We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Fifty two years in the life of a country is short. In the coming days as the 30 of November approaches there will be a commentary about the what we have achieved as a country and the prospects for the future.

For the first time in our history the current state of things on the social and economic fronts appears bleak with the outlook uncertain. As a proud Barbadian it hurts like hell to look up from the hole we- an educated people- have dug for ourselves.

For years we have peered down our nose at Jamaica, Guyana and others in the region given the developmental challenges. As 2018 closes Barbados finds itself close to the bottom of the pile by the majority of measures on the scorecard. It really does hurt like hell.

As a country we boast that people are our most important resource. We have invested billions of the national budget in education since 1966. Instead of following a predictable path – that of becoming increasingly politically polarized – Barbadians have the opportunity to test the value of the investment.

As we continue to thrash about for our economic survival there are signs the social fabric is deteriorating with the appearance of heightened criminal activity and an inability to implement policies to care for the environment to name two strands of the many required to weave a durable social landscape.

Clearly the economic and decision making models we are using lack the utility to sustain a way of life we continue to aspire.  Our lazy dependence on the fickle tourism and international business sectors and borrowing to support conspicuous consumption behaviour breaths life into BERT.

The concern of the blogmaster is the fact our people are locked into a belief that the austere policy initiatives being rolled out by BERT will stabilize the economy and serve as a springboard to usher in another era of milk and honey.  The belief is being stoked by a parasitic class that serves at the pleasure of the political class- political scientists,  yardfowls, media houses compromised by diminishing profits and a lazy academic and business class. The ability of Barbadians to unleash its full potential derived from the huge investment in education has been hijacked by educated Barbadians!

Where do we go from here?

Do we continue to tinker with the existing development model?

Do we have what it will take to introduce a new development model?

After six months of intently observing the roll out of the government’s policies there is growing cynicism by the blogmaster that as a people we lack the capacity to appreciate the perilous state of our affairs and what it will take for ALL stakeholders to contribute to the climb.

Is hope tangible or is it some nebulous pursuit like …

350 responses to “Hijacked!”

1. Enuff will let u know when i get mine
    In meanwhile don’t hold yuh breathe
    Would hate to know u are a casualty of BERT

2. Cant belive the nerve of Mia plunging Barbados into more debt after stealing retirees saving and openly stating past govt increased the debt
    What a bonefaced to bit liar

3. Enuff miss this part….
    “The next BDS$200,000 will be converted into a bond which will deliver 42 equal monthly payments of the principal, beginning April 30, 2019. Any remaining balance over $250,000, will be paid with interest over the remaining 11 years,” he explained.

I think he should start crowing when people actually get their money back
    “A promise is comfort for a fool” and people are not foolish

4. Shades of “John King”…..

5. Enuff 68 is a nuisance and disgrace, a useless yardfowl who can’t even get the information straight…. he thinks people are too stupid to see the FRAUD involved..

Let them sit there and think Donville is the only one who will be outfitted for metal accessories…goddanm thieves and money launderers….

6. I missed nothing!! I said INITIAL, not ALL, but initial. I also saw that a further $30,000 will be paid next year, but I didn’t mention that because I was focusing on the $20,000 which few weeks ago was not on offer. So from $0 to $50,000 in a couple of months!! I repeat, some of you are just determined to criticise EVERY RH. In Greece, people’s savings were taken–savings. We are talking investments here, and although government paper is considered one of the safest investments it still carries risk. The problem is that a serious economic and potentially social issue is being trivialised along the lines of rabid political partisanship, egofowlism and plain igrunce. A jackass that did not know the difference between a candidate and an MP, cuts and pastes and struggles to comprehend what she reads and write (with yardfowl, thiefs and black slaves as her default defense when cornered) and another one Redwashed in May, who I don’t even waste my time on.#staymad

