Minister of Sports & Culture, John King

In six short months, Minister John King has revealed a previously uncaring side that was not readily apparent during the last elections campaign, by displaying a callous lack of empathy for persons that have been retrenched from the public service.

According to the Sunday Sun of November 11, 2018, he stated that we were wasting a lot of time talking about layoffs. Well Mr. Minister layoffs hurt, especially if it is your only job and your only source of income and you have: children to support; bills to pay; and you are in danger of losing your home because you will soon have to default on your mortgage. Mind you, he held out a little hope for those affected, when he predicted a turnaround in two years. In the meantime, what are they expected to do – eat grass?

He forms part of the largest governing administration in the history of this country and I don’t see him volunteering to make the sacrifice for the common good. I well recall the current Prime Minister, when in opposition, suggesting that the Stuart cabinet should have no more than twelve members. Now she has twenty-six which, to my mind and her previously stated position, is more than this country needs.

Why can’t Minister King take a two-year layoff since he is so comfortable doing it to others, particularly the lowest paid public servants. To be fair to him, I don’t think he knows what he is talking about. He can’t be aware that his administration is retrenching permanent employees, and doing so contrary to the law which requires that their posts must first be abolished by parliament. To date no order has been laid in parliament, in accordance with section 13 of the Public Service Act.

Worst yet, I don’t know how the minister and any of his colleagues can sleep comfortably at night knowing that this category of worker is not entitled to unemployment benefits from National Insurance, and they are not given any form of severance payment. Instead, this caring administration is paying retrenched permanent and pensionable employees with their own money.

I don’t think that any voter in the last election expected this savagery.

314 responses to “Senator Franklyn Speaks – Uncaring John King”

1. @T.Inniss

If you listen to Mia’s interview with David Ellis, posted to BU somewhere, she indicated the pay scale of the consultants including Jong.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

Barbadians need a full explanation of the status of taxes OWED versus tax-monies OWING. For some years now, we have “heard” from various sources about certain amnesties, and monies OWING to the BRA. We are finally seeing the BRA conducting auctions for failure to pay Property Tax.
    When the IMF issued their recent “numbers”, I looked to see if I could find any hints of these amounts. Other than their lead story number, that CG & SOE’s had not been remitting NIS amounts, I could find little. Was it that monies owing and monies owed were a wash?
    Failure to remit VAT is egregious. These are monies collected on behalf of the GoB. The “talk” by some, is they are OWED more than they OWE, hence their rationale for ‘failure to remit’. Not that they are right, rather they can not afford the cash flow issues, caused by paying in while the refunds are not forthcoming.
    Why was the tax clearance certification abolished? Were they not ensure current tax filing and payment of outstanding amounts? Or is the answer the faults lay within the BRA, such that “outstanding” was a nebulous concept?

3. David

Thank you but I don’t want the pay scale.

I want to know the whole renumeration package in dollars.

If a public servant goes into the bank for a loan and the loan officer asks him how much do you earn – the public servant will not tell the loan officer – I am in the S4 SCALE..Steupes.

This kinda shyte is what will mek a grown man get cruel and disillusioned with politicians like Mottley – and then brown nosers will come and tell you how open and transparent she is.

What is the Salary ?

Is it per month,per project,per attendance – what the hell is it ?

What other allowances ,concessions etc are given?

Is the renumeration paid in Barbados dollars or U.S. Dollars?

Look VOB is doing a similar job to the communist operators .I agree with you Mariposa.

Nobody much reads the Advocate and the news on CBC has been completely sanitized – so all that is left is VOB and the Nation newspaper.Bare crap.

Sometimes reading the Nation or listening to VOB you wonder if the elections really over.Steupes.

4. On another point – this said Mia Mottley that at that Chamber of Commerce meeting in 2013 – told Freundel Stuart to reduce the cabinet – AND STOP TRAVELLING SO MUCH – THIS IS THE SAME PERSON THAT YOU CAN’T KEEP OFF THE AIRPORT TARMAC.

OFF TODAY TO Surinam – JUST COME BACK 2 DAYS AGO FROM HAITI,THEN MIAMI, THEN GRENADA OR JAMAICA .

She obviously like all the salutations,and official hob -nobbing that takes place.

Look the bold faced hypocrisy of this woman will really turn your stomach.

Yet she in an interview with that BLP OPERATIVE Ellis talking about how she has all this work to catch up with -etc – but can’t keep out the airport to attend non essential matters – that a foreign minister or the substantive minister can do.

5. Caswell

I note your additional questions.

