Why aren’t layoffs taught as a subject at business school?” Robin Astrigo asked himself. “Boards expect executives to do them well, but nobody knows how.”- “The Layoff”- Harvard Business Review [2009]

As the phenomenon of retrenchment shifts focus from central government employees to those in the state-owned enterprises (SOEs) and, inevitably to those in the private sector, last week’s column on the procedural requirements of the Employment Rights Act 20102 that apply to both of these will assume a substantial degree of practical relevance.

More over, the boards and executives of these entities must be prepared for a greater militancy on the part of the workers’ organizations that might not have obtained in the consultations with central government. We have already seen some evidence of this with the insistence of the Barbados Workers’ Union consultant that the “last in, first out” mode of selection for retrenchment is non-negotiable, whatever may be the arguments against it.

To be fair, the union quite rightly bases its insistence on the fact that this had been the mode of selection for retrenchment previously agreed by the Social Partnership, of which all the relevant parties are members or represented by delegates.

While the existence of this compact should settle this issue at least for now, it is notorious that there are alternative modes of selection, some of which may serve to assuage some of the concerns expressed by the voices of labour thus far.

And although I am not given to telling people what material they should read, the students in my UWI classes of course excepted, an interactive story, “The Layoff”, by Bronwyn Fryer, published in the March 2009 issue of the Harvard Business Review, might prove instructive to this debate for local private enterprise. It may be found at https://hbr.org/2009/02/the-layoff

There, a fictional firm, Astrigo Holdings, a home-improvement concern, had missed its earnings estimate by 20 cents a share. Profits had dropped by double digits, regardless of efforts to slash inventory and expenses. Despite aggressive promotions and price cuts, the Astrigo stores were losing sales to cheaper retailers with far worse customer service.

Robin Astrigo, the Chairman of the firm sees one option only-An aggressive reduction in head count…

The rest of the story relates the discussions between senior members of staff as to the optimal way to reduce numbers and the likely effect of these solutions on company morale and cultural health. To a suggestion of employing a last in, first out policy for retrenchment, the head of HR responds, “I understand but this isn’t just a financial transaction. Think about Yukio, that young woman we hired a few years ago to run new business development. We courted her hard. She’s a first-in-class MBA from a top school, and she’s full of bright ideas. Two of our competitors were after her, but she decided to come with us in the end because she likes our corporate values. If we do a blanket last-in, first-out plan, people like her would be out of here!”

The vice-president of marketing and strategy offers another opinion- I know it’s really painful…but it seems like we should consider something a bit more imaginative. Just pick a number. How about a 5% across-the-board pay cut, maybe a bigger one for people making six figures? We’re not a union shop. We have the flexibility to do it. If we get pushback, that’s OK.”

Most engaging in the article however are the suggestions from readers who care to comment as to the optimal strategy for Astrigo. In a joint submission, the co-founders of an executive career management and board advisory firm counsel- We believe Astrigo should borrow a page from the McDonald’s playbook. In its annual report McDonald’s clearly states that its business will focus on the interests of long-term shareholders. When a company explicitly seeks out such shareholders, its board has reason to assume investors will be more patient with the vicissitudes of the market. Moreover, once the economy strengthens, we think an increasing number of institutional investors will take a long-term view. In the United States the explosion in baby-boomer retirees will create a huge pool of investors who desire a safe train ride up and down gently rolling slopes. They’ll give up the thrills and agony of high risks and high returns.

With its unique size, strategy, cash position, and culture, Astrigo would be well suited to the interests of long-term shareholders. If the board issued a McDonald’s-like statement, it would establish a clearer framework for Robin’s tactical decisions, and he could make them with more precision and flexibility.

The chairman of a Swiss firm is more critical-

Astrigo has more than a cost problem. The company also appears to have strategy, management, and cultural problems. Its governance is a cipher. Marketing doesn’t seem to be working. And nowhere is it evident that the poor employees who will be so drastically affected by a layoff will have any opportunity to offer their input. While rumors fly and morale sinks, two of the top managers are off having an expensive lunch in a private dining club, discussing the fates of thousands of people and their families. This is no way to run a company.

Finally, a professor of management science at Stanford University puts his perspective- Unfortunately; too many executives blindly assume that layoffs are the best way to cut costs. With the exception of a lower-level vice president, none of the managers in this case seriously challenges the notion that 10% of the employees must go. The top executives don’t discuss alternatives such as pay cuts, reduced benefits, unpaid vacations or days off, or incentives for voluntary departure.

Nor do they consider how long it will take for the savings from the head-count reduction to kick in. A Bain & Company study of layoffs at S&P 500 firms during the 2001 downturn showed that it took them six to 18 months to realize savings from job cuts. And, when calculating savings, most executives fail to account for the cost of recruiting, hiring, and training new people who will be needed when good times return—let alone consider the damage to morale and productivity. Those costs are often much higher than people imagine, which helps explain why the study also found that firms that made layoffs their last resort and cut the fewest employees performed better than their competitors did.

