All national economies are affected, either for good or bad, by politicians.  Our parliamentarians get to decide whether the national economy will be fair or corrupted.

The Government collects taxes, and then spends a significant amount of our taxes to purchase products for our benefit.  These products include cars, hospital equipment, cleaning services, spare parts, and consultants’ services, and are purchased with Government contracts.

A fair national economy is one where all citizens can have an equal opportunity to participate.  This means that Government contracts for these products are open to all Barbadian companies, and the winner is selected by a fair competitive tender.  The national economy becomes corrupted when Government Ministers arrange for contracts to be given to persons who fund their political campaigns.

Since our independence, there has always been a component of Barbados’ economy called the ‘political economy’, which is reserved exclusively for persons who fund political campaigns, and expect Government contracts in return.  Both political administrations have maintained this corrupt political economy for their joint benefit.

Once this corrupt political economy remains relatively small, then its impact on the national economy is negligible.  Those who choose not to participate in the corrupt political economy believe that they can do nothing to stop it.  It is generally understood that anyone who speaks about it will not be long for this world.

Countries do not tend to get into unsustainable debts by meeting the basic needs of their citizens.  Instead, they tend to get into such debts due to the greed of their elected politicians, who grow the corrupt political economy to the point where it structurally damages the national economy.

Barbados passed that tipping point decades ago.  The likely time was identified in Moody’s 13 Oct 2009 downgrade report as 20 years ago.  A section from that first downgrade report under the then new DLP administration follows [emphasis mine].

“Barbados’ KEY DEBT INDICATORS have been on a deteriorating path OVER THE PAST DECADE [1999-2009], and are now at levels that compare poorly with other countries in the same rating category,” said Moody’s Vice President – Senior Analyst Alessandra Alecci. “While the global crisis has clearly exacerbated this trend, the worsening of debt indicators OVER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME suggests that STRUCTURAL ISSUES are at play. … These include a steady increase in expenditures, INCLUDING OFF-BUDGET, as revenues have remained at roughly the same level in terms of GDP.”

To my knowledge, back in 1999, DLP Leader Clyde Mascoll was the only person in Barbados warning us of the potentially corrupting “off-budget” no-bid contracts being awarded by the BLP administration, and the resulting unsustainable debt.  After he defected to the BLP, magically those became “good debts” and the corrupt political economy became mythical.

When it was the DLP’s inevitable turn to form the Government (since there were only two players in the game), they continued this practise to such an extreme level, that it seemed that the corrupt political economy was all that remained.  It is now the BLP’s turn and it is left to be seen whether they will maintain the political economy at the DLP’s extreme level, or eliminate it.

When a Government decides who wins in Barbados’ economy, it automatically decides who loses.  By repeatedly choosing the worst companies as winners, and the best as losers, that Government can irreparably damage the national economy.

Businesses that decide to participate in the corrupt political economy do not need to provide good-quality products, because they are shielded from competition.  Therefore, the public must pay additional taxes for the increasingly poor-quality public services that use these products.  Frustrated public workers at the lower end, who are forced to use these sub-standard products, can be wrongfully accused of being inefficient and wasteful.

Since public workers seem to be forbidden from defending themselves publicly, they gain little public sympathy.  Therefore, it becomes easier to justify replacing them with new political supporters at the start of each new political administration.

For three years, Solutions Barbados offered to improve the economy by lowering taxes and abolishing the corrupt political economy.  The details were published for critical public review.  In response, the BLP claimed that Solutions Barbados was not the only political party that planned to effectively address corruption, and promised to meaningfully address it also.

With the support of an inexcusably irresponsible news media, who actively suppressed Solutions Barbados’ consistent message and all of its 28 candidates, the voters rejected the DLP and elected the BLP to fix the mess.  It still needs fixing, and the BLP has been allowed an unprecedented unhindered opportunity to do what they promised, namely, to punish corrupt politicians and end the corrupting practise of no-bid contracts.  The people can judge their progress for themselves.

If the corrupt political economy is not abolished, then expect Solutions Barbados to once more offer over 20 candidates to the people as a competent alternative.  The voters can then finally decide what type of Barbados they want for themselves and their children.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

50 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Not Long for This World”

1. “….and then spends a significant amount of our taxes to purchase products for our benefit.”

If only our benefit was as important to the thieving scumbags as their own. Not even in the running. Ain’t self-rule great!!

