Submitted by Ras Jahaziel

A captive people are not likely to recognize their captivity if they were born in captivity and have no memory of freedom.

Nor are they likely to identify liberation as an urgent necessity… if they have been schooled and churched to see their landless bondage as normal.

(That is why “The Manual of Slave Control” clearly spells out in its preamble: “the need to educate all X-Slaves with the myth that their captivity ended on the day of Emancipation, and to support this myth by keeping the X-Slaves constantly doped, domesticated, and entertained in a drunken stupor.”)

Read full textChapter 1

81 responses to “African Liberation Education 1”

1. Lexicon,

If it was indeed Socrates who first said that, he was right. I examine my life daily.

Sir Fuzzy,

Watched Star Trek every week. Still watch it sometimes. Star Trek makes one think. I like thinking,

2. Do you have nothing better to do than follow me around BU trying to insult me? I wear your insults as a badge of honour. It would, in fact, WORRY ME if you paid me a compliment.

P.S. But pray tell sir, upon what evidence do you call my friends and me wutless? You know what, don’t bother to answer. What does it matter? Your words say more about YOU than they do about me. No need for me to waste an insult on you.

You may have the last racist, misogynist word.

Ignore button pressed!

Next!

3. Poor fellow!

4. Donna

I thought QC girls were known for conducted themselves with a social-deportment unlike most back in the day? I did not know intellectual rebels attended QC?

5. @Hants
    “The drug is made of cannabidiol (CBD), a component of marijuana that doesn’t give users a high.”

What is going on in Toronto with the OCS? I ordered my medicinal cannabis more than two weeks ago. I was promised it within five days. I still have not received anything. I ordered the one with 2%THC and 12% CBD for my anxiety disorder. the one I grew gave me a high and I did not like the feeling. So I gave it away. I make tea with it as I never learned how to smoke.

6. @ bajans,

could be postal strike delaying shipments.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal , PLT, Vincent Codrington

Vincent is correct I used the term of “the idea of Barbados” . It was first used by Ralph Gonzales . The paper/ lecture , merely stated that Barbados was one of the best managed countries in the Caribbean etc.
    Did you notice that the three Black characters in Star Trek early television series that one was blind and used a computer to see; one had his brains outside his head and then Whoopi was a bartender ?
    The white computer was a brilliant man and then a white boy about fifteen years old was already a captain. The other strange looking Captain with huge ears was also portrayed as brilliant.
    I followed that early series closely but I always thought those portrayals were a bit racist. In other words , within the three blacks one looked monstrous; one was disfigured and one served drinks.
    As for the education system it was learning by the fear of the strap! The strap disappeared some what but critical thinking was not part of the system at all. That has now evolved into thinking Dees or Bees if you don’t do so, you are considered a lunatic or failure. BU is now one of the major vehicles used to carry these Dees and Bees thinkers.
    If you don’t think like them you are indeed considered wutless. Same thing you encountered in the hallowed walls of QC ;no different from any other school in our system.
    Don’t think – just follow the Bees and Dees and you would be considered to be brute!
    @ Lexicon
    I really can’t make myself any clearer on Barrow. You seem to want to prove that I am saying Barrow was an Uncle Tom. I don’t think so .
    As for Sir Grantley, he along with Barrow are still the foremost political leaders of our country pre and post independence.
    In my book the story of Sir Frank Walcott needs to be properly told and in my estimation, it will be far more fascinating than Barrow’s or Sir Grantley’s.
    Unfortunately we don’t have those writers to do such great work. Frank Walcott is indeed the Father of modern Barbados not Barrow!

8. William Skinner Avatar

Should read: “ considered to be brite”
    not brute.

9. William Skinner

I couldn’t agree with you more on the point that BU does not support the idea of critical thinking … it is follow the script or else you are maligned for slightly degressing from the topic before deliberation … in order to strengthen your point of argument.

10. @Bajans

This should answer about your non- receipt of your cannabis order, the local CBC (Toronto) carried the story.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/ontario-cannabis-store-warehouse-staffing-1.4889388

11. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@ Lexicon November 2, 2018 9:33 PM

@ William Skinner

I couldn’t agree with you more on the point that BU does not support the idea of critical thinking … it is follow the script or else you are maligned for slightly degressing from the topic before deliberation … in order to strengthen your point of argument.

Please notice who does this maligning. It is also note worthy of those who dont engage in such.

