The following statement was issued by Toni Moore, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU). The blogmaster confesses the statement raised many questions regarding the retrenchment exercise government is committed to executing as part of BERT.

1. Why in 2018 the LIFO is the method used to identify workers to sever from the public service? Toni Moore hinted in her statement that the PRDS (a performance system) does not command the confidence of the BWU. We have to ask why?
  2. How does government expect to change the culture of the civil service using LIFO as the basis to send home workers?
  3. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has repeatedly stated that the government has held several meetings with the social partnership to ensure all are on the same page. Did we hear Toni Moore suggest that there is some confusion with the execution of the retrenchment.
  4. What is the objective of government’s retrenchment exercise? Is it a cost cutting measure or is the government sincere in the suggestion that obsolete functions have been retired

115 responses to “LIFO in 2018?”

1. Artax,

Of course you have the right to defend yourself. I do it all the time. Don’t worry about being unpopular! I sure as hell don’t! You provide us with the facts and figures we need and great analysis of same. Hope to see more of you.

P.S. I have been inspired by PLT’s impressive coolness to take hold of my temper and I suggest that you do the same. It is actually more fun to watch them over heat from my position in the cool cool shade.

2. Piece

Good point Piece,Good Point.

3. @Donna,
    Don’t be conned. Selecting snippets of full arguments is disingenuous. Their is nothing yo defend, only damaged pride. To get the full context publish the full stream.
    As to spelling mistakes, it is absolutely silly. By law (the Scottish Whisky Act) only Scottish whisky can be spelt as WHISKY. That is why the Japanese, Indians and American call their drink whiskey. The Scots defend their brand vigorously within the WTO and EU.

4. Hal

You – Artax got me here feeling real sorry for he man.

Imagine someone saving up bloggers’ contribution to later bring it back and pick it apart .Nothing he has said refutes the earlier argument.Anyway I dun wid that.

Artax

Look I realise that yuh got yuh own issues – so I will ignore you for the time being.

As enuff would say : #restmuh (loll)

you carry on buddy.Wow !

5. Strange I ain’t see him bringing back all the posts where he curse Mariposa – black is white,and disparage dishonest bajan – and tried the same thing with me.

The man can give but he can’t take.

Let step-daddy come and help yuh now.Steupes.

You have a good evening.

6. Donna

Clearly these people are hypocrites and their reactions to facts I presented for everyone’s perusal, by insinuating I have “issues” and “problems” do not bother me. They accused me of lying, but when in an effort to defend myself, I present evidence (their contributions) to substantiate my claims or accusations…… they further accuse me of “having issues” or “being disingenuous.”

They come to this forum with a lot of shiite arguments and when challenged, they “shift the goal post,” misrepresent the facts and then resort to the gutter to attack people. When you retaliate, they “cry foul.”

As it relates to Mariposa…… everyone knows that we have our usual tussles and “friendly banter,” but no one can point to any occasion when “I cussed her black is white,” or she did the similar to me. We trade insults, accept them gracefully…… and move on.

Additionally, WARU and I may also have our differences of opinion, we insult each other and move on. However, when I make what in her opinion is a good contribution, she acknowledges it and I reciprocate. Mariposa and WARU possess enough self-confidence to continue expressing their views in this forum, irrespective of the insults or whoever disagrees with them.

I’m sure you also realize almost all contributors have had confrontations with each other from time to time. Georgie Porgie and de pedantic Dribbler; Bush Tea and Georgie Porgie; de pedantic Dribbler and Artax; Donna and Lawson……. and the list goes on. At the end of the day, we all respect each other’s opinions and move on.

And then there are other contributors who seem to believe they are above criticism and being challenged, not realizing that their condescending, snobbish reactions to their critics is also a sign of COWARDICE.

But there are also the “lap dogs.” The ones looking for anyone who is singing in their choir…..they identify a “common enemy” and tag team to attack. They often come after to PARROT the “mouthing” of their masters.

Donna, you can easily guess who I’m referring to.

7. Donna

His lordship clearly misses the issue……. but that’s the norm for him….. he usually “shifts the goal post” to hide his appalling ignorance.

I’ll break it down. On October 29, 2017, his lordship wrote the following:

(1). October 29, 2017: I am not being boring, but the Scots SPELL their product as whisky, not whiskey. No other country can spell their whisky similarly. It is what we should do with Barbadian (Bajan) rum.

Ironically, on October 29, 2018, in a snide reference to me, his lordship wrote the following:

(2). “October 29, 2018 6:55 PM: They are the sort of people who TALK ABOUT SPELLING MISTAKES in a work on moral philosophy.”

If you examine the two statements, you will realise in #1 he alluded to the spelling of “whiskey/whisky,” because you dun know how he like to impress upon BU he knows everything……the resident pantomath.

However, in #2 he is clearly being critical of people (me) “talking about spelling mistakes” (re bollards and boulders).

Anyone can clearly identify that the COMPARISON of the TWO STATEMENTS does not have anything to do with the “waffle” about “Japanese, Indians and American call their drink whiskey” or “The Scots defend their brand vigorously within the WTO and EU,”……….