7. Ya fraud…those pensioners 60 years and OVER should have had ALL their money back since last month as was the ORIGINAL AGREEMENT…yall are thieves who are deliberately creating unnecessary POVERTY and DEBT on the island instead of going after ya fellow thieves in DLP and in the thieving minority community to RECOVER THE MILLONS THEY ALL STOLE FROM THE PEOPLE in the last 10 years…instead yall are trying to create conditions to TIEF MORE…..but time is longer than twine…

Yall should try touching the people’s savings next, ya love to copy every negative shit ya see in failing countries and practicing it on ya own people but ya will bite off more than ya can chew…soon come,

Yeah Donna…we could have told the UN inspector that is what he would have found in UK…

“Tories have DELIBERATELY increased poverty in the UK, according to UN inspector

Professor Philip Alston: He came to his conclusions by listening to people affected by Conservative policies on the poor, sick and disabled. Tories implemented those policies by ignoring the very same people – and now they have vowed to ignore Professor Alston.

The United Nations’ special rapporteur on poverty, Philip Alston, has said he believes the UK’s Conservative government deliberately increased poverty in the country, for ideological reasons.

He said the harm done to the poorest and most vulnerable could be reversed with very little investment; all that is needed is the political will. Sadly, we all know that a change of government will be required to achieve this.

The Tories themselves confirmed this, by stating that they do not recognise the findings of Professor Alston’s report. Clearly they will not act upon those findings either.”

8. Enuff in Wonderland….taxpayers wasted EVERY DIME they spent attempting to educate you…

“Prime Minister Mottley expressed her gratitude to President Moreno as well as the senior management and staff of the Inter-American Development Bank for the short turnaround time for approving and signing the SDL, noting that this agreement was one of several indications that Barbados was heading in the right direction as it seeks to address its economic challenges. In addition, PM Mottley emphasized that the IDB will continue to support Barbados’ development in a range of sectors, noting, “Without prejudice to this loan of budgetary support, there are a number of other loans that we are currently discussing and working on, as well as seeking to increase the pace of execution on the existing loans.”

The SDL is funded from the IDB’s Ordinary Capital, and will disburse in a single tranche within one year, with a grace period of 3 years, and an interest rate based on LIBOR. The executing agency will be Barbados Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment (MOFEI)”

9. Wuhloss…look Enuff 68…look whose criminal proceeds sitting in the banks from ripping off policyholders, the pension fund, the treasury, trafficking guns and drugs and laundering money yall should seize in the banks…AND get back the people’s money…

…..and don’t forget to SEIZE ALL of Leroy Parris’ and Peter Harris’ and all the other known thieves involved stolen multi million dollar bank accounts….Mia’s friends….

….AND what about Mia and her family setting a good example and returnimg all their offshore accounts BACK TO BARBADOS….and get all they fellow tax evaders to return the offshore money to the island too…instead of sinking the people into FURTHER DEBT every other week.

“CARSON C. CADOGAN
    Mia, you should have told that white man to take his US$100million LOAN and stuff it where the Sun dont shine.

We should be earning US$100million from Bajan exports, you dont have to pay that back Mia.

What about the billions of Dollars sitting in Banks in Broad Street belonging to WHITE BAJANS and INDIAN MUSLIMS??? Are they not going to use that money to help Barbados. Or is the burden going to fall on the shoulders of BLACK BAJANS ALONE??”

10. That is the result of two corrupt governments who spent the last 3 decades being OVERLY CORRUPT friends and playmates, while they and their mindless yardfowls made a career of SABOTAGING THE MAJORITY POPULATION.and each other …as a bloodsport….but now the shit has turned REAL…..real life instead of fantasy sport to self promote and self enrich.

11. Mia Mottley is going down the exact same playbook as Donald Trump.

When things are good and praises are coming – she takes the praises,however;

When things are crashing and failing and criticisms start – then she passes on the blame elsewhere.

Imagine Mia Mottley is blaming the muck up going on with the lay-offs in the civil service as ‘SABOTAGE’.

SABOTAGE BY WHO MOTTLEY ?

