic disposition of the Statler and Waldorfs personality types border on schizophrenia ARE SOMETIMES CORRECT IN THEIR OPINIONS

13. @Vincent

One can rely on you to approach the issue from the thinking of the blogmaster.

14. RE We used to know what is fair and what is right. They were written into our DNA. Perhaps when we live abroad too long we become genetically modified by an osmotic process.

IS THAT HIGH SCIENCE OR HYPERBOLE? OR JUST BULL SHIT?
    AS A MYOPIC DYSPEPTIC SCIENTIST MYSELF I AM LOSS AS TO HOW PERSONS CAN BE GENETICLLY MODIFIED BY AN OSMOTIC PROCESS. IS THIS REVERSE OSMOSIS? DOES IT INVOLVE ASSISTED CARRIERS OF THE M-RNAS TO THE RIBOSOMES? WHAT?

15. DNA

Genetics . deoxyribonucleic acid: an extremely long macromolecule that is the main component of chromosomes and is the material that transfers genetic characteristics in all life forms, constructed of two nucleotide strands coiled around each other in a ladderlike arrangement with the sidepieces composed of alternating phosphate and deoxyribose units and the rungs composed of the purine and pyrimidine bases adenine, guanine, cytosine, and thymine: the genetic information of DNA is encoded in the sequence of the bases and is transcribed as the strands unwind and replicate. Compare base pair, gene, genetic code, RNA.
    the set of nongenetic traits, qualities, or features that characterize a person or thing:

https://www.dictionary.com/browse/dna

16. @ Vincent,

Professional ethics ARE legislated. The point is that is it a legal right to continue your professional training after leaving one place of work? The law allows for this even with car mechanics and hairdressers. You cannot use a bogus conflict notion to prevent someone from legally carrying out his/her profession. Restrictive agreements are common place.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

When one aspires to be an educated person one acquires a modicum of humility. When are you going to get some?

18. YOU DONT KNOW ME MR CODRINGTON
    RE one acquires a modicum of humility. When are you going to get some?
    WALMART IS OUT OF STOCK SIR

19. the set of nongenetic traits, qualities, or features that characterize a person or thing:
    THAT IS BULL SHIT!
    HOW CAN DNA BE NONGENETIC WHEN GENETICS IS THE ESSENCE OF DNA

THIS IS REAL DNA
    deoxyribonucleic acid: an extremely long macromolecule that is the main component of chromosomes and is the material that transfers genetic characteristics in all life forms, constructed of two nucleotide strands coiled around each other in a ladderlike arrangement with the sidepieces composed of alternating phosphate and deoxyribose units and the rungs composed of the purine and pyrimidine bases adenine, guanine, cytosine, and thymine: the genetic information of DNA is encoded in the sequence of the bases and is transcribed as the strands unwind and replicate

I NEARLY FALL OUT MY CHAIR READING THE ATTEMPT OF A BU BIOCHEMISTRY ILLITERATE SEEKING TO TELL ME WHAT DNA IS

IS THEIR A DICTIONARY ENTRY FOR BU ILLITERATE TOO?

20. OH MR CODRINGTON SIR
    I DONT ASPIRE FOR NOTHING DOWN HERE ANY MORE
    I KNOW WHOM I HAVE BELIEVED
    I AM ON BU TO intrigue by MY articulation in delivery.
    IF YOU DONT LIKE MY articulation in delivery YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO.

I HAVE NOW MASTERED THE ART OF BEING A PROVOCATEUR AND IN CHALLENGING ON BU
    WHY ARE THEY SO MANY THIN SKINNED FOLK ON BU?
    THEY WOULD GIVE BUT THEY CANT TAKE?

21. NorthernObserver
    December 5, 2018 8:41 AM

who says the price of gasoline, ie TAXES, has anything to do with trying to reduce a carbon footprint, rather than an attempt to raise government revenue?

+++++++++++++++++++

Just having some sport!!

Whatever fossil fuels Barbados uses is tiny in the overall scheme of things!!

22. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

i am aware that the local price of fuel often ebbs and flows with the prices of crude on the world market. I was told by those who know or are supposed to know that diesel and gasoline is purchased a few months before its delivered into our gas tnaks etc. The price of crude is down about $25.00 or close to 30% if any was purchased in Oct/Nov for delivery into our gas tanks 8 weeks from then. 8 weeks will be Jan/Feb 2019. I am looking forward to Jan/Feb 2019 to see what the 30% decline in world crude prices translates when we purchase fuels locally. This will give us some ideas as to if the GOB is not passing on the saving even although they have added their fuel tax which is a fixed amount per litre and should be a predictable impact on the retail price of fuel.

23. There is a view shared with the blogmaster that the high freight cost given our fuel source is responsible for the negative behaviour of the price point at the pump to world price.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

Freight costs are relatively fixed, unless the freighter is a subsidiary of the buyer, and they choose to shift profits. Over time, freight should not be a major cause of pump price fluctuations. It should be more related to variances in the supplied product price, and the profit margins sought by the various players, much of which is controlled in Barbados.

25. Is was offered that Barbados was shipping via Bahamas and this became a factor in final cost. This is an area of operations both political parties have been reluctant to divulge information to the public.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

We know from the SOL sale, they owned several of their own ships. Via anywhere, means less than a full load? The reluctance is likely related to admitting how much money BNTCL/BNOCL make. Any profit centre within government, regularly becomes a feeding trough for professional service providers. It helps when you don’t submit audited annual reports?

27. Gas comes down by 20 cents and BU david finds much delight in highlighting such an article
    In the meanwhile retrenched workers are fighting to get by law monies due to them and David BU sees nothing of importance to such a pressing issue which borders on illegal and unfairness meted to the retrenched workers

28. “In the meanwhile retrenched workers are fighting to get by law monies due to them….”

Hmmmm………

I remember you being UNSYMPATHETIC towards those public sector employees who were retrenched between January and March 2014, under your regime…… and your “arrogant contempt” for those who, having not received their severance payments at the time of their dismissal, decided to take their complaints to the media, because they did not receive payments on the dates they were told such payments would be forthcoming.

I also remember how your regime took REVENGE against former Transport Board employee Lisa Marshall for going to the media…….by making certain information from her personal file AVAILABLE to the public, via Barbados Underground……. to give the impression she stole money from TB……

………..and you “took delight” in JOINING your DLP colleagues to call her a thief, without having all the necessary substantiating evidence……..because, at that time, it was politically expedient for you to do so.

You never showed “one once” of sympathy for those retrenched former Beautify Barbados employees, who had to wait 3 years before receiving their severance payments.

However, I’m happy to know that you have finally realised the “error of your ways” at that time and your attitude towards retrench public sector employees has CHANGED tremendously.

I’m also happy that the concern you are now showing for these retrenched workers is GENUINE…….. and not POLITICALLY MOTIVATED.

Congratulations to you.

29. @Mariposa,

Yu are right again. The principle is that redundant workers are either paid on their last day of work, or on the next due date of their payment. People have bills to pay, children to feed.
    A long delay speaks to moral and financial bankruptcy. It will all end in tears.
    Barbados is a failed state.

30. In your opinion…..and for obvious reason….. Mariposa is “right again.”

But YOU are WRONG.

Under the Severance Payment Act 3 A (1): “A severance payment that is required to be paid by an employer under section 3 shall be paid within 2 months of its becoming due, or within such longer period, not exceeding 4 months, as the Board allows.”

31. Artax – Why bother? Stupse. Imagine Hal professes to be an intellectual and supports Mariposa, the lady with many names but one empty brain, in her igrunce.

32. An Intellectual? I did not go to school. I said the PRINCIPLE. I know t he keyboard warriors on BU can sometimes be dumb, but a principle is something different to the law.
    People all over the world are made redundant, not just from the public sector in Barbados.
    In case you did not get it first time: the principle is to get the person made redundant off the books and out of the premises as soon as possible. Sometimes they are even escorted out of the building.

33. RE a principle is something different to the law.

THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED!
    LAWS ARE JUST IMPERSONAL RULES

34. “I know the keyboard warriors on BU can sometimes be dumb.”

