While the early indications are that our economy is showing some signs of recovery, I still believe our most potentially challenging obstacle remains the inability to effectively implement.

In theory it may be great to have large boards considering all sorts of possible ways to improve how we do business in tourism or any other sector, however, unless these groups are focused and efficaciously implement the solutions discussed, it results in very little improvement.

While graphically recalling some of the first boards that I sat on and hearing the often repeated comments of, why are we discussing the same things that we did twenty years ago. Let us not continue down that route again. Consequentially from a lifetime involved in tourism, it is also very easy to get branded as a lone wolf or not seriously considered as a team player.

In reality, very little is achieved by individuals and we all need the support and assistance by others who usually add a different perspective to objectives. The balance is to approve projects that can be taken to a logical and meaningful conclusion in a cost-effective way. Tenacity can be interpreted as high-handedness and putting strict time limits on extracting decisions from those involved can prove negative, rather than positive, but it’s frequently the only way the task in hand can be completed.

As we rapidly approach the peak tourism season, with perhaps at no period in our recent history, being so critical at this time to our financial wellbeing. My sincere hope is that our policymakers will focus and aggressively pursue projects that have a realistic hope of fruition.

Those fortunate few who have been appointed to the various boards and committees have to seriously ask themselves, can I make a positive contribution or should I step aside and let someone more capable take my place?

There also appears to be more than few glaring areas from a tourism perspective which need immediate attention, including substantial upgrades to Oistins, St. Lawrence Gap and Bridgetown.

The price paid for the ‘product’ by our visitors this winter, will in most cases, be higher than they have ever been confronted with before, due to the imposition of various new taxes.

It therefore seems unreasonable, that they will not in return realistically expect some improvements, even in the most basic of provisions like adequate and clean lavatory facilities, in what we proudly boast is our most visited attraction.

No reasonable person honestly expects Government to do everything, so perhaps corporate Barbados can play a greater contribution. Like, I am sure, very many others much admire the ongoing initiative by our indigenous paint company, under a banner that ‘Preserves Heritage’ to highlight our very special architecture.

What a difference a couple of coats of paint could make to so many other neglected and often derelict buildings across the island.

49 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Tourism Product Needs a Coat of Paint”

1. Jamaica cleaned up the World Tourism Awards in Spain yesterday.

2. Clean up the streets, pick up the garbage on the beaches , and stop pumping human waste into sea at Worthing. That would be a good start

3. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

I currently receive 4% interest per annum on my savings account on the Island (Barbados). My banker has advised me as of December 3rd 2018, it takes $BDS 5.00 to purchase $US 1.00. Dr. Worrell back in 1989 showed $BDS 1.00, would buy $U.S. 0.50 cents.

Haynes Darlington.

4. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

I would personally like help to find a way to remind both stakeholders and our markets that in 2025 Barbados can lay claim to the 400th anniversary of her European settlement and that it is not too early to start preparing or advertising for the opportunities such a celebration can bring.

Holetown is one of the oldest continuously inhabited settlements in the Caribbean. The design of products and services as well as events to capitalize properly on a Quadricentennial involves the development of wide public awareness and consensus . . . and it takes time. Our latest Tourism Master Plan (2012-2023) that took so long to be published, does not even even mention it !!

Of late there has been a revival in interest in ancestry thanks to the various DNA testing services. Not an inconsiderable number of people from our tourism markets are discovering that they have a Caribbean immigration somewhere in their “tree”, and are therefore prime prospects for meaningful tourism experiences . . . . as well as support.

Barbados can use the announcement of an upcoming 400th anniversary to rekindle interest in the island long before the year itself – and long after the year as well if it is promoted vigorously. It is perfectly genuine marketing. We should use what we have . . . painted or not !!

5. How large is the heritage segment?

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

It would be so nice if we would all individually apply a coat of paint to our properties. Would an increase in demand lead to a reduction in prices?