YOU SEEN A MAN WHO ACCUSTOMED TIEFING WILL IMMEDIATELY BLAME A THIEF THE MINUTE HE LOSES SOMETHING.

Perhaps the honourable Prime Minister understands well – the strategy of using people within the civil service to undermine and destabalise a government.

ASK FREUNDEL STUART WHAT THEY WERE DOING TO HIM – WITH A WINK AND A NOD BY MOTTLEY.

But back then Freundel could not pass the buck and say – it is not me – it is sabotage – motley would have with the assistance of the compliant media – cried shame on Stuart – as being a ‘sleeping Giant’ – and not being able to lead.Not so ?

If you are a leader Mia ‘I’VE GOT THIS’ Mottley – then you lead from in front.You don’t go and call a National press conference with your journalist of choice – Judas Ellis’ – and announce that everyone terminated will leave with a package in their hands on the same day – because you are so sympathetic because you know it will be a difficult thing – and then you don’t put things in place to ensure that it happens.

These lay offs have been going on for the last 8 – 10 weeks – and yet Mia does not see the need to directly get involve – yet she can be found micro managing the ministries of the other Ministers – like making sure Carol Roberts – get that position at the NCF, or that Selma Husbands – get in as Deputy Permanent Secretary, or calling back the experienced team who went to buy Sanitation Trucks – Trevor Prescod told us that he had nothing to do with that !

But you know every 3 days now she is on a flight to a different country.Boy what short memories the critics have huh.

Yet Mia now hiding under the excuse of sabotage – without bringing one jot of evidence. ha ha !

Hard ears wunna won’t hear – Hard ears wunna will feel !

12. “(with yardfowl, thiefs and black slaves as her default defense when cornered)”

When it has finally sunk in that both useless selfserving BLACK GOVERNMENTS…since pre independence…created AND MAINTAINED a helpless slave society, social enslavement of MAJORITY BLACK PEOPLE ….so they can run their tiefing scams against their own people…I will not have to keep reminding yardfowls that Barbados is STILL A SLAVE SOCIETY…one in which the lowlife government ministers and lawyers should go to prison for violating nearly 3 generations of their OWN people’s HUMAN RIGHTS.

13. I want to remind Mia of what the Communications direct of the BWA spoke about at the Sewage Plant in Bay Street where the night after that plant was fixed – then it was destroyed late the next night.

Sabotage – it was stated by the BWA.

Transport Board under the last administration also alleged – SABOTAGE – with their buses

Remember every project the government tried to get on board – was resisted by the other co-conspirators acting on behalf of their party : BRA,HYATT,SAM LORDS HOTEL ETC

SABOTAGE

WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND.HOWEVER IN THIS CASE I DON’T BELIEVE THERE IS ANY SABOTAGE – BUT PURE CHAOS AND LACK OF PREPARATION BY THIS MOTTLEY ADMINISTRATION.

See what happened with the Online tax – 3 times they tried to introduce it and 3 times they had to withdraw it

See what happened in the Ministry of health’s policy of late openings of some polyclinics – they gave a date to start – then had to pull it

What about what happened at Dugid’s ministry of Transport

Can you ascribe sabotage to all of that too ?

14. Like I said, that lil upgrade let all the air out of the Salemites and naysayers bubble. Murdaaaa🎈📌#yallmadstatmad!

15. Enuff,

I helped to vote out the DLP and put in the BLP. Am I a Salemite or naysayer? Yet I have questions and concerns. They are legitimate. Your attitude does not help me any.

16. Donna
    You’re not part of the coven.🤣🤣🤣

17. Thank you,thank you,thank you Bishop Joe Artherly

Hold em Joe,Hold em Joe,hold em Joe and don’t let she go.

Once again Bishop Joe Artherley suck it to Mia saying – what sabotage what !

If you are prepared to cry sabotage – then be prepared to bring the evidence.

He warned her you can’t be prepared to take the praises when the going gets good – but when yuh do crap – you want to blame everybody else.

