If the reporting is factually correct, then all of us should warmly welcome the recent announcement by Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, stating that ‘the country’s tourism sector is about to become a level playing field when it comes to concessions granted for food and beverage importation’.

Adding ‘she had tasked Minister of Tourism, Kerrie Symmonds, to eradicate the bureaucratic unevenness faced by local hotels seeking clearance for the granting of concessions under the Tourism Development Act (Amended)’.

The second verbatim quotation raises a few concerns. Will this new policy only relate to hotels, or will it also apply to our stand-alone restaurants?

Our several dining options enjoy a good reputation and it would be a terrible shame to disadvantage them now.

The reason for requesting indisputable clarification will be critical to our post Brexit British market, especially with Easter falling late in April next year.Traditionally the bulk of overseas holidays are booked in the days immediately following Christmas, at least in the UK.

With the continued unpredictability surrounding the negative effects of Brexit, compounded by higher mortgage interest rates and a 30 year low value of Sterling against the US$. These factors will all play a huge part for those deciding which destination may offer the best value-for-money.

It also raises the question whether our policymakers and planners have put in place a contingency committee or group to carefully study and help mitigate any potential negative implications that may be caused by Brexit.

Are ‘we’ for instance looking at any possible reduction in airlift or the impact of the loss of EU261 which currently guarantees compensation for delayed flights operated by the current European Union member state airlines?

On a flight recently to Miami, it was particularly refreshing to witness at least two Government Ministers, including the Minister of Tourism and a Senator, seated in economy class.

And heartening later to read that it was a new Government mandate that Ministers, Permanent Secretaries and officers of a regulated grade would now fly economy on all flights of four hours or less and business class above a four hour duration. In actuality, this only covers direct nonstop flights to Florida and Panama. In hindsight it might have attracted far more credibility to have extended this to five hours, therefore including New York (area), Boston, Toronto, Montreal and Charlotte.

I also hope that this token move is taken a step further, by ensuring that all Government travel business including flights, accommodation and sustenance is paid for by designated credit or debit cards, which could earn those valuable frequent flyer miles or points ensuring further reductions in overall taxpayer spend and greater transparency of expenses.

Regular readers will know that I am a long standing and strong advocate of airline and hotel loyalty schemes and their associated benefits. As an example my recent connection flight from Barbados to Heathrow cost US$52.90 plus miles.

Just as our more innovative banks have devised credit cards that earn users additional cash back rewards, there is no reason why this preferred method of payment could not substantially bring down the overall net cost to Government.

Especially, when you factor in the increased number of Ministry portfolios, which will without doubt, create even more conceivably immoderate travel opportunities.

62 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Government Ministers Flying Economy”

1. @Hants November 6, 2018 11:47 AM “That is politically motivated bullsht and you know it.”

Cuh dear Hants. You rough up TInniss too bad. lolll!!!

2. @TInniss “Jamaica has I believe approx. 3 million residents – yet they only have 63 members of parliament.”

iIam sure that you know that Jamaica also has local government.

3. Here is another perspective on this “Smoke up wunna pooches” Public Relations exercise by Mugabe.

Does any one of you bloggers know how many flights are required by any Ministry in any given year? AS PER THE ESTIMATES? (barring the non planned meetings?)

and the answer by the brimlers, including Mr. Loveridge, is “noooooooo” which could easily have been “baaaaaaa”.

Say that it is a collective $5,000,000 does this mean that the savings to be experiences let us suppose that this is going to be $1,000,000 will NOT BE SPENT? wor will that mean that more trips will be taken?

And how will wunna sheeple know this? and the answer that comes back is “we wont” or in the case of many of the class idiots “baaaaaaa’

Does any one of you people know what is the spend of the previous ministers as it related to travel allowance?

Is that a baaaaaa again? and with the increase in the various ministers what will be that spend? and the answer is baaaaaaaaaa

Another shy#e article full of hot air and signifying nothing

Steupseeee…..

4. I find it amusing that some would point at the several layers of government elsewhere.
    I hope they would also keep in mind (1) the size of the island, (2) the size of our population and (3) our relatively simple economy.
    I would go even further and suggest that 30 MPs are just too many. 30-0 ministers is just outrageous and is a saddling of the taxpayers with dead weight.