@ PP&P at 9 :42 AM

400th Anniversary of settlement by Europe and Africa.

Wonderful tourism marketring opportunity. And Cultural retooling efforts.

7. Read exactly what is recommended here being done by Sandals in Oistins.

8. Let me ask a silly question.

Assuming that I do not share in the tourist dollars, besides patriotism, what would incentivize me to outlay my meager resources on paint.

9. come on….how much paint does it take to paint a coconut cart…..When 40 percent of employment and gdp is from the tourism sector I think everything and everyone is affected by it Roads ,security,sanitation to name a few.

10. There is a point at ‘which the rubber meets the road’. Whilst to sounds simple to some ‘a coat of paint’ may stretch the resources of some.

With people losing their jobs and probably their only source of income, they may not be able to participate in a paint Barbados program

11. *to sounds= it sounds

12. John F. Walmart beat me to it. I thought by now the promised debushing would have started as well.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You see you Theophillus?

Here it is that a tourism muguffy has open his mouf and talk bout painting de nasty place.

And without so much as a “by your leave sir” you come here with a dose of reality and say ” what de so and so tourism got to do wid you, a feller who is a S3 in government and pun de bread line”

Furthermore you mek Loveridge put on clean glasses when you tell him about the serious deficit in patriotism that we bajans suffer with.

Jes now de Honourable Blogmaster going ban you for putting dese inane speakers in dem place!!!

Watch he now!!!

14. Over the next few weeks, Worthing Beach in Christ Church will be ground zero, as the fight to turn the tide on the South Coast sewage crisis takes on a new twist.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/219774/sewage-fix

15. This is what unencumbered movement between caricom country’s means…..trinidad sends its sewage to barbados …barbados sends sewage it to haiti

16. I am referring to the smartly named marine outfall or shit pipe

17. poorpeacefulandpolite Avatar
    poorpeacefulandpolite

Genealogy tourism is the more operative target. A combination of this with heritage tourism has shown its value in all the colonial era settlements of America. Much of African American tourism to the Caribbean is motivated by peoples’ search for roots.

18. So are they really going to just pump it into the far out sea.? Is this the recommended way of dealing with it? Your comments would be extremely funny if the situation were not so serious. I was hoping that I was mistaken when I read the name marine outfall.

19. We need to sand blast and then a coat of paint! The Barbadian has become immune to the smell and look of garbage so we have to start forcing them to keep around them clean by introducing fines. This country has been neglected for so long it will take a massive effort by all Barbadians to clean it up.

20. Too much garbage.

21. Look fella Improvement and paint and run down buildings that open there doors to tourist are not new
    However what is new are the levies and taxes which Tourist has to pay for accommodation for these sore eyes nasty hotel rooms
    The question which needs to be asked of some of these hoteliers who were in the past ten years given govt assistance by way of loans as an agreement to repair or to expand their room stock what happened to the money
    These antelopes and interlopers should be shamed by govt cause they know who they are along with articles to name and shame them
    These kind of business owners are the type who have placed barbados on the edge of economic disaster and a country flying helplessly on the wings of being called a failed state

22. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

“And we are also richly blessed because we have the association today with one of the most innovative and exciting companies on planet earth,”

Why is the Minister of Tourism Kerrie Symmonds so excited?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/09/virgin-launches-first-ever-departure-beach-location-in-barbados/

23. And we are also richly blessed because we have the association today with one of the most innovative and exciting companies on planet earth,”(Quote)

Is this real? Is this the quality of minister we have in Barbados? Then again this is the man who said out loud during the general election campaign about horning. Is he vulgar and silly?

24. RE Talking Loud Saying Nothing December 9, 2018 5:13 PM
    simple SIR
    it is very simple
    IT IS CALLED DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR!

25. IT IS POSSIBLE ALSO THAT HE HAS A SENSORY APHASIA

26. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ GP,
    Both you and Kerrie Symonds share the same love of language – rich in hyperbole and expansive!