A little bird outside my window was chirping this morning and saying some rather strange things:

About going up at Glendiary and being bailed out by someone from the Simmonds clan

And about getting construction contracts in the last dispensation through the influence of Mia – but yuh see me …..

Not me and that Pele case boazee.

The truth is if you have redeemed yourself and have changed your ways – then I can live with that – but if not well ……

WUH IT IS ESTWICK SAY AGAIN — TIME LONGER THAN TWINE HMMM.

6. @ Pieceuhderockyeahright,

“November 14, 2018
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley today began an official three-day visit to Suriname at the invitation of President Desiré Bouterse.”

I went by my friend Google to find out about President Desiré Bouterse and after what I read decide to leave the PM’s visit to conspiracy theorists. lol

7. CBC – IN PERIL – MORE THAN HALF THE STAFF GOING HOME

WELL WUNNA STRIKE UP DEY WHEN THE POUTING PRINCESS CALLED WUNNA OUT EARLIER THIS YEAR -REMEMBER THE SANITATION STRIKE WHEN some OF THE CBC STAFF LIKE LISA LORDE, KENT JERSON , SHANE WHAT HIS NAME WENT OUT IN SYMPATHY WITH THE SANITATION AND IDC WORKERS –

Hmmmm.ANYWAY MIA CARES.

RODWELL LONDON GONE,DOUG HOYTE GONE – I BETCHA ROSEMARY ALLEYNE,CHRIS SINCKLER WIFE,MITCHELL ARTHUR – ALL DEM SO GOING,GOING GONE.

Private sector sending home people – but if you are part of the “powder puff posies ” yuh stan’ good – Selma,Analese,Lucille,,Carol etc etc – wuk will be dey fuh yuh

8. I repeat, Mia and the BLP gine kill some ah wunna. Yuh mean everyday so, with 4.5 more years at least to go? Jeezus Christ man!!🤣🤣🤣

9. @ Whitehill

The following Stoopid Cartoon is accredited to you (the amount of money may vary slightly but if Cris Stinkliar can shift a decimal point & Mugabe can add 5% to her salary and that of 26 ministers and umpteen cuntsultants whu bout me grandson…?. He cant see too good so forgive any errors in translation…)

https://i.imgur.com/IaM61Ym.png

10. Enuff in Wonderland…were you not on this same very blog nearly every damn day for at least 8 years, longer than me…when you wanted DLP gone, now that ya are a yardfowl for free…ya complaining…oh really?

11. I ENJOYED SCHOOLDAYS
    I ENJOYED MY UWI AND HC DAYS
    I ENJOYED TEACHING MED SCHOOL
    BUT NOTHING CAN COMPARE WITH MOCKING IN DE RUM SHOP
    I LIKE UM REAL BAD

12. WARU
    Even in describing people you’re a cut and paste expert. Salemite get thee behind me! ➕

13. Hey,Hey, Enuff like he believe yeah lol

Salemite and then a cross ! what de hell lolllll

ENUFF DE LASHES LIKE UM BURNING

14. Look at that! Very good Piece of the rock. For some time i’d believed that since I’m not Jeff no one reads my submissions. You know how bajans love to suck up and pander to those whom they believe are up there.

15. TInniss
    In 2008/9
    Where George Edghill went?
    Where Tess Chadderton-Shaw Went?
    Where Peter Scott went?
    Where the NCF chief went?
    Where all the UDC and RDC staff went?
    Indeed where Carol Roberts went?
    Where the marketing manager at NHC went?
    You hypocrite!

#keepmoanin

16. Enuff

Skipper – what dat got to do with me ?

Where George Edgehill now – Chairman of the Board at National housing – who fire the General Manager and 2 other senior staff as his first order of business

Where Carol Roberts is – leff one BLP Bee Hive at VOB and into another one at the NCF – even though john king did not want her – but he now had to eat humble pie

Peter Scott dead I think else he would have been back at UDC

#delashesburning yuh

17. @T. Inniss

At the end of the day there is a void in Opposition politics. So far the DLP has not walked a new path since 24 May, the electorate is tired of the political sniping. We want real change. Be critical but what are you doing to be ready to take the mantle?

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You asked: If Carol was accused of embezzlement why did she not face the court?

I can’t answer that. All I can say is that it was my duty, as a member of the Supervisory Committee, to audit the operations of the credit union. I discovered a problem and drew it to the attention of the other members. We then gave instructions to call the police. That was the end of the matter for me. However, my understanding is that the money was repaid.