………. which are “ALL TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO THE SUBSTANTIVE ARGUMENT.”

Perhaps it’s his lordship’s PRIDE that’s DAMAGED….. to have his short-comings effortlessly highlighted by an appallingly ignorant bookkeeper.

8. I know I promised not to respond any more. But, I say again, the word WHISKY (that spelling) is protected under the Scottish Whisky Act. The Scots have had to protect it vigorously because the Japanese and Indians launched products called whisky. They had to withdraw them.
    I raised that about two or three times in relation to Barbadian (Bajan) rum, pointing out that unless we give legal protection to our local product it will become a generic term like Demerara sugar.

9. “I know I promised not to respond anymore.”

THEN DON’T!!!

However, you cannot resist responding because you’re a “vain individual” who is of the misguided belief that people are envious of you ………. and must defend your damaged pride.

Your highness…….. are you sure you were a journalist? Because your comprehension skills are extremely poor. Or perhaps for reasons of self-aggrandisement, you’re PURPOSELY ignoring the salient point I’m making by comparing your two statements.

Your majesty, for the final time……… the SUBSTANTIVE point being made here DOES NOT have anything to with how whiskey/whisky is spelt or which spelling is protected under the Scottish Whisky Act……. that information is IRRELEVANT.

The point being made here is that, on one hand you one hand, you admonish contributors for focusing on spelling………

……….. and on the other hand, you contradict yourself by engaging in a similar activity.

Wuh ‘bout dat an award winning journalist like you can’t understand?

Maybe you should your name to your list of BU’s “appallingly ignorant keyboard warriors.”

Dun wid you and dat.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

I raised that about two or three times in relation to Barbadian (Bajan) rum, pointing out that unless we give legal protection to our local product it will become a generic term like Demerara sugar.
    (Unquote)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How can you legally protect a product that is no longer yours?

Are you aware that the main ingredient that goes into the ‘refining’ of rum, Molasses, is imported mainly from the same “Demerara”?

There is no longer a ‘genuine’ brand called “Bajan Rum” which can legally lay claim for such international copyright or patent protection.

On the other hand, Barbados as part of its tourism marketing strategy might be promoted as the place where the plantation slaves first tasted the fermented waste and turned it not only into a powerful devil’s brew but also into an extremely profitable by-product of the sugar industry and a major money spinner which, today, still keeps export sector of the local economy alive; if only barely kicking.

11. Artax,

You got some facts, figures and analysis for me? Be sure to post them when necessary.

Hal,

I assure you that I am quite capable of discerning for myself.

12. Mariposa

So David Comissiong threw the Unions under the bus
    I bet they wont dare mess with him
    Personally i am glad as sh.iit he help govt to used them and abused them
    How sweet can that be
    To add icing to his article he calls the Unions bare faced liars stating that the UNIONS sat in on the decision making of the workers to be retrenched and agreed with govt decison on LIFO
    Loving every moment of this opened Pandora Box
    Drum

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Sage Anunnaki

You have spoken to the very core of an Ethno-historical tourism experience.

As is usual you drop a pearl in the swill of us swine and it is missed by us in the rum shop.

One of the few contributors here on tourism, or should that not read, the only contributor here with articles on the lifeblood of Barbados, Tourism, is Adrian Loveridge a man who is not a bajan by birth but has adopted our country, if only for nuff? years

Another gem of a contribution from Barbados or should I say Another Gem for and of Barbados or it that name not copyrighted?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The challenge with a Manual LIFO SYSTEM is no different to our manual court system and the evidence room of the Royal Baygon Police Force- physical records they purposely misplaced to meet the needs of particular individuals

IF, and I use this word with great reservations, if the Unions were serious about their subscribers, given the years that have expired AND THE SO CALLED ” INTERNET OF THINGS ” AGE WE ARE IN, IF they were serious, they would not only have caught up with the employers of their membership, but it would not be a manual process of employees notifying employer of Union status, it would be a computerized procedure to enable the link.

The process would also effect baseline notifications of info between employers and the Union as it relates to customary communications e.g. employee conditions, wages, wage increases things like that.

So, in PUDRYR’s posit, unionized workers at MISS RAM AT FURNITURE LIMITED, heheheh, NEVER HAPPEN, would periodically have their records updated with the union an Caswell would be able to see if Humpty Dumpty at the immigration department or Miss Ram employees are working 60 hour weeks without overtime.

This should be the things that Mia CARES should be changing the law to ensure the rights of the people who voted for her, AS OPPOSED TO UNILATERALLY DISCOUNTING PEOPLE’S RETIREMENT SAVINGS AND CHANGING THE CONSTITUTION FOR RAWDONE AND HIS SANDBOX BIT(T)E

This is not about despotism but about demanding equity.

And this, even though Senator Caswell admits to his sparing knowledge of computers, is the direction AND LEGACY, that our unions MUST ASPIRE TO.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here about LIFO thank you