You hold em Joe and don’t let she go.

She eat soldier man food,then she got to tek soldier man lashes. Wuhloss.

18. TInnis
    Where’s the evidence that you promised to support your claim ghat Corey Lane is to head a government unit?🖐🏾

19. You get in dey and talk Joe.Talk in de house tomorrow;

Talk in de newspapers

Talk on dem call- in shows

Send out our brother Cassie to talk too

This lay -off plan is the most mucked up process by a government that I have seen in a long time.

Joe Artherly said that they are using last in first out when it suits them – and first in first out when its convenient – all in an attempt to get rid of all the dems.

But karma is a b * i * tch yuh hear .

20. I am talking about Mia and she lies enuff.Deal with that right now !

This government is like a pack of cards.

I hope yuh still keep yuh government job by next year enuff lollllll.

21. Talk in de house tomorrow;

Talk in de newspapers

Talk on dem call- in shows

and TALK SHITE PUN BU WHERE TALKING SHITE REACHES ITS ZENITH ON A DAILY BASIS
    and TALK SHITE PUN BU WHERE SHITE TALKERS ABOUND ON A DAILY BASIS

22. TInniss
    And I am talking about credibility. 🤣🤣

23. HOPE SHE FLYING BUSINESS CLASS

“Caddle attending meetings in London and Dubai”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/215427/caddle-attending-meetings-london-dubai

24. The ministers enjoying their perks while working class bajans being put on the breadline with nothing to look forward to at xmas.

But don’t worry Mia cares hahahahah

They enjoying their big dollar fee per diem allowances,their business class travel,their entertainment and their travel allowance as well as their Duty Allowance.

Kerry symmonds in London or just returned and before that Miami

Sandra Husbands was just in Guyana

Mia went to Haiti,Miami,Jamaica,Surinam – you name it

Marsha caddle off to London,Paris and Dubai

Dwight Sunderland to go to China

Remember when according to Mottley Freundel and he ministers were travelling too much – and even former “independent senator ” and Nation columnist Frances Chandler was berating Stuart and writing about how he wants to go to the last Commonwealth meeting – because he wanted to meet the queen since it would be her last he he he.

The man did not even go to that and it seems the arrangement always was for Maxine mcclean to attend.

You see how Mia and her team spitting in your face and telling you its rain ?

25. Marsha Caddle says she is going to drum up business – would we get a report of what business she drummed up on her return ?

Would we find out if our tax payers money was well spent sending Sunderland to China, Kerrie to London & Miami and Mia to Surinam.

All I can see on that Surinam trip is Mia dress up like a fisher woman and a folk dancer rubbing up on she belly. Lord help us.

I know Mia likes cultural things and I have no problem with that – but she has to respect the office she holds and don’t mek sheself look like a mock stick.Steupes.

26. Yardfowl Enuff is talking about credibility…what a laugh, while we get to point out what lack of credibility in a government looks like every day.

27. David

Did the government just make the Sandals agreements and other documents public?

28. Salemite get thee behind me!!!

29. @enuf

Not aware, link?

30. The Barbados Labour Party Government will today seek a supplemental from the Consolidated Fund in excess of $212 million, the majority of which is slated for some of the country’s cash-strapped statutory organisations.

31. The Government of Barbados has set up a Relief Board with respect to the Garbage and Sewage Contribution (GSC) Levy.

32. And those forms can be downloaded online and submitted by email. Hopefully, filling out forms online will be next. #smartgovernment#y’allmadstaymad

33. @Hants

It seems the plan by government is to implement fees across the board and ask those who can’t afford to apply for waiver/relief. This maybe a useful way to go. The challenge will be to ensure the application and approval process is transparent and fair.

