The impact of job loss is tremendous. The loss of a job is never easy, even if it is expectedUnexpected job loss has an even greater emotional impact on us…. For both men and women, job loss will reflect on our personal value. It may be argued that we put too much value on the external image of a job and not enough on the internal dignity of being a human being. Yet, it is hard to see or feel dignity when your source of income is removed. There is no simple solution; a job loss WILL cause stress. Many researchers rank the stress of job loss with Post Traumatic Stress (PTS) found in combat.

Life Challenges Website

The corrosive effects of job loss on the individual, especially where that termination is at the initiative of the employer, are too well documented in the relevant literature to bear repetition. Since this phenomenon implicates the dignity and autonomy of the person, it is quite natural for the State to intervene in the process to ensure that fairness and justice prevail in so momentous an undertaking. It may thus be a useful analysis to compare the locally prescribed procedures for termination with those that obtain in the currently ongoing retrenchment in the public sector.

Mass retrenchment or redundancy as part of a restructuring of the workforce appears inevitable in a process of economic transformation. While our nobler instincts of people- centredness and social welfare considerations may demand that retrenchment be perceived as a last resort after all other alternatives have been explored, considered, analyzed and rejected, the law recognizes that there may be circumstances in which retrenchment of workers becomes the most effective option.

To this end, there are two parts to the stipulated process. First, that there must be agreement reached through good faith bargaining between the relevant parties, namely the workers’ organization or the individual employees and the employer of the need at all for the proposed retrenchment. And while it is accepted that the provisions of the Employment Rights Act 2012 do not bind the State qua employer, it still provides, in my opinion, cogent evidence of best practice in regard to the retrenchment process.

According to section 31 (1) of that statute, a dismissal is not to be considered unfair if it is owed to redundancy and the prescribed procedure has been followed. Insofar as liability to retrenchment is concerned, the analogous private sector requirement provides, where relevant, that redundancy of the employee arises “where the requirements of the business for employees to carry out work of a particular kind…have ceased or diminished or are expected to cease or diminish”.

Where the reduction in the workforce is anticipated to be significant, the employer is also expected to provide the employee, or workers’ organization where there is one, and the Chief Labour Officer with a written statement of the reasons for and the other particulars of the dismissal.

Sub-section 5 provides for what should be contained in the statement, including the facts supporting the situation of redundancy, the number and categories of employees likely to be affected and the period during which their dismissals are likely to be carried out.

As is the case with all collective employment, the employer is required to engage in good faith negotiation or consultation with the certified bargaining agent on behalf of the workers. The essence of the obligation is to negotiate in good faith, hopefully to reach agreement.

It is mandated that these consultations commence not later than six weeks before any terminations and that they be in respect of (i) the proposed method of selecting the employees who are to be dismissed; (ii) the proposed mode of carrying out the dismissals; and (iii) any measures that the employer may be able to take to find alternative employment for those who are to be dismissed and so mitigate for them the adverse effects of the dismissals. Provision is also made for the circumstance in which it is found impracticable to comply with the stipulation as to commencement of the consultations.

Of course, I am not at all privy as to the detailed circumstances in which the current retrenchments were carried out and it is acknowledged that the legislation referred to herein is not directly binding on that process, although as I have observed above, it might be indicative of best practice in this context, given its intendment to comport with principles of fairness of termination of employment. These embody a concept that is directed towards preserving the dignity and autonomy of the employee who, through no fault of his or her own, is forced to face the ineluctable stress that accompanies sudden joblessness.

Rigorous and faithful adherence to the statutory process by the relevant parties would have at least scotched any suggestions that the process was tainted by indirect gender discrimination through the selection of the class of stenographer/typists for retrenchment or that there was direct status discrimination through the selection of lower level employees only. It would have lain ill in the mouths of the workers’ organizations to condemn a process and its outcome in which they had fully participated and agreed to as prescribed.

Most jurisdictions provide for a terminal payment to those employees in the private sector who are dismissed for redundancy to tide them over the immediate consequences of job loss. The workers’ organizations would also have had a role to play in this calculation in light of their statutory entitlement to be consulted on a purposive interpretation of “any measures that the employer may be able to take to find alternative employment for those who are to be dismissed and so mitigate for them the adverse effects of the dismissals”.

There may arguably be legitimate questions raised as to the inequality of the bargaining power of the respective parties to the process and as to whether the retrenchment solution was entirely voluntary or whether it was mandated by circumstance or conditionality. These go the issue of governance on both sides of the equation and it would certainly be in the public interest if these concerns were promptly and openly addressed.

80 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – A Fair Retrenchment”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

“My verdict is that the unions were in dereliction of their duty of representation of the workers.”

Unfortunately, that is the verdict.

2. Watchman

I will try to be civil to you this morning and respond.Look skipper – go and drink yuh big glass of BLP kool aid and leave out the serious discussion for thinking people.

3. Watchman

TInniss doan even know that the ERT does not apply to civil servants. Stupse, even the “constitutional expert” Hal Gollop sey so. Sent home people wrongfully and now this government owes them 10 years of interest and on the blog obfuscating, lying and pretending to care about principles. The unmitigated gall of some eh.