2. (minus) -45…ah think ya missing the news where UK is fast sinking into POVERTY., they cannot even rule themselves adequately anymore…..maybe this is a good time for you to return there, the people on disability had their payments cut, many are DYING…guess what will be next…hint, hint…monthly pension checks…

Well …at least we know that one Caribbean PM has no intention of selling out his people to Scotia for a bribe….Mia Borrows may want to take note and REIGN in her briebtaking ministers..

https://caribbeannewsservice.com/now/antigua-pm-tells-scotiabank-no-sale-without-government-approval/?fbclid=IwAR1j_90rP_LDgjNGGJ32jEo3NOjcz7zqjTsLjSBQnHEYB3sKM22A-58MzwE

3. Mia Borrows needs to cut her cabinet, when you make false promises and lie to the people and within a couple months ya lies have grown legs and are walking around for the PEOPLE who elected you and the world to see…it is time to cut ya BLOATED GOVERNMENT…ya wasting TAXPAYERS MONEY…the money IS NOT YOURS..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/27/empty-pockets/?fbclid=IwAR0miyMZJF6fJuClwsQ70pH2vE7DRfJiojkpiSBDfkpGQvN_Az6WrE3Kf58

“Empty pockets
    Article by
    Barbados Today Published on
    November 27, 2018
    Dozens of laid off workers at the state-owned Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) could be without any cheques until sometime in the new year and this has left them feeling betrayed by the Mia Mottley-led administration.

But lead negotiator with the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation, John Williams in confirming the position, says the situation is to be blamed on the poor financial position of the Government station which is saddled with a crippling $115 million debt.

He told Barbados TODAY, the total cost of the redundancy payments was simply too high.”

4. “Since our independence, there has always been a component of Barbados’ economy called the ‘political economy’, which is reserved exclusively for persons who fund political campaigns, and expect Government contracts in return. Both political administrations have maintained this corrupt political economy for their joint benefit.

Once this corrupt political economy remains relatively small, then its impact on the national economy is negligible. Those who choose not to participate in the corrupt political economy believe that they can do nothing to stop it. It is generally understood that anyone who speaks about it will not be long for this world.”

And the CORRUPT PRACTICE continues under the Mia Borrows government…no matter how small, a CORRUPT POLITICAL ECONOMY is a DANGER to TAXPAYERS and PENSIONERS…it is THEIR money being STOLEN. to give away to the crooks like Cow, Bizzy, Maloney et al..no matter how small the amount it is NOT negligible …it represents a massive LOSS for the population..

Just look at the above article and see just how HIGH the COST of CORRUPTION between government ministers and criminals thieves and bribers in the business community is for the entire population.

5. Grenville..I can see your efforts BUT…you are STILL to come up with an EFFECTIVE plan to address corruption between ministers, lawyers and the criminals in the business community…as long as you do not plan to LOCK THEM ALL UP…your current plans are weak….and INEFFECTIVE, you obviously do not know nasty lawyers very well, ah could write a book on them..

https://www.blp.org.bb/blp-presents-2018-manifesto/?fbclid=IwAR0iEzQilo3CkEKjpPXGwLpqw5SWbHlLYvxfVaRP5SxiEfIE5yH6_nqn6iw

BTW…Enuff in Wonderland, well blow me down, I NEVER knew until last night that the Mia Borrows Covenant of LIES and FALSE PROMISES to the Bajan people was time stamped for 6 months IMPLEMENTATION and it actually said for URGENT IMPLEMENTATION..

..within 6 MONTHS AND all those false promises that are yet to be implemented including corruption ….now 6 months later, nothing has happened, wuh happen she forget or what, whatever happened to the URGENT IN THE FIRST 6 months for implementation……..wuhloss, lol…care to EXPLAIN..

watch muh!!!

6. What a load of iggrant waffle you stupid woman, you really think anyone is interested in your verbal diarrhoea?

7. Well said Waru skirting the real issue call the bell on the CORRUPTION then talk.

8. No pension = no food, medicine, = soup kitchens, homelessness, default mortgages = early death.

Ahhhh…the EMPIRE..

9. Drivel.

10. It is time to get things rolling in Barbados to protect the PEOPLE….there must be EDUCATION REFORM…your ministers and lawyers are displaying their uneducated, uninformed, myopic status and it is a blight on the island..

https://link.medium.com/hNDTSu9LcS?fbclid=IwAR2talvfEJotnMKeo_J4P3wV6ZvnjgTJdTtD9sNwBqUmvKZtn_qO4IU5KAA

“Jamal Slocombe
    A proud CARICOM citizen and a communication specialist with an inclination for political commentary, cultural heritage and education reform.
    Nov 28
    Education Reform in Barbados (Introduction)
    I was raised by a grandmother who opposed an education system that said I must be seen and not heard. A grandmother who had migrated to England in her late teens to pursue a career as a nurse. Her life in the United Kingdom for over three decades exposed her to a thinking that exceeded the parameters of normal for any West Indian.