19. https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/14/pm-mottley-on-official-visit-to-suriname/
    MIA BITING IN DUTCH AND PAPIAMENTO NOW MURDAH

20. @Caswell

Was the matter recorded in the minutes of any credite union meeting?

21. ERMINE BELLE PONTIFICATED ON BARBADOS TODAY THUSLY
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/13/have-a-heart-2/

IN RESPONSE A CHAP CALLED ALISTAIR HAYNES OPINED THUS
    Nice lady and a true professional. I can remember getting help from her back in the 90s after getting a horn

ERMINE IS WHAT YA CALL A POST HORN DR MURDAH

22. De PM mussee delivering a birthday present lol

23. Before February roll round Mia going fire a feller or give either Arthur Holder OR JOHN KING a rest.

https://i.imgur.com/ZGjPBrL.png

I doan understan why she ent give Indar Weir the Ministry of Tourism doah at least he got manners and doan point in people face when he talking to them

but i ent an advisor so i ent know why she got oblong head in this position that is critical to the lifeblood of the Nation…

Help de ole man understand that stupidity…

@ to Whom May Be Remotely Interested

THe reason that dem ent prosecute Carol is the same reason FCIB ent prosecure *** nor BNB ent prosecute *** and the same thing for Nova Scotia

If you have any bank in barbados being associated publicly with money being teifed from the organisation do you understand what that is going to mean?

It means that your money is not safe cause staff, particularily those with trusted positions teifing and your money is not safe.

She dun known to be a teif so….

24. When yuh gotta buy nuff weave yuh will need nuff money – not so lol

25. Michelle Arthur like she got axed from CBC also.

That is how yuh suppose to do de ting freundel.

Watch and see what will happen up there in the Pine.

26. T.Inniss

IS WEAVE DONKEY HAIR?

WUNNAH REMEMBER AT THE 21ST INDEPENDENCE CELEBRATIONS THE CADET CORP MARCHED ON TO WILLIAM TELL OVERTURE AND CAROL ROBERTS ENTHUSIASTICALLY “THEY MARCHING TO THE MUSIC OF THE LONE RANGER!

I WILL NEVER NEVER FORGET THAT BLOOPER!

BUT I DIDNT KNOW HE DOES TIEF TOO

27. @Piece 10:45 a.m.
    “Mia Mugabe is positioning Rawdone’s MyMoney as the sole provider to handle the VAT collections at every single Point of Sale vendor in Barbados

At that point, I want anyone to tell me how you are going to tell me if Court’s $35 million is in Mia’s pocket or in Rawdone’s or off island earning interest on CDs in New York.”

🙂 My friend, I can tell when you are wearing that tin-foil on your head 🙂

A moment of sheer brilliance. Indeed, you may have pinpointed the objective of the big scam. Just brilliant. However, I think you went too far when you referred to the “Sandbox ” as the “QuickSandpit” 🙂

My brilliant friend
    #LoosenTheFoil

28. “ENUFF DE LASHES LIKE UM BURNING.”

Lol…they can’t sleep at night, now they know what helpless feels like, all the crimies they have committed against 2 generations of Bajans….they got the nerve to believe that they will be AALLOWED to get away with tiefing from a 3rd generation of black citizens to enrich themselves and a 1% minority of thieves, criminals and bribers….

They can’t do it in peace….a big spotlight is shining right up their tails, in their faces and making them uncomfortable…that is what got the free yardfowl Enuff’s panties twisted.

29. Barbados Today editorial finds it necessary to defend the ignorance of John King
    Meanwhile this govt is stealing pensioners saving and throwing poor people under the bus and Barbados Today remains oblivious to the pain and suffering of the people
    The media seems to have forgotten that without the service of the people their would be out of business
    What the people ought to do is send the media a message and stop supporting the news media better interest full stop

30. Enuff 68…look at what will also HAUNT Mia and her fellow crooks involved in that horrific scam and theft of 60 million US dollars of the pensioner’s Pension Fund money…for another 4 years and 6 months…..looka look.

“A spectacular Caribbean resort in which Simon Cowell and Andrew Lloyd Webber have invested millions of pounds is embroiled in a legal dispute amid fears it may never be completed.

The hotel and villa development in Barbados was billed as the ultimate millionaire’s hideaway, with investors tempted by plans showing luxury Balinese-style properties overlooking coral-white beaches.

Villas on the 32-acre Paradise Beach site, which cost up to £18 million, come with an infinity pool, cinema, gym and wine cellar.