Personally, i’m lost for words with the standard of our journalists and our politicians. This BLP are master spin bowlers in the art of deception and propaganda.

Virgin is an excellent company and they will get value from this one million investment. However, for this government to make a song-and-dance over a paltry one million investment is thoroughly depressing.

Perhaps this is good as it gets which is a far cry from the discredited quote “punching above our weight”.

27. Talking Loud Saying Nothing December 9, 2018 7:26 PM

@ GP,
    Both you and Kerrie Symonds share the same love of language – rich in hyperbole and expansive!

BUT I DONT HAVE DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR OR APHASIA, NOR DO I GET BEHIND MEN WHO SEEK TO ENTICE ME SO TO DO

28. @ talking Loud
    Boss, when you have 26 ministers vying for some shiite to talk about at their many engagements.
    ..and nothing worthwhile is actually happening
    we are bound to be inundated with a lotta shiite talk.

Nothing is funnier than one minister calling on another from the same Cabinet for the South Coast shit to be ‘cleaned up by yearend’ … because we need to start cleaning up the swamp…. and tourism is vital..

Somebody needs to talk about whether the BWA will be evicted from their fancy palace at the Pine.
    Should they not be relocated to Worthing?

If government has stopped paying foreign creditors;
    if they owe citizens income tax refunds for years
    if they have stopped paying Bond holders…
    Who the Hell is baloney that he MUST be paid…?

WAIT!!!
    He is their Landlord….
    On THEIR OWN land… that they leased him for 15 years…
    ha ha ha ha
    What jackasses were the DLP
    …and the BLP don’t seem capable of handling the chaos….

GRASS…!!!

29. AND WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO HELP?
    WHAT CAN YOU DO TO HELP?
    ALL YOU CAN DO IS BULL SHIT ABOUT BRASS BOWLS? AND SAY GRASS.
    WHAT DOES CAN BU BRIMBLERS AND HIGHLY CREDENTIALED COMMENTERS ON BU DO EXCEPT BULL SHIT OR TELL MEN TO GET BEHIND THEM AS YOU DID

AUSTRALIA 124/5 AT ADELAIDE CHASING 323

30. If only he knew right Bushie?

All the world needs is love sweet love.

31. IF HE IS HELPING HE IS DOING A VERY POOR JOB CAUSE BARBADOS IS IN DEEP DEEP DOO DOO

AND BY THE WAY I KNOW THE PERSON WHO ALONE CAN HELP BARBADOS.
    DO YOU KNOW HIM?

RE All the world needs is love sweet love.

WHY DONT YOU BUY SOME OR GET SOME? SEEMS BARBADOS NEEDS A LOT OF LOVE. AND IT BURNING YOUR TAIL!

I HAVE ALL THE LOVE I NEED ———A VERY LOVING ADORING AND ADORABLE WIFE AND A GREAT CHURCH FAMILY

WHAT YOU ALL MUST LEARN IS WHAT MY DEAR MUM TAUGHT ME AS A VERY LITTLE BOY

“DO UNTO OTHERS AS YOU WOULD LIKE THEM TO DO UNTO YOU.”

WUNNAH CHALLENGED AND WERE PROVOCATEURS

I STOPPED BEING A SCHOLAR ON BU AND STEPPED DOWN TO WUNNAH LEVEL

I LEARNED HOW TO CHALLENGE AND BE A PROVOCATEUR TOO! AND HOW TO PING NERVES. AND I CAN NOW DO IT CONSISTENTLY AND CONSTANTLY ALL DAY WHILE WATCHING CRICKET

130/5 AT ADELAIDE

32. All you have become on BU is the forum jester, now known to all as the man of many greasy fish cakes who is waiting for the rapture.

We will know them by their fruit.

33. @ David
    Bushie tries to avoid arguments with children, women or fools.
    Children are immature…
    You never win with women anyway…
    and fools are hopeless.