She had several grievances with the education system in Barbados, as not only it didn’t allow children to express themselves without fear of ridicule, it channeled every child in one competitive direction.

She often quoted Einstein in discussion with those whom she engaged in meaningful dialogue on education.

“If you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.”

In the Caribbean, we are still trapped in the thinking that to be successful one must be a doctor, lawyer, accountant, or banker. A colonial thinking that teachers at the primary level continue to impress on children because they, themselves, have been brainwashed to believe one cannot attain upward social mobility otherwise. I consider this the root of classism. We don’t train the minds of our children to understand that whatever their career pursuit is, they have a valuable contribution to make to society. However, until we stop our children from laughing at the garbage collectors and teach them the importance of this job we will continue to fail our nation’s future.”

11. I am 45…if she is writing to us she cant be using her hands to grope that poor white boy she has chained in the bedroom. Not that he probably doesn’t deserve it but its getting near Christmas and I am afraid the only thing he may get is her presence under the tree.

12. What a gargoyle. That you WARU?

13. While yah all insult each other………..I just want the BWA to patch the channel dey dig-up cross de road above the airport!! Their first attempt was the usual fill-back with the rubble dey dig out…rains come and wash way everything…. digging the channel even deeper so dat Friday night traffic backup was down to ABC Hwy.

De second attempt, a few days ago, was to fill-in with marl…. already starting to disappear whenever a vehicle pass over and will surely be gone after the first rain shower.

After 50 years of self-rule…. we can’t even patch a road properly or coordinate a proper fix between two governments units??

14. WARU,

I see you have taken away my man, you stupid, “drivelling” woman. Yuh like yuh “ass paddling?” LOL

MURDAH!

Just yesterday I had to tell David that there are no lesser mortals, only people with different talents to different degrees. This is actually my pet peeve. The primary schools are the main culprits in the perpetuation of this atrocity.

P.S. I have some wonderful garbage collectors who actually love their job. We always have warm conversations and they even tell me when they are going on vacation. They feel comfortable enough to ask me for anything they need while on their route and they always blow the horn and come for my garbage if it is not already in the bin. They tell me that most Bajans scorn them and don’t even want to give them a drink of water. They are actually the cleanest and neatest guys around. These guys will come out and pick up garbage ANY TIME of day or night WHENEVER they can get their hands on a truck.

Imagine scorning the garbage collector and kissing the doctor’s ass. These people are VITAL to the prevention of diseases.

15. Now, back to the topic – what exactly does Grenville mean by “not long for this world?’

16. Donna, c’mon, it means circling the drain.

17. “WARU,

I see you have taken away my man, you stupid, “drivelling” woman. Yuh like yuh “ass paddling?” LOL

MURDAH”

We can’t kill him so we gotta share him…lol

18. poorpeacefulandpolite Avatar
    poorpeacefulandpolite

We are all conspirators in the corruption of our nation’s collective values when we started paying more adulation to “Independence” and less to our natural INTERDEPENDENCE. The arrogance of the motto “Pride and Industry” reeks of self interest.

19. Yeah…and putting shitehound ministers/lawyers/doctors/crooks that YOU THE PEOPLE ELECTED …AND YOU THE PEOPLE PAY A SALAY TO AND GAVE TITLES to, placing them high up on a PEDESTAL…knowing that they are YOUR SERVANTS…and they are ALSO CRIMINALS who rob YOU, sell you out, disenfranchise and marginalize you.

….and YOU not exposing them every day and holding them ACCOUNTABLE for all the crimes they have committed against YOU and 2 generations of your family , friends and fellow Bajans …didn’t help either…it just made them more confident to CONTINUE committing crimes against YOU.

That is why we are at this stage.

20. This govt has some nerve to be celebrating a 25million tax refund to the people after hijacking local investors and old age pensioners money after cutting huge taxes from corporate barbados plus not to forget those glorious tax waivers
    This govt ought to hide head in shame as they pelt insulting policies in the faces of hardworking barbados
    One can also bet that included in the 25 million are corporate barbados and some of those tax cheaters who already receive waivers

21. “To my knowledge, back in 1999, DLP Leader Clyde Mascoll was the only person in Barbados warning us of the potentially corrupting “off-budget” no-bid contracts being awarded by the BLP administration, and the resulting unsustainable debt. After he defected to the BLP, magically those became “good debts” and the corrupt political economy became mythical.“

Slowly but surely some will be exposed. Intellectual corruption is as much a crime as political corruption.