34. Ah don’t think that Caddle trip to UK is turning out to be such a good idea after all.

Mia needs to think first before cutting loose with wild ideas…like telling bajans they are invited to go farm in Suriname…an island whose first language is DUTCH….especially when Barbados has land and should be GIVING that land to it’s majority population…just like Suriname does..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/919433078266232/?t=0

35. WARU

You clearly have never been to Suriname……I guess Automotive Art should have never set up shop in Suriname. Secondly, you should stay far away from matters involving economic geography and integration. Stick to cutting, pasting, yardfowling people and confusing candidates for MPs. lmao

36. lol…how do you know I never been to Suriname…never said I never been there, I obviously know more about Surinam than both YOU and Mia…or she would not return to Barbados talking that shite..as if people are fools…many Bajans go shopping in Surinam…they know what time it is..

Automotive Art…set up in enough countries, there was a market, they made use of the niche…by the way, is that not the same dude with business in Europe and North America that spoke about the corruption re government ministers and local business people…in Barbados…???

37. When ya name dropping…always remember…ya have a 15 second attention span..I DON’T…lol

38. I have been too!! And you don’t know that English is spoken all bout Suriname? So because their first language is Dutch, Bajans shouldn’t invest? Name dropping? Get thee behind me Salemite!

39. Did I say English is not spoken???

Did you notice that ALL documentation IS IN DUTCH???

40. The idea of expanding the market, trade space, opportunities for Bajans make since. We cannot limit our future to the rock. These are different times and will require bold initiatives.

41. @Waru,
    Barbados is a compact island with a relative “marquee” image. I have always stated that there are many high rollers both inside and outside of Barbados who would like to see the country become a high end luxury island. The majority of resident bajans are not from the wealthy class and are an impediment to the country becoming an island of luxury and wealth.

The previous administration did their best to demoralise their people whilst Mia’s mob have tightened the noose by raising all sorts of tax increases.

And in walks Suriname with an offer to the down trodden bajan to a piece of land in some far flung remote place.

This government has no interest in bringing comfort to its people. It is hell bent on changing the demographics of the island. Mia and her backers are playing the long game and they are killing the masses slowly.

Don’t be surprised if the UAE starts a recruitment campaign for Bajan domestic servants.

Join up the dots people.

42. TLSN

Jobby!!!

43. @TLSN,

You got it in on. Demographics is the name of the game. When the New Barbadians have economies of scale they will strike. Traditional Bajans won’t know what has hit them.
    Our open-handed welcome embeds the seeds of our own destruction. I have seen areas of London that have been transformed beyond recognition by groups that arrived in the UK in large numbers mass only two decades ago..
    Those groups having six, seven and eight children now, in 25 years time will be making demands on the system. Watch out. It will all end in tears.
    That is why traditional black and white Bajans MUST work together. The chairman may call this xenophobia now, in 20 years when they are competing with his kids he will have another story.

44. Enuff, you are entitled to your opinions.

Hal, take a look at Richard Branson’s Necker Island in the Caribbean, it is particularly that model that I’m referring to where money is no objection.

The lesser Antilles are all small islands. Those with money will not want to share the island with the poor or humble middle classes.

Neither will they be encouraging mass immigration. It will be a simple case of recruiting lone workers without their families.

Enuff, cannot see the bigger picture. Why do you think they are looking at constructing an offshore island.

45. “This government has no interest in bringing comfort to its people. It is hell bent on changing the demographics of the island. Mia and her backers are playing the long game and they are killing the masses slowly.”

And they are actually telling themselves that no one can see this.

46. Oh gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawd.

47. “Did you notice that ALL documentation IS IN DUTCH???”

WDF else it would be in, Yiddish? The ignorance is stifling.

48. Do you SPEAK DUTCH…how many bajans you know speak dutch.

…..how bout when Mia sends bajans down to Suriname to FARM…will they be speaking DUTCH THEN.

English is spoken…but NOT FLUENTLY.

My family said only yesterday they are only now planning to teach english as a second language in Suriname schools….I have no intentions of spelling this out for you…ah gave ya enough hints.

49. And they dont speak bajan dialect in Suriname either…lol

50. Hijacking hijackers