12. William Skinner,

It was a step forward for an intelligent black character to be even included in the cast. At least Geordi was intelligent. Changes that are implemented gradually, in measured steps, tend to elicit less resistance and therefore are more likely to succeed. I always thought, and Obama has recently wondered if he was too early. Maybe the racist backlash in the USA right now is because the sight of a black family in the White House was too jarring for some. One government employee commented on social media that it was great to have a LADY (who incidentally posed nude and in bondage gear) in the White House again.

About Barrow, I think he was fully aware of what I stated above – that incremental changes meet with less resistance. I understand that Wynter Crawford was more radical but Barrow watered down his proposals. Barrow wanted a gradual reform rather than a messy revolution. Who was right? If one’s aim was peaceful change, probably Barrow. But he died before the work was completed and nobody took the baton. Besides, the masses had some money to enjoy themselves and thought they had “arrived.” So now we wuk up and get drunk even on Independence Day. Mindless bashment – no time for “conscious” lyrics. And rum shops are now fancy bars where we can watch foreign football and car racing – no time to discuss our real life issues.

13. Lexicon,

A few intellectual rebels did come out of QC. One of them even managed to fool the Establishment and became the Head Girl of my year. Funny too is that though the School Management did not favour me, this Head Girl that they chose invited only one schoolmate to her wedding. Yours truly!

14. Here is a definition of critical thing. I thought it would be beneficial for us to pause at this point and consider it. Of course it is attributed to the white man Socrates but we all know how that goes.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Critical_thinking

15. William Skinner Avatar

Thanks for your thought provoking response. You are right , after Barrow came the great pretenders. Could say the same thing about after Sir Grantley as well on the other side. Even in this crisis we see mammoth confusion and questionable leadership.
    It’s a barren political culture right now ,coming out of a barren political class. That’s the problem- not lack of forex.
    The rum shops and small shops were finished once the gas stations were allowed to carry mini marts. They call it convenience.
    We got cars; we buy our gas and bread at the gas stations; we go home and watch tv. Welcome to. Brooklyn formerly Bimshire.

16. Donna

Critical thinking caused Socrates his life … because in his effort to educated the youths of Athens … he was accused of poisoning minds of the young people … so he was therefore put on trial … convicted … and subsequently put to death by the backward and bewitched power structure of Athens…

17. Socrates may have introduced it to the youth of Athens. That does not mean he was the originator of the thought. It is well known that the Greek philosophers borrowed from another culture.

18. William Skinner

I couldn’t help but to reverence the man Barrow … because he stood up for what was right… and kept his promised to rid government of the top of the line Mercedes Prime Minister St John and members of the BLP drove at the expense of the poor and working class people of Barbados during the 80s.
    Nevertheless, I also met that man as a young 18 year old lad bagging groceries at Home Center Limited in Bridgetown back in the early 1980s when he was still in the Opposition. Mr. Barrow was a frequented customer at Home Center during those years in the Opposition… and I founded him to be a well-mannered down to earth man who wouldn’t leaved the store until he spoke to practically all of the employees during those years in the Opposition.

19. Donna

Knowledge is exponential so therefore … no one can claim an exclusivity to it …

Before Albert Einstein was given worldwide acclaimed for his discocery of the quantum mechanics/theory … Max Planck was before and far ahead of Einstein in this field of study … but Planck is seldom given credit for his pioneer work in this field … the way in which Einstein is given today…

20. Lexicon,

This I KNOW but the WHITE MAN does not acknowledge. Everything worthwhile apparently began and will end with them. Ask Lawson and his ilk who think the black man has contributed NOTHING to the development of mankind but peanut butter and the stripper pole.

21. Donna

You should ask Lawson if he ever heard the name Philip Emeagwali?

Well he is a Nigerian American computer scientist and mathematician who is responsible for the speed at which our computer runs today. This man developed the High Performance Computing Application in the 1980s. Now Mr. Emeagwali is well respected in the scientific community and was recognized by President Bill Clinton for his many scientific achievements…

22. Donna

You should also tell Lawson that the first successful open heart surgery was performed by a black American name Dr. Daniel Hale Williams in 1893.

23. Donna

Lawson should also be aware of the fact that an African American name Garrett Morgan was the first man to developed the Traffic Light…

24. “Did you notice that the three Black characters in Star Trek early television series that one was blind and used a computer to see; one had his brains outside his head and then Whoopi was a bartender?”