The neighbouring Four Seasons hotel will also provide 24-hour room service and access to butlers, housekeepers, chefs, waiters and nightwatchmen.

But four years after its launch, the complex – which aims to rival the famous Sandy Lane hotel – is a deserted building site with half-built villas clad in rusting scaffolding, and the developers have yet to secure the funds to finish it.

If they fail, investors – who also include the former Formula 1 team owner Eddie Jordan – could lose their money or have to resort to legal action to recover deposits.

One investor, British-based oil firm boss Aidan Heavey, has launched a lawsuit in the Barbados Supreme Court for the return of his £1.3 million deposit. He says developers are in breach of contract for failing to complete his £6.3 million five-bedroom villa by the agreed date of 2010.”

31. “Meanwhile this govt is stealing pensioners saving and throwing poor people under the bus and Barbados Today remains oblivious to the pain and suffering of the people
    The media seems to have forgotten that without the service of the people their would be out of business.”

Do you really expect anything else from Peter Harris who is patiently waiting to extort what he can from Bajans but knows he needs to massage Mia really good first to get it, because his corrupt friend the DPP, deceased is no more, so he has very few allies left to manipulate…..but both him and her are in for a surprise.

32. Enuff in Wonderland. ..wuh ya tink?

33. When is Caswell Franklyn going to grow the balls to “call out” George Payne in said manner as he calls out Carol Roberts
    Most noticably Caswell sits next to George Payne a man accused of fraud and a person in a higher position to make policy which will effect people’s livelihood for years to come more so than Carol Roberts yet Caswell says nothing about George Payne
    However Caswell finds it oh so important to speak of past accusations about Carol Roberts
    Caswell you are one bold faced hypocrite gleaming the spotlight on those to whom you find offensive while sitting at the integrity table with George Payne (all out of your choosing) a man whose character is not worth a dime worth of respect
    Caswell you ought to be ashamed of yourself

34. Caswell Franklyn u did it again stepped into a whole lot of doo doo
    You once again come on BU to say what u know of Carol Roberts story in like manner in which you told your side of the Stewart story(only to be wrong)
    Yet as the George Payne allegations with formal evidence swirls across social media in vortex formation day after day
    You continue to sit right next to George Payne with hushed silence
    Hypocrite you are!

35. Who dont you ask members of your dear loving party to raise their voice about the matter?

36. Why dont you ask Mia to show a level of being decent and stop pretending that she has done a right of passage for the people by putting George Payne on the integrity comittee board and in charge of land and housing
    What a slap in the face of the people she had made a promise of being transparent
    Then u David got nerve to play political ball on this issue by giving advice to the contrary
    U need a good bush bathe and an internal cleansing of Epsom salts

37. But looka muh crosses i call Caswell out as a hypocrite and David rush out of the bull pen to bite my feet
    You ought to be ashamed of self after ten years of bashing past govt over the head about transparency
    After all David none of that matters to u (now) just as long as you can get your slice of the political pie

38. @ David
    Who dont you ask members of your dear loving party to raise their voice about the matter?
    Shiirt !!!

In OTHER words,…
    Why don’t she ask the Devil to call out Trump for ‘pu$$y-grabbing”?
    Why don’t she call on GP to condemn bad manners on the blog?
    Why don’t she ask Kellman to condemn Johnny muh boy for talking shiite..?

Best of all…
    Why don’t she shut her donkey if she has nothing to say…?

39. TInniss
    Stop the obfuscation. The point is that prior to May 25th 2018 you did not have a problem with a new government sending home workers based on political stripes, acvording to you, now all of a sudden it is an issue. The difference now is that at least people aren’t being mistreated and have to head to the Courts. The last government lost ALL the wrongful dismissal cases….ALL. So Peter Scott should have just waited to be re-employed rather than the government pay him what the Court determined while lawyers get millions for reading a document? George Edghill is neither the Chairman of NHC nor was he fired from NHC and Peter Scott was at RDC. Get yuh info right. #4.5moreyearsatleast

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC aka asinine cretin aka many pokey and Mariposa

You really doing well with this strategy of the (DLP) pot calling the (BLP) KETTLE, black.

And to help you on with your cretinous strategy here is a picture to inspire you to greater heights of idiocy.

http://imgur.com/eIopApi

You go girl AND YOU DONT EED TO COVER YOUR SIX cause Piece, got you covered.