22. It is only some really UNEDUCATED, BACKWARD MINISTERS would NOT KNOW that freely giving away concessions and tax waivers UNNECESSARILY…as they have done on the island for decades…also helped spell the demise of the economy…how could ministers pretending to be the most educated in the Caribbean…BE SO STUPID and corrupt..

AND since there is now a recent massive REDUCTION in corporate tax rates from 30 per cent to between one per cent and 5.5 per cent, those greedy, corrupt pigs for business people SHOULD NOT be getting anymore tax waivers or CONCESSIONS EVER AGAIN…because it is a VEHICLE FOR BRIBERY and MONEY LAUNDERING between them, government ministers and lawyers..

Enuff in Wonderland…wuh yuh tink?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/28/atherley-calls-for-waivers-concessions-re-think/

“Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley wants an overhaul of the sweeping powers of ministers to grant tax exemptions and waivers.

The practice of doling out concessions or tax-write offs is cutting into Government’s revenues, he told lawmakers in Parliament today.

While the Minister of Finance approves a tax waiver, various Government Ministers have, over the years, made requests for waivers and duties on various items across a range of sectors.

“I am simply suggesting that we need to look perhaps again at the business of the ministerial discretion, the ministerial power that allows for exemption and waivers at will to persons to whom ministerial offices might be connected,” he said.

Atherley suggested that there should be some form of limitation on the scope oll, as he added to the debate on the Income Tax Amendment and Validation Bill in Parliament on Tuesday,

Pointing to the recent reduction in the corporation tax rate from 30 per cent to between one per cent and 5.5 per cent, Atherley said, “I am suggesting that if that [tax cut] underperforms because of a ministerial discretion that allows for waivers and exemptions without circumscription, then we have a problem.”

He continued: “That is the Barbadian reality to which I am pointing and the very Government that sits in office today has also been loud in castigation of concessions given especially in the tourism sector to certain entities and to some construction entities as well”

23. This govt really takkng barbadians for fool
    But then again Mia knows for those she cares
    Those who filled her treaure war horse during the campagain are now being rewarded handsomely at hardworking bajans expense

24. This govt really takkng barbadians for fool
    But then again Mia knows for those she cares
    Those who filled her treaure war horse during the campagain are now being rewarded handsomely at hardworking bajans expense

25. It wasn’t worth saying twice Mariposa, or even once come to that.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville
    Estonia is a great example of how a country can fight corruption using information technology.
    After the demise of the Soviet Union in late 1991, Estonia was a small backward country with few natural resources, a terrible business climate, and worse weather.

Using information technology to deliver government services can reduce corruption in three ways:
    1. it increases efficiency to the point that citizens have less reason to try to bribe their way to adequate service,
    2. it increases transparency and accountability by making decisions according to programmed rules rather than favors or party membership,
    3. and it removes the politician or civil servant ‘middle-man’ between citizens and services, reducing corruption simply because you can’t bribe a computer.

Information technology delivery of government services is not a cure-all for corruption but should be part of a broad anti-corruption strategy. Estonia, using an IT enabled anti-corruption strategy, has in less than three decades gone from a poor backwater to one of the most prosperous and progressive countries in Europe.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

e-Governments vs. Corruption. The case of Estonia
    https://rctom.hbs.org/submission/e-governments-vs-corruption-the-case-of-estonia/

28. Yes PLT…totally worth repeating..ah know the greedy and corrupt would not want to get it through their THICK, BACKWARD SKULLS….they will want to fight to keep the blighted status quo…but..

“Corruption is real. It has made many of my friends` parents flee Moldova in search of decent pay so that they could support their families. Corruption is the “public enemy number one” in developing countries1. It cripples development. Corruption gives power to the rich and powerful, while reducing it for the poor and weak; it augments inequality. And it is costly – 5% of global GDP, the equivalent of US$ 2.6 trillion, of which US$ 1.5 trillion is estimated to be bribes only.”

29. WARU

“I was raised by a grandmother who opposed an educational system that said that you must be seen and not heard”

Well, you were reared by a grandmadda infused with wisdom beyond her time … nevertheless, I have found that the strict adherence to academic-conventionalism is a dangerous thing … because it leads one down the road to conformity ignorance, and narrow-mindedness… now here is Bruce Lee own words regarding this sort of thinking: ” A teacher is never a giver of the truth; he is a guide … a pointer to the truth that each student must find for himself.”