GP currently qualifies for avoidance in TWO of these areas.

Bushie will ALWAYS try to do what he can ..whenever the opportunity arises.
    Some people even appreciate the efforts…
    ..but not enough to matter.
    …certainly not Enuff…

34. NO MY FISH CAKES ARE NOT GREASY AT ALL
    NEITHER ARE THEY SALTY

RE All you have become on BU is the forum jester,

THATS OK AND APPROPRIATE AND DELIBERATE!

I ADD TO THE ENTERTAINMENT “TO THE BODY OF WORK THAT IS HERE TO BE SCRUTINISED.”

ALL SERIOUS BELIEVERS ARE WAITING FOR THE RAPTURE

IF YOU CAN OBSERVE THE DOWNWARD PATH AND WHAT IS HAPPENING ALL OVER THE WORLD YOU WOULD BE ABLE TO DISCERN THAT GLOBALIZATION LEADS TO THE ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT OF…………………………ANTICHRIST……….WHICH IS PRECEDED BY THE RAPTURE. ANY GOOD ESCHATOLOGIST WOULD TELL YOU THAT.

35. RE Bushie tries to avoid arguments with children, women or fools.

THE TWO OF YOU MAKE ME LAUGH AND LAUGH AND LAUGH

RE Bushie will ALWAYS try to do what he can ..whenever the opportunity arises.
    Some people even appreciate the efforts…

YOU MEAN TALKING BOUT BRASSBOWLS AND BBE’S AND TELLING MEN TO GET BEHIND YOU?
    ha ha ha ha

153/5 AT ADELAIDE

36. Have a little time tonight to engage with those who give meaning to the saying, once a man twice a child!

37. Imagine if you will- of the many commenters visiting and posting to BU he would be offended by less than a handful of commenters that criticized his postings when there has been feedback that greater than the handful have applauded his for his contributions over the years on the various blogs posted. A person suffering from myopia (the non medical definition OBVIOUSLY)?

38. yes Solomon says it happens to ALL OF US in Ecclesiastes 12:2-7 THUS

While the sun, or the light, or the moon, or the stars, be not darkened, nor the clouds return after the rain:

3 In the day when the keepers of the house shall tremble, and the strong men shall bow themselves, and the grinders cease because they are few, and those that look out of the windows be darkened,

4 And the doors shall be shut in the streets, when the sound of the grinding is low, and he shall rise up at the voice of the bird, and all the daughters of musick shall be brought low;

5 Also when they shall be afraid of that which is high, and fears shall be in the way, and the almond tree shall flourish, and the grasshopper shall be a burden, and desire shall fail: because man goeth to his long home, and the mourners go about the streets:

6 Or ever the silver cord be loosed, or the golden bowl be broken, or the pitcher be broken at the fountain, or the wheel broken at the cistern.

7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.

RE Have a little time tonight to engage with those who give meaning to the saying, once a man twice a child!

SOON YOU WILL HAVE MORE AND MORE TIME!

39. YOU CAN IMAGINE WHAT THE HELL YOU LIKE
    I THOUGHT IT WAS INAPPROPRIATE
    THAT IS WHAT COUNTS

IT IS WHAT I THINK THAT COUNTS FOR ME NOT WHAT A HANDFUL OF YOUR PROVOCATEURS THINK THAT COUNTS TO ME

I MIGHT BE SUFFERING MYOPIA FOR YOUR PURPOSES ….. BUT I AM ENJOYING MYSELF

I DONT HAVE TO CONTRIBUTE TO BU AT A HIGH LEVEL AS A “HIGHLY CREDENTIALED COMMENTER”

I CAN WATCH TV AND BULL SHIT ON BU LIKE THE AVERAGE BRASS BOWL AND BRIMBLER HERE
    IT IS MUCH MORE FUN CAUSE I LOVE JESTING

40. All the world needs is for CHRISTIANS – especially CHRISTIANS – to show love to their fellow man. On behalf of the BU family the blogmaster extends best wishes to you and yours. Nothing but sweet love.