Mr. Skinner

I recalled the early “Star Trek” (1966) series with William Shatner,…….. and included in the cast was a black actress, Nichelle Nichols, who played the role of “bridge officer” “Lieutenant Uhura.” Now, that was an achievement for black people, especially in an era when black women mostly portrayed “nannies” and “maids in movies,”

What I found as RACIST and an INSULT to my intelligence was “Tarzan.”

The writer of that “racist stereotyped” story wants me to believe white people are so extremely intelligent………. that a white baby abandoned in an African jungle, raised by an African tribe and subsequently apes……..

…………….. was able to learn how to communicate with animals effectively and possessed the strength, speed and other abnormal abilities far beyond those of normal men…..

…………….. and even more so than the Africans he found living there.

However, since the first “Tarzan” book was written around 1912, the author was a man of his time.

25. @ Artax

You are absolutely correct on both counts. Nichelle Nichols’ role on Star Trek was ground breaking for Afro American actresses during that period. Thanks for reminding me of this extremely important fact.
    As for Tarzan most progressive black scholars, have long concluded that it was very racist.

26. William Skinner,

And yet we still in 2018 have the racist game being played that Guillam is “not equipped” to be governor and Abrams is “not qualified.” But you know we are not supposed to talk about these things.

27. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Like it or not, it’s the whiteman’s world. Everybody else is just pretenders. On a special note, the psychology of the black population on the planet, has long resigned themselves to be hewer of woods and drawers of water.

Too many of us in Bim like to boast about our so-called achievements as a black nation. I cringed everytime I hear stuff like that. Our standards are so low, forgetting that we have an economy that is propped up by white tourism, offshore tax avoidance, and backed by an overvalue currency.

Where are our innovators, scientists, industrialists, technologists engineers.. etc? People who are essential in building a real and diversify economy.

28. The population of England when Atlantic slave trade started was circa 4,000,000 which is the amount of slaves they shipped to New World. Slaves were bred for 20 generations with up to 15 children from age of 14. They were sold for up to $1,000 (which is equivalent of $70,000). The rich mans wealth has been built on the back of poor blacks. Trumps Grandfather came to USA, which means only his father and him were born Americans.

29. https://www.letspleasegod.com/white-skin-origin-racism-pt11/

Racism: What is White Skin? Is it Superior?

White skin is albinism–an abnormality–a shortage of melanin resulting in problems that go far deeper than the skin’s surface.

And the Bible refers to the color of the first human’s skin:

And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul (Genesis 2:7).

Race is a man-made classification created by white elites to elevate themselves and divide and control people by skin color.

Skin cancer resulting from exposure to the sun is the most common cancer in the world, and it exclusively plagues white-skinned people. Here are the facts from Cancer.org:

Skin cancer is the most common cancer. About 5.4 million basal and squamous cell skin cancers are diagnosed each year. (These are found in about 3.3 million Americans; some people have more than one.) Melanoma, the most deadly type of skin cancer, will account for about 76,380 cases of skin cancer in 2016.

Risk factors for skin cancer include: 1) Too much exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation (from sunlight or tanning beds and lamps) 2) Pale skin (easily sunburned, doesn’t tan much or at all, natural red or blond hair).

The best ways to help lower your risk of skin cancer is to stay out of intense sunlight and practice sun safety.

While albinos must protect themselves from the sun, Cancer.org doesn’t mention albinism, but rather that white-skinned people in general are at risk (pale skin, natural red and blonde hair).

In 2003, Israel was rated the second highest in the world behind Australia for skin cancer. In their article, it mentioned that exposure to the sun was the main cause of skin cancer.

So my point is: white skin is an abnormality, it is albinism, it’s a disorder, it’s a weakness, and it’s certainly not a trait of superiority; but white people are never told this. Perhaps, if the truth was taught, there wouldn’t be so many cases of skin cancer. But telling the truth about white skin would destroy the concept of white superiority. For non-white people, if the truth was out, some would begin to learn to accept their skin color and thank God for their melanin.

While albinism is not what white people consider themselves to be (due to their programmed superiority complex), I believe they have this disorder by the cancer stats alone, but if some whites are not direct albinos, then many of them are very much descendants of such people. What I mean by descendants is they are the offspring of the breeding of albinos with dark-skinned nations to produce people with a tad more melanin in the body resulting in a very light tan color and darker hair and eyes as opposed to the standard pale skinned appearance you see in Irish people:

30. During colonial rule in Africa, thousands of cultural artefacts were plundered. African countries want them back and major museums across Europe have agreed to loan the famous Benin Bronzes back to Nigeria . Now France has launched a report calling for thousands of African art in its museums to be returned to the continent .

BBC.