According to Georgie Porgie…….“THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED!”

Recently, we had a classic example of that statement when a pantomath was arguing the brain is a muscle and then trying to manipulate himself out of his folly.

35. David BU
    Question do you really think that a 20 cents drop in gas price would make a hell of a difference
    So what is the big deal in putting an article which is not even a drop in the financial bucket for savings when people are paying huge taxes and visitors and tourist alike are being slammed at the airport and hotels with outrageous levies

36. Btw Mariposa like being wrong especially when the blp yardfowls finding it necessary to stand on the firing line and expose their political leanings
    The redundant workers at time of dismissal must be paid end of story
    Why are workers who are being dismissed after years of paying into NIS told sorry but you are not included
    After since this govt took office they have found every loop hole and reason to deny hard working citizens their rightful dues
    First the local investors and pensioners now the workers
    What a dam shame

37. AC AKA MARIPOSA

YOU ARE ASKING TO MATCH TO EXPECT BETZPAENIC BLP YARDFOWLS TO UNDERSTAN THAT IT IS NO big deal in putting an article which is not even a drop in the financial bucket for savings when people are paying huge taxes and visitors and tourist alike are being slammed at the airport and hotels with outrageous levies

I THANK GOD I DIDNT JOIN THE PARTY WHEN THEY CAME IN MY YARD WHEN THEY LOST BADLY IN 1986

CAN YOU IMAGINE THAT NOW I WOULD HAVE TO BE FIGHTING MIA OFF FROM TRYING TO BITE MY DARLING WIFE, INTER ALIA

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Haynes
    “When I send $U.S1.00 to my private banker in Barbados, $BDS 5.00 shows up on my Barbados savings account.”

I’m your private banker, a banker for money,
    I’ll do what you want me to do,
    I’m your private banker, a banker for money,
    Any ole dollar will do.

and then another famous tune

“Last thing I remember, I was
    Running for the door
    I had to find the passage back to the place I was before
    ‘Relax’ said the night man,
    ‘We are programmed to receive.
    You can check out any time you like,
    But you can never leave!’”

Withdrawn any of those Bajan dollars recently?

39. “The redundant workers at time of dismissal must be paid end of story..”

And I AGREE with you wholeheartedly.

Only if you had NOT REMAINED SILENT and showed a LITTLE CONCERN for Lisa Marshall and those retrenched former Beauty Barbados employees who had to wait THREE (3) YEARS to be PAID their severance payments……

Anyhow, I’m sooooooo happy that you NOW have a change of heart and your CONCERN for the recently retrenched public sector employees is GENUINE……

………. and NOT politically motivated.

40. Mariposa,

Keep up the fight. The point is that the Motley government has nothing new to offer the people of Barbados. The only change is that this time it will end in tears.

41. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Georgie Porgie December 5, 2018 3:41 PM

I look forward to the day that some political party place in their manifesto/plartform that they will seek to repeal the Law of Gravity?

Principle and man made laws? Water and oil

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@fuzzy
    who used to sing that song…..Bourne from Ivory?

43. See, I told you guys – there is a song for everything!

Tina Turner, Eagles, Ivory.

I was a sheep some years ago

I’m not a sheep anymore

Ma ma ma maaaa!!

Here’s Duke Check -ed Shirt,

When the bitters are gone and yuh got no sweets

Up and down the street like a foolish sheep

Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

44. The harsh local economic conditions may have put a damper on commercial investment activities, but it is not stopping residents from taking out motor vehicle loans, according to one of this island’s major financial firms.
    Chief Executive Officer of SigniaGlobe Financial Group Inc. Paul Ashby said while the company had seen a weakening in its commercial loans portfolio over the past two years, it was the opposite for vehicle loan activity.(Quote)

Classic proof that the government has lost control of the economy. Where is the minister of economic affairs? Where is the regulator? Quite clearly they do not care, or do not realise they can intervene in commercial lending policy. Is this what they want foreign reserves for? It is going to end in tears. Barbados is a failed state.