30. i would like for someone to find out how my case is doing with this thief Attorney at law Joyce griffith who stole my money the case is with in the Supreme court my lawyer is mr keith simmons please help i dont here anything from none of them anymore my tel no is 917 474 3268 i reside in Brooklyn ny 11217 my adress is 241 Hoyt Street Apt 4d Brooklyn ny 11217 please help me find out whats going on thank you very much. ordeen Bishop Boomes my email address is ordeenbishopbroomes917@gmail.com

On Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 2:12 AM Barbados Underground David posted: “All national economies are affected, either for good or > bad, by politicians. Our parliamentarians get to decide whether the > national economy will be fair or corrupted. The Government collects taxes, > and then spends a significant amount of our taxes to p” >

31. Imagine being robbed of yuh savings then the robbers says ” i have good news for yuh
    The deal being will take all of your house hold assets including savings then would return you the favour with a bowl of porridge for good measure

32. “the case is with in the Supreme court my lawyer is mr keith simmons please help i dont here anything from none of them anymore”

christ…what a disgrace…do not send your TIEFING lawyer any more money.

33. Good advice from WARU, whooda thunk it?

34. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Hallelujah GP (not the good doctor) has finally seen the light!

Jackie Stewart is doing a great job. Keep up the pressure girl!

I had placed this post on an earlier blog. It is an eye-opener.

There seems to be a lot of infighting amongst a number of BU commentators at this present moment. All good entertainment but a huge distraction.

@ Blogmaster,

Thank God for Global Witness. The methodology employed in order to generate vast illegal wealth is well-known. For corruption to thrive it requires a corrupt government. Secondly it requires bent lawyers. And thirdly it requires corrupt businesses to oil the wheels of corruption with monies.

The same corrupt model is employed throughout the world; and in Barbados.

If you get the chance take a listen to an interview by A.J.: “Najib walks out from Al Jazeera interview”

35. Thieving attorneys are nothing new for Barbados…the word tiefing AND attorneys go hand in hand..

So……is Keith Michael’s BROTHER…

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/dlp-connections-protect-crooked-barbados-lawyer-from-arrest/?fbclid=IwAR2JWlUBP5p38ZE7vQm5ohXfmf3e4aoQxghIElAuQXjGcmPs949MMS2sh0k

“18 years after running off, cocky thief attorney returns to Barbados

Why was Michael Simmons so confident he wouldn’t be arrested?

Everybody knew that fugitive Michael Simmons (photo above) was coming to his sister’s funeral last weekend, and everybody was just as sure that he wouldn’t be arrested for the crimes that caused him to flee Barbados 18 years ago.

What’s changed in the 18 years since Simmons stole millions and ran off? That’s easy: some of Simmons’ family members are now close to the DLP Government.”

36. WARU

Yes … corruption is real and alive in Bim … I gave an example of a form of illegality between an immigration lawyer and an immigration officer involving kickbacks with respect to visiting visa…

In any instant, the question you have forgotten to ask though is how do we rid our political institutions of this kind of corruption…?

Nevertheless, there has been much talk regarding the implementation of transparency and accountability legislation to address the problem of corruption in Barbados … but I have yet to see any practical examples of this form of legislation expressed on this blog…

Moreover, greed has taken hold of Bim … and most want the big house with the four door garage … with its olympic size swimming pool … and the fat bank account … but this comes with a heavy cost … the cost of our integrity, honesty, morals and our desire to do the right thing …

37. PLT,

I take it you have submitted your suggestions to this administration. They were looking for good ideas.

38. Lexicon…a work in progress.

This lady is being robbed and turned around by thieving lawyers in Barbados.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2017/05/09/suspended-3/?fbclid=IwAR1YTPsczVz48drzmMV3ME6yDWl-KEcTp5PNXEisusg7so_8_2TE_ANPZ7s

“Back in February 2013, a woman who gave her name as Ordeen Broomes and her residence as New York, posted a complaint on Facebook against Griffith, who was admitted to the Bar in 1977 and specializes in estate Law, succession, conveyancing, wills, trusts and civil litigation.

However, the matter involving Griffith, who along with Alexander-Lovell appeared before the Court of Appeal in June last year accused of withholding thousands of dollars from their clients, was adjourned.”

39. Talking Loud,

Comic relief is ALWAYS necessary. It’s not called relief for nothing.