41. RE On behalf of the BU family the blogmaster extends best wishes to you and yours. Nothing but sweet love.

SIR YOU AND THE BU FAMILY CAN KEEP YOUR LOVE. I DONT NEED IT. THANK YOU.

YOU AND THOSE OF YOUR ILK ARE NOT GENUINE

161/6

42. Imagine if you will- of the many commenters visiting and posting to BU..
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Imagine is right, The REALITY is quite different.

Most people KNEW from up front that GP was a shiitehound.
    Anyone who brags so much about their ‘scholarship’ when they are old as shiite can ONLY be a fraud and a failure.

Bushie associates routinely with MULTIPLE TRUE Barbados scholars – and almost to a person…. you ONLY know that they are scholars because of the BRILLIANCE and HUMILITY of their interactions.
    Only failures continue to harp about gaining a scholarship back in 1970….or about having attended HC – after transfer from Foundation…

People only patronised GP because he was so nasty to those who did not…. like Carson C – to whom he behaved in the most despicable, demonic and gutter-like manner.

But you done know that Bushie has pissed on MUCH bigger parades than a little shiitehound like GP…
    It is high time that he knew his damn place and stopped contaminating the blog with his nasty attitude….

A little shiitehoumd ‘scientist’ …that had to be corrected on taking a WRONG dogmatic stand on such a BASIC matter of simple WATER – and then wants to have us believe that he understands complex biblical issues….
    Bushie asked him three SIMPLE bible questions..
    ….and he morphs into a ‘Blog-Jester’ in order to avoid being shown up as the idiot that he is…

Steupsss…

43. There you have it BU family, the scripted Christian response from the goodly doctor Gorgie Porgie.

The blogmaster leaves you with this short video, a favourite.

Life is for living. Time is precious.Have a good night Mr. GP.

44. POOR LIKKLE BUSHIE HE MOANS AND GROANS AND CONTINUES AD NAUSEAM AD INFINITUMQUE BUT GP HAS NEVER LIED TO THE BLOG

RE you done know that Bushie has pissed on MUCH bigger parades than a little shiitehound like GP…
    SEEMS THAT YOUR PISSING HAS BEEN VERY INEFFECTIVE BECAUSE YOU KEEP ON PISSING AND PISSING AND PISSING AND GP CONTINUES MOCKING AND MOCKING
    you better check the sugar levels in your pee you like you got diabetes man

RE A little shiitehoumd ‘scientist’ INDEED HOW CORRECT YOU ARE! WAS IT YOU THAT DUG UP THOSE MEDICAL STUDENT PPTS FOR DAVID LAST WEEK?

RE Bushie asked him three SIMPLE bible questions.. OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN AND I HAVE REFUSED TO ANSWER YOU OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN

Anyone who brags so much about their ‘scholarship’
    I CAN BRAG BOUT MY SCHOLARSHIP
    WHY DONT YOU BRAG BOUT YOURS

RE i can brag when they are old as shiite can ONLY be a fraud and a failure.
    THIS STATEMENT IS A MORONIC MOUTHING AND A NON SEQUITUR
    FIRST WE WILL ALL GET OLD IF WE DONT DEAD
    THERE IS NO RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN BEING old as shiite AND BEING a fraud and a failure.
    HA HA HA

like Carson C – to whom he behaved in the most despicable, demonic and gutter-like manner.
    IT WORKED DID IT NOT? I WAS EFFECTIVE. NOT LIKE IN YOUR CASE
    YOU KEEP YOU KEEP ON PISSING AND PISSING AND PISSING AND IT AINT WORKING
    HA HA HA