There are some cautionary tales in this fictional account for us as we go through a similar conundrum in all sectors of employment. Of course some of the suggested initiatives may not be practicable, such as the enforced pay cuts in the public sector where they are precluded by a contrary constitutional measure and in the private sector where it would be considered a fundamental breach of the employment contract if effected unilaterally.

85 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Fair Retrenchment II”

1. so where do we go from here are these potential employees trainees ,or are they acknoweldge by barbados law welfare recipients or can be assigned as both

2. @ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

THis is my first reading so I will come back again

However it is now my turn to say that you are a superlatively well read person.

Not only are you able to give focus on this submission but you were able to do so UTILIZING A FICTIONAL NOVEL with real life pertinent parallels!

From a remote tome!

That oh Luminary amazes me when one runs across such brilliance it truly humbles one.

Anyway, dem going come soon and say dat de ole man boot licking as usual, few understand the effect of encountering sheer brilliance and the consistent ability to contextualize, then extrapolate has on idjits like meself.

You can understand the woman of whom Jesus the Christ says “virtue has left me” and why, If it were possible to touch the hem of your garments in a class, why students flock to your classes.

I continue to watch on the “peripherals” as they continue to come and glean your insights, but skits appointing you BECAUSE, the mere timbre of your writings, makes it evident that you are no man or woman’s servant.

You will always be feared, that is par of the course Luminary.

I got five more readings to do, i used to be 3 but Donna does three and I ent no Donna so…

3. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

4. Mariposa

In America it is slightly difference … those on welfare receive training free of cost … while those who are working have to pay for it … now when the government of Barbados sponsored the Skills Training Program through the Polytechnic in the 1980s … we received a small sum of money on friday evenings …

5. They are not sent to training by the government
    It their option if the want to be retrained and what they do with the training after if they don’t get back into goverment

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUDRYR at 5 :49 PM

Very often literature, calypsos etc are more directly analytical than metrics. They help us to understand ourselves and the society in which we live. They are our mirrors. Some people do not like what they see. Some deal with the image ; others blame the mirror.
    We need to stop believing our lies. We need also to stop trying t force them on others.

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Lexicon, From protocol VI-

The Social Partners further determine, consistent with their agreement
    in respect of a national employment policy, that all employees shall enjoy
    the right not to be unfairly dismissed, or to be unfairly prevented from
    continued employment, and that the procedure for the termination of any
    employment shall accord with:
    (i) the principles of natural justice; and
    (ii) the principles enunciated by the International Labour
    Organisation.
    6.10 The Social Partners, cognisant of those principles, therefore agree that
    when, for reasons of an economic, technological, structural or similar nature,
    the employer contemplates terminations, he shall:provide the workers’ representatives concerned in good time
    with relevant information including the reasons for the
    terminations contemplated, the number and categories of
    workers likely to be affected, and the period over which the
    terminations are intended to be carried out
    ;
    (b) in accordance with national law and practice, give the workers’
    representatives concerned, as early as possible, an opportunity
    for consultation on measures to be taken to avert or to minimise
    the terminations and measures to mitigate the adverse effects of
    any terminations on the workers concerned (such as finding
    altemative employment)
    ;
    (c) give due consideration to workers’ representatives with regard
    to their retention in employment in case of a reduction of the
    work force.

8. So what we have here are differing opinions but what dies barbados law indicate
    All this hulabaloo about job training not going to add to a hill of beans
    First and foremost most people retrenched rather have a salary than going round the mulberry bush fuh what might add up to nothing

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Again I say why do we sign contracts? Why do we pass laws only to break them before the ink is dried? I think it is disrespectful and contemptuous. A society must be built on trust. The GoB must lead from in front.

10. Thanks for the info Jeff

Why do we sign contracts…?

What kind of a question is that Vincent Codrington?

We have to blame the people who cannot skillfully negotiate a contract that is going to benefit the workers in the long run… Vincent Codrington, how can a government layoff workers when a contract is still binded?

“Why do we pass law only to break them before the ink is dried…?

It has more to do with the passions and desires of mankind … and a law is only a law when you get caught breaking it …

11. @ Jeff C
    Boss… TRUST Bushie on this one….
    Despite your well established brilliance and your years of teaching successes…

…You CANNOT help Dompey….
    No one can….
    Only David (BU) may be able to help us….

12. Bush Tea

When are you going to put your intellectual prowess to use;… microscopic rock is in such a big mess.
    Bushie, just this year I was in Barbados to lay to rest my dear madda, and I was appalled by the state of the roads in Barbados, and stench which inundated St. Lawrence Gap where I stayed briefly. . But what really shook me to the core is panhandling emanating from the very Young to the very old … not to mentioned in Monopoly money that now circulates in what once was labeled luminous crystal in in the Caribbean archipelago.