Watched your video. Why were these people so forthcoming?

40. Donna
    “Looking for ideas”……………LMAO
    In order to accept ideas one must first have a clue.
    This group does not have a clue, they can’t tell a good idea from a bad one.
    Same goes for the previous group and the one before that
    Because their system for evaluating proposals is corrupt as GP explained, ideas are not categorised good or bad but rather more money, less money

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna
    This administration is working hard at digitizing government services, but, of course, that does not mean that they are working effectively. One problem is that if done effectively it will throw lots of civil servants out of work, so there is every incentive for the bureaucracy to sabotage or misdesign the process in an understandable effort at self protection.

I have an acquaintance from HC days who was a Barbados Scholar, did an engineering degree in England, then made himself a few millions designing financial services software. Along the way his second marriage was to a pretty young woman from Estonia so he has been living there for the past decade. I have tried to organize a way for him to help the government here with their e-government initiatives, but so far without success.

42. What is up with this….It makes us question if the Mia Borrows government knows what it is doing.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/27/customs-pay-dilemma/?fbclid=IwAR3bHLSfWngNn-qhohObOO8zw4PuqRyBA5z4NPfhPOZZDLlAAO_ojfPxQEc

“At least one critical area of this country’s border security could be left unmanned by the turn of 2019, if the Mia Mottley-led Administration does not restore a seriously depleted support staff as a matter of urgency.

The warning is coming from some frustrated Customs Officers as well as the Assistant General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers’ (NUPW) Wayne Walrond.

One customs officer, who did not want to be identified fearing possible victimization, strongly suggested that many of her colleagues may not be mentally or physically fit to work come January, if the present workload continues without supporting staff, especially in the accounts department.

The officer, who was on the verge of tears while relating the conditions under which they have to work, told Barbados TODAY the state of affairs has been made even worse with staff not being paid shift allowances and overtime for this month because Government retrenched ten workers from the accounts department as part of its restructuring programme.

And if that was not bad enough, the officer complained that she and her colleagues have also been told by a senior official that workers cannot be paid next month either due to a shortage of staff.

“In all fairness, when you work for money, you shouldn’t hear two months straight, ‘we ain’t paying this or we ain’t paying that, or we ain’t working on this aspect or the next aspect of your money because we don’t have staff.’ About ten persons out of the accounts department were sent home . . . and I think they only left about two. Then they managed to pull an additional three or four from the airport on a one-off basis,” reported the border security officer.

She complained that the staff in accounts cannot handle the amount of money and allowances paid in Customs.”

43. So much fun everday one govt minister or the other provides comedy for the people.
    Yesterday John King the proverbial jacka.ss was whinning about Xmas songs being aired during the month of Independence
    Today another Minister pleading with the private Sector to put money in their employees pocket
    But Minister wasnt Mia supposed to put money in the entire population pocket.
    Bro wuh happen minister yuh need go and hide yuh face

44. Sending home workers and expecting better service is foolishness
    Mia hit the ground running having no idea of what it takes to make govt efficient
    Her only goal was to make the IMF proud of her in repaying govt debt as if the IMF really cares by how and what methods the debt is paid
    Daily govt workers are left in the dark to second guess when they will be next placed on the bread line
    This govt had nuff talk about wudda shouuda can be done
    But have so far shove the people into dark corners without as much as handing them a flash light

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

A revenue generating department is short staffed? This must be fake news .

46. Redguard,

My remark was somewhat tongue-in-cheek.

PLT,

i did not expect your idea to be taken up but if you gave it to them then they cannot say they didn’t know. Job losses are inevitable if we use the technology effectively and job losses will be inevitable if we DON’T use the technology effectively.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WARU

you said and I quote

“…The warning is coming from some frustrated Customs Officers as well as the Assistant General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers’ (NUPW) Wayne Walrond…”

The absolute hypocrisy about this statement is the fact that these same customs and immigration officers are the same slime who, after being paid a salary on ghd 26th of each month take 4 to $5000 dollars from returning nationals illegally to clear their property and pocket it while they administer their duties.

Until the names of the criminals are published after they are tried for their crimes, the country will go nowhere

Check out the houses they live in on their salaries and the cars they drive

All of them are mortgagd free in 5 years

That is why they needs to suffer.

48. “after being paid a salary on ghd 26th of each month take 4 to $5000 dollars from returning nationals illegally to clear their property and pocket it while they administer their duties.”

Their houses cars and swimming pools are indeed impressive. Caswell would not want to believe that..