4. @enuff

Isn’t there an understanding that ERT guidelines will be observed for public workers as well? More about practice than what is legal?

5. Enuff

Er I know you have first class honours in lying.But take my advice – don’t make yourself look so stupid – go and read my post @ 9:49 a.m.

Unless when you read – you don’t understand what you read .That comprehension bug like it bite you too lol.

6. TInniss – My apologies.

David – I don’t know about what is intended to be the practice, I am just referring to the legal aspect.

7. @Vincent. I thought the government economic lead role in the free market space, was to create, foster, and nuture an environment for private sector-led job creation. Well, unless you subscribed to the state model. However, the state model is only possible and sustainable if you have a relative small population and a large source of income. eg like those small petrodollar state.

8. The blogmaster is aware several companies are waiting for the opportunity to work with government to digitize because they have the equipment. Will these companies employ government retrenched workers or will the workload be absorbed.
    You are sometimes amazing….
    Boss… what several companies are waiting on is for government to get away with this arbitrary disposal of selected manpower on the excuse that money is tight … so that they can do likewise.

The fact that Jeff hesitates to dismiss the suggestion that the particular Act may not be applicable …may suggest that we are on to something major (in legal terms…)

@ Vincent who said….
    … man can contrive spurious measurements for anything, even for the level of heat for bonny peppers. But they seldom achieve the objectives.
    You are so wrong….
    You probably really mean that “economists (whatever THOSE are,) can contrive……and it seldom achieve….”
    BUT….
    REAL scientists (who operate on the LAWS of nature) REGULARLY and CONSISTENTLY contrive measurements – that MOSTLY are achieved with great accuracy…..’

9. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Jeff
    if redundancy is defined as ““where the requirements of the business for employees to carry out work of a particular kind…have ceased or diminished or are expected to cease or diminish”.
    …can you explain how the insolvency of the employer (the inability to meet the payroll) satisfies this condition – where the requirements of the business CONTINUES to require someone to carry out the work but the employer is unable to pay?

@ Bushie, The two concepts, though distinct, are not that far apart really. Inability to pay will ultimately eventuate in restructuring by way of redundancies as is happening now. Government says, “We are unable to pay so we will cease operating in a way that necessitates the use of stenographer/clerks…and….?”

10. Jeff…
    So then the Law relating to Bankruptcy is redundant….?
    Pun intended….

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

LOL!!!! No, I suppose that it is insoluble!

12. @ Jeff
    Boss, you done know that BUshie LIKES the Bankruptcy approach….

When an operation finds itself UNABLE to settle with its creditors, or to make satisfactory arrangements with them to so do….
    That operation is put into RECEIVERSHIP …and its management assigned to COMPETENT AUTHORITIES who are able to do so under the Court’s guidance. (of course this did not apply to CLICO…but….)

Do you see where Bushie is heading….?

13. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I do, Bushie, but can that work in a populist democracy? Is judicial management of a state practicable in 2018 Barbados? Your grass with “plimplers” outcome is appearing inevitable!

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ zion 1971 at 2 :52 PM

I classified the existing Barbados economy as I perceived it and gave supporting reasons for my classification. This does not exclude other classifications from different perspectives but one would need to support this with factual evidence.

Prior to Independence all GoB buildings and public roads were designed and built by the Ministry of Public Works. Today they are all contracted out to the Private sector. Do they cost the tax payer less? Are they any more durable? Except for the optics what are the advantages?

Zion the large Public sector is building these enabling physical and intangible environments in which the Private sector operates.. And they do cost the taxpayers money .

I am a supporter of the Mixed Economy and that is based on Barbados’ experience.

15. Enuff

At least yuh man enuff (ha ha) or woman enuff to apologise.

Accepted.

16. Georgie Porgie

No one here has recommended pray as a solution to this retrenchment… no one here but GP remembers when the armies were surrounding Judah … and King Jehoshaphat assembled the people for pray
    … and God gave Judah the victory…

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Bushie at at 3:02 PM

What real scientists are you talking about? And where are these laws of nature? Do you mean those collections of axioms that can neither be proved nor disproved? LOL!!!!

18. Vincent Carrington

Is gravity one of law of nature?

19. T. Inniss

The serious discussions in Barbados are attributed to how the DLP bandits raided Barbados, and the task of a BLP to restore. The 30-0 result for the MP and the now stranded Yard-fowls, like you, are only part punishment. USA will deal with An Inniss

20. Watchman

You cannot arbitrarily or unilaterally attribute culpability to the DLP totally … when the people elected the DLP a second time… the people obviously must bear some of the responsibility because of their naivety and gullibility…

21. @ Lexicon

Votes buying reelected the DLP in 2013

22. @ Vincent
    Do you mean those collections of axioms that can neither be proved nor disproved?
    No – Bushie tries not to speak of Economics (whatever the hell THAT is…)

But seriously, in REAL Science there is (for example) the acceleration due to gravity (G) as Lexicon pointed out…

There are the Thermodynamics Laws, the Laws of Chemical combination – and MULTIPLE other consistent, repeatable, EXACT and unchanging laws of nature that drive Science.