5. @ Theophillus

And lest you and others reading the ignorance of the oversized Manatee in the House (pun intended) here be the names of the 26 Mps including the 21 stragglers on

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/page_content/show_content/8

1.His Honour Arthur E. HOLDER, B.Sc. (Hons.), LL.B., MSW (Speaker) 🤡 🤑💰

2.His Honour Gline A. CLARKE, J.P., B.Sc., Dip. Ed. (Deputy Speaker) 🤡 👀

3.Hon. George W. PAYNE, Q.C. (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development) 🔪🔪🔪👀👀

4.Hon. Ronald St.C. TOPPIN, LL.B., (Hons.) (Minister of International Business and Industry) 🤡 & 🐑

5.Hon. Miss Mia A. MOTTLEY, Q.C., LL.B., (Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment Minister of National Security and the Civil Service)

6.Hon. Miss Cynthia Y. FORDE, J.P., L.C.P. (Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs) 🤡

7.Hon. Dale D. MARSHALL, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., (Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs) 🤡, 👀👀

8.Hon. Trevor A. PRESCOD, B.A. (Minister of Environment and National Beautification)🐑

9.Hon. Kerrie D. SYMMONDS B.A., LL.B. (Minister of Tourism and International Transport) 🐑 🔪👀👀

10.Lt. Col. the Hon. Jeffrey D. BOSTIC, MVO, B.A. (Hons.) (Minister of Health and Wellness)

11.Hon. Edmund G. HINKSON, LL.B (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M (Minister of Home Affairs) 👀 (desires to be PM – Donville says so)

12.Hon. Dwight G. SUTHERLAND, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (dist.) (Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce)

13.Hon. Miss Santia J. O. BRADSHAW, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training)

14.Bishop Joseph J. S. ATHERLEY, BA, BSc, PgD. J.P. (Leader of the Opposition) 🐑🐑🔪🔪🔪🦂

15.Dr. the Hon. William F. DUGUID, J.P. B.D.S., F.D.S., F.D.R.C.S, M. Min. (Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance)🐑

16.Hon. Wilfred A. ABRAHAMS, LL.B. (Minister of Energy and Water Resources)

17.Hon. Ms. C. Sandra V. HUSBANDS B.A. (Hons.) M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade) 🔪🔪🔪 👀👀👀 (will teif IMF money if not closely watched)

18.Hon. Indar A. WEIR, M.B.A. (Minister of Agriculture and Food Security)

19.Hon. Adrian R. FORDE, Rph. (Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment) BTW What is a RpH is that like a RH? that you put in a “p” so that you dont curse?

20.Hon. Charles McD. GRIFFITH, B.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development)

21.Hon. Peter R. PHILLIPS (Minister in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance) Needs to be groomed

22.Hon. John A. KING, B.S.S. (Minister of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports) 🤡🤡🤡

23.Hon. Colin E. JORDAN, B.Sc. (Hons.) (Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations)

24.Hon. Kirk D. M. HUMPHREY, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.P.A. (Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy)

25.Hon. Ryan R. STRAUGHN, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Finance)

26.Hon. Miss Marsha K. A. CADDLE, B.A., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs)

knives for back stabbers
    scorpions well we ent talking bout de Rock in Scorpion King
    Money hungry and money grabbers even though they got a 5% increase are depicted by tongue lolling and money bags
    eyes are those people who need to be watched because of their ammmmm proclivities

6. Piece

Then there is:

Jerome Walcott – Minister of Foreign Affairs – in the Senate

Kay Mcconey – Minister of Smart Science – Senate

Rommel Springer – Parliamentary Secretary – Senate

I can’t think of any other ministers or Parliamentary Secretaries

Of course there are the hangers -on and the eat a piece of the fatted calf crowd – who are called consultants,political advisors tsars etc

Billie Miller

Clyde Mascoll

Avinash Persaud

Charles Jong

Jessica Odle

Pat Parris

David Commisung

Analese Babb

7. TheoGazerts @ 9:24 p.m.

Your point is well made.

It is of course what I and others have been seeking to point out – but there are others whose main role is like that of termites – they come out in the night to …………..

166 square miles – 26 ministers – 30 MPS

Approx.. 280,000 Persons – 26 Ministers – 30 MPS

Economy in a shambles – 26 Ministers – 30 MPS

Thousands of public servants being sent home – 26 Ministers – 30 MPs

Pensioners & Retirees Investment Income slashed – 26 Ministers – 30 MPs

Taxes upon taxes,upon taxes – 26 Ministers – 30 MPs

Tek dat in wunna guts.Yuh cud like um or yuh cud lump um.

8. Interesting to see and hear that the popular tourist attraction called Rihanna Drive is filthy with late garbage pickup and the road littered with potholes. It says a lot!

9. you have more pressing issues. There is an attack on hard working people on the island by the bottom feeders it has to be stopped. Islanders must reject these people before it is too late. Bring back the death penalty and use it a message must be sent

10. Barbados cannot bring back the death penalty. We have signed on to international treaties and conventions to which international aid and other commitments and collaborative activities will depend.

11. Nafta was a signed agreement, it takes someone to say this isnt working for us and were out, the sky wont fall

12. It is a little more challenging when you depend on others to survive. We have to fashion a plan to NOT be so dependent on the external players.