So my question to you Bush Tea is this: what are you going to do about your home Sir? You have to live and will probably die in that Little Rock…!!!

13. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Lexicon sounds like Dompey………

14. Bush Tea

The place is in a mess … and you are on a social blog try to tear down a fella Barbadian who is endeavouring to give of what wisdom he has to help aid the garbage stench island … listen! I was planning to return home for good the next 6 years …but when I saw what I saw this year in Barbados … I would advice any young person to take the opportunity to migrate …

15. @Bush Tea
    In all the years on BU only one person mentioned “Uncle Wilburs” chicken outfit and that was “Dompey”, guess who mentioned it again in a recent submission?

Anyway, you should let bygones be bygones unless….

16. @ Sargeant
    Dompey is such a unique character that even if he came on BU and typed gibberish on his keypad ….. it would be PATENTLY clear that Mr Fenty is on duty…. OOPS … that is what happened ain’t it…?
    Domps is one of Bushie’s BEST friends on BU …EVER …..(after Old Onions of course)

Do you recall the time it was alleged that Dompey lost his job at the hospital – when he wanted to charge his cell phone… and unplugged a life support system in order to do so…?
    Murdah!!!

@ Lexicon asked…
    what are you going to do about your home Sir?
    Bushie’s home is near to perfect Lexi… Can’t think of anything in need of change there…

OH WAIT…. you meant Barbados…?
    So what would you like Bushie to do Boss…?

Do you know that CLEANLINESS is next to Godliness?
    Why do you think so many are so comfortable in filth?
    Filth tends to follow brass bowlery.

BTW
    What happened to all the fancy big words (and malapropisms) that characterised your old contributions Boss?
    Now that you have adopted the fancy NAME, …you have changed the GAME?

‘Dompey’ may still be available yuh know….

17. The Barbados Community College (BCC) has been called on to shape its curriculum to accommodate the retraining and retooling of retrenched workers.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/04/education-minister-wants-bcc-to-help-retrain-retrenched-workers/

18. ” The anxiety is over for students of the Barbados Community College (BCC) and the Erdiston Teachers Training College worried about the payment of tuition fees this academic year.

Government today gave its word that it would cover those costs, along with the tuition fees for Barbadians pursuing studies at the University of the West Indies (UWI).”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/24/no-more-tuition-worries-for-bcc-and-erdiston-students/

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ IMF Tectacles @ Hal

When Sandiford denounced Haynes’ policies with a new budget. Haynes described Sandiford’s policies as a “ back street abortion”
    Let’s face it the current retrenchment exercise is a back street abortion.
    The Social Partnership is nothing more than a con PR exercise designed to fool people that government policy is being undertaken in consultation with everybody representing the society.
    Not true , at the end of the day, BLP supporters will have jobs and most DLPs will be looking fuh wuk.If the DLP were in power, most DLP supporters will have jobs and the BLPs will be looking fuh wuk.
    That’s where all the confusion is. The government must do what the IMF says while trying to look after its supporters.
    The unions are now weakened because their whole purpose for the last three years was to engage in opposition politics and they won the political battle but now losing the war. In other words their credibility is underwater.
    The private sector got rid of the NSRL and now the prices rising.
    In the mean time the DLP that responsible for the mess realizes that no seats in parliament has turned out to be a political blessing since no one can make any one of them own up to anything.
    So what do we really have: a govt that jumped into the IMF arms; once active activists now silent; poor Black workers from the bottom being treated like second class citizens; a bloated cabinet; an opportunistic opposition; a promise to lock up former parliamentarians for corruption; and to crown it all party sycophants who can’t see beyond Lionel C Hill supermarket or St Cyprians Church.
    The only body that appears to be putting real money in the economy is Butch Stuart and his much maligned Hotel group. Remember them- we were going to kill them off a few months ago.
    The more things change……….BLPDLP same party.
    Joke of the year: Caswell misses Chris
    Not a failed state yet but………..

20. @ William
    The Social Partnership is like a Town Hall Meeting – a facade designed to allow the big boys to get away with doing shiite, while allowing them to say that they ‘discussed the matter at length’ with everyone involved.
    When issues arise afterwards, the victims are dismissed since they ‘should have raised the matter at the meeting’.

Town Hall Meetings and Social Partnerships should be seen as STRICTLY information exchange sessions.
    The very IDEA of a ‘social partnership’ group making strategic decisions is flawed….
    Typical Bajan brass bowlery.

21. Sargeant

I’ll be convinced only when he begins writing about his escapades at the back of District A police station.