You will NEVER hear a Scientist start a design project by ‘assuming’ that G is 20 feet per second squared….or designing a bridge without SPECIFIC and EXACT provisions being made for that particular Law.

More to the point however, there are also many SPIRITUAL LAWS that are EVEN more exacting and over-riding than the SPECIFIC physical laws we know of….
    -What a man sows, that also he will reap… (a people ALWAY get what they deserve)
    -The wages of sin is death (Brass bowlery ALWAYS ends in grass …with plimplers…)
    etc…

Like Gravity, these work impeccably – whether the victims know and understand them…
    … or even if he is an economist (WTHTI)
    LOLOL

23. @ Vincent. Come on bro. It’s not for nothing economics is called the dismal science. The axioms of the physical sciences though not perfect, are built on a more rigorous and solid first principle foundation than those used to build up Economics, especially Macro-economics. Economics is nothing more than a glorified behavioral science masking itself in abstract mathematics for respectability.

It suffers from physic envy as one commentator noted.

24. @ Jeff
    ….can that work in a populist democracy? Is judicial management of a state practicable in 2018 Barbados?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    A good teacher often makes strong statements by asking pointed questions….

So Bushie will take these ‘questions’ to be TELLING us that populist democracies that are poorly managed should expect to come under independent judicial management….and we should think carefully about how this can happen in 2018….

Barbados has been managed in dismal fashion … ‘idiotic’ is probably a better term… and even at this last stage, management decisions continue to defy logic…..but why…?

Who are the ‘independent judicial managers’ of our world?
    ….Not the IMF…?

Is such management practicable in 2018 in Barbados?
    …Is this not what we have ‘achieved in record time’ under the BLP?

Do Judicial managers not make PRIMARILY economic decisions – designed to restore creditor asset values?
    …Is this not what the Job Cuts are all about? … (rather than what MAKES SENSE to Bajans?)
    It is only the BEGINNING….

What is the history of such receivership?
    … Is it not callous disregard for the pain and suffering of the delinquent defaulter ..while all efforts are made to pay back the external creditors …. however long this may take… whatever pain it may cause…?

Why is Jamaica STILL under IMF receivership after so many DECADES?
    Why have the French screwed Haiti for Centuries…?

Because when brass bowls sell themselves into slavery over the kind of GREED that leads them to sell of their birthrights (the assets passed on by past generations – Like BET, BNB, BL&P, BS&T,Banks etc) ….. the enslavers ofter take their good time exploiting their brass bowl assets – without even wasting money on vaseline……
    Perhaps by 2080 we may see another emancipation period in Barbados…….

‘Grass’ rhymes with brass …. so perhaps we can turn to poetry in the meantime…

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Bush Tea at 7 :51 PM

“acceleration due to gravity”? What Physics text book you found that assertion In,Boazee?

@ Forty Acres at 7:09 AM

I never claimed that Economics was other than a behavioural Science. In fact I always emphasized this.
    Can you tell me why after the NASA program was scaled back that the physicist flocked to Wall Street? Is this physic envy?
    Obviously they thought that Economics was a mechanical science. Mathematics is the economist’s tool not his master.

@ Lexicon

Please take your nose out of your Greek dictionary and read some books on the Philosophy and development of normal / natural science. You will find that it has advanced considerably since Newton and is coming around to the reality that there is an iterative process between what we think and what we see.

As Miller pointed out to me a few blogs ago . Some stories are so well written that they take on the cloak of reality.

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Bush Tea at 9 :33AM

You are back on track. Writing like a properly trained economist. I am on the same wave length. Stick to the Dismal Science ,do.

By populists democracies Jeff means governments that are elected by picking themes that resonate with a large marginalized section of the Electorate. Hitler was a populist leader. The real Mugabe was a populist leader. Mandela was a populist leader; but he never instituted populists programs.

Did Brazil and Venezuela suffer because of populists policies?

27. It is noted that not one of them ever address the mountain of backlogged CIVIL CASES in the Supreme Court going back DECADES or say what is going to be done about any of them….then they all expect us to take them seriously when we know they are all on shit and playing games with the people’s lives.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/chief-justice-more-criminal-lawyers-needed

“There is a backlog of pending cases in the courts and one of the reasons for this, according Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson is the lack of lawyers practicing in the field of criminal law.”

28. @Miller

If the problem has been identified what can we do about it? We know that many studying law are not necessarily pursuing a LEC.

29. Forgot to add that Justice Gibson should be ASHAMED to say this after being at the Supreme Court for at least 10 LONG YEARS…and STILL he speaks about a BACKLOG…this highlights his inability to reduce the backlog, which tells us he will be there another 10 years and will STILL be. talking about a backlog..at the Court…

…I repeat…he could not be that ineffective a Judge in NYC and still have a job.

30. Mr. Ellis, you should listen to the recording of the last Brasstacks Sunday program. OCM is a publicly traded company, not a privately held company, and its programs should always be conducted in a professional manner. It is inexcusable for one guest to be intentionally obnoxious to another when on any of OCM’s programs. If one desires to be intentionally obnoxious on air, one should create a privately held radio station.

Leave a Reply to Jeff CumberbatchCancel reply