RE Only failures continue to harp about gaining a scholarship back in 1970….or about having attended HC – after transfer from Foundation…
    THIS IS ANOTHER NON SEQUITUR
    NO RELATIONSHIP IN HARPING about gaining a scholarship OR having attended HC – after transfer from Foundation…AND FAILURE
    HA HA HA

I KNOW SOME FELLAS THAT attended HC – after transfer from Foundation AND REALLY FAILED. THEY WENT PUN DRUGS AND THE DRUGS KILL THEM!
    HA HA HA

I HOPE THAT YOU HAVE NOT PATENTED
    HA HA HA
    HA HA HA

Steupsss…

HA HA HA

45. RE There you have it BU family, the scripted Christian response from the goodly doctor Gorgie Porgie.

YES DAVID KING
    AND HERE IS MY RESPONSE TO YOUR RESPONSE

LIKE JESUS IN JOHN 2:24-25 I DO NOT THINK THAT YOU AND MANY OF YOUR ILK ARE GENUINE
    I AM VERY HONEST I DONT PRETEND

But Jesus did not commit himself unto them, because he knew all men,

25 And needed not that any should testify of man: for he knew what was in man.

SOME OF YOU TRIED MOCKING ME AND UNNECESSARILY SO
    YOU CALLED THE MOCKER A PROVOCATEUR
    OK
    SO I BECAME A JESTER, AND ALL KINDS OF NAMES
    AND YOU DONT LIKE MY CHALLENGING
    WUNNA CAN MOCK AND CHALLENGE AND I CANT MOCK AND CHALLENGE TOO?

AS BUSHIE WOULD SAY

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

A commenter said earlier

“…Is this real? Is this the quality of minister we have in Barbados?

Then again this is the man who said out loud during the general election campaign about horning. Is he vulgar and silly?…”

I do believe it was during his campaign while he was speaking in thd Pine

The man is a commoner and has no couth

He is also an idiot par excellence

A few here among the pooch lickers have commented about the ole man’s remarks about the one term government of Miss Mottley.

And yes you all note the name change for this comment.

A skillfully crafted video that provides excerpts of Kerrie Oblong Head speeches on the political platform would highlight him to be exactly who he is.

Add some alleged car wheel stabbing and wife beating commentary to the product and he will never return to the House of Assembly in 2023.

This thing is slowly exposing the shortcomings of the 30 to zero government

Instead of spending time delivering a measurable output they are changing laws and importing waste foops while firing people and increasing the cabinet AND THEIR RESPECTIVE SALARIES

But this is critical for the change that is coming

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ poorpeacefulandpolite

You, unlike dr ole man, do not make many comments here on BU

And as far as de ole man can remember you do not cuss people, like de ole man does

You and Mr Vincent Codrington and The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch do not ever cuss people.

Dat is a trait de ole man may not acquire during this lifetime

“…Genealogy tourism is the more operative target.

A combination of this with heritage tourism has shown its value in all the colonial era settlements of America.

Much of African American tourism to the Caribbean is motivated by peoples’ search for roots…”

De ole man has made mention of this aspect of a branded product that will appeal to specific niches.

A Reverse Panama niche.

A Southern United States niche

And, to a lesser degree, a UK/Canada niche.

De ole man will give PART OF THE CONCEPT HERE, AGAIN, knowing full well that it will die under Kerrie Oblong Head of the Mottleyian regime

There are a few noted historians @ the University of the West Indies and the most noted AFTER THE ASCENSION OF SIR HILARY is Trevor Marshall

De ole man would suggest the creation of a virtual genealogy treeline with the commensurate ONLINE data capture that would seek to establish verifiable links between us sheeple on this 2×2 rock with other persons from around the diaspora and globe.

This “WHO ARE YOU & WHERE DO YOU COME FROM & ARE WE RELATED?” initiative would seek to assist in establishing credible links with bajans etc

Of course this would be a bridge too far…

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with another item here for you thank you

Leave a Reply to LawsonCancel reply