41. Caswell is a coward who sang for his supper now having the opportunity to be counted as not one of them he is MIA
    Yesterday exposure of Carol Roberts allegations which by his accounts he does not know if these allegations were proven has once again show his double standard nature and his capability to attack only those issue which would serve his purpose and agenda making one to belive that he really doesnt mind laying in bed with certain types of dogs and catching their fleas
    His silence on George Payne a man with no compunction to be held glaring in the public spotlight amidst glaring illegal allegations speaks volumes
    But then again birds of feather flock together

42. Any one who can stand by and endorse Caswell silence on George Payne Corrupt allegations are stoned faced gutter rats
    Here are the Stewarts trying to reach out to anyone who would listen to their story
    A story that tells of loose cannons and a system run amuck and we have low lifes whose love of Caswell must now be the basis for Caswell to keep quiet on corrupt issues that affect certain people of society
    In the meanwhile these same low life hypocrites would drop all asked of them to hunt Donville Inniss down all the way to New York
    While in their own back yard some sitting in parliament are scum bags living off what righfully belongs to citizens

43. Notice how all u yard dogs runaway
    None of wunna have the nerve to ask Caswell how he can sit next to George Payne and not put on a vocal fight against the corruption George Payne allegedly carried out against the Stewart sister Didn’t bCaswell lend his chorus to the drum beat of transparency against past govt
    Now that that he has the wheels of govt he seemingly have allowed the wheels to drop off the transparency wagon
    Go figure

44. Senator Franklyn participated in a joint select committee on the integrity in public life bill. It is a Committee setup with a mandate. It is not forum to facilitate debate between members outside of the brief.

#capiche?

45. But since govt like to copy America policies
    One would belive for the best interest of people and country govt and Caswell as a citizen would not be so eager to have nestled among themselves a person with questionable character like a George Payne in lieu of the fact that this govt along with Caswell vocal outburst created a stink about Carrington refusal to pay Griffith after a court ordered him to do so
    Now lol and behold we have the same Caswell who comes on. BU and slims Carrol Roberts but sits in silence in or out of Parliament about George Payne allegations against the Stewarts

46. I guess bone heads like u david don’t find nothing offensive when George Payne can be a member of the integrity committe and in charge of housing and land when said present-day allegations brought against him are all related to the positions he now holds in govt

47. Hard ears yuh won’t hear…

48. Bone head David tell me how it is possible in two instances for Caswell to give up his Senate seat in moments of frustration to defend GEorge Payne in one instant
    Then in the other instant comes on BU to tell what he knows about Caroll Roberts and embezzlement accusations
    Now David wants all to belive that Caswell muted voice on George Payne is within good reason
    David seems to forget Caswell early moments of shamelessly defending. George Payne on BU while being a Senator

49. “Anyone who can stand by and endorse Caswell silence on George Payne Corrupt allegations are stoned faced gutter rats….”

Hmmmmm……….

PLEASE NOTE…….. I am not in any way trying to CONDEMN Stewart or DEFEND Payne and Marshall…. vice versa. I am duty bound to highlight the hypocrisy of yard-fowls.

The Mariposa consortium has been INCONSISTENT in their views and concerns relative to elderly people who have been victims of unscrupulous lawyers.

In their previous “ac” persona, the consortium was vehemently critical of contributors expressing concerns about Michael Carrington’s dishonest act of illegally with-holding the funds of his former 78 year old, wheel chair bound client, John Griffiths for over two years…….. while defending the dishonest lawyer.

The point being made at that time by the consortium, was people were wrong in criticizing Carrington, based solely on Griffiths’ “side of the story” and in the absence of “facts of which many are unknown to the general public.”………….

……………as evidenced by the following contribution:

ac January 23, 2015 12:11 PM: “Every cat dog and pussie have an opinion on this matter all borne OUTSIDE of RELEVANCE and FACTS. Facts of which many are UNKNOWN to the GENERAL PUBLIC. So far all that is being witnessed is a bunch of blp gloating self-opinionated talking heads falling all over themselves clutching at low hanging fruit.”

Similarly, the consortium came to the conclusion Payne and Marshall are guilty based SOLELY on the “mouthings” of Stewart and formed “an opinion on this matter all borne outside of relevance and facts. Facts of which many are unknown to the general public,”………….

………….while continuing to CRITICIZE Caswell Franklyn and others who EXPRESSED an ALTERNATIVE VIEW on the matter.

As such, it is reasonable to conclude that the views the Mariposa consortium have been expressing on Payne/Marshall/Stewart issue are NOT GENUINE………. but for purposes of POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY.

So……. is Mariposa also a “stoned faced gutter rat” as well?

Leave a Reply to WARUCancel reply