22. William Skinner

“The more things change … BLPDLP stay the same”

William Skinner tell us what you are going to do personally to effectuate change beside using social media to express your grievances with the current state of affairs?

Sir, can you at least holding up a sign of discontent in Bridgetown to show you displeasure with what the two parties are doing to the nation?

23. @ Artax
    Don’t mek joke. District A not needed.
    The new pseudonym alone shouts ‘Dompey….’
    Clearly designed to ‘effectuate change’ .. while lauding excess verbosity…

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lexicon

You will note that I have made no such demands or suggestions to you when you use this media to express yourself . Also I do not ever ask you or anybody else what they are doing to effect change.
    For your information, I have long recorded my total displeasure with the BLPDLP. And by the way , I have been active in my community; trade unionism and have even lost my deposit trying to get rid of them almost 27 years ago. I am no Johnny come lately to taking an interest and being involved in the affairs of my country.
    Thank you.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Most people once they get appointed to a leadership position they to level a legacy

But bajans are not like most people AND UNION LEADERS ARE LESS INCLINED TO BE REAL LEADERS since they do not want to lose subscriptions

I would have felt that it would have been in the interest of any union to support, rather secure, a functioning Performance Appraisal system for its subscribers

I is a simple man but the way I figure it is that if I got an account with Courts and every month I does pay a bill and frequently they send me an incorrect account balance, I mean, it is only reasonable for me to keep my decejots as backup

Any serious Union, including Senator Caswell, should have a backup record of their subscribers ‘ performance report cards.

Even if you just use Excel or Access, in this day and age they should have some mutually agreeable electronic record that permits them to make informed decisions about this LIFO

I mean this situation with staff when in a corporate setting only requires HR to print a report.

One would like to believe that, after all these years in local regional and international affairs that unions are much more advanced than just being talk shops with well gilded pictures of Frank Walcott on the wall

But then again this is Barbados…

26. And based on that Performance Appraisal/ Annual Eval … employers are held in check if they decide to show favourism to an employee they favour…even though that employee may have gotten an unsatisfactory eval.

27. So David Comissiong threw the Unions under the bus
    I bet they wont dare mess with him
    Personally i am glad as sh.iit he help govt to used them and abused them
    How sweet can that be
    To add icing to his article he calls the Unions bare faced liars stating that the UNIONS sat in on the decision making of the workers to be retrenched and agreed with govt decison on LIFO
    Loving every moment of this opened Pandora Box
    Drum roll please

28. Mariposa

Why did it have take David Comissiong to inform our understanding of the Union double dealings? When we already knew that the Union was in the hot bed of promiscuity with government.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

While the responses from Senator Caswell Franklin on this matter, particularly the problems with the PRDS, is deafening, it would he been useful to have had a review of the pros and cons of this iniquitous system and suggestions on how it might be improved for our general good.

Could you make such an outreach for a blog on this topic else we brimlers continue to discuss a topic while not being au fait with the subject matter

But ooops that is what we do generally anyways heheheheh

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole manman has read your article the required 5 times and slowly comprehends the several more human options that were available to this MIA CARES GOVERNMENT

DE OLE MAN would only wish to warn that, among the many laws and constitutional changes and computer data acts to be enacted in the coming weeks, do not be surprised if you have to dedicate a column to “The Emergency Banning of Seditious Books Acts (& their Reviewers) 2018”

“…Whereas we the Caring Government of Mugabe has been elected by the people on May 24th, we hereby decree that the Book “The Layoff” shall be banned forthwith in Barbados

Furthermore, the word “Astrid” shall be hereafter a seditious word and speaking it or writing it shall be a crime that will get you retrenched, fired od blackballed.

By order of Mugabe.

PS any women wigh the name Astrid shall report go the Office of The PMO for an examination of their “particulars”, please wear loose fitting clothing”

Please forgive de ole man Luminary but sometimes people need to see the absolute farce behind these inhumane decisions that are more tasteless than my poor attempts at comedy.

Imagine a fictitious novel provides so many real options yet here we are faced with a 5% in increase for 26 unconscionable Parliamentary Representatives

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you kindly

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My post of 9.58 was for the LUMINARY Mr Jeff Cumberbatch and not the Honourable Blogmaster. Apologies.

33. To vote or not to vote for the betterment of your country. Now up in arms as to whether you will have a job or not. But the people responsible for the situation this country is in sit and have wine with the powers that be and have long friendly chats. It is sad that the poor majority don’t see this. It’s November and it ain’t look like Christmas around the corner at all. It feels like the lent season. A season of suffering. But just hoping that they will be joy after all this sorrow.

34. What do expect from citizens intoxicated by consumption behaviour? It is normal therefore to aspire to what is believed to be the norm?

35. Approximately 1000 or over government workers have been retrenched. Have statutory boards brought on additional staff and added them